Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 2:43pm
22 years ago today ..

Posted By: greengooner
Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 2:51pm
Thanks for that BB!

That was an "intense" game to say the least......IIRC I remember the devastation in George Hamilton's voice when he smacked it home....LOLLOLLOLLOL 

I vaguely remember pints 6 and 7, then after that...it all got a bit messy to say the least.....EmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassed

Alan, Alan....who the **** is Alan?

Platini are you listening
You'd better keep your trophy glistening
Cos we'll be over next year
To drink all your beer,
Walking in an Irish Wonderland.

Posted By: Strazdas
Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 2:55pm
Very bad atmosphere at that one, probably the most hostile we ever faced.

Wasn't a great game of football and we didn't play well, but neither did they. 1-1 was a fair result.

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 2:57pm
And then we had to watch the last few mins from Seville hoping the Danes wouldnt score.

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 3:00pm

And then we had to watch the last few mins from Seville hoping the Danes wouldnt score.

Yes, the Spain game went on for a good five minutes longer and worse still, the Danes were still putting Spain under ferocious pressure right until the final whistle (Spain were down to 10 men and barely hanging on).

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 3:02pm
I think a paper the next day had a pic of both scorers with the caption -
HERO and HIERRO

Posted By: Killowen Celtic
Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 3:03pm
http://mattleslie74.weebly.com/blog/and-somewhere-a-football-match-took-place" rel="nofollow - http://mattleslie74.weebly.com/blog/and-somewhere-a-football-match-took-place

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 3:06pm

I think a paper the next day had a pic of both scorers with the caption -
HERO and HIERRO

"Fernando Hierro is the Irish hero" was the headline Smile

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 3:08pm
Great night of football that was. Paul Bodin blowing it for Wales against Romania, David Ginola's overhit cross and Bulgaria's last minute goal to knock out the French. David Gualtieri scoring after 7 seconds against England.

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 3:11pm

22 years ago today ..

God i remember watching it, was around 12 at the time. Good few changes since then in peoples lives i'd imagine.

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 3:13pm

On a side note..had a browse at OWC forum today. They're a bitter bunch about us qualifiying!

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 3:17pm
Watched it downstairs in The Harp on O'Connell bridge after cancelling plans to travel due to the escalation of the troubles and the resultant lack of tickets. Place absolutely errupted when McLoughlin scored. Remember wearing the face off a real howya at full time before going up and dancing in the floozie in the jacuzzi and then going upstairs into McGraths where Murrays is now till the early hours. Good times. Think I still have the papers from the next day in the attic somewhere.

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 3:29pm

On a side note..had a browse at OWC forum today. They're a bitter bunch about us qualifiying!

If they're such great, family-friendly fans why do they have to protect their forum? Can only imagine the bile

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 8:21pm

If they're such great, family-friendly fans why do they have to protect their forum? Can only imagine the bile

Which is why I, for one, am glad we can't get drawn into the same group as them. Would also prefer if the draw works out that they'll be in different parts of the country from us on any given day of the tournament tbh. We're definitely both gonna be in pot 4 tho aren't we? Thought I read that elsewhere on this forum.

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 8:24pm

I thought at the time that game would never end, absolute agony that was.

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 8:28pm
It's McLoughlin not McGloughlin. You look like a damned fool when you spell it wrong!

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 8:46pm
Seen that yeah, shocking

Posted By: An Tiobraideach
Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 9:01pm
I'll always remember McLoughlin's goal-not only how great it was but the joy and relief I felt when it went in the back of the net-twas late enough in the game if I remember correctly.
Eddie McGoldrick was my favourite Ireland player at the time but McLoughlin instantly became my hero that night!!

His last fond wish had been fulfilled to lie in his native land,and the wild waves roll in peace again on the lonely Banna Strand.

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 10:11pm

Seen that yeah, shocking

And it was in 93 LOL

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2015 at 10:15pm

22 years ago today ..

Holy f**k making me feel old and I ain't 30 for another few months

Posted By: tobymcclure
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 1:02am

Which is why I, for one, am glad we can't get drawn into the same group as them. Would also prefer if the draw works out that they'll be in different parts of the country from us on any given day of the tournament tbh. We're definitely both gonna be in pot 4 tho aren't we? Thought I read that elsewhere on this forum.

Thank god we did qualify though! once they did, we had to!! 

Row F, bird with the viking hat- check out the size of her b**bs            

Posted By: An Tiobraideach
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 1:11am
Didn't Steve Staunton score directly from a corner kick against them at Lansdowne Road in that qualifying campaign?

His last fond wish had been fulfilled to lie in his native land,and the wild waves roll in peace again on the lonely Banna Strand.

Posted By: Peter Stöger
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 1:13am

Yeah in the home game v NI, about 3 mins in 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQ2qpdhI6BQ" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQ2qpdhI6BQ

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 2:32am
Originally posted by An Tiobraideach An Tiobraideach wrote:

Didn't Steve Staunton score directly from a corner kick against them at Lansdowne Road in that qualifying campaign?

He did indeed.

Interestingly, that game may have sparked off the foul atmosphere at Windsor six months later. When the Republic went 3-0, the Irish fans started singing "There's only team in Ireland". A bit cheeky maybe, but I don't think they meant any malice. However it seems the NI supporters were absolutely seething and viewed it as provocative in the extreme. The atmosphere in Belfast was horrendous but in the eyes of Billy Bingham, "the Irish supporters gave us some stick in Dublin and now they're getting some stick back". In reality it was a night of sectarian bigotry.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 6:43am
As there was no tv coverage in England I listened to this game on a crackling connection on RTE in my brothers car radio in Sunderland .
His neighbours were most bemused when we running up and down the street celebrating the famous goal.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 6:53am
Why changed to '94 ??!! Mods are taking the piss here

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 7:11am

Why changed to '94 ??!! Mods are taking the piss here
Sorted

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 7:45am

He did indeed.

Interestingly, that game may have sparked off the foul atmosphere at Windsor six months later. When the Republic went 3-0, the Irish fans started singing "There's only team in Ireland". A bit cheeky maybe, but I don't think they meant any malice. However it seems the NI supporters were absolutely seething and viewed it as provocative in the extreme. The atmosphere in Belfast was horrendous but in the eyes of Billy Bingham, "the Irish supporters gave us some stick in Dublin and now they're getting some stick back". In reality it was a night of sectarian bigotry.

That chant was only a football chant but yes it didn't help and it was returned with interest after Jimmy Quinn's goal.

Other factors were the efforts by the FAI to get the game moved.  England was muted and there was a rumour it was to be played in Munich. 

It was also an incredibly tense time in NI.  Greysteel and the Shankhill Road bombings had just happened and there were real fears of more sectarian tit for tat killings.  The IRA/INLA had also targeted 2 other NI home games in the previous decade.  

There is no doubt it was a tense atmosphere and there was plenty of sectarianism such as "fenian bastards", Billy Boys etc.  However this was totally overblown at the time.  I didn't realise how bad it was until I got back to work in Galway the following day.  I was in the lower deck of the North Stand with the home fans and lost it completely when Alan McLoughlin scored.  However I was in no way threatened or harmed.  Indeed the guy in front of me who had ben leading the chants looked pretty sheepish.  

The big factor was most people here though NI would want us to win and would let us win.  The whole country was watching not just football fans. 

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 8:39am
Awful game, unbearable tension, unbridled joy when Alan Who scored and more brown jocks waiting on Spain to hang on.

Did give rise however to Declan O'Brien's masterpiece monologue on the occasion 👏👏😀

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 8:54am

Awful game, unbearable tension, unbridled joy when Alan Who scored and more brown jocks waiting on Spain to hang on.

Did give rise however to Declan O'Brien's masterpiece monologue on the occasion 👏👏😀

Hopefully a certain ybigger will give it an airing in France for us next year Wink

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 9:32am
What a night that was. Even in all the big nights and games since, I don't remember tension like the second half of that game and waiting for the result in Spain. It was absolute torture. Correct me if i'm wrong, but if the Danes had equalised late on against Spain, it didn't matter to Spain as the draw would have done them? I remember thinking 'those Spanish c*nts will have heard our result and won't try a leg in the last few mins'. Thank christ they did!!

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 9:38am

What a night that was. Even in all the big nights and games since, I don't remember tension like the second half of that game and waiting for the result in Spain. It was absolute torture. Correct me if i'm wrong, but if the Danes had equalised late on against Spain, it didn't matter to Spain as the draw would have done them? I remember thinking 'those Spanish c*nts will have heard our result and won't try a leg in the last few mins'. Thank christ they did!!
Yeah, Spain only needed a draw.  Zubizaretta was sent off early on, Canizares came on and had an unbelievable game. Hierro got the all important goal. I believe that Spain where a bogey team for Denmark at the time. I saw the highlights of that game recently and Denmark put serious pressure on Spain.

Posted By: planning
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 12:34pm

Interestingly, that game may have sparked off the foul atmosphere at Windsor six months later. When the Republic went 3-0, the Irish fans started singing "There's only team in Ireland". A bit cheeky maybe, but I don't think they meant any malice. However it seems the NI supporters were absolutely seething and viewed it as provocative in the extreme.

What our fans sang is correct. We just reminded the brits in green (or purple) of that fact. Not our fault if they couldn't take it.

The atmosphere at the game in the UK was purely because of the multiple terrorist incidents in the weeks up there beforehand. It was Bingham's last game in charge, so they were never going to surrender to us. We had to go up there and earn the result to put us through.

VAR: Cutting the crap out of football.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 12:42pm

He did indeed.

That chant was only a football chant but yes it didn't help and it was returned with interest after Jimmy Quinn's goal.

Other factors were the efforts by the FAI to get the game moved.  England was muted and there was a rumour it was to be played in Munich. 

It was also an incredibly tense time in NI.  Greysteel and the Shankhill Road bombings had just happened and there were real fears of more sectarian tit for tat killings.  The IRA/INLA had also targeted 2 other NI home games in the previous decade.  

There is no doubt it was a tense atmosphere and there was plenty of sectarianism such as "fenian bastards", Billy Boys etc.  However this was totally overblown at the time.  I didn't realise how bad it was until I got back to work in Galway the following day.  I was in the lower deck of the North Stand with the home fans and lost it completely when Alan McLoughlin scored.  However I was in no way threatened or harmed.  Indeed the guy in front of me who had ben leading the chants looked pretty sheepish.  

The big factor was most people here though NI would want us to win and would let us win.  The whole country was watching not just football fans. 

On the other hand, there were the monkey chants for Paul McGrath and Terry Phelan (completely audible on TV) and McGrath said in his autobiography it was by far the worst atmosphere he had ever encountered in his entire career. I'm convinced the NI fans turned up with the sole reason of watching their team stop the Republic qualifying, there was a real negative energy to the evening and there was nothing of the normal local derby about it (it was more akin to the Serbia - Albania clash last year).

Undoubtedly the recent atrocities fuelled up the tension and the bad atmosphere, I think the Shankill Road bombings and the Greysteel massacre had happened shortly beforehand. Bingham of course was reckless in the extreme in cranking up the tension in the days before the game and during the match itself. He single handedly destroyed his reputation that night. Most people in the Republic up until then viewed him as a kindly grandfather figure smoking his pipe who had performed miracles with NI. 

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 12:57pm

Apparently Spain were under the impression that NI and the Republic were friendly and that the north would allow the ROI to win. This was the real reason they went all out for the win. There's a brilliant article about that night, not just the Belfast game but all the qualifiers played that evening, one of the best football articles I've ever read :

http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2012/feb/15/forgotten-story-17-november-1993

Posted By: Bo Jackson
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 1:03pm

Apparently Spain were under the impression that NI and the Republic were friendly and that the north would allow the ROI to win. This was the real reason they went all out for the win. There's a brilliant article about that night, not just the Belfast game but all the qualifiers played that evening, one of the best football articles I've ever read :
http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2012/feb/15/forgotten-story-17-november-1993" rel="nofollow -
http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2012/feb/15/forgotten-story-17-november-1993" rel="nofollow - http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2012/feb/15/forgotten-story-17-november-1993

was just going to post this article, fantastic read Clap something you would never get again with all the playoffs

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 1:07pm

As there was no tv coverage in England
I watched it in a packed pub in London.
One of the very first Setanta broadcasts.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 5:00pm

Yeah, Spain only needed a draw.  Zubizaretta was sent off early on, Canizares came on and had an unbelievable game. Hierro got the all important goal. I believe that Spain where a bogey team for Denmark at the time. I saw the highlights of that game recently and Denmark put serious pressure on Spain.
Danes had just won the Euros so it was a great result to get out of the group

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 7:10pm

Won it after not qualifying originally due to Yugoslavia not competing. Still think that was our best chance at winning a tournament had we qualified, team was at it's peak and was better than Denmark in my opinion. Finals still only had 8 teams in it back then. Never should have finished behind England, should have beaten them at Wembley, threw away a 2 goal lead in the last 15 minutes away to Poland and that boz eyed little prick Dennis Wise punched the ball in away to Turkey to give them a one nil win over there. Such a shame we didn't make it.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 7:32pm
Yes we could have won Euro92.

Only decent team that year were the Dutch who bottled it against the Danes, van Basten missing a penalty.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 11:06pm

Won it after not qualifying originally due to Yugoslavia not competing. Still think that was our best chance at winning a tournament had we qualified, team was at it's peak and was better than Denmark in my opinion. Finals still only had 8 teams in it back then. Never should have finished behind England, should have beaten them at Wembley, threw away a 2 goal lead in the last 15 minutes away to Poland and that boz eyed little prick Dennis Wise punched the ball in away to Turkey to give them a one nil win over there. Such a shame we didn't make it.

England were so jammy in qualifying but while we had a pretty good team, we were our own worst enemies at times, not just Ray Houghton blowing that chance at Wembley and wasting a 2-goal lead in Poland but there was also our failure to beat Poland on an awful pitch at Lansdowne Road.

Such a shame because I'd say we would have got our act together and made a decent go at the tournament.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 11:37pm
It was a very different Poznan back in 1991 compared to 2012.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2015 at 11:53pm

England were so jammy in qualifying but while we had a pretty good team, we were our own worst enemies at times, not just Ray Houghton blowing that chance at Wembley and wasting a 2-goal lead in Poland but there was also our failure to beat Poland on an awful pitch at Lansdowne Road.

Such a shame because I'd say we would have got our act together and made a decent go at the tournament.

We failed to win a single one of the four games against England or Poland, and that is what cost us.

England ran out of luck though two years later with Graham Taylor's infamous "Do I not like that" whilst we had a touch of fortune in getting through to the USA in the way we did.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2015 at 12:04am
The draw at home to the Poles done us. They came here with no intention of winning the game, and the keeper was down every couple of minutes to waste more time to get their point.

Ireland and England got draws in Poland. England beat them at home on the first day of the group. We didn't. The extra point made the difference.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2015 at 12:11am

It was a very different Poznan back in 1991 compared to 2012.

How so ?

The city or the fans ?

Heard there was trouble.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2015 at 12:23am

The draw at home to the Poles done us. They came here with no intention of winning the game, and the keeper was down every couple of minutes to waste more time to get their point.

Ireland and England got draws in Poland. England beat them at home on the first day of the group. We didn't. The extra point made the difference.

Though you could argue failing to finish England off at Wembley was just as bad : we were all over them and could have won 3-1.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2015 at 2:03am

We failed to win a single one of the four games against England or Poland, and that is what cost us.

England ran out of luck though two years later with Graham Taylor's infamous "Do I not like that" whilst we had a touch of fortune in getting through to the USA in the way we did.

Can't say we were unlucky in 94 qualifying, had a perfectly good winner from Aldridge disallowed in Spain and got the results we deserved otherwise.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2015 at 6:16am

Sorry I meant itv/bbc etc.

It must have been jumping in the pub that night.

Posted By: greengooner
Date Posted: 19 Nov 2015 at 8:44am

http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2012/feb/15/forgotten-story-17-november-1993

Not only comedy gold, but historical gold.

I'd forgotten about poor old Wales that night. CryCry

Brilliant Article

Platini are you listening
You'd better keep your trophy glistening
Cos we'll be over next year
To drink all your beer,
Walking in an Irish Wonderland.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2015 at 9:56am

Poland home was really frustrating.  While we should have won that we had the game won in Poznan and gifted them 2 goals. 

I recall Poznan as being pretty grim in 1991 and the stadium was falling apart.  Other than that I can't say much.

Poland were denied a nailed on penalty when 1-0 v England which would have also put us through had they won on the last day.

I agree it probably was the peak of that team. For USA94 we started very well.  Great scoreless draw in Denmark in a cracking game in a cracking atmosphere.  Then had Aldo's goal disallowed in Seville (he was a yard onside) but again a decent point.  We battered NI in March. Denmark deserved their draw in Dublin and we were virtually through when we got the 3 away wins in the summer of 1993 in Albania, Latvia and Lithuania. 

We stumbled over the line though after that. Spain home was horrific.  Still we got there on goals scored having the same goal difference as Denmark.  We seemed to be heading for decline then but the three amigos appeared on the scene (Babb, Kelly and McAteer) and we had a great run in to America.  We beat the Dutch and Germans on their own patch in warm ups and then beat Italy in the opening match.  We were serious contenders to win the thing then.      

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2015 at 12:35pm
Originally posted by greengooner greengooner wrote:

Brilliant Article

That's brilliant about Kostadinov not even meant to be in the country at the time he scored the goals LOL

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2015 at 1:27pm

Sorry I meant itv/bbc etc.

It must have been jumping in the pub that night.
English girl from work came with us that night, just for the craic, no interest in football at all.
Pub was so packed that she had to stand where she couldnt see the telly, yes young lads only wee tellies in those days, anyway when McLoughlin scored, an almighty roar went up that nearly took the roof off the place. She got such a shock, trauma to the ear drums, that she walked out and went home LOLLOL

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2015 at 1:32pm
Originally posted by greengooner greengooner wrote:

Brilliant Article

Reading the article, I'm not so sure the missed penalty for Wales was the game changer that people think. It happened in the 63rd minute, meaning there was still half an hour to go and we know that Romania kept piling forward and creating chances for that last half hour. It would have been different if Bodin had missed the penalty in the 88th minute. Even if the penalty had gone in, there's no guarantee whatsoever the Welsh would have been able to hang to that lead......their defence on the night was looking very shaky.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2015 at 8:01am

Though you could argue failing to finish England off at Wembley was just as bad : we were all over them and could have won 3-1.

Not really tbh.

All the other results bar the Poland games, cancelled each other out. Don't forget we had to come from behind just to get our points against England, one of them very late on.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2015 at 9:12am
Responding to Gary Mc about Poznan in 1991...
It was quite an eerie and bleak place with lots of dilapidated buildings. The locals were quite guarded and reluctant to engage. It was a midweek game in a dreary old stadium. In retrospect I suppose they were still in the communist mindset. The change in 2012 was drastic.

As for trouble I don't remember much although there were stories of Poles fighting with the Police.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2015 at 12:54pm

Not really tbh.

All the other results bar the Poland games, cancelled each other out. Don't forget we had to come from behind just to get our points against England, one of them very late on.

I still think we should have won comfortably at Wembley. The England goal was deflected right at the start of the match and then we were all over them for the rest of the match. Having said that, the fact that we couldn't win any of the four matches might suggest we weren't the finished article......I actually think the Mick McCarthy side of ten years later was a better one.

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2020 at 10:06am
A nursing home that I used to work in are raffling the football associated with the 93 game against Northern Ireland when Ireland qualified for the 94 World Cup & the match programme & autographed photo of Alan Mc Loughlin. Tickets only €10.  https://t.co/TLgjtepLKa" rel="nofollow - https://t.co/TLgjtepLKa  

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2021 at 9:32am
https://twitter.com/4afmac/status/1375006494790459392?s=21" rel="nofollow -  https://twitter.com/4afmac/status/1375006494790459392?s=21

Awful news Cry

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2021 at 9:34am
Really, one of life's true gents. I was lucky to meet him twice. You just know he is a good guy.

Best wishes to him in his battle. f**king Cancer Angry

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2021 at 10:39am
F*ck that's very sad.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2021 at 11:01am
He’s having a rough ride. Strength and power to him

Posted By: savo01
Date Posted: 25 Mar 2021 at 2:05pm
His book was a good, honest read.  All the best Macca.  

Jackie Charlton, Eoin Hand
Johnny Giles. Ireland
Mick McCarthy, Stephen Staunton
Cascarino
Tony Galvin, Niall Quinn
Packie doesn't let em in
North of Ireland
South of Ireland
Only one can go

Posted By: Fitz
Date Posted: 25 Mar 2021 at 5:38pm
Good luck to him in his health battles. Will always be an Irish cult hero. 🙌🏼☘️

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2021 at 6:11pm
Originally posted by savo01 savo01 wrote:

His book was a good, honest read.  All the best Macca.  
He certainly came across in it well. He seems like a good lad and was a fine player, besides that goal. He is certainly well thought of by Portsmouth and Swindon fans.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2021 at 6:16pm
Jesus that's rough what he has. Poor lad and he's very nice in person. 

Posted By: Dalymount79
Date Posted: 25 Mar 2021 at 7:16pm

It's McLoughlin not McGloughlin. You look like a damned fool when you spell it wrong!

is this Billy Bingham s***ing out a video of Alan MCs goal that was shoved down his throat.

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 2:47pm
Passed away apparently. No age. Awful sad news. 

https://galwaybayfm.ie/sports/soccer-former-republic-of-ireland-international-alan-mcloughlin-passes-away/" rel="nofollow - https://galwaybayfm.ie/sports/soccer-former-republic-of-ireland-international-alan-mcloughlin-passes-away/

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 2:53pm

Passed away apparently. No age. Awful sad news. 

https://galwaybayfm.ie/sports/soccer-former-republic-of-ireland-international-alan-mcloughlin-passes-away/" rel="nofollow - https://galwaybayfm.ie/sports/soccer-former-republic-of-ireland-international-alan-mcloughlin-passes-away/

Sad news

He’ll always be remembered fondly for that goal. 
RIP.

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 3:03pm
Very sad news
RIP

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 3:05pm
Nothing official yet and only being reported by Galway Bay fm. His Da was from Galway. 

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 3:12pm
RIP

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 3:16pm
RIP Cry

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 3:16pm
Very very sad news. RIP. Will always be a legend for that goal

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 3:20pm
If true, very sad. His was one of the greatest Irish sporting moments. 

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 3:21pm
Only Galway bay fm reporting it is a bit odd. 

Very sad, he’s had a rough few years. 

Posted By: cardwizzard
Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 3:27pm
Very sad news, RIP. 

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 3:46pm
Awful news. RIP Alan.

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 3:51pm
So sad.

RIP.

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 4:21pm
RIP Alan Cry

Posted By: King_Kenny
Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 4:27pm
RIP Alan.

Posted By: Dugs
Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 4:27pm
awh lads that's sad. and him only releasing a statement very recently. RIP Alan. Who will ever forget his goal at Winsor Cry

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 4:34pm
RIP - only 54 too - very young to go but will always be remembered for his goal against the North.

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 4:44pm

RIP - only 54 too - very young to go but will always be remembered for his goal against the North.

Unforgettable magical moment against the North forever etched in the memory.

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 4:44pm
Sad news indeed. His goal in Belfast led to many a party.

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 5:10pm
Just seeing this now. Poor lad.

Awful news. An absolute gentleman and his goal is up there with all our famous winners against Germany/England & Italy. 

RIP.

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 6:00pm
RIP to a true legend of Irish football. Always delighted he got a real run after MM took over.

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 6:03pm
Awful news. Will always be remembered fondly.

Posted By: Darren
Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 6:06pm
Such sad news. Will always be fondly remembered, particularly for THAT goal. RIP

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 6:09pm
Sad i must say 

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 6:15pm
A big tribute deserved, along with big Jack, as soon as crowds are back for the next home game

Posted By: Jack City
Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 6:19pm
RIP Alan

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 6:24pm
Tragic. Gave us an amazing moment we will never forget, but was by all accounts a great pro and a gentleman also. RIP.

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 6:37pm

A big tribute deserved, along with big Jack, as soon as crowds are back for the next home game

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 6:57pm

+2.

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 7:02pm
RIP

LEGEND

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 7:59pm
RIP Alan.

Came across as very brave while dealing with his illness.

Will always be remembered for that goal, but he made a considerable amount of caps also.

Sad news

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 8:15pm

Yes 100% would be great. Hopefully be some movement on crowds by September.

Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 8:21pm
Dreadfully sad. Horrible illness 

Posted By: nordlingen
Date Posted: 04 May 2021 at 8:59pm
A sad day......RIP Alan....