URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=52389
Printed Date: 29 Apr 2024 at 12:40pm

Topic: Apres Match
Posted By: greengooner
Subject: Apres Match
Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 9:06am
If you didn't see it last night, I'd recommend you find it on the RTE player and watch it.  A brilliant 30 minutes.

I'm not sure which was funnier - the "ads" in between the "programme" or the commentary during the programme itself.

For those of us who are old enough remember the original Kerrygold Ad at that time..... "you could put a bit of butter on the spuds...." this was comedy gold!!

LOLLOLLOLLOLBig smileBig smile

It made me smile anyway!

Platini are you listening
You'd better keep your trophy glistening
Cos we'll be over next year
To drink all your beer,
Walking in an Irish Wonderland.

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 9:08am
I found it very poor myself, think they have gone as far as possible with it. Uncomfortably bad

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 9:16am

I found it very poor myself, think they have gone as far as possible with it. Uncomfortably bad
Oh shut up you tart.

It was brilliant, I was in tears.

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 9:22am

Oh shut up you tart.

Really? I found it a bit hackneyed. They did all those jokes ten years ago!

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 9:24am

Oh shut up you tart.

Really? I found it a bit hackneyed. They did all those jokes ten years ago!
Probably, but still funny.

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 9:24am
i think they should leave Bill out of things from now on.

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 9:29am

Leave it there so....?

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 9:35am
The Ad breaks were both hilarious and a bit nostalgic.
The way we were in our little monocultural society. Happy days they were before globalization transformed us into this generic high street sh*thole.

Posted By: scottyccfc
Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 10:35am
Thought it was brilliant myself, not hillarious but funny. If you cant laugh at ourselves back in the 80s/90s then whats the point? Lighten up a little

Hometown football, cant beat the feeling...

Posted By: ParkLife
Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 10:38am
Really enjoyed it, some very funny stuff on it.
The ads were brilliant....anyone else notice the ad for the "Fudge finger" LOL

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 10:59am
Ad breaks were brilliant

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 11:00am
Mick Byrne was brilliant as well "Can I give ye a sponge down Des"

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 11:21am

The Ad breaks were both hilarious and a bit nostalgic.
The way we were in our little monocultural society. Happy days they were before globalization transformed us into this generic high street sh*thole.

I believe Failte Ireland are hiring at the moment..

Smile

Posted By: bananarepublic
Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 11:23am
The interviews in the bars were funny. I remember back then every single interview just descended into a load of OLE OLE OLE's. They got that spot on.

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 11:39am
Yeah, Des Cahill beating up the OLE OLE brigade in Genoa when trying to do the interview was pure class.

I thought it absolutely hammed, up in the best sense, the crazy time that was Italia 90 - you couldn't go to work without some chorus of OLE OLE breaking out.

the oul wan in Moore St getting the bangers out of her skirt.....

The constant reference to RTE2/Network 2/whatever we're called...brilliant!

To drink all your beer,

Posted By: Icy Bread People
Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 12:06pm
Personally I think they were past their sell by date 10 years ago! Didn't bother watching as the stuff they did during the last World Cup was just atrocious. The German "Pixie head" thing is painfully unfunny, let it go!

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 1:28pm
Loved it, can't wait for the rest of the series

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 1:37pm
Lads someone is entitled to not like it. Taste is by its nature subjective.

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 1:45pm
It isn't even that I didn't like it, just that I found it repetitive. These are old jokes, it is a bit cringy to keep wheeling them out

Posted By: Bibi Baskin
Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 1:47pm
any link for someone overseas? Tongue

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 1:49pm

Lads someone is entitled to not like it. Taste is by its nature subjective.
On the money there Baldrick!

I hadn't heard any of the ads before, but others may have done in which case they're repetitive.

Vive la diference, as TH might have said as he handled the ball twice...Wink

To drink all your beer,

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 2:02pm
Surprised it's not on the rte player

Posted By: Daragho
Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 2:03pm
It was decent enough. A good concept, stretched a little bit thin at times. It probably works best if you remember the era well, so I'm not sure how much I'll enjoy the next episode as it's based on Ireland v Russia in the mid 70s.

They couldn't just go on doing 5 minute sketches after games in major tournaments, even they were running out of steam. So this was a good thing to try.

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 4:35pm

I thought I read somewhere it was a tribute to him...

Anyway, thought it was very good myselfClap

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 5:06pm
Its not on Rte player. Why's that?

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 5:47pm

It's hidden only real fans can see it and not the plastic's Wink

Posted By: Bitored
Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 5:56pm
I liked bits of it, particularly the ads from the early 90s. A lot of which they didn't really have to do much with anyway as most are hilariously bad anyway.
Some of it stretched thin and I can see it deteriorating as the season goes on. They work best with the witty one liner after a match.

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 6:21pm

MAybe only people with blind optimism can see it through wishful thinking

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 6:33pm

MAybe only people with blind optimism can see it through wishful thinking
Do specsavers make them glasses ?

Posted By: Scamper
Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 11:29pm
Stopped in a chipper in Crumlin on the way home last night for a bit of grub and they had a re-run of Apres Match and the Romania game at Italy in 90 on the TV. Was still quality.Thumbs Up

====#Everywhere you play, We'll Follow====

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2015 at 11:53pm
The Ads were utterly brilliant (but they have done a bit of this before with their take on Sellotanta sports, albeit from a more modern era- Ads you only see on Setanta- Wavin Pipe & Magee Suits).

The sketches were not particularly funny, even though they were deadly accurate for anyone who can remember bunches of idiots ole, ole' ing in every pub and interviews with any kind of fella with tenuous connections to the team such as 'Mick McCarthy' that was not the real Mick McCarthy etc. 

The thing is, tis a bit late to be mocking all that now, and for someone too young to remember some of the inanity that was peddled by the news/RTE at the time, well they just won't see what's funny about it in the least in the first place. 

I did laugh at the Michael Murphy newsreader sketch though, they got him to almost perfection. 

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2015 at 4:26pm
As good as last weeks was, last nights was pretty lame stuff...

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2015 at 4:39pm
Why does RTE not have it up on RTE player, does anyone know?

Posted By: FrenchToastO'Toole
Date Posted: 15 Sep 2015 at 4:41pm
I can imagine the heads of rte comedy sitting around thinking...hmmm what can we rehash?
-ah après match, that was great.. Do something with that ?
- Yes
- done.

It was a bit sad. Thrown together. Surely the après match lads ain't that stuck for a few quid? Was absolute muck.

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2015 at 4:45pm
TV Sponger TV Sponger TV Sponger

Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 15 Sep 2015 at 5:37pm
Was the worst one ive ever seen even though the game was great and we played better back then than we do now, also watching Brady and Giles was quite funny, pity Dunphy wasn't playing LOL

Posted By: Wodawick
Date Posted: 22 Sep 2015 at 2:23pm
Back to form last night with Ireland v Italy in USA 94 !!

"It's gone in off his shin, but f##k it, they all count"...........Beglin as co-commentator.

And the second Kerrygold ad: "Who's bringing the horse to France?" "What? What do you think we're eating???".........

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2015 at 2:26pm
As much as I previously criticised them, last night's was good, laughed quite a few times, especially Tom Dunne and Quinn, fair play

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2015 at 2:27pm
Eamono Dunphichea

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2015 at 2:27pm
THe Hurricanes Ad...by Tuf from Killarney
Hurricanes.....Huh-rick-kanes.....LOL

Yeah, once again the Kerrygold Ad was magic - the horse being led along the path, switch to the frying pan....you just knew what was coming....!!

The pisstake on Dangerhere Hamilton was great as well, continually referring to Paul McGrath when it was Phil Babb....LOL

To drink all your beer,

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2015 at 2:47pm
Last nights was the best so far!

Posted By: gazurtoids
Date Posted: 22 Sep 2015 at 3:14pm
Forgot this was on.....last week with Liam Tuohy co-commentating had me in stitches

Posted By: ABFC
Date Posted: 22 Sep 2015 at 3:17pm
No sign of this on the Player for some reason

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2015 at 10:26pm
It will be out in time for Christmas, of course.

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2015 at 11:15pm
"This lob goal was brought to you by the NRA.BANG."

Posted By: Bitored
Date Posted: 22 Sep 2015 at 11:20pm
I thought last night was the worst one out of the 3 so far.
I get what they are trying to do but alot of its just dated jokes

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2015 at 11:25pm
Last night was a big improvement on the previous week. First week was still the best

Posted By: Daragho
Date Posted: 23 Sep 2015 at 9:54am
Monday's was good, better than the previous week although I do think your enjoyment depends on whether the match being featured is one you remember.

Next week is Ireland v France in Lansdowne in 1981. I was at that game, so looking forward to it!

Posted By: Terry Phelan
Date Posted: 23 Sep 2015 at 11:04am
Originally posted by ABFC ABFC wrote:

They can't put it on the player due to copyright issues over the footage of the matches.

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2015 at 5:30pm
Originally posted by Terry Phelan Terry Phelan wrote:

They can't put it on the player due to copyright issues over the footage of the matches.

It's all RTE footage is it not?

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2015 at 9:26am
Originally posted by gazurtoids gazurtoids wrote:

Originally posted by Terry Phelan Terry Phelan wrote:

It's all RTE footage is it not?
No.

They are allowed to broadcast it but not allowed to 'publish' it and make profit.

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2015 at 10:07pm
The Ads again      

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2015 at 10:30pm
Don't have a fag in bed, have it downstairs. 

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2015 at 10:39pm
Garda Patrol

This bus stop was towed by this yellow car

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2015 at 11:08pm
Funny as it may seem there was a time when Irish fans were passionate about the team. The crowd footage brought that day all back.

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2015 at 11:18pm
Was that team that was robbed our best ever?

Posted By: irish_goat
Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 8:44am
"Peat Briquettes with new orange strap. Still sore, but now with no bleeding". LOL

Posted By: kingofkings
Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 11:38am
Enjoyed the last few weeks but thought last nights was poor bar the 'Good' Eamonn Dunphy showing his true side at the end

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 11:58am
Damn forgot this was on. Annoying that it's not available on the Player. Did they say what next week's match was going to be?

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 12:05pm

Damn forgot this was on. Annoying that it's not available on the Player. Did they say what next week's match was going to be?
Gonna be epic.

Argentina-England from Mexico86

Terry Venables whahahaha innit

etc

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 12:07pm
Young Wes Hoolahan doing a great job as ballboy there LOL

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 12:08pm

Yes and No.

They had journeymen playing out of thier skin whereas now we just have journeymen.

The likes of Langan, Grealish, Mick Martin, Ashley Grimes, Pierse O'Leary, Mikey Walsh, John Devine etc

Posted By: Strazdas
Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 12:16pm

Yes and No.

They had journeymen playing out of thier skin whereas now we just have journeymen.

The likes of Langan, Grealish, Mick Martin, Ashley Grimes, Pierse O'Leary, Mikey Walsh, John Devine etc

True though they had some outstanding players in Brady, Stapleton, O'Leary, Lawrenson, Whelan and Hughton too.

It was a disaster they didn't qualify in 1982. We would have had our Italia 90 right there, eight years early.

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 1:48pm
Originally posted by gazurtoids gazurtoids wrote:

Forgot this was on.....last week with Liam Tuohy co-commentating had me in stitches

Fookin brilliant that was

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 1:52pm

Funny as it may seem there was a time when Irish fans were passionate about the team. The crowd footage brought that day all back.

I doubt there'll ever be an atmosphere to better that 1981 game, was just amazing. To answer another poster on that team, in my years watching Ireland, that's the best team we had and were robbed of a place in Spain, robbed more than in Paris and Henry. FIFA rotten then and still rotten.

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 2:00pm
McDonagh

Hughton
Moran
O'Leary
Langan

Brady
Lawrensen
Martin
Whelan

Robinson
Stapleton

Unbelievable team.

Posted By: smart man
Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 2:40pm
Great crack. Remember getting the train up and racing back to Connelly to get the 6.05 to Sligo. Should be good next week with the hand of god.

alive and kicking

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 3:02pm

I doubt there'll ever be an atmosphere to better that 1981 game, was just amazing. To answer another poster on that team, in my years watching Ireland, that's the best team we had and were robbed of a place in Spain, robbed more than in Paris and Henry. FIFA rotten then and still rotten.

For me, that was the standout game in Republic of Ireland history outside of tournaments......it was the best performance in a home qualifier and the greatest occasion.

To not qualify was just cruel. The team came of age that autumn and would have been a match for anyone.

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 5:55pm
Last nights was hilarious. Yer man Brendan O Reilly was an awful gobdaw so Risteard carried him off to a tee. Great great stuff

Posted By: Nah Nah Nah Nah
Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 10:02pm
Strange the bit they did of the lads in the crowd wearing Italia 90 and Euro 88 jerseys

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2015 at 12:00am
Originally posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah wrote:

Strange the bit they did of the lads in the crowd wearing Italia 90 and Euro 88 jerseys
That had to be deliberate....

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2015 at 12:03am

McDonagh

Hughton
Moran
O'Leary
Langan

Brady
Lawrensen
Martin
Whelan

Robinson
Stapleton

Unbelievable team.

Bonner - McGrath, Moran, McCarthy, Whelan - Houghton, Brady, Lawernson, Galvin - Stapleton, Aldridge. Imagine what a forward thinking manager could have achieved with that team. Team V Scotland, Hampden Park 1987.

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2015 at 1:14am

McDonagh

Hughton
Moran
O'Leary
Langan

Brady
Lawrensen
Martin
Whelan

Robinson
Stapleton

Unbelievable team.

Bonner - McGrath, Moran, McCarthy, Whelan - Houghton, Brady, Lawernson, Galvin - Stapleton, Aldridge. Imagine what a forward thinking manager could have achieved with that team. Team V Scotland, Hampden Park 1987.

That was almost certainly the strongest starting XI in Irish football history. No Roy Keane obviously, but it was like a who's who of ROI greats.

Posted By: Wodawick
Date Posted: 30 Sep 2015 at 12:43pm

Repeated tonight after the Champions League..........

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2015 at 2:07pm
Perfect - cheers. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2015 at 3:55pm

Beglin had just broken his leg which is why Whelan played left-full.

Then we lost Lawrenson and Brady before Euro88.

Imagine what we could have achieved with those 3 in the team.

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2015 at 4:38pm
McGrath marked Davie Cooper outa that game also, Cooper at the time was on fire (when the SPL was very strong). 

Apres next week on England v Argies, 1986, will be good.

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2015 at 5:12pm

McGrath marked Davie Cooper outa that game also, Cooper at the time was on fire (when the SPL was very strong). 

Apres next week on England v Argies, 1986, will be good.

And I can remember Fat Sally getting some stick as he was warming up in front of us after they had lost to Hamilton in the cup the previous week...in fairness to him he had a laugh about it. 

Posted By: depechemode
Date Posted: 30 Sep 2015 at 9:14pm
That team v Scotland was played twice in that group I think
The team was that strong that Whelan and McGrath were played as full backs to accommodate our best 11 players. Jack had some team back then with a team of leaders . Pretty much any could have captained the team.
Was that lawrensons last competitive game ? I think he played in the friendly v Tunisa when David Kelly got a hatrick

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2015 at 9:31pm
Originally posted by depechemode depechemode wrote:

The team was that strong that Whelan and McGrath were played as full backs to accommodate our best 11 players. Jack had some team back then with a team of leaders . Pretty much any could have captained the team.
Was that lawrensons last competitive game ? I think he played in the friendly v Tunisa when David Kelly got a hatrick

Yes v Bulgaria at home in the last match.

Yes Lawro was captain that night in Dalyer when Kelly got a hat-trick and proved to be his last game.

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2015 at 11:01pm
Don't pour boiling water into a glass it will crack. Learnage from the burnage

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2015 at 11:19pm

Originally posted by depechemode depechemode wrote:

Yes v Bulgaria at home in the last match.

Yes Lawro was captain that night in Dalyer when Kelly got a hat-trick and proved to be his last game.

Game was v Israel, not Tunisia. Night before Scotland beat Bulgaria.

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2015 at 11:23pm
Is this on Mondays as well?? Tonight a repeat

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2015 at 11:32pm
Aye

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 10:01pm
The ads again 👍

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 10:05pm

The ads again 👍

The Texaco ad
I apologise for the rant at the first one, I was wrong

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 10:10pm
Jimmy Hill and Venables

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 10:10pm
The Azteca pitch was so slow and bobbly.  I discussed this topic in a previous thread where I went into detail on the grass at the Azteca Stadium.  But feel free to ask any pitch or stanchion related questions regarding the 1986 World Cup or subscribe to my website www.trapjuniorsaztecadiscusssion86.com for all the analysis of topics grass related.

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 10:12pm
Children just because Jesus walked on water doesn't mean you can

Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 10:23pm
This is pure gold LOL

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 10:25pm
Best one so far tonight IMO

Posted By: kopkid
Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 10:27pm
Definitely the best one so far

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 10:33pm
Fooking brilliant, Barry Davies commentary was just gold

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 10:39pm
Angela Rippon Terry and June, Cricket,Mr Kipling Fûck You

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 10:39pm
Definitely the best. Clough was brilliant

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 10:45pm

And f**k you too Pedro

never seen them do Clough before, he got him spot on

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 11:15pm
Quality tonight. Maradona to Maradona to Maradona etc! Hill and Venables. Tony Francis's jacket on ITV.

Not to mention the bit with the RTE commentary and the BBC pictures.

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 11:38pm
Ascoli, that's the Italian for Nobber.....

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2015 at 11:53pm

The hysterical Argentinian / Spanish speaking commentator was my favourite LOL

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2015 at 9:17am
That was absolutely brilliant last night! LOLClap