Forum Description: All League Of Ireland Teams Forum
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=52231
Printed Date: 19 Apr 2024 at 8:30am

Topic: St. Patricks Athletic FC thread
Subject: St. Patricks Athletic FC thread
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2015 at 4:33pm

Might as well keep all Pats FC chat in here. 

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2015 at 5:37pm
Good run came to an end last night.need to get back on course with a win over cork. Would take a replay

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2015 at 5:56pm
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2015/0818/721957-video-richie-towell-incident-against-st-pats/" rel="nofollow - http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2015/0818/721957-video-richie-towell-incident-against-st-pats/

Posted By: The U
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2015 at 5:59pm
Haven't seen anything before to suggest he's a nasty player but horrible thing to do, had to be intent there in my view of it.

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2015 at 8:29pm
He s always niggling and involved. He went dont like a tryrone footballer early in the season to get brennan sent off

Posted By: RKBarmyArmy
Date Posted: 19 Aug 2015 at 9:55am

Good run came to an end last night.need to get back on course with a win over cork. Would take a replay

I think Pats will be favourites for Friday.

Dunleavy, Holohan, D.Morrissey all out, O'Sullivan, O'Connor both 50/50 and Beattie and Folan are cup tied. 

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2015 at 10:22am

A win over Cork would be the perfect antidote to Monday in Dundalk. That winning run had to end eventually. Continuing the cup run would be the best way to shake off that defeat quickly and could see us build momentum for that push for 2nd place. 

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2015 at 12:34pm
Agree RKBA, I think our season will be over Friday night unfortunately

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2015 at 9:12am

Killian Brennan at his diplomatic best

http://www.balls.ie/football/st-pats-player-killian-brennan-slams-richie-towell-and-wars-with-dundalk-fans-on-twitter/305570

Posted By: Bitored
Date Posted: 20 Aug 2015 at 4:07pm
In fairness what he said about that young blonde wan seem true.
She looks a right brasser!

Date Posted: 04 Sep 2015 at 11:49am
What a disastrous couple of weeks! Badly need to start stringing a few wins together. Looks like Dundalk or Cork may have to do us a favor by winning the cup

Date Posted: 10 Sep 2015 at 9:58am
All not well behind the scenes I'm led to believe, crucial few weeks for the club and hopefully bucko can steady the ship.

Posted By: jake32009
Date Posted: 10 Sep 2015 at 7:56pm
I know things not great on the pitch but what do you mean all not well off it? Finances or what?

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2015 at 6:13pm

Pats are Irelands most successful club over the last 5 years 

http://www.leagueofireland.ie/#!Who-are-officially-the-most-successful-club-in-the-last-five-years-in-the-League-of-Ireland/cwp4/560117df0cf2375d99d863eb

Posted By: Nah Nah Nah Nah
Date Posted: 22 Sep 2015 at 7:07pm
It's clear to see alright

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2015 at 8:51pm
Some people have way to much time on their hands. Its all about trophies.

Posted By: EastStandMan
Date Posted: 27 Sep 2015 at 10:45am
Forrester got his first goal for peterborough yesterday - first of many I bet. 

Shamrock Rovers - lovin the buzz .

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2015 at 9:30am
Anyone hear the rumor floating around that Bucko is gone at the end of the season and is to be replaced by Keith Long?

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2015 at 10:20am

Some people have way to much time on their hands. Its all about trophies.
It is a bizarre article. Take the current top 5 in the league mid season and figure out which of those 5 had the best stats over the previous 5 seasons including Cork in the first and then not factor in who actually won trophies in that time.

He is Karl Pilkington in the LOI section and Karl Marx outwith it

Posted By: EastStandMan
Date Posted: 22 Oct 2015 at 4:51pm
,,LOL

Shamrock Rovers - lovin the buzz .

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2015 at 10:23am
Hope that is just a rumor. Don't like Keith Long at all. The team needs serious investment this Winter, hopefully a bit of Chris' transfer fee is available.

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2015 at 10:29am

I love Bucko's ball playing philosophy but we need some backbone and a bit of battle in that team. 

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2015 at 12:36pm
That's down to getting in new players. Bucko is definitely the man i just hope there is financial backing. There's some great youth and some great experienced players but we need a few good signings this summer. Can't be taking chances on Amercans and Togo international's this winter. A few injuries and the team turns to muck

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2015 at 12:38pm
On another note...

Would we take Akinade at pats I know I would but i also know a lot of people saying they wouldn't have him at their club. Nonsense in my opinion id take him without hesitation at pats.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2015 at 8:59pm
Fagan, Timlin, Treacy, Desmond, Hoare, Bermo, Corcoran, hopefully get Chambers and Killer signed up and a few more and I'm surprisingly optimistic. Really impressed!! Thought we were broke and gunna slip behind bohs next season. Roll on March nowClapClap

"John Delaney could run anything"- Denis O'Brien

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2015 at 8:12am
Akinade, not for me.

Big season for McGrath too, and O'Malley has proved very capable in nets.

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2015 at 12:12pm
I don't think McGrath can do it at senior level yet, we'll find out this season anyways

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2015 at 12:36pm

Akinade, not for me.

Big season for McGrath too, and O'Malley has proved very capable in nets.

would be happy to have him as 1st choice next season

Posted By: Daragho
Date Posted: 25 Nov 2015 at 2:00pm
No GAA this year for Dinny Corcoran, according to this article.

http://www.thesun.ie/irishsol/homepage/sport/irishfootball/6762495/Dinny-Don-with-GAA.html

BTW can we not change the title of this thread to just 'St.Pats FC thread'? This Junkies thing is a load of bwollix.

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2015 at 2:43pm
Originally posted by Daragho Daragho wrote:

No GAA this year for Dinny Corcoran, according to this article.

http://www.thesun.ie/irishsol/homepage/sport/irishfootball/6762495/Dinny-Don-with-GAA.html

BTW can we not change the title of this thread to just 'St.Pats FC thread'? This Junkies thing is a load of bwollix.

Glad to hear that I'm sure he had to give up the GAA for any club to sign him

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2016 at 11:25am

So, whats the starting XI likely to be at the beginning of this season? There's big changes in centre midfield which will be interesting. That's my main concern but other than that, we look ok. 

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2016 at 6:52pm
The Pats squad for the coming season. No sign of James Chambers 

http://www.stpatsfc.com/players.php

Posted By: awaydays
Date Posted: 15 Jan 2016 at 8:42pm
Chambers off to the states from what I have heard.

Your twistin my melon man

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2016 at 9:59am
O'Malley
O'Brien (if fit) hoare Desmond bermo
Cawley treacy dennehy
McGrath Corcoran
Fagan

Plenty of high quality options in all positions. Timlin, Conan Byrne. Barker, other dennehy

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2016 at 11:26am
Think your boys are a decent bet at 10/1

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2016 at 6:27pm
I think we are overpriced at tens too. We lost 15 goals with fagan out last season. We he strengthened our options with Corcoran and Timlin too. Brennan has lost his legs, and our back four will be a year more experienced. We have cover too in dennehy and barker. Big year for McGrath, who has bags of talent in the Forrester mould.

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2016 at 11:56pm
How has Lee Desmond been doing for you lot?

Posted By: saintjoey
Date Posted: 18 Jan 2016 at 9:14am

O'Malley
O'Brien (if fit) hoare Desmond bermo
Cawley treacy dennehy
McGrath Corcoran
Fagan

Plenty of high quality options in all positions. Timlin, Conan Byrne. Barker, other dennehy

Would expect Timlin to start ahead of Corcoran

Posted By: saintjoey
Date Posted: 18 Jan 2016 at 9:15am

How has Lee Desmond been doing for you lot?

I love him, his problem is he can play anywhere so gets moved about a lot! Been excellent IMO

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2016 at 10:08am

Pats have officially announced a link up with Crumlin United

http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/15901/saints-link-up-crumlin-united/

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2016 at 1:00pm
http://stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=7050#.VtbjNWinwwg

Good news all round, the club Is doing great work at underage level and will ensure we continue to compete

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2016 at 1:23pm

http://stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=7050#.VtbjNWinwwg

Good news all round, the club Is doing great work at underage level and will ensure we continue to compete

By folding all your schoolboy teams ?

Great work alright !!!

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2016 at 2:33pm
We have been as competitive as any at 17 and 19s and blooded several youngsters into the first team. We have had plenty of international call ups also.

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2016 at 2:51pm
So why did you fold it all up?

What do Crumlin get from all this? Pats get to outsource youth development and still tick the box that they have a youth team and save money. I get that - its short termism in the extreme, but there is a logic. But I don't see any upside for Crumlin.

Posted By: Doyler1993
Date Posted: 02 Mar 2016 at 3:03pm
Over the last two weeks st joeys also announced a partnership with bray. 

The benefit for clubs like crumlin and joeys is they are getting involved with loi clubs before the schoolboy clubs lose their power. They are thinking ahead like cabinteely as a long term investment with the way underage soccer in the country is going. With LOI teams meant to have u15 league within the next 3/4 years and possibly an u13 league in the long run, the power of recruiting the best young players will shift from schoolboy clubs to loi clubs. Therefore crumlin are acting quickly to make sure they will be involved when these younger loi leagues are set up to still allow them to get the best players and sell them over to england. 

IT’S NO USE BOILING YOUR CABBAGE TWICE

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2016 at 3:47pm
But who will be playing in the U15/17 league? Crumlin players in Pats shirts or Crumlin players in Crumlin shirts?

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2016 at 3:52pm

We have been as competitive as any at 17 and 19s and blooded several youngsters into the first team. We have had plenty of international call ups also.
You have NO teams (zero, none, nothing) from u8s up to u16s.

You folded them all.

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2016 at 3:56pm
Originally posted by Doyler1993 Doyler1993 wrote:

The benefit for clubs like crumlin and joeys is they are getting involved with loi clubs before the schoolboy clubs lose their power. They are thinking ahead like cabinteely as a long term investment with the way underage soccer in the country is going. With LOI teams meant to have u15 league within the next 3/4 years and possibly an u13 league in the long run, the power of recruiting the best young players will shift from schoolboy clubs to loi clubs. Therefore crumlin are acting quickly to make sure they will be involved when these younger loi leagues are set up to still allow them to get the best players and sell them over to england. 
Agree.

This was always going to happen and has been encouraged from the outset.
Joeys have always had tenuous links with Bray anyway.

We contacted Junkie FC last summer and they said that we were the first club to contact them.
They said they would get back to us but I suppose like all Junkies they let you down.
Yes Crumlin are a more succesful club than us but a simple no thanks would have been nice.

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2016 at 4:03pm

But who will be playing in the U15/17 league? Crumlin players in Pats shirts or Crumlin players in Crumlin shirts?

Would be 99% certain it will be crumlin players in pats shirts and to save any controversy they will call themselves Crumlin/St Pats similar to what bray are at this year. 
As long as there are no disagreements when it comes to youth players being sold to england as who gets how much of the money it has the potential to be very successful 

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 10:50am
My understanding is that a similar deal with cherry orchard is on the cards. It protects the schoolboy clubs development fees while giving us a conveyor belt of talent to bring through the 15/17/19 and tie down the cream to contracts. Ideal model if you ask me.

Note dissimilar to rovers and tallaght town about 15 years back.

They will be pats teams for loi 15/17 and 19s, we just will let the existing structures (successful I'll add) do it before that.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 11:05am
If Cherry Orchard come on board too, that would be a tidy bit of business.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 2:12pm

Note dissimilar to rovers and tallaght town about 15 years back.
Not even almost the same. Rovers and TT merged, TT teams became Rovers teams from U6 to LSL and they folded into the Rovers setup.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 2:21pm
The Irish u-17's had three Pats lads in the starting XI against the Swiss yesterday

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 2:37pm
Such a shame that Pats have given up on youth production then, isn't it.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 2:43pm

My understanding is that a similar deal with cherry orchard is on the cards. It protects the schoolboy clubs development fees while giving us a conveyor belt of talent to bring through the 15/17/19 and tie down the cream to contracts. Ideal model if you ask me.
You make it sound like the Junkies invented this.

This is the new FAI Development Pathway introduced by the good Doktor.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 2:47pm

Such a shame that Pats have given up on youth production then, isn't it.

I'm assuming that the existing Crumlin set up will benefit from input from the Pats coaching staff? 

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 3:02pm
Will head along for the opener tomorrow. 3 points and a few goals please, 

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 3:24pm
Been a long wait after a poor finish last time. Optimistic heading into the new season I must say

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 3:33pm

You make it sound like the Junkies invented this.

This is the new FAI Development Pathway introduced by the good Doktor.

No need to reinvent the wheel Gary, we aren't looking to go on Dragons Den

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 3:35pm

Been a long wait after a poor finish last time. Optimistic heading into the new season I must say

I'm very interested to see how the centre midfield works out. We've had some big losses in that area over the last year. What do you reckon will be the starting 3 in the centre will be assuming Bucko plays the same system as usual? 

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 3:45pm
Does anyone have any insight to how transfer money works for pats and crumlin for players that sign for english clubs at 14/15? Will pats see any of this money or does it all go to crumlin as the players technically wont be playing for pats until 16/17 for the next few years anyway? Also if a player joins pats and plays 17 and 19 and then leaves will they only get a 2 year development fee with the rest going to crumlin?
This is the only issue I can see with the partnership.

Posted By: Row Z
Date Posted: 04 Mar 2016 at 1:32pm
Big losses in the middle of the park alright, think we could be out muscled here in games at times (Bray away already shown this)
Changes were needed though to freshen things up and Killian/Chambers were on the other side of 30. 
Bolger is a massive loss, I think desmond might end up in that role at some stage throughout the season. 
There's definitely more goals in us with Corcoran and Timlin joining and Fagan back from injury. 

C'MON THE F**KING SAINTS!!!

"Just put it up there..."

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2016 at 1:45pm

Does anyone have any insight to how transfer money works for pats and crumlin for players that sign for english clubs at 14/15? Will pats see any of this money or does it all go to crumlin as the players technically wont be playing for pats until 16/17 for the next few years anyway? Also if a player joins pats and plays 17 and 19 and then leaves will they only get a 2 year development fee with the rest going to crumlin?

Development fee goes to Crumlin and then because said player is under the age of 23, St Pats would be entitled to compensation via a tribunal. 

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2016 at 3:06pm

Development fee goes to Crumlin and then because said player is under the age of 23, St Pats would be entitled to compensation via a tribunal. 

My understanding is there are set fees to be paid by St.Pats. Increasing the longer crumlin have been training the player. Crumlin maintain a sell on clause if the player is sold on by Pats.
The exact figures were released about a year back by the FAI. They are pretty paltry so it's in both Junior and LOI clubs interests to work together and produce top quality players that command big transfer fees.
There won't be tribunals every time a LOI club takes a player off a junior club or sells them on. The whole U17&19 league structure would fall apart.

Date Posted: 23 Apr 2016 at 6:52pm
Odds of 3/4 away to Bray tonight, I'm all over that! 

Date Posted: 23 Apr 2016 at 9:20pm

Odds of 3/4 away to Bray tonight, I'm all over that! 

ah well such is life.

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2016 at 12:23pm
Well f**k it anyway

Date Posted: 11 May 2016 at 5:57pm
What's the craic with the 'singing section', for want of a better phrase at the games, they seem to be a lot quieter than last season. 

Date Posted: 11 May 2016 at 6:39pm
The cowbell seems to have been binned

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2016 at 1:18pm
Down in limerick for the EA final last night. Great atmosphere and pats fans in majority were fine, but I also witnessed some unsavoury scenes inside and outside the ground from a small number of their fans. Bit of banter is fine but it was like something from the football factory in a couple of incidents. One of them being as i left the pub with family (young lads included) a group approached us very aggressively threatening us and calling us sheep shaggers, boggers etc. Which was funny in a way as we were all dubs. In the end they were more just mouth pieces as they didnt come too close but the kids and women were a bit shocked.

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 1:59pm
I'd be fairly worried about the direction Pats are going in at the moment. Last season was poor overall and there havent been many big additions to the squad. It's great that Fagan signed back and hopefully Cregg will add a bit of steel to the midfield. I don't know much about Alex O'Hanlon except he was at Liverpool.

Generally though, there seems to be a bit of a malaise about the club. There is a lack of updates or excitement even on social media. 

The record of bringing young players through has been very useful over the past few seasons so hopefully that continues this year. I think that's the only hope for a strong season.

Any thoughts Saints?  

http://www.stpatsfc.com/players.php" rel="nofollow - http://www.stpatsfc.com/players.php

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2017 at 2:13pm

Looks like I'm chatting to myself in here but I'm comfortable with that Smile

Good result for Saints last night against Bray. I wasn't at it so I don't know what sort of team Bray had out but a 4 nil loss at home isn't great. Nice to see Fagan off the mark with a couple of goals and also one for O'Hanlon. Need to keep Fagan fit. 

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2017 at 7:28pm

Looks like I'm chatting to myself in here but I'm comfortable with that Smile

Good result for Saints last night against Bray. I wasn't at it so I don't know what sort of team Bray had out but a 4 nil loss at home isn't great. Nice to see Fagan off the mark with a couple of goals and also one for O'Hanlon. Need to keep Fagan fit. 
if fagan is fit we will qualify for Europe. If not we will struggle. I agree about the malaise around the club, were stuck in a rut and need a lift

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2017 at 7:33pm
We had more or less a full team out, albeit that now means so very good players k. The bench. The team out was more or less the same team that would have beaten ye on last two leagues games last year so bit worrying

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2017 at 8:59pm
I was talking to a mate who said that Clancy left a back pass short to let Fagan score and he immediately just walked off the pitch without even signalling to bench! That's mad if it's true

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2017 at 2:15pm
Can the OP change the title of the thread? 

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2017 at 2:23pm

I was the OP and I'd be happy to change thread title if I could but I think we need a mod for that?

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2017 at 2:36pm

Why ?

I was at a funeral last week in Inchicore when a junkie approached me (scuttled should I say) around by the grotto looking for odds.

The title is perfect.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2017 at 4:21pm

I was the OP and I'd be happy to change thread title if I could but I think we need a mod for that?

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2017 at 4:35pm

Cheers Sham

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2017 at 10:14am
Thanks for changing it. I know it's just a self-deprecating p!ss take and I'm not mortally offended by it but all other clubs threads just state the club's name. It just makes it a bit more serious minded. Cheers.

As for the forthcoming season, I can see it developing like last year, pretty much. Delighted to hold on to Christy Fagan but we have to hope the midfield performs much better to give him a supply line. Reports from the other night at Bray were good but I wouldn't read much into it.

Who do you think will be 1st choice keeper? O'Malley or Murphy?

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2017 at 10:31am

In fairness O'Malley has been decent for us. That league cup semi final in Tallaght stands out in particular. I just get a feeling that Bucko doesn't fancy him and so Murphy may start. 

The squad really is paper thin. I reckon there is a good starting XI when everyone is fit but the young lads are going to have to step up again this year. 

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2017 at 12:14pm
Yeah, I've always been happy with O'Malley too, and he has passed that 'beginner' phase, so that even though he looks young and inexperienced he has plenty of games under his belt now.

The squad IS thin, same as last year. We really struggled after losing Bolger, Forrester and Brennan (who wouldn't?). Let's hope something gels this year.

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2017 at 12:40pm
The whole match day experience needs to be improved. Hopefully mcdowells can reknit the club again

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2017 at 1:05pm

The whole match day experience needs to be improved. Hopefully mcdowells can reknit the club again

Finances are tight by all accounts but more has to go into marketing. The Facebook page is passable but could do a better job of advertising upcoming games. A sponsored media campaign before the season starts would be a good way to attract new followers and entice back lapsed Saints.
Are they engaging with local schools/clubs trying to get them coming to games?

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2017 at 1:21pm

Finances are tight by all accounts but more has to go into marketing. The Facebook page is passable but could do a better job of advertising upcoming games. A sponsored media campaign before the season starts would be a good way to attract new followers and entice back lapsed Saints.
Are they engaging with local schools/clubs trying to get them coming to games?

you would hope so given the crumlin link up. Haven't been following the goings on in 125 much, but its been a shambles for years run by well meaning volunteers

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2017 at 1:58pm
With 3 going down this year I'd worry for Pats(and Bohs for that matter). A few years in the 1st division would almost certainly mean death

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2017 at 5:19pm

With 3 going down this year I'd worry for Pats(and Bohs for that matter). A few years in the 1st division would almost certainly mean death
won't be that bad for us imo. Improved goalie. Gregg will give better cover for the defence than last year and fagan will be fitter. Comfortable top 6

Posted By: Joe Stalin
Date Posted: 04 Feb 2017 at 11:54pm
What do pats fans make of Clarke going to limerick? Was he not going to get a look-in with O'Malley?

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 9:17am
Originally posted by Joe Stalin Joe Stalin wrote:

What do pats fans make of Clarke going to limerick? Was he not going to get a look-in with O'Malley?

Clarke was first choice to begin with but they seemed to share the number 1 jersey for the second half of the season. I'm not sure if Bucko was aware of Clarkes plans to leave and wanted to give O'Malley a chance or if Clarke decided to leave as O'Malley had displaced him from the team. 

They are both good keepers in fairness. Clarkeys distribution is excellent. I'd wish him well in Limerick

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 10:27am
his distribution is fooking terrible, the amount of kick outs that go straight out of play is crazy

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 10:37am

his distribution is fooking terrible, the amount of kick outs that go straight out of play is crazy

I disagree with you there. He has a great ping on him. Very accurate

Posted By: Nah Nah Nah Nah
Date Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 1:53pm

Had to read back there to see if you were on about Rogers

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 2:02pm
Originally posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah wrote:

Why would we be discussing Rogers in the Pat's thread?

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 2:16pm

Originally posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah wrote:

Why would we be discussing Rogers in the Pat's thread?
The merits of Islamophobia were being discussed on the Conor Hourihane thread, as far as I am aware he hasn't converted.

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 1:02pm
http://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/brian-kerr-how-harolds-cross-was-my-field-of-dreams-35461303.html" rel="nofollow - http://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/brian-kerr-how-harolds-cross-was-my-field-of-dreams-35461303.html

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 2:00pm
"Remember the time Oso made that header when the ball was covered in dog sh**e?" texted John Tracey on Monday, the day we heard they were closing the old stadium.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2017 at 10:13am

Interesting reading Bermo's comments during the week. Aside from all the usual pre season optimism and cliched stock quotes, he was pretty clear that the squad weren't fit last year. In fairness to anyone watching them regularly, they looked off the pace against decent opposition. I'm a big fan of Bucko but the managers job is to have the team in decent nick. That should be pretty fookin basic. Hopefully the new strength and conditioning coach has them better prepared this year.

On a separate note, Pats have signed Josh O'Hanlon who was with Bournemouth. 

If the squad numbers are reflective of the starting team for tomorrow, it's a bit underwhelming in my opinion but hopefully I'm wrong. 

Date Posted: 24 Feb 2017 at 12:18pm
Strength and conditioning definitely needs to be improved. Good to see that Pats have now invested in the STATSport tracking system, which I think only Dundalk have in this league. (Paid for by the Patron Saints supporters club, I might add Wink)

I'm cautiously optimistic now....but aren't we all at the start of the season!

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2017 at 8:43am

Poor performance. IMO Bray deserved their win despite the two red cards and two disallowed goals for Pats (both looked like dodgy calls to me). The ref had a shocker. Pats only started playing when Bray went two up.

Peers and Barker did OK. Murphy wasn't bad either. Everyone else had an off night. Disappointing