URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=52109
Printed Date: 25 Apr 2024 at 12:37pm

Topic: The Unpopular Opinion Thread
Subject: The Unpopular Opinion Thread
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 9:17am
Super idea from Alex This is the Whatever version.

As SirAlex said:

"Throw up an opinion you have that totally goes against the grain. This is not a thread to provoke laughing smilies and petulant replies...though great debate on opinions should be encouraged."

Any such replies shall be deleted

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 9:30am
Mayo is a dump of a county

Posted By: eire77
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 9:35am
That hardly goes against the grain!

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 9:38am

On the contrary, it is a beautiful county with beautiful towns such as Castlebar and middleing towns such as Westport

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 9:38am
I think water charges are a good idea

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 9:41am
GAA is sh*te.

Tallafornia is the best thing ever aired on Irish TV.

Cameron Diaz isn't great.

There is no such thing as freedom of speech.

Ed Sheeran should be playing in somewhere like The Academy not Croke Park .

The Premiership is an over-rated festival of how not to defend .

La Liga is an exhibition on how to fall on your arse and hold your leg / face.

John Delaney is a lovely guy .

Enda Kenny isn't an arrogant weasel face . Ye right .

Ger Keville can't spell yet has a job as an editor.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 9:41am

I agree, just think we went about introducing them at wrong time and way

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 9:44am

GAA is sh*te.

Tallafornia is the best thing ever aired on Irish TV.

Cameron Diaz isn't great.

There is no such thing as freedom of speech.

Ed Sheeran should be playing in somewhere like The Academy not Croke Park .

The Premiership is an over-rated festival of how not to defend .

La Liga is an exhibition on how to fall on your arse and hold your leg / face.

John Delaney is a lovely guy .

Enda Kenny isn't an arrogant weasel face . Ye right .

Ger Keville can't spell yet has a job as an editor.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 9:45am
Guinness isn't that great

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 9:49am

I agree, just think we went about introducing them at wrong time and way
Spot on Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 10:04am

Originally posted by eire77 eire77 wrote:

That hardly goes against the grain!

馃憤

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 10:08am
MayoMark is really good at spelling

Posted By: AnCearrbhach
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 10:35am
Limerick is quite a nice place full of friendly folk.

Aithn铆onn ciar贸g ciar贸g eile.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 10:58am
Women should never drink pints!

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 11:13am
Rugby is a load of shyte

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is a terrible movie

Scarface is a seriously overrated movie (Pacino's performance aside)

Bruce Springsteen is a seriously overrated musician

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 11:16am
A steak dinner isn't all its cracked up to be

Posted By: dotts101
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 11:16am

Women should never drink pints!

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 11:28am

Bruce Springsteen is a seriously overrated musician

Posted By: dunloybhoy
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 11:30am
gaelic football has turned into utter muck and doesnt even compare to a bad game of hurling

Money is slowly destroying the game.

put em under pressure!

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 11:36am
Originally posted by dunloybhoy dunloybhoy wrote:

gaelic football has turned into utter muck and doesnt even compare to a bad game of hurling

The quality of hurling games this year has hardly been great. Would expect better from now on though.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 11:52am
Tony McCoy was never the man to ride good horses

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 11:58am

Take that back.

Posted By: Just saying like
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 11:59am

Just put this post in the gaelic football thread.  It's is in no way controversial.

I don't know what more we can do in terms of being open and transparent - John Delaney

Posted By: Ginzo
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 12:01pm
Pulled pork Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 1:59pm
Hurling is completely overrated. 

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 2:15pm

Take that back.

I'm sorry I'm not the biggest fan

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 2:19pm
Enda Kenny has overseen a successful term in Leinster house considering the job he inherited

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 2:35pm
Originally posted by Just saying like Just saying like wrote:

Just put this post in the gaelic football thread.  It's is in no way controversial.

lol outside of antrim (where we are clearly garbage at both codes) football is god in ulster. They think its the greatest thing ever and swear its better than hurling. 

mental folks 

put em under pressure!

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 2:38pm
I'm feed up with all these nordie fellas supporting our team...

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 2:46pm
Celtic FC fans claiming it's an Irish club. Unless Glasgow is in Ireland it's Scottish

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 2:49pm

Celtic FC fans claiming it's an Irish club. Unless Glasgow is in Ireland it's Scottish

Its British actually. Scotland is just a British region

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 2:52pm

The team represents the island of Ireland and has players from the 6 counties so this is just a ridiculous opinion you might as well say you're fed up with all the Mayo lads supporting the team. Unless of course you are talking about Northsiders supporting Shams?

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 2:52pm
Red meat tastes rotten.

The Galway Races are sh*te

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:00pm
Having bumped into Georgia Salpa in person, I think shes very average and too skinny.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:00pm
Originally posted by AnCearrbhach AnCearrbhach wrote:

The team represents the island of Ireland and has players from the 6 counties so this is just a ridiculous opinion you might as well say you're fed up with all the Mayo lads supporting the team. Unless of course you are talking about Northsiders supporting Shams?

There are two international football teams that represent the island of Ireland, on represents the Republic of Ireland and another represents Northern Ireland.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:01pm

Having bumped into Georgia Salpa in person, I think shes very average and too skinny.
Give her another 30 years and she'll be right up your street........

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:02pm

Give her another 30 years and she'll be right up your street........
Perhaps, shed need to ate a steak dinner or two first though

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:05pm

There is one international football team that represents the island of Ireland, using the FIFA dictated title of Republic of Ireland and one that represents a portion of people planted on the island, called at FIFAs dictate,Northern Ireland.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:08pm
Pay per use water charges are a good idea (not the current model).
If we want Nordic standard public services we have to pay for them through higher taxes.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:13pm

Agreed. I seen her a few months ago and she looked like a stick insect.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:17pm
People who have problems with Ireland taking a small number of Syrian and Eritrean migrants but think nothing og Irish people going to Australia, Canada and America to find work are hypocrits of the highest order

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:24pm

You wouldn't believe how often I hear this Cry

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:29pm

You wouldn't believe how often I hear this聽Cry

Great time for the Mayo folk, mad yokes altogether

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:34pm

You wouldn't believe how often I hear this聽Cry

Great time for the Mayo folk, mad yokes altogether
The Hardy Bucks does Mayo lads a massive disservice. In reality they are no way near as genteel as those boyos....

Posted By: Bohsfan84
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:36pm

People who have problems with Ireland taking a small number of Syrian and Eritrean migrants but think nothing og Irish people going to Australia, Canada and America to find work are hypocrits of the highest order

A few things.

Ireland have an embarrassingly higher number of illegal immigrants in America than any other civilized, fully-developed, westernized country. So I find some of the attitudes Irish people have towards foreigners - most of whom through legal channels - coming here absolutely astounding.

However, let's be frank here, not to toot our own horn but Irish people are genetically hard working people and never really become a burden on the host country.

There is a shocking number of people coming here - and I am not singling anyone out - who are not inclined to work, and they are choking a welfare and benefits system that is already suffocating the country.

You know the kind. They spend all day in Paddy Power and then all night in nightclubs nursing one drink.

We cannot support these people. It is a f'ing small country.

Posted By: d13dave
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:39pm
amen on salpa lads. now if she offered to throw the lips around your old chap you would not send her packing but she is a matchstick.

here are a few:

Carvery dinners. Absolute bousy food, 99% of them are rotten

If i lived in England i would vote Tory as my least disliked party. The champagne socialist, latte sipping, new labour loving guardian journalists grind my gears even more than the Bullingdon toffs. 

I lose interest in supporting a team in person if they win most of their games easily e.g Dublin GAA, Leinster Rugby of 2/3 years ago. Thankfully do not have that problem supporting our soccer team

I hated Arthurs Day. Thankfully it got canned

Managers like players reach a stage when they lost their hunger and ability - Martin O'Neill is a case in point

I care not for Socialism

Size D bangers and above - real or fake. too much

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:40pm
@bohs fan I specifically chose those two countries as there is unbelievable horrors facing each, there's a big difference between them, genuine asylum seekers, and the people you mention

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:42pm
Must be a set of double D's

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:48pm
@ Bohsfan - what evidence is there to suggest that " Irish people are genetically hard working people and never really become a burden on the host country."

I lived in Australia and the majority f**king hate the Irish, and the reason being is that the Irish treat the place with disrespect and contempt, an example of this would be the constant fighting, bar brawling, pissing on streets, buses, trains, public area's, getting sick everywhere, being loud and obnoxious and just being out and out drunken piss heads.

I saw this above every day on my way to work. The residents in some of these area's have to put up with this 24/7.

The belief that the Irish are these lovable rogues and that everyone loves the Irish is a myth.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 3:49pm
Id have no problem if all the illegal Irish in America were shipped back home. I also have no time for illegal Irish who complain about not being able to visit home because they wont get back into America. That is the choice they have made, they knew that would be the lot of an illegal immigrant before they decided to become one. 

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 4:19pm

I dont even find a post like that funny and im easy going all the time.

put em under pressure!

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 5:03pm
If i were running the country i'd find a way to deport Irish scroungers who dont want to work, out of the country just as quickly as foreign nationals. To me it doesn't matter where you're from or what colour your skin is, if you're willing to work, or trying to find work but as of yet are unsuccessful you should be welcomed here, if you are unfit to work the state will do its best to look after you, if you're going to scrounge and game the system, i don't care if you're born and raised in Dublin, get the f**k out.

The fact that what chunk of rock your mother gave birth to you on is still a bigger factor in weighty decisions like this than whether or not you are just stealing from the state, in the 21st century is quite frankly ridiculous.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 5:13pm
And where would you deport them to?

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 5:17pm

ClapClap

Timbuktu in Mali would be my choice, the same place I want those in the UK who do the same.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 5:31pm
And why would the authorities in Mali accept these people? Perhaps something a little less dramatic like cutting benefits to people who make no effort to get a job would be a little more proportional than f**king people out of the only home they have ever known

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 5:45pm
The lesbian women who dress, act and basically try to be men.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 7:05pm

That is a scandalous opinion

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2015 at 8:32pm
This might be an unpopular opinion MayoMArk but you spelled 'thread' wrong in the thread title. Thanks.

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2015 at 5:58am
Originally posted by Bohsfan84 Bohsfan84 wrote:

A few things.

Ireland have an embarrassingly higher number of illegal immigrants in America than any other civilized, fully-developed, westernized country. So I find some of the attitudes Irish people have towards foreigners - most of whom through legal channels - coming here absolutely astounding.

However, let's be frank here, not to toot our own horn but Irish people are genetically hard working people and never really become a burden on the host country.

There is a shocking number of people coming here - and I am not singling anyone out - who are not inclined to work, and they are choking a welfare and benefits system that is already suffocating the country.

You know the kind. They spend all day in Paddy Power and then all night in nightclubs nursing one drink.

We cannot support these people. It is a f'ing small country.

If anyone looks at Georgia Penne's Instagram, they'll realise how skinny she is.

On the topic of Irish emigrants, I've lived in Australia and on Long Island and we have a terrible reputation in both Australia and to single out a place on Long Island, montauk.

A fella I'm working with over her is half black/half Native American. Now don't get me wrong I give him the odd sl*gging but he knows I'm joking (having talked to him about the Choctaw nation) and we were out one night and one of the Irish guys we work with called him a n!gger. To the he credit of the Irish people present at the time, they all gave the discriminator a harder time than the discriminated. Any Irish person who is a rascist is a hypocrite.

Posted By: athlonecelt
Date Posted: 01 Aug 2015 at 7:45am
Scummy bitches should be sterilised so they can't add more problem
Scumbag men should be given the snip.
Eventually they will die out

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2015 at 10:05am

This might be an unpopular opinion MayoMArk but you spelled 'thread' wrong in the thread title. Thanks.

Oh hell's bells! How did I not notice?! I couldn't figure out what Sligo Hornet meant

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2015 at 10:42am

And wear strap-ons.

"Smalling and Jones.... have the potential to be the PL鈥檚 best ever pairing in my opinion." - SlurAlex

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2015 at 10:46am
The mia ybiggers are not missed :)

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2015 at 11:22am

ClapClap

Timbuktu in Mali would be my choice, the same place I want those in the UK who do the same.

would it not be handier to just shoot them ?

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2015 at 11:54am

Oh hell's bells! How did I not notice?! I couldn't figure out what Sligo Hornet meant

Hi MayoMark. It's me again. I have another opinion that you might find unpopular. Since you haven't changed the thread title to reflect the correct spelling after your typo has been pointed out to you and which you acknowledged I have come to the opinion that you are a lazy bastardLOL

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2015 at 4:34pm
The Wire is overrated.

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2015 at 4:36pm
Lets offer Cavan in exchange for Fermanagh to the British government.

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2015 at 6:06pm
Breaking bad, while being absolutely unreal from the end of season 3 onwards, was too much of a slow burner beforehand and my opinion of it suffers as a result. i know it was necessary to establish everything but it was just too long!

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2015 at 6:08pm
Also, for all its built up to be, Berlin is actually a sh*thole.

Barcelona, Krakow, Budapest among others are far better European cities with better craic and better (less pretentious) nightlife

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2015 at 6:08pm
Superquinn sausages are completely over rated and should be avoided.

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2015 at 6:14pm
Dublin is a great city .

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2015 at 6:16pm

Dublin is a great city .

i can never make up my mind on this one

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2015 at 1:36pm
I agree with practically everything Joe Brolly says.

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2015 at 1:41pm

Dead

'Sean Cavanagh is not a man' since that moment I have hated the prick. Sean Cavanagh is the standout player in Ireland over the last 10 years, and on top of that a top top bloke.

http://聽www.youtube.com/watch?v=TeUi2KR5VaY" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TeUi2KR5VaY

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2015 at 2:27pm

Dead

'Sean Cavanagh is not a man' since that moment I have hated the prick. Sean Cavanagh is the standout player in Ireland over the last 10 years, and on top of that a top top bloke.

http:// www.youtube.com/watch?v=TeUi2KR5VaY" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TeUi2KR5VaY

Good player but not the best of the last 10 years.

Posted By: Il Principe
Date Posted: 02 Aug 2015 at 5:09pm
if you dont work for a living you die and ur children will starve

Posted By: WillyJizz
Date Posted: 02 Aug 2015 at 8:34pm
There are a lot of posts in here giving out about welfare 'scroungers' and the like that belong more in a thread about 'Popular opinions that are actually a load of rubbish'

Lets look at the fahcts a la benitez. About ten years ago Ireland had its lower ever rate of unemployment, roughly 3.6% of the potential workforce. This is the best place to look to try and get a fairly accurate idea of the numbers of people who choose to receive welfare instead of working as it was when the job market was at its healthiest. The rate of long term unemployment (12 months or more) during this perioid was 1.2%. This is obviously what we have to look at if we want to asses the impact of 'scroungers' on the state. So of this 1.2% we obviously still had people who were genuinely unable to find full time employment; there were parts of rural ireland or large working class areas where prospects remained poor even during the height of the boom. 

A large percentage of the live register consists of people in part time or casual employment who receive a small income which is in essence 'topped up' by the state. I myself was in this position for about 18months or so; working in a job on a zero hour contract, constantly being promised full time hours but rarely receiving them. It's unfair to label all of these people scroungers, I personally consider myself hard working and would take offence at being labeled a sponge due to work circumstances beyond my control.

There are also fairly large numbers of people who find themselves unable to hold down a job due to an underlaying or undiagnosed medical condition, often related to mental illness. I've known at least two people myself who were constantly out of work during the boom and were later diagnosed with serious and debilitating mental illnesses. I also know a girl who was similarly unable to work due to chronic back pain but it took a couple of years for her to be certified as medically unable to work in full time employment. People in these situations are still labeled as part of that 1.2% of long term unemployed, and I imagine their situations are fairly common. Again; not scroungers. 

There is also the case of people who don't work for practical reasons e.g. caring for a loved one who for any number of reasons are technically inelligable for carers assistance and thus remain on the live register as full time unemployed. Hard to asses numbers here but they definitely exist, even in tiny numbers.

Finally we have the situation of young people in their late teens or early twenties who drift about for a bit and maybe only work part time while they figure out what they want to do with their life/f**k about in a band/as an artist before copping on and joining the world of full time wage work. Also lumped in with this young people who lack the confidence to go out working straight away and take a year or so to mature. Maybe not model citizens they are hardly destroying civilisation. 

So after all of those exceptions, and others that I havn't thought of, we are left with the tiny percentage of people who choose not to work despite being fully capable in a thriving jobs market (which we have not had in this country for nearly a decade). The total numbers of these people is so small that the economic strain they put on the economy is more or less statistically negligible (someone about said 'bleeding the state dry'!!), particularly when its gauged alongside the impact of the tens of billions of euros of private banking debts that the state regretfully took on. 

I don't blame people entirely for holding such ignorant views though when the media is constantly peddling rubbish about the scourge of 'scroungers' despite the real lack of evidence that they are anything more than a rare anomaly, and we even have 'leftist' politicians like Joan Burton blaming this mythical figure for the state of the countries finances.  

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2015 at 8:38pm
Eh Confused

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2015 at 8:43pm

Eh Confused

Hah yeah prolly ranting a bit there, just trying to point out that theres little evidence of welfare scroungers having a major impact on the countries finances, something i've seen alleged a fair bit on these forums!

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2015 at 8:45pm
I was just wondering was this in the right thread LOL

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2015 at 8:50pm
Just in response to people above saying scroungers should be deported, or that we are unable to cope with numbers of people arriving from abroad to scrounge benefits (non-nationals here outside of direct provision are listed on live register if in receipt of social welfare so are relevant to the above rant) Hope i didn't derail the thread!

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2015 at 8:52pm
Nah Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2015 at 10:43pm
Boobs are really annoying and not fun!!

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2015 at 10:44pm

I totally disagree Wink

Posted By: Il Principe
Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 12:45pm
the special olympics are a pile of sh*te!

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 12:49pm

Pics or gtfo

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 1:34pm
I wouldn't be in the slightest bit worried if dogs didnt exist

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 2:40pm
The Big Lebowski is a terrible film. also, Drive is nothing more than a nice-looking vanity project that doesnt stand on its own as a proper film

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 3:32pm

I wouldn't be in the slightest bit worried if dogs didnt exist

I often get given out to for not really caring about dogs. Fecking dog Nazis

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 6:04pm

The Big Lebowski is a terrible film.

The only good thing about it is the song over the end credits.

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 8:02pm
Heineken is average as fook

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 8:09pm
Craft beers are sh*te and overpriced

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 8:20pm

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 8:24pm
IJCGE is such a fukin embarrassment of a song to be sung at at an Ireland game I don't know where to begin

If you ever see me singing it or even clapping the aliens have invaded and taken over my body/brain

Proceed to tell my mrs to initiate plan B and take a pillow to me when I am sleeping

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 8:54pm
Gladly, what is her number NR? will be put on speed dial

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 8:57pm

Best post of the thread.

They're also sickening as fook to drink with their Lord of the rings style gimicky names 'goblin's lair' 'toad's smegma' etc etc

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 8:58pm

IJCGE is such a fukin embarrassment of a song to be sung at at an Ireland game I don't know where to begin

If you ever see me singing it or even clapping the aliens have invaded and taken over my body/brain

Proceed to tell my mrs to initiate plan B and take a pillow to me when I am sleeping

I am happy to stand in for Mrs NR if she is unavailable at the time.... also I will happily take a preemptive strike just in case neither of us are around at that momentous occasion

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 9:32pm

Gladly, what is her number NR? will be put on speed dial

After recently visiting 2 retirement homes visiting relatives I ain't joking

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 9:33pm

I am happy to stand in for Mrs NR if she is unavailable at the time.... also I will happily take a preemptive strike just in case neither of us are around at that momentous occasion

Sort out your diary you bollix

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 11:12pm
Waynes World is sh*te - 2 jokes No Led Zepplin/if it wasn't for you pesky kids that's it