Kinsale
Westport
All top class especially on a summers day

Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 6:35pm
Derry Approve

Posted By: kimbap
Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 7:03pm
Has to be Westport,if only for the reason it spawned the Muffster.

Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 7:06pm
Kinsale, definitely. Has gone downhill lately but when I lived there in 08/09 it was special.
Martin's fish
the cove beach
the Spaniard-greatest pub in the world.
Walking back from the Spaniard doing the Scilly walk.

Dingle is another. Just beautiful beaches and scenery, some great people too. I mean they must be sick of tourists but they still make you feel special.

Galway is still great. The Spanish Arch on a summers day, followed by a feed in McDonough's and a session in Tigh Choilí👏

Derry. Best away trip in the LOI. Game birds with great accents, loads of history and the locals are great craic. Mad as hell but it adds to the entertainment.

Doolin Been ruined by fecking surfers but f**k me it is beautiful

Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 7:08pm
Depends on the weather.  Kinsale is lovely as is Galway, Westport and Clifden or Roundstone.

Anywhere is nice really. Ireland is a great spot.

Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 7:12pm
Only in Kinvara for an hour or so but had a great meal in a pub/restaurant overlooking the atlantic, been dying to go back since

Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 7:12pm
Dingle is a great shout.
The spaniard is definitely up there with the best pubs in the country. Top notch Guiness too

Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 7:30pm
You all know my entry

Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 7:33pm

You all know my entry

Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 7:40pm
Westport
Kenmare
Kilkenny
Killarney

All lovely towns

Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 7:48pm

Depends on the weather.  Kinsale is lovely as is Galway, Westport and Clifden or Roundstone.

Anywhere is nice really. Ireland is a great spot.

Galway is a city.

Clifden is class town during the summer

Walsh Island has to be up there at the top too

Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 7:49pm
Clonakilty
Kinsale
Killarney (not on rally weekend though)
Dingle
Lahinch
Midleton

All those in no particular order.

Posted By: Irish Duke
Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 7:50pm
Killarney. Adare. Dingle. Cushendun.

Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 8:09pm
Midleton? There is f**k all there!

Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 8:30pm
Newcastle Co. Down on a sunny day

Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 8:43pm

Wise up, gridlock central, had its day, not even a decent pub to drink in anymore

Date Posted: 23 May 2015 at 10:59pm

Wise up, gridlock central, had its day, not even a decent pub to drink in anymore

Hard to find a decent pub anywhere anymore. Traffic is bad on sunny days aye haha. You can not deny it is easy on the eye though. 

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 12:11am
O'Hares isn't bad, good spot for a bite to eat to!

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 12:24am
I like Glaslough in Monaghan,Dungarvan in Waterford, Glengarriff and Schull in Cork.

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 12:51am

I like Glaslough in Monaghan,Dungarvan in Waterford, Glengarriff and Schull in Cork.

Good man yourself Clap

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 12:54am
Few good spots in Waterford, the gaeltacht, Dungarvan, the city itself

Posted By: Madferret
Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 1:21am
Might not qualify as towns per se, but both Donard & O'Briensbridge are lovely spots as are their surroundings. Dunmore East is very picturesque and Inistioge. Ardagh in Longford and Ballymore Eustace in Wickla get honourable mentions. 

Unfortunately too many of our towns and cities are blighted by shambolic paving, town centre and hap-hazard parking, derelict sites, inappropriately located electricity wires & pylons, dodgy planning, satellite dishes & neon lights on historic buildings, inadequate rubbish/recycle bins, over-use of commerical signage and above all else TOO MANY FCUKIN HANGING BASKETS!

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 1:40am
Here in Dungarvan we have the most glorious abundance of roundabouts,almost all of them completely unnecessary.A real sight to behold

Posted By: Madferret
Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 1:42am
We do love our roundabouts alright. Between them, the fcukin speed bumps & the potholes around Kells whole families are living in, the car is only banjoed.

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 4:21am

Here in Dungarvan we have the most glorious abundance of roundabouts,almost all of them completely unnecessary.A real sight to behold

Never particularly noticed it until you said it, but yes, yer right. The one outside it that separates the town/Abbeyside from the Cork road, fair enough. The one at Fraher field/Park hotel ?? The one at Foleys petrol station ?? The one at Beresford trailers ??  The one at the other end of that road outside GSK ?? I'm missing at least 3 or 4  in between, what the fcuk are they for anyway ??. And if ya go through the town, the 2nd one that separates the town from Abbeyside, before the bridge ??  Is there another one at the Square end of the bridge/Lawlors these days ??  The one outside the top of (is it Mary St ?) the church ?? , the one outside the Garda Station ?? 

Roundabouts aside tho, good spot to go out in, as long as ya wouldn't be bumping into yerself or those other 2 loons you occasionally socialise with LOL

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 5:28am

I'm going to suggest a wild theory here, I don't think Waterford has a bad town in it. I would freely admit the city itself is not as nice as Kilkenny or Galway, but still far from a sh*thole. 

Never particularly liked my own home town of Tramore when I was growing up, but when you allow for the insular attitudes of the locals, and the tackiness of the amusement arcades down by the beach front, and the annual influx of scumbag Dubs that venture there during the summer months (that isn't a rant or a dig at Dubs, I'm sure many lads on here spent childhood summers in Tramore & have good memories of it, but all we get these days, for the last decade or so are Dubs who can't afford a Ryanair flight to Santa Ponza/Lanzarote who seem to take it as their national duty to rob the local supermarket & off licence), it is quite a a decent looking small town with one of the country's best (semi polluted) beaches. 

Dungarvan, give or take a few unnecessary roundabouts, is a great spot to go out in, great spot for pubs, with every one of them in walking distance of the main square. 

Lismore is a fantastic looking small town, with multiple awards to back that opinion up, Dunmore East likewise. The rest are really only villages with less than 1000 population, so don't really count in my view as regards the original post. 

I would echo Reddladd's Tipp comments, having driven through all of them at some stage, and as regards Cork, I'm going to throw in Castlemartyr & Killeagh, if only just for their absurd traffic policing on Munster hurling Final day, where locals returning from mass, coming out of side roads & byways get priority over Déise lads travelling to PUC for the final on the main Waterford Cork road.  The tailbacks are something you have to experience, it is beyond frustration to the point that any time we play in PUC these days, I go the night before rather than face them on match day. 

Other nice towns (NOT a City LOL), Kilkenny is another great spot. 

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 9:19am
Carlingford.
Ballina in Tipperary is a great little town on a sunny day if you can look past the traffic congestion.

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 9:38am
Killarney 

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 10:15am

Killarney 

Completely overrated IMO. Not even the nicest in Kerry!

Posted By: Gavintheslob
Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 10:16am
Was in warrenpoint last year, thought it was a lovely little town

Pubs and clubs shut at 1AM tho which was very annoying

Its very frustrating being a Slob

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 10:26am
Wasn't impressed with Kilarney myself.

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 10:26am

Killarney 

Just cos its popular doesn't make it over rated !!

Too many to mention here , if you get the weather Ireland is the nicest place on earth Clap

Posted By: ABFC
Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 11:33am
I'd have to go with Howth and Malahide in our nations capital. Both amazing places and they're only 30 mins from the city centre on the DART. Unfortunately most country folk on here think Dublin is only O'Connell St to Croke Pk or Lansdowne. 

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 11:35am
Originally posted by Gavintheslob Gavintheslob wrote:

The meat market that is the marine should have been open till 2 (probably last order's at 1 though)
Unfortunately while religious zealots control the government up here we'll never have legally held late drinks

Posted By: Gavintheslob
Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 11:47am

Originally posted by Gavintheslob Gavintheslob wrote:

The meat market that is the marine should have been open till 2 (probably last order's at 1 though)
Unfortunately while religious zealots control the government up here we'll never have legally held late drinks

I couldn't believe it, I thought it was some sort of fire drill, but no doors shut club over, thank god the resi bar stayed open

Nice town tho

Its very frustrating being a Slob

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 11:54am
Deise, any town that gives priority to locals over people giving money to the GAA, not just gets my suppport but my immediate inclusion on the list of Ireland's nicest and indeed greatest, towns👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 12:04pm

Killarney 

It's a nice town though, I would prefer Kenmare myself in Kerry, never been to Dingle but heard good things

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 12:08pm

I'm going to suggest a wild theory here, I don't think Waterford has a bad town in it. I would freely admit the city itself is not as nice as Kilkenny or Galway, but still far from a sh*thole. 

Never particularly liked my own home town of Tramore when I was growing up, but when you allow for the insular attitudes of the locals, and the tackiness of the amusement arcades down by the beach front, and the annual influx of scumbag Dubs that venture there during the summer months (that isn't a rant or a dig at Dubs, I'm sure many lads on here spent childhood summers in Tramore & have good memories of it, but all we get these days, for the last decade or so are Dubs who can't afford a Ryanair flight to Santa Ponza/Lanzarote who seem to take it as their national duty to rob the local supermarket & off licence), it is quite a a decent looking small town with one of the country's best (semi polluted) beaches. 

Dungarvan, give or take a few unnecessary roundabouts, is a great spot to go out in, great spot for pubs, with every one of them in walking distance of the main square. 

Lismore is a fantastic looking small town, with multiple awards to back that opinion up, Dunmore East likewise. The rest are really only villages with less than 1000 population, so don't really count in my view as regards the original post. 

I would echo Reddladd's Tipp comments, having driven through all of them at some stage, and as regards Cork, I'm going to throw in Castlemartyr & Killeagh, if only just for their absurd traffic policing on Munster hurling Final day, where locals returning from mass, coming out of side roads & byways get priority over Déise lads travelling to PUC for the final on the main Waterford Cork road.  The tailbacks are something you have to experience, it is beyond frustration to the point that any time we play in PUC these days, I go the night before rather than face them on match day. 

Other nice towns (NOT a City LOL), Kilkenny is another great spot. 

Cappoquin is a place that will always be close to my heart.

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 12:11pm

Killarney 

It's a nice town though, I would prefer Kenmare myself in Kerry, never been to Dingle but heard good things

I would go nearly as far as classing Killarney a sh*t hole but the lakes rescue it.
Otherwise Kerry is relatively blemish free. Sneem, Kenmare, Waterville, Listowel, Cahirciveen etc. All have their charms

Posted By: londonirish
Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 2:28pm
Kenmare has always been a favourite of mine. Kilaloe/ Balina too.

Nearby Garrykennedy is a fantastic little spot for a few pints of black also if you're in the area.

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 9:51pm

Never particularly noticed it until you said it, but yes, yer right. The one outside it that separates the town/Abbeyside from the Cork road, fair enough. The one at Fraher field/Park hotel ?? The one at Foleys petrol station ?? The one at Beresford trailers ??  The one at the other end of that road outside GSK ?? I'm missing at least 3 or 4  in between, what the fcuk are they for anyway ??. And if ya go through the town, the 2nd one that separates the town from Abbeyside, before the bridge ??  Is there another one at the Square end of the bridge/Lawlors these days ??  The one outside the top of (is it Mary St ?) the church ?? , the one outside the Garda Station ?? 

Roundabouts aside tho, good spot to go out in, as long as ya wouldn't be bumping into yerself or those other 2 loons you occasionally socialise with LOL

I'll have you know we are upstanding members of society,apart from the odd lapse...

Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 9:57pm

I'll have you know we are upstanding members of society,apart from the odd lapse...

Noel and Stephen?

Posted By: newrygreen
Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 11:51pm
Muff

Cant believe people think Warrenpoint is nice Thumbs Down

Twitter: @50SavesOfDeGea

Posted By: HateHenry
Date Posted: 24 May 2015 at 11:58pm
Just home from doing 5 days of the "Wild Atlantic Way", have to say, INCREDIBLE, try it , the most beautiful country in the world..FACTHug

Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 1:09am

Noel and Stephen?

Never actually met the 2 lads so far!They'd be distant cousins.Met their mother alright at a first cousins 21st a few years back,one lad at it happened to call Stephen sh*te about 3 feet away from her,needless to say she wasn't best pleased.Nah,the 2 lads Minty is on about are absolutely cracked,the older one especially.The stories that lad has are unbelievable

Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 1:10am
I met Noel once in a pub. He is f**king mental👍

Posted By: kimbap
Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 1:22am

Roundabouts aside tho, good spot to go out in, as long as ya wouldn't be bumping into yerself or those other 2 loons you occasionally socialise with

A complete pair of hunts

Noel and Stephen?

Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 11:41am
Originally posted by newrygreen newrygreen wrote:

Muff

You'd love their football team as well I'd say

Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 11:46am
Censored

Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 7:34pm

Muff

Huh?

I was never in Warrenpoint.

Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 8:40pm

Muff

Huh?

i think he means the town Muff in Donegal and not you

Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 8:46pm

Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 8:57pm
I like warrenpoint summers day outside the whistle down looking out onto the bay with bottles of krombacher

In fact the whistledown/krombacher combination is on my occasional cycle route

Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 8:58pm

Muff

Huh?

i think he means the town Muff in Donegal and not you

Ah right

Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 10:16pm

Muff

Huh?

Count yourself lucky LOL

Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 10:32pm
Borris in Carlow is nice as is Isistioge in KK. None of them particularly big though. Passed through Rostrevor once and it looked decent enough.

Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 10:39pm
Lads there's nothing in Warrenpoint, great pizza place is all I like about it.

Rostrevor is the nicest town in that area in my view.. Lovely spot. Going to punt for my hometown, Downpatrick.. Where St Patrick is buried men!

Cong
Portnamock or Howth,I personally love personally Portnamock

Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 11:01pm

Rostrevor is the nicest town in that area in my view.. Lovely spot. Going to punt for my hometown, Downpatrick.. Where St Patrick is buried men!

Cong

You sure you're not thinking of Malahide instead of Portmarnock?

Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 11:18pm

Cong

Nope... 100% sure on Portnamock, stayed in the hotel a number of times now great spot. Mallahide is nice to

Posted By: ABFC
Date Posted: 25 May 2015 at 11:29pm
You must be the only man on the planet who prefers Portmarnock to Malahide

Date Posted: 26 May 2015 at 9:54am

Date Posted: 26 May 2015 at 12:34pm

I like warrenpoint summers day outside the whistle down looking out onto the bay with bottles of krombacher

In fact the whistledown/krombacher combination is on my occasional cycle route

will have to keep an eye out for you next time im on the bike that way, was actually there on sunday but went on to greencastle

Date Posted: 26 May 2015 at 12:36pm

Cong

Downpatrick and nice don't really go in the same sentence together IMO

Date Posted: 26 May 2015 at 1:47pm
I agree RB, went to school in Downpatrick. Nothing nice about it haha

Date Posted: 26 May 2015 at 1:48pm

Date Posted: 26 May 2015 at 10:16pm

Cong

Nope... 100% sure on Portnamock, stayed in the hotel a number of times now great spot. Mallahide is nice to

Its Portmarnock buddy.

Malahide is head and shoulders above Portmarnock imo

Date Posted: 26 May 2015 at 10:59pm
They are both pretty but full of ****s

Date Posted: 26 May 2015 at 11:52pm

Hey... come on now.... We've St Patricks first chapel and grave site.. surely thats all you need 

Date Posted: 27 May 2015 at 2:03am

Hey... come on now.... We've St Patricks first chapel and grave site.. surely thats all you need 

I'll give you that. It's nice up at St Pats grave. Generally though I am not a huge fan of the town although it's not bad for shopping and one or two spots do good grub.

Date Posted: 27 May 2015 at 1:53pm
Downpatrick? The town with the Flying Horse? Hmmmmm.

Date Posted: 27 May 2015 at 8:35pm
SD I seriously dont know what that lad is on if he's proclaiming it a nice town, yes its nice in scenic terms, the whole South Down area is for that matter BUT dpk got infested around the late 90's with housing executive sh*ts from west belfast who having been put of their own estates for being wee sh*ts had to be relocated somewhere else, dpk or more precisely the flying horse was one such estate to benefit from this.

I would class a nice town as one with decent amenities, good pubs, shops/places to attract families and not to bad traffic(I fkn hate traffic so am including it in my list) - dpk is gridlocked most days from 5-6, near impossible to get around it on a saturday and friday afternoon. The fact there is probably only 1 decent bar in the place out of about 14 says it all and most dont even drink in it as its a bit out of the way and beside a sh*t hole of another bar. Someone mentioned the shops Wacko aside from an Asda there's fuk all else in the place.

I think its best summed up by the fact there's something like 35 fast food/takeaways/eating establishments in the town(population almost 11k going by wiki) and the only decent place to eat among them is the cricket club.

In short, nice town to drive in the direction of but then take the coastal routes if into scenery etc, and avoid if possible - go to Newcastle while again not having decent pubs and usually gridlocked, there's at least stuff to do there on a day out(once you actually get parked). 

Though dpk has a great racecourse and its a mile or 2 out of town so any visitors dont really have to visit the town itself  (unless coming from belfast LOL)

Date Posted: 27 May 2015 at 8:50pm
Big fan of the last Monday in August races in Downpatrick. Good reason to visit but it's only one day a year (although I suppose there are a few more meetings a year). My dad is from just outside there and I have plenty of relatives who live about there although they all live in the countryside.

The town on the other hand wouldn't be top of my list. Sure, it's a nicer town than Dungannon (closest decent size town to my home) but it's hardly in the top ten towns in the North. I'd have Enniskillen, Armagh, Derry, Newcastle, Portstewart, Cookstown, Ballycastle and Castlederg above it and that's just off the top of my head. I suppose I could easily name worse towns in the North (Kilkeel, Bangor, Comber, Newtownards, Ballynahinch and Banbridge are all worse and all in County Down, never mind the North) but I still wouldn't have Downpatrick on a list of nicest towns in Ireland.

Although it does have that railway museum.....

Date Posted: 27 May 2015 at 8:54pm

Although it does have that railway museum.....
Jaysus how did I forget about that LOLLOLLOLLOL