URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=51653
Printed Date: 27 Apr 2024 at 10:59am

Topic: Steven Gerrard
Posted By: athlonecelt
Subject: Steven Gerrard
Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 9:40am
The acclaim will be over the top today, with everyone trying to out do each other with a better tribute.
So here's mine.

Of all the modern home grown greats , The Nevilles, Lampard, Terry, Giggs, Scholes etc. nobody has had more of an influence on one team. That's not to say one is better than the other. But take any of Utd or Chelsea's lads away and they probably would have went on to the same level of success, as the club would have found a replacement......Beckham out, Ronaldo in.

For years, Gerrard has been the main man that the opposition had to stop. He has played with a handful of world class players over 15 years.
At one stage Giggs and Scholes had Tevez, Ronaldo and Rooney ahead of them. That's not their fault and not using it as a stick to beat them with......but for years the opposition playing Liverpool had only one man to stop, and that was Gerrard. AC Milan couldn't do it when they were 3 up.

When he walks out today , a lot of board members, past and present should hang their head in shame that they have failed Gerrard. Uniteds board over the years had vision to build Old Trafford piece by piece to the largest ground in England. Liverpool are now planning an extension. One which will see their income rise to just 2 million less than Old Trafford per home game, as opposed to over 3.

United built a theatre of dreams and filled it with world class talent for Giggs etc to flourish.

Gerrard was playing with...Sinama Pongolle, Aspas, Aquilani and Andy Voronin.

In truth ! Liverpool failed Gerrard and they should be ashamed.

Posted By: Gavintheslob
Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 10:48am
Well said my friend

Its very frustrating being a Slob

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 11:43am
He will be extra hollywood today. He will love it

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 12:15pm

Is that bad ? To love acclaim, respect and admiration.

It's an easy stick to use to put down someone who is successful. ' he loves the attention',

Every football fan has dreamed of scoring the big goal in the big game to run to the fans, and they'd love it.

Whether he will love it or not is irrelevant as to how to judge someone.

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 12:17pm
It is when it affects performance. I mean you could argue CR7 does it but it benefits the team. Having one player making everything about him all the time has deprived Liverpool over the past decade

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 12:24pm
I know. The deprivation he put the club through. That time he took the penalty instead of letting Andy Voronin get the scoring feeling. Or that time he asked Sky to interview him after the match when Sean Dundee had been man of the match and Gerrard just took over. The time he told England that he was captain or else he was going home.
Lifting the Champions league trophy first and not letting Traore lift it
Putting in a performance to label the Fa Cup final the ' Gerrard Final ' , writing to the media asking them to refer to it as the Gerrard final. Asking Mourinho to sign him 3 times when he could have asked Mourinho to sign Bruno Cheyrou. Imagine what that could have done for Cheyrous confidence and spurred him on at Anfield. But no it was only about Stevie me going to Chelsea. The bastard

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 12:25pm
I'd say today will be more of the same too

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 12:29pm
Stevie me didn't go to Chelsea as he would have bedn found it. He used Maureen for leverage to get more wonga oyt of his beloved Liverpool.

I expect it be even worse today. He will continually be trying 90 yard shots and 300 yard balls while crying. I wouldn't be surprised if he brought out a waxwork of himself and made love to it

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 12:33pm
Originally posted by athlonecelt athlonecelt wrote:

I know. The deprivation he put the club through. That time he took the penalty instead of letting Andy Voronin get the scoring feeling. Or that time he asked Sky to interview him after the match when Sean Dundee had been man of the match and Gerrard just took over. The time he told England that he was captain or else he was going home.
Lifting the Champions league trophy first and not letting Traore lift it
Putting in a performance to label the Fa Cup final the ' Gerrard Final ' , writing to the media asking them to refer to it as the Gerrard final. Asking Mourinho to sign him 3 times when he could have asked Mourinho to sign Bruno Cheyrou. Imagine what that could have done for Cheyrous confidence and spurred him on at Anfield. But no it was only about Stevie me going to Chelsea. The bastard

The premier league would have been a lesser place without him. He gave us so many entertaining moments over the years. Whether it be the last minute goals or the moments that non-Liverpool friendly people would like.

The Tony Romo of English Football. And thats a compliment.

He didn't go to Chelsea as he would have been found out.

Good lad

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 12:40pm

He didn't go to Chelsea as he would have been found out.

Good lad

Ignore him.
He's looking for attention with his constant snide comments.

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 12:40pm
He stayed because he loved Liverpool so much

Posted By: Eamon Numpty
Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 2:35pm
A nothing player

''If you have passion, if you have conviction, if you believe the lies that you're writing , then you stand to make a great deal of money. Its a beautiful game. Thats why I love writing for the Star."

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 4:54pm
Just done his hamstring in the warm up!

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 5:14pm

It's an easy stick to use to put down someone who is successful. ' he loves the attention',

Every football fan has dreamed of scoring the big goal in the big game to run to the fans, and they'd love it.

Who we talking about here as its clearly not the person the thread is about, one could describe that person as a serial under performing loser!!!

Anyway, time for ye all to get the kleenex ready (I'll leave it up to you as to how you'll use the kleenex)

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 5:14pm
Not sure about this pitch side pre match interview. Get on with it ffs!

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 5:15pm
Over before it started. That's ok I guess,

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 5:20pm

Who we talking about here as its clearly not the person the thread is about, one could describe that person as a serial under performing loser!!!

Anyway, time for ye all to get the kleenex ready (I'll leave it up to you as to how you'll use the kleenex)

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 5:20pm
Francesco Totti knows the score.

[​IMG]

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 5:26pm
Stevie G stealing Bret Hart's catchphrase LOL

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 5:27pm
Doesn't give much hope for the future of Liverpool does it?

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 5:35pm
Has he shot yet? How many times?

(not watching but I assume the game has kicked off)

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 5:35pm
I see SkySports have got the old player cam out for this.

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 5:44pm
Originally posted by dundon13 dundon13 wrote:

I see SkySports have got the old player cam out for this.
I hope this is made into a documentary like the Zidane one. But Gerrard was miles better as a player, obviously.

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 6:07pm
It'll be some bukkake party come full time. He'll look like an extra from Ghostbusters.

Posted By: Andkend
Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 6:07pm
Stevie G - Stevie G - Stevie G

Thank U!

Many many many many hours of enjoyment, ups and downs - highs and lows -

Liverpool legend 100%

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 6:23pm

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 7:05pm

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 7:07pm
How's he playing? He come off yet?

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 7:12pm
Destiny awaits Steven Gerrard. Whatever #Destiny is. 

The progressive recalibration of  http://www.thefreekick.com/board/index.php?hashtags/Destiny/" rel="nofollow - #Destiny  this year:

Win the league > win the European Cup > win the FA Cup > get top four > score a goal in front of the Kop > don't do your hamstring > don't get sent off > don't do your hamstring and slip causing the concession of a goal in front of the Kop at the same time > don't slip causing the concession of a goal in front of the Kop, do your hamstring and get sent off all at the same time

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 7:19pm

How's he playing? He come off yet?

Will find it hard to get into the Galaxy team at this rate .

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 7:19pm
Well his last game went well

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 7:20pm
Is there a match on somewhere?

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 7:23pm
Zaha

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 7:23pm
He wasn't helped by his teammates. We were poison. And him being in the box trying to get a goal meant we had others taking the set plays and they were all sh*te!

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 7:39pm
sh*te - awful anticlimax to the season

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 7:44pm
The performance sums up the season.

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 7:55pm
he must really hate palace LOL

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 8:11pm
It's no exaggeration to say that the amount I cried as Stevie walked around the pitch there at the end was more than when my two grandmothers, my uncle, my cat, Derek Davis, Richard Whiteley and Uaneen Fitzsimons from No Disco died, combined.

That's the emotion that Steven Gerrard and Liverpool Football Club bring out in me. 

We will never see your like again,  Stevie.

#WWNSYLA 
#Goodbye
#YNWA

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 8:13pm

It's no exaggeration to say that the amount I cried as Stevie walked around the pitch there at the end was more than when my two grandmothers, my uncle, my cat, Derek Davis, Richard Whiteley and Uaneen Fitzsimons from No Disco died, combined.

That's the emotion that Steven Gerrard and Liverpool Football Club bring out in me. 

#WWNSYLA 
#Goodbye
#YNWA

And even if you added the amount I cried when Raymond van Barneveld left the BDO for the pdc, it still wouldn't be as much. 

Goodbye, goodbye, and thank you for everything, my hero. 

Posted By: lexie_2005
Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 8:16pm

#WWNSYLA 
#Goodbye
#YNWA

And even if you added the amount I cried when Raymond van Barneveld left the BDO for the pdc, it still wouldn't be as much. 

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 8:19pm

#WWNSYLA 
#Goodbye
#YNWA

If you had to choose your biggest hero Sid ,

Wolfie or Stevie G?

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 8:24pm

#WWNSYLA 
#Goodbye
#YNWA

Wolfie or Stevie G?
I couldn't choose. It would be amazing if they could be combined into some sort of composite superhero, Gerrard the Wolf or something. 

Or Gerry Adams. Yes. That's it!

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 8:29pm

#WWNSYLA 
#Goodbye
#YNWA

Wolfie or Stevie G?
I couldn't choose. It would be amazing if they could be combined into some sort of composite superhero, Gerrard the Wolf or something. 

Or Gerry Adams. Yes. That's it!

Wasn't really fair of me to ask you that question at this difficult times.My thoughts are with you .

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 8:46pm
😂😂

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 8:59pm
Looking forward to all this happening again next season once he re-signs on loan in January.

Date Posted: 16 May 2015 at 11:01pm
Steven Gerrard
My favourite nemesis
Legend
Genuinely a bit down to see him go tbh.

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 12:09am

Steven Gerrard
My favourite nemesis
Legend
Genuinely a bit down to see him go tbh.

That's more the feeling i got when Vieira left Arsenal!

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 1:04am
Quite fitting he left anfield a loser imo

Tell me he tried diving during the game

His legacy - English footballs biggest diving cheater who won fk all (bar a lucky night in Istanbul)

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 1:32am

His legacy - English footballs biggest diving cheater who won fk all (bar a lucky night in Istanbul)

So on the basis it was lucky it doesnt actually count Confused

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 9:38am
Not a dry eye in the house!

Liverpool legend!

https://youtu.be/NGJdafN0V7U" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/NGJdafN0V7U

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 9:59am

Does the K in you name stand for Kunt ?

Bitter bitter man, I'd say you cant even kick a ball !!!

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 10:52am
Philly is the most bitter person you'll ever likely to meet. To sum up his knowledge of football in one sentence - he thinks Neymar is the best footballer in the world.

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 10:53am
A brilliant footballer who who played in many average sides and even won European cup with an average side.

Really brilliant at dramatic moments in games when it was most needed. A brilliant athlete and excellent technique and passion! His tactical brain let him down at times and it is why he was never a world class central midfielder.   

That would have been fine if he was happy to play off the striker or wide right where he was world class. But for years he pushed to play central midfield and did not have the discipline or tactical no how to be world class at that role.

This was most seen when playing for England at major tournaments.   Owes Liverpool nothing and is certainly the best player they have had they won the league.   

Posted By: MasterOfApples
Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 10:56am

Looking forward to all this happening again next season once he re-signs on loan in January.

The first thought that came into my mind when I watched the coverage of him leaving yesterday. Odds on to come back next season on loan. I am interested to see how he finds life outside Liverpool. He comes across as a real home bird.

Craven Cottage, by the river ...

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 12:51pm
He has already stated that he will not return on loan, but will come back and train with the team during the off season.

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 12:56pm
That was some wankfest well done palace for spoiling the party 💃

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 2:09pm
Anyone see Canavarro's tribute to Gerrard.

It had a pic of Fabio in action against Lampard !!!!

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 3:13pm

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 3:14pm
Jesus Gerrard was abysmal yesterday. Had it not been his last game he would have been hauled off.

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 3:18pm

Jesus Gerrard was abysmal yesterday. Had it not been his last game he would have been hauled off.

Playing with tears in his eyes.

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 3:27pm

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 3:33pm
Thank you palace

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 3:40pm
Great to see Champions League winning manager Gerard Houllier there yesterday. Great night in Istanbul for both of them.

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 3:49pm

2002?

Some fake that!

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 4:11pm
That paddy power advertisement was brilliant

Posted By: Bo Jackson
Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 4:29pm
sure what does totti know anyways
http://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/latest-news/185397-totti-steven-s-been-the-complete-player" rel="nofollow - http://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/latest-news/185397-totti-steven-s-been-the-complete-player

Posted By: kingofkings
Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 5:35pm

2002?

Some fake that!

Pretty Sure that's the date the match was played

It's real, it whipped it down as soon as he realised his error

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 6:11pm
Some of the posts on this thread are completely embarrassing (and that's coming from me) about Gerrard.

How dare the club celebrate one of their most iconic players!

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 6:35pm
Originally posted by kingofkings kingofkings wrote:

2002?

Some fake that!

Pretty Sure that's the date the match was played

It's real, it whipped it down as soon as he realised his error

Thats it.
England vs Italy March 27 2002.Italy won 2-1.

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 7:37pm
Sure twitter wasn't around in 2002

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 7:44pm

Sure twitter wasn't around in 2002
I spent the whole afternoon of September 11th, 2001 trolling Americans on Twitter. Death to the Infidels!

Date Posted: 17 May 2015 at 8:25pm
Fair play, wasn't founded until 2006.

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2021 at 1:57pm
You cannot doubt Steven Gerrard

WHAT 

CHAMPION 

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2021 at 2:47pm
The GClap

Posted By: King_Kenny
Date Posted: 07 Mar 2021 at 2:52pm

You cannot doubt Steven Gerrard

WHAT 

CHAMPION 

What year was that in England?I forgot!

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2023 at 10:55am
Gerrard confirmed the new manager of Al-Ettsfaq.

I'm sure he didn't go for the money.

Big smile

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2023 at 2:53pm

Big smile
How do you chose where you work DM? Is it for the love of and history of the company?

Posted By: Banana_RepublicFC
Date Posted: 04 Jul 2023 at 3:11pm

Big smile
How do you chose where you work DM? Is it for the love of and history of the company?

Comparing a multi-millionaire former footballer and English football legend with DM is a ridiculous comparison.

Gerrard has a net worth of around £70 million. He's a 43 year old manager, not some old geezer looking for a final payday. 

You don't think he could have got another job in England or Europe?

It looks like he's thrown in the towel already after one bad spell at Villa.

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2023 at 3:24pm
Maybe he didn't get many offers? -- he initially declined the role and then changed his mind a day later.

The same goes for Keane, I don't think he had too many offers to resurrect his coaching\managerial career, so took what was on offer.

Considering the trigger happy world we live, both will probably be home before Christmas.

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2023 at 3:33pm

Maybe he didn't get many offers? -- he initially declined the role and then changed his mind a day later.

The same goes for Keane, I don't think he had too many offers to resurrect his coaching\managerial career, so took what was on offer.

Considering the trigger happy world we live, both will probably be home before Christmas.

If Lampard was able to get jobs after Chelsea, Gerrard would too.

He actually did a very good job at Rangers. His record in Europe was good too.

He'd probably have to settle for a Championship team or wait for a PL club like Wolves, Luton or Sheffield United to sack their manager.

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2023 at 3:45pm
No doubt he will be living in luxury and getting paid way more than any club would be willing to offer him in Europe. 
Is there really too much that can go wrong? Worst case scenario he is sacked and goes home millions of quid richer. 
If he is doing a good job there, he might also get picked back up by a club in europe

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2023 at 4:42pm
Originally posted by Banana_RepublicFC Banana_RepublicFC wrote:

He'd probably have to settle for a Championship team or wait for a PL club like Wolves, Luton or Sheffield United to sack their manager.

At Rangers he won one domestic trophy out of a possible nine. 

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2023 at 4:54pm

And Celtic were struggling at the time as well. His stint in Scotland is very overrated 

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2023 at 6:03pm

And Celtic were struggling at the time as well. His stint in Scotland is very overrated 

It really isn't. If you're a biased Celtic fan, maybe.

1st and only SP title since 2011. It was a big deal. Celtic had a massive advantage over Rangers who were in recovery for years.

Rangers outperformed Celtic in Europe under Gerrard. 26 wins & 17 draws from 53 European games.

Slippy G did a good job at Rangers. Villa was a disaster.

Posted By: tapfit2004
Date Posted: 04 Jul 2023 at 7:01pm

1st and only SP title since 2011. It was a big deal. Celtic had a massive advantage over Rangers who were in recovery for years.

Rangers outperformed Celtic in Europe under Gerrard. 26 wins & 17 draws from 53 European games.

Neil Lennon managing Celtic the season he won the league had nothing to do with it? 

It was Celtic's worst season in years and not just because they lost against rangers. They were W 22, D 11 and L 5. Celtic had 77 points in the league, the last time they got lower points than that was the 99/00 season. 

Stevie's management was talked up that season but St Johnstone won the 2 cup competitions. He did OK in some of the European games but if celtic weren't so bad things could have been different. Rangers took 10 points out of the 4 league games against Celtic, Celtic took 1 and lost in the Scottish Cup as well.

Not too many of "THE PEOPLE" would be looking for him to come back. 

Let Christy Take It.

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2023 at 7:52pm
Originally posted by tapfit2004 tapfit2004 wrote:

Neil Lennon managing Celtic the season he won the league had nothing to do with it? 

It was Celtic's worst season in years and not just because they lost against rangers. They were W 22, D 11 and L 5. Celtic had 77 points in the league, the last time they got lower points than that was the 99/00 season. 

Stevie's management was talked up that season but St Johnstone won the 2 cup competitions. He did OK in some of the European games but if celtic weren't so bad things could have been different. Rangers took 10 points out of the 4 league games against Celtic, Celtic took 1 and lost in the Scottish Cup as well.

Seen as Neil Lennon won a domestic treble the season before under Lennon, I'd say no.

Rangers, Celtic, Hibs and Aberdeen all failed to stop that St Johnston side. You're being a bit ridiculous with your standards. You don't have to win domestic treble every season to have a good season.

Rangers went the entire league campaign undefeated. 102 points. It would have been very difficult for any manager to match that. Rangers generally bought well under Gerrard.

You could say the same about Brendan Rodgers returning to Celtic.

Gerrard did well and earned a managerial move to England, then failed. Beale was with him at Villa for 6/7 months. So who knows how good Beale really is. Some people credit him for Gerrard's success at Rangers.

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2023 at 10:10am

Big smile

Comparing a multi-millionaire former footballer and English football legend with DM is a ridiculous comparison.

Gerrard has a net worth of around £70 million. He's a 43 year old manager, not some old geezer looking for a final payday. 

You don't think he could have got another job in England or Europe?

It looks like he's thrown in the towel already after one bad spell at Villa.

I didn't mean it as a comparison at anyone in particular but more, isn't that how all of us chose who to work for? Make more money and live in the sun rather than Hull, Stoke or Coventry

Posted By: Fitz
Date Posted: 01 Aug 2023 at 2:21am

Originally posted by tapfit2004 tapfit2004 wrote:

Seen as Neil Lennon won a domestic treble the season before under Lennon, I'd say no.

Rangers, Celtic, Hibs and Aberdeen all failed to stop that St Johnston side. You're being a bit ridiculous with your standards. You don't have to win domestic treble every season to have a good season.

Rangers went the entire league campaign undefeated. 102 points. It would have been very difficult for any manager to match that. Rangers generally bought well under Gerrard.

You could say the same about Brendan Rodgers returning to Celtic.

Gerrard did well and earned a managerial move to England, then failed. Beale was with him at Villa for 6/7 months. So who knows how good Beale really is. Some people credit him for Gerrard's success at Rangers.

He won one trophy from nine in Scotland. The Huns wanted him chased on a few different occasions before Neil Lennon and the Celtic board lost their collective mind during the covid season (they had insisted on keeping players who were not committed enough and/or wanted out; they also had signed some atrocious guys who were way off the standard that was required). Callum Davidson is literally a more successful Scottish manager than Slippy. His reputation was heavily buoyed by his pals/admirers in the English media - who might watch an SPFL game twice a year - and he was quickly exposed for the utter, utter bluffer he is when he went to Villa. Bear in mind, also, that The Mole was - supposedly - the ‘brains’ of that particular operation.