URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=51587
Printed Date: 27 Apr 2024 at 11:06am

Topic: The "What I learned today" thread
Subject: The "What I learned today" thread
Date Posted: 05 May 2015 at 9:35pm
that ponies arent small horses that grown into proper horses, they are actually ponies all their lives ShockedShockedShocked

Date Posted: 05 May 2015 at 9:45pm
Some ponies, not all of them!

Posted By: HateHenry
Date Posted: 05 May 2015 at 9:51pm
That Count really is as thick as sh*t!!Tongue

Date Posted: 05 May 2015 at 9:55pm
Thick thread for Count

Date Posted: 06 May 2015 at 10:50am
Small.....far away......

Date Posted: 06 May 2015 at 2:18pm
The actor that plays Lou Carpenter is a Leicester City fan

Date Posted: 06 May 2015 at 2:36pm

The actor that plays Lou Carpenter is a Leicester City fan

that is absolutely astounding

Date Posted: 06 May 2015 at 2:39pm
Today I learned that pM is absolutely astounded

Date Posted: 06 May 2015 at 3:02pm
The stuff we played with in primary school is actually called marla, not mala.

Date Posted: 06 May 2015 at 3:16pm

ShockedShockedShocked

Date Posted: 06 May 2015 at 3:18pm

GTFO

Posted By: AnCearrbhach
Date Posted: 06 May 2015 at 3:27pm

I will never believe this no matter how much evidence you produce

Date Posted: 06 May 2015 at 3:54pm
Is it not called play doh?

Date Posted: 06 May 2015 at 4:08pm
https://translate.google.com/#en/ga/plasticine" rel="nofollow - https://translate.google.com/#en/ga/plasticine

Well there you have it.

Date Posted: 06 May 2015 at 4:08pm
Play-doh was a bit softer IIRC. Marla is the Irish word for plasticine apparently.

Posted By: dunloybhoy
Date Posted: 06 May 2015 at 4:25pm
no matter how good pasticine looks to eat its always stinking

put em under pressure!

Date Posted: 06 May 2015 at 4:31pm
Play-doh is mostly cornflour, water and colourant. It is horrible but at least it's non-toxic.

Plasticine is equally non-toxic but made of completely different stuff (petroleum jelly, mostly). I'd imagine vasoline tastes terrible so that's probably why plasticine tastes nasty.

Date Posted: 06 May 2015 at 4:38pm
I have never tasted vaseline but it is why I refuse atm.

Date Posted: 08 May 2015 at 4:14pm
Pele is only 4 years older then Christy Moore

Date Posted: 08 May 2015 at 4:16pm
And had no problem getting up on a surfboard

Date Posted: 08 May 2015 at 4:20pm

And had no problem getting up on a surfboard
Or anything else for that matter.....

Date Posted: 08 May 2015 at 4:23pm
Glad you got it CH

Date Posted: 08 May 2015 at 5:54pm
The scumbag-to-the-grand-canal ratio drastically reduces when it's pissing rain.

Date Posted: 08 May 2015 at 7:15pm

Would you stop. No it wasnt!!!

Date Posted: 08 May 2015 at 7:37pm

Would you stop. No it wasnt!!!

Sure is

Date Posted: 08 May 2015 at 7:38pm
I learned today that I will only succeed if I let go of my fear

Posted By: Zico
Date Posted: 08 May 2015 at 11:22pm
The fear should inspire you and not hold you back. Man up ffs.

I want to eat your ....

Date Posted: 08 May 2015 at 11:35pm
Originally posted by Zico Zico wrote:

anyone who says 'man up' should be castrated and then told to 'man up'

Date Posted: 09 May 2015 at 12:11am

Choose your words very carefully

Posted By: Zico
Date Posted: 09 May 2015 at 12:15am

I did.

The best way to face fear is to face it and challenge it. That way you can over come it.

I am talking from experience on this.

I want to eat your ....

Date Posted: 09 May 2015 at 12:22am
That Samuel Adams is horrible.  Dead  

Date Posted: 09 May 2015 at 12:41am

have you any redeeming features?

Date Posted: 13 May 2015 at 8:35pm

I did.

The best way to face fear is to face it and challenge it. That way you can over come it.

I am talking from experience on this.

Agree 100% kind of what i meant

Date Posted: 13 May 2015 at 10:52pm
Dundalk deserves the nickname Craptown!

Date Posted: 13 May 2015 at 11:22pm

A lovely beer. The proper imported stuff is an absolute delight but even the gear made under license by Shepard Neame is way above the average fare on offer most places

Date Posted: 13 May 2015 at 11:25pm

A lovely beer. The proper imported stuff is an absolute delight but even the gear made under license by Shepard Neame is way above the average fare on offer most places

I can't agree Antrimman! I can't, i noticed when I'm home theres a lot of bars in the City with it on tap Hatfield to name just one.  

I'm a fan of the Bluemoon however

Date Posted: 13 May 2015 at 11:35pm
Blue moon is awful sh*te altogether.

Don't get me wrong. I love the Hatfield. It's a big part of the reason I dont have a degree. But it's never had the best pints.

Date Posted: 13 May 2015 at 11:40pm
Blue moon is piss, utter piss. Belgian style wheat beers wouldn't be my favourite style of beer anyway but this 'craft' beer from coors is just awful. And telling us to put fruit in the beer as a 'serving suggestion'? It already tastes like someone f**ked orange juice into a vedett white, you want us to make it flat too? Stick to bottling water from the rocky mountains and selling it as beer and convincing Brits that Carling is an English lager. Leave the real beer to the professionals

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 12:08am

Blue moon is awful sh*te altogether.

Don't get me wrong. I love the Hatfield. It's a big part of the reason I dont have a degree. But it's never had the best pints.

I know the family brave and well for years family friends, its my first stop for a pint when I'm home! 

I thought people were fans of blue moon! Bluemoon, Bud Light with Lime I'm not a big beer drinker mind you id rather have a class of Jack or Jim Bean. I recently had Jim Bean with honey.. excellent 

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 12:33am

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 12:37am

I can't agree Antrimman! I can't, i noticed when I'm home theres a lot of bars in the City with it on tap Hatfield to name just one.  

I'm a fan of the Bluemoon however

I love a pint of blue moon but the bottles are not near the same.

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 10:02am
I learned that if a word begins with Q it is always followed by a u Confused

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 10:22am

I dont think thats true

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 10:50am

I dont think thats true

Really? I googled it and there doesn't seem to be any words in the Englih language that dont follow this rule? 

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 10:53am
Qatar
Qatari

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 10:56am

Jaysus LOL

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 10:59am

I remember being told this too.

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 11:22am

Qatar
Qatari

Presume she means 'a' or 'u' which means her rule applies to your 2 two words above?

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 11:34am
Can anyone come up with any other words in the English language (aside from an Arab countries name) where 'q' is followed by a letter other than a 'u'?

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 11:37am

Yeah, scrabble 101

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 11:40am
Okay other than a word relating to Qatar? 

Gimmie a word that you would use day to day that doesnt follow this rule?

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 11:41am
I learned that cats shouldn't drink milk.

Its not good for them and some of them are lactose intolerant. wtf

Posted By: Flanno7hi
Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 11:42am

Qwerty as in a qwerty keyboard I believe is now a word in the dictionary but other than that I thought that rule was pretty well known?

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 11:43am

I'm confused. Qatar follows your rule as the 'a' follows the 'Q' no?

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 11:52am

I'm confused. Qatar follows your rule as the 'a' follows the 'Q' no?

She meant the Q is followed by a "u" as in quite slow Wink

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 11:55am
Qabalahs
Qindarka
Qis
Qats
Qoph
Qindar

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 11:58am
Yeah Gaz is quite slow alright LOL

Sono what the hell language are those words even in LOL

Posted By: Funsize Crouchy
Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 11:58am
Iraq

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 12:00pm
Qat - is a vegetable or a drug, which was freely available in England until last year

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 12:00pm
Originally posted by Funsize Crouchy Funsize Crouchy wrote:

Iraq

WTF LOL

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 12:11pm
Does nobody play scrabble anymore? Qi is always a personal favourite towards the end of a game. Alternative spelling of chi.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_English_words_containing_Q_not_followed_by_U" rel="nofollow - full list

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 12:42pm
i learned that the more dubious the name of an energy drink, the more brutally effective it is. studying for my last exam this year fired up on the mysterious delights of 'Red Thunder'. probably about 40c a gallon but it does the job...

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 12:57pm
Q followed by u. You learn that in baby infants. 

Did any of you go to school?

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 1:03pm
They also tell you I before E except after C but that's bollix.
Ah our foreign neighbours, their language is decidedly weird.

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 1:10pm
Originally posted by Flanno7hi Flanno7hi wrote:

They also tell you I before E except after see but that's bollix.
Ah our foreign neighbours, their language is decidedly weird.

they gave us a great language, if only they could learn it themselves

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 1:10pm
Qombat

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 1:14pm
Now im confused. Am I right or what?

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 1:18pm

Qombat 88.........Guaranteed Tickets to all AWAY matches.....provided you can prove you are an UNKNOWN Away Fan , and have no interest in Yachts

A great bunch of lads

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 1:24pm

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 1:45pm

Ya you are right SGB. There are almost no exceptions except words used in English that are directly taken from another (usually middle eastern) language and Qwerty which is a very modern invention.

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 2:06pm
ClapClap

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 2:15pm
Well done SGB point proven!

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 2:27pm

Well done SGB point proven!

she'll paint the grass green tonight in celebrationClap

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 3:00pm
I feel like I could take over the world now Big smileClap

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 3:04pm

Ya you are right SGB. There are almost no exceptions except words used in English that are directly taken from another (usually middle eastern) language and Qwerty which is a very modern invention.

Sadly there are exceptions, so the old fable that q is followed by u is busted.
20 years ago you would have been correct mind

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 3:11pm

love to be pedantic here, but every word in English comes from another language, like most modern languages. The reason English is such a great language is it's diversity, taking words from anglo saxon and latin , including using suffixes from bot linguistic backgrounds to create very different words. Think horrid, horrible, horrific for example as well as picking up words from all the countries they have raped and pillaged from sshenanigans to pyjamas. Also, as far as I can recall, many of the questions (I believe originally spelt qwestion) such as whixh and what were written as qhich qhat. They probably evolved to fit that rule of thumb, rather than the other way around

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 3:21pm
Why are you begrudging me my moment? 

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 3:26pm
Because i can't change the habits of a lifetime

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 3:31pm
If you deem that a victory it's a shallow one 

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 3:45pm

If you deem that a victory it's a shallow one 

i fail to understand

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 3:55pm

love to be pedantic here, but every word in English comes from another language, like most modern languages. The reason English is such a great language is it's diversity, taking words from anglo saxon and latin , including using suffixes from bot linguistic backgrounds to create very different words. Think horrid, horrible, horrific for example as well as picking up words from all the countries they have raped and pillaged from sshenanigans to pyjamas. Also, as far as I can recall, many of the questions (I believe originally spelt qwestion) such as whixh and what were written as qhich qhat. They probably evolved to fit that rule of thumb, rather than the other way around
Can you answer something for me PM. If you see the word 'today' written about 100 years ago, it was written as "to-day". Why did this change and when did it change?

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 4:19pm

I understand language evolves, I guess it depends on when one believes a word becomes an "English word". Like the word burqa is obviously a well understood word in English but is it an English word like pineapple? (I know it can also be spelt burka).

You might like these maps CB
http://imgur.com/a/iVK8a" rel="nofollow - http://imgur.com/a/iVK8a

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 5:02pm

I feel like I could take over the world now Big smileClap

Start with Qatar and work your way from there.

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 6:02pm

I understand language evolves, I guess it depends on when one believes a word becomes an "English word". Like the word burqa is obviously a well understood word in English but is it an English word like pineapple? (I know it can also be spelt burka).

You might like these maps CB
http://imgur.com/a/iVK8a" rel="nofollow - http://imgur.com/a/iVK8a

Excellent work Flanno

I would also argue about pineapple being a truly 'English ' word. Pineapples first entered European vocabulary from Colombus on return from America. He called them Pina de Indes , or pine cone of the indies.
I just Googled, it appears pine cones were referred to as pineapples prior to the fruit, which was originally called ananas in English too. It is quite an interesting word.

Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 6:05pm
It has evolved from anglo saxon or old English, to daeg or on this day and would imagine just evolved into a hyphenated word and then one word. There are a few like that, goodnight and goodbye for example.

Posted By: Madferret
Date Posted: 14 May 2015 at 6:20pm

.... it appears pine cones were referred to as pineapples prior to the fruit, which was originally called ananas in English too. It is quite an interesting word.

It's etymology & application would appear almost Universal then, even as Gaeilge "anann" (noun) or "píosa anainn" (a slice of pineapple), originally from "Ananas" and also could be used in reference to Kournikova, the tennis player.

Date Posted: 15 May 2015 at 8:12am
Eh sorry but im totally lost now.

Anyway I was right in the end. You cant have a q without a u after it Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 15 May 2015 at 11:28am
I before E except after C. Nonsense. Weird is one example.

Date Posted: 18 May 2015 at 8:06pm
Jack Nicholson's daughter owns a boozer and lives in Trim,Co Meath

Date Posted: 18 May 2015 at 8:25pm
GTFO

Date Posted: 18 May 2015 at 8:34pm
Nope 100% true my son👍

Date Posted: 18 May 2015 at 8:37pm
What is it called, the cuckoo's nest? Johnny's?

Date Posted: 18 May 2015 at 8:46pm

What is it called, the cuckoo's nest? Johnny's?

Batman

Date Posted: 18 May 2015 at 8:50pm
Today is not Tuesday!

Date Posted: 18 May 2015 at 8:56pm

Today is not Tuesday!

sh*t name for a pub.

Date Posted: 19 May 2015 at 1:38pm
Richard Nixon really did have a list of enemies and Paul Newman was No.19 on it

Date Posted: 19 May 2015 at 5:38pm
Mark Knopfler has a dinosaur called after him.

Date Posted: 19 May 2015 at 6:12pm
surely you mean the band T-rex

Date Posted: 19 May 2015 at 6:22pm

alas not. http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Masiakasaurus" rel="nofollow - http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Masiakasaurus

Date Posted: 19 May 2015 at 6:23pm

alas not. http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Masiakasaurus" rel="nofollow - http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Masiakasaurus
Well there you go i have learned something new now too LOL