URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=51511
Printed Date: 27 Apr 2024 at 11:28pm

Topic: irishmuff Appreciaton Thread
Posted By: ABFC
Subject: irishmuff Appreciaton Thread
Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 6:44pm
I just thought that the great man deserved his own thread. A true living legend. I'd love to go on the sauce with the man. Sounds a right character. 

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 6:55pm
Met him in Vienna top lad, you would have to buy the sauce for him mind cheap date

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 6:59pm
One of the all time greats Clap

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 6:59pm
The funniest thing I've ever seen on this forum was when he posted up about taking €6.50 or whatever with him on a date with a girl in Whelan's.

Anytime I think about it, I just burst out laughing!

Top man is Irishmuff!

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 7:03pm
He sounds like a top bloke. Doesn't take himself too seriously 

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 7:19pm

The funniest thing I've ever seen on this forum was when he posted up about taking €6.50 or whatever with him on a date with a girl in Whelan's.

Anytime I think about it, I just burst out laughing!

Top man is Irishmuff!

It was actually 2.38 I had left after landing in with 13 quid. We were out the night before so was pottless.

Sipping on a warm Heineken for 2 hours

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 7:51pm
The dick cheese thread was goldenLOL

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 8:19pm
The replies to that thread were brilliant, utter horror LOL

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 9:05pm

Don't remember that. Any link?

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 9:20pm
What's the plan of action for tonight muff?

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 6:43am

Don't remember that. Any link?

Bumped overnight..... some thread

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 7:12am

Yep always makes me smile sober or drunk he full on Thumbs Up Hey Galways loss but can Dublin handle him ????

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 10:40am
D-day today with the one in work.

Need to get her on her own.

In bits in work and a bit of a pebbledash Monday on the toilet bowl so not in the best shape.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 11:23am
Best of luck brother. No doubt you'll do us proud. 
Has she given you the mince pies at all today?

As a great former YBIGGER and wannabe American once said "Once you're in love you'll understand" 
I hope you'll find that love today Muffy. 

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 11:32am

D-day today with the one in work.

Need to get her on her own.

In bits in work and a bit of a pebbledash Monday on the toilet bowl so not in the best shape.

Best of luck

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 11:55am
Originally posted by ABFC ABFC wrote:

Best of luck brother. No doubt you'll do us proud. 
Has she given you the mince pies at all today?

As a great former YBIGGER and wannabe American once said "Once you're in love you'll understand" 
I hope you'll find that love today Muffy. 

No unfortunately. I think my boring facebook messages have shagged me up. One of the lads is sitting right behind her so have to thread carefully.

I'm nervous as fcuk

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 11:56am
Women like strong, confident men. March over to her desk and ask her, no actually tell her, that she's getting a length off you. Your only problem then is that all the other women in the office will be on you like a cheap suit too. Then, the question that you have to ask yourself is, are you ready for that much action?

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 12:22pm
Be confident Muff. Maybe send her a text asking her out for lunch. 
You can treat her and both of you can share the soup of the day 

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 12:51pm
Cheers lads.
In the canteen now but not actually hungry.

Haven't had the chance so may have to leave it until later on before we finish. She mightened be as busy in the afternoon.

I just think it's better to do the asking face to face.It's worked for me before but It's a shot in the dark with this one.It's seriously putting her on the spot and the reaction mightened be great. No matter what way I'll do it it's going to be awkward.

Starting to think it's a woeful idea.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 12:55pm
Tell her to be wary of the one eyed trouser snake that hangs around the office

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 1:31pm
You and woeful ideas don't mix, go for it.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 1:55pm
She's after telling me I'm the spit of Stephen Rea from the butcher boy when he comes out of the lunatic asylum.

I'm screwed.

Posted By: Richmond Ultra
Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 2:50pm
What made her come out with that line?

Omnia Causa Fiunt

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 3:02pm
Muff MIA for over two hours, he's either ploughing the muck in the raspberry bay or hiding in it crying his little lamps out 

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 3:12pm

He's in the jax giving himself a right talking to....

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 3:22pm
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NHOf3s70w-c" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NHOf3s70w-c

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 4:16pm
Originally posted by Richmond Ultra Richmond Ultra wrote:

What made her come out with that line?

We were just talking about lookalikes and I said the lad beside me looked like Glenn Hansard so I probably asked for it.
I didn't get the chance to go over. I'm gonna have to do it tomorrow
I'd rather know one way or the other.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 4:43pm
Disappointed to hear nothing happened today Muffy.
I would text her tonight asking her out. Put in a humerous joke about looking like Stephen Rea. I think texting is wha you should do. Putting her on the spot in work is a bit unfair.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 5:26pm
A card will be a deal breaker, as Drog Addict to make one for you, he's a bit handy at that ole carry on

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 5:27pm
might want to leave out the 'smashing of back doors' in part from the card, wait till your on the first drink.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 6:19pm

Disappointed to hear nothing happened today Muffy.
I would text her tonight asking her out. Put in a humerous joke about looking like Stephen Rea. I think texting is wha you should do. Putting her on the spot in work is a bit unfair.

I feel like absolute sh*te tbh. My disappointed reaction gave me away in the canteen. One of the girls said, I think you've offended him. I was doing my best to play it down but they knew full well with my initial reaction as whatever chances I had before she said that, I think they just plummeted after that.

I think you're right. I don't think it'll be fair putting her on the spot. I need to get her number.

My female flatmate still reckons I should ask her face to face as it shows more balls.

Should I ring her tonight or say it to her tomorrow?

I'm siding with giving her a call.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 6:20pm
Just surprise her with a boner. They love that

Posted By: Whelo79
Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 6:31pm
Jesus don't phone her, nobody likes phone calls these days. Awkward silences seem 10 times as long.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 6:37pm
Why do you feel like sh*te Muff?

Do NOT call her!!!!
Facebook message her. Obtaining her number without her knowledge is a bit weird. Facebook message her with a joke about Stephen Rea and ask if she's up for a few jars. If she's not then dust yourself down and move on. Dublin has a population of 1,245,000. Plenty more out there for the Muffmeister but i'd def FB message her tonight with the golden question with a few witty jokes thrown in.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 6:53pm
jesus wept man up FFS and stop asking a bunch of strangers what to do

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 6:55pm
Stephen rea was in the crying game.

Crack a joke like does she have a knob like the bird in the crying game she will love that.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 7:00pm

Crack a joke like does she have a knob like the bird in the crying game she will love that.

I dont think she'd get the reference. Doesn't seem like a film buff.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 7:03pm
First thing tomorrow print out a Stephen Rea mask, throw it on and walk up to desk and ask her out. Can't fail.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 7:17pm

Yeah cause that's gge only problem with saying it

By the way if she knows who Stephen rea is she might surprise you, with a knob

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 7:21pm

This is my appreciation thread. That doesn't sound too appreciative

Tbh it's nothing to do with manning up. I did this twice before but my chances aren't great imo and It might be unfair on her coming out with a bombshell like that, if she doesn't feel the same.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 7:21pm

Yeah cause that's gge only problem with saying it

By the way if she knows who Stephen rea is she might surprise you, with a knob

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 7:28pm

Why do you feel like sh*te Muff?

Do NOT call her!!!!
Facebook message her. Obtaining her number without her knowledge is a bit weird. Facebook message her with a joke about Stephen Rea and ask if she's up for a few jars. If she's not then dust yourself down and move on. Dublin has a population of 1,245,000. Plenty more out there for the Muffmeister but i'd def FB message her tonight with the golden question with a few witty jokes thrown in.

Ah just the fact I didn't get to ask her and that my chances have probably reduced.She's not drinking at the moment. I would ask her for her number on facebook.

I sent her a witty message with a picture of Stephen Rea. I'll see if she replies to it later on.

I think it would be better to call than a Facebook/text message. It seems a bit of a cowards way out imo. I'd rather face to face as it would show I've at least some guts.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 7:29pm
Don't call. It's not a late nineties US comedy. 

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 7:36pm

Don't call. It's not a late nineties US comedy. 

I actually thought calling would be the best option tbh. Surprised lads would be against that.

I think I better bite the bullet tomorrow and ask her in work near the end. I finish an hour earlier than her.

If doesn't reply to my message tonigh, I'm sunk and will pull the plug. I'll know she isn't interested.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 7:53pm

fair comment

Tbh it's nothing to do with manning up. I did this twice before but my chances aren't great imo and It might be unfair on her coming out with a bombshell like that, if she doesn't feel the same.

what the one you were with in Salzburg picture in the bar ??? ....... she was quite good looking and not the beached whale, with personal hygiene issues and a face that would turn milk sour that we all thought she looked like      

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 7:56pm

First thing tomorrow print out a Stephen Rea mask, throw it on and walk up to desk and ask her out. Can't fail.

I'd say go with this great idea

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 8:00pm

fair comment

what the one you were with in Salzburg picture in the bar ??? ....... she was quite good looking and not the beached whale, with personal hygiene issues and a face that would turn milk sour that we all thought she looked like      

Ha ha.No I met her at the Euros in a bar. Didn't really have to do much in terms of asking as I knew she was into me.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 11:19pm
You're putting far too much pressure on yourself with the whole situation. Keep it casual. Plenty of stuff to do in Dublin that doesn't involve gargling.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2015 at 11:28pm
Have you seen much of Dublin muff?

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 12:34am

is that not the whole point of this thread?

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 12:52am

brilliant

Great thread, no better man

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 6:22am

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 7:42am
Didn't reply to the message last night. f**k it, I'm gonna cool it off. The onus is on her really to bring it up.

I'm not going to be jumping through more hoops when my chances of success are about the same as Eichmann's in Israel. She might cop when I'm not chatting to her much in the canteen. If she approaches me about it, I'll say it to her straight.

And anyway unless she's the most completely oblivious person in the world, she'll have an idea that I like her.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 9:15am

Didn't reply to the message last night. f**k it, I'm gonna cool it off. The onus is on her really to bring it up.

I'm not going to be jumping through more hoops when my chances of success are about the same as Eichmann's in Israel. She might cop when I'm not chatting to her much in the canteen. If she approaches me about it, I'll say it to her straight.

And anyway unless she's the most completely oblivious person in the world, she'll have an idea that I like her.

If she is the most oblivious person in the world and she does end up getting with you, then for the sake of humanity please make sure that you bag up when banging her. Your kids would be off the charts mental Wink

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 10:05am
Best of luck today Brother Muff

As a former Ybigger and wannabe American once  said "having a chick is great" 
I hope you find that "chick" today

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 10:36am

If she is the most oblivious person in the world and she does end up getting with you, then for the sake of humanity please make sure that you bag up when banging her. Your kids would be off the charts mental Wink

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 10:42am
Have to abort. She sat at the opposite end of the table this morning in the canteen.

It's already awkward ffs and I never went all out.At the moment she probably thinks I'm an incessant bore texting her mundane sh*te on facebook (only a half truth)

She's definitely twigged. There'll be a bit of avoiding I think. I better leave off a bit and let her either bring it up or text me again. I've already given the game away.

Posted By: Flanno7hi
Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 11:04am
Shocking stuff this from the Man who brought us the knob cheese thread. Just go up and ask her out. What's the worst that could happen? My thinking is, you are already feeling awkward so go and make sure.

Salt the f**king earth.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 11:10am
Luckily you didn't ring her as it could have ended up like this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxO_wp0AQqY" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxO_wp0AQqY

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 11:47am
Muff got the tactics wrong from the start. Now he has to endure the awkwardness 

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 11:52am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxO_wp0AQqY" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxO_wp0AQqY

LOLLOLClap

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 12:47pm
Originally posted by Flanno7hi Flanno7hi wrote:

Shocking stuff this from the Man who brought us the knob cheese thread. Just go up and ask her out. What's the worst that could happen? My thinking is, you are already feeling awkward so go and make sure.

Salt the f**king earth.

I think I will later in the week but not replying to my message. I can't keep making moves. I definitely need to let it rest. She'll cop that I'm not volunteering conversation with her and that I'm not as chatty. If she says anything, that's when I'll say it. It'll hardly be a huge shock to her then.

I'm in bad auld form. Snapped a bit at one of the lads who mentioned me being on Tinder piss taking to one of the women. I'm trying to keep a low profile and don't want that sh*t to be mentioned round your one.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 12:50pm

One of my favourite shows.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 12:54pm

Salt the f**king earth.

I think I will later in the week but not replying to my message. I can't keep making moves. I definitely need to let it rest. She'll cop that I'm not volunteering conversation with her and that I'm not as chatty. If she says anything, that's when I'll say it. It'll hardly be a huge shock to her then.

I'm in bad auld form. Snapped a bit at one of the lads who mentioned me being on Tinder piss taking to one of the women. I'm trying to keep a low profile and don't want that sh*t to be mentioned round your one.

Hope none of the lads are o ybig or she'll see your backdoor smashing threadLOL

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 12:55pm

Yep too defensive from the start then tried to hang in there in the second half , poor show needs more strike power up front and too weak across the middle , anymore of these poor shows and he will be going down all the way to the bottom , why this maybe just what the lad needs Big smile

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 12:56pm
On a serious note muff, don't go there. You should keep your work and social life totally separate. Unless she is total dinger with massive jabs (she probably doesn't cause she is a runner), has great gags, takes it up the hoop, swings both ways, her da owns a pub, loves football and not a ****, then go there.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 12:57pm
Any comic book about this Drog?

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 1:11pm

On a serious note muff, don't go there. You should keep your work and social life totally separate. Unless she is total dinger with massive jabs (she probably doesn't cause she is a runner), has great gags, takes it up the hoop, swings both ways, her da owns a pub, loves football and not a ****, then go there.

Ideally yes but if you like someone you like them. I'd never regret letting someone know especially if I think I've a good chance but I really made a bollix of this. I should've just went nuclear from the start.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 1:12pm

Yep too defensive from the start then tried to hang in there in the second half , poor show needs more strike power up front and too weak across the middle , anymore of these poor shows and he will be going down all the way to the bottom , why this maybe just what the lad needs Big smile

Far too defensive. There was zero creativity. Far too many aimless passes at her with the hope of her latching on to one. Muff will need to attack a bit more next time. 

Posted By: Bo Jackson
Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 1:24pm

Far too defensive. There was zero creativity. Far too many aimless passes at her with the hope of her latching on to one. Muff will need to attack a bit more next time. 

Wouldn't be the first time a Mayo man got the tactics wrong on the big occasion Wink

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 1:30pm

True.

The last thing you want is some ditch pig following you around work being all pathetic and clingy.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 1:31pm

I will let her know but will leave it a few days. I'm actually a bit annoyed she didn't text back. Currently being trained in work and finding it hard to concentrate as I'm pissed off.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 1:35pm
Just passed her there in the corridor, got caught on the hop and said hello. She gave a fairly neutral 'yo' back.

I'll be livid if she thinks everything's grand.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 1:48pm
Originally posted by Bo Jackson Bo Jackson wrote:

Wouldn't be the first time a Mayo man got the tactics wrong on the big occasion Wink
To be honest lads i have seen quite a few times, never played well at home bags of promise but that was it , now as away from home patchy to say the least but he plays out wide at international level and this is where he comes into his own . I saw him against the Swiss and he distroyed them as he was banging them in from every angle if he can just get his home form sorted out i am sure we will see a  better player .

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 1:50pm
Lash one of the other birds in work out of it. That way, yer wan still won't go near you but at least you'll have gotten your hole. And for a ginger lad, that's a great result. 

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 1:50pm
Has he frozen on the big occasion against the Dubs in their own back yard?

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 2:03pm
A few questions.

Where is she from?
Does she have her own gaff or live at home with the folks?
Does she drive? (If so,What car?)
Where does she socialise?

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 2:14pm
Yo? f**king yo? Is she an extra in the Fresh Prince. Deal breaker there muff. You have had a lucky escape

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 2:58pm

Yo? f**king yo? Is she an extra in the Fresh Prince. Deal breaker there muff. You have had a lucky escape

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 3:01pm

Lash one of the other birds in work out of it. That way, yer wan still won't go near you but at least you'll have gotten your hole. And for a ginger lad, that's a great result. 

In the great words of Johnny Drama from Entourage "pussy can smell other pussy". 

After watching that peep show clip, is someone going to change his name to IrishMaverick?

That's why keeping your personal life and work life separate is a good thing. Offices are far too small for that awkward carry on if it goes to pot.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 3:28pm

Its Carlton.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 3:57pm

"A Neutral yo"

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 3:58pm

Should have went with my face mask idea Muff.... 

A few questions.

Where is she from?

Not a hope you'll get an answer to any of the above.

Got a bit snappy with the one beside me. Everyone is annoying my hole asking why I'm quiet.

Take the hint when someone doesn't feel like chatting.

Muff truly is 'The Fresh Prince of South Dublin'
I can picture him walking around southside areas such Inchicore, Rialto and Crumlin as if he owns the place. 

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 5:23pm
Between the swans and this wan you are having no luck with birds at all.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 7:06pm

A few questions.

Where is she from?

Got a bit snappy with the one beside me. Everyone is annoying my hole asking why I'm quiet.

Right so. Another question.

Does she have a boyfriend?

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 7:10pm
Does she like tigers?

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 7:43pm

Does she like tigers?

Posted By: Ballycastle
Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 7:59pm
Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

Between the swans and this wan you are having no luck with birds at all.

Haha that's a cracker

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 8:03pm

A few questions.

Where is she from?

Right so. Another question.

Does she have a boyfriend?

I don't think so but again I don't know. I'm just gonna see how it plays out in work.

I've already given enough hints. If she's not biting it's unlikely she's interested.

She either

a) Knows I like her, given the messages on facebook, reaction to the Rea jibe,made eye contact and a friendly waved her goodbye as we were leaving the office yesterday and isn't interested. I was joking about Tinder first few weeks in work to the other girls before I started to like her so that may be working against me. This is the most likely option.

b) Might not think as much into things as me. Probably thinks I'm just being a boring incessant arsehole with bland facebook messages. She might think I'm being friendly and has no idea I like her. She might like me if I ask face to face. I don't think this is likely. Women are usually not slow to pick up these things and if they felt the same they'd text ya back at least.

c) Might in fact like me but is reluctant to on any one of the following reasons, she knows I'm a pisshead (She isn't) ,the fact we work together is a non starter (might think I'd be too clingy in work if we started seeing each other) when I'd be the opposite as I wouldn't want anyone in work to know we were seeing each other for the first while anyway. This is the least likely option.

Basically she's probably not interested but I'd rather definitely know for certain than have it like this where it's not entirely.

It'll drive me bats if it stays like this. I think if I tell her face to face, at the least she'll think higher of me in having the balls to say it even if she doesn't feel the same. Telling her face to face will be a relief at this stage tbh.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 8:09pm
Does she like tigers?

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 8:17pm
That's it Muff, keep playing heard to get. Treat them mean and keep them keen. Alternatively you could just ask her has she any good recipes for cheese. Or does she need her hinges oiled ?

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 8:50pm

Does she like tigers?

How the fcuk do I know?!

I don't think we're at the stage of discussing if it's the cinema or the zoo or tiddlywinks for the date we're unlikely to go on.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 8:55pm
I definitely think you should think about it a bit more before jumping into anything

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 8:58pm
Ffs you are over thinking things buddy. She probably just thinks you are a friendly guy.
Go slap your cock on her desk and ask her if she likes cheese with her eggs.
Sure there's plenty of jobs around isn't there, f**k all women though...

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 8:59pm

I definitely think you should think about it a bit more before jumping into anything

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 9:05pm

That's what I'm doing now. I want her to address it if she twigs I'm not chatty or engaging.My awkward hello in the corridor means she probably thinks it's grand which is a bollix.I've a feeling she may tell one of the girls she usually goes on lunch with. Our lunches aren't at the same time but the big one overlaps.

The lads know I'm in bad form so in a way it might be a good thing if it gets back to her indirectly. It might push her to address it. I certainly won't mention to anyone in work as it'll get straight back and is unfair.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2015 at 9:20pm

Ffs you are over thinking things buddy. She probably just thinks you are a friendly guy.
Go slap your cock on her desk and ask her if she likes cheese with her eggs.
Sure there's plenty of jobs around isn't there, f**k all women though...

DeadLOL