URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=51238
Printed Date: 01 May 2024 at 11:54am

Topic: ****Meetup Pub before Poland game - Slatterys*****
Posted By: ABFC
Subject: ****Meetup Pub before Poland game - Slatterys*****
Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 10:32am
Wha pub are the YBIG Army heading to before the game next week? Slatts or Scruffy's?

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 10:52am
Slatterys is the new YBIG meetup spot ABFC Thumbs Up.  getting the place decked out with flags etc over the next while.

Posted By: ParkLife
Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 11:05am
Any drinks offers?

Posted By: valo88
Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 11:33am
Slatterys is gonna be sh*t, it'll be absolutely rammed for a game of this size. I like the spot, but its just too small. Would we not do the logical thing and use Ryan's or scruffys for this one?

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 11:37am
Not a fan of Slatterys at all. Always rammed whether were there or not, much prefer Scruffys so if any regulars are Scruffys bound I'll be there too

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 11:38am
Originally posted by valo88 valo88 wrote:

Slatterys is gonna be sh*t, it'll be absolutely rammed for a game of this size. I like the spot, but its just too small. Would we not do the logical thing and use Ryan's or scruffys for this one?

will have our own location boxed off valo Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 12:12pm
Good stuff. Any drinks offers planned?

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 12:16pm
I'm all for Slattery's, I'm concerned out the size alright.
Plus i'll have 30 lads with me.

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 12:19pm
Originally posted by ParkLife ParkLife wrote:

you absolute stud

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 12:20pm
Should hopefully get out of bed in time to make it to the fans game.
Will stroll up to Slattery's after that !

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 12:20pm
What time the fans game?

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 12:25pm

30 lads?

Is that all the people? So many people.

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 12:30pm

What time the fans game?

2pm in Ringsend.

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 12:33pm

30 lads?

Is that all the people? So many people.

Well..it's actually 28 Smile

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 12:37pm
Looking forward to it brothers

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 12:44pm
Slatterys will be packed, looks like it'll be cans from the Spar around the corner from Slats.

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 12:47pm
Looking forward to it alright.

Posted By: keitho5
Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 12:56pm
Slatts is a kip Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 1:13pm
Slatts is a top spot. All about getting in early and getting your patch
Late comers will be left standing and getting knocked around in most pubs

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 1:18pm

Can you drink outside the pub? I don't mean buy cans in Spar and drink outside, I mean buy pints in the pub and stand outside drinking?
If this weather keeps up it'll be a cracking day to be outside drinking and singing.

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 1:20pm

This. Once ye get in early and set your stall out its grand !

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 2:05pm
on a stag in limerick from the friday so Ill be fairly tanked up when I roll in here!

Posted By: BASS FACE
Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 2:37pm
I need 1 spare ticket for the Poland game (not the €120 ones) for a mate of mine - Anyone got any? thanks

LIMERICK CITY ON TOUR
     PURE DAYSANT

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 6:28pm
Slattery's is a grand spot except on Matchday imo where it is too jampacked.  Far too small and there is no comfort.  I'd be in favor of  move back to scruffy's tbh.  Not as good a location but its easier to meet the ybig lads and have the craic.

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 21 Mar 2015 at 4:02pm
I enjoyed Slattery's for the Gibraltar game, particularly afterwards as we went back in to watch the Poland v Germany game. The 3 others i was with smoke so when we arrived prior to the game we started off outside and by the time myself and the missus decided to check out the YBIG section it was packed out so we went back outside. The waiters and waitresses were great though as we didnt have to leave our spot as they brought us our drinks. Every place close to the ground will be packed out on a matchday anyway, as Gerk says above, its about getting your spot early.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2015 at 8:54pm
Will give Slats a go pre-game.

Try get in for about 4pm

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2015 at 9:56pm
Be in around 4 or 5 myself

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2015 at 11:59pm
Looks like i aint gonna be in dublin till well after 2 so I'll have to give the fans game a miss and head straight to the pub, Slatterys will probably be my destination. To promote my presence i am willing to offer a pint to the first YBIGGER that i meet.

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2015 at 1:18am
Originally posted by dundon13 dundon13 wrote:

Looks like i aint gonna be in dublin till well after 2 so I'll have to give the fans game a miss and head straight to the pub, Slatterys will probably be my destination. To promote my presence i am willing to offer a pint to the first YBIGGER that i meet.
surely that will be someone with a half decent name tag

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2015 at 1:40am
Anyone with a name badge might win themselves more than 1 drink.

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2015 at 6:15am
3e Carlsberg

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2015 at 7:42am
Will be dropping in to the Slattery's too on my usual pre-match pubcrawl of Scruffy's, Beggars Bush and Slattery's/Eurospar Cool

Looking forward to seeing everyone again. Nerves starting to set in for the game though.

Posted By: Name2follow
Date Posted: 29 Mar 2015 at 10:33pm
We have an established supporters club and as far as a meeting up spot in Ireland nothing is offered . 5:50 a pint is just poor. We should fund a place that will offer drinks offers and a decent space . Slattertys has been good for atmosphere but that is the people not the place causing that. We should use the guarantee of numbers to secure a better pre match deal for everyone

Posted By: Jerryfromkerry
Date Posted: 30 Mar 2015 at 9:27am
Yeah 5.50 is taking the piss. A euro better value up in Ryans and much more familiar heads around.

No man has the right to fix the boundary to the march of a nation. No man has the right to say to his country “thus far shalt thou go and no further"

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2015 at 9:30am
Too chocker for my liking. Had one pint and went back to the bath pub which was smashing spot. Room to lift pint and some personal space. 

Posted By: Jerryfromkerry
Date Posted: 30 Mar 2015 at 9:34am

Too chocker for my liking. Had one pint and went back to the bath pub which was smashing spot. Room to lift pint and some personal space. 

Sound for meeting up!

No man has the right to fix the boundary to the march of a nation. No man has the right to say to his country “thus far shalt thou go and no further"

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2015 at 10:11am
first proper match lads, great oul spot, will be plenty more to come from Slatterys as was first official meetupThumbs Up

Posted By: irish boogie
Date Posted: 30 Mar 2015 at 10:24am
Was great atmosphere and a good spot to meet up , is it €5.50 for a pint all the time or is it only match days ?

Thank You Torun and Tyskie

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2015 at 11:53am
6 Euro for a Smithwicks IPA in a plastic glass - leave it out.

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2015 at 12:33pm
Where was our reserved spot??

Had to stand at te stop of the stairs the whole time as only free space

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2015 at 12:34pm
Prices were alright at a tenner for two pints. Closer to the ground but a bit too loud inside for this oul fella!
Should've left a bit earlier as we got caught in that heavy rain shower.

Went around to Scruffy's first as we parked close to there and it was very quiet. It's cost them a fortune losing us on match days.

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2015 at 2:12pm
Decent spot once they sort the price of a beer out

Posted By: Doyler
Date Posted: 30 Mar 2015 at 4:08pm
Enjoyed my 5 minute cameo appearance as got to see a few familiar faces and have a laugh but it is seriously small in there, no room to turn around inside. Few I was chattin to yesterday were saying they thought Scruffy's was the perfect spot for our meet ups. Plus it's out of the way a bit so most of the people ya meet there is a member on here, whereas slatts is close to the ground so will be loads of random people in there for handiness to the ground rather than a YBIG meet up. Bring back Scruffy's, and there cheaper drinks on matchdays, with real glasses.

Look at these scenes, just look at these scenes!

"it's too strong lads!"

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2015 at 4:28pm
I like it...sorted the music out instead of that dance sh*te they used to play. 5er a pint would be more than enough though

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2015 at 4:46pm
Originally posted by Doyler Doyler wrote:

Enjoyed my 5 minute cameo appearance as got to see a few familiar faces and have a laugh but it is seriously small in there, no room to turn around inside. Few I was chattin to yesterday were saying they thought Scruffy's was the perfect spot for our meet ups. Plus it's out of the way a bit so most of the people ya meet there is a member on here, whereas slatts is close to the ground so will be loads of random people in there for handiness to the ground rather than a YBIG meet up. Bring back Scruffy's, and there cheaper drinks on matchdays, with real glasses.

real glasses so you can pour your takeaway cans into

Posted By: BohemianGigolo
Date Posted: 30 Mar 2015 at 8:22pm
The barge could be a nice place for the games vs England and Scotland but a bit to far for some people I could imagine

Posted By: Paka
Date Posted: 30 Mar 2015 at 9:27pm
First time drinking at a YBIG spot before the game, atmosphere was impressive! Fairplay lads!