URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=50301
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 9:56am

Topic: Argos - Buy now pay later
Subject: Argos - Buy now pay later
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 4:55pm
Thinking of getting a PS4 but can't pay it in the one go. Just finished paying off a credit union loan and got a letter confirming it. I'm paying off an old Vodafone bill pay contract every week with one of their credit management (debt collector) crowds so will I get refused if I go in and enquire? I've also an overdrawn student bank account of €650.

I assume they probably won't give it to me. Anyone ever done this buy now pay later craic?

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 4:59pm
Whats the rush? Why don't you save and also pay off your outstanding bills instead of putting yourself in more debt?

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 5:00pm

Thinking of getting a PS4 but can't pay it in the one go. Just finished paying off a credit union loan and got a letter confirming it. I'm paying off an old Vodafone bill pay contract every week with one of their credit management (debt collector) crowds so will I get refused if I go in and enquire? I've also an overdrawn student bank account of €650.

I assume they probably won't give it to me. Anyone ever done this buy now pay later craic?

They'll do a credit check on you. With electrical goods I'd imagine they would be even stricter on giving credit then say a credit union would be giving you a small loan.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 5:16pm
Get yourself out of debt first. Fire the money you would pay towards the PS4 into the credit union and you'll be able to afford it in no time.

Whatever about the vodafone bill (which they probably aren't charging interest or penalties on) or the (presumably interest free) student overdraft, the argos deal presumably involves hefty enough interest. I wouldn't touch it, anyway. You'll only be paying a fortune in the long run.

Just checked. 22.99% apr. If you really want one, and don't want to wait, get a loan from the credit union. It'll be far cheaper.

Posted By: devondudley
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 5:53pm
as said above pay off debt first, why put yourself in more debt for a ps4. just on a side note has anyone seen the apr on wonga and other payday loan crowdsConfused

But fumble in a greasy till

And add the halfpence to the pence

And pray to shivering prayer, until

You have dried the marrow from the bone.

W. B. Yeats, September 1913

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 6:10pm
PS4 is a luxury item and is something you can do without. Pay off you debts first before getting one.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 6:12pm
Never a big one of buy now and pay later always rather save the money and pay it when I have it.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 6:30pm
PES 2015 is out on the 11th of November so would like to have it for that.

I actually got a job yesterday but not starting it until Monday week. So I'd have the PS4 paid fully for within 6 weeks as my first two full week wages will have it paid for anyway. The credit union probably won't give me a loan as I've only just paid back one and I've shag all in the account and the usually only loan double what you have in your account. I suppose I could ask them for a 400 loan and show them proof that I've gotten a full time job.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 6:56pm
Leave it and live within your means for a few weeks. You won't be able to spend all your wages on it, you'll need to spend money on life.

Well, that, and getting the bus to Dublin to spend €5 on nights out.

PES isn't worth going into debt over.

Posted By: devondudley
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 7:00pm
a loan from the credit union for 400 euro for a ps4 is crazy in so many ways, if you have a job cant you just wait a few weeks and buy it, what age are you if you dont mind me asking? thats like something i would have considered when i was 16/17 

But fumble in a greasy till

And add the halfpence to the pence

And pray to shivering prayer, until

You have dried the marrow from the bone.

W. B. Yeats, September 1913

Posted By: irishmale0399
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 7:10pm
Go to work first.....save your bloody money and read a few newspapers or books until you have paid your debts off with Vodafone and saved for luxury. If you have arranged a repayment plan with the Vodafone debt collectors and default they will take you to the cleaners.

Simple question........do you need the PS4 to live or to get to your new job, Will it pay your rent, put food on your table and take you off the dole??? If not then you dont need a feckin loan to get one, put your time into making a good impression in the new job so that you can keep it. Jobs are hard enough to get.......

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 7:43pm
Defo wait til you get the money up now you have a job too. Would love to only have to worry about whether I get a PlayStation 4 next week or next month.

Posted By: ABFC
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 7:46pm
There's lots of things i'd love to get but can't afford. I wouldn't be taking out a loan to get a bleedin ps4 either

Posted By: Trap for Pope
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 8:32pm
WUM?

Living for Away days

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 8:43pm

I'm just an impatient prick and want to get it this week. It's probably not worth the hassle though.

I wanted to celebrate getting the job with a treat for myself this week but wish I hadn't asked now.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 9:12pm
Wanted a ps4 before myself, got a ps3 with eleven games for e110 instead as that's what I could afford, madness to buy it until you have the cash

Posted By: HateHenry
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 9:38pm
buy a football and go out and kick sh*t out of it... how can life quality be superceded by a computer game?!!

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 9:45pm

Leave it and live within your means for a few weeks. You won't be able to spend all your wages on it, you'll need to spend money on life.

Well, that, and getting the bus to Dublin to spend €5 on nights out.

PES isn't worth going into debt over.

That classic  LOL

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 9:50pm
Go for it mufc. Consider it an investment cause it'll save you money by playing it and not out drinking. The lack of drink will be good for the body too.

Win win. You deserve it

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 10:27pm
Got a ps4 a few weeks ago. Must say its a class machine.

Posted By: eire77
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 10:52pm
Way too many wet arses on here! You only live once, if you want something just go out and get it. You have long enough to worry about being sensible and paying debt etc. Seize the day!!

Posted By: ABFC
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2014 at 10:57pm

I'm just an impatient prick and want to get it this week. It's probably not worth the hassle though.

I wanted to celebrate getting the job with a treat for myself this week but wish I hadn't asked now.

You're a grown man. You can wait

Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2014 at 2:47am
How da fuk did you get a job?

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2014 at 12:10pm
Another classic thread from Muff

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2014 at 1:01pm

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2014 at 4:52pm
You know the country is still f**ked when you have lads wanting to get a loan/finance for a fcuking game console ffs. 

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2014 at 7:32pm

Ye in all honesty muff just wait until you can properly afford it, having to pay off loans is a load of w@nk no matter how small they are.