URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=50028
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 7:48pm

Topic: ten favourite albums
Subject: ten favourite albums
Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 5:10pm
Buddy challenged me to hand him my top 10 over the weekend. Rules are; No greatest hits, artists can only appear twice if in a different band or solo, I.e Paul Weller appears in the Jam and as a solo artist.
Think I have just about agreed with myself. Be interested to see some others lists on here.

1) The Holy Bible ; manic Street Preachers

Considered the darkest album of all time and one look at the track listing shows that. A mentally tortured man takes us on a journey through the world as he sees it. As someone who can see can empathise with his suffering, he expresses many things I have felt in a way only a genius can. Dealing with modern consumerism, the emptiness of American cultural imperialism,.anorexia and self obsession, neo liberalism, the media's obsession with serial killers and the Holocaust, the one constant is death and the futility of modern life. 20 years old this year, it hasn't age and the lyrics remain as relevant, some of them truer than ever.

2)All Mod Cons- The Jam

Considering he had to completely rewrite this album due to an original lack of interest, it is amazing what it ended up as. Heavily influenced by class warfare, as Weller grew up on the edge of the stockbroker belt, it shoed the first fractures of the ' broken Britain' that Thatcherism would complete this was a social history of modern England. A musical blend of the 60's mod sound with a hint of punk, this album haunts you with the sound of disillusioned youth that had been resigned to their fate. None of the raw politic anger of the time, more of a defeated album. Mr Clean won I guess.

3) The Queen is Dead- The Smiths

There is a theme of band's third albums popping up! An album that takes us through the boring, rundown streets of Manchester as a misery tourist. Melancholic, pretentious lyrics mix with a strangely uplifting guitar sound from Marr. The contrast is perfection. Morrissey's performance always reminds me of the stereotypical French philosopher. There is no point in anything. Another tortured genius, he deals with his misery through, boredom, sexual ambivalence, failure and self pity. Beautiful sadness.

4) The Moseley Shoals- Ocean Colour Sceneg
Discovered by Weller, these mod revivalists made a near perfect mod album, even down to the pun in the title being a nod to Northern Soul. Unlike the top 3, the lyrics generally deal with the lives of these 4 lads from the Birmingham suburbs. Not that is to undermine them in anyway. Not many people can write a song about their favourite film and have a song like ' the day we caught the train'. That isn't the only track to be influencedby the Who, their sound runs through the whole album but the influence of Britpop stops it from ever taking a stadium rock sound.
5) London Calling- The Clash

The band that launched a thousand bands will feature in many top tens. A left wing punk brand who sold out stadia in America, they weren't afraid to experiment and that is why this album is in ahead of Sandinista.
The reggae influence on tracks like ' Rudie can't fail' and 'guns of Brixton' showed a sound more reflective of 70s west London. Well tracks like ' brand new cadillac' are clearly influenced by blues and country. The lyrics are anti- establishment but often humourous in doing so. Spanish bombs' remains my personal favourite.

6) Music of the Spheres- Ian Brown.

In trying to decide which Roses album was better, I realised this solo effort from Brown is a more complete. Only he could make singing Spanish in a Mancunian accent sound cool. A bit cliche ridden, the lyrics are still ofetn beautiful. I travelled around Spain with this album as an almost constant soundtrack. FEAR is just genius. As was the video. Deeply different in direction from the Roses and indeed different to his earlier solo efforts, it proved his musical versatility.

7) It Takes a Nation of Millions to hold us Back - Public Enemy
If the Holy Bible was the darkest album of all time, this must contend as one of the angriest. Attacking everything in his path, Chuck D takes the race war out of the ghetto and into mainstream America and true to his word, he never sold out. It is hard not to get caught up in the anger fused with many musical styles from funk to punk, without feeling it. I am sure many white Americans self loathed after listening to Chuck's poetry. "Elvis was a hero to most but he never meant sh*t to me. Most of my heroes ain't appeared on no stamp".

8) Stanley Road- Paul Weller

Simply beautiful. The ultimate musical companion to a night in with the missus. "You do something to me", is one of the most beautiful love songs ever written. A poet for the modern world, a genius. There isn't enough superlatives for Modfather. "Out of the sinking" remains my favourite song of all time.

9) Doolittle- The Pixies

I had never heard of the Pixies when a school friend gave me this to listen to. I will never forget listening to the opening riff of Debaser. A musical epiphany. They have a wonderfully unique sound combined with the comically bizarre lyrics of Francis Black. Every song different to the last, each one a short trip to lunacy that comes together in a way genius only can.

10) Who's Next- The Who

I tried to vary the musical styles but I still ended up with 4 mod albums. I couldn't have the pretenders without the masters! Tommy and Quadrophenia probably feature on more lists like this but I feel this is their definitive album. It started out as an ambitious plan for a musical to follow "Tommy", it featured the useof a synthesizer for the first time. It features timeless classics like baba o'Riley , bargain, won't get fooled again and behind blue eyes. Timeless.

Mentions to Rage against the Machine for their eponymous album, Ryan Adams for Gold, Massive Attack for blue lines, Pulp for Different Class, Leftfield for Leftism, Halfman Halfbiscuit for Back in the DHSS, the Housemartins for Hull 4 London0, the Beautiful South for Quench and Maximo Park for Our Earthly pleasures

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 7:26pm
Agree with a lot on there Clonbhoy

Very hard to put them in order but ten of my favorite albums would be

1.Manic Street Preachers- Holy Bible
As you already mentioned this album hasn't aged and is still relevant today.

2.Muse- Showbiz
I know many people will look at this an say what Origin is by far their best but not for me, I love Showbiz with a passion some great songs Muscle Museum,Sunburn,Unintended one the best love songs of the last 20 years.

3. Radiohead- The Bends
 Start to finish class
4.The Cure- Pornography
Very similar to Holy Bible in its dark overtures any album which starts with the lyrics "it doesn't matter if we all die"
5.The Smiths- The Queen is Dead
I think you summed it up

6. U2-Achtung Baby
from those opening hook of Zoo Station, to ending notes of Love is Blindness U2's best work

7.Placebo-Without you I'm Nothing
Again another album which starts with a great hook in Pure Morning, a beautiful constructed album with a very dark underpass My Sweet Prince eerily fantastic

8.The Beatles-Abbey Road
The troubled last album recorded by the Beatles (LEt it Be recorded before but released after
so many great songs only went to show how great each Beatles solo work would go on to be (bar Ringo)

9.Pulp -Different Class
Mentioned in your list and it defo part of my top 10 favorite albums Cockers lyrics at times creepy yet playful can't listen to Underwear without a smile on my face also F.E.E.L.I.N.G.CA.L.L.E.D.L.O.V.E. dark yet brilliant.

10. Pet Sounds =Beach Boys

Brian Wilsons master piece God Only Knows what a song

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 7:35pm
Love 7 of those albums. Like 1 and amazed at 2!

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 7:40pm

Love 7 of those albums. Like 1 and amazed at 2!
Would like to give a special mention to Closer by Joy Division another great album

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 8:20pm
I would have thought looking at a few of those blanc that Greenday's Dookie would have made it....

...anyway;

1. Greenday - Dookie
2. Blood Sugar Sex Magik - Red Hot Chili Peppers
3. Metallica (also known as The Black Album) - Metallica. 
4. Nevermind - Nirvana
5. Americana - The Offspring
6. (What's the story) Morning Glory - Oasis
7. August and Everything After - Counting Crows
8. Use Your Illusion I and II - Nirvana (You just cannot have Use Your Illusion I without Use Your Illusion II). 
9. Ten - Pearl Jam
10. Moseley Shoals - Ocean Colour Scene

As you may have noticed they are all albums from the 1990's. I have picked them in no specific order...I love them all !
Honourable mention for Set List by The Frames...

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 8:28pm
Forgot to mention Grace Jeff Buckley and Nevermind Nirvana, Is this it -Strokes Velvet Underground and Nico seriously too muc music to choose from

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 8:29pm

I would have thought looking at a few of those blanc that Greenday's Dookie would have made it....

...anyway;

1. Greenday - Dookie
4. Nevermind - Nirvana
8. Use Your Illusion I and II - Nirvana (You just cannot have Use Your Illusion I without Use Your Illusion II). 
9. Ten - Pearl Jam

As you may have noticed they are all albums from the 1990's. I have picked them in no specific order...I love them all !

I wouldn't have imagined Kurt thought much of November Rain meself...

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 8:31pm

...anyway;

1. Greenday - Dookie
4. Nevermind - Nirvana
9. Ten - Pearl Jam

I wouldn't have imagined Kurt thought much of November Rain meself...
EmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassed Eh Guns n Roses I meant EmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassed

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 8:37pm
Beatles -White Album
The Killers- Day and Age
Thin Lizzy- Live and Dangerous
Beatles- Sergeant Pepper
Billy Joel-52nd Street
Christy Moore-Live in The Point
The Who- Greatest Hits
U2-The Joshua Tree
Beatles-Rubber Soul
Bruce Springsteen- Darkness on the Edge of Town

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 8:38pm
Preferred Nimrod myself Coleman

Posted By: houghton88
Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 8:40pm
Couldnt come up with a big long detailed list but mine would definitely include The Verves Album Urban Hyms and Dr Dre 2001. Pulp = This is Hardcore definitely included also. 

To alcohol!!!! The cause of and solution to all lifes problems.

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 8:41pm
Fair enough blanc...either way they were brilliant in the 1990's. Not a fan of American Idiot.

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 8:45pm
Fleetwood Mac - Rumours
The Stone Roses - T.S.R.
Beach Boys - Pet Sounds
Radiohead - The bends - quite possibly number 1 in my list. The balls.
Weezer - Blue album
Bruce Springsteen - born to run
Bruce Springsteen - Darkness
Nirvana - Nevermind
OCS - Moseley Shoals
oasis - definitely maybe

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 8:49pm
Weezer were better than green day.

No greatest hits, that includes live shows Brianie.
Also, no dpubling Coleman. You have Nirvana twice
It is a very hard thing to do. I listed every album I really loved, well over a 100 and narrowed it down by playing them against each other. I could do it tomorrow and get a different set

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 8:53pm

It is a very hard thing to do. I listed every album I really loved, well over a 100 and narrowed it down by playing them against each other. I could do it tomorrow and get a different set

A Hard Taskmaster you areLOL

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 8:59pm

Clap Amen to that.

Mine would be, in no particular order:

Weezer - Blue Album
Queens of the Stone Age - Songs for the Deaf
Ramones - Ramones
Metallica - Kill 'Em All
The Riptide Movement - Keep, Keepin' On
Eagles of Death Metal - Peace, Love, Death Metal
Arctic Monkeys - AM
Them Crooked Vultures - Them Crooked Vultures
The Vaccines - What Did You Expect From...
Kasabian - 48:13

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 8:59pm
Right , will give this a go. Pointless enough as i'll change my mind tomorrow but here ye are;

Fleetwood Mac - Rumours. f**king love Fleetwood Mac. And Stevie Nicks. Deffo. Even now. Deffo.

The Pogues- If I should fall from grace with god. The second verse of The Broad Majestic Shannon is probably my favourite from any song. Pretty much every track a classic

Metallica - Ride the lightening. Like most Metallica, but probably this one - still thrash but better produced than kill em all etc and hadn't just gone all stadium rock yet.

Foo Fighters - the colour and the shape. Again, before they got very mainstream. Hey Johnny Park is one of the best album tracks I can think of.

Oasis - Whats the story morning glory. A bit lighter than the first one. But just prefer it. Dunno why, just do.

Led Zeppelin - IV. Not much reason needed

Guns and Roses - Appetite for Destruction. I have a bit of a thing for cock rock it seems.

Greenday - Dookie. The sound of my teenage years. Other than fap fap fap....

Black Label Society - The Blessed Hellride. Heavy

The Rapparees - Clarity. Funny one - actually a bunch of lads from my year in school who formed a traditional inspired band. They got really f**king good. I listen to this all the time so would be churlish not to include it.

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:03pm
Can't Fcuking believe I left out Meloncholy and infinite sadness. Bollocks, laminated the list and all.

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:03pm

Fleetwood Mac - Rumours
The Stone Roses - T.S.R.
Beach Boys - Pet Sounds
Radiohead - The bends - quite possibly number 1 in my list. The balls.
Weezer - Blue album
Bruce Springsteen - born to run
Bruce Springsteen - Darkness
Nirvana - Nevermind
OCS - Moseley Shoals
oasis - definitely maybe

All of these were in my original hundred plus. Again no doubles, even for a Brucie bonus

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:07pm

Can't Fcuking believe I left out Meloncholy and infinite sadness. Bollocks, laminated the list and all.

Ah f**k, me too. Swapsies for BLS. Nah, swpasies again, Siamese Dream was a better album start to finish, Melon Collie had too much filler.

Posted By: spook09
Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:11pm
Weezer - Blue Album
Velvet Underground - Velvet Underground and Nico
Wu Tang Clan - Enter the Wu Tang 36 Chambers
Jesus and Mary Chain - Psychocandy
Arcade Fire - Funeral
Libertines - Up the Bracket
Belle and Sebastian - Dear Catastrophe Waitress
The Clash - London Calling
Dr Dre - The Chronic
Interpol - Antics

Honourable Mentions
Ice Cube -Amerikkka's most wanted
Bon Iver -For Emma Forever ago
The National - Alligator
Nirvana - Nevermind
The The -Soul Mining

I have been blessed with many things in this life – an arm like a damn rocket, a c*ck like a burmese python, and the mind of a f*cking scientist.

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:19pm
Jaysus, I hardly know anyone who's even heard of Weezer let alone like them. McG, Spook

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:21pm
Originally posted by dundon13 dundon13 wrote:

Jaysus, I hardly know anyone who's even heard of Weezer let alone like them. McG, Spook

Many a tug to "only in dreams" bass line

Posted By: spook09
Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:22pm
I've left a sihtload out Cry 
That's what i came up with off the top of my headThumbs Up

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:27pm
NWA -STrsight outta Compton
Paul Wellar-Stanley Rd
Public Enemy-ITANOMTHUB
S Wonder-Innervisions
Oasis-DM
Nirvana-Unpugged
RHCP-BSSM
GnR-AFD
Beach boys-pet sounds
Bruce-Born in USA

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:28pm
Great selections lads. 9 crackers and Dr. DRE Can ya listen to those Rapparee's   anywhere AM?

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:29pm
Have been trying to update the music library lately and was looking for some inspirations - excellent thread Clap

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:29pm
Wu Tang Clan - Enter the Wu Tang 36 Chambers. What a fantastic album .

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:31pm
Back In Black - AC/DC
Led Zeppelin IV - Led Zeppelin
Live and Dangerous - Thin Lizzy
Blackout - Scorpions
Volkerball - Rammstein
Hysteria - Def Leppard
Rising - Rainbow
Machine Head - Deep Purple
Whitesnake - Whitesnake
Iron Maiden - Iron Maiden

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:36pm
CB -  here's a video from years ago from a show on BBC NI. They were good then but are serious now. 

The Rapparees - The Lowlands of Holland: http://youtu.be/S3RfkOV-gH0

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:38pm

LOL Great bass line alright, Matt Sharp was excellent, was a big loss to the band.

You check their out the new album yet, Everything Will Be Alright In The End?

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:40pm

LOL Great bass line alright, Matt Sharp was excellent, was a big loss to the band.

You check their out the new album yet, Everything Will Be Alright In The End?

It out yet? I'll get onto iTunes

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:49pm
Songs for the Deaf - Queens of the Stoneage
Colour and the Shape - Foo Fighters
Ride the Lightning - Metallica
RATM - Rage Against the Machine
Funeral - Arcade Fire
Nevermind - Nirvana
Good News for People Who Love Bad News - Modest Mouse
Dark Side of the Moon - Pink Floyd
Cowboys from Hell - Pantera
Whatever People Say I am Thats what I'm Not - Arctic Monkeys

Honourable Mentions
Burn my Eyes - Machine head
Modern Life is Rubbish - Blur
Dirt - Alice in Chains
Rust in peace - megadeth
Do You like Rock music - British Sea Power
Leviathan - Mastodon
TSR - Stone Roses
Audioslave - Audioslave
Permission to land - The Darkness
Stories From the City, Stories from the Sea - PJ Harvey

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:51pm
They are quality AM.

What sort of stuff you like Gaz? Not enough music threads on here

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:52pm
Modest Mouse
PJ Harvey

Posted By: Tippbiffo
Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:53pm

Weezer kicks ass..."say it's ain't so" a great tune for the loud head shaker.

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 9:59pm
Forgot Snoop Dogg-Doggy Style
And Stone Roses
And Charlatans...
Ah f**k it's too hard

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 10:04pm
It is near impossible. Took me five days and there are albums that take me to a specific place and moment in time. Picking number 10 was the hardest. Only about 30 contenders for it

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 10:14pm

It is near impossible. Took me five days and there are albums that take me to a specific place and moment in time. Picking number 10 was the hardest. Only about 30 contenders for it
took me about 90seconds,which would explain why I left so many out

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 10:28pm
The Stone Roses-TSR
Wu Tang Clan-Enter the Wu Tang
Squeeze -Cool for Cats
Ian Brown - Music of the Spheres
Oasis - Whats the Story Morning Glory
Primal Scream - Screamadelica
The Strokes - Is this It
The National -High Violet
The Libertines-Up The Bracket
Paul Simon - Graceland

Clonboy that's a near impossible task.My list would be different again tomorrow.

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 10:28pm
Heartworm- whipping boy
Physical graffiti-led Zeppelin
Funeral- arcade fire
Screamadelica- primal scream
Rage against the machine- rage against the machine
hail to the thief- radiohead
ill communication- beastie boys
Doolittle - pixies
The velvet underground and Nico
Transformer- Lou reed

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 10:35pm
Definitely Maybe - Oasis
The Joshua Tree - U2
Disintegration - The Cure
Screamadelica - Primal Scream
Appetite For Destruction - Guns 'N' Roses
Slave Ambient - The War On Drugs
Pills 'N' Thrills 'N' Bellyaches - Happy Mondays
Leftism - Leftfield
Lost Souls - Doves
Loveless - My Bloody Valentine

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 10:43pm
Iowa-Slipknot
Definitely Maybe-Oasis
The Fat Of The Land-The Prodigy
Rage Against The Machine-Rage Against The Machine
The Black Album-Metallica
Nevermind-Nirvana
Ten-Pearl Jam
Vulgar Display Of Power-Pantera
Songs For The Deaf-Queens Of The Stone Age
Marshall Mathers LP-Eminem

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 11:04pm
Leftfield - Leftism
The Doors - LA Woman
Bon Ivor - Bon Ivor
Bob Marley - Catch A Fire
Gonzales - Solo Piano
Sasha & John Digweed - Northern Exposure
Fleetwood Mac - Rumours
Kings of Leon - Aha Shake Heartbreak
OCS - Moseley Shoals
U2 - Achtung Baby

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 11:07pm
Listening to Doolittle now. What a brilliant album, pisses all over Nirvana's rip off.

Posted By: tony grealish
Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 11:22pm
Rated R - Queens of the Stone age
Master of Puppets - Metallica
Exile on Main Street - Rolling Stones
Ill Communication - Beastie Boys
Ritual de lo Hibitual - Janes Addiction
High Voltage - AC/DC
Led Zeppelin III - Led Zeppelin
Vulgar display of power - Pantera
Surfer rosa - The Pixies
After the Goldrush - Neil Young
The White album - The Beatles

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2014 at 11:41pm
1 Pantera - Vulgar Display Of Power
From start to finish a truly great album that has probably bloodied more faces than any other in history. Inspired a new generation of bands. Best tracks - Walk, f**king Hostile, Mouth for War

2 Slayer - Reign In Blood
The greatest thrash album of all time. It doesn't come any faster or nastier than this. While there was also a lot of controversy surrounding it , there is no doubting its plase with the greatest. Angel of Death proved that Slayer had what it takes to go further than anyone else dared. Best tracks - Angel of Death, Raining Blood, Postmortem

3 Metallica - Master of Puppets
Sticking to the one band rule by clonbhoy, I chose this Metallica album though there are 3 more of their albums that could be on this list. A master piece by Metallica which propelled them to fame. The songs are allowed to take a life of their own and breath as if they had free will. Best tracks - Each one of them

4 Machine Head - Burn My Eyes
If you want to bang your head against the wall and cause some damage, this is the album for you. Best tracks - Davidian , Old , Im your God now

5 Guns N Roses - Appetite for Destruction
This is the album which helped shape rock for what it is today. In one swoop it redefined what rock n roll was pre- Nirvana days. Sex drugs and rock n roll is what GNR were made of making this album. Best tracks - All of them

6 System of a Down - Toxicity
Systems 2nd album is a classic that found them millions of fans the world over. Best tracks - Chop Suey, Prison Song , Deer Dance

7 Slipknot - Iowa
I was tempted to pluck for their self titled first album which had some great songs but this is a better all round album which deserves its place here. From the growling lyrics of People = sh*t to the Heretic Anthem , Iowa is an album where the band funnelled all their misanthropy, social ill will , and extreme hatred and gave it to the world with a f**k you thrown in on top. Pure aggression with Corey in fine form. Best tracks - People=sh*t , Disasterpiece , Left Behind

8 Alice In Chains - Dirt
An album of depression and drug abuse with naked lyrics. The genius of Layne Staley is there for all to see. A tortured man with an amazing voice who never got the plaudits he deserved. Down in a hole is probably my favourite song. Best tracks - Down in a hole ,Them Bones ,Rooster

9 Rage against the machine - ratm
Timeless classic which everyone should have in their collection. Best tracks - Bombtrack , Killing in the name of, Know your enemy

10 - Megadeth - Rust in Piece
An album with great riffs and solos. Holy wars is a masterpiece by any stretch, which shows what a metal song can be the way it develops. Best tracks - Holy Wars...The Punishment Duo , Five Magics , Rust in peace

So many more just missing out including Nirvana, Pearl Jam , Exodus, Korn and Mastodon

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 4:36am
In no particular order

1. The Beachboys - Pet Sounds The genius of Wilson.
2. Love - Forever Changes Makes
me so hard. 'A House is not a Motel' one of my all time favourite tracks. 'The Red Telephone freakiest tune of all time.
3. The Stooges - Raw Power 'Search & Destroy' probably the greatest rock songs of all time.
4. New York Dolls - Self titled debut album Worth a mention for 'Frankenstein' alone.
5. Neil Young - On the Beach So hard picking one from his back catelogue but this is his masterpiece.
6. Wire - Pink Flag Makes me wanna rub my balls with a cheese grater as I rock out to Mannequin'.
7. Pink Floyd - Animals Tracks 2,3,4 is Floyd at their very best.
8. Brian Wilson Presents Smile Had the pleasure of catching this live. That tour will go down as one of the greatest in the history of mankind. Never thought I would get to hear this album finished, let alone hear it live.
9. AC/DC - Back in Black My mantra ROCK OUT WITH YOUR COCK OUT was invented for this album.
10. Dead Kennedys - Fresh Fruit for Rotten Vegetables. POL POT, POL POT, POL POT, POL POT.

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 4:46am
Originally posted by spook09 spook09 wrote:

Weezer - Blue Album
Velvet Underground - <span style="line-height: 1.4;">Velvet Underground and Nico</span>
Wu Tang Clan - Enter the Wu Tang 36 Chambers
Jesus and Mary Chain - Psychocandy
Arcade Fire - Funeral
Libertines - Up the Bracket
Belle and Sebastian - Dear Catastrophe Waitress
<span style="line-height: 1.4;">The Clash - London Calling</span>
Dr Dre - The Chronic
Interpol - Antics

Honourable Mentions
Ice Cube -Amerikkka's most wanted
Bon Iver -For Emma Forever ago
The National - Alligator
Nirvana - Nevermind
The The -Soul Mining

My Nigga

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 7:49am
Took a while for fleetwood mac - rumours to be mentioned. No Springsteen either. Blondie parallel lines is another classic

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 8:10am
There is help of a lot more albums when looking through my album collection and some mentioned on here that would make my revised list.

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 8:28am
Three pages into the thread and Garth Brooks hasn't been mentioned

Posted By: Just saying like
Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 8:31am

Three pages into the thread and Garth Brooks hasn't been mentioned

Yeah and what about Boyzone Big smile

I don't know what more we can do in terms of being open and transparent - John Delaney

Posted By: Stretchryan
Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 9:15am
Could never give a top ten but i know my top 3:

Faith No More - Angel Dust
Manic Street Preachers - The Holy Bible
Deftones - White Pony

Posted By: deiseblue
Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 9:26am
Rod Stewart - " Every picture tells a story " , Rod the mod at his best the top white blues singer ever.

Jackson Browne - " Running on empty " hugely influenced by the Laurel Canyon scene but without the hippy dippy crap.

Warren Zevon - " Excitable boy " , Gonzo lyrics & memorable tunes.

The Band - " The Band " , much preferred this to Big Pink a an album and band that reached back to their roots & produced a timeless classic.

Levon Helm - " Dirt farmer " never have songs of death & depression sounded so magnificent particularly when sung by one of the most lived in voices ever.

Dwight Yoakam - " Guitars , Cadillacs etc. " the antidote to much of the pap released by Country music labels at the time , songs of drinking & lost love by the man with the most distinctive voice of recent decades - the high lonesome sound at it's best.

Bob Dylan - " Blood on the tracks " , the best advertisement for marital discord ever !

Dr. Feelgood - " Down by the jetty " the UK forerunners of punk , the most charismatic band I've ever seen live .

The Pogues - " Rum , sodomy & the lash " , Shane is a genius & he was at his creative & poetic best here.

Bruce Springsteen - " Darkness on the edge of town " , after the enforced hiatus due to a legal dispute he returned with a blue collar driven Americana classic.

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 9:55am
In no particular order:

System of a Down - Toxicity
Green Day - Dookie
Rage Against The Machine - RATM
Pixies - Doolittle
Weezer - Blue Album
Pantera - Vulgur Display of Power
Foo Fighters - One By One
Mastodon - Leviathan
The Streets - A Grand Don't Come For Free
Nirvana - Unplugged

Honourable Mentions:

Linkin Park - Hybrid Theory
Muse - Origin of Symmetry
Pixies - Surfer Rosa / Come on Pilgrim
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
Metallica - S&M
Eddie Vedder - Into The Wild
Machine Head - The Blackening
Pearl Jam - Ten
Tenacious D - Tenacious D

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 10:14am

Gloria Jones - Come go with me

The Isley Brothers - Its our thing
Otis Redding - Otis Blue
Massive Attack - Blue Lines
Chic - Chic
De La Soul - Three feet high and rising
The Four Tops - Reach Out
Etta James - At last
Prince and the Revolution - Purple Rain
Marvin Gaye - Whats goin on

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 10:34am
My top ten. In no order. Tricky job!

Paul Simon - Graceland
Tracy Chapman - Tracy Chapman
Blood on the Tracks - Bob Dylan
Dire straits - Dire Straits
Ryan Adams - Heartbreaker
Tom Waits - Used Songs
Alamis Morisette -Jagged Little Pill
Pogues - If I should fall from Grace with God
The Police - Regatta la Blanc
Beach Boys - Pet Sounds

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 10:39am

Took a while for fleetwood mac - rumours to be mentioned.

Page 1 ?

Cant get any earlier than Page 1.

Posted By: Flanno7hi
Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 1:22pm
Stone Roses - Stone Roses
Ian Brown - Unfinished Monkey Business
Oasis - Definitely Maybe
the Jim Hendrix experience - electric ladyland
Pearl Jam - ten
Temple of the Dog - Temple of the Dog
Joe Driscoll - Origin Myth
Stone Temple Pilots - core
Future Kings of Spain - Future Kings of Spain
NWA - Straight outta compton

And -
Eddie Vedder - Into the wild
Modest Mouse - we were dead before the ship even sank
QOTSA - Lullabies to Paralyse
Rage against the machine - Rage against the machine
Kasabian - Kasabian
Foo Fighters - The colour and the shape
Artic Monkeys - Whatever people say I am, that's what I'm not

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 1:24pm

In no particular order:

Eddie Vedder - Into The Wild

Went to the cinema to watch this because EV did the soundtrack. that album is amazing. I think it is probably 11 on my list.

Gonna listen to it now.  Thanks Podge Clap

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 2:48pm
Some great lists there lads.
One who crops up and I don't get are the RHCP. Awful band. Every song sounds the same!

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 2:55pm

Paul Simon - Graceland
Tom Waits - Used Songs
Beach Boys - Pet Sounds

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 3:12pm

One who crops up and I don't get are the RHCP. Awful band. Every song sounds the same!

Same with ocean colour scene, really don't get them. Had Moseley shores when it came out but there was only two decent tunes on it that I thought were any good. Each to their own though.

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 3:35pm
But OCS songs sound different. I can't name one chilli's song because they all sound the same. And it is Moseley Shoals, a pun on where the lads are from and "Muscle shoals" a soul recording studio that produced a number of Northern Soul classivs

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 4:48pm
Listening to Blue lines. What an album. Should be in my ten!

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 5:30pm
Some cracking albums on here, that's my playlist for the drive up to Dublin sorted

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 5:32pm
Originally posted by Tippbiffo Tippbiffo wrote:

Weezer kicks ass..."say it's ain't so" a great tune for the loud head shaker.

Probably my favourite song, what a tune!!!

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 5:51pm

1 Pantera - Vulgar Display Of Power
From start to finish a truly great album that has probably bloodied more faces than any other in history. Inspired a new generation of bands. Best tracks - Walk, f**king Hostile, Mouth for War

2 Slayer - Reign In Blood
The greatest thrash album of all time. It doesn't come any faster or nastier than this. While there was also a lot of controversy surrounding it , there is no doubting its plase with the greatest. Angel of Death proved that Slayer had what it takes to go further than anyone else dared. Best tracks - Angel of Death, Raining Blood, Postmortem

3 Metallica - Master of Puppets
Sticking to the one band rule by clonbhoy, I chose this Metallica album though there are 3 more of their albums that could be on this list. A master piece by Metallica which propelled them to fame. The songs are allowed to take a life of their own and breath as if they had free will. Best tracks - Each one of them

4 Machine Head - Burn My Eyes
If you want to bang your head against the wall and cause some damage, this is the album for you. Best tracks - Davidian , Old , Im your God now

5 Guns N Roses - Appetite for Destruction
This is the album which helped shape rock for what it is today. In one swoop it redefined what rock n roll was pre- Nirvana days. Sex drugs and rock n roll is what GNR were made of making this album. Best tracks - All of them

6 System of a Down - Toxicity
Systems 2nd album is a classic that found them millions of fans the world over. Best tracks - Chop Suey, Prison Song , Deer Dance

7 Slipknot - Iowa
I was tempted to pluck for their self titled first album which had some great songs but this is a better all round album which deserves its place here. From the growling lyrics of People = sh*t to the Heretic Anthem , Iowa is an album where the band funnelled all their misanthropy, social ill will , and extreme hatred and gave it to the world with a f**k you thrown in on top. Pure aggression with Corey in fine form. Best tracks - People=sh*t , Disasterpiece , Left Behind

8 Alice In Chains - Dirt
An album of depression and drug abuse with naked lyrics. The genius of Layne Staley is there for all to see. A tortured man with an amazing voice who never got the plaudits he deserved. Down in a hole is probably my favourite song. Best tracks - Down in a hole ,Them Bones ,Rooster

9 Rage against the machine - ratm
Timeless classic which everyone should have in their collection. Best tracks - Bombtrack , Killing in the name of, Know your enemy

10 - Megadeth - Rust in Piece
An album with great riffs and solos. Holy wars is a masterpiece by any stretch, which shows what a metal song can be the way it develops. Best tracks - Holy Wars...The Punishment Duo , Five Magics , Rust in peace

So many more just missing out including Nirvana, Pearl Jam , Exodus, Korn and Mastodon
Coming up to Machine Head? You were all for it in Tblisi!

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 7:31pm
No particular order 

Rory Gallagher Top Proiority 
U2 Boy
Golden Virgins Songs of Praise
Van Morrison  Astral Weeks
Talking Heads Fear of Music
Dr Feelgood  Down By the Jetty
The Smiths The Queen is Dead
Thin Lizzy Jonny the Fox
Boomtown Rats The Boomtown Rats
SLF Inflammable Material

Posted By: kimbap
Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 7:46pm

Acthung Baby -u2
Back in Black -AC/DC
Definitely Maybe -Oasis
The Bends -Radiohead
Astral Weeks - Van Morrison
Rumours Fleetwood Mac
Exile on Mainstreet-the Stones
Rage-RATM
Slippery When Wet - Bon Jovi
Jagged Little Pill- Alainis Morressette

Not the coolest list,could do an alternative top 10 of more hip stuff but i likes whats i likes.

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 7:47pm

I'm not a fan really but i did like blood sugar sex magic. I don't think you could say that give it away and say californication sound the same. I like John Frusciante's music. Once he left the first time the band went downhill imo.

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 7:54pm
Originally posted by tony grealish tony grealish wrote:

Paul Simon - Graceland
Tom Waits - Used Songs
Beach Boys - Pet Sounds

Whats wrong with Morrisette's album?
Edgy album for a girl and critically accliamed by many. Strong melodies, decent lyrics, good singer and sold by the truckload. Am I missing something? When it came out I played it to death.
Ps. Your guitar heavy list is not to my liking, but each to their own

Posted By: EastStandMan
Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 8:15pm
Im older than a lot of you heads on here so happy to see Pink Floyd get a mention - Dark Side and Animals being liked . Roger Waters with Pros and Cons of Hitch hiking for me a classic along with Radio Chaos . Nice to see Rory , thanks to DM get a mention . Love Led Zeppelin and got to say a relatively recent concert Celebration Day has to be the dogs billix - never got to see em live regretfully. Black Sabbath got me head banging when I was a kid . Rock and fkucin roll lads . 

Shamrock Rovers - lovin the buzz .

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 8:18pm
Oasis - what's the story..
Kings of Leon - only by the night
Fleetwood Mac - rumours
Christy Moore - live at the point
Killers - hot fuss
Libertines - up the bracket
Kasabian - kasabian
stone roses - stone roses
Kings of Leon - aha shake heartbrake
Razorlight - up all night

"Not one cent" - RTID on Mark Quigley's pay-off from Shamrock

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 8:40pm
Broke 2 of the rules SHH!
Sorry Flanno but all RCHP songs seem the same to me. Same as Eminem but at least he changes the backing track!

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 8:47pm
I do what I want CB

"Not one cent" - RTID on Mark Quigley's pay-off from Shamrock

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 10:25pm

Paul Simon - Graceland
Tom Waits - Used Songs
Beach Boys - Pet Sounds

Edgy album for a girl and critically accliamed by many. Strong melodies, decent lyrics, good singer and sold by the truckload. Am I missing something? When it came out I played it to death.

Nothing wrong with it, if you are a teenage girl on the rag who got cheated on by the star quarter back.

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 10:28pm

Nothing wrong with it, if you are a teenage girl on the rag who got cheated on by the star quarter back.

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 10:31pm

Paul Simon - Graceland
Tom Waits - Used Songs
Beach Boys - Pet Sounds

Quey

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 10:51pm
Quey LOL
Great to have him back

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 12:15am

Paul Simon - Graceland
Tom Waits - Used Songs
Beach Boys - Pet Sounds

You're definitely missing something if you think this record is either edgy or any good - testicles and a 'Y' chromosome possibly? She's a horrendous, whining f*cking geebag for starters.

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 1:03am
Stoked up paying homage to his hero

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=3pKoPk2hEqM

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 2:33am
Some of you feel a bit like how I feel when I hear many of the metal/grunge/rock bands who've made some peoples top 10 here.

The question asked in the op was limited in that greatest hits or collections were excluded.
This task made me realise that whilst I've got piles of records by cool artists that I love, some of their albums were let down by some poor tracks, meaning that collections are often more substantial.
For instance, one of my favourite artists is Randy Newman, but I can safely say that of the 6 albums of his that I own, I would rarely play them all the way through, because there are many rubbish tracks with averages lyrics or horribly weak melodies. However, if I was to collect a dozen of his tunes they would be in my top 100 of all time.
Likewise Dylan, whom I couldn't leave out but even the album I included has its moments of overlong songs which for many was Dylan's Achilles heel.

Morissette's 33m seller and multiple (8?) grammy nominations(sure what do critics know) may mean nothing of course to the cool dudes who think poetry alone or repetitive jamgly guitar bands is good music. I've long since tired of regurgitated rock bands.

In order to answer the question in the OP, I narrowed my choices down to albums that I've listened to 100+ times and I'd still listen to again.

How many of you can say the same about some of the esoteric albums listed here?

I'm just in from a working gig, so forgive me for a late night long winded post

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 2:52am
But that is what makes a great album! The ability to segue a variety of tracks into each other to make a complete work. By what you are saying, Randy Newman is a great artist but he never made a great album. There are some bands and artists I love who never made what I consider to be a great album. See my selection, Music of the Spheres. I prefer the Stone Roses music to Brown's solo stuff but he made a more complete album.I wouldn't be a big Steve Earle fan, I find a lot of his other music boring, but as I type this I am listening to Copperhead Road, an album that very nearly made it to my top 10.

Posted By: Boban
Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 2:57am
Pearl Jam-Ten
Metallica-And Justice for All
Alice in Chains -Dirt
Qotsa- Songs for the Deaf
Mad Season- Above
Mark Lanegan- Bubblegum
Soundgarden- Superunkown
Kyuss- Welcome to Sky Valley
Tool- Lateralus
Faith No More- Angel Dust

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 3:05am
Indeed. Earle epitomises a brilliant artist with no brilliant album, although the Townes homage was one of my favourites.
Just stuck on 'Steve's Hammer' to keep me awake.

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 3:15am

Indeed. Earle epitomises a brilliant artist with no brilliant album, although the Townes homage was one of my favourites.

My point was the opposite, Copperhead Road is class, everything else he does is generic Americana to me

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 3:28am

My point was the opposite, Copperhead Road is class, everyuthing else he does is generic Americana to me

Granted, but personal choices apply here.Copperhead Road is not one of my favourite Steve Earle albums. In recent times I've grown to love Americana rootsy music, whilst still hating banal country.

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 8:19am

Some of you feel a bit like how I feel when I hear many of the metal/grunge/rock bands who've made some peoples top 10 here.

The question asked in the op was limited in that greatest hits or collections were excluded.
This task made me realise that whilst I've got piles of records by cool artists that I love, some of their albums were let down by some poor tracks, meaning that collections are often more substantial.
For instance, one of my favourite artists is Randy Newman, but I can safely say that of the 6 albums of his that I own, I would rarely play them all the way through, because there are many rubbish tracks with averages lyrics or horribly weak melodies. However, if I was to collect a dozen of his tunes they would be in my top 100 of all time.
Likewise Dylan, whom I couldn't leave out but even the album I included has its moments of overlong songs which for many was Dylan's Achilles heel.

Morissette's 33m seller and multiple (8?) grammy nominations(sure what do critics know) may mean nothing of course to the cool dudes who think poetry alone or repetitive jamgly guitar bands is good music. I've long since tired of regurgitated rock bands.

In order to answer the question in the OP, I narrowed my choices down to albums that I've listened to 100+ times and I'd still listen to again.

How many of you can say the same about some of the esoteric albums listed here?

I'm just in from a working gig, so forgive me for a late night long winded post

Ah yes, the Grammy awards. That universally accepted rubber stamp of quality music which has been bestowed upon such greats as Celine Dion and Milli Vanilli.LOL I think I read somewhere that the Jonas Brothers got a nomination not too long ago - I'll say that again...............The F*cking Jonas Brothers.LOL

I'm sure it probably comforts you to think that some of us are dismissing Alanis Morrissete on the grounds that she's 'uncool'. It has nothing to do with how 'cool' she is and everything to do with the fact that she's a comically self indulgent f*cking  whinger and all round musical mediocrity.The fact that a grown man who obviously has a keen interest in music would include one of her records in his top ten albums of all time is, frankly, hilarious.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nT1TVSTkAXg" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nT1TVSTkAXg

Just for you S.U.! Enjoy.Big smile

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 8:46am

Stoked up paying homage to his hero

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=3pKoPk2hEqM

FFS, only seeing this now.LOLLOLLOLLOL

Brilliant! Is that you S.U.?LOL

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 9:30am
Q Man

Posted By: Stretchryan
Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 10:38am
Originally posted by Boban Boban wrote:

Pearl Jam-Ten
Metallica-And Justice for All
Alice in Chains -Dirt
Qotsa- Songs for the Deaf
Mad Season- Above
Mark Lanegan- Bubblegum
Soundgarden- Superunkown
Kyuss- Welcome to Sky Valley
Tool- Lateralus
Faith No More- Angel Dust

Damn i could listen to that list all day but would include Badmotorfinger from Soundgarden instead

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 11:06am
Oasis - Definitely Maybe
Arctic Monkeys - Whatever people say I am, that's what I'm not
White Stripes - Elephant
The Beatles - Abbey Road
The Libertines - Up the Bracket
Oasis - (What's the Story?) Morning Glory
Dave Clarke - World Service
Daft Punk - Homework
2 Many Dj's - As Heard on Radio Soulwax II

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 11:08am
The waterboys , fishermans Blues
Tom waits closing time
The hold steady the hold steady almost killed me
James laid
The black keys brothers
Ice cube The predator
Rage against the machine rage against the machine
Damien rice O
Pixies Doolittle
Jake bugg jake bugg

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 11:08am

Oasis - Definitely Maybe
Arctic Monkeys - Whatever people say I am, that's what I'm not
White Stripes - Elephant
The Beatles - Abbey Road
The Libertines - Up the Bracket
Oasis - (What's the Story?) Morning Glory
Dave Clarke - World Service
Daft Punk - Homework
2 Many Dj's - As Heard on Radio Soulwax II

Most of those would make my top 50

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 11:28am

Paul Simon - Graceland
Tom Waits - Used Songs
Beach Boys - Pet Sounds

You're definitely missing something if you think this record is either edgy or any good - testicles and a 'Y' chromosome possibly? She's a horrendous, whining f*cking geebag for starters.

Hand In My Pocket and You Oughtta Know are great songs. 

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 1:07pm

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 1:56pm

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 2:31pm
Milla was doing grand til he mentioned Jakw Bugg. I hate this little ****. Stop singing as though you are from Alabama, you are from Derby, f**king Derby!