URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=49918
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 1:31am

Topic: Manic Street Preachers
Posted By: Stretchryan
Subject: Manic Street Preachers
Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 1:09pm
So the Manics will be playing "The Holy Bible" in full on Sat 13th Dec in the Olympia.
Will defo be coming home for this. They will play The Holy Bible then greatest hits set

Only seen them in Lux a few months ago and were amazing.

Anyone off here gonna go?

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 1:13pm
Saw them in 2009, just before heading to Sofia for the Bulgaria game. Absolutely class live. Brilliant gig

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 1:20pm
Saw them in the Olympia a few years ago, should be a brilliant gig in December.

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 1:23pm
Holy Bible is my favourite album by them by far - very very dark lyrics by Richey

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 1:27pm
Yep defo going Best album ever, Richeys words on another level

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 2:23pm
My favourite band, have seen them many times, last being in Brixton earlier this year. Not a fan of the latest albums but the Holy Bible is the greatest alvum ever. Yes, Faster,PCP, Revol

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 2:33pm
Flights just booked for coming back to this - can't wait!!!

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 2:58pm
Wherever you go I will be carcass
Whatever you see will be rotting flesh
Humanity recovered glittering etiquette
Answers her crimes with Mausoleum rent

Regained your self-control
And regained your self-esteem
And blind your success inspires
And analyse, despise and scrutinise
Never knowing what you hoped for
And safe and warm but life is so silent
For the victims who have no speech
In their shapeless guilty remorse
Obliterates your meaning
Your meaning, your meaning

No birds - no birds
The sky is swollen black
No birds - no birds
Holy mass of dead insect

Come and walk down memory lane
No one sees a thing but they can pretend
Life eternal scorched grass and trees
For your love nature has haemorrhaged

Regained your self-control
And regained your self-esteem
And blind your success inspires
And analyse, despise and scrutinise
Never knowing what you hoped for
And safe and warm but life is so silent
For the victims who have no speech
In their shapeless guilty remorse
Obliterates your meaning
Your meaning, your meaning

No birds - no birds
The sky is swollen black
No birds - no birds
Holy mass of dead insect

I wanted to rub the human face in it's own vomit... and force it to look in the mirror.

And life can be as important as death
But so mediocre when there's no air, no light and no hope
Prejudice burns brighter when it's all we have to burn
The world lances youth's lamb-like winter, winter

Manic Street Preachers   Mausoleum: http://youtu.be/pvOW3r9tn9g
Written drunk after visiting a ww2 concentration camp]

Posted By: Belfast Green
Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 4:14pm
Originally posted by Stretchryan Stretchryan wrote:

So the Manics will be playing "The Holy Bible" in full on Sat 13th Dec in the Olympia.
Will defo be coming home for this. They will play The Holy Bible then greatest hits set

Only seen them in Lux a few months ago and were amazing.

Anyone off here gonna go?

Saw them for the 1st time during the Holy Bible tour in Belfast in 1994.

http://oneteaminireland.blogspot.com/" rel="nofollow - http://oneteaminireland.blogspot.com/

Posted By: d13dave
Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 4:17pm
used to be outstanding now meh. Last album was tripe

Good live band though.

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 4:21pm
Amazing clonboy, I don't think you really 1) appreciate and 2)admire the beauty and genius of Richeys mind until you see the lyrics written down.

Truly one of the greatest minds of our generation

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 4:25pm
Originally posted by d13dave d13dave wrote:

used to be outstanding now meh. Last album was tripe

Good live band though.

Defo, up there with the best live bands the energy they admit is amazing,

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 4:30pm

Amazing clonboy, I don't think you really 1) appreciate and 2)admire the beauty and genius of Richeys mind until you see the lyrics written down.

The whole alvum is genius. Dark poetry. Musically brilliant too.

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 4:42pm

The whole alvum is genius. Dark poetry. Musically brilliant too.

Yep one of my favorite albums, I listen to it at least once a week you really get to see what pure torment Richey was going through, I did a college project on it and have read into a lot of the making and lead up of the album a true master piece

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 4:44pm
Remember seeing them at the feile years back - only time i seen them with Richey. Have seen them over 20 times over the years.
Check out La Tristesse Durera from that Set on youtube - the sound engineer was having a mare.

Richey was never a great guitarist but an amazing lyrcist. But the sound engineer had Richey's guitar as lead.

One of fav bands in my teens early twenties but had falling out of love with them the last few albums and only getting to see them live at festivals in Europe - even covering fecking Rihanna.

But 2 months ago played a killer set in small venue in Luxembourg and they blew me away(included Die in the summertime) so much i even paid for their newest album which i think has a few good tunes. That Sat night in the Olympia will be nothing short of amazing.

Just better get a ticket now!!!

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 4:48pm
Have you read 'Everything a book about Manic Street Preachers'? Great read. A tortured soul. As much as I love the bible, a lof of my favourite lyrics come from the first 2 albums. Think Gold Against the Soul is a hugely under rated album

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 4:51pm
Their cover of random songs, Umbrella, Raindrops, Suicide is Painless, Bright Eyes, Last Christmas etc. Are superb. Lipstick traces was class. My favourite post Richy song is the b side Prologue to History, a tribute from Nicky to his mate

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 4:53pm

Have you read 'Everything a book about Manic Street Preachers'? Great read. A tortured soul. As much as I love the bible, a lof of my favourite lyrics come from the first 2 albums. Think Gold Against the Soul is a hugely under rated album

Many hidden gems on GATS life becoming a landslide, drug drug druggy, yourself lyrically brilliant

"My idea of love comes from a childhood glimpse of pornography, but there is no true love just a finely tuned jealousy"

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 4:56pm

Many hidden gems on GATS life becoming a landslide, drug drug druggy, yourself lyrically brilliant

"My idea of love comes from a childhood glimpse of pornography, but there is no true love just a finely tuned jealousy"

the very lyrics I was thinking of! La Tristessa Durerra another classic

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 4:57pm
We will have to meet up for pints before this in the foggy dew

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 4:59pm
Think a trip up for this alright .

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 5:03pm
Defo

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 5:07pm
Saw them a couple of months back , excellent, supported by public service broadcasting a good new band

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 5:22pm

Saw them a couple of months back , excellent, supported by public service broadcasting a good new band

Missed them in Luxembourg - are they good??

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 5:50pm
Defo on for scoops 

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2014 at 8:57am
€39.50 standing - €44.05 sitting

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2014 at 9:07am
Got 4 standing - think they were gone in 3 mins

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2014 at 9:09am
Got me tickets ground standing can't wait

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2014 at 9:16am
Got little scared that my email said row 8 seat number but checked tickets says standing so phew

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2014 at 11:58am
http://www.walesonline.co.uk/whats-on/music-nightlife-news/manic-street-preachers-hint-welsh-7851608" rel="nofollow - http://www.walesonline.co.uk/whats-on/music-nightlife-news/manic-street-preachers-hint-welsh-7851608

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2014 at 12:48pm
One of my favorite live bands. Missed their live gig at the Olympia this year (sold out in minutes).

What's the castle they mention?

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2014 at 12:53pm
Cardiff castle I would imagine. Stereophonics played a great gig there before they became sh*t.

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 4:26pm
A few tickets have become available on ticketmaster again

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 6:38pm
A lot of anger as touts have Hoovered up tickets and are selling of a a nice steady % upgrade

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 11:44pm
On BBC2 now.

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 11:48pm
Jools Holland?

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 11:52pm
Seen them at Glastonbury. Went on my own to see them, was worth it. Top class band

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 11:53pm

Jools Holland?

Yeah ,just realised that after I posted .

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2014 at 11:58pm
Will watch the repeat

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2014 at 3:12pm
Bump:

So how many off the site have we going to this??

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2014 at 3:15pm
I am going to head in and see if there are any spare tickets floating around.

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2014 at 3:17pm
Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

Have you checked Toutless?

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2014 at 3:20pm

Have you checked Toutless?

No, but I will keep an eye on it now.

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2014 at 11:26am
Going myself plan to do the stalker thing head in early wait outside Olympia hopefully get some autographs

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2014 at 10:38am

Have sent you on a pm re a spare ticket

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2014 at 8:55am

Manic Street Preachers have revealed more details about their upcoming 20th anniversary shows for The Holy Bible - announcing that they'll play two shows each night, and will have DJs instead of a support act.

As previously reported, the the band's first set will be the 1994 album The Holy Bible performed in full - starting 'promptly' at 8.45pm each night. Then, after a ten-minute break, the band will play a second set featuring http://www.gigwise.com/news/96503/manic-street-preachers-holy-bible-tour---set-times-and-support-acts#" rel="nofollow">songs from their excellent 2014 LP Futurology as well as "curios and a handful of classic hits".

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2014 at 1:13pm
Lads any boozer within 10 mins walk of Olympia with decent tunes and good range of beer??

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2014 at 7:37am

Lads any boozer within 10 mins walk of Olympia with decent tunes and good range of beer??

porter house 5-10 minutes walk

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2014 at 7:38am
Not too long now, been listening to the holy bible all this week in preparation for a great gig

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2014 at 11:31am
Yeah cant wait just hope this feckin weather changes as dont want my flight effected on Friday night.

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2014 at 11:46am
Nova just playing A Design for Life Clap

Set list from last night

http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/manic-street-preachers/2014/albert-hall-manchester-england-7bcd3224.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/manic-street-preachers/2014/albert-hall-manchester-england-7bcd3224.html

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2014 at 11:55am
I have the Holy Bible belting out all morning.  Donkeys is a great track.

just hope Motown Junk makes an appearance in Dublin

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2014 at 1:00pm

I have the Holy Bible belting out all morning.  Donkeys is a great track.

just hope Motown Junk makes an appearance in Dublin

Suicide is painless would be class too, as would Kames cover of Last Christmas

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2014 at 1:10pm
Yeah love the cover of MASH tune - played it in Luxembourg in May.

Actually listened to last xmas on that show with Chris Evans from many moons ago and was class

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2014 at 1:33pm

Actually listened to last xmas on that show with Chris Evans from many moons ago and was class

It is brilliant, is on lipstick traces. He has a class voice

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2014 at 1:52pm

Sure we will give it a go after a few jars - i know my voice gets better as the night goes on!!

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2014 at 1:54pm

Sure we will give it a go after a few jars - i know my voice gets better as the night goes on!!

As do my ears!

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2014 at 8:21pm
Just watching few songs from feile where sound engineer was having a shocker had Richey as lead. Only time seen them with Richey

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2014 at 8:24pm
Never did

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2014 at 8:26pm

Never did

Pity

Still gonna be immense on Sat night.

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2014 at 8:33pm
Would be happy with the set list from the other night

Date Posted: 12 Dec 2014 at 7:31am

Never did

Pity

Still gonna be immense on Sat night.

to be fair most times Richey wasn't even plugged in.

Still would have loved to see them with him just for his presence alone.

Date Posted: 12 Dec 2014 at 9:39am
Best of the setlists so far:

http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/manic-street-preachers/2014/albert-hall-manchester-england-63cd2efb.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/manic-street-preachers/2014/albert-hall-manchester-england-63cd2efb.html

Date Posted: 12 Dec 2014 at 2:31pm
Just watching video after video on youtube - tres excited

Date Posted: 12 Dec 2014 at 3:14pm
I was at that last night

Date Posted: 12 Dec 2014 at 4:42pm
Just leaving work for bus to Chareloi.Long night traveling but be all worth it tomorrow night. See you lads tomorrow. Don't worry have the tickets!!!

Date Posted: 12 Dec 2014 at 5:30pm

Just leaving work for bus to Chareloi.Long night traveling but be all worth it tomorrow night. See you lads tomorrow. Don't worry have the tickets!!!

what time you be Dublin for?

Date Posted: 12 Dec 2014 at 5:47pm
In tonight but not sure what plan is yet.

Be in sweenys reckon from about 4/5 tomorrow.

Date Posted: 12 Dec 2014 at 7:14pm
Nice night in watching the holy bible DVD for me

Date Posted: 13 Dec 2014 at 1:38am

In tonight but not sure what plan is yet.

Be in sweenys reckon from about 4/5 tomorrow.

Will ring ya about 12ish. Take it from there

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2014 at 5:30pm
What an amazing gig, holy bible from start to finish was immense.

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2014 at 7:38pm
just back in Luxembourg. Top gig

Holy Bible was immense. Good to meet few off the site.
Hope seats were ok?

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2014 at 7:50pm

just back in Luxembourg. Top gig

Holy Bible was immense. Good to meet few off the site.
Hope seats were ok?

Sorry I missed you Stretch, was good to meet CB top lad

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2014 at 9:51am
f**king brilliant gig. Nice to meet a few off here too. Seats were perfect, ya mad Tipperary legend

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2014 at 10:36am

f**king brilliant gig. Nice to meet a few off here too. Seats were perfect, ya mad Tipperary legend
Heard you went for a boogie with the lads after

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2014 at 10:37am

I was all kinds of drunk

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2014 at 10:40am

I was all kinds of drunk
heard that tooLOL

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2014 at 10:45am

I was all kinds of drunk
heard that tooLOL

Not much gets past you. Didn't think I was too bad for 12 hours drinking!

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2014 at 10:48am
Half hourly updates from my molesClap

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2014 at 10:51am

Half hourly updates from my molesClap

Bastards. Good to meet some of the lads. Nice to know what peoplelook like when you are insulting them.

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2014 at 11:38am
Great gig, good to meet a few of the lads.

Great seats Stretch Clap

Date Posted: 22 Dec 2014 at 1:13pm
Happy birthday to Richey Edwards today greatest lyricist of our generation

Date Posted: 22 Dec 2014 at 1:42pm
Good shout - had generation terrorists blasting at lunchtime at me desk.

Dying from wend - unable to eat anything normal but chocolate everywhere so relay races to the jacks.

But it been near the holidays feck all in Thumbs Up But on flipside i have to do their workThumbs Down

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 3:32pm
New book coming out about Holy Bible

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30725228-triptych" rel="nofollow - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30725228-triptych

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 3:39pm

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30725228-triptych" rel="nofollow - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30725228-triptych

ExcellentClapClapClap

I am just listening to it now, it is funny how people mixed up misanthropy with Fascism.

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2017 at 10:48am

Cool will defo read this - They are headliner for live in Times Square in Newcastle on Sat 5 August.

Might Make the trip up for it.  What you looking at for the price of the train up there from London or worst case scenario few vals and the bus

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2017 at 11:26am

Cool will defo read this - They are headliner for live in Times Square in Newcastle on Sat 5 August.

Might Make the trip up for it.  What you looking at for the price of the train up there from London or worst case scenario few vals and the bus

Got it for 100 quid return in October there. Was lucky enough, can be a lot more expensive. That journey is a pain in the hoop as only BA fly that route and its never cheap either.

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2017 at 1:59pm
When's the last time they played Ireland? Saw them at Oxegen 10 years ago and would definitely go see them again.

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2017 at 2:04pm

When's the last time they played Ireland? Saw them at Oxegen 10 years ago and would definitely go see them again.

2014  for Holy Bible tour last they done, outside of Electric Picnic in 2015 I believe.

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2017 at 2:11pm

Got it for 100 quid return in October there. Was lucky enough, can be a lot more expensive. That journey is a pain in the hoop as only BA fly that route and its never cheap either.

87 quid with BA alright might head up for a night out on the Friday - so the women decent and friendly up there????

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2017 at 2:23pm

87 quid with BA alright might head up for a night out on the Friday - so the women decent and friendly up there????

Book that now! You wont get it cheaper!

And on the other point. Most definitely!

Posted By: Slow & Blind
Date Posted: 18 Jan 2017 at 10:35am

<h1 ="mobile-hide"="" itemprop="name"> https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30725228-triptych" rel="nofollow - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30725228-triptych </h1>

I'm probably going to this too. I'm waiting to see what the line up for kendal calling is the weekend before. If manic Street preachers are one of its headliners I won't bother with the gig in Newcastle.
Seen primal scream last year in times square. Good outdoor venue but because it's in the city centre the volume isn't the loudest.

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2017 at 2:44pm
Originally posted by Slow & Blind Slow & Blind wrote:

<h1 ="mobile-hide"="" itemprop="name"> https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30725228-triptych" rel="nofollow - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30725228-triptych </h1>

I'm probably going to this too. I'm waiting to see what the line up for kendal calling is the weekend before. If manic Street preachers are one of its headliners I won't bother with the gig in Newcastle.
Seen primal scream last year in times square. Good outdoor venue but because it's in the city centre the volume isn't the loudest.

Was at Kendall last year and was class. They are very strict in getting recreational stuff in. Was nearly napped by sniffer dogs but had nothing on me at the time but they still smelt it.

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2017 at 9:38am
22 years ago today Richey left the Embassy Hotel never to be seen again

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2017 at 10:00am

Jaysus that long ago.

Amazing lyricist

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2017 at 11:21am
I still wonder if he is out there, living without any of the sh*t that comes with it?

Posted By: UCDFAN
Date Posted: 01 Feb 2017 at 2:30pm

Jaysus that long ago.

Amazing lyricist

Originally posted by Pre Madonna Pre Madonna wrote:

I still wonder if he is out there, living without any of the sh*t that comes with it?

At least one Irish Sports Journalist expressed the wish of finding him. The official announcement of Richey Edwards death wouldn't be a barrier.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2018 at 9:41am
Going to be doing This is my truth tell me yours in full next year

Just picked up tickets to the Olympia gig.

€61 expensive for Olympia but they'll be doing two sets so will be well worth it

Posted By: LO SCIENZIATO
Date Posted: 26 Oct 2018 at 9:49am

Just picked up tickets to the Olympia gig

thought the bump to this was to say Richey was found.... 

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2018 at 9:50am

Just picked up tickets to the Olympia gig

thought the bump to this was to say Richey was found.... 

Not quite. Lad is long gone