URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=49881
Printed Date: 29 Apr 2024 at 12:26pm

Topic: GAA FOOTBALL 2015
Subject: GAA FOOTBALL 2015
Date Posted: 19 Sep 2014 at 10:29am
Now that the serious stuff is out of the way, lets get this thread off the ground

League fixtures out, some tasty ones, Div 1 is seriously competitive this year!

Prediction: Mayo For Sam 2015

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2014 at 10:31am
Nominations for the Mayo job down to only 2:

Kevin McStay
Connelly/Holmes

Posted By: eire28
Date Posted: 19 Sep 2014 at 10:34am
This is our year. I can feel it.. haha

Posted By: Jerryfromkerry
Date Posted: 19 Sep 2014 at 10:58am
At least wait until 2014 finishes.

No man has the right to fix the boundary to the march of a nation. No man has the right to say to his country “thus far shalt thou go and no further"

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2014 at 11:13am
Looking forward to seeing them Derry men give us the guard of honour

In all serious 2015 could be an interesting year for donegal. Winn on Sunday and could see few the older lads move on. And then there's the issue over jim mcguinness his 4 year term is over so be interesting if he decides to stay on (the jobs his for as long as he wants it) also looking forward to few new players coming into the squad

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2014 at 3:15pm
All hail our imminent messiah, Kevin Walsh Clap

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2014 at 7:01pm
Least you got a "messiah" DP we got a fukin armagh w**ker in OuchCry

Been wasting to much money this past few years on the gaa anyway as wont be back till the armagh twat is gone ApproveLOL

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2014 at 8:05pm

Least you got a "messiah" DP we got a fukin armagh w**ker in OuchCry

Been wasting to much money this past few years on the gaa anyway as wont be back till the armagh twat is gone ApproveLOL
division 2??
Mickey Mouse stuff

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 19 Sep 2014 at 8:37pm
Originally posted by Del-Piero Del-Piero wrote:

All hail our imminent messiah, Kevin Walsh Clap
DelightedClap

Posted By: Jackthelad
Date Posted: 19 Sep 2014 at 11:12pm
Thread is a week early.
Football chat should be reserved for the greatest game of them all this Sunday IMO.
But obviously its free speech so each to their own.

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2014 at 11:24pm
Could you not wait until the All Ireland was decided at least.

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2014 at 11:28pm
If the mighty Mayo were in the final this thread wouldn't exist

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2014 at 12:39am
Originally posted by Jerryfromkerry Jerryfromkerry wrote:

At least wait until 2014 finishes.

It finished 3weeks ago

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2014 at 7:57pm
When's the draw?

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2014 at 8:02pm
Thursday week I think

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2014 at 8:08pm
Lovely stuff! McStay not manager

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 10:37am
Best price on unstoppable dubs is 6/4!!

Posted By: dunloybhoy
Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 11:11am
Antrim for 2015? div4 again, out of ulster first round, back door defeat next game.

there that was easy lol

put em under pressure!

Posted By: Dukla
Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 12:12pm
NFL Div 1 - Cork
Div 2 - Kildare
Div 3 - Armagh
Div 4 - Longford

Leinster - Dublin
Connacht - Mayo
Munster - Cork
Ulster - Monaghan

AI - Dublin

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 12:19pm
Sadly the only provincial up for grabs is Ulster.
Think Geezers army can win it next season

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 2:56pm
Originally posted by dunloybhoy dunloybhoy wrote:

Antrim for 2015? div4 again, out of ulster first round, back door defeat next game.

there that was easy lol

There is no surer thing LOL

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 4:26pm
FBD League - Mayo
League - Mayo
Connacht - Mayo
All Ireland - Mayo

Posted By: dunloybhoy
Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 5:00pm

Originally posted by dunloybhoy dunloybhoy wrote:

there that was easy lol

There is no surer thing LOL

lad we can never get excited that's why I love it. anything other than a defeat is a cause for a rip!

put em under pressure!

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 5:14pm

FBD League - Mayo
League - Mayo
Connacht - Mayo
All Ireland - Mayo

Is this the new Carlsberg add LOL

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 5:15pm

FBD League - Mayo
League - Mayo
Connacht - Mayo
All Ireland - Mayo

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 5:37pm

FBD League - Mayo
League - Mayo
Connacht - Mayo
All Ireland - Mayo

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 5:43pm

FBD League - Mayo
League - Mayo
Connacht - Mayo
All Ireland - Mayo

If Carlsberg could do bottles  oh wait

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 6:08pm

FBD League - Mayo
League - Mayo
Connacht - Mayo
All Ireland - Mayo

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 11:19pm
We're gonna win the league
Now are you gona believe us, now are you gona believe us,now are ya gona believe usssss....

We're gona win the league

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 11:21pm

Now are you gona believe us, now are you gona believe us,now are ya gona believe usssss....

Wrong thread Eire, this was meant for the liverpool thread surely.....

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2014 at 11:24pm

Wrong thread Eire, this was meant for the liverpool thread surely.....

Could infact be for the bray, Cliftonville, celtic, hibs,red star threads!

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2014 at 10:11am
I can't believe how many people here wanted McStay to get the job. Totally fell for his little spiel on the Sunday Game. Thanks f**k

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2014 at 10:15am

FBD League - Mayo
League - Mayo
Connacht - Mayo
All Ireland - Mayo

If Carlsberg could do bottles  oh wait

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2014 at 11:01am
Fitzy struck a chord yesterday proclaiming "we are only getting started". With Gooch and Tommy Walsh coming back and a good conveyor belt I honestly feel the rivalry between Kerry and Dublin over the next few years will be ferocious.

No man has the right to fix the boundary to the march of a nation. No man has the right to say to his country “thus far shalt thou go and no further"

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2014 at 12:43pm

I can't believe how many people here wanted McStay to get the job. Totally fell for his little spiel on the Sunday Game. Thanks f**k

Seen on twitter that Noel Connelly is already under pressure!

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2014 at 12:53pm
Embedded image permalink

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2014 at 12:58pm
You couldn't have picked or worse source erimus. 

But there is a load of nonsense coming out on this. Not Noel or Pat's fault, unfair on them. Few Co. Board officials need to consider their positions. One in particular!!

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 10:05am
Tommy Walsh confirmed he will be back after Christmas. Looking forward to seeing him the Gooch and James O'Donoghue in the same forward line.

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 10:39am

Tommy Walsh confirmed he will be back after Christmas. Looking forward to seeing him the Gooch and James O'Donoghue in the same forward line.

no place for the Star , jays kerry football is harsh LOL

great forward line Clap

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 10:46am
I'd say Gooch will play on the 40 picking out JOD and TW in the corners. It's hard to call at this stage (injury, form, new players) but I'd have Star at 14 for the odd few bombs in towards the square and have two work horses on the wings. Probably Donnacha Walsh and Johnny Buckley.

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 11:01am
walsh is worth it for all the frees he wins , the bollocks LOL

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 1:30pm

I'd say Gooch will play on the 40 picking out JOD and TW in the corners. It's hard to call at this stage (injury, form, new players) but I'd have Star at 14 for the odd few bombs in towards the square and have two work horses on the wings. Probably Donnacha Walsh and Johnny Buckley.

Gooch on the 40?

Surely keeping him in the corner is where he is needed most?

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 1:47pm
Cooper wreaked havoc at No.11 last year

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 1:50pm
Yeah Gooch was immense there last year. Incredible to watch

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2014 at 10:49am
When's the draw?
Thought it was last night

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2014 at 10:52am

When's the draw?
Thought it was last night

Next thursday

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2014 at 11:42pm
Jimmy is gone

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2014 at 11:50pm
Jim mcGuinness has just announced he has stepped down with immediate effect. Predict a few of the senior players to follow him. All yous that know me know I'm a proud donegal man and I and every donegal fan owe jim a great bit if gratitude for the 4 years he has given us

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2014 at 11:51pm
Was dreading this day...thanks for the memories JimCry Some task for whoever takes over

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2014 at 11:58pm
Moyesie for Donegal.

Posted By: Away trips
Date Posted: 04 Oct 2014 at 12:02am
Jim wont be missed by the neutrals.

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2014 at 1:45am
What now for the chosen one?

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2014 at 7:18am
I would have liked to have seen Jim stay on at Donegal to see how would he have reacted to the defeat against us. Sign of a great manager when he can adapt and change his set up to play different opponents. Big loss for Donegal. Any names being mentioned as replacement?

Posted By: RazorMac
Date Posted: 04 Oct 2014 at 8:19am
Mixed feelings overall about McGuinnes.Had the team set up right for 2012 and got the breaks you need along the way to winning Sam. Got what he deserved in 2013 v Mayo. I felt this year was his best team and would of beat an average Kerry team if he had of had more tactical knowledge instead of the 1 dimensional gameplan. I think overall it will be good for Donegal because some the better players like McBrearty and Murphy were wasted under the current system. In saying all that he brought them from nowhere and made a poor side in 2010 to all ireland champions 2 years later.

Ah heere leeeeeave it ouuuut

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2014 at 8:21am
mcguinness is a legend , sure he played some dung ball but he playd some good stuff too and got the best out of his players, good on him. donegal will be quiet enough now until he comes back in about 6-7 years and wins for them again ! 

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2014 at 10:29am
Pat Flanagan leaves sligo.
only means one thing! He's offaly bound

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2014 at 11:01am
Offaly for Sam 2015 so

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2014 at 11:05am
Definitely

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2014 at 2:55pm
New Galway manager Kevin Walsh togged out and came off the bench to help Killanin win their first ever Intermediate county title yesterday at Tuam Stadium Clap

Our midfield woes are solved

Posted By: Gaillimh Abu
Date Posted: 06 Oct 2014 at 4:48pm

New Galway manager Kevin Walsh togged out and came off the bench to help Killanin win their first ever Intermediate county title yesterday at Tuam Stadium Clap

Yeah he came on for the last 10 mins to help Killanin get over the line. All credit to him   

To try and fail is understandable but to fail to try is inexcusable

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 12:39am
Originally posted by Gaillimh Abu Gaillimh Abu wrote:

Yeah he came on for the last 10 mins to help Killanin get over the line. All credit to him   

f**k sakes player manager

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 12:54am
Lot of money after being put on Horan to be next Donegal gaffer

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 12:55am
Ah jaysus dont say we will have to listen to that boring fcuker again nxt year.

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 1:56am

Lot of money after being put on Horan to be next Donegal gaffer

The James horan rumour been floating about since last Saturday night and seems bookies have taken a fair bit of money on him with paddy power slashing his odds from 20/1 into 7/2 and boylesports have taken him from 33/1 to 11/4 fav with a spokesperson confirming they have taken big bets on him in the boarder regions.

Personally don't know what to make of that as most know I wasn't biggest fan of him and IMO his tactics leave a lot to be desired (as in he sets his teams up very naive e.g vs jerry in both games this year) . Was a county board meeting tonight about appointing jims successor so will wait see over next few weeks. I will say I'm probably 1 of few donegal folk that doesn't mind an outside manager being given the job

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 9:53am
Originally posted by Away trips Away trips wrote:

Ah jaysus dont say we will have to listen to that boring fcuker again nxt year.

You do know that once the game is over you dont have to listen to any of the interviews from any managers right?

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 10:52am
Dont even want to see that muppet on the sideline never mind listen to him.

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 11:44am
Horan is the reason Mayo didnt win an AI ,he has no clue about tactics.Be a very bad move by Donegal to appoint him.

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 12:04pm

Horan is the reason Mayo didnt win an AI ,he has no clue about tactics.Be a very bad move by Donegal to appoint him.
totally agree thankfully according to the radio this morning he not interested in the job

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 12:07pm

totally agree thankfully according to the radio this morning he not interested in the job

Who do you think will get it ?

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 12:17pm
Horan is the reason Mayo were next nor near an All Ireland in the first place. He has his faults, like everyone, but he has done nothing short of a marvelous job with Mayo. 

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 1:17pm
Delighted with the offaly appointment

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 1:26pm
Gotta love GAA manager appointments. Surely the only time that the word 'Ratified'  is ever actually used. Mighty. 

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 1:29pm

Who do you think will get it ?

I'm not sure who I'd like to get it think a lot of the names mention have a lot to prove yet or have been there before and failed. Declan Bonnar will be tipped after his year with the minors but I think he be better moving onto u21 with that minor team. He's also a old fashion manager who doesn't go into as much detail as the younger managers do these days

Rory Gallagher is tipped to be 1 of the leading names in for it but I don't think he the man for the job seen last year he did a hell of a lot of talking about opposition (the whole lead up to mayo game was him talking rubbish) plus he's hotly tipped because of the position he has his current club in (managing Kilcar ATM and looks like they will win the league but tbh me or you could get the current Kilcar team into that position)

If I was to give it to a donegal man would go for someone like Damien diver. He could keep the current back room team in place as well. Gary mcdaid the glenswilly manager would be another I would like see go for the job. If was to go outside of the county would like see someone like Tony mcentee to get it

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 1:32pm

Dont even want to see that muppet on the sideline never mind listen to him.

Why?

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 1:46pm
Walls your from mayo,have you not seen and heard enough of him to do you a lifetime?Horan cost ye this years all ireland what kind of an idiot would have left the full back on donaghy for a full game when the last 5 mins of the drawn game showed he was goin to be out of his depth.

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 2:09pm
I agree with Mark's sentiments. We were a shambles before he took over. Losing to Longford is completely unacceptable but that is what happened. In his 4 years we got to two semi finals and two finals and are without a doubt one of the top teams in the country. 

I agree he has absolutely made mistakes, particularly in last years final when it was there for winning and I would agree with your comments regarding the way Donaghy was handled this year and perhaps it was time for a fresh face. It still doesnt take away from the great job he did overall after the disgrace of 2010. Fair enough, you dont rate him, I just dont get the apparent hatred you have towards the man Confused

Posted By: MaradonaSeven
Date Posted: 07 Oct 2014 at 2:16pm

Walls your from mayo,have you not seen and heard enough of him to do you a lifetime?Horan cost ye this years all ireland what kind of an idiot would have left the full back on donaghy for a full game when the last 5 mins of the drawn game showed he was goin to be out of his depth.

Cost ye the year before against the Dubs too IMO.

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 7:43pm
What a draw for donegal for the ulster championship. Donegal vs Tyrone in the preliminary round with the winners going on to play Armagh

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 7:46pm
Tir Eoghain Abu

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 7:46pm
Jesus bottom half of ulster draw is horrible

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 7:47pm
Offaly or (Most Likely) Longford first up for the Dubs

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 7:50pm

Longford first up for the Dubs

lets be realistic here Wink

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 7:50pm

Longford first up for the Dubs

lets be realistic here Wink

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 7:56pm
Only bonus for kildare is that we have the easy side of the qualifiers

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 7:59pm
Good to see another away game for Down, sure who would ever want to play at home ffs, waste of money building a half decent ground here, should bulldoze it and rebuild totally in Down, not like we're gonna get a home game for a while anyway LOL

But Derry away again Dead

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 8:11pm
Good draw for Roscommon,good side of the draw.

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 8:41pm

That scoreline could be embarrassing. I am sure Dublin will be looking to put down a marker

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 10:35pm

That scoreline could be embarrassing. I am sure Dublin will be looking to put down a marker

Won't be embarrassing anyway.
We're not mayo

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 11:50pm

We're not mayo
Ye certainly aren't Mayo!!LOL

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 11:52pm

We're not mayo

Ye certainly aren't Mayo!!LOL

Thats for sure, just get them to read my signature!

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2014 at 12:21pm
The season ticket is €85 until the 31st October,€95 after that.

Good value if you go to most league matches and if you expect your county to be contesting the AI.

Do any of ye buy them?

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2014 at 12:31pm
I don't like the pay and play side of the season ticket.

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2014 at 12:54pm

Good value if you go to most league matches and if you expect your county to be contesting the AI.

<span style="line-height: 16.7999992370605px;">Do any of ye buy them?</span>

Buy one most years!

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2014 at 12:55pm

<span style="line-height: 16.7999992370605px;">Do any of ye buy them?</span>

know good few that buy them and say it a great system. The final this year showed how people try to abuse the system but thankfully it operated exactly like it meant to (800 sold in donegal but only 400 reached the 60% required to get a final ticket) personally never bothered getting 1 as been getting tickets from the club since 98 and only game ever had problem with is Tyrone in Ballybofey in 2013 and still got 1 in the end up

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2014 at 1:01pm
Most grounds i went to didn't even have a way of recording attendance

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2014 at 1:55pm

Wondering how do they record your attendance ?

I have always got sorted for whatever tickets I needed but it does seem like a good set up.

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2014 at 2:08pm
Get it every year and, bar a few blips last year with recording attendance, it has been brilliant. 2 AI Finals and no headache whatsoever getting tickets.

Good value. You get 7 games in the league and potentially 9.

Last year I got 8 league games, AI Club Final for Mitchels, Roscommon game all for €80. Brilliant value.

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2014 at 2:09pm
There are none available in Mayo at the moment. Only renewals are available. Only county alongside Dublin to have sold out last year

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2014 at 2:09pm

Get it every year and, bar a few blips last year with recording attendance, it has been brilliant. 2 AI Finals and no headache whatsoever getting tickets.

Good value. You get 7 games in the league and potentially 9.

Last year I got 8 league games, AI Club Final for Mitchels, Roscommon game all for €80. Brilliant value.

Added bonus of the international rules if you renewed early

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2014 at 2:10pm

Wondering how do they record your attendance ?

I have always got sorted for whatever tickets I needed but it does seem like a good set up.

For league games they would scan but I would imagine that down in Division 3/4 that they probably assume that no one would bother with a season ticket so they done have a season ticket stile and a lad with a scanner. No that that is right, they should do it properly at all grounds but I'd imagine that would be why.

Do you get season tickets for both codes Eire?