URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=49509
Printed Date: 21 May 2024 at 11:29am

Topic: Best Town in Offaly
Posted By: Walsh Island
Subject: Best Town in Offaly
Date Posted: 26 Jul 2014 at 9:52pm
Genuine question, what ye think?

Is it best town in Offaly, Ireland, the world?

That ferry terminal is something else

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 1:51pm
Confused Sleepy Clown  

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 1:53pm

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 2:07pm
Hard to beat Edenderry

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 2:08pm
Originally posted by Walsh Island Walsh Island wrote:

Should you not be out line dancing or something

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 2:49pm
Walsh Island the pride of North Offaly

Posted By: athlonecelt
Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 2:51pm
Pullagh

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 3:09pm

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 4:29pm
Where's Offaly?

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 4:35pm

Where's Offaly?
It's in a place called Walsh island I think

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 4:37pm

Where's Offaly?
Do you need a passport to get into this mecca

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 4:45pm

Where's Offaly?
justa  ferry tickets I think. Eire 31 can advise further I'd say. He seems to love the place, thinks it's the best in place in the Universe apparently

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 4:49pm

Where's Offaly?
justa  ferry tickets I think. Eire 31 can advise further I'd say. He seems to love the place, thinks it's the best in place in the Universe apparently
Its a wonder he did not call himself Eire33 Wink

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 7:02pm
Isn't there a home for evil kids in Daingean?

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 7:03pm

Translates as Juvenile DelinquentsWink

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 7:20pm

Correct closed down now, st conleth's reformatory!

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 9:21pm
Lovely spot is "da island"

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 9:42pm

The Sunday is the Lords day, what sort of heathen are you?

LIine dancing is solely a Friday night activity, as well as Mon, Tues and Tues, Weds for bingo, Saturday for winning streak

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 9:51pm
surely it should be least worst town in Offaly?

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 9:57pm
Its a village

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 9:59pm
The fact you live on an island baffles me

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:04pm

LOL jaysus

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:05pm

Mother a god LOL

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:08pm
Holy jaysus

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:08pm

LIine dancing is solely a Friday night activity, as well as Mon, Tues and Tues, Weds for bingo, Saturday for winning streak
I suppose you all gather in Kavanaghs shop to watch together on the 1 telly in the village

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:09pm

What's so baffling??

Obviously from portarlington

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:09pm

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:10pm

I suppose you all gather in Kavanaghs shop to watch together on the 1 telly in the village

Why would we associate with That prodestant bollox?

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:15pm

You are happy enough to take your payments out of his post office arnt you Shocked and then go and spend it in hoppers Wink

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:20pm

You are happy enough to take your payments out of his post office arnt you Shocked and then go and spend it in hoppers Wink

Who are you? the secret police?

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:31pm

Ah lads!

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:32pm

How the hell do you no the shops name!!

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:34pm

LOL i am the oracle my good friend, just tell John and Breda you know me

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:46pm

Good people, taking the mick earlier, didnt know there was three of us islanders hereClap

1981, 1985, 1994, 1998

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:49pm

Good people, taking the mick earlier, didnt know there was three of us islanders hereClap

We won it 12times!.....

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 10:59pm

Oh how i loved rompimg around the bog of allen in my nude, then making my way down to hoppers and having a nice few drinks served by the nice people Paul and Madeline and talking about the good times like Willie Bryan and Richie Conor captaining the team dem were the days

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 11:02pm

Oh how i loved rompimg around the bog of allen in my nude, then making my way down to hoppers and having a nice few drinks served by the nice people Paul and Madeline and talking about the good times like Willie Bryan and Richie Conor captaining the team dem were the days

now yer talking, beating tubber today with a panel that even laois would be embarrassed about was great though

1981, 1985, 1994, 1998

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 11:29pm

now yer talking, beating tubber today with a panel that even laois would be embarrassed about was great though

Thats for sure, we could even make the Q-finals yet!

Posted By: athlonecelt
Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 11:55pm
I came on earlier to ask yee would yee beat Tubber at 4/6. Game must have f**kin kicked off cause when i went on powers it was gone.  deleted mid post.Unhappy

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2014 at 11:57pm
Originally posted by athlonecelt athlonecelt wrote:

I came on earlier to ask yee would yee beat Tubber at 4/6. Game must have f**kin kicked off cause when i went on powers it was gone.  deleted mid post.Unhappy

12pm
Wouldn't of touched us today, didn't expect that win at all

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 8:09am
What's so funny? He gets a ferry to his gaff and he lives in the centre of Ireland?

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 8:12am

What's so funny? He gets a ferry to his gaff and he lives in the centre of Ireland?
LOLLOLLOLEmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassed seriously?

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 8:17am
Eire told me he did

I'm so confused

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 9:29am
Not a real island. 

Not even the best town in Ireland which is not a real island. Castleisland is much nicer. 

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 9:32am

oh holy f**k LOL

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 9:37am

oh holy f**k LOL

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 9:45am
Jaysus Sassy having a mare

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 9:53am
Right you can all just shut up for a minute. I asked Eire about this Island business before and he told me he lives on one. I then thought it was a similar set up to Waterford castle that you have to get a little kind of car ferry over to. I dont think that is actually that hard to believe and is an easy mistake esp when you take the word of someone that lives there Confused

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 9:57am
Sorry sasa I was joking about it be being a island!(like most of us islanders do)
I didn't think anyone believed me!

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 10:01am

Sorry sasa I was joking about it be being a island!(like most of us islanders do)
I didn't think anyone believed me!

Apology accepted. You just made me look like a complete mug but I forgive you. 

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 10:02am

Posted By: da scientist
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 10:04am
SGB[

Delightful entertainment on a Monday morning hungover

The main thing is not to panic

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 12:15pm
SGB

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 12:23pm
SGB I had never heard of Walsh Island until I read this so don't mind them bullies

Although I tend to Google these things before I post on an Internet forum of which I know a lot of the members LOL

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 12:27pm

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 12:31pm
When I wrote the original comment about Eire living on an island I genuinely thought he lived on an island on a lake or something. I didnt realise it was such an outragous comment to make. I googled it when I got to work and realised I was incorrect. 

I think its an easy mistake to make myself. Why in the name of god would a place be called something island if its not on  a poxy island. Its stupid.

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 12:33pm

Posted By: Flanno7hi
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 12:33pm
SGB. Clap

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 12:40pm
Loads of Island place names in Ireland that's not in fact a original island.

Walsh Island(offaly)
Castle island(kerry)
Little island(cork)
Thats only at top of my head

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 12:40pm
While not being an island as we would normally know them it is a small village in the middle of the bog so with bog water and marsh etc it could technically be called an island. One thing for sure is that it's remote. How many ways in and out are there Eire?

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 12:42pm

While not being an island as we would normally know them it is a small village in the middle of the bog so with bog water and marsh etc it could technically be called an island. One thing for sure is that it's remote. How many ways in and out are there Eire?

5 roads in!

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 1:02pm

So in actual fact I was correct??

Eire I would presume those places you mentioned were islands too and if I knew someone from those areas I would ask them and if they said they did live on an island then I would believe them!!!

Posted By: keitho5
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 1:25pm

Posted By: Trapcandoit
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 1:29pm
Ná bí buairthe SGV, níl ann ach caint carn mór cacamais

5 goals to go Robbie!

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 1:35pm
Originally posted by Trapcandoit Trapcandoit wrote:

Ná bí buairthe SGV, níl é ach caint carn mór cacamais

Tá siad buachaillí dána

Cry

Posted By: SGB's Island
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 1:46pm
What Island is Dublin on then?

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 2:53pm
J'ai connaître idée de ce que vous les gars parlent

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 3:18pm
Nous parlons merd mon ami. Allez The Island!

5 goals to go Robbie!

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 3:23pm
Eire just checked into the Walsh Island Ferry Port on facebook Confused

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Walsh-Island-Ferry-Port-Terminal-1/722289321127175

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 3:33pm

Eire just checked into the Walsh Island Ferry Port on facebook Confused

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Walsh-Island-Ferry-Port-Terminal-1/722289321127175

Grand place altogether.. pity about the floods

5 goals to go Robbie!

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 3:42pm
Is it true they found part of a boat there a few years ago made from bog oak and there were rumours that it could be from the Ark

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 3:43pm

Is it true they found part of a boat there a few years ago made from bog oak and there were rumours that it could be from the Ark

Very much true, nothing ever came of it though

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 3:43pm

They may find parts of you in there if you dont keep your gob shut Tongue

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 3:45pm
How low can you go. Getting outwitted by Eire 31. :)

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 3:46pm

How low can you go. Getting outwitted by Eire 31. :)

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 3:46pm
I wouldn't be the first person found down a bog hole in the midlands!

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 3:48pm
Well technically I didnt get outwitted by anyone. I was merley told a lie and I mistakingly believed it. 

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 4:22pm

Next ybig meet up?
Maybe the Xmas party?

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 5:21pm

Well technically I didnt get outwitted by anyone. I was merley told a lie and I mistakingly believed it. 

I'm only after noticing the signature below your username LOLLOL

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 6:58pm

Next ybig meet up?
Maybe the Xmas party?
Eire how is Mary today, did you have to steam clean the floor after she finished eating out of her trough ?

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 7:03pm
Is that little country lane the village?

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 7:09pm

Fck sake Sham that is the main thoroughfare 80 kph, but at that warp speed you would miss the attractions like the old forge and such like, and also miss the river Eire has to cross to get to the campsite

Posted By: Madferret
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 7:20pm

Next ybig meet up?
Maybe the Xmas party?

Breatnach is a mutated form of Breatain which is an Old Irish name for Britain or more specifically Wales. Hence Welsh (Walsh) Island. 
And speaking of mutants, we have some quare village names in this country; Crazy Corner in Westmeath, which unsuprisingly is close to St.Lomans,  Effin in Co.Limerick and my all-time favourite, Horse & Jockey.

Anyway, Walsh Island for the Olympics Clap

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 7:33pm

Fck sake Sham that is the main thoroughfare 80 kph, but at that warp speed you would miss the attractions like the old forge and such like, and also miss the river Eire has to cross to get to the campsite

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 7:35pm
Originally posted by Madferret Madferret wrote:

Next ybig meet up?
Maybe the Xmas party?

Breatnach is a mutated form of Breatain which is an Old Irish name for Britain or more specifically Wales. Hence Welsh (Walsh) Island. 
And speaking of mutants, we have some quare village names in this country; Crazy Corner in Westmeath, which unsuprisingly is close to St.Lomans,  Effin in Co.Limerick and my all-time favourite, Horse & Jockey.

Is that why Munster folk pronounce the surname Walsh as Welsh? Would go someways towards explaining it. They're still wrong, but at least it might explain it...

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 7:41pm
Yah it could be the reason alright AM. They have a way of dropping the "ough" part of Coughlan too in Cork. So it sounds more like "Cawlin". Or you could drop the "U" for Eamonn Coghlan to bring it back to the pronunciation most people would be familiar with and the harsher "ough" sound.
Doughnuts for Donuts. 

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 7:41pm

Next ybig meet up?
Maybe the Xmas party?

Is that why Munster folk pronounce the surname Walsh as Welsh? Would go someways towards explaining it. They're still wrong, but at least it might explain it...

They also say Culm for the name Colm.

Posted By: Jackthelad
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 7:46pm
Go way to f**k will ye!
Walsh is Walsh from a Munster man right here!

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 8:22pm

When I wrote the original comment about Eire living on an island I genuinely thought he lived on an island on a lake or something. I didnt realise it was such an outragous comment to make. I googled it when I got to work and realised I was incorrect. 

I think its an easy mistake to make myself. Why in the name of god would a place be called something island if its not on  a poxy island. Its stupid.

Tis an Island, the clues in de name sure, don't mind everywan else, sure did i not work on de ferry after de junior cert

1981, 1985, 1994, 1998

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 8:24pm

Tis an Island, the clues in de name sure, don't mind everywan else, sure did i not work on de ferry after de junior cert

Are they all the years you repeated your Group Cert in your signature??? I'd say you can barely write your name with a stick.

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 8:27pm

Are they all the years you repeated your Group Cert in your signature??? I'd say you can barely write your name with a stick.

Maybe not but Brian Whelehan could knck em over with wan and thats all that matters hey

1981, 1985, 1994, 1998

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2014 at 11:45pm

No camp site on D'island!
Have one in the next village,
Geashill caravan park!
Offaly Tidy towns winners many times

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2014 at 10:20am

Next ybig meet up?
Maybe the Xmas party?

Don't forget Bastardstown in Westmeath, Nobber in Meath, Blue Ball in Offaly, and Ringaskiddy in Cork Clap

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2014 at 12:30pm
Bastardstown have a football club I wonder??
C'mon the bastards

Posted By: Mrs Iris Robinson
Date Posted: 01 Aug 2014 at 1:57pm
LOL LOLLOLLOL

oh young man

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2014 at 2:20pm
Originally posted by Mrs Iris Robinson Mrs Iris Robinson wrote:

LOL LOLLOLLOL

You in the wrong account TJ?

Any craic?

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2014 at 9:52am
Walsh Island Threshing village today
Fantastic day in store if anyone fancies coming down.
All kicks off at the black well at 2pm!
Ends tonight with the barndance.

#itsaislandlife

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2014 at 11:44am

Walsh Island Threshing village today
Fantastic day in store if anyone fancies coming down.
All kicks off at the black well at 2pm!
Ends tonight with the barndance.

#itsanislandlife

Of course it isLOL

Date Posted: 23 Dec 2014 at 2:29pm
Gwan D'Island

Date Posted: 23 Dec 2014 at 5:01pm
Offaly exists? Thought it was like Narnia?