URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=49434
Printed Date: 27 Apr 2024 at 9:20pm

Topic: Oneplus Phones
Subject: Oneplus Phones
Date Posted: 14 Jul 2014 at 5:49pm
Its a new phone that has been released .They cannot be bought in shops and you need an invite to purchase one.

It looks to be a class phone and its is nearly half the price of similar phones from the big companies that have similar spec's.

anyone buy one ?

http://oneplus.net/" rel="nofollow - http://oneplus.net/

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2014 at 6:10pm
Sounds like every hipster dzopes dream

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2014 at 9:18am
I know a German fella who was creaming himself for these to come out.

How does the invite to buy one work?

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2014 at 9:22am

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2014 at 9:41am

reading the forum there and tbere is ****s creaming themselves over it.freaking out because they haven't got an invite yet .   

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2014 at 9:44am
Originally posted by Guf10 Guf10 wrote:

I know a German fella who was creaming himself for these to come out.

How does the invite to buy one work?

you get an invite from the company or by entering competitions on the site.
I think anyone who buys the phone then get a few invites to pass on.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2014 at 10:59am
Looks a nice phone, the thing that would put me off is the lack of a home button, phones without them such as the HTC one are a pain in the hole.

Aliexpress sell these phones too with no need for an invite.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2014 at 11:18am

Looks a nice phone, the thing that would put me off is the lack of a home button, phones without them such as the HTC one are a pain in the hole.

agreed ,a phone with a home button is a much better job.
The one's on Aliexpress can get done for tax/customs and I was told they are a little different ,they use different LTE bands and a different operating system.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2014 at 11:28am

The one's on Aliexpress can get done for tax/customs and I was told they are a little different ,they use different LTE bands and a different operating system.
bought a HTC xe on aliexpress, no customs as it was marked gift $30, can be unlucky though. Think customs are copping on that a lot of electronics coming in are actually cheap stuff plus they've bigger fish to fry. 

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2014 at 11:32am

bought a HTC xe on aliexpress, no customs as it was marked gift $30, can be unlucky though. Think customs are copping on that a lot of electronics coming in are actually cheap stuff plus they've bigger fish to fry. 

Wait till the Chinese lads get a hold of the new Ireland jersey and start producing without 3 on the front

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2014 at 2:00pm
A phone you have to be invited to buy?Confused

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2014 at 2:04pm

A phone you have to be invited to buy?Confused

its an odd one alright,there are people on the website basically begging to be given an invite to part with €300+.
Did Apple do similar a few years back when they launched the first Iphone ?

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2014 at 3:17pm

Wait till the Chinese lads get a hold of the new Ireland jersey and start producing without 3 on the front

meltdown

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2014 at 11:49pm
Marketing gimmick, begging a company to buy their phone - f offStern Smile

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2014 at 7:16pm
I got one of these a few weeks back and its a brilliant phone especially with the price.It cost me €355 delivered and not being tied to a contract is a big bonus.
I might have some invites to pass on if anyone is interested let me know.

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2014 at 7:18pm

I got one of these a few weeks back and its a brilliant phone especially with the price.It cost me €355 delivered and not being tied to a contract is a big bonus.

Dead 355 euor for an annoyance!? Clucking Bell

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2014 at 7:32pm

Dead 355 euor for an annoyance!? Clucking Bell

worth every penny Clap

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2014 at 7:35pm
Give us a review there Rossie

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2014 at 8:11pm
Whats the idea of an invite. What so special about the phone?

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2014 at 8:29pm
The invite seems to be just a marketing gimmick and its supposed to be going on general sale next month.

The phone has top notch specs and is considerably cheaper compared to any other phone with similar spec and is unlocked/sim free so no need to have a monthly bill.
The battery is a huge improvement on any other smart phone I had,can go nearly 48 hours without a charge.The screen is very impressive and it has 64GB storage.No SD card though.

Check out the reviews of it online,it compares very well with any of the other top of the range phones.
I would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking about changing/upgrading their phone soon.

http://www.techradar.com/reviews/phones/mobile-phones/oneplus-one-1244307/review" rel="nofollow - http://www.techradar.com/reviews/phones/mobile-phones/oneplus-one-1244307/review

http://www.engadget.com/products/oneplus/one/" rel="nofollow - http://www.engadget.com/products/oneplus/one/

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2014 at 2:29pm
I have an invite to use if anyone is interested in it send me a PM and I will pass on the details.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2014 at 2:44pm
Nice features Rossie on the phone but the lack of a home button kills it for me, it would drive me mental I know it would.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2014 at 2:56pm
Would fund it hard to buy this as it not a name that I heard off before. Would have try it first. But seen as it an invite to buy not much hope of that.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2014 at 2:57pm

Nice features Rossie on the phone but the lack of a home button kills it for me, it would drive me mental I know it would.

Sono ,there is a home button on it.Its a touch button below the screen .Also a menu and back button.
Doesnt bother me now at all.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2014 at 3:00pm

Would fund it hard to buy this as it not a name that I heard off before. Would have try it first. But seen as it an invite to buy not much hope of that.
I know what you mean.Its always nice to get a look at the phone before you buy.
I took the chance and am delighted with it.

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 1:48pm
BUMP

https://oneplus.net/2" rel="nofollow - https://oneplus.net/2

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 5:26pm

BUMP

https://oneplus.net/2" rel="nofollow - https://oneplus.net/2

I bought one a few weeks ago.Excellent phone.

Their system for buying is a load of bollix and it seems to be worse than with the first model.

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 5:54pm
There is a sell on value too which is good. Have you an invite to send?

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 5:59pm

yeah the one plus one is still selling for decent cash second hand.

I only have gotten one invite so far and I passed it onto a lad last week.

Do you want one ?I can give you the next one I get,if its like the first phone I will get 3 invites to pass on.

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 6:05pm

Do you want one ?I can give you the next one I get,if its like the first phone I will get 3 invites to pass on.
I'm not 100% going to use it...in the making my mind up phaseEmbarrassed You have to pay customs charges or fees?

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 6:07pm

I'm not 100% going to use it...in the making my mind up phaseEmbarrassed You have to pay customs charges or fees?

no custom charges .Postage is €20 ,thats the only other fee.64gb phone is €419 delivered.

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2015 at 6:12pm

no custom charges .Postage is €20 ,thats the only other fee.64gb phone is €419 delivered.
Thumbs Up cheers rossie. Will have another look at it tomorrow, serious impressive looking anyway. 

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2015 at 9:45am
My mate just ordered 2 of these bad boys : oneplus 2

The tech reviews look really good and they are half the price of the high end smart phones.

http://www.trustedreviews.com/oneplus-2-review   9/10

There was some open window over the weekend were you could buy them directly from the company with no invite.

I like the idea of 2 sims in the one phone especially if you travel a lot between 2 countries.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2015 at 12:32pm
Very good phone.I have the one and recently got the two.No complaints with either.

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2015 at 1:05pm
https://oneplus.net/x" rel="nofollow - OnePlus X

New phone from OnePlus.Will cost €293.49 delivered that seems very good spec for the price.

I will probably get an invite from them for this so if anyone wants it please let me know.

Posted By: conor253
Date Posted: 07 Nov 2015 at 1:17pm
I'm on the look out for an invite for One Plus X if anyone has a spare one. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2015 at 3:11pm
Originally posted by conor253 conor253 wrote:

I'm on the look out for an invite for One Plus X if anyone has a spare one. Thumbs Up
dis you read the post directly above yours?

Posted By: conor253
Date Posted: 07 Nov 2015 at 11:13pm

Ya, the way I read it, he hadn't got the invite yet.

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2015 at 11:22pm

Ya, the way I read it, he hadn't got the invite yet.
get your speak in first is what i meant..

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2017 at 10:05pm
Have the OnePlus 3 now for a few months... absolutely greta piece of kit altogether

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2017 at 11:55pm

Have the OnePlus 3 now for a few months... absolutely greta piece of kit altogether

Mate has it and reckons its excellent.

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2017 at 12:31am

Mate has it and reckons its excellent.
fantastic spec altogether.

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2017 at 8:50am
Scratch that

Posted By: irelandshirts
Date Posted: 05 Jan 2017 at 8:59am
Two

WWW.IRELANDSOCCERSHIRTS.COM

Posted By: Patman Scoop
Date Posted: 05 Jan 2017 at 10:32am
brilliant phones, I've had the oneplus one since April 15 and its still going strong 

Why no wine??!

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2017 at 12:05pm
Originally posted by Patman Scoop Patman Scoop wrote:

brilliant phones, I've had the oneplus one since April 15 and its still going strong 
If it wasn't still going strong in that timeframe I'd hazard a guess and say that it's an Apple product

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2017 at 8:31pm
Anyone get the 5?

Only have the 4 since late 2016 so not changing yet myslef but interested to hear any opinions on it

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2017 at 9:29pm
Yeah, got it on launch night so had it before sh*t reviews cans out

It's a very good phone but does some stupid things. Left it on 24% battery last night and it died over night despite being on airplane mode. Th night before it lost 1% overnight.

Would recommend anyone thinking of getting it to wait a few months before issues are ironed out.

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2017 at 9:34pm

Yeah, got it on launch night so had it before sh*t reviews cans out

It's a very good phone but does some stupid things. Left it on 24% battery last night and it died over night despite being on airplane mode. Th night before it lost 1% overnight.

Would recommend anyone thinking of getting it to wait a few months before issues are ironed out.
usual enough story when a new phone comes out. Bought an iphone 4 before when it was first released. It was back to Apple after 2 months, so always wait now for a while

Posted By: whitesideOnside
Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 2:14pm
I've had my quite brilliant HTC_M8 for over 3 years now but it is letting me down lately. Complaints about not being able to hear me and its battery dying suddenly and having to log back into apps and use backups.

Anyway, I'm in the market for a new phone and will be buying it myself.
I've a work phone and but they only offer very basic phones.

Is this Oneplus recommended?

I looked at the S8 but Christ it's expensive and so is the new HTC.

I'd like to keep below 500 anyway.

Any recommendations?

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 2:18pm
I have the one plus 3. Best thing i ever bought phone wise anyway. Dual sim also so I have my work sim in it too. No more carrying two phones. Battery life is excellent.

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 2:54pm

I have the one plus 3. Best thing i ever bought phone wise anyway. Dual sim also so I have my work sim in it too. No more carrying two phones. Battery life is excellent.

Thanks. Glad to hear that about the battery.

Posted By: cullenswood
Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 3:55pm
The HTC U11 can be gotten for €500 new and unlocked.    Would that not be a better phone than the OnePlus?

Posted By: DonkeyOatey
Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 4:16pm
Had the oneplus one and now have the oneplus three. It competes with all the top end phones and at a better price. Few years ago I went in to buy an iPhone 6 and the guy in the shop whipped out his oneplus and said get this, don't be wasting money on iPhones and I haven't looked back. My oneplus one is nearly 3 years old, battery was still grand, still quite fast but obviously isn't as good as it was out of the box. But great phone.

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 4:24pm
Yeah I have the One Plus 3T since it's launch date. Great phone. Battery would last a full day from 7am to 11pm and that includes being hooked up to a Smart Watch all day and Bluetooth headphones for about an hour a day on top of that. I'd use the phone quite a bit during the day as well as that

The picture on the screen, speed of use, 64gb memory coming as standard etc make it a far better phone than most out there at a much lower price.

Couldn't recommend it enough

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 6:53pm
Originally posted by cullenswood cullenswood wrote:

The HTC U11 can be gotten for €500 new and unlocked.    Would that not be a better phone than the OnePlus?
I haven't seen it for 500, but thanks for the tip, I'll look some more. I'm a little bit reluctant to buy it from anywhere that doesn't have excellent customer service and returns.
Though I loved my HTC M8 it did have to go back a couple of times the first few months due to hardware problems.

I'm very tempted by the OnePlus going on the rave reviews here and it seems to be a pure Android. I found the extra software on my HTC a little annoying and then there was Vodafone trying to get in also. 
If I buy direct from OnePlus I'll bypass all that.

Posted By: Richmond Ultra
Date Posted: 20 Aug 2017 at 3:08am
I have a One plus 3T. I ditched an iPhone 6 for it. No comparison plus battery is very good.

Omnia Causa Fiunt

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 2:59am
Thinking about getting a One plus again used to have an earlier version think it was the Oneplus X and best phone I ever had. Lost it in a taxi in Moldova Cry has anyone bought the 5 or 5T I'll go for one of these any advice ? Smile

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 6:46am
Havent upgraded from the 3 as its working just a perfectly as it was from when I removed it from the packaging. None of this interfering with its performance like some fruity maufacturers.

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 9:23am
In the market for a new phone as well.
One plus are only selling the 5T on their site now.
The 6 is gonna be out in the new 3 months or so. probably as well to wait for that if you're not in a hurry to buy,see what it's like.

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 9:35am

The 6 is gonna be out in the new 3 months or so. probably as well to wait for that if you're not in a hurry to buy,see what it's like.

You're giving up on your Moto G Play? I reckon I'll get another year out of mine.

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 11:06am
I have been recommended the 'Wiley Fox Swift 2', anybody here use one?

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 11:09am

You're giving up on your Moto G Play? I reckon I'll get another year out of mine.

I have had several phones since then, must have a hole in my pocket

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 11:33am

I have had several phones since then, must have a hole in my pocket

That must be it alright  LOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 11:44am

I have been recommended the 'Wiley Fox Swift 2', anybody here use one?

A decent budget phone brand but think that model close to €200 now.
Moto G5S Plus is similar money and should be superior in all departments.

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2020 at 8:34pm
BUMP

4 years on and still have the OnePlus 3. Still working perfectly, battery still excellent etc. Just have the urge to change Now and have been looking at the ‘Nord’ for €409. Anyone have one or a fresher OnePlus model? 

Also, anyone know of less well know up and coming brands in the same way as One Plus were years back? 

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2020 at 10:00pm
Four years later onto my 5th iPhone. Two of them went by themselves and one of them had a fall. 

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2020 at 10:11pm
Having my best experience with an iPhone at the moment, 2 and a bit years on and no sign of it slowing down. Making it water resistant has made it much more durable

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2020 at 10:16pm

Having my best experience with an iPhone at the moment, 2 and a bit years on and no sign of it slowing down. Making it water resistant has made it much more durable
Are you sticking it somewhere LOL

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2020 at 10:24pm

BUMP

4 years on and still have the OnePlus 3. Still working perfectly, battery still excellent etc. Just have the urge to change Now and have been looking at the ‘Nord’ for €409. Anyone have one or a fresher OnePlus model? 

Also, anyone know of less well know up and coming brands in the same way as One Plus were years back? 

One Plus are supposed to be very good alright.  Not a small brand but got the samsung s10e a few months back.  Battery could be better but decent although I have it on the medium power saving mode.
Pretty happy with it.  Was very tempted to get an iphone this year as I've never had one but the lower specs for much more money made it just not worth it.

The Google Pixel is good for camera quality.  Supposed to be the best.  Huawei are Chinese spies so would be reluctant to go for their phones.

TBH I'd stick with One Plus

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2020 at 11:24pm
My days of spending silly money on a phone are over. Around the €400 mark is as much as Id go and even then only because I know ill hang onto it for a few years. Young lad got a Samsung A50 for xmas and its decent spec for the money. I just dont like Samsung for some reason...

Will likely go for the OnePlus Nord but having a look at  https://www.xiaomi.ie/smart-phones/" rel="nofollow - https://www.xiaomi.ie/smart-phones/  also. Anyone have one?

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2020 at 11:34pm
i got my phone for free with Tesco Mobile at 40 a month for 2 yrs.

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2020 at 11:45pm

You didnt get it for free my man... compare your current plan to their sim only p/m and then you’ll know what youre paying for the phone monthly and over the term of the plan.

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2020 at 12:16am
Well yeah but it beats having to fork out 500 up front

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2020 at 12:31am

Well yeah but it beats having to fork out 500 up front
Honestly used to think that too, then when something goes wrong, you’re tied to the network. I Remember the last phone I got on contract was aniPhone, and it worked out I would end up paying a few hundred more over the term of the contract than if I bought the phone outright direct from Apple. Anyway, Different strokes and all that.

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2020 at 8:06am

Tenner a month with 48 for everything, so effectively you've spent €720 on the phone 

Posted By: Gigibongi33
Date Posted: 17 Aug 2020 at 9:58am
Been using Xiaomi phones for the last 2 and a half years. Currently have the Redmi note8. Very similar to Samsung but a fraction of the price. Sim free from around €150. Have a look on eglobalcentral.eu 

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2020 at 12:24pm
Back using the iPhone for the first time in about 7 years and it's just a far better phone to any Android ones I've used (Samsung, One Plus, Xioami, HTC, etc). Bought it refurbished from these guys in Maynooth and the phone was excellent. Have been using it for about 6 months now and no issues:

http://technog.ie/" rel="nofollow - http://technog.ie/

You get fairly new phones at nearly half the price from them. Might be worth considering Sham when looking for your next one

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2020 at 2:01pm
Cheers Gaz, will check them out but zero interest in going back to an iPhone. 

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2020 at 2:03pm

Cheers Gaz, will check them out but zero interest in going back to an iPhone. 

Yeah they do the lot afaik so you should find something there that suits you

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2020 at 2:36pm
The buzz of smart phones is gone imo, when they first came out they were great. And as the years went one new stuff was added. But now its the same old same old. Camera a little better, battery a little better than before. 

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2020 at 4:13pm
Good battery and good camera quality and big memory are the things you need

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2020 at 4:28pm
I love the way my ads on social media are all dominated by mobile phones now that I have contributed to this thread. Ermm

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2020 at 9:28pm
Have the OnePlus 5 for last 2.5 years after reading the recommendation on here. Still working superbly, though the battery is beginning to drop a bit quicker. Very happy with it.
Might upgrade later in the year. Will either go with the Oneplus Nord or possibly the cheaper Pixel 4A.
It'll be very hard to beat the OnePlus but possibly the camera on the pixel4a might be tempting.
I have an iPhone with work; wouldn't be tempted to switch to it for personal use, though they do run smoothly.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2020 at 7:36pm
went for the OnePlus Nord. Cracking phone and camera is excellent. Battery easily lasts two days most of the time including when I use it as a hotspot. 

Few silly little things annoyed me initially though, no notification light anymore so have to tap the screen or unlock to see if there are any messages etc. They have also merged the ring volume with the notification alert volume. So the phone rings a lot louder than the alert for a txt message. Overall though, very happy and at €409 tis a great piece of kit for the spec and if I keep it as long as the 3 I had, will prove to be excellent value.

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2020 at 8:14pm

went for the OnePlus Nord. Cracking phone and camera is excellent. Battery easily lasts two days most of the time including when I use it as a hotspot. 

Few silly little things annoyed me initially though, no notification light anymore so have to tap the screen or unlock to see if there are any messages etc. They have also merged the ring volume with the notification alert volume. So the phone rings a lot louder than the alert for a txt message. Overall though, very happy and at €409 tis a great piece of kit for the spec and if I keep it as long as the 3 I had, will prove to be excellent value.
Ah dang, the notification light was a great feature reminiscent of the old Nokia phones. 
Do you use Android Auto?
The connection on the cable is temperamental on the OnePlus 5.
I hope the Nord connection might be a bit more reliable.
I am assuming the Pixel 4A would be good on this point, so if the Nord is poor it may away my decision.
The OnePlus phone are superb for the price though.

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2020 at 3:52pm
No dont use Android Auto. 

Other than the issues i mentioned. Delighted with it. Sturdy phone.

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2020 at 1:21pm
Cheers Sham. I'll keep this OnePlus 5 going for another while anyway.
It's working away brilliantly except for those Auto connections band that may not even be the phones fault.