URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=49243
Printed Date: 29 Apr 2024 at 9:55am

Topic: Rory McIlroy
Posted By: Jackthelad
Subject: Rory McIlroy
Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 1:00pm
Don't know if theres a thread on him, he's going to play for Ireland - Discuss.
Cue a wide range of 'who gives a f**k's? LOL

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 1:09pm
Always knew he was a proud Irishman Thumbs Up

With himself and GMac, we'll have a chance at a gold medal at these Olympics.

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 1:12pm
be lucky to make the team , gmac and lowry will be higher in the rankings than him by 2016...

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 1:22pm
Good news

Can he play Left Back?

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 1:23pm

Good news

Can he play Left Back?

the current incumbent certainly cant LOL

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 1:26pm
Absolute disgrace if the OCI even consider him. Only declaring now because Nike forced the decision to ensure as many of their men are in Rio as they know he wont make his homeland's team. 

And as RM says he probably wont have to worry about it because he won't be good enough at that time to make our team.

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 1:29pm

Absolute disgrace if the OCI even consider him. Only declaring now because Nike forced the decision to ensure as many of their men are in Rio as they know he wont make his homeland's team. 

And as RM says he probably wont have to worry about it because he won't be good enough at that time to make our team.

OCI will lick his hole and take him for sure , pat hickey said he wanted him to carry the flag ! you can bet he wil turn that "honour" down LOL

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 1:30pm
Is Delaney still vice prez of the OCI? 

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 1:34pm

OCI will lick his hole and take him for sure , pat hickey said he wanted him to carry the flag ! you can bet he wil turn that "honour" down LOL
"pat hickey said he wanted him to carry the flag !"

Surely that would hinder his swing?

Posted By: flick
Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 1:37pm
McIlroy belongs to Ireland as much as Golf belongs in the Olympics

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 1:41pm
McIlroy came out in a rash when someone suggested he carry the tricolour according to a well respected journalist at the press conference today.

When I say well respected I mean not respected.

When I say not respected I mean he doesnt exist.

It was me who made it up. ok?

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 1:55pm
great news Clap

Posted By: MasterOfApples
Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 1:58pm
His decline in form made the choice for him, imo. He wouldn't make Team GB. Always liked the lad and would have lost no respect for him whatsoever if he had chosen Team GB. A true gent in the flesh. 

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 2:00pm

Good news

Can he play Left Back?

the current incumbent certainly cant LOL

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 2:04pm
Does he qualify under the granny rule

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 2:07pm
Originally posted by MasterOfApples MasterOfApples wrote:

His decline in form made the choice for him, imo. He wouldn't make Team GB. Always liked the lad and would have lost no respect for him whatsoever if he had chosen Team GB. A true gent in the flesh. 

He's higher ranked than any British golfer, would have made the team in my opinion. 

Looking forward to seeing a lot of U-Turns done with people who i know who called him a traitor and brit slowly coming round to liking him again now! 

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 2:14pm
If ever there was a case of people living their lives through sportspeople it is this. McIlroy is going to the Olympics for himself, not some randomers that watch tv.

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 2:34pm
A yes, the thread is progressing along expected lines.

Posted By: BaileNuisBhoy
Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 2:55pm
Orange loving pr!ck

Say no to Egg Chasing!!!

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 3:42pm
It will be a proud day when he takes home the gold for Ireland. Absolutely brilliant for one of the finest golfer in the world today to be representing us at the Olympics.

As he said himself, he didn't really think too much about it and now that he's home in Ireland for the open, he has decided to announce it. No better time in my opinion. Well done Rory, I never doubted you.

Posted By: dickybhoy
Date Posted: 18 Jun 2014 at 11:29pm
Took him 25 years to realise he was Irish? What a dick.

Posted By: StephenHendrick
Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 3:07am
Approximately 150 years ago, his ancestors were left to starve and rot alive by the British; treated worse than animals. His fellow Catholics shot and bludgeoned to death in the name of his country, to give people like him his freedom.

For this.... ungrateful, ugly little, rat faced swine.

No f'n pride in this country. 

I know people from Eastern European countries who would find this kind of treacherous, unpatriotic behaviour absolutely abhorrent.

It makes me embarrassed.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 7:46am
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/golf/article-2200702/Rory-McIlroy-represent-Great-Britain-Ireland-2016-Olympics.html

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 7:53am
Golf is an all Ireland sport so not surprised by the decision.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 8:08am

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/golf/article-2200702/Rory-McIlroy-represent-Great-Britain-Ireland-2016-Olympics.html

All the single quotation would indicate paraphrasing what Mcilory said.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 8:15am

Quality journalism :). Good bias shown :)

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 8:24am

Quality journalism :). Good bias shown :)

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 9:01am
Originally posted by StephenHendrick StephenHendrick wrote:

Approximately 150 years ago, his ancestors were left to starve and rot alive by the British; treated worse than animals. His fellow Catholics shot and bludgeoned to death in the name of his country, to give people like him his freedom.

I know people from Eastern European countries who would find this kind of treacherous, unpatriotic behaviour absolutely abhorrent.

It makes me embarrassed.

You embarrass yourself on here all the time, I wouldn't worry about Rory

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 9:03am
Originally posted by dickybhoy dickybhoy wrote:

He's been double funded through his amateur days by Irish and UK golf so he might as well have kept his options open. Happens a lot in other sports (Athletics, Swimming etc)

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 9:15am
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=820221037997119&fref=nf" rel="nofollow - https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=820221037997119&fref=nf

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 9:18am

It makes me embarrassed.

Well said, a truly embarrassing outburst. Rory's decision makes him no more or less British, Irish, Northern Irish or whatever nationality he chooses to identify himself through.

Posted By: Just saying like
Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 9:33am
There's hope for Stephen yet Big smile.

I don't know what more we can do in terms of being open and transparent - John Delaney

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 9:34am

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=820221037997119&fref=nf" rel="nofollow - https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=820221037997119&fref=nf

Probably a better effort than most of my mates could do in fairness LOL

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 9:36am

It makes me embarrassed.

So is this all fact ye? How do you know his ancestors were?

Wouldnt be a major fan of McIlroy but whatever decision he made, he has the right to do so and it should be respected.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 9:57am

It makes me embarrassed.

So is this all fact ye? How do you know his ancestors were?

Wouldnt be a major fan of McIlroy but whatever decision he made, he has the right to do so and it should be respected.

Well said.  Same goes for Stephen Big smile

I don't know what more we can do in terms of being open and transparent - John Delaney

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:17am

It makes me embarrassed.

Ya junkies junkies bastard ya.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:23am
Rors Clap

People that use sportspeople to live out their political ideology Thumbs Down

Posted By: Northerner
Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:26am
Oh my my so much hatred towards our Rory, he declares for Ireland and he gets grief, if had declared for GB he'd got grief. I hope they get the gold medal.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:27am

It makes me embarrassed.

Milla, Milla. Come out, come out, wherever you are.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:27am

It makes me embarrassed.

Wow, just wow!

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:29am

Get that chip of your shoulder fs.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:29am
Originally posted by Northerner Northerner wrote:

Oh my my so much hatred towards our Rory, he declares for Ireland and he gets grief, if had declared for GB he'd got grief. I hope they get the gold medal.

Damned if he does 

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:30am
Originally posted by BaileNuisBhoy BaileNuisBhoy wrote:

Orange loving pr!ck

Del Monte? Fanta?

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:32am

Unreal, isn't it! Can you imagine what the reaction would have been like had he opted for Team GB, when you look at some of the bile spouted since the announcement. 

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:35am

Unreal, isn't it! Can you imagine what the reaction would have been like had he opted for Team GB, when you look at some of the bile spouted since the announcement. 

Stephen Nolan will probably do a show about it with the usual cretins in the studio audience.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:39am

It makes me embarrassed.

Wow, just wow!

And he'll probably be the 1st jumping on the McIlroy bandwagon if he brings home a gold medal.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:42am

No, if he had made a call and stuck with it that would have been that. Its the splinters in his arse from sitting on the fence waiting for his people to tell him what nationality he is that is the problem.

Like it or not, there is a perception that he has re-opted for Ireland because his form is a shambles and is unlikely to make the British side.

He is Karl Pilkington in the LOI section and Karl Marx outwith it

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:47am

Nothing the Irish love more:

Give a foreign celebrity a hurl and sliotar and get them pictured with it.
Picture them drinking a pint of Guinness.

Sure they knew they couldnt get the Queen to do them things so they did the next best thing. Brought her to Croke Park and the Guinness factoryLOL

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:51am
Originally posted by Just saying like Just saying like wrote:

It makes me embarrassed.

Milla, Milla. Come out, come out, wherever you are.

OMG LOL 

God love ya.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 12:34pm

No, if he had made a call and stuck with it that would have been that. Its the splinters in his arse from sitting on the fence waiting for his people to tell him what nationality he is that is the problem.

Like it or not, there is a perception that he has re-opted for Ireland because his form is a shambles and is unlikely to make the British side.

Don't be stuck in the past, move forward with the times.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 12:37pm
McIlroy is currently ranked 6th in the world - the closest British players to him are Rose (10th) and Donald (20th) so I don't know where people are coming from with this 'He wouldn't have made Team GB anyway' craic.

Just accept that having sat down with his marketing team, Mr. McIlroy has come to the conclusion that his interests would be best served representing Ireland over GB at the Olympics. Thumbs Up

Or maybe it was his ex-missus wearing that tri-colour dress that swung it in the end...

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 12:38pm

McIlroy is currently ranked 6th in the world - the closest British players to him are Rose (10th) and Donald (20th) so I don't know where people are coming from with this 'He wouldn't have made Team GB anyway' craic.

Just accept that having sat down with his marketing team, Mr. McIlroy has come to the conclusion that his interests would be best served representing Ireland over GB at the Olympics. Thumbs Up

Or maybe it was his ex-missus wearing that tri-colour dress that swung it in the end...

There'll always be conspiracy theorists though. 

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 12:42pm

Nothing the Irish love more:

Give a foreign celebrity a hurl and sliotar and get them pictured with it.
Picture them drinking a pint of Guinness.

Sure they knew they couldnt get the Queen to do them things so they did the next best thing. Brought her to Croke Park and the Guinness factoryLOL

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 1:33pm
So... Irishman will represent Ireland at the Olympics if he qualifies?

Hold the front page.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 1:34pm
R-Mac

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 2:57pm
qwerty

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 3:35pm
Originally posted by Hoosay Hoosay wrote:

So... Irishman will represent Ireland at the Olympics if he qualifies?

Hold the front page.

I can see the headlines now...... Irishman represents Ireland shocker

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 5:55pm
Honestly some of the comments on here about McIllroy

Who gives a bollix what if he feels British, Irish or anything else. It's his own business and judging by some of thr comments on here I wouldn't blame the lad for not nailing his colours to our mast or anyone else's. I don't blame him for not delaring what he feels his nationality is publicly given the knuckle dragger reaction from either side of the political divide of this Island.

Personally if I was from the north I'd make my Irish identity/allegiences known whatever the unionists/loyalists might think but if the lad doesn't want to alienate his support from one side of the community, well then leave him to it.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 6:05pm
spot on irishmufc its Rorys call.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 6:13pm
I hold the same view on footballers. If they consider themselves Irish, fair enough, declare for us and get on with it. If they consider themselves Northern Irish-British and wish to declare in the case of football for the North as opposed to GB for golf, then fire ahead. Just get it sorted though, don't be stalling etc.  

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 8:04pm

Don't be stuck in the past, move forward with the times.
stuck in what past? The guy is a twat who had made, or been made take, a series of appalling decisions since the deal with nike. The way this was handled is just one of them

He is Karl Pilkington in the LOI section and Karl Marx outwith it

Posted By: dickybhoy
Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 9:17pm

Sounds like your the one with the issues.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 9:19pm

Sounds like your the one with the issues.

No, I don't think so.

Posted By: KingswoodRover
Date Posted: 19 Jun 2014 at 11:06pm

It makes me embarrassed.
Your post is an embarresment

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2014 at 9:26am
Rory McIRAoy

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2014 at 9:33am
Will yez leave poor Rory alone.  He is a good proud Irish man but he was led astray by that Danish hussey.  She wanted our Rory to become Sir Rory so she could be lady muck.  As soon as he gave her the big tennis elbow he came to his senses and reaffirmed his Paddiness.  God bless Ruadhri.  

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2014 at 10:05am

Will yez leave poor Rory alone.  He is a good proud Irish man but he was led astray by that Danish hussey.  She wanted our Rory to become Sir Rory so she could be lady muck.  As soon as he gave her the big tennis elbow he came to his senses and reaffirmed his Paddiness.  God bless Ruadhri.  

LOL i shall be stealing that one , going to bend a few lads ears with that over the weekend LOL

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2014 at 11:10am

LOL i shall be stealing that one , going to bend a few lads ears with that over the weekend LOL

Beer

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2014 at 2:39pm
Rory McIlroy feels British or half British/half Irish or whatever.

I challenge anyone to find any Albanian that feels Greek or an Armenian that feels Turkish or a Croatian that feels Serbian or a Pole that feels Russian.

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2014 at 12:48pm
Some of the comments on him at the start of thread are gonna be quoted for a long time to come.

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2014 at 12:51pm

Rory McIlroy feels British or half British/half Irish or whatever.

I challenge anyone to find any Albanian that feels Greek or an Armenian that feels Turkish or a Croatian that feels Serbian or a Pole that feels Russian.

This is easily the best quote in this thread. I have no idea where to start, so I wont.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2014 at 7:25pm
Well done Rory, can the doubters and haters now feck up and stop worrying about what flag he prefers or if he's N.Irish/Irish/UK citizen/EU citizen. Another major win for the supremely talented Ulsterman.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2014 at 7:29pm
Always good for the sport when you get a home grown winner

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2014 at 7:42pm

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2014 at 7:59pm
Well done Rory Clap

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2014 at 8:18pm
He could end up being the greatest player of all time at the rate he's going. Well done Rory, a genius.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2014 at 9:11pm

be lucky to make the team , gmac and lowry will be higher in the rankings than him by 2016...

LOL LOL LOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2014 at 9:13pm

Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2014 at 9:23pm
Could go down with George best as one of the greatest Irish sports people of all time. Time will tell.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2014 at 9:23pm
Fair play to him. Fantastic achievement

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2014 at 9:28pm
R-Mac

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 9:22am

Is there a "country" that pund for pound has produced as many top class sportstars as Northern Ireland?

Rory McIlroy
Georgie Best
Barry McGuigan
Mary Peters
Eddie Irvine
Alex Higgins
Joey Dunlop

I'm sure there's many more.

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 9:30am
Catalunya ?

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 10:08am

Is there a "country" that pund for pound has produced as many top class sportstars as Northern Ireland?

Rory McIlroy
Georgie Best
Barry McGuigan
Mary Peters
Eddie Irvine
Alex Higgins
Joey Dunlop

Shocked Monaghan folk might disagree with you there.

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 10:13am

Rory McIlroy

Georgie Best

Barry McGuigan

Mary Peters

Eddie Irvine

Alex Higgins

Joey Dunlop

always thought Monaghan was in the south,Sham can you confirm?

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 10:18am

Rory McIlroy
Georgie Best
Barry McGuigan
Mary Peters
Eddie Irvine
Alex Higgins
Joey Dunlop

Sambo McNaughton

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 10:41am

Rory McIlroy
Georgie Best
Barry McGuigan
Mary Peters
Eddie Irvine
Alex Higgins
Joey Dunlop

Sambo McNaughton

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 1:10pm

Rory McIlroy

Georgie Best

Barry McGuigan

Mary Peters

Eddie Irvine

Alex Higgins

Joey Dunlop

confirmed BSM, Shedite talking through his hoop there and is now on the 'list'.

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 1:17pm

Rory McIlroy

Georgie Best

Barry McGuigan

Mary Peters

Eddie Irvine

Alex Higgins

Joey Dunlop

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 1:17pm
Niall Patterson and David McCreery unbelievebly omitted from this illustrious Hall of Fame.... not to mention Davy Tweed.

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 1:22pm

Could go down with George best as one of the greatest Irish sports people of all time. Time will tell.

not sure how george best could be considered the greatest irish sports-person of all time. he was on the scrap heap at 28

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 1:23pm

not sure how george best could be considered the greatest irish sports-person of all time. he was on the scrap heap at 28

Do'h.........

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 1:29pm

Depends what the criteria is. If you're going by ability he would have been one of the best players in the world at one stage just as McIlroy is in regards to golf. 

Trying to establish 'Greatest Irish Sportsperson' to me is a pointless exercise especially when everybody has their own set of criteria for measuring it and how would you compare the various disciplines? (athletics, football, golf)

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 1:32pm
Sambo McNaughton  Thumbs Down

Niall Patterson ClapClap

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 1:33pm
Pat Jennings
David Healy

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 1:40pm
Northern Ireland football team wins since Aug 2009 = 3
Northern Ireland golf majors since Aug 2009 = 5

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 1:45pm
There's often alot of guff written on these YBIG threads, but some of the negativity and utter sh*te written about McIlroy just defies belief.  3rd player in HISTORY of golf with Woods and Nicklaus to win 3 majors by the age of 25.

Arguments OVER.

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 2:22pm

Barry McGuigan

Apologies Sham. Read this book recently and he included McGuigan as a Norhtern Ireland sporting hero.
http://newbooksinsports.com/2011/10/17/teddy-jamieson-whose-side-are-you-on-sport-the-troubles-and-me-yellow-jersey-press-2011/" rel="nofollow - http://newbooksinsports.com/2011/10/17/teddy-jamieson-whose-side-are-you-on-sport-the-troubles-and-me-yellow-jersey-press-2011/

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 2:31pm
Is it true that McIlroys oul fella had a decent bet on him winning the Open before the age of 25?

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2014 at 2:35pm

Is it true that McIlroys oul fella had a decent bet on him winning the Open before the age of 25?

Ya. £100 at 500/1. Couple of his oul fellas mates had it too. McIlroy confirmed it when asked about it during his post round interview yesterday.