URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=49068
Printed Date: 19 May 2024 at 8:50am

Topic: Italy v Ireland - 31st May K.O @7.45
Posted By: valo88
Subject: Italy v Ireland - 31st May K.O @7.45
Date Posted: 26 May 2014 at 11:16pm
Don't see a thread on this yet, so best get one going.

Players Out: Elliot, Wilson, Whelan, Walters.

Players In: Doyle, Keogh, Hendrick, Sammon.

Called up: u21 Keeper Ian Lawler & Joe Murphy.

Going to be a very experimental side.

Dont see the point in calling Murphy up, soon to be 33year old keeper playing for a Coventry side that finished bottom end of league one. Surely scraping the barrel there?

Would of been better off calling up another u21 such as McCarey who could very well be Wolves no.1 next season.

Date Posted: 26 May 2014 at 11:19pm
What's the craic with the 3 stoke lads? I'd agree about the keeper too, third choice at 33 seems ridiculous

Date Posted: 26 May 2014 at 11:22pm

What's the craic with the 3 stoke lads? I'd agree about the keeper too, third choice at 33 seems ridiculous
Wilson's brother getting married I think I read on here somewhere

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 7:30am
Again going to be hard one for sure as the Italians will be up for this as whoever plays they want to impress , we would do very well if we got a draw out of this game now a win would be better Tongue

Posted By: foggy.nelson
Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 7:32am
It said on off the ball last night that murphy wasnt called up as expected, that they opted for lawlor

Edit, just seen the fai twitter page

Posted By: Trap for Pope
Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 10:20am
Would like to see something experimental enough like the following

Forde

Coleman, Josh, Keogh, Clark {Could do a job, can't be worse positionally than Ward}

McGeady, Hendrick, Meyler, Pilkington

Wessi

Stokes

Left back is a real headache. The current incumbents in order of competence are, IMO:

1.Wilson
2.Clark
3.Kelly
4.Ward 

Living for Away days

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 10:22am
Originally posted by Trap for Pope Trap for Pope wrote:

Left back is a real headache. The current incumbents in order of competence are, IMO:

1.Wilson
2.Clark
3.Kelly
4.Ward 

would nearly go back to JOS in this role if wilson does not cut it , clark at CB would be more suitable as he is quicker.

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 10:25am

Would like to see something experimental enough like the following

Forde

Coleman, <span style="line-height: 1.4;">Josh, </span><span style="line-height: 1.4;">Keogh, </span><span style="line-height: 1.4;">Clark {Could do a job, can't be worse positionally than Ward}</span>

McGeady, <span style="line-height: 1.4;">Hendrick, </span><span style="line-height: 1.4;">Meyler, </span><span style="line-height: 1.4;">Pilkington</span>

Wessi
<span style="line-height: 1.4;">
</span>
<span style="line-height: 1.4;">                     Stokes</span>
</span>
</span>

1.Wilson
2.Clark
3.Kelly
4.Ward 

It's hardly a headache IMO Wilson is our best option in that position however it would seem MON fancies him more as a CB or CM based on his games thus far. Hopefully once we have a full compliment on midfielders to pick from (McCarthy, Gibson & Hendrick to come back in) Wilson will not be considered in this position although apparently CM is Wilson's preferred position.

Posted By: rainpaulo
Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 10:26am
If Ward starts again Im going to start following volleyball.

Posted By: Trap for Pope
Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 10:32am
@Milla

If I never see John O'Shea at Full-Back again it'll be too soon. A real asset at centre-half but just can't cut it elsewhere anymore. 

@Elnino

I think it is a headache. Wilson has been far from convincing there, his distribution ranging from the sublime to the ridiculous {I reference Faroes and Sweden at home in last campaign for the latter} He's the best of a bad lot but that is all I think. Did well in CM last Sunday though I thought and I would wouldn't mind seeing him as a holding midfielder or at centre-half if required. 

Living for Away days

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 10:51am

@Milla

If I never see John O'Shea at Full-Back again it'll be too soon. A real asset at centre-half but just can't cut it elsewhere anymore. 

+ 1

Whilst finding a replacement for Ward is a key priority, I'd agree O'Shea's days at any position other than CB are numbered. Just not mobile enough anymore to play full-back or midfield.

Also agree it would be worth a shot trying Clark at left full. It's a shame Cunningham hasn't quite developed as well as originally hoped as a fast, nippy left full would be nice!

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 10:52am

@Milla

+ 1

Whilst finding a replacement for Ward is a key priority, I'd agree O'Shea's days at any position other than CB are numbered. Just not mobile enough anymore to play full-back or midfield.

Also agree it would be worth a shot trying Clark at left full. It's a shame Cunningham hasn't quite developed as well as originally hoped as a fast, nippy left full would be nice!

i hear ye lads but i would have him in before ward.

Posted By: BASS FACE
Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 10:54am
which pub is fans meeting in for this one? there's 1 close to craven cottage from the last game there but I can't remember name of it....

LIMERICK CITY ON TOUR
     PURE DAYSANT

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 10:57am
What channel is this on lads?

Helping running a Bar in Greece during that time so I'll be trying my best to watch it.

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 11:07am

Helping running a Bar in Greece during that time so I'll be trying my best to watch it.

Premier Sports  Confused

a.k.a - that channel that nobody has 

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 11:25am

Premier Sports  Confused

Grim. I have it in the house but dont think I'll have it abroad 

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 11:36am
On Setanta Ireland

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 12:38pm
Lads are going overboard about how bad Ward is....Although it's our most problematic position I'd probably put him ahead of Wilson and Kelly and Clark usually plays CB so despite his average level he is probably best of a bad bunch

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 12:50pm

Lads are going overboard about how bad Ward is....Although it's our most problematic position I'd probably put him ahead of Wilson and Kelly and Clark usually plays CB so despite his average level he is probably best of a bad bunch

not for me , he is not good enough imo and if he plays we will pay the price.

Posted By: darman80
Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 12:57pm
What team would you like to see for this Italy game?
assuming it will be the same formation or something very similar.
Forde
Coleman, O'Shea, Keogh, Delaney/ Clarke
Walters/McClean, Meyler,Hendrick, Mcgeady
Hoolahan/Stokes
Long/Walters
Defence.
Would like to see something else tried at least especially LB & CB too, try Keogh or Duffy at some stage too
Midfield.
I know they are a bit inexperienced but id like to see Meyler & Hendrick thrown in there to see what they are made of. Mcgeady, thought he done well the last night, same with Walters, him or McClean
Forwards.
Long or Walters up front, not convinced by any of the other options till Keane is back. Hoolahan or Stokes in the hole. Would like to see Stokes given a proper run out in this role.
Probably will have the same back four as last game, can see Green in CM & strikers on the wing tho. Who would ye like to see start & play at some stage?

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 1:08pm

+1.

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 3:36pm
Originally posted by rainpaulo rainpaulo wrote:

+1.
Hate to say this but i agree with the two above also .

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 5:03pm
Originally posted by BASS FACE BASS FACE wrote:

which pub is fans meeting in for this one? there's 1 close to craven cottage from the last game there but I can't remember name of it....

http://www.ybig.ie/forum/brogans-pub-in-fulham-for-ybig-italy-meetup_topic48939.html" rel="nofollow -
http://www.ybig.ie/forum/brogans-pub-in-fulham-for-ybig-italy-meetup_topic48939.html

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 6:13pm
Off topic but I'll be in Belfast on Saturday night for a stags. Does anybody know any bars in the City centre that will be showing the match and that are safe?

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 6:35pm
The Pony Club would be a good starting point.....

Posted By: valo88
Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 9:16pm

Off topic but I'll be in Belfast on Saturday night for a stags. Does anybody know any bars in the City centre that will be showing the match and that are safe?

Most around by Queens are grand as its mainly students, iv watched Ireland matches in the Botanic Inn and Laverys surrounded by ROI supporters..

..generally most places are grand anyways, iv walked around in a jersey quite a few times and never got so much as a boo.

Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 9:44pm
Cheers valo. I just googled the pony club horsey. Think I'll pass on that one.

Date Posted: 30 May 2014 at 1:03pm

Embedded image permalink

Posted By: Roseanne
Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 12:15am

Premier Sports  Confused

It seems to be a delayed broadcast on Monday.  Tomorrow night it is Spain v Bolivia.  Shocked  Utter dogsh*te.  It looks like I'll have to watch on the computer again, which really aint much of a hardship since I got a new one.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:30am
With the players we are missing I would be surprised if we got anything tonight. But they havent won in 6 games and have a weak team out. Expect MON to go with something like:

Forde
Coleman Keogh O Shea Ward
McGeady Meyler Hendrick Pilkington
Hoolahan/Stokes
Long

EDIT: I see Stokes is injured

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:41am

Premier Sports  Confused

Grim. I have it in the house but dont think I'll have it abroad 

Coyne,the game is broadcast live on RAI 1,an Italian channel that is free view to most of mainland Europe,good chance you will get it in Greece too Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:43am
Thanks for the heads up.

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 5:26pm
Cant see us winning this match tonight but we could do with one, at least a draw. The team need to show some progression and 3 losses on the bounce would be a confidence blow.

2-2, Immobile to score first.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 6:28pm
1 1 me thinks

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 6:32pm
3-1 Italy

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 6:41pm
2-0 Italy

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 6:43pm
I think we will get the runaround in this one...we will definetly lose by a few...can't see us scoring either.
Dark days for us.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 6:43pm
Come on ybig

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 6:44pm
Forde, Coleman, O'Shea, Pearce, Ward, Hendrick, Meyler, McGeady, Hoolahan, Pilkington, Long

Not a bad team apart from Ward.

It will be good to see how Hendrick, Meyler and Pilkington play, hopefully they play the full 90.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 6:44pm
I have no idea why, cause we're sh*t, but I think we'll get a result

Posted By: RKeane
Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 6:46pm
Ireland 2-1 Italy, Long and Walters

YESSSS! IT'S THERE

Posted By: GreenDodger93
Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 6:52pm
Really wish Wilson was played at LB, bar Ward it's a decent team. I reckon we can get a draw

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 6:58pm
Pilkington,Meyler, Ward, Pearce arenot up to international  standards

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:13pm

Pilkington,Meyler, Ward, Pearce arenot up to international  standards

Ward yes...way to early to judge the others.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:18pm
Obvious now Ward is our first choice full back...will cost us min 4-6 points over next campaign.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:20pm
looks like a team that will struggle tonight... Italy 1 or most likely 2-0

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:21pm
Keith Andrew would want to sort out his barnet

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:25pm
Time to look at left back alternatives we have gone backwards in that regard.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:28pm
Why is Andrews not being chosen in the squads? He still plays for Brighton

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:28pm
Haircut reasons :)

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:30pm
Italy have a second string side out tonight.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:33pm

I'd imagine it's because he's 34 and plays for Brighton. Ffs if O Neill called him up you and a few others would be giving out

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:37pm

I'd imagine it's because he's 34 and plays for Brighton. Ffs if O Neill called him up you and a few others would be giving out

Why would I be giving out?? I always thought he was a decent player for us, better than Whelan. Popped up with a few goals too. Obviously Gibson, McCarthy are ahead of him but he's a better option than Whelan and I dont rate Meyler that much. He's a headless chicken making stupid tackles.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:49pm
Impressive crowd

Posted By: benchwarmer
Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:49pm
Anyone got a stream for this game?

''I'm a utd fan cause me da was a utd fan''- Irish utd fan

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:51pm

Why would I be giving out?? I always thought he was a decent player for us, better than Whelan. Popped up with a few goals too. Obviously Gibson, McCarthy are ahead of him but he's a better option than Whelan and I dont rate Meyler that much. He's a headless chicken making stupid tackles.

Whelan is a better all round player than Andrews.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:55pm
http://www.vipboxeu.co/football/229685/2/italy-vs-republic-of-ireland-live-stream-online.html

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:57pm

Impressive crowd

Yep not surprised though. Big numbers from both countries living in London

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 7:58pm

http://www.vipboxeu.co/football/229685/2/italy-vs-republic-of-ireland-live-stream-online.html

cheersThumbs Up

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:01pm
Didn't look that bad of a tackle at all from Pearce

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:03pm

Impressive crowd

sorry I'm not there now Cry

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:09pm
Peno ref come on

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:10pm
Ward makes me ill

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:11pm
Originally posted by benchwarmer benchwarmer wrote:

cheersThumbs Up
I have never heard a pair of irritating commentators like this before

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:11pm

Didn't look that bad of a tackle at all from Pearce

Don't think the Italian lad wanted to be there, already thinking about his beats for the long flight to manaus

"Not one cent" - RTID on Mark Quigley's pay-off from Shamrock

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:14pm

cheersThumbs Up

McIntyre is as bad as Ray Hudson, a grating cliched EPL driven commentary approach is as equally offensive as Hudsons geordie cliched sh*te

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:15pm
Great crowd. We should play all our home games there

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:15pm

cheersThumbs Up

pretty annoying alri.
Great build up to Meylers shot

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:17pm
Outrageous from Pillkington there

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:18pm
Pilkington

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:19pm
Great last 10 mins! ybig

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:21pm
Good stuff the last 10mins

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:22pm

Great crowd. We should play all our home games there

Definitely, we always play better outside of LR too

f**k sake long

LongCry

Cracking stuff this! Really should be ahead

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:23pm
Playing great stuff though!!!
ybig

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:28pm
Very impressed thus far, started slowly but have taken control. Should be ahead. Italians very poor after that start

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:29pm
Where is Roy KEane? Dont see him on the bench

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:31pm
Aquilani didn't fancy it either, no surprise there. Impressive attacking performance thus far

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:31pm
Was on the bench earlier TJ

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:33pm
Originally posted by Del-Piero Del-Piero wrote:

cheersThumbs Up

McIntyre is as bad as Ray Hudson, a grating cliched EPL driven commentary approach is as equally offensive as Hudsons geordie cliched sh*te

Galway United getting a mention from Hudson.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:33pm
Hoolahan class.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:35pm

cheersThumbs Up

I'm still reeling how he classed Longs header v England last year as "thumping" Confused this clown was commentating for Setanta that evening as well

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:35pm

I saw him at the start of the game but didnt see him there at all a few mins ago. Im so used to Tardelli standing up talking to trap on the touchline.  Keane seems to sit and watch the game in silence.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:36pm
Immobile getting round the pitxh well despite his name

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:39pm

cheersThumbs Up

I'm still reeling how he classed Longs header v England last year as "thumping" Confused this clown was commentating for Setanta that evening as well

"Martin O'Neill's leprechauns have really come out and taken the shamrock to Italy"

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:40pm
Decent first half, Thank god for Roy Keanes tactics. We'll be up sh*t creek when he's off playing tiki taka at Celtic.

I like the look of Meyler and Hendrick in the middle.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:40pm
"Martin O'Neills leprechaun's really taking the shamrock to Italy"

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:41pm

cheersThumbs Up

"Martin O'Neill's leprechauns have really come out and taken the shamrock to Italy"
beat me to it
Never heard anything like these pair

Fair enough, McIntyre isn't as bad as that LOL Dead

I saw him at the start of the game but didnt see him there at all a few mins ago. Im so used to Tardelli standing up talking to trap on the touchline.  Keane seems to sit and watch the game in silence.
He was up giving instructions to one of the players during the long injury break.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:42pm

Who said that?  The setanta commentator?

Posted By: IrishBhoy7
Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:43pm
Ireland is playing very well Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:44pm
Montelivo broken leg? Surely not. I've kicked my missus harder !!

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:44pm

no a stream online from "bein sports"
Some Geordie fella. They are coming out with some statements

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:45pm

Ray Hudson(commentating for beIN Sports) as the teams were leaving the pitch.

We also beat Italy 2-0 at Euro 2012.

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:47pm

Ray Hudson(commentating for beIN Sports) as the teams were leaving the pitch.

Why aren't you watching it on setanta?

Jaysus Montelivo broken legCry

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:50pm

Keith Andrew would want to sort out his barnet

He should ask Paletta for some advice

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 8:52pm
At work, so i'm missing this. Sounds like a decent first half for us, who broke Montolivo's leg?