URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=48999
Printed Date: 10 May 2024 at 9:22pm

Topic: World Cup Group A - Brazil,Croatia,Mexico,Cameroon
Posted By: Dalymount79
Subject: World Cup Group A - Brazil,Croatia,Mexico,Cameroon
Date Posted: 15 May 2014 at 10:18pm
Maybe worth a thread per Group - so will kick of with Group A - Brazil, Croatia, Mexico and Cameroon

Brazil - Croatia
Mexico - Cameroon

Brazil - Mexico
Cameroon - Croatia

Croatia - Mexico
Cameroon - Brazil

On the surface looks a straight forward group for Brazil. When look into in any detail it gets even easier.

Croatia, from 2012, we know are a decent team but have underperformed in qualifiers. Will that decline continue or was loosing to Scotland just a blip with new the manager bringing a freshness needed?

Mexico results were poor in qualifying but were impressive in winning the Olympics 2 years ago, so hard to figure how they will perform.

I don't know a much about Cameroon, but if Eto'o is still the main man for them, then I don't see them providing any real challenge to the other 3.

Brazil and Croatia to qualify in that order.

Date Posted: 15 May 2014 at 10:27pm
12 June 2014
Brazil v Croatia, Arena de Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo, 21:00 (ITV)

13 June 2014
Mexico v Cameroon, Arena das Dunas, Natal, 17:00 (ITV)

17 June 2014
Brazil v Mexico, Estadio Castelao, Fortaleza, 20:00 (BBC)

18 June 2014
Cameroon v Croatia, Arena Amazonia, Manaus, 23:00 (ITV)

23 June 2014
Cameroon v Brazil, Estadio Nacional, Brasilia, 21:00 (ITV)

23 June 2014
Croatia v Mexico, Arena Pernambuco, Recife, 21:00 (ITV)

Brazil
Goalkeepers: Julio Cesar (Toronto FC/on loan from QPR), Jefferson (Botafogo), Victor (Atletico Mineiro).
Defenders: Marcelo (Real Madrid), Daniel Alves (Barcelona), Maicon (AS Roma), Maxwell & Thiago Silva (both Paris St-Germain), David Luiz (Chelsea), Dante (Bayern Munich), Henrique (Napoli).
Midfielders: Paulinho (Tottenham Hotspur), Ramires (Chelsea), Willian (Chelsea), Oscar (Chelsea), Hernanes (Inter Milan), Luiz Gustavo (Wolfsburg), Fernandinho (Manchester City).
Forwards: Bernard (Shakhtar Donetsk), Neymar (Barcelona), Fred (Fluminense), Jo (Atletico Mineiro), Hulk (Zenit St Petersburg).

Cameroon Provisional
Goalkeepers: Charles Itandje (Konyaspor), Guy Roland Ndy Assembe ( Guingamp), Sammy Ndjock (Fethiyespor), Feudjou Loic (Coton Sport).
Defenders: Allan Nyom (Granada), Nounkeu Dany (Besiktas), Cedric Djeugoue (Coton Sport), Aurelien Chedjou (Galatasaray), Nicolas Nkoulou (Marseille), Jean-Armel Kana-Biyick (Rennes), Henri Bedimo (Lyon), Benoit Assou-Ekotto (QPR), Gaetang Bong (Olympiakos).
Midfielders: Enoh Eyong (Antalyaspor), Jean Makoun (Rennes), Joel Matip (Schalke 04), Stephane Mbia (Sevilla, on loan from QPR), Landry Nguemo (Bordeaux), Alexandre Song (Barcelona), Cedric Loe (Osasuna), Edgar Salli (Lens).
Forwards: Samuel Eto’o (Chelsea), Eric-Maxime Choupo-Moting (Mainz 05), Benjamin Moukandjo (Nancy), Vincent Aboubakar (Lorient), Pierre Achille Webo (Fenerbahce), Mohamadou Idrissou (Kaiserslautern), Fabrice Olinga (Zulte Waregem).

Croatia Provisional
Goalkeepers: Stipe Pletikosa (Rostov), Danijel Subasic (Monaco), Oliver Zelenika (Dinamo Zagreb).
Defenders: Darijo Srna (Shakhtar Donetsk), Dejan Lovren (Southampton), Vedran Corluka (Lokomotiv Moscow), Gordon Schildenfeld (Panathinaikos), Danijel Pranjic (Panathinaikos), Ivan Strinic (Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk), Domagoj Vida (Dynamo Kiev), Sime Vrsaljko (Genoa), Igor Bubnjic (Udinese).
Midfielders: Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Ivan Rakitic (Sevilla), Niko Kranjcar (Queens Park Rangers), Ognjen Vukojevic (Dynamo Kiev), Ivan Perisic (Vfl Wolfsburg), Mateo Kovacic (Inter Milan), Milan Badelj (Hamburg), Ivo Ilicevic (Hamburg), Marcelo Brozovic (Dinamo Zagreb), Ivan Mocinic (Rijeka), Mario Pasalic (Hajduk Split), Sammir (Getafe).
Forwards: Mario Mandzukic (Bayern Munich), Ivica Olic (Vfl Wolfsburg), Eduardo da Silva (Shakhtar Donetsk), Nikica Jelavic (Hull City), Ante Rebic (Fiorentina), Duje Cop (Dinamo Zagreb).

Mexico
Goalkeepers: Jose de Jesus Corona (Cruz Azul), Guillermo Ochoa (Ajaccio), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca).
Defenders: Miguel Layun (America), Carlos Salcido (Tigres), Paul Aguilar (America), Andres Guardado (Bayer Leverkusen), Hector Moreno (Espanyol), Francisco Javier Rodriguez (America), Diego Reyes (Porto), Rafael Marquez (Leon).
Midfielders: Juan Carlos Medina (America), Jose Juan Vazquez (Leon), Luis Montes (Leon), Hector Herrera (Porto), Isaac Brizuela (Toluca), Marco Fabian (Cruz Azul), Carlos Pena (Leon).
Forwards: Oribe Peralta (Santos), Javier Hernandez (Manchester United), Giovani dos Santos (Villarreal), Raul Jimenez (America), Alan Pulido (Tigres).

Date Posted: 15 May 2014 at 10:28pm
Should be straight forward for the hosts, leaving the other 3 to fight it out. Cameroon just aren't strong enogh anymore and are reliant on Eto'o who no longer looks up to it. Nice to see one of the sons of their Italia 90 heroes keeping on the traditikn though. Thus between tow teams with a very unpredictable qualifying campaign and recent manager change, or changes in Mexico's case. I think Croatia will have slightly more stability and nous but the game between them is one I look forward to, anything could happen

Date Posted: 16 May 2014 at 5:47pm
I see some websites have a Sean lynch in the Croatian squad :).

Date Posted: 16 May 2014 at 7:45pm

I see some websites have a Sean lynch in the Croatian squad :).

The Hamburg player ?

Date Posted: 18 May 2014 at 8:59pm
First test today for Corinthians' stadium which is hosting the Brazil-Croatia opener, the roof won't be fully finished but that's not a requirement.

Date Posted: 18 May 2014 at 10:13pm
that's fairly embarrassing...they won't be able to do much more before the start of the wc.

Posted By: danger here
Date Posted: 19 May 2014 at 10:33pm

Looking at the stadium design online, that "roof" seems to be by design.

There is something like 15,000 temp seats added to boost capacity for the opening game (looks like you can see some in the second pic). Still though, that stadium is going to host a semi with that arrangement.

Would have though there are better venues worthy of a world cup semi final, ahead of a glorified bucket seats on scaffolding job. Wonder how safe that upper tier will be? 

Posted By: Mulvanystrasse
Date Posted: 29 May 2014 at 10:21pm
Blanco played 38 minutes for Mexico last night against Israel in a farewell appearance. Thought I was seeing things when I turned on the game last night, not often you see 41 year olds playing international football.

Date Posted: 30 May 2014 at 9:25am
More riots in rio last night

Cant feckin wait till the first game. Could be a belter.
Croatia at 11/1 anyone??

Date Posted: 30 May 2014 at 9:56am

More riots in rio last night

Cant feckin wait till the first game. Could be a belter.
Croatia at 11/1 anyone??

cameroon beat argentina that time , it could be a bet

Date Posted: 30 May 2014 at 10:02am
Originally posted by Mulvanystrasse Mulvanystrasse wrote:

Blanco played 38 minutes for Mexico last night against Israel in a farewell appearance. Thought I was seeing things when I turned on the game last night, not often you see 41 year olds playing international football.

Unless he did his trick it was a wasted appearance Cool

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2014 at 10:42am
Eduardo confirms that he will sing both the Brazilian and Croatian national anthems on June 12th Clap

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2014 at 11:12am
Looks absoloutely shocking without the roof and its an embarresment for FIFA and for Brazil

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2014 at 11:14am
To be embarrassed you need to have shame. They are shameless.

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2014 at 11:16am
Originally posted by Guf10 Guf10 wrote:

Looks absoloutely shocking without the roof and its an embarresment for FIFA and for Brazil

The top tiers at either end are temporary and were never going to be covered. The parts of the roof that aren't finished are just bits of glass that need to be filled in.

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2014 at 1:15pm

Very weak group, which Brazil should walk.

Cameroon - Lowest ranked team in the whole tournament
Mexico - Last qualifier in CONCACAF via playoff.
Croatia - Last qualifier for UEFA playoffs.

Should make for good games, but whoever gets out in 2nd should be a cakewalk for Spain in 2nd round.

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2014 at 2:09pm
Cameroon squad went on strike this morning because of pay.

Still have yet to depart for Rio, I'd not be surprised if it was Eto'o who spearheaded the strike.

Posted By: liam_in_germany
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2014 at 2:12pm
players get paid to play for national teams`?

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2014 at 2:14pm
Might vary from team to team - I know the English do.

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2014 at 2:15pm
Our players had issues before the euros aswell

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2014 at 3:39pm
Its a nominal fee is it not for the lads coming over to Dublin for matches.

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2014 at 3:58pm
€40 and a Harry Ramsdens

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2014 at 9:06pm
Scolari's nephew killed in a car crash

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2014 at 9:09pm
Jaysus that's terrible.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2014 at 9:18pm
His brother-in-law only died a few weeks ago as well.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2014 at 9:22pm
Jaysus. That's rough as hell.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2014 at 9:44pm
See Luiz got his head shaved,wouldn't recognise the f**ker

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2014 at 9:49pm

See Luiz got his head shaved,wouldn't recognise the f**ker

He hasn't.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2014 at 10:04pm
Originally posted by liam_in_germany liam_in_germany wrote:

players get paid to play for national teams`?

If Spain win the World Cup each player will get paid €720,000.
If Brazil win it they'll get €330,000 each.
If Germany win it they'll get €300,000 each.
England supposedly £350,000 each.

And the US players got $55,000 each for getting into the final 23. And then if they get to the quarter finals they'll be getting $400,000+ each. Massive amount of money for some of their players, many times bigger than their salaries.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2014 at 10:17pm
Photo shop pic then TA? No hair cut?

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 12:02am
Luis Ronaldo on BBC now speaking English with a Dutch accent !!!

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 3:01pm
Anyone up for Croatia tomorrow? I don't mind Brazil but I'd like to see Croatia give them a difficult game

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 3:52pm
I think home fever will carry Brasil tomorrow.
Pressure wont mount til the quarters.

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 6:41pm
I'm up for the Croatia tomorrow. Need to find an bar full of them tomorrow night.

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 6:51pm
I've Croatian cousins, so i'll be shouting for them!

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 7:00pm

I'm up for the Croatia tomorrow. Need to find an bar full of them tomorrow night.

Quick trip to Zagreb so.....count me in!!

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 7:15pm
Originally posted by deco911 deco911 wrote:

Quick trip to Zagreb so.....count me in!!
feck zagreb....split is the place to be. Let me know when you have those flights booked with your cc

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 11:24pm
One more sleep

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 11:29pm
Where Mexico and Croatia get points outside of their meeting could decide 2nd place. Don't think Brazil are invincible by any means.

Posted By: Jackthelad
Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 11:31pm
I'm delighted it's finally here, I love the World Cup opening day.
And tomorrow I've my new daughter coming home from hospital to watch it with me. Can't wait!

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 11:32pm
Congratulations Jack.

Can't wait myself. Been watching fifa world cup shows all night on BT.

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 11:35pm
Originally posted by Jackthelad Jackthelad wrote:

And tomorrow I've my new daughter coming home from hospital to watch it with me. Can't wait!

Who the hell told you about the birds and the bees?!

Fair play to ya Jack. Delighted for ya

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 11:35pm

Congrats Clap

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 11:38pm
Sound lads!

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 11:40pm
Wkll she have a random middle name like Lionel or Neymar?

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 11:40pm

Congratulations man, what a way to watch the opening day Clap

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 11:44pm

Wkll she have a random middle name like Lionel or Neymar?

Ha if I got away with it I might have gave her Fred as a middle name!
As for tomorrow I reckon the Croatians will play ball and will make it a good contest.
2-1 brazil for me, Fred and Neymar.
And get the BBQ's on folks as itl be a gorgeous day here for Day 1 of the World Cup!

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 12:08am
Ah here, you have to give her the female equivalent of whoever scores the first goal tomorrow night as a middle name.... as long as it isn't Ognjen Vukojevic or Domagoj Vida, you'll be grand. Or Hulk or Fred, I suppose.

Seriously though there are plenty - although I suppose Paula after Paulinho would be the most apt, were it to come to pass.

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 12:17am
If Modric scores I could call her Gail after Gail platt. Although I'd be tempting fate, imagine she ended up looking like her

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 12:18am
Your bird will love ybig now as she wont want you anywhere near her for the next few months :)O

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 12:21am

Your bird will love ybig now as she wont want you anywhere near her for the next few months :)O

very true!

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 7:13am
The day is finally here, i'd normally support Croatia but seeing as I've backed Brazil to win the WC, i'm hoping for a Brazil win tonight with a couple of goals from the mighty Fred. 2-1 to Brazil would be my prediction for tonight.

And congratulations Jackthelad Clap

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:04am
Cheers Dundon!
I tell ya them players are lucky it's Brazil they're kicking off in, they'd never handle today's sticky heat here, it's a belter!
BBQ a few bottles and the greatest show on earth, yes please!

Posted By: PaulMcGrath5
Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:38am
Hope Brazil put on a good show this evening. This World Cup defo needs a good showing from the hosts. Croatia will be tricky though. I would go for a 2-1 win to Brazil, hoping Neymar puts on a show and its 3 nil though.

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 10:04am

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 10:25am

Coleman hoping to get a mouth full of tit tonight.

Posted By: SligoLad_95
Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 11:33am
I've backed neymar for a hattrick today ! Would be a lovely start to the World Cup

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 12:27pm

Coleman hoping to get a mouth full of tit tonight.
I wouldn't say no to it

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 1:32pm
Will be shouting for our Croatian brothers tonight. Draw would be a good result

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 4:44pm
I simulated a match between Brazil and Croatia at the Maracana on PES 2014.  (Yes I'm sad) Cool

Brazil       1 - 1      Croatia 
                                             Hulk 80                            Olic 70

Croatia much the better team and made the better chances. Neymar kept giving the ball away and ran into traffic too much. Croatia passed it round better rather than the brazilians trying to run too much with the ball individually. Croatia deservedly went ahead Julio Cesar parried Mandzukic's left foot drive from the edge of the 18 yard box right into the path of Olic who gratefully accepted the tap in.
Brazil who didn't look like doing anything can thank Jo for a lovely piece of skill about 25 yards out, where he nutmeged a Croatian midfielder and laid the ball into the path of the hulk who was positioned near the penalty spot, calmly sidefooted the ball first time into the low right corner of the goal with his trusted left peg, before he could get closed down. 

Pato came on as a sub for Jo and had a chance to to go straight on goal but hadn't the pace and under pressure from persuing Croatian defenders, opted for a 25 yarder right foot shot that just flew over Pletikosa'a top left hand corner in the 89th minute. It would've been a complete injustice on Croatia if that went in.

Overall a bit of a damp squip for Brazil on their opening day and with the threat of further social unrest due to this result, it remains to be seen if Neymar can actually live up to the high expectations. Over to you Bill Thumbs Up

P.S. I think it's safe to say I'm single 

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 4:50pm
Was just looking at Croatia's strikers, on paper they have a great options, interesting to see who gets the nod.

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 4:53pm

Was just looking at Croatia's strikers, on paper they have a great options, interesting to see who gets the nod.

The game is over dickhead Tongue

Mandzukic is suspended I think for it.

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 4:56pm

I simulated a match between Brazil and Croatia at the Maracana on PES 2014.  (Yes I'm sad) Cool

Croatia much the better team and made the better chances. Neymar kept giving the ball away and ran into traffic too much. Croatia passed it round better rather than the brazilians trying to run too much with the ball individually. Croatia deservedly went ahead Julio Cesar parried Mandzukic's left foot drive from the edge of the 18 yard box right into the path of Olic who gratefully accepted the tap in.
Brazil who didn't look like doing anything can thank Jo for a lovely piece of skill about 25 yards out, where he nutmeged a Croatian midfielder and laid the ball into the path of the hulk who was positioned near the penalty spot, calmly sidefooted the ball first time into the low right corner of the goal with his trusted left peg, before he could get closed down. 

Pato came on as a sub for Jo and had a chance to to go straight on goal but hadn't the pace and under pressure from persuing Croatian defenders, opted for a 25 yarder right foot shot that just flew over Pletikosa'a top left hand corner in the 89th minute. It would've been a complete injustice on Croatia if that went in.

Overall a bit of a damp squip for Brazil on their opening day and with the threat of further social unrest due to this result, it remains to be seen if Neymar can actually live up to the high expectations. Over to you Bill Thumbs Up

It's not simulating matches on PES that has us knowing that, Mr. €5.

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 4:59pm

Don't worry, your not the only one, I sometimes use PES to simulate matches as well. Unfortunately it never works though, hence my severe lack of predicting matches correctly. 

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 4:59pm
LOLLOLLOLLOL

LOLLOLClap

Well fcuk you too. LOL 

Shouldn't you be back in court defending some 679 previous convictions scrote?! Tongue

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 5:00pm

The game is over dickhead Tongue

Mandzukic is suspended I think for it.

Wink

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 5:08pm

LOLLOLLOLLOL

LOLLOLClap

Well fcuk you too. LOL 

Shouldn't you be back in court defending some 679 previous convictions scrote?! Tongue

Nah, fockers are too busy not getting caught at the minute..... and I'm not joking either. Garda overtime cuts are shocking for business. They're not arresting enough people!

Posted By: Flanno7hi
Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 5:13pm
Might put a few quid on a 1-1 and 2-1 to brazil later. I think it'll be a close one tonight.

think Croatia may score first (from a corner)

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 6:00pm
T -3 hours

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 6:03pm
Tough wan for Brazil me thinks
1-0 win with a late goal,Fred

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 6:34pm
Very hard to go against BSM and his miraculous sporting predictions but I fancy a draw tonight.

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 7:10pm
Don't think I'm gonna bother with the World Cup, "football is in decline across the world"

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 7:41pm
Anyone watching the opening ceremony? 

The 'J Lo' lookalike in the scantily clad green costume, her gooch was hanging in it Clap

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 7:45pm

Anyone watching the opening ceremony? 

The 'J Lo' lookalike in the scantily clad green costume, her gooch was hanging in it Clap
Thread on it

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 7:50pm
Is this the same Croatia team that Ireland just had to show up collect 3 points from in the Euro's?

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 8:13pm
The most predictable line-up in the tournament.

Cesar
Alves
Luiz
Silva
Marcelo
Gustavo
Paulinho
Hulk
Oscar
Neymar
Fred

Posted By: Boban
Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 8:46pm
Good to see Kovacic starting.Could be one of the stars of the tournament.

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 8:48pm
Agreed Boban. Has tge talent and know a real chanee to show it off!

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 8:49pm
1 nil to Croatia

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 8:53pm
2-1 to the Croats

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 8:55pm
Wouldn't mind seeing Croatia win. Have forgiven them for 2 years ago LOL

Whats the story with Brazils national anthem? are they still going to sing full version like the protest last year?

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 8:55pm
Brazil to shade a craker, 3-2. Neymar hat trick and Dunphy to implode!

Posted By: kopkid
Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 8:58pm
nice anthem 

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 8:58pm
Brazil look too pumped up. They may freeze or do something rash

Posted By: Flanno7hi
Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:02pm
That national anthem was amazing

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:04pm
What were the doves about!

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:07pm

Some pish about celebrating peace. Sleepy

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:09pm

They have taken note of what we are doing with the white tailed eagle and are trying to re introduce them into Brazil wildlife

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:09pm

Some pish about celebrating peace. Sleepy

given the civil unrest they should have left it be. That was a decent chance for Olic!

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:12pm
GET FCUKING IN!!!!!!!

OMG

Great defending there!

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:13pm
1-0 Croatia

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:13pm
Go on the boys

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:14pm
Far too easy for Croatia on the count, they could pick them off again.

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:14pm

OMG
What age are you ?

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:16pm
Anyone else watching rte got a faint black line to the right of croatias score?

Not just my TV as flicked channels and not there.

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:16pm

OMG
What age are you ?

LMAO

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2014 at 9:18pm
Shaping up to be a cracker! Loads more goals expected