URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=48904
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 4:54pm

Topic: Trap Juniors Musings
Subject: Trap Juniors Musings
Date Posted: 04 May 2014 at 4:31pm
Can we start up a thread for Trap Junior where he can share all his musings on various subjects. It will definately be long and head scratching thread and should be made a sticky.
In fact could we make it a sticky in every section.

Date Posted: 04 May 2014 at 5:10pm

Date Posted: 04 May 2014 at 9:02pm
Reddlad can I ask you this question:

Which type of stand do you prefer?

Cantelever:

Or

Pillared

Date Posted: 05 May 2014 at 7:41am
TJClap

Now i know what cantelever is Clap 

Date Posted: 05 May 2014 at 8:33am
TJ'S threads Clap

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 05 May 2014 at 6:25pm

TJ'S threads Clap

He does wear fine trousers

Date Posted: 05 May 2014 at 11:12pm
Cantilever, every time. Why would anyone prefer a pillared stand? They only get in the way.

Date Posted: 05 May 2014 at 11:18pm

Cantilever, every time. Why would anyone prefer a pillared stand? They only get in the way.
Could have done with a few pillars at Selhurst Park tonight.

Posted By: Just saying like
Date Posted: 06 May 2014 at 8:28pm
Maybe Javier could get a thread of his own as well - preferably on a different website.

I don't know what more we can do in terms of being open and transparent - John Delaney

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2015 at 3:16am
You know the internet right? Well you know the amount of web pages being created everyday yeah? The internet while technically been in existence since 1994 most people in Ireland anyway probably werent online until the early 2000's.

Anyway with millions of web pages being created everyday alone and old ones remaining for eternity how long before the internet loses storage space? Are we going to have to build massive warehouses to house all this info? I think Apple are building one in Athenry.

Will the world get broken because of this?  what about Cyberdyne Systems.  Computers are bad.

Date Posted: 31 Aug 2015 at 10:26pm
I am watching the film The Bourne Identity.  Since they left Zurich in a red mini the intelligence agencies and the police have been following them.  A guy enters their apartment but Bourne kills him. In his bag they find papers which have identified Bourne and the red haired girl. They have photos of them and their name.  The cops chase them around Paris in the car. Bourne is some driver and manages to get away. In the next scene he says to the girl that they must abandon the car and he will wipe it down.

So that brings me to my next musing. People wipe down cars and stuff so they cant be identified through fingerprints or DNA.  But the authorities already know who he is and who the girl is and they know they were driving that car.  So why wipe it down??

Answers on a postcard please.

Date Posted: 31 Aug 2015 at 11:11pm
"Being different should be applauded, not frowned upon"

Date Posted: 04 Jun 2019 at 12:40am
Before the advent of HD tv why did American tv look different to UK or Irish or European tv in the 90's 80's etc? 
Think back to USA 94 and watching the games in blurry American picture quality and the ball shimmering as it is kicked through the air. Was like you had dodgy eyesight and hadn't your glasses on.
What was the reason?

I want answers.

Date Posted: 04 Jun 2019 at 7:02am

Before the advent of HD tv why did American tv look different to UK or Irish or European tv in the 90's 80's etc? 
Think back to USA 94 and watching the games in blurry American picture quality and the ball shimmering as it is kicked through the air. Was like you had dodgy eyesight and hadn't your glasses on.
What was the reason?

I want answers.
The small dots that make up the TV screen , over here we have something like 1200 where the states has 1000 thus when you show a US picture it is poor quality .

Date Posted: 04 Jun 2019 at 10:29am

What was the reason?

I want answers.
The small dots that make up the TV screen , over here we have something like 1200 where the states has 1000 thus when you show a US picture it is poor quality .

InterestingShocked

Date Posted: 04 Jun 2019 at 11:07am

You know the internet right? Well you know the amount of web pages being created everyday yeah? The internet while technically been in existence since 1994 most people in Ireland anyway probably werent online until the early 2000's.

Anyway with millions of web pages being created everyday alone and old ones remaining for eternity how long before the internet loses storage space? Are we going to have to build massive warehouses to house all this info? I think Apple are building one in Athenry.

Will the world get broken because of this?  what about Cyberdyne Systems.  Computers are bad.

You really do bring a smile to my face.

Date Posted: 04 Jun 2019 at 11:10am

You really do bring a smile to my face.

Perverts.

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2019 at 7:31pm
Have you ever noticed the crowd noise after a goal on the continent versus EIRE or UK?

In EIRE/UK we shout somethng like a ''yeah!!'' sound.

In Spain etc its like a collective ''Hawww'!!!' sound.

Wonder what they are shouting.

This post was brought to you in association with Mattress Firm. 

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2019 at 12:27am

Have you ever noticed the crowd noise after a goal on the continent versus EIRE or UK?

TongueLOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 22 Jun 2019 at 3:00pm
There is a 123.ie ad promoting safe driving and thus cheaper car insurance by using some app of theirs yet in the ad the mother is distracting her son with the phone while he is driving with the aforementioned app potentially causing a crash, death and ultimately higher car insurance.Confused

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2019 at 8:13pm
Timothy Dalton was actually an excellent Bond.  He was a more serious Bond and played the role superbly.  The Living Daylights is a great film. 

Also why are many of the villains posh English coonts?   The Man with the Golden Gun et al...

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2019 at 10:22pm
Why did Christiano Ronaldo never become known as Chris Ronaldo?

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2019 at 11:10pm

This is post of the year.

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2019 at 11:13pm

It’s different in Scotland than England
More of a Yaaahhhhh in Scotland 

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2019 at 1:49pm
Sue Smith is a dead ringer for Stephen Warnock. 

Image result for stephen warnock skyImage result for sue smith

Date Posted: 30 Oct 2019 at 10:58pm
Ever notice when they show a close up of a manager on the bench and then he glances up at the big screen and sees himself on it but tries to remain acting cool 

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2019 at 11:05pm
I wonder has anyone ever injured themselves running on as a sub and had to be taken straight off again.

Just noted how fast Cenk Tosun ran on today. Could easily have pinged a hamstring. 

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2019 at 11:13pm

I wonder has anyone ever injured themselves running on as a sub and had to be taken straight off again.

Just noted how fast Cenk Tosun ran on today. Could easily have pinged a hamstring. 

Darren Anderton probably

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2019 at 7:04pm
Are there any footballers who don;t arrive at the stadium for a match not wearing earphones?

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2019 at 7:05pm

Are there any footballers who don;t arrive at the stadium for a match not wearing earphones?

All of them.

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2019 at 7:20pm

All of them.

Sorry double negative. Should have read ''Are there any footballers who don't arrive at the stadium for a match wearing earphones?''

Do any of them arrive not listening to music?

Date Posted: 06 Nov 2019 at 2:31pm

All of them.
Ahhhh a bit refreshing to hear is that no Burnley player is allowed to wear ear phones of any type when coming into the ground .
 Sean Dyche outlawed it as he said " people have come to see the players and it's not asking much for them to talk to the fans " Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 06 Nov 2019 at 2:57pm
If I was a Burnley player i'd be wearing them in the dressing room, so you wouldn't have to hear that horrible voice of Dyche's

Date Posted: 10 Nov 2019 at 1:25am
If Nigeria played at home to Germany would it say NIG-GER in the top left corner of the screen?

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2019 at 10:09pm
Do hi-fis exist anymore and if they do, do people buy them?

Geek

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2019 at 10:56pm
People don't buy hifis as such, but they do still buy speakers and turntables.

Smart speakers and TV soundbars can be used for the same thing, by and large, as they are basically all internet connected now. The kind of people who used to buy hifis are now far more likely to buy things like Sonos or Bose speakers and connect them to their home wifi - once you can connect them to spotify or other music service, they function like a hifi.

Obviously hipsters still buy turntables for their vinyl collections and connect those to amps and other speakers but hifis are limited at the minute - there's little or no point in buying them, when all you need is a smart speaker connected to the internet.

Posted By: killer kilbane
Date Posted: 25 Nov 2019 at 9:07pm
Why is it if you put your finger in a cup of tea it would get burned but when you take a sup it doesn't burn your tongue 

And it's come through now to mackay... and it's there

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2019 at 9:30pm
Originally posted by killer kilbane killer kilbane wrote:

Why is it if you put your finger in a cup of tea it would get burned but when you take a sup it doesn't burn your tongue 

I pity the fool who burns his finger.  I do. I pity the fool.

Image result for mr tea"

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2019 at 10:13pm
Originally posted by killer kilbane killer kilbane wrote:

Is it not the other way about?
I’ve burnt my tongue on tea many’s a time 
Never yet burnt my finger 

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2019 at 10:22pm
I drink a good bit of tea and I don’t think I have ever put my finger in one. Why would you? 

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2019 at 10:24pm

I drink a good bit of tea and I don’t think I have ever put my finger in one. Why would you? 

to see if its wet

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2019 at 10:25pm
And fingers are covered in germs.

I just take my chances.

Date Posted: 13 Dec 2019 at 2:17pm
Why do loads of continental clubs have their training ground beside the stadium where as this never happens in England?

Why was Ajax's De Meer stadium so small?

Date Posted: 13 Dec 2019 at 2:30pm

Why do loads of continental clubs have their training ground beside the stadium where as this never happens in England?

Planning - The concept, not the user on here.
A lot of the UK teams had stadia right in the towns and cities so it wasn't practical to have the training ground beside. 

Date Posted: 13 Dec 2019 at 3:13pm

Most would have accommodation for players at their training bases also, so an ideal situation when playing a home game.

In truth it's the right way to do it.

The team would do their morning session and possibly an afternoon session, then in the evening do your analysis/pre match prep and only having a tiny journey to the stadium the following day.

Date Posted: 19 Dec 2019 at 3:40pm

If I was a Burnley player i'd be wearing them in the dressing room, so you wouldn't have to hear that horrible voice of Dyche's

LOL  Clap Clap Clap

Date Posted: 19 Dec 2019 at 6:04pm

LOL  Clap Clap Clap
Feck off Bob LOL

Date Posted: 21 Dec 2019 at 12:49am
The Premier League was only formed in April 1992.   As In the clubs only agreed to form the Premier League in April 1992.   That's an amazingly short period of time to go from agreeing to forming it to making logos and tv deals etc and the launch in August 1992.   Would take about 3 yrs nowadays.

Date Posted: 30 Dec 2019 at 3:59pm
Those Kerrygold butter ads where they show the old ads from about 15-30 yrs ago.  The Irish mothers in it are pure ignorant grunting at the foreign daughter in laws.

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2020 at 4:37pm
TJ, sorry to usurp your thread. But I couldn’t think of any place else for this.

Wales conceded some amount of world class goals during their disastrous Euro 96 qualifying campaign.

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2020 at 4:41pm
Was that the campaign they lost 5-0 to Georgia?

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2020 at 4:44pm

Was that the campaign they lost 5-0 to Georgia?

Yeah. The lobs in the game were something else.

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2020 at 5:08pm

TJ, sorry to usurp your thread. But I couldn’t think of any place else for this.

Wales conceded some amount of world class goals during their disastrous Euro 96 qualifying campaign.

This thread is open to all

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 7:50pm
Why are they advertising for companies to advertise on tv?  Dying out?

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 7:57pm

Why are they advertising for companies to advertise on tv?  Dying out?
Companies have drastically cut expenditure. Advertising being one, RTE after 10pm, the last few weeks, probably only has 2 ads per break as opposed to maybe five pre Covid 

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 8:04pm
I see.  Never noticed that.   But all companies need to advertise.  I pay more attention to ads on tv than say some pop up ad on youtube.  I agree with the man on the ad. Today's bread today.

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 8:08pm
my idea...on file... in a filing cwabinet 

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 8:09pm

What ad was that from?

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 8:13pm

What ad was that from?

Donegal Catch my good man

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 8:17pm

What ad was that from?

I don't remember that ad.  Just goes to show how ineffective tv advertising is.  Much better to pay for a pop up youtube ad.

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 8:18pm

What ad was that from?

I don't remember that ad.  Just goes to show how ineffective tv advertising is.  Much better to pay for a pop up youtube ad.

one of the better ones. the lads at sea on a trawler talking sh*te. 

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 1:44am
I would think the numbers watching live TV these days are dwindling. Most of what I watch has been recorded and you fast forward through the ads.

Product Placement is where it's at these days. So many programmes have the 'PP' pop up in the corner at the start!

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 1:52am

What ad was that from?

one of the better ones. the lads at sea on a trawler talking sh*te. 

I like trawlers

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 6:03pm
Anyone else noticed the leaves on the trees are all browning and wilting?  Its like September.  I thought leaves were supposed to be green in summer. 

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 6:47pm
That’s the Covid taking effect. 

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 7:00pm

That’s the Covid taking effect. 

When do you think they will leave hospital?

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2020 at 4:11pm

Anyone else noticed the leaves on the trees are all browning and wilting?  Its like September.  I thought leaves were supposed to be green in summer. 
They are wind burnt . Now if you look at them it's all on one side as as the wind off the bay got to them a couple of weeks ago in Galway .

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2020 at 4:55pm
Wind burn eh?  The trees are in bits. 

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2020 at 7:03pm
Do McDonald's still sell those apple pies in the cardboard tube that when you bite into them are hotter than the surface of the sun? 

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2020 at 10:54pm
they do indeed Heart

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2020 at 11:00pm

they do indeed Heart

I miss those 3rd degree burns in my oral cavityHeart

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2020 at 11:15pm

they do indeed Heart

Focking love them 

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2020 at 11:26pm

they do indeed Heart

Focking love them 

The special ingredient was cinnamon

Date Posted: 21 Jun 2020 at 8:47pm
Why the fook is everything suddenly 'powered by' something else?

Watching Sky Sports watchalong of the Everton v Liverpool match and this flashes up on the bottom of the screen:

Sky Sports powered by 'Fanzone' ConfusedConfusedConfusedConfusedConfusedConfused

YBIG powered by Trap Junior

McDonalds powered by Big Mac

Samsung powered by Android

Date Posted: 21 Jun 2020 at 9:04pm

Watching Sky Sports watchalong of the Everton v Liverpool match and this flashes up on the bottom of the screen:

Sky Sports powered by 'Fanzone' ConfusedConfusedConfusedConfusedConfusedConfused

My house powered by Electric Ireland.

Date Posted: 21 Jun 2020 at 9:10pm

My house powered by Electric Ireland.

At least that makes sense!

Date Posted: 16 Jul 2020 at 7:33pm
Why does every video online now have that TikTok logo on it now?

I know its some sh*te app yoke but people shared videos before so why the need to share it through this?

Date Posted: 16 Jul 2020 at 8:13pm
I think you need a new thread. Not a musing. That's a query.

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2020 at 8:51am
Random thought but does O'Shea ever post in this section or does he strictly confine himself to RoI? I dont think i've ever spotted a post from him in here.

I used to dread the day SirAlex wandered into the RoI LOL

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2020 at 11:26pm
Anybody remember this at all or am I dreaming. USA 94. Belgium were playing. Ball goes out of play and into the stand. Enzo Scifo is waiting for the ball from the crowd. Yank in the crowd proceeds to take a black marker from his pocket. Autographs it and throws it back to him. Anyone?

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2020 at 11:27pm

Anybody remember this at all or am I dreaming. USA 94. Belgium were playing. Ball goes out of play and into the stand. Enzo Scifo is waiting for the ball from the crowd. Yank in the crowd proceeds to take a black marker from his pocket. Autographs it and throws it back to him. Anyone?

Eeeeeeh no

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2020 at 11:41pm

Don't remember that

But I'm sure there used to be a clip on the Grandstand intro where some sportsperson autographed a camera lens

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2020 at 11:43pm
It definitely happened. I think it was Belgium anyway.

Posted By: armahibee
Date Posted: 05 Sep 2020 at 11:45pm

Don't remember that

But I'm sure there used to be a clip on the Grandstand intro where some sportsperson autographed a camera lens

Golfer John daly I with stocky golfer with blonde mullet I think 

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2020 at 12:31am
Originally posted by armahibee armahibee wrote:

Don't remember that

Ah yes, that was it

Cc: of Roberto Baggio - I used to like John Daly but don't like him anymore because he's a massive Trump head

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2020 at 7:10am

Don't remember that

Ah yes, that was it

Cc: of Roberto Baggio - I used to like John Daly but don't like him anymore because he's a massive Trump head

How bizarre 

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2020 at 11:17am

Don't remember that

Ah yes, that was it

How bizarre 
Oooh baby
I'm makin' you crazy
Every time I look around
You're in my face

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2020 at 1:22pm
Why do you always hear about the rain in Manchester, but never in other nearby cities such as Liverpool or Leeds?

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2020 at 1:38pm

Why do you always hear about the rain in Manchester, but never in other nearby cities such as Liverpool or Leeds?

Because they renamed themselves Oasis

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2020 at 11:50am
Meeting people that have done very well in life - business owners, successful people etc but they're absolute dopes and you cannot fathom how in the name of jaysis they have achieved success.

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2020 at 11:58am
Is Alan Sugar in Dublin?

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2020 at 12:25pm

Is Alan Sugar in Dublin?

An excellent example. 

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2020 at 12:30pm

Is Alan Sugar in Dublin?

An excellent example. 

Donald Trump
Boris Johnson

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2020 at 12:44pm
JD  ? 

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2020 at 12:54pm
That reminds me, what was Topper banned for?

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2020 at 1:11pm

JD  ? 

Nah, he was a cunning megalomaniac in fairness. 

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2020 at 1:18pm

Meeting people that have done very well in life - business owners, successful people etc but they're absolute dopes and you cannot fathom how in the name of jaysis they have achieved success.

To be fair sligo hornet is sound. 

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2020 at 1:21pm

The bumbling hornet is sorely missed on here. 

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2020 at 2:16pm

The bumbling hornet is sorely missed on here. 

Must have lost his sting

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2020 at 10:35pm
There seems to be a serious amount of Mendys playing football in England