URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=48216
Printed Date: 19 Apr 2024 at 11:48pm

Topic: Glasgow - Friday 14th Nov 2014 - General Thread
Subject: Glasgow - Friday 14th Nov 2014 - General Thread
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:36pm
I think Hampden may be out of use over the Commonwealth games.

Posted By: SteviesGranny
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:37pm
Out of use for the first couple of games I think, so depends when we play them.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:39pm

I think Hampden may be out of use over the Commonwealth games.

which end in July!

Posted By: Cabs88
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:40pm
If the game is in Scotland this calendar year, it could potentially be in Celtic park (or ibrox!) http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/celtic-and-rangers-vie-for-euro-2016-ties-1-3316833

Beidh lá eile ag an bPaorach

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:42pm
This will be a nightmare for tickets.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:43pm
Originally posted by El_nino El_nino wrote:

And transport. 

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:44pm

How so? (Just asking)

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:46pm

How so? (Just asking)

We get 5% allocation. I'm sure JD will do a deal with the scots to give us more tickets and we'll return the favour in Dublin. Say we get max 5k tickets. We brought c9k to Wembley last May. No reason why we wouldn't bring that many to Glasgow.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:50pm

How so? (Just asking)

We get 5% allocation. I'm sure JD will do a deal with the scots to give us more tickets and we'll return the favour in Dublin. Say we get max 5k tickets. We brought c9k to Wembley last May. No reason why we wouldn't bring that many to Glasgow.

Fair point, I had to sit in the home end for Wembley looks like I'll be doing the same here since I'm only 2 hours away but not wearing a jersey amongst the Rangers fans LOL

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:50pm

How so? (Just asking)

We could be playing them in Celtic Park too. Hundreds of Celtic fans will turn out for it. A few thousand could make the ferry just from Belfast. You could have 20,000 Ireland fans in Glasgow that day.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:51pm
Originally posted by Cabs88 Cabs88 wrote:

If the game is in Scotland this calendar year, it could potentially be in Celtic park (or ibrox!) http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/celtic-and-rangers-vie-for-euro-2016-ties-1-3316833
Be interesting to see where they play it should it come to that..

Celtic park would be obvious choice for Irish fans...but if they play at Ibrox could be intimadating atmoshere

Posted By: Conor Messi
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:51pm
List of ybiggers looking for Scotland away tickets:
Conor Messi + 5

@MessiConor
Hasta La Victoria Siempre

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:52pm
can't see any way they'd play it in either of those stadiums

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:54pm
This is the only trip i won't make.

Posted By: limerick lad
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:55pm
Should be a cracking atmosphere at this game 

Posted By: liam_in_germany
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 12:59pm

will our record of going to so many aways last campaign mean nothing for this one?

Posted By: wolfe
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 1:32pm
Hampden will be available again after June this year

come ahead

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 1:42pm
Panic over,so it will be in hampden

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 1:48pm
My sister lives in Edinburgh and has a Rangers supporting, Scottish, policeman boyfriend. We HAVE to win.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 2:00pm

So where would you reckon they'd play it if Hampdens not available?

It 100% wouldn't be Easter Road or Tanndice due to attendance so there's not much option

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 2:04pm

So where would you reckon they'd play it if Hampdens not available?

It 100% wouldn't be Easter Road or Tanndice due to attendance so there's not much option

murrayfield

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 2:07pm
http://taboard.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=149479&page=1

Scottish view of the draw. They fancy a win against from the looks of things, dream 2nd seed for them in fairness.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 2:13pm
Forgot about the whole McGeady / McCarthy aspect of this until I logged on there. Bitter.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 2:28pm
some of the comments LOL

""The Group Of Booze". Germany, Poland & The Irish..."

"McGeady n McCarthy are gonnae get burst"

"Why are so many happy at getting ROI? A decent side from a footballing perspective and the political pish that goes with them makes that a horrible draw imo. "

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 2:28pm
What be the Train situation SuperDave from Stranraer to Glasgow

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 2:42pm
Some more from the TA forum

Ireland - a good draw. The best 2nd seed to draw. They are decent side when managed well as was shown in qualifying for the Euros, they are able to go to places like Macedonia, Georgia and win too, but plenty of journeyman and average players. I don't see much difference in our squad and theirs.

Poland and Ireland have been in decline. We are kinda on the up...

Bet the Irish and Poles are more gutted about drawing us out of pot 4 than we are about getting them.
Time for some confidence lads!

Awesome! 2nd is ours, Rep Ireland aren't a great side and are on the down, take McCarthy and Coleman out and you don't fear anyone I feel we are better and would expect 4/6 points, games against Poland and our away game against Georgia should be crucial. Also depends when we play Germany at home.. whether we face their A or B team either way i suppose it will be tough against them

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 2:46pm

Ireland - a good draw. The best 2nd seed to draw. They are decent side when managed well as was shown in qualifying for the Euros, they are able to go to places like Macedonia, Georgia and win too, but plenty of journeyman and average players. I don't see much difference in our squad and theirs.

Bet the Irish and Poles are more gutted about drawing us out of pot 4 than we are about getting them.

Awesome! 2nd is ours, Rep Ireland aren't a great side and are on the down, take McCarthy and Coleman out and you don't fear anyone I feel we are better and would expect 4/6 points, games against Poland and our away game against Georgia should be crucial. Also depends when we play Germany at home.. whether we face their A or B team either way i suppose it will be tough against them

Posted By: uncle sam
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 2:48pm

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 2:53pm

To be fair he's right about us. We were the best second seeds for anyone to get. Scotland were not the best team for us to get from pot 4.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 2:54pm

What be the Train situation SuperDave from Stranraer to Glasgow

Best bet is probably over from Holyhead, if you're heading from Dublin. The ferry goes to Cairnryan, not Stranraer. I think they bus you from there to Ayr and you can get the train on from there. It's dirt cheap, anyway. Under €50 each way to Glasgow.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 3:03pm
Game may not be in Hampden if we have to play them away this year

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/celtic-and-rangers-vie-for-euro-2016-ties-1-3316833

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 3:49pm
Could we get a Ybig party bus over?

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 3:54pm
Booked flights to Glasgow from Wed-Sun. 100 quid. Decent Winter sessionThumbs Up

Posted By: Conor Messi
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 3:56pm
I'm gonna hold off on booking flights to this one. I think a party bus / boat trip could be the perfect combination of hardship and craic!

@MessiConor
Hasta La Victoria Siempre

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 3:59pm
Just booked hotel in glasgow, Ryanair havent released flights yet, Aer lingus coming in around 100€ return

Posted By: kopkid
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:01pm

Booked flights to Glasgow from Wed-Sun. 100 quid. Decent Winter sessionThumbs Up

Aer lingus??

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:02pm
Originally posted by kopkid kopkid wrote:

Aer lingus??

Ye

Posted By: Jerryfromkerry
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:02pm
€120 over 10am Friday. Back 9pm Saturday

No man has the right to fix the boundary to the march of a nation. No man has the right to say to his country “thus far shalt thou go and no further"

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:03pm

Aer lingus??

Ye

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:04pm
Originally posted by Conor Messi Conor Messi wrote:

I'm gonna hold off on booking flights to this one. I think a party bus / boat trip could be the perfect combination of hardship and craic!
That would be some craic alright but not a hope im coming home in it

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:08pm
Just Booked the Premier inn for the friday nite. 55 lids for a twin. free cancellation

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:09pm
Thu-Sun 100 euro flights from here on klm. Easy does it.

Posted By: stiffler
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:13pm
Booked the Alexander Thomson 75quid

Posted By: Spyrobyrosrfc
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:13pm
Friday tickets for ryanair sold out already

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:14pm
Originally posted by daboi89 daboi89 wrote:

Just Booked the Premier inn for the friday nite. 55 lids for a twin. free cancellation

In here myself. Two nights £90. Hard to beat

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:14pm

Good crowd of us in there by looks of itThumbs Up

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:15pm

just done the sameClap

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:17pm
in there as well, booked aer lingus flights too

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:17pm
Just doin the Friday Night. f**k it mite book Thursday Nite Now

Posted By: Trap for Pope
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:20pm

Just doin the Friday Night. f**k it mite book Thursday Nite Now

Which Premier Inn ye in?

Living for Away days

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:21pm
premier inn charing cross

Posted By: caseballs
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:24pm
Which Premier Inn? City Centre, George's Square?

Edit: Nevermind, why Charing Cross? Don't know anything about Glasgow.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:26pm
Friend of mine in college living over there, accom sorted! Clap

Posted By: Trap for Pope
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:26pm

BookedThumbs Up

Living for Away days

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:28pm
Anyone up for organizing a party bus on the boat so?

We have to do this lads LOL

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:34pm
Alexander Thomson hotel. Right in the city centre and inc brekkie for only 55 euro per night. Happy days

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:38pm
10am flight booked on the friday morning with aer lingus

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:40pm
Originally posted by Trap for Pope Trap for Pope wrote:

BookedThumbs Up

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:43pm
Premier Inn booked Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:43pm
Aer Lingus flight prices gone to f**k all ready!

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:44pm

RISSCW to the rescue Approve we've got this one Thumbs Up

Posted By: saintjoey
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:49pm
Just booked premier inn too

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:55pm
Booked premier inn too

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 4:58pm
When will Ryanair release flights?

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:04pm
normally 5-6 months

Posted By: daffyp
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:05pm
Premier inn booked Thursday to sat

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:07pm
good to see the riff raff booking the premier inn, I have of course booked elsewhere

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:09pm

I will get the list started for GD's party bus so

1.drog addict

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:10pm
Id easily have 5 for a bus.   Sail and Rail is 55 to Glasgow via cairnryan

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:14pm
What's the pickpocket situation in Glasgow like lads?

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:15pm

good to see the riff raff booking the premier inn, I have of course booked elsewhere

We wouldn't expect anything less from you NR, you wouldn't know what to do with yourself if you happened to be surrounded by people laughing and having good craic in general

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:15pm

Awful gaz, truly awful.

http://www.tripadvisor.ie/ShowTopic-g186534-i211-k6876141-Help_pickpockets-Glasgow_Scotland.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.tripadvisor.ie/ShowTopic-g186534-i211-k6876141-Help_pickpockets-Glasgow_Scotland.html

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:23pm
Taking the brother over to this for his 1st away game as its easiest logistically for him. What's the situation like for disabled tickets does anyone know. Tried book into charring cross but no disabled rooms left so have booked premier inn city centre south

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:29pm
I've booked into Premier Inn around the corner from George's Square. 

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:30pm
Originally posted by daffyp daffyp wrote:

We wouldn't expect anything less from you NR, you wouldn't know what to do with yourself if you happened to be surrounded by people laughing and having good craic in general

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:32pm

Jinkys mob are notorious for it

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:36pm
£50 to stay in a city centre, says it all about Glasgow.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:36pm
Premier Inn Charing Cross booked

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:44pm

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:46pm
Edinburgh on the Thursday night could be interesting.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:47pm
Ballad session in the Louden on the day of the match.....

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:48pm

Edinburgh on the Thursday night could be interesting.

And Newcastle on the Saturday night......

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:54pm

You seem confussed NR?

Posted By: hulkhogan
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 5:55pm
8 of us booked in to charing cross night of the match

Whacha gonna do

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:06pm

booked Thursday to Sunday

Posted By: wolfe
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:12pm
I want Croc from the Tartan Army thread from a year or two back to put his tuppence worth in soon

come ahead

Posted By: houghton88
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:14pm
Lads what are the best possible routes into glasgow seeing as Aer Lingus and ryanair are jacking up prices. How far from nearest airports for trains etc. or what ferries will take us. 

To alcohol!!!! The cause of and solution to all lifes problems.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:15pm

You seem confussed NR?

you seem to think you know me

Posted By: 1320Lichtie
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:23pm
Alright lads, signed up on here after reading some of the comments and queries you boys have. Game will DEFINITELY be in Glasgow, Murrayfield is out of question as it would mean the SFA losing out on money to the rugby, I imagine for this game it will be Celtic Park seeing as the demand for tickets will be so high it would make sense to play it at a 62k seater instead of a 50k. Celtic Park is easily accessible from anywhere near the city centre, its about 2/3 mile away. There will be absolutely no bother either, been to games home and away supporting Scotland and not seen one bit of trouble. Also for those saying they will get tickets for the home end you've not got a chance, people outwith the 35 thousand in the SSC will struggle to get tickets for the home games never mind away fans. Hope you enjoy your journey and its a good game. Very interesting good group. Bring it on!

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:25pm
Premier Inn bookedHug

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:28pm
booked in too

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:38pm
All booked for the Heff, Thursday to Saturday and booked the Premier Inn, with the rest of the Riff Raff.

Posted By: finnanselbow
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:38pm
Any chance of sticking match day and date into thread titles??

Posted By: seankerryireland
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:41pm
flights still only E118 thursday to sunday from dublin with aer lingus, taught they would of shot up by now!!

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:44pm
200 one way home from glasgow on the saturday, im gonna go to Edinburgh. 113 return, only a hour away

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:46pm
Originally posted by houghton88 houghton88 wrote:

Lads what are the best possible routes into glasgow seeing as Aer Lingus and ryanair are jacking up prices. How far from nearest airports for trains etc. or what ferries will take us. 

Ryanair havent got flights up yetWink

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:48pm
Does anyone know the best ( cheapest ) airlines to Glasglow from London. Preferably Stansted

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:51pm
Originally posted by 1320Lichtie 1320Lichtie wrote:

Alright lads, signed up on here after reading some of the comments and queries you boys have. Game will DEFINITELY be in Glasgow, Murrayfield is out of question as it would mean the SFA losing out on money to the rugby, I imagine for this game it will be Celtic Park seeing as the demand for tickets will be so high it would make sense to play it at a 62k seater instead of a 50k. Celtic Park is easily accessible from anywhere near the city centre, its about 2/3 mile away. There will be absolutely no bother either, been to games home and away supporting Scotland and not seen one bit of trouble. Also for those saying they will get tickets for the home end you've not got a chance, people outwith the 35 thousand in the SSC will struggle to get tickets for the home games never mind away fans. Hope you enjoy your journey and its a good game. Very interesting good group. Bring it on!

Welcome Lichtie, Keep us informedThumbs Up

Posted By: cardwizzard
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:52pm

Does anyone know the best ( cheapest ) airlines to Glasglow from London. Preferably Stansted

Easy jet into Glasgow from stansted

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2014 at 6:53pm
flights we got for €105 are €280 now