URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=48027
Printed Date: 17 May 2024 at 1:40pm

Topic: Neck nomination
Posted By: daffyp
Subject: Neck nomination
Date Posted: 26 Jan 2014 at 9:31pm
Is this a new thing or what?? My Facebook timeline is filled up with all weekend!!

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2014 at 9:52pm
A nuisance of a phaze. Its very low rent. Unsurprisingly it originated in Australia. A country where we historically and currently send our low rent citizens. The Irish low renters in Australia copied the locals and then sent video to their  friends in Ireland.

I actually cant see this dieing out for a while Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2014 at 9:58pm
What is this yoke ?

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2014 at 10:05pm

What is this yoke ?

People down a pint and videotape it. Then nominate other people to do it. All the riff raffers from my area are doing it (Usually topless for some reason Confused)

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2014 at 10:06pm

What is this yoke ?

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10152165685777988

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=801854346497826

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=806457829367550

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2014 at 10:09pm
Actually, I just seen Gaz do one LOL

He gets an A+ for creativity  Clap

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2014 at 10:13pm

Actually, I just seen Gaz do one LOL

He gets an A+ for creativity  Clap

Stick up the link

Posted By: liam_in_germany
Date Posted: 26 Jan 2014 at 10:14pm

A nuisance of a phaze. Its very low rent. Unsurprisingly it originated in Australia. A country where we historically and currently send our low rent citizens. The Irish low renters in Australia copied the locals and then sent video to their  friends in Ireland.

our low rent citizens?

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2014 at 10:16pm

it started in the uk

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2014 at 10:24pm

it started in the uk

Source?

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2014 at 10:29pm
Originally posted by daffyp daffyp wrote:

it started in the uk

Source?

colloqual to be fair but friends in university there were at it 2/3 years ago, it was 'neck and nominate' then

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2014 at 11:20pm

What is this yoke ?

People down a pint and videotape it. Then nominate other people to do it. All the riff raffers from my area are doing it (Usually topless for some reason Confused)
Would be a great video to show your kids years from now, how to drink responsibly

Posted By: Dukla
Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 2:13am
Getting very annoying now Thumbs Down

Posted By: da scientist
Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 2:30am
a compete **** of a thing 

The main thing is not to panic

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 2:30am
It's f**king everywhere, dunno bout anyone else but it just exploded on my timeline this weekend

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 7:51am
Gaz's was brilliant particulalrly if you seen his FB status about the doctor receipts previous to it, even if he couldnt manage to neck it in wan.......The Walls was up last night, necking a pint of Cider as was Trapped who downed a pint of porter. Tis harmless stuff in fairness

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 8:13am
Saturation point was reached on Sunday, whole timeline is full of this, another fad, twill be forgotten about by March.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 9:00am
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10152120194346166&set=vb.808486165&type=2&theater" rel="nofollow - https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10152120194346166&set=vb.808486165&type=2&theater

This is the only one that is funny.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 9:02am
Ya my timeline has exploded with this since the weekend. Tis only a bit of craic. Harmless altogether

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 9:04am
The Walls Clap

Big burp at the end Cool

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 9:57am
Originally posted by Dukla Dukla wrote:

Getting very annoying now Thumbs Down

Why? Confused

You must be very easily annoyed and if something as harmless as that annoys ya you must be walking around in a ball of rage all day every day. If it does annoy ya so much dont watch the videos. Simples Thumbs Up

Cheers McG LOL

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 9:59am
Up there with Christmas Jumpers and the 12 pubs of Christmas

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 10:02am
Somebody sitting in their kitchen downing a can on their own because somebody on Facebook told you do it. It's bizarre.

I don't get it - it's not fun, it's embarrassing.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 10:02am

Up there with Christmas Jumpers and the 12 pubs of Christmas

Ah no. These videos aren't inflicted on ye like the above. Ignore if you want to, watch if you want to.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 10:07am
I find it a pain in the hole tbh. Mainly because I've been nominated twice and downed 2 pints last night only to be told it didnt record so will be doing it again later.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 10:09am

I find it a pain in the hole tbh. Mainly because I've been nominated twice and downed 2 pints last night only to be told it didnt record so will be doing it again later.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 10:10am

Somebody sitting in their kitchen downing a can on their own because somebody on Facebook told you do it. It's bizarre.

What will you do if nominated?

Risk looking uncool to your friends on fb? Lose street cred? 

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 10:15am

how does it work if you have been nominated by lads of different groups of friends.  Do you just become an alco 

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 10:18am

You can only be nominated once.  Have seen one or two funny ones, but most videos seem to used as excuse for lads to get their kit off.  

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 10:27am

I'll be cringing so much at the embarrassment that I'll end up downing a couple of beers to help ease their pain.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 10:35am
Horsebox nearly got nominated yesterday Embarrassed

I was gona dress up as Delaney and pour a can of Carlsberg into a shoe then neck it from the shoe but I haven't got the wig Cry

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 12:22pm
It's only a bit of craic lads Thumbs Up

My dry January however was ruined from it Cry

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 12:22pm
Originally posted by Trapped Trapped wrote:

I was gona dress up as Delaney and pour a can of Carlsberg into a shoe then neck it from the shoe but I haven't got the wig Cry

Do it trapped, it's a must. You need ye wig for this years press conference anyway.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 12:24pm

Gaz's was brilliant particulalrly if you seen his FB status about the doctor receipts previous to it, even if he couldnt manage to neck it in wan.......The Walls was up last night, necking a pint of Cider as was Trapped who downed a pint of porter. Tis harmless stuff in fairness

Was out of breath from doing 4 laps of the garden LOL

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 12:33pm
Don't know if this is harmless in fairness.

Saw one lad try to down 30 shots of yaggie. Got through about 20 of them

20 shots in a minute could kill someone.
People trying to outdo others on social media with alcohol is a recipe for disaster

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 12:35pm

People trying to outdo others on social media with alcohol is a recipe for disaster

Charles Darwin had theories about this. Rather than a recipe for disaster, long term the human race will be better for it.

Fookin dopes.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 12:36pm

Correct but that's completely down to the idiots who neck 30 shots in one go then. I think the 'game' itself is a good idea for a bit of craic

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 12:37pm
Gerk getting fierce boring lately...man the fook up Ger

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 12:44pm

Charles Darwin had theories about this. Rather than a recipe for disaster, long term the human race will be better for it.

Fookin dopes.

When you have the likes of Jedward in the world it doesn't say a lot for evolution does it?

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 1:02pm

Do it trapped, it's a must. You need ye wig for this years press conference anyway.

Didn't have time as it has to be done within 24 hours. The idea of using a mop head was bandied about for a while but got shot down in the end.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 1:06pm

Correct but that's completely down to the idiots who neck 30 shots in one go then. I think the 'game' itself is a good idea for a bit of craic
Exactly it's a bit of laugh with the chain game thing. As Wallsy says what sort of eejit would actually get annoyed or "embarrassed" by it Confused

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 1:20pm
If folk don't like it or think its 'embarrassing' then no need to watch the videos.  They are uploaded to Facebook so it's very easy to ignore them and not watch them.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 1:54pm

Exactly it's a bit of laugh with the chain game thing. As Wallsy says what sort of eejit would actually get annoyed or "embarrassed" by it Confused

How's it a laugh when you sitting in your kitchen on your own downing a pint?

Am I missing something.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 1:57pm
Load of sh*te but doing exactly what EL Nino said, I dont bother watching them.Not the necking of the pint, that bothers me, its the whole putting it on social media, yet other faze people going through.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 2:07pm
Seen one last night I didn't know him before anyone says anything. Dutch gold, vodka, absinthe some other sh*te and then he threw in cat food, I nearly got sick watching it.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 2:09pm

It's only a bit of craic lads

26 days dry but got one of those pathetic necknomination yokes. Contemplating telling the Facebook droves to fook off

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 2:12pm

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 2:17pm

Seen one last night I didn't know him before anyone says anything. Dutch gold, vodka, absinthe some other sh*te and then he threw in cat food, I nearly got sick watching it.

Watched that one today, f*ck me I dont know how he managed to drink most of it.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 2:18pm

Sono 10 Gaz 0

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 2:30pm

from personal experience this is a disaster

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 2:38pm
Ger what the f**k is Yaggie by the way!?

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 3:15pm
Got one myself after 27days off the booze, with just a few days left to go i politely said no.

Also saw a chap do one the other day whilst eating dog food Dead

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 3:19pm

Ger what the f**k is Yaggie by the way!?

It's a dopes way of saying Jager

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 3:28pm
On phone Sono. sh*t Samsung Big smile

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 3:35pm

Am I missing something.

Just don't watch them instead of getting yourself annoyed and embarrassed for no reason.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 3:42pm

Am I missing something.

Just don't watch them instead of getting yourself annoyed and embarrassed for no reason.

I'm not annoyed or embarrassed.

I was cringing for you and your Bebo games

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 3:43pm

It's only a bit of craic lads

26 days dry but got one of those pathetic necknomination yokes. Contemplating telling the Facebook droves to fook off

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 3:47pm

On phone Sono. sh*t Samsung Big smile

That's twice you've said it

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 3:54pm

[QUOTE=Trapped]

I'm not annoyed or embarrassed.

I was cringing for you and your Bebo games

Should've nominated you to do one in one of those wife beaters Clap

Posted By: GreenArmy!
Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 3:58pm

The Walls Clap

Big burp at the end Cool
"The finesht"

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2014 at 5:38pm
Bebo games sound about right

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2014 at 8:46pm
Really really hate to say I told you so. But it looks like this attention seeking joke has lead to the death of a young man in Dublin

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2014 at 8:50pm
Yeah Ger lock one of the threads there are 2

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2014 at 9:53pm
I want to know what the other thread necked to get locked? Where is the video?

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2014 at 10:21pm
No point having two cb

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2014 at 10:24pm
All those attention seeking pricks who participated in this sh*te should be real proud of themselves

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2014 at 10:47pm
Supposedly it had nothing to do with Neknomination..

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2014 at 11:14pm

Supposedly it had nothing to do with Neknomination..

Well if it wasn't, it wasn't. Changes nothing.

Posted By: FranDaMan
Date Posted: 01 Feb 2014 at 11:57pm
Apparently a young lad in Carlow jumped into a river in Carlow as part of his neknomination and got swept away. This whole thing is getting ridiculous now, with everyone trying to outdo the previous. I have been nominated and was planning on doing it but not going to now. Don't want to encourage it in any way.

Are ya a lady burd or a dirt burd?

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 12:09am
im all for fun and banter and adults are able to make their own free choice and im all for this necknomination craic BUT it now has to stop one boy dead and another missing after jumping into river(with current weather and all) its not on. i havent been nominated yet and wud deffo do it but on reflection im friends with a lot of local teens boys and girls thru work youth organistaions sports clubs etc and this is setting right bad example for them etc 

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 12:23am
Can't wait for Liveline on Monday. Big smile

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 12:25am

All those attention seeking pricks who participated in this sh*te should be real proud of themselves

Why? The people that have done it didn't make anyone jump into a river or anything of the sort 

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 12:58am

Why? The people that have done it didn't make anyone jump into a river or anything of the sort 
No, but they contributed to the whole idea of it. Necking a pint of something and then nominating someone else, therefore putting pressure on them to do the same is very irresponsible. Childish behaviour in a way really

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:01am

No, but they contributed to the whole idea of it. Necking a pint of something and then nominating someone else, therefore putting pressure on them to do the same is very irresponsible. Childish behaviour in a way really

So Gaz on here contributed to someone jumping off a bridge into a river by running around his garden or Trapped contributed by sitting in his kitchen? If you feel you need to endanger your life for social appraisal, you are clinically mad. tragic for the families involved, but Jesus Christ have a brain

Posted By: farfar
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:02am

Still Doesn't mean you have to do something f**king stupid like jump into a river on a stormy night... You can still make it funny with out it being dangerous and going to far or just not do it at all. I have loads of friends who have been nominated and don't do it and no one bats an eye lid. 

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:06am
This so called game is pathetic and childish but you are out of order pantear.

Many did this responsibly abd with no malice.

I do agree that anyone who thought this wouldn't end in a death was living in the clouds.

Social media, youth, drink and peer pressure was never a good combination

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:17am
Looks like two deaths now from this

It started ib Oz and spread over here. Looks like the first deaths are in Ireland

Nice for our drunkin reputation

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:18am

So Gaz on here contributed to someone jumping off a bridge into a river by running around his garden or Trapped contributed by sitting in his kitchen? If you feel you need to endanger your life for social appraisal, you are clinically mad. tragic for the families involved, but Jesus Christ have a brain
Read my post again. Anyone who done this contributed to the spread of it on social media. It gained popularity and it was always going to end in tragedy. Anyone with a brain could see that coming. I don't agree with you on your point of people being clinically mad to follow this. Monkey see monkey do and all that. Some people don't know where they have crossed a line

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:21am

Looks like two deaths now from this

It started ib Oz and spread over here. Looks like the first deaths are in Ireland

Nice for our drunkin reputation

Nothing to do with us being a bunch of drunks, as said before Social Media is the main instigator - I see too many of the stuff on Instagram and Facebook, I'm a younger lad myself who goes out on the piss 2-3 times a week and I saw straight away this was a stupid thing to spread on the Internet.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:21am

Read my post again. Anyone who done this contributed to the spread of it on social media. It gained popularity and it was always going to end in tragedy. Anyone with a brain could see that coming. I don't agree with you on your point of people being clinically mad to follow this. Monkey see monkey do and all that. Some people don't know where they have crossed a line

Seriously? Surely at some point the fella standing beside the river thought "Jaysus this mightn't be a good idea". Endangering your life for a few likes?? Cmon man.

I'm doing mine tonight. Am I gonna jump off my balcony? No. I'll just drink my drink and that's the end of it

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:23am
Originally posted by farfar farfar wrote:

Still Doesn't mean you have to do something f**king stupid like jump into a river on a stormy night... You can still make it funny with out it being dangerous and going to far or just not do it at all. I have loads of friends who have been nominated and don't do it and no one bats an eye lid. 
Of course. Maybe these accidents would have happened anyway. I just think the whole conception of this so called game was immature and stupid. Fellas have being necking pints for years and not bragging about it on the internet

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:26am

Seriously? Surely at some point the fella standing beside the river thought "Jaysus this mightn't be a good idea". Endangering your life for a few likes?? Cmon man.

I'm doing mine tonight. Am I gonna jump off my balcony? No. I'll just drink my drink and that's the end of it
Whats your point. Are you saying he done it for another reason or something?

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:30am
I actually thought when someone said some fella jumped off a bridge into a river that it was a pisstake.

I dont agree with the game tbh but how did it come about that he jumped into a river????

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:31am

I do agree that anyone who thought this wouldn't end in a death was living in the clouds.

How am I out of order. I didn't accuse anyone of forcing someone to do it. Blue Man is jumping to conclusions. Im just giving my honest opinion. And how in the hell would you do it responsible. No such thing

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:39am

How am I out of order. I didn't accuse anyone of forcing someone to do it. Blue Man is jumping to conclusions. Im just giving my honest opinion. And how in the hell would you do it responsible. No such thing

By saying 'I hope everyone that did it is proud of themselves' is like saying 'you alk have blood on your hands'
I do agree with you about the game etc. But what you said points the finger at everyone who did it

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:49am

By saying 'I hope everyone that did it is proud of themselves' is like saying 'you alk have blood on your hands'
I do agree with you about the game etc. But what you said points the finger at everyone who did it
Ok I will retract that. I should have phrased it better.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:54am

I agree with all you say, bar that one line

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 4:31am
Thought the whole thing was a bit gay myself but harmless really unless your an idiot and feel the need to take it too far. Rumour has it the lad from Dublin who died drank a pint of whiskey straight. You'd want to be very very stupid to drink a pint of whiskey at 22 years of age and not think the consequences would be bad.

This lad on the other hand takes it to a whole new level!! A dead chicken, vodka, beer, eggs and protein powder (and the obvious amount of Charlie he's on doing it!) Sick bastard

http://youtu.be/FPE2SBkrqS8

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 6:52am

GerK, why would you say he's out of order? 

Not to be a pair of pissy pants, but does any person on here who participated in this necknominated sh#te think that it was just clean fun and never going to have bigger consequences at some stage?

Are lads you use social media 8/9 years old or something? Truly embarrassing mindset EmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassed

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 7:02am
While I believe myself to be beyond necknominations, although going by my facebook lots of my friends are clearly not, I think it is a bit extreme to start putting blame on lads who are involved in a relatively harmless drinking game. The game is necking a pint 0f 4-5% beer or cider, you cannot imply blame because a few kids decided to try and do it with vodka/brandy/poteen. It is a bit like blaming some lad chuffing away at home on his playstaion for a heroine death. There have always been drinking games, many of them a bit riskier than drinking a pint quickly.

Posted By: Andkend
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 8:20am
The idea of someone doing something. Surviving and posting a video of the act and then nominating another is lethal. The fact it's been done and the video proves it makes it hard for others to turn down. If the first fella was grand then it would seem safe.

Thing is the first fella might of downed a pint of vodka that was really water or a pint of whiskey that was really apple juice.

In most drinking games the people are together. They have a very real idea about wether the drinks supposedly being drunk are actually being drunk.

This post a video is just pure open to people making claims they have done something which might in fact have been a set up. It creates a false sense of security about the actual consequences.

As for people saying the guys are just thick. No ones perfect and everyone does stupid silly things old and young.

As me mam always said 'i knew it would end in tears'

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 11:30am
Jumping into a river to out do your friends in a stupid game. Ive heard it all now!!

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 11:37am
Did they get their two nominations out before they died?

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 11:41am
people ye can disagree or agree with this neck nominations doesnt matter which side u fall on the bottom line is 2 people have died

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 11:49am

Did they get their two nominations out before they died?

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 11:59am
When I first started drinking nearly 20 years ago people just drank to excess. No games just drinking, drinking games wete something you saw on American TV or American movies.

Irish drinking habits mixed with American style Australian style drinking games was always going to lead to a tragedy.

Does one person like trapped or gaz for example bear any responsibility because they took part in downing a pint of course they don't.

I did not take part purely because I like to enjoy a pint if I am drinking and not out of any great societal responsibility.

I think some people do not have an inner break in their mind once they drink or take drugs etc. I have seen it numerous times that some lads go up a gear the drunker they get. I always felt lucky that I usually slowed down the drunker I got or fell asleep. Maybe that's cause it was pints rather than spirits. Once you start drinking spirits like someone would drink a beer it only ends in trouble.   

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 12:01pm
Sadly the Darwin awards have two new candidates.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:14pm
you'd swear necking pints starting these last few weeks, go any sessions before a night out and somebody will be at it, is playing kings just as dangerous now too, should that game be banned? Should Bob Hawke apologise for quasi starting the whole thing? Don't think so

Posted By: Jackthelad
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:17pm
How people fail to see the relation between drinking to an extreme, immaturity and social media is beyond me.
Lethal combo.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 1:19pm
I think its a stupid fad but its stupidness, not the game that killed those 2 people. You dont have to partake and you certainly can partake without needing to neck spirits.