URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=47403
Printed Date: 19 Apr 2024 at 11:04pm

Topic: The Crime Thread
Subject: The Crime Thread
Date Posted: 09 Dec 2013 at 4:19pm
Words fail me. Pikey scum  

http://www.wicklownews.net/horse-beaten-to-death-in-wicklow-town/" rel="nofollow - http://www.wicklownews.net/horse-beaten-to-death-in-wicklow-town/

Posted By: Dino Baggio
Date Posted: 09 Dec 2013 at 4:24pm
Animal cruelty Angry

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2013 at 4:30pm
Link won't open for me, just as well cos it sounds disgusting.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2013 at 4:52pm
Jesus, I dont even want to read that, how can people do this.Maybe Fintan will try and defend it.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2013 at 5:15pm
Site seems to be down but if true, I trust the Pikey loving Pavee Point will will be voicing their disapproval and condemning this animal murder..........yeah right.

If you go to the Wicklow news homepage, you'll see the story, bastards opened the trailer doors and pulled off at speed to get the horse out, then beat it as it was unable to stand.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2013 at 5:26pm
Horse beaten to death in Wicklow Town

Posted by:  http://www.wicklownews.net/author/nevan/" rel="nofollow - Nevan Riley  in  http://www.wicklownews.net/category/latest-news/" rel="nofollow - Latest News

Twitter 5 "https://twitter.com/share"" rel="nofollow">Facebook 1.4K http%3A%2F%2Fwww.wicklownews.net%2Fhorse-beaten-to-death-in-wicklow-town%2F&send=false&layout=button_count&width=120&show_faces=false&action=like&colorscheme=light&font&height=21"" rel="nofollow">Filament.io "https://filament.io/applications/flare?utm_source=flare_wp&utm_medium=deployment&utm_content=flarebar&utm_campaign=filament"" rel="nofollow">
dead horse

Residents covered the horse with a sheet

In an act of sheer barbarism, a horse was kicked and beaten to death by a group of men after being thrown from its horsebox yesterday evening in Wicklow Town.

According to eyewitness reports, a group of men arrived in the Hillview estate, Ballyguile at around 4.30pm with a horsebox in tow and attempted to unload the animal onto the green area for grazing.

When the horse refused to walk out down the ramp, the men opened the back doors of the horsebox and accelerated sharply, causing the horse to tumble out into the street.

Witnesses told WicklowNews.net that the horse was unable to stand up and was then beaten by the group of men.

A vet was called to the scene at around 6.30pm and the horse was then put to sleep.

More than 12 hours later, the carcass of the horse was still lying in the street covered with a sheet which had been placed over it by residents. According to one witness the horse’s foal was standing over it, nuzzling the remains.

Cantor Equine, a Dublin-based company used for horse seizures, has been tasked with the removal of the remains and the cost will be met jointly by Wicklow County Council and Wicklow Town Council.

http://www.wicklownews.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/horse2.jpg" rel="nofollow">dead horse

The horse’s remains lay in the street overnight

Wicklow Town Councillor Pat Kavanagh said she feared that this would not be the last incident of its kind as long as microchipping laws remain unenforced.

Cllr Kavanagh was critical of the Wicklow County Council operation last week that saw 63 horses removed from estate, saying that “money could have been better spent” on initiatives to educate horse owners in the area so that animals kept in the field were microchipped and properly cared for.

“My concern now is that we are going to have horses from all over the country brought to Wicklow and this is going to be an ongoing problem. Are we going to have people coming to Wicklow to dump their horses as a free way to get rid of them?”

Eight horses remain on the estate and have received care from the Irish Horse Welfare Trust.

Gardai in Wicklow Town are investigating the incident and anyone with any information is asked to contact them on 0404-60140.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2013 at 5:32pm

Site seems to be down but if true, I trust the Pikey loving Pavee Point will will be voicing their disapproval and condemning this animal murder..........yeah right.

If you go to the Wicklow news homepage, you'll see the story, bastards opened the trailer doors and pulled off at speed to get the horse out, then beat it as it was unable to stand.

Scum of the highest order.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2013 at 5:32pm
some awful f**king scumbags around.

Posted By: Jackthelad
Date Posted: 09 Dec 2013 at 7:17pm
Jesus just reading that would just leave you low.
I hope somewhere somehow they get their comeuppance. I really do.

Posted By: Fintan
Date Posted: 09 Dec 2013 at 7:23pm

Jesus, I dont even want to read that, how can people do this.Maybe Fintan will try and defend it.

listen fella. Read through my posts on that thread again, I never defended burning a horse. I was trying to talk about the mentality of youths and how they do stupid things from time to time. Teenagers often dont understand the actions and regret them instantly. You're just being ****y.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2013 at 7:35pm
Originally posted by Fintan Fintan wrote:

listen fella. Read through my posts on that thread again, I never defended burning a horse. I was trying to talk about the mentality of youths and how they do stupid things from time to time. Teenagers often dont understand the actions and regret them instantly. You're just being ****y.

Alright thanks for telling me twice about it.

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2013 at 12:20am
Originally posted by Fintan Fintan wrote:

ah here no one calls heff a ****y

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2013 at 12:35am

you are a point scoring ballbag

Posted By: liam_in_germany
Date Posted: 10 Dec 2013 at 1:09am
That's f**kin terrible I Hope the ****s that done This are burnt alive

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2013 at 7:48am
Originally posted by tonyjaa tonyjaa wrote:

you are a point scoring ballbag

And what's it got to do with you.

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2013 at 7:57am
lads have i missed something here? where is the bit that says it was travellers did this ?

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2013 at 7:59am

lads have i missed something here? where is the bit that says it was travellers did this ?
Hence my, 'but if true' bit of my post, but I'm quite happy to blame them anyway until otherwise confirmedThumbs Up 

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2013 at 8:03am
bottom line here is a gang of lads abused the horse , its irrelevant whether they are travellers or not because this kind of thing is done by scumbags who are in the settled community as well.

surely it is a piece of piss for the cops to pick these up and prosecute them ?
surely a journo can find out who they are ?

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2013 at 8:15am

bottom line here is a gang of lads abused the horse , its irrelevant whether they are travellers or not because this kind of thing is done by scumbags who are in the settled community as well.

I was wondering where the cops were while this was happening. There were witnesses, surely someone rang the cops, or did they all just stay behind their net curtains and watch. If the cops did get a call, there's a cop shop in the town, why did they not respond immediately or was the prospect of facing a gang of men a bit too scary for them? Obviously this is all conjecture but I can't understand how a group of blokes have the time to pull up, trry get the horse out, fail to do so and then implement plan B, then proceed to beat to within an inch of its life an animal the size of a horse, all uninterrupted.  

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2013 at 9:11am

I was wondering where the cops were while this was happening. There were witnesses, surely someone rang the cops, or did they all just stay behind their net curtains and watch. If the cops did get a call, there's a cop shop in the town, why did they not respond immediately or was the prospect of facing a gang of men a bit too scary for them? Obviously this is all conjecture but I can't understand how a group of blokes have the time to pull up, trry get the horse out, fail to do so and then implement plan B, then proceed to beat to within an inch of its life an animal the size of a horse, all uninterrupted.  

either the cops couldnt be arsed or no one told them
you'd have to refuse to believe there were no witnesses.
imagine some young kid or an old person having to watch that ? feck it anyone having to see such a thing...

I would bring back the "heavy gang" to interview these lads Angry 

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2013 at 12:26pm

It's common knowledge that there are settled travellers in that estate and the area seems to be used for dumping horses, only last week there were 63 horses rounded up and taken from that estate. I might be wrong in accusing them but knowing the area and people from Wicklow town I don't think I am. 

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2013 at 12:34pm

It's common knowledge that there are settled travellers in that estate and the area seems to be used for dumping horses, only last week there were 63 horses rounded up and taken from there.
http://www.wicklownews.net/roaming-horses-impounded-by-council/" rel="nofollow - http://www.wicklownews.net/roaming-horses-impounded-by-council/  
might be wrong in accusing them but knowing the area and people from Wicklow town I don't think I am. 

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2013 at 1:41pm
Originally posted by Metal Paul Metal Paul wrote:

It's common knowledge that there are settled travellers in that estate and the area seems to be used for dumping horses, only last week there were 63 horses rounded up and taken from that estate. I might be wrong in accusing them but knowing the area and people from Wicklow town I don't think I am. 

not doubting you chief at all , i just didnt see it on the paper and wanted to know where all the anti traveller vitriol was coming from.

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2013 at 2:51pm

Originally posted by Metal Paul Metal Paul wrote:

not doubting you chief at all , i just didnt see it on the paper and wanted to know where all the anti traveller vitriol was coming from.
you a Pikey fan now RM? Is this  the new official line?

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2014 at 2:54pm
An unrelated story to the original but a disgusting story nonetheless, if found the coonts should be beaten, jailed and deported, scummy f u c k sAngry AngryAngry

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/schoolgirl-15-terrified-after-being-3132582" rel="nofollow - http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/schoolgirl-15-terrified-after-being-3132582

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2014 at 6:44pm
Listen... i havent read da story or first page of thread, but fookin Pikeys are out of control...absolute disgrace what has gone on.

Seriously...they ate worse than those IRA lads...

Almost a D.E.   lol

Posted By: SteviesGranny
Date Posted: 19 Feb 2014 at 7:33pm
These are two horrible coonts

http://metro.co.uk/2014/02/19/shocking-racist-attack-on-busker-caught-on-camera-4309709/" rel="nofollow - http://metro.co.uk/2014/02/19/shocking-racist-attack-on-busker-caught-on-camera-4309709/

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2014 at 8:11pm
Originally posted by SteviesGranny SteviesGranny wrote:

These are two horrible coonts

http://metro.co.uk/2014/02/19/shocking-racist-attack-on-busker-caught-on-camera-4309709/" rel="nofollow - http://metro.co.uk/2014/02/19/shocking-racist-attack-on-busker-caught-on-camera-4309709/

Scum.
Was hoping he wrapped the trolley around their heads.
Thats Glasgow for ya.

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2014 at 11:41am
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2568819/Killing-man-Its-no-big-deal-As-Attorney-General-deluged-calls-increase-sentence-sneer-mother-thug-punched-Aspergers-sufferer.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2568819/Killing-man-Its-no-big-deal-As-Attorney-General-deluged-calls-increase-sentence-sneer-mother-thug-punched-Aspergers-sufferer.html

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2014 at 12:02pm

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2568819/Killing-man-Its-no-big-deal-As-Attorney-General-deluged-calls-increase-sentence-sneer-mother-thug-punched-Aspergers-sufferer.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2568819/Killing-man-Its-no-big-deal-As-Attorney-General-deluged-calls-increase-sentence-sneer-mother-thug-punched-Aspergers-sufferer.html

Scum breeds scum

Posted By: liam_in_germany
Date Posted: 27 Feb 2014 at 1:25pm
If she said that, and Thats a school bag she looks to be holding then Any kids she have should be taken into care

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2014 at 1:49pm

Scum breeds scum
With an attitude like that I'm not surprised her prick of a son attacked the man. Imagine what this planet is going to be like in 50 years times. Our poor grandkids.  

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2014 at 1:54pm

Most f**ked up story of the week award goes to...

http://www.itv.com/news/granada/story/2014-02-26/14-year-old-boy-charged-with-raping-his-mother-in-blackpool/" rel="nofollow - http://www.itv.com/news/granada/story/2014-02-26/14-year-old-boy-charged-with-raping-his-mother-in-blackpool/

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2014 at 4:20pm
Can I just ask Superdave. Your man that was convicted of two life sentences yesterday for those unspeakable crimes against those two babies - can I ask why firstly he was given these sentences to run concurrently and secondly how is someone who has 100 convictions since 2002 allowed to walk the streets? 

I am just curios to know the answers as I am at a loss to understand how this could have happened those poor girls. Its so worrying.

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2014 at 4:50pm
Well, he has no sexual assault previous (as is my understanding) and how he has so many convictions, well, let me give you an example:

Let's say you've had a couple of cans and you need to get to the shop before it closes, so you drive down the road in your da's old car without permission, just because it was sitting there in the driveway, unused. The guards stop you for speeding: it's not nct'd, taxed or insured (say it was properly off the road), you don't have a licence and you are a bit over the limit. And lets say you get lippy with the Garda. Before you know it, you could be done for:
1) Driving without tax
2) Failing to produce a valid tax cert at a Garda Station within 10 days
3) Failing to display a valid tax disk
4) Driving without NCT
5) Failing to produce a valid NCT cert at a Garda Station within 10 days
6) Failing to display a valid NCT disk
7) Driving without insurance
8) Failing to produce a valid insurance cert at a Garda Station within 10 days
9) Failing to display a valid insurance disk
10) Driving without a licence
11) Failing to produce a valid driving licence at the time
12) Failing to produce a valid driving licence at a Garda Station within 10 days
13) Drink driving
14) Speeding
15) Unauthorised taking of a mechanically propelled vehicle
16) Threatening, abusive and insulting behaviour in a public place

If the Garda doesn't like you, he will throw as many charges as he can at you. 16 might be a bit much, but you get done for loads of charges out of one incident. In the example given above, you'd probably end up with a reasonable enough driving ban (depending on the judge, between 4 and 10 years), a fine (again, depending on the judge, between €500 and up to €5,000, if you were fined individually on a load of offences) and maybe even a suspended sentence (but probably not a jail term, if you had no previous).

Now, of course, to get 100 previous takes a bit of doing, but if they are all minor enough charges (maybe throw in a few petty shoplifting charges and say a dozen public order offences, not exactly unusual for an alcoholic), and if none of them are too serious (things like sexual crimes, drug dealing, serious assault, robbery or burglary), you might never actually serve that much time in jail. Fact is, if you get a three month sentence for a non-violent crime in this country, chances are you'll be out inside two or three weeks. Now, if you want to pay more for bigger prisons, go right ahead, but I can't see that being popular.

In terms of why the sentences are concurrent, it's because you can't impose consecutive life sentences: when would the second one start? In terms of the length of time this guy is likely to actually serve, life sentences at the minute average about 17 years. But that's an average - it includes things like husbands murdering their wives in a fit of rage, idiots who owe drug debts who kill less than savoury characters in gangland hits to get let off the debt, premeditated murderers, sexual deviants and Garda killers (although I'm not sure if there are any of those in custody at the minute - I could be wrong)... long and the short of it is, there are some people who pose little or no danger if they are released into society, and some who pose plenty. The parole system will see that someone like the fella in this case serves quite a lengthy sentence and doesn't get out til he is little or no trouble. I'd be surprised if he is out of prison before he is 60, put it like that. He'll definitely serve at least 20 years.

I think he might appeal, however. If he does, don't be surprised to see the term "reduced" to something like 30 or 40 years. However, don't worry, even with full remission, he'll still serve 3/4 of that term. If, on appeal, the Court of Criminal Appeal say a full life term was unjustified, given that he pleaded guilty (and God knows it was worth something to those little girls, not having to give evidence and relive the whole awful experience), they'll still impose a damn heavy sentence. This could even go to the Supreme Court - the facts are such as might justify it. A life sentence with a plea of guilty is very, very unusual, especially in a sexual case like this, where there is case law that says not forcing a victim to have to give evidence counts strongly in favour of some leniency.

I'd say that was actually his lawyer's advice - plead and you might avoid a full life term, and if you get a full life term, we'll appeal and see where it goes.

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2014 at 5:10pm
Superdave,
in the US dont they give consecutive lifes entences ?
Say 2 25 year sentences and when they finish the first or get parole they then start the second one .

That lad in Athlone had all those convictions mostly do to with anti social behavior and theft.he was in court around this time last year ,telling the judge he had a drink problem and seeking help.Think he was up that time for fighting with girlfriend or fiance .

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2014 at 5:40pm

Superdave,
in the US dont they give consecutive lifes entences ?
Say 2 25 year sentences and when they finish the first or get parole they then start the second one .

That lad in Athlone had all those convictions mostly do to with anti social behavior and theft.he was in court around this time last year ,telling the judge he had a drink problem and seeking help.Think he was up that time for fighting with girlfriend or fiance .

They also give 150 year sentences to people old enough to be pensioners (Bernie Madoff). I'm not sure I'd be looking to follow their lead, somehow. You can get consecutive sentences here, but not on life. He could have been given 25 years on one, then 25 years on the other, consecutively, but usually there has to be a reason for consecutive sentences beyond simply seeking to extend punishment. For instance, two separate and distinct offences could attract consecutive sentences (say the assaults had taken place a week apart) or committing an offence while on bail or while under a suspended sentence - something like that. I mean, I know what this guy did was deplorable (the worst imaginable, I've never seen anything quite so deplorable, not even the systemic stuff over a number of years - that doesn't have the same level of life-altering violence) but that alone doesn't necessarily justify imposing consecutive sentences. Plus, you have to remember he pleaded guilty. I think, regardless of the circumstances of the case, it had to count for something. I mean, the alternative might have been 30 years on one charge, with a consecutive sentence of the same on the other, had he fought the charges and been convicted, which would effectively have been a 45 year sentence (you get 1/4 off in remission), as opposed to the likely 30 to 40 years he'll serve now.

Remember also that the maximum sentence on the statute books is for capital murder. It used to be the death penalty but then it was amended to not less than 40 years, which is effectively 30. You still get a life sentence for capital murder (murder of an on-duty garda, murder of on-duty prison officer, murder for the purposes of an offence against the state, murder of a foreign head of state / government official etc for political purposes) but you are mandated to serve a minimum of 40 years (with remission, 30). Bearing that in mind, and seeing as that is the worst offence on the statute books, based on the sentence the legislature have provided, I don't see that it would have been right in principle to give this lad a sentence of over 40 years definitive (notwithstanding that a life sentence was probably the right thing, seeing as he can still apply for parole).

The sentence he has won't see him out til he is at least 60, probably 70, in any event.

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2014 at 5:46pm
fair play Superdave.

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2014 at 6:16pm
Would he not appeal it because of his guilty plea?

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2014 at 6:22pm

Would he not appeal it because of his guilty plea?

Like I said, he might.... and he might well do better on appeal and it might go all the way to the Supreme Court. If he loses in the Court of Criminal Appeal (that is, if they uphold Carney J.'s sentence, of which there is no guarantee, as they have had their run ins before), I think there is a question of exceptional public importance to be asked: where you plead guilty to an offence that does not have a mandatory life sentence, is the sentencing court still entitled to impose one? I don't know (off the top of my head) if that question has been asked before.... we'll see, I suppose.

Posted By: greengiant
Date Posted: 04 Mar 2014 at 7:00pm
SuperDave Clap what a contributor to YBIG Thumbs Up

The first two-syllable word I ever learned growing up was discretion." Dunphy on a his childhood

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2014 at 9:28pm
Thanks. You've a great way of explaining things.

I take what you are saying about the way convictions can accumulate but his previous convictions were for more serious things than the ones mentioned and 100 in 12 years surely he should have been given a lengthy sentence at some stage? In my opinion as a result of this lunatic not recieving substantial sentences for his past crimes, two girls lives effectively being ruined. Him showing that he has no regard for the law 100 times over has of stood for something?

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2014 at 10:51pm

Thanks. You've a great way of explaining things.

I take what you are saying about the way convictions can accumulate but his previous convictions were for more serious things than the ones mentioned and 100 in 12 years surely he should have been given a lengthy sentence at some stage? In my opinion as a result of this lunatic not recieving substantial sentences for his past crimes, two girls lives effectively being ruined. Him showing that he has no regard for the law 100 times over has of stood for something?

Well, he may have had longer sentences - for the likes of burglary, maybe. Chances are, though, all bar a couple were for public order offences, especially if he has a drink problem. He probably also had a few bench warrants and convictions for failing to attend court, maybe a couple of road traffic, but absolutely nothing like this.

Incidentally, where did you hear he has over 100 previous? I haven't seen that anywhere.

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2014 at 12:02am
He had 74  convictions when he was in court around this time last year .Half were for public order offences.

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2014 at 12:13am
Actually, found out a bit more about his previous:

From http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news/athlone-rapes-man-jailed-life-3205066" rel="nofollow - the mirror :
Originally posted by The mirror The mirror wrote:

He has more than 70 previous convictions including criminal damage, assault, robbery and possession of knives and he had just been released from Castlerea Prison three days before the offences.

And from http://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-26425193" rel="nofollow - the BBC :
Originally posted by The BBC The BBC wrote:

He has a large number of previous convictions for a range of offences including public order, intoxication, criminal damage, burglary and had been given a number of short sentences, the longest of which was six months.

He may never have been in the Circuit Court before, if he never had a sentence of longer than six months. That's a bit of a surprise given that he has burglary, robbery AND assault previous but not massive. He obviously has a serious drink problem and that was probably the reason for most of his previous, but if he had never been in the Circuit Court, then it would be no surprise if he never got longer than a six month sentence. Anyway, it seems he had about 70-odd, but like I said, a lot of those could come from one or two incidents: he may have taken out a knife and robbed a shop, there's two or three convictions, he obviously has quite a few public order, they rack up very quickly, and, like everyone with that many convictions, he probably has a few road traffic offences that aren't worth reporting.

Anyway, let's hope he isn't out of prison this side of 2050.

Edit: just saw rossieman's post. 74, half for public order.... pretty much what I guessed.

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2014 at 12:24am
I mean, for example:

Section 4 of the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act 1994:

"4.(1) It shall be an offence for any person to be present in any public place while intoxicated to such an extent as would give rise to a reasonable apprehension that he might endanger himself or any other person in his vicinity."

Section 6:

6.(1) It shall be an offence for any person in a public place to use or engage in any threatening, abusive or insulting words or behaviour with intent to provoke a breach of the peace or being reckless as to whether a breach of the peace may be occasioned.

Section 8:

8.—(1) Where a member of the Garda Síochána finds a person in a public place and suspects, with reasonable cause, that such person—

(a) is or has been acting in a manner contrary to the provisions of section 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 or 9 , or

(b) without lawful authority or reasonable excuse, is acting in a manner which consists of loitering in a public place in circumstances, which may include the company of other persons, that give rise to a reasonable apprehension for the safety of persons or the safety of property or for the maintenance of the public peace,

the member may direct the person so suspected to do either or both of the following, that is to say:

(i) desist from acting in such a manner, and

(ii) leave immediately the vicinity of the place concerned in a peaceable or orderly manner.

(2) It shall be an offence for any person, without lawful authority or reasonable excuse, to fail to comply with a direction given by a member of the Garda Síochána under this section.

Section 9:

9.Any person who, without lawful authority or reasonable excuse, wilfully prevents or interrupts the free passage of any person or vehicle in any public place shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding £200.

Section 19(3):

(3) Any person who resists or wilfully obstructs a peace officer acting in the execution of his duty or a person assisting a peace officer in the execution of his duty, knowing that he is or being reckless as to whether he is, a peace officer acting in the execution of his duty, shall be guilty of an offence.

So, basically, if you stand in the road, yelling obscenities, while drunk, in the direction of the Gardai (say you stand in front of a patrol car at closing time, cursing at them, pissed, and don't move when they tell you to), that's potentially five separate offences under the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act. That's why lads end up with seemingly ridiculous numbers of previous convictions whereas, in fact, they might not actually have so many. If it is true more than half of his previous are for public order, I'd guess that stems from between 10 and 20 incidents of him being pissed and acting the maggot.

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2014 at 1:42am
SuperD, I was reading on other forums that even though this lad was giving a life sentence, on average this is just 17 years long. Is that accurate? It really would be sickening if someone who committed such a crime could be out after such a short time.

Are you training to be a solicitor SuperD? I only ask because I wanted to put another question to you. Over the last few years there seems to have been an awful lot of serious assault/ rape cases where the sentences given to the perpetrator are very lenient in my opinion. Is this to do with a lack of prison space or laws not fit for their purpose sometimes or other reasons?

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2014 at 2:11am

SuperD, I was reading on other forums that even though this lad was giving a life sentence, on average this is just 17 years long. Is that accurate? It really would be sickening if someone who committed such a crime could be out after such a short time.

Are you training to be a solicitor SuperD? I only ask because I wanted to put another question to you. Over the last few years there seems to have been an awful lot of serious assault/ rape cases where the sentences given to the perpetrator are very lenient in my opinion. Is this to do with a lack of prison space or laws not fit for their purpose sometimes or other reasons?

I'm actually a practising lawyer - I won't say where and I won't say which one of the professions but I do a bit of criminal work and a bit of civil work too.

Yes, an *average* life sentence is 17 years, but that doesn't mean everyone gets out in 17 years.... like I said earlier, people who flip and kill their partners (husbands or wives) will generally get out sooner, as will lads who were maybe addicts and murdered someone on higher command to clear a drug debt (well, if they get demonstrably clean), whereas anyone higher up, who murdered for a gangland turf or retribution purpose, or anyone with more serious offences (like Malcolm McArthur, who served over 30 years), premeditated murder and rape and the like, will generally serve longer sentences - it depends on rehabilitation and stuff like that. This lad will get something closer to McArthur's than the average, put it like that.

The reason for the apparent leniency in some sexual assault cases (the Fiona Doyle one springs to mind) is generally due to the appearance and health issues of the accused. If you have a 70 year old man, who is little harm to anyone now, even if he horribly abused someone for years many years previous, even though the victim has only recently gained the courage to speak out, it serves little purpose to put someone like that in jail, at least not for an extended period, as it generally serves limited enough purpose. Also, the media don't necessarily tend to report every rape and murder trial the same. A case where a girlfriend complains that her boyfriend raped her, made shortly after the offence, where a 15 year sentence is given, won't necessarily attract the same level of media attention as a case like this or a case like the Fiona Doyle one.

Most opinion polls I've seen (and they are rare, and to some extent the public data is lacking in this country) show that, in general, people think that average sentences handed down for certain categories of crime are actually lower than they are. That's an entirely different issue, admittedly, and like I've said many times before the reason longer sentences don't work is because criminals think they will get away with crimes: if you increase the risk of detection rather than just the severity of punishment, then crimes will go down - also, from a principled point of view it is better than ten guilty men serve one year in prison each for a crime, rather than having one man serve a ten year sentence for the same crime while 90% go free, simply to send a "message" to criminals that they will be punished when Lord knows that doesn't work, and when they know they are unlikely to be caught. Of course, there is also the old line that it is better for ten guilty men to go free than for one innocent man to be punished (which is why criminal cases work on the burden of "beyond reasonable doubt" rather than just on the balance of probabilities) but to some extent it is a corollary of that: why should one person be harshly punished for the sins of others? Why should some guilty people serve long sentences when others aren't caught? Where is the justice in that? The criminal justice system should be fair, it shouldn't be a lottery.

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2014 at 2:26am
Practising lawyer, fair play SuperD.

Cheers for the response. I have always had an interest in reading the court cases/crimes in the media - as you said though, obviously an awful lot of stuff going through the courts will never be reported so a lay man like myself is probably drawing unfair conclusions on sentences being handed down.

Would very much agree with you regarding detection. This is why I find it incredible in the last few years to see the Garda force number frozen. Also with the number of early retirements of senior gardai under the current government, crazy situation really.

In terms of what judges hand down SuperD, there was a case I read awhile back. The lad walked free. How is this possible, would this be overturned on appeal? Would the judge be dealt with later? This case just stuck in my head for some reason, found it startling that anyone could walk out of a court room free after this!!!

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/teacher-weeps-in-court-as-her-attacker-walks-free-29783407.html

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2014 at 2:36am
The judge will face no sanction whatsoever. The matter can be appealed by the DPP on the basis that the sentence was "unduly lenient" and it may result in the quashing of the sentence and the issue of a new sentence, but in terms of professional sanction, the judge will face no sanction or reprimand or anything like that. The issue on appeal is that there has to be a real reason and error in principle: like the judge not taking into account something he should have or taking into account something he shouldn't have, all based on what he said while passing sentence. The DPP may well be appealing that, but there's no quick or easy way to find out, and if they are, it will be some time before it is heard, due to some serious delays in the Court of Criminal Appeal. In terms of professional sanction for the judge, though, no, the quashing of the sentence is the only thing that may be done.

However, the other thing to be remembered in a case like that is that, as a security guard, your man is losing his PSA licence and won't be able to work as a security guard any more and that is very definitely a factor the court has to consider in favour of a degree of leniency, along with the lack of previous convictions. The other issue is that a suspended sentence no longer means walking free (in practice, it often used to, until about eight years ago, due to a legislation change, and the case now having to be sent back to the original court by the new court before passing sentence, rather than relying on the prosecution filing paperwork to have the matter listed again in front of the original court). If the Gardai do their job (and in most cases, they do), if he shows up in court again in the next three years for anything even remotely similar (basically, anything other than road traffic, likely), he will go back to the original judge and will go to jail. It's a lenient sentence, yes, but not entirely without reason.

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2014 at 2:40am
Cheers SuperD Thumbs Up Just a case that stuck in my mind awhile back.

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2014 at 9:18am
ClapClapClapClap

Gwan the SD Clap

In a hypothetical sense what would someone have to do in Ireland to go to jail and never ever get out again? 

Remember those two lads in Mayo that kidnapped that girl, held her for a few days and then disposed of her body in a lake, I cant remember their names at the moment it was prob about 40 years ago at this stage. They were in jail for a long long time, they could still be in there now or dead, I am not sure. I am assuming they were given life sentences also but they served a hell of a lot longer than 17 years?

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2014 at 1:33pm

ClapClapClapClap

Gwan the SD Clap

In a hypothetical sense what would someone have to do in Ireland to go to jail and never ever get out again? 

Remember those two lads in Mayo that kidnapped that girl, held her for a few days and then disposed of her body in a lake, I cant remember their names at the moment it was prob about 40 years ago at this stage. They were in jail for a long long time, they could still be in there now or dead, I am not sure. I am assuming they were given life sentences also but they served a hell of a lot longer than 17 years?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/viewpoints/columnists/michael-clifford/jailed-garda-killers-have-paid-their-debt-225573.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.irishexaminer.com/viewpoints/columnists/michael-clifford/jailed-garda-killers-have-paid-their-debt-225573.html

Evans and Shaw? Sentenced in 1976. One died in prison in 2012 and the other is "unlikely to ever be released" (split infinitive, sic). Guessing it might have been them from this article:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/serial-killer-who-pledged-to-rape-and-murder-one-woman-a-week-dies-at-69-26856022.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/serial-killer-who-pledged-to-rape-and-murder-one-woman-a-week-dies-at-69-26856022.html .

Long and short of it, if you deserve it, you'll get a hefty sentence. The Athlone rapist will be in prison for thirty years or more, make no mistake.

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2014 at 3:00pm
Incidentally, there is more on that Athlone rapist's previous convictions and history http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/a-rapist-s-record-1.1716754?page=1" rel="nofollow - here . Quotes:
Originally posted by The Irish Times The Irish Times wrote:

His early life

A surprising feature of the case was that the rapist had no sexual convictions, despite a record stretching to 88 offences and having spent much of his adult life in prison.

“He went from what you would call zero to 100 on the scale and for no clear reason,” said one source of the inexplicable escalation in his criminality.

Although the man has 88 previous offences, gardaí say he is not a career criminal. “He’s an alcoholic, and virtually every single one of his crimes has drink at the centre of it. He doesn’t really carry out crimes to enrich himself,” said one source.

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2014 at 10:37pm
Horrible case.

SuperDave Clap

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 9:56am
http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/video-man-gets-thumping-kick-3258283" rel="nofollow - http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/video-man-gets-thumping-kick-3258283

A national embarrassment St Patricks Day in many parts of the island 

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 10:15am
Guards have asked on twitter that nobody post up the video social media or forums so be careful.  

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 10:19am
I saw the video yesterday, the lad gets an awful kick in the head.

Any idea how the incident started?

Posted By: flow
Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 10:19am

Guards have asked on twitter that nobody post up the video social media or forums so be careful.  

i see it on fb i dont get what kind of person posts it but even worse what kind of persin films it and doesnt help the guy. i havent watched it and wont either just guessing its brutal from the comments on fb.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 11:21am
Originally posted by flow flow wrote:

i see it on fb i dont get what kind of person posts it but even worse what kind of persin films it and doesnt help the guy. i havent watched it and wont either just guessing its brutal from the comments on fb.

That's what shocked me most that it took ages for anyone to run over to see if he was alright

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 11:50am
That's what gets me. Surely there were groups of lads there watching the parade and saw this happening. They are two 15/16 year old scummers. 2 or 3 lads together would handle them and at least have been able to hold onto one of them until the Gardai arrived. Citizens arrest so to speak.

It shows you how 'unaware' the likes of these lads are to their surroundings, the consequences of their actions particularly to their victim and 'it's all about me and I don't give a f**k about anyone else' attitude.
This is alot bigger than a guy being attacked in the street.  There needs to be something brought into the education system to tackle the mindset that says this type of action is ok.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 12:34pm
That is a frightening video. Saw it earlier, the kick was with enough force to kill a man. I hope he is ok.

But that piece of human sh*t didn't care whether or not he killed him. And people stood and watched.

**** needs to be put away

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 12:56pm
Disgraceful. The f**ker will get caught as its gone viral now. Hope yer man is ok as a kick like that could do some serious damage.

Posted By: Jackthelad
Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 12:57pm
Going back to Dickens times perhaps but Id love to see the sh*t knocked out of the dirty maggot that did it.
With our 'fabulous' justice system there is no way he'l see the error of his ways.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 1:13pm
there are 2 f**kers that need caught

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 1:30pm
That video is disgusting.The sound of the lad getting hit was rotten. 

There has to be examples made of these people. Surely we could bring certain aspects of the zero tolerance policy they implemented in New York. Some type of ways of hitting first time offences hard so repeat offenders decrease. There might be constitutional difficulties but we have to do something. 
Anybody here that was ever in New York will probably agree with me here but I never felt as safe as I was walking around NewYork at 4am when they had  some type of police presence literally on every block.It did cost a huge amount of money and resources in the late 80s when they started cleaning the city up but today it's one of the safest cities (given its size)  in the U.S.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 1:30pm
The stupid prick had the photo up as his profile pic on facebook.

Thick as sh*t or / and probably does not give a flying f**k.

Posted By: jamo1
Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 1:37pm
Was listening to Joe Duffy before about catching a crime on camera where the guards and data commissioner will request that you do not post any crime on video or else you could be in serious trouble probably more trouble than the little c*nt in this video. Anyway a lot of up and coming scum in this country, we need stronger laws for under 16's coz at the minute they really don't give a toss!

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 1:37pm
Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

Why would he care?! It'll be offence number 76 and a slap on the wrist 

Posted By: Conor Messi
Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 1:39pm
The strut on the little piece of scum really sickened me.
A little slap on the wrist is all he'll get and he'll strut out of court the same way.
**** deserves to be kneecapped.

@MessiConor
Hasta La Victoria Siempre

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 1:42pm
It is disgusting to be honest.  Absolute scum of the earth these lads.  As already stated the kick was enough to kill or seriously injure the lad.

I would say he is thick as sh*t cm79.  Anyway hopefully the law makes an example of these fcuking scumbags.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 1:51pm

Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

Why would he care?! It'll be offence number 76 and a slap on the wrist 
Not if the victim is a tourist.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 2:22pm
That's the big problem - will your man be willing to come back from Brazil to testify? If I was your man, I'd take a hearing date and see if the victim shows up. If he doesn't, strike out and no conviction. He won't be videolinked from Brazil to give evidence, anyway.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 4:05pm
Only consolation is he'll probably die young, from an overdose/unhealthy lifestyle or get killed himself by some other maggot.  YOu can be sure he doesn't give a flying fook that he was caught on camera and may be arrested, but he'll get what's coming to him eventually.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 4:09pm
The boys in blue are on the case already according to the journal.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 5:40pm

The boys in blue are on the case already according to the journal.

The shameful thing is they might as well not bother as some arsehole of a judge will probably give him a slap on the wrists as his free legal aid solicitor will spin the usual yarn about an "underprivlaged background" etc....

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 8:10pm
T'was chatting to my Egypian and Azerbaijani chums today (cue Jay from the Inbetweeners pics LOL)
One was advised under no circumstances to go to the City Centre for the parade and the other went in and said it was littered with heroin addicts and scumbags. These 2 live in Jobstown and Cabra so they are hardly sheltered from the Dublins Riff Raffage. I was absolutely embarrassed to hear that foreigners that have lived here a few years are being told to avoid the place and have to see such goings on, on what should be the national holiday.

I never go out for St Patricks Day, I was convinced to go to Bray a couple of years ago and it was carnage with skangers fighting with each other.

The holiday is worth an absolute bomb with tourists coming to Ireland. You just have to see the boozers in the lead up to it to see the amount of tourists we have coming in. Of course it all gets spoiled with the refusal of the authorities to act on The Skanger Question.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 8:23pm
I was in a few spots around city centre Saturday afternoon and there was a huge amount of tourists about.I presume Patricks day/weekend is the busiest time of year for Dublin tourism.It would be a pity if tourist's decided to stay away because of scum knocking around causing hassle.
Why don't the cops just have a drunk tank type set up for these big occasions ?

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 8:27pm

I was in a few spots around city centre Saturday afternoon and there was a huge amount of tourists about.I presume Patricks day/weekend is the busiest time of year for Dublin tourism.It would be a pity if tourist's decided to stay away because of scum knocking around causing hassle.

Anyone with more than 50 convictions should be interned for the Patrick's weekend. I intend to make it one of my flagship policies upon seizing power in a thoroughly unconstitutional coup.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 8:29pm

I never go out for St Patricks Day, I was convinced to go to Bray a couple of years ago and it was carnage with skangers fighting with each other.

you would think Brianie would have a bit of sense at his age

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 8:32pm

Anyone with more than 50 convictions should be interned for the Patrick's weekend. I intend to make it one of my flagship policies upon seizing power in a thoroughly unconstitutional coup.

Cops on every block SD, you know it makes sense 

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 8:33pm

Viva El Presidente SuperDave

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 8:41pm
Originally posted by jamo1 jamo1 wrote:

Was listening to Joe Duffy before about catching a crime on camera where the guards and data commissioner will request that you do not post any crime on video or else you could be in serious trouble probably more trouble than the little c*nt in this video. Anyway a lot of up and coming scum in this country, we need stronger laws for under 16's coz at the minute they really don't give a toss!
yep this is true,he could sue you if you stick it on line.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 8:44pm

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 8:50pm

Thought you would be more ruthless SuperDave.Really push the boat out ,anyone with more than 50 convictions gets put down.Bullet to the head.

Any Ministerial positions available in this coup ?

Posted By: Slow & Blind
Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 8:52pm

Cops on every block SD, you know it makes sense 

Imagine what the trains would be like .

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 8:58pm
Nah, I have too many lawyer friends I need to look after. A healthy scumbag quotient is going to remain necessary. Don't worry, though, I will ghettoise the scumbags (even more than at the minute), so they only commit crimes on each other, but make sure there are loads of gardai in the ghettos to arrest and imprison them. There'll be plenty of show trials and maybe the odd public hanging, but not too many - I can't eradicate the scumbags. Genocide is not my game. I have to be really careful not to piss off the lawyers..... if the uneducated are poor, that's not a problem, but poor lawyers are, historically, one of the biggest causes of revolution and counter-coup, so that won't be happening. I'll have to make sure the lawyers remain reasonably well looked after, unfortunately.

There will be ministerial positions available, CVs will be sought for the position of Minister for Sport from ybig posters of 3,000 posts or more ONLY. I will, however, be both President-for-life and the euphemistically named Minister for "Justice". Injustice will be closer, of course, but all will fear my iron fist, so whatever. I'll try and be popular, but frankly, it is better to be feared than respected.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 9:01pm
My movement (not party, movement) will be called the Celtic United Nationalist Troupe. Yup, the C.U.N.T.

I think it sums up my ideology nicely.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 9:05pm

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 9:07pm
You need a minister for internal security? Unfortunately, there will always be one or two who you trust but who are not as loyal as they should be. I can root these individuals out or keep them on track prior to any such selfish behaviour. Of course I would be ruthless in this regard.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 9:11pm
Yes, you can be head of the State Homeland And Maintenance of Security Service.

Or SHAM SS, to give it the correct title.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 9:13pm

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 9:14pm

You need a minister for internal security? Unfortunately, there will always be one or two who you trust but who are not as loyal as they should be. I can root these individuals out or keep them on track prior to any such selfish behaviour. Of course I would be ruthless in this regard.

That phone of yours would be used to take photographic evidence I presume  ya bollix LOLLOLLOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 9:18pm

That phone of yours would be used to take photographic evidence I presume  ya bollix LOLLOLLOLLOLLOL

it is important to keep records

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 9:35pm

Any need for a robot Dave ?

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 9:39pm
Not just one, but a robot army.

Can't trust the real army, unfortunately.

Can this robot army search and destroy political opponents?

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 9:56pm
Scummy ****s.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 10:46pm
f**king coward. Kicking someone on the ground Why are there so many of these scumbags in our society. An eye for an eye with him is the only job.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 11:33pm

Not just one, but a robot army.

Can't trust the real army, unfortunately.

Can this robot army search and destroy political opponents?

I can do it all

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2014 at 11:35pm

f**king coward. Kicking someone on the ground Why are there so many of these scumbags in our society.

Because they know there are plenty of ****s out there to roll out the usual cliched excuses for them which ensures they only get a slap on the wrists.