URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=46125
Printed Date: 29 Apr 2024 at 1:29pm

Topic: Ryanair
Posted By: Conor Messi
Subject: Ryanair
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2013 at 7:18pm
As it's impossible to actually speak to a human from Ryanair after booking flights online, I was hoping somebody on here could answer a question for me from their own experience with Ryanair.

I've booked a return trip going out on a Friday morning 08:00 and coming back Sunday night at 19:20.
The problem is that I actually meant to book the flight out on the Friday evening at 18:20 because I can't make the morning flight.
Now I've no problem taking the hit on the price and just booking the outward one I want but my question is: if I miss the first leg of a return booking, do they automatically cancel the return journey?

Or can I just miss the outward flight, get on the later one and fly home on the return leg of the original booking?

I know it's my own stupid mistake and a headache of a question but if anyone on here knew the craic from experience, I'd really appreciate it folks! Thumbs Up

@MessiConor
Hasta La Victoria Siempre

Posted By: familyguy
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2013 at 7:26pm
return leg would only be cancelled if it was done through skyscanner,ebookers etc - your grand as you are,not taking one leg

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2013 at 7:28pm
You're grand. Ryanair are a point to point carrier.  The flights are treated totally separately 

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2013 at 7:55pm
Ring them. If you contact them within 24 hours of the booking they only charge you a 10er for the change and whatever the difference in the price is (at lest it was last time I did it a couple of yrs ago).

I've never had a problem getting on to them and you're usually put straight through

Posted By: flow
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2013 at 8:06pm
Used to work for them second leg is safe but do as kerrzy said n see if they can change it providing it was just booked. good luck

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2013 at 11:11pm
Ah not so bad! Cheers for the info ybiggers

@MessiConor

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2013 at 11:21pm
Originally posted by Conor Messi Conor Messi wrote:

them cakes musta been very nice, your going back for seconds

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2013 at 12:19am
nah just speak to Michael O'Leary on twiiter #tellMOL

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2013 at 12:49am
yep second legs safe, no need to worry at all

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2013 at 1:18am
2nd leg is safe I have a degree in missing first legs with ryanair

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2013 at 3:53pm

Originally posted by Conor Messi Conor Messi wrote:

them cakes musta been very nice, your going back for seconds

Jaysus don't even talk to me about them! A whole day of my life lost and I only after 3 or 4 pints!

Got the flight changed anyway. €40 charge to change flight and a few other charges so €52 in total. Could have been worse I suppose. I'll be more careful next time!

@MessiConor

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2013 at 1:34pm
Just booked a flight for the missus and her Mam with Ryanair as a present for her birthday. Just realised I spelt her mothers surname incorrectly. Surname is Waldron, I spelt it Walldron. Will they get away with this or will I have to fork out for a name change?

Posted By: heyirish
Date Posted: 25 Oct 2013 at 1:47pm

Just booked a flight for the missus and her Mam with Ryanair as a present for her birthday. Just realised I spelt her mothers surname incorrectly. Surname is Waldron, I spelt it Walldron. Will they get away with this or will I have to fork out for a name change?

Have you tried changing the name. I think you can change things like that for free. at worst give it a go dont process it. you should be okay. I got a name wrong and got through before. but some oul pr!ck could decide he wants to act the mickey and be difficult

karl pilkington to doctor when getting prostate examined: jesus thats high up that is, fcuking hell, right you're touching a lung now

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2013 at 1:54pm
You have to ring them. They change it for free.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2013 at 1:58pm

Do not think they will accept a boarding pass with  "Old bag" on it Wink

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2013 at 2:04pm
Cheers Kerrzy, took two mins and they sorted it.

Good one baldy.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2013 at 2:33pm

Do not think they will accept a boarding pass with  "Old bag" on it Wink

That was my "pet name" for my late Mother in Law (R.I.P.)............I bought flowers spelling her "name" for her funeral.......gave everyone a smile as we drove behind the hearse (she would definitely have approved too)

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2014 at 2:24pm
Looking to book flights in October for a short hop. In short my question is, will flights get any cheaper than what I am being quoted now or is what's on offer now the best I'll get?

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2014 at 2:30pm
Usually if they have flights with poor occupancy they reduce these flights between 4 and 6 weeks prior to departure. On busy routes you will find that prices increase closer to departure dates

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2014 at 2:32pm
Cheers. In no rush and flexible with dates so might hold off a week or so.

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2014 at 2:47pm
Look at the same week in Sep, they'll be that price for October in a month most likely

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2015 at 11:12pm
40 mins manageable from one Ryanair flight to another in Stanstead ? Im guessing they wouldn't have any obligation to make sure im on the 2nd flight if the first one is delayed because of separate bookings

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2015 at 11:16pm
No not manageable, gate closes 30 minutes before take off afaik plus security can be very slow in stanstead

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2015 at 11:39pm
Was thinking as much

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2015 at 11:43pm
It is potentially more manageable if the first flight arrives from either Ireland or the UK. If not, completely forget about it.

I wouldn't risk it, anyway.

Like, if you are in a real hurry and think you can make it, go for it, but know that you will probably have a long ass wait and a big price to pay if you miss it.

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2015 at 11:56pm
Will look at a different route

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2015 at 11:58pm
If you want a bit of help, pm me the start point, the end point and the date, and I'll have a look.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2015 at 12:07am

If you want a bit of help, pm me the start point, the end point and the date, and I'll have a look.
I have being looking the last couple of hours Dave. Have found one for 89 euro in total with a couple of hours stopover. Appreciate the offer

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2015 at 12:13am
Fair enough. Not likely to do much better than that.

One thing I'd say is that with bigger airlines, like BA and Lufthansa, they will only show up good prices when booking as returns rather than one way.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2015 at 6:51am
Quick question
We are doing a Stanstead then on to Poland now i see that you take a bus and you are out through customs as quick as that .
Can you stay in the transit lounge and wait for your next flight , now i know that you will not have scanned the bar code from Stanstead to Poland as you have just got off the flight from Ireland if you get my drift ?

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2015 at 7:58am
Question goys
Malaga-Madrid
Madrid -Dublin
50 mins between flights..this possible?
Also going to malaga in July,flights dear
Surely there will be more flights put on over the next few weeks/months
So was thinking of holding on,thoughts..

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2015 at 9:29am
Is Dundalk closed this year?

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2015 at 9:32am

Question goys
Malaga-Madrid
Madrid -Dublin

all the airlines have their summer schedules out and on sale so not too likely any will be added

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2015 at 10:11am

Is Dundalk closed this year?
August

Posted By: ABFC
Date Posted: 22 Jan 2015 at 10:14am

Question goys
Malaga-Madrid
Madrid -Dublin

Pickpocketing is rife in Spain. Be wary at all times. There's also a constant terrorist attack warning in Madrid.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2015 at 1:48pm

Quick question
We are doing a Stanstead then on to Poland now i see that you take a bus and you are out through customs as quick as that .
Can you stay in the transit lounge and wait for your next flight , now i know that you will not have scanned the bar code from Stanstead to Poland as you have just got off the flight from Ireland if you get my drift ?

Nah, they make you go out. They don't do connecting flights.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2015 at 3:08pm

Quick question

Nah, they make you go out. They don't do connecting flights.
Thanks SD was thinking that but never asked .
 The only plus side i have to say is that at Stanstead they have a different line now for those with disabilities , now when we were there at Christmas we didn't go for it but really should have just to see if they would have let both of us through . Hey had this big sign asking if you were deaf Approve .
Now will go for it next time for sure with my helper of course Big smile

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2015 at 10:22am
Malaga-Madrid-Dublin
50 mins connection,Iberia air..possible??? Me thinks no.

Posted By: ABFC
Date Posted: 23 Jan 2015 at 10:58am

Malaga-Madrid-Dublin

In Madrid airport watch out for northern African lads looking to pickpocket unsuspecting tourists. Spain is the pickpocketing capital of Europe. I'd avoid it all costs

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2015 at 11:04am
How do they decide on a pickpocketing capital? Is there a pickpocket economy with a pickpocket central bank?

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2015 at 11:08am

How do they decide on a pickpocketing capital? Is there a pickpocket economy with a pickpocket central bank?

The Dipper Index.

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2015 at 11:09am
Done dublin-Madrid-Ibiza and gave myself 60mins and barely made it.iberia have most of there flights in the one area but the gates go from 24 to something like 50.so depending where the gate u land and depart dictates your time.....50 mins,wouldn't chance it

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2015 at 11:27am

Done dublin-Madrid-Ibiza and gave myself 60mins and barely made it.iberia have most of there flights in the one area but the gates go from 24 to something like 50.so depending where the gate u land and depart dictates your time.....50 mins,wouldn't chance it
sound bud

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2015 at 11:43am

Malaga-Madrid-Dublin

if on the one ticket then ok but not on separate tickets.  You will need to go through passport control in Madrid as well remember. 

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2016 at 6:04pm
Checked myself and a few mates in on the app in order to use the mobile boarding card. Clicked "passport card" instead of "passport" when checking one of the lads in. Clicked check in before I could amend.

Will we be ok?

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2016 at 10:52pm

Checked myself and a few mates in on the app in order to use the mobile boarding card. Clicked "passport card" instead of "passport" when checking one of the lads in. Clicked check in before I could amend.

Will we be ok?

Yes it wont be a problem but you are probably already home & know the answer now

Date Posted: 29 Apr 2016 at 7:42am
If 4 people are on the same booking but 1 pulls out of the trip,when checking in on line do you just leave his info blank?

Date Posted: 29 Apr 2016 at 7:51am

If 4 people are on the same booking but 1 pulls out of the trip,when checking in on line do you just leave his info blank?
no problem. Crack on as you would.

Date Posted: 29 Apr 2016 at 10:17am
Cheers..I have a minor panic attack once the name Ryanair gets mentioned

Posted By: Il Principe
Date Posted: 07 May 2016 at 11:40am
booked the wrong dates with ryanair last night Embarrassed

do they have a 24 hour cancellation or change grace?

ty

Date Posted: 07 May 2016 at 12:16pm
Originally posted by Il Principe Il Principe wrote:

booked the wrong dates with ryanair last night Embarrassed

do they have a 24 hour cancellation or change grace?

ty

Ring them and there be no hassle changing that within 24 hrs.

Date Posted: 18 May 2016 at 12:52pm
4 people on a booking. Is it possible for 2 to check in on line without checking in everyone on the booking?
2 thicks on my booking and don't want to have anything to do with checking them in..possible?? Fooking Ryanair always have me in a panic

Date Posted: 18 May 2016 at 1:15pm

4 people on a booking. Is it possible for 2 to check in on line without checking in everyone on the booking?
2 thicks on my booking and don't want to have anything to do with checking them in..possible?? Fooking Ryanair always have me in a panic
Yeah you can check in whoever ya want.

What's so bad about the other lads that you would book them a flight but don't want to check them in? LOL

Date Posted: 18 May 2016 at 1:18pm
Enjoy Eindhoven BSM! Sounds like a great start already LOL

Date Posted: 18 May 2016 at 4:33pm

Enjoy Eindhoven BSM! Sounds like a great start already LOL

Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 5:41pm
Name change used to cost 100  Euro  ,is that still the same ?

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2016 at 6:48pm
A question for some of the frequent flyers.

Is there any issue bringing a carry-on bag and a suit bag on board? Won't be bringing enough stuff to half fill a big bag to check in and just wondering if there will be a problem bringing both on board. If needs be I can organise a larger case to put the suit into but prefer not to.
Appreciate any info that people might have.

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2016 at 7:22pm
Shouldn't be an issue with Ryanair as they let you bring 2 bags, going to eurofan I'd all my stuff in the main bag and a rucksack for astros and boots.

If there's an issue just throw the biggest bag in the hold (usually at the gate staff walk around asking if anyone wants to put their bag into the hold for free) and take the suit bag as your hand luggage

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2017 at 2:21pm

Bump

Still €100 for a name change? Few of us off to Manchester in February for a United game.

One lad's after pulling out but another's going to take his place. Name change, if above is nearly twice the price of the flights.

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2017 at 3:03pm
Then the lad who is pulling out has lost his money and has to pay up for the original air fare. If it's cheaper for the new lad to pay for a new flight, that should be how it works, otherwise the new lad should pay the name change.

Say the fare originally was 50 euro and the name change is 110 but the flights are now 80. The original lad pays 50 (hard luck, but you signed up), the new lad pays 80. If the new flights were 120, the new lad should pay the 110 name change (that's cheaper obviously) and the original lad still pay 50. That said, I think the name change fee is per leg, so on a return flight, it's 220 euro.

He can (possibly) still get a refund on his taxes and charges depending on how much he paid.

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2017 at 3:12pm

Bump

Still €100 for a name change? Few of us off to Manchester in February for a United game.

One lad's after pulling out but another's going to take his place. Name change, if above is nearly twice the price of the flights.

Surely Google or Ryanair website is the best place to find this out?

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2017 at 3:51pm

Bump

55e each way online - 80 each way at the help dedk

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2017 at 3:59pm

Bump

Its 110 per passenger per leg so 220 per return flight

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2017 at 4:07pm

Bump

Cheaper for veterans of Afghanistan then?

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2017 at 4:08pm

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2017 at 4:14pm

Bump

Feck that buy a new flight

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2017 at 6:16pm

Bump

I find its sometimes easier to ask on here!

Posted By: ThrowInDelap
Date Posted: 15 Jan 2017 at 6:21pm
PM Sent

If time's a drug, then Big Ben is a huge needle injecting it into the sky.

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2017 at 9:17pm

Bump

I find its sometimes easier to ask on here!

Yeah nvidic! What's your problem with me..........?

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2017 at 9:18pm

Bump

Where you seeing this bud? Looking at flights he weekend of the Watford game and they're very dear.

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 10:28am
Planning on booking a flight for next Monday between London & Dublin but hoping that the price will come down.Got he flight over for €15

Would there be much chance of the price going down to a price like that between now and then or really only more likely that it'll increase?

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 12:13pm
15 and you're hoping it'll come down LOL

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 12:14pm

15 and you're hoping it'll come down LOL

Read my post again.

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 12:41pm

Planning on booking a flight for next Monday between London & Dublin but hoping that the price will come down.Got he flight over for €15

Would there be much chance of the price going down to a price like that between now and then or really only more likely that it'll increase?

How much is it now ?Depends how far in advance you are booking.

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 1:01pm
Less than a week to go I'd say you don't have much chance of reducing. At this stage Ryanair are looking for people who need to fly at short notice and don't have options

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 1:19pm

Less than a week to go I'd say you don't have much chance of reducing. At this stage Ryanair are looking for people who need to fly at short notice and don't have options

Was thinking that alright. Booked a flight back from Birmingham for 18 quid along with a 5 quid bus to Birmingham so saving myself about the price 20 pints in Weatherspoons. Cool

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 1:45pm
Only realised you said it was next week nowLOL

3hrs on a bus to Birmingham ,dunno if its worth the saving.f**king hate buses especially after a few days on the beer.

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 1:49pm

3hrs on a bus to Birmingham ,dunno if its worth the saving.f**king hate buses especially after a few days on the beer.

Will always put up with torture on the bus after days on the beer for Ireland aways if it saves 50 quid for beer LOL

Was suffering like Christ when flying back from Romania after the Moldova game. 6 hours, 2 minibuses through the backarse of Romania to get the cheap flight home. Dead

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 2:07pm
Have you ever thought that paying the extra few bob is worth it instead of suffering? 

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 3:13pm

Have you ever thought that paying the extra few bob is worth it instead of suffering? 

Yes but I always go for the penance option

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 5:16pm

Was thinking that alright. Booked a flight back from Birmingham for 18 quid along with a 5 quid bus to Birmingham so saving myself about the price 20 pints in Weatherspoons. Cool

It muffs defence it can often be cheaper to fly home outa Birmingham if in London especially if it a busy time Thur pm Friday or at short notice. 50min from Euston to Birmingham airport is quicker than trying to get to Gatwick/Stansted maybe even Luton if you are around that neck of the woods.

that is of course by train, only a head the ball would go by bus LOL

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 7:08pm

It muffs defence it can often be cheaper to fly home outa Birmingham if in London especially if it a busy time Thur pm Friday or at short notice. 50min from Euston to Birmingham airport is quicker than trying to get to Gatwick/Stansted maybe even Luton if you are around that neck of the woods.

that is of course by train, only a head the ball would go by bus LOL

Provided you are close to Euston, it is much of a muchness. The issue is the cost of transport.
Luton is always £15.70 from St Pancras, and about 40 minutes.
Gatwick varies but the direct train from St Pancras is only £10.40, and takes less than an hour.
Birmingham from Euston can be less than a tenner and only takes 1h10m. I looked for this Wednesday and there are tickets for £11 for the trains in the afternoon.
It takes the best part of an hour to Heathrow as well.

The main issue is that trains in the evening to Heathrow, Gatwick and Luton are the same price; trains to Birmingham in the evening rush hour are £88 (!) if you rock up in the station on the day.

But generally, Birmingham is a grand option from London. Luton is a bit of a pain with the bus and stuff, and you get wet if it's raining. Birmingham and Gatwick you shouldn't.

I've used Birmingham a few times to get to London and it's a perfect option. It's certainly handier flying back (because it's riskier to buy an advance train ticket from Birmingham to London with a risk of flight delays) but it is still a decent option.

Posted By: GB 1HughJarse
Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 8:35pm

Will always put up with torture on the bus after days on the beer for Ireland aways if it saves 50 quid for beer LOL

Was suffering like Christ when flying back from Romania after the Moldova game. 6 hours, 2 minibuses through the backarse of Romania to get the cheap flight home. Dead

"Suffering like Christ"

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2017 at 5:29pm
Has anyone been following the on goings lately? 50 flights a day cancellations. Due to what he called 'holidays' eh more like a severe pilot shortage.

125 pilots within 2 weeks, logically impossible. Due to security clearances, good luck trying to fit 125 people through his sims for a simcheck.

600 within 10 months.

MOL, may have eat some humble pay. The £9.99 flights will soon be gone, pilots need a pay increase with a bonus on top in a lot of bases, particularly Dublin. To prevent more joining Norwegian or even post Christmas Monarch will come looking for the 737 guys.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2017 at 7:12pm

Has anyone been following the on goings lately? 50 flights a day cancellations. Due to what he called 'holidays' eh more like a severe pilot shortage.

125 pilots within 2 weeks, logically impossible. Due to security clearances, good luck trying to fit 125 people through his sims for a simcheck.

600 within 10 months.

MOL, may have eat some humble pay. The £9.99 flights will soon be gone, pilots need a pay increase with a bonus on top in a lot of bases, particularly Dublin. To prevent more joining Norwegian or even post Christmas Monarch will come looking for the 737 guys.

No ....haven't seen anything in the news.....what's the craic then ?

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2017 at 8:12pm

600 within 10 months.

No ....haven't seen anything in the news.....what's the craic then ?
on another note there Pilot, has Hoskins lifted your ban on posting in this section?

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2017 at 9:28am
Tried to find this online last night, but any idea how much a Ryanair pilot gets paid?

And the "conditions" they want changed, any idea what these are?

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2017 at 9:52am

Tried to find this online last night, but any idea how much a Ryanair pilot gets paid?

Surely a Question for SByrne

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2017 at 9:54am

Depends on length of service I think starting salary is about 32k can go up to about 50-60k. Which compared to other airlines is low.

I think conditions are they have to pay for their own accommodation and supplies instead of the company paying for them if say a flight is delayed.

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2017 at 10:59am
It's a higher then 32k more in the 45k region. A captain earns roughly 90k on old Brookfield contract. The McGinley contract is around €145 per block hour. Averaging 900 hours per year.
A FO earns €70 an hour, I believe. Keep in mind, he will have to pay for his type rating which is in the region of €28,000, plus pay for his/her uniform.

The company is a joke, the terms and condition are ridiculous. You pay for water on the aircraft, the McGinley contract doesn't include any staff travel either.

MOL forgets one thing, without pilots he has no company. There is also no pension contribution. The glorified bus driver comments among others haven't went unnoticed. There's a staff letter doing the rounds threatening a strike in roughly 30 of his bases.. they've demanded a contract on par with BA, KLM and Air France. Which is a tad absurd, they should be on par with EasyJet, Norwegian and Monarch. Where an FO salary is around the £56k Mark year one, to a captain earning £110k plus staff benefits.

Norwegian are offering £8500 bonus for signing with them. Ryanair lose roughly 300 pilots a year roughly, they nearly lost 200-300 to Norwegian alone this year. The 100 mark is very low and inaccurate.

It's about time their pilots stood up to the company, it's making enough money. Another 737 is enroute to Dublin currently from Seattle, with no pilots to fly it when it lands.
It could take O'Leary a while to sort this mess out, he's lost a lot of experienced guys. Plus it takes time to type rate a cadet, and they need 30k ready to go.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2017 at 8:28pm

It's a higher then 32k more in the 45k region. A captain earns roughly 90k on old Brookfield contract. The McGinley contract is around €145 per block hour. Averaging 900 hours per year.
A FO earns €70 an hour, I believe. Keep in mind, he will have to pay for his type rating which is in the region of €28,000, plus pay for his/her uniform.

The company is a joke, the terms and condition are ridiculous. You pay for water on the aircraft, the McGinley contract doesn't include any staff travel either.

MOL forgets one thing, without pilots he has no company. There is also no pension contribution. The glorified bus driver comments among others haven't went unnoticed. There's a staff letter doing the rounds threatening a strike in roughly 30 of his bases.. they've demanded a contract on par with BA, KLM and Air France. Which is a tad absurd, they should be on par with EasyJet, Norwegian and Monarch. Where an FO salary is around the £56k Mark year one, to a captain earning £110k plus staff benefits.

Norwegian are offering £8500 bonus for signing with them. Ryanair lose roughly 300 pilots a year roughly, they nearly lost 200-300 to Norwegian alone this year. The 100 mark is very low and inaccurate.

It's about time their pilots stood up to the company, it's making enough money. Another 737 is enroute to Dublin currently from Seattle, with no pilots to fly it when it lands.
It could take O'Leary a while to sort this mess out, he's lost a lot of experienced guys. Plus it takes time to type rate a cadet, and they need 30k ready to go.

What does "type rating costing €28k mean?

Isn't €56k in year one quite good for anyone starting out?
How may jobs pay that in year one?
Is FO the first/lowest level of pilot grade, or is there something below that?
Need clarification here.
If you want to be a pilot you know that you're going to be doing unsocial hours/weekends etc.
As for the cost of uniforms are they much more expensive than buying a few suits that a lot of office workers have to buy out of their own pocket?
Surely some pilots are pilots purely for the love of flying, like some teachers and nurses love their jobs even though they are not highly paid?

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2017 at 9:55pm

What does "type rating costing €28k mean?

Isn't €56k in year one quite good for anyone starting out?
How may jobs pay that in year one?
Is FO the first/lowest level of pilot grade, or is there something below that?
Need clarification here.
If you want to be a pilot you know that you're going to be doing unsocial hours/weekends etc.
As for the cost of uniforms are they much more expensive than buying a few suits that a lot of office workers have to buy out of their own pocket?
Surely some pilots are pilots purely for the love of flying, like some teachers and nurses love their jobs even though they are not highly paid?

Alright so.

Type rating - Is a license to fly that aircraft. Be it a Boeing 777 or 737 or Airbus A320 a pilot will spend roughly 3 months training for that aircraft, groundschool followed by many hours in a simulator and finishing with line training. Which is where the pilot will fly the aircraft with no passengers just crew. Keep in mind the average pilot training for a CPL/IR and MCC JOC will cost in and around €110,000-€130,000.

It is, yes. Pilot salaries are substantial particularly initially as you said, and continue to increase BBC released a report this year stating they are due to increase by 25% going forward. However, they're not what they use to be either. Ryanair pilots are paid less then their competitors, and don't have the same benefits as you would find at EasyJet or Norwegian. Which includes Staff travel, food free on the aircraft, pension, and leave on par with Easy. £56,000 is EasyJets FO Salary year one it increases annually then until Captain where there is a substantial rise which then again increases annually.

FO is what most Co- Pilots are referred to in Europe, you will also find 'Second officers' but they're not as common particularly in Europe they tend to be cruise pilots who don't land the aircraft simply take over in the cruise, to relief the FO. I believe Virgin begin their cadets as Second officers. You also get SFO (Senior First Officer) 3 stripes. Who are experienced first officers who at times have more experience then the Captain, but haven't upgraded due to a possible base relocation. Which is common at low cost airlines.

When you've spend close to €150k to train to fly an airliner, it goes without saying you shouldn't be paying for the uniform. It's a tad laughable. In comparison to BA or Thomson who will send their pilots to be measured up at a tailors.

As an airline pilot, you need to be flexible. It's key to the job, you will move airlines a few times usually anyway mostly for financial gain. Be that to the desert or China where a €270,000 salary is common. Ryanair pilots simply want to be on par with their competitors.

You'd be surprised how many guys aren't plane enthusiasts, speaking from personal experience a number of people move careers into aviation for financial gain, or they've been working for years to save up the cash to train. I personally began flying before I could drive, flying airliners at 20. There is also many like me, it's really a mix.

FRs issue right now, is he has lost experienced pilots. Line training captains which you need to train cadets, for their first number of flights. He has lost captains, they can't be replaced over night, hence his call for experienced pilots in the next two weeks. It's a huge mess.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2017 at 10:13pm
Top reply.
Good to know.
MOL can't really complain then can he.
Time to start spending the Ryanair cash mountain.

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2017 at 11:44pm

Top reply.
Good to know.
MOL can't really complain then can he.
Time to start spending the Ryanair cash mountain.

No airline is perfect, every airline has its flaws and internal politics even the legacy carriers. But Ryanair treat their staff like dirt, it's been coming for a while. Even down to mecials, FR pilots will pay for their renewals.

However FR for a cadet pilot, are still a really good option to build hours unfreeze their ATPL and clear off. Particularly for the modular guys, who a lot airlines won't touch. But right now is it a career airline? I'm not so sure.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Posted By: TioPepe
Date Posted: 23 Sep 2017 at 5:38pm
http://www.lbc.co.uk/radio/presenters/nick-ferrari/furious-ryanair-pilot-calls-lbc-on-working/" rel="nofollow - http://www.lbc.co.uk/radio/presenters/nick-ferrari/furious-ryanair-pilot-calls-lbc-on-working/

Is this accurate? 

Pay for an interview? 

Really interesting to listen to.

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2017 at 9:54pm
Fairly accurate from what I know and bits I outlined above. I've never worked for FR, although friends have all of which moved to the Desert before returning to the UK.

Paying for an airline interview isn't uncommon. As it's not a 'tell me about yourself' exercise, a lot of the time it includes PILAPT tests and a Simcheck. I know BA Cityflyer were charging people via CTC. Although, a 'different company' it would still be under the British Airways umbrella.

Mr O'Leary is getting tore apart, enjoying the front pages of Irish and British newspapers.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2017 at 10:09am
If talking to yourself is the first sign of madness, what is talking to yourself on the internet? Sign 12?

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2017 at 12:52pm

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2017 at 9:19am
Another of Ryanair's competitor's gone with the news monarch going out of business.

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2017 at 10:06am
A few extra glorified bus drivers for Mick to snap up