Can we have a 12th July Orangefest on here?

Category: Other Forums
Forum Name: Whatever!
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=44909
Printed Date: 15 May 2024 at 10:20pm

Topic: Can we have a 12th July Orangefest on here?
Posted By: Rangers William 6UK
Subject: Can we have a 12th July Orangefest on here?
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2013 at 11:13pm
I want to hold an orange order day on ybig to comemorate the 12th July when King William of Orange defeated the dirty taigs at the Battle of the Boyne. Can everyone change their profile pic to a union jack? 

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 10:33am
Liamo - May i suggest that you hold an event to celebrate this occasion, the Oasis in Cabra West should provide a very warm welcome............

Posted By: Dukla
Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 11:00am
The Battle of the Boyne took place on 1 July (Julian calendar) or the 11 July on the Gregorian calendar. The 'Twelfth' Malarkey comes from the Battle of Aughrim Geek Tongue

Posted By: eire77
Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 11:16am
Originally posted by Dukla Dukla wrote:

The Battle of the Boyne took place on 1 July (Julian calendar) or the 11 July on the Gregorian calendar. The 'Twelfth' Malarkey comes from the Battle of Aughrim Geek Tongue

Never knew that. Learn something new every day.

Posted By: EastStandMan
Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 11:31am
To borrow a word from Big Ian"s dictionary ,,,,,,,,,,,NO !!!!!!!.

Shamrock Rovers - lovin the buzz .

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 1:22pm
If there's some cultural and religious hymns then I'm in.

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 1:25pm
I have 1,000 tri colours ordered for the fire

Everyone back to mine for beverages after the big march and fire. Contact Sham travel for transport arrangements.

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 1:38pm
Originally posted by jackshat jackshat wrote:

I have 1,000 tri colours ordered for the fire

Everyone back to mine for beverages after the big march and fire. Contact Sham travel for transport arrangements.

My fleet of buses are getting a respray as we speak.

Return journey from YBIG HQ to Jacks gaff is only £10 sterling. Bank of England notes only please as the Queens head is a must

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 1:59pm
Quite fond of a bit if orangezest myself so why the hell not.

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 2:21pm
Poster made up and all. Bring it on!

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 2:30pm
Go on Billy

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 2:33pm
Here's a little something I made earlier. Ready to burn this symbol of fenianism to the ground!

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2011/07/12/article-2013783-0CF8ECF000000578-135_634x821.jpg

Posted By: jinky
Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 2:46pm
What time does the bus leave at as I go to 7 oclock mass?

tir gan teanga ,tir gan anam

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 2:51pm
Bus fare is 16.90 unless its re-routed.........

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 5:58pm
Did you forget the password to Rangers Billy's account again Trap??

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 6:02pm
Originally posted by Metal Paul Metal Paul wrote:

Did you forget the password to Rangers Billy's account again Trap??

Shut your Trap taigWink

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 6:09pm
These black ****s don't realize that they are marching for gay prife as Billy was a fag

Posted By: Mrs Iris Robinson
Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 9:27pm

These black ****s don't realize that they are marching for gay prife as Billy was a fag

Our Billy certainly did not take it up the arse, how very dare you
....Peter on the other hand....well

oh young man

Posted By: harry
Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 11:35pm
Whats the difference between an apple and an orange

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 12:37am
I never heard of an apple bas-tard

Posted By: jinky
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 12:12pm

tir gan teanga ,tir gan anam

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 8:44am
Happy 12th to the angry mob on hereClap

Posted By: Lostandfound
Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 9:21am
And remember lads, doing the bouncy is safer if you are on the ground rather than on top of your unlit bonfire.

Posted By: King_Kenny
Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 9:22am

your buddy not invite you😂

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 9:57am
Originally posted by King_Kenny King_Kenny wrote:

your buddy not invite you😂
Cry

Posted By: jamo1
Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 10:43am
Originally posted by Lostandfound Lostandfound wrote:

And remember lads, doing the bouncy is safer if you are on the ground rather than on top of your unlit bonfire.
LOL you would think a 35 year old father of two would have a bit more cop on than climbing up a load of pallets to build a bonfire.

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 10:45am
Congrats to all involved on building the fine bonfires.  

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 11:07am
At least the Umbro away jerseys might get some use today 

Posted By: King_Kenny
Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 11:38am
Originally posted by jamo1 jamo1 wrote:

Originally posted by Lostandfound Lostandfound wrote:

LOL you would think a 35 year old father of two would have a bit more cop on than climbing up a load of pallets to build a bonfire.
You have to have a brain to cop on.

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 12:36pm
Loads of them scurrying over to my neck of the woods this time every year. If only they were so aggressive outside of a car when they're tailgating or speeding or generally behaving like impatient tits, they wouldn't need to run away from a few parades.

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 4:43pm
Wish we had a bank holiday for this as well.

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 4:51pm

Wish we had a bank holiday for this as well.

i'm sure we will in a few years time Wink

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 4:53pm
Aughrim was a bigger battle with far more dead and injured. The Boyne was a mere skirmish between inlaws in comparison.

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 4:56pm

Aughrim was a bigger battle with far more dead and injured. The Boyne was a mere skirmish between inlaws in comparison.

bloodiest battle in irish history. we got a right pasting that day.

...and i say we loosely. there were as many british born commanders on the jacobite side as there was on the williamite side. 

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 5:32pm

A bit like Rorkes drift -celebrated though it was a minor skirmish following the zulus wiping out a British empire army 1-0 earlier in the day 

Posted By: ErsatzThistle
Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 8:10pm

...and i say we loosely. there were as many british born commanders on the jacobite side as there was on the williamite side. 

Didn't the Pope of the time actually back Protestant William instead of Catholic James ?

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 8:20pm
https://www.independent.ie/videos/man-throws-bin-at-orange-flute-band-marching-on-july-12-leading-to-chaotic-scenes-41833776.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.independent.ie/videos/man-throws-bin-at-orange-flute-band-marching-on-july-12-leading-to-chaotic-scenes-41833776.html . 

Love the bit where the Police arrest the bin!

Big smile

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 8:44pm

https://www.independent.ie/videos/man-throws-bin-at-orange-flute-band-marching-on-july-12-leading-to-chaotic-scenes-41833776.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.independent.ie/videos/man-throws-bin-at-orange-flute-band-marching-on-july-12-leading-to-chaotic-scenes-41833776.html . 

Love the bit where the Police arrest the bin!

Big smile
Good auld Dusty 

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 9:22pm
Originally posted by ErsatzThistle ErsatzThistle wrote:

Didn't the Pope of the time actually back Protestant William instead of Catholic James ?

He did. William was an ally of Pope Innocent and his successor Pope Alexander against the French. The Church financed half of his army and equipment, and it was celebrated as a Catholic victory in St Peter's Square and other European cities.

Posted By: Stickittotheman
Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 9:36pm

Routed in the end but most of the day the battle hung in the balance. A lot of the defeated forces fell back as sell and eventually resulted in the Siege of Limerick and eventually a treaty. Great article on it here:

https://sluggerotoole.com/2020/04/25/busting-the-historical-myths-conclusion-the-battle-of-the-boyne/

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2022 at 11:18pm
Originally posted by Stickittotheman Stickittotheman wrote:

Routed in the end but most of the day the battle hung in the balance. A lot of the defeated forces fell back as sell and eventually resulted in the Siege of Limerick and eventually a treaty. Great article on it here:

https://sluggerotoole.com/2020/04/25/busting-the-historical-myths-conclusion-the-battle-of-the-boyne/

It seem to turn at the point Saint-Ruhe quite literally lost his head. 

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2022 at 4:09pm
Anyone see that 'Free Fallin' video going round 

Cruel but so funny 

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2022 at 12:06pm
https://twitter.com/AmandaFBelfast/status/1546458639644360704" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/AmandaFBelfast/status/1546458639644360704

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2022 at 12:19pm

https://twitter.com/AmandaFBelfast/status/1546458639644360704" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/AmandaFBelfast/status/1546458639644360704
You’d have more respect for him if he just said that this is a hate fest and we’re all bigoted ****s.

Posted By: Stickittotheman
Date Posted: 15 Jul 2022 at 5:23pm

You’d have more respect for him if he just said that this is a hate fest and we’re all bigoted ****s.

We don't care that they burn our flag, elected reps posters or GAA flags. Couldn't care less. What we do care about is being lectured by the great and good who tell us we should be more tolerant and inclusive. If we just be really nice, talk nice and show interest then the Unionists will come around. We know because we live it every day- they will never come around so it's pointless.