URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=44887
Printed Date: 17 May 2024 at 2:14pm

Topic: Warrior Ireland
Subject: Warrior Ireland
Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 9:39pm
Reckon it wont be long till we see Warrior making our stuff. Its even worse than Umbro.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 9:55pm

Reckon it wont be long till we see Warrior making our stuff. Its even worse than Umbro.

The 2 Liverpool home kits have been superb, especially last seasons. Away kits have been rank tho.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 9:57pm

What's your reasoning there? I dont care less if Penneys make our stuff but Umbro do seem to have a good relationship wit the FAI and JD

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 10:10pm
I reckon Umbro will more or less cease to exist as a bona fide sportswear manufacturer. They have lost all but 2 or 3 teams and we are one of them. Umbro store is closed, and reckon JC will move the FAI Umbro franchise contract over to his new franchise warrior. Then again this is all speculation of courseWink  Even carrolls have no Umbro stock anymore bar the old kiddies stuff that they are trying to offload.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 10:15pm

I reckon Umbro will more or less cease to exist as a bona fide sportswear manufacturer. They have lost all but 2 or 3 teams and we are one of them. Umbro store is closed, and reckon JC will move the FAI Umbro franchise contract over to his new franchise warrior. Then again this is all speculation of courseWink  Even carrolls have no Umbro stock anymore bar the old kiddies stuff that they are trying to offload.

Nike own umbro worldwide these days, don't they?

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 10:16pm
the online store has gone to sh*te Thumbs Down

Posted By: KING-CON
Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 10:18pm
Why Warrior? Where is the logic in presuming it'll be them?

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 10:20pm
wonder if there is anything written in the press about this...................

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 10:21pm
JC is promoting Bernard Brogan and his Warrior boots on Twitter. Havent seen him promoting Umbro on here in ages and Umbro store is gone.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 10:23pm
Bring back O'Neills.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 10:32pm
Both the Umbro Ireland facebook and twitter accounts are still active so I doubt there will be a change any time soon. The brand its self does seem to be quickly disappearing down the toilet though. Umbro do a grand job IMO.  I'd welcome a switch back to Adidas and wouldn't mind seeing O'Neills getting the contract. Not mad on Nike football stuff and Warrior can go fook themselves. 

https://www.facebook.com/umbro.ie" rel="nofollow - https://www.facebook.com/umbro.ie
https://twitter.com/UmbroIreland" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/UmbroIreland

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 10:34pm
Umbro out, Warrior in

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 10:34pm
Give O' Neills the job , great bunch of lads

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 10:36pm
Didn't JC come on here recently and was talking about umbro Ireland and how it is different to umbro international or something? Not sure what thread it was in.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 10:39pm
They talk about on their website:  http://www.umbro.ie/about-us-246648cm2.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.umbro.ie/about-us-246648cm2.html

There is no point on them pushing a dead brand like Umbro so maybe a similar deal with Warrior is on the cards.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:10pm
anyone but WarriorDead

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:21pm
Have had a number of O'Neills Bohs tops over the years, the quality has been uniformly sh*te, having seen the stick umbro get on here I can guarantee that this place would explode if they started making the shirts again.

Posted By: GreenArmy!
Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:21pm
I quite like the gear Umbro have designed for us in the last few years.
Not a fan of warrior either, some (not all) of the kits they've made for Liverpool have been shocking.
Would like to see us stick with Umbro.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:26pm
Back to adidas for me.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:29pm
Macron for me ClapClap

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:33pm

Back to adidas for me.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:42pm
Wouldn't mind seeing what Puma would come up with for us

but Adidas would be great! Horrible to see them make stuff for the pub team. They can do so much better!

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:46pm
same sh*t, different day

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 12:00am
http://www.solocheck.ie/PurchasedCoReport?companyNumber=152987" rel="nofollow - http://www.solocheck.ie/PurchasedCoReport?companyNumber=152987

If anyone wants to pay the money and go sieving through the details. I don't think umbro here actually has anything to do with umbro international. Umbro international seized to exist here in 1978 ( http://www.solocheck.ie/PurchasedCoReport?companyNumber=62252" rel="nofollow - http://www.solocheck.ie/PurchasedCoReport?companyNumber=62252 ) and umbro financial seized to exist in 2000 ( http://www.solocheck.ie/PurchasedCoReport?companyNumber=273839" rel="nofollow - http://www.solocheck.ie/PurchasedCoReport?companyNumber=273839 ).

I think Umbro here is actually toplion sportswear http://www.toplion.com/contacts.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.toplion.com/contacts.html

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 12:18am
Think they bought an Umbro franchise Seany.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 12:33am

I see . I like a lot of umbro gear, especially some of the anthem jackets. Obviously the big 3 on it ruins most things. Unfortunately, no matter which company produces are gear we are going to be stuck with a sponsor on the front.

Posted By: skylarking
Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 1:01am

I see . I like a lot of umbro gear, especially some of the anthem jackets. Obviously the big 3 on it ruins most things. Unfortunately, no matter which company produces are gear we are going to be stuck with a sponsor on the front.

I don't really care if it's made by Michael Guiney's, I just hope we get rid of that poxy sponsor. We are still the only country in the world who doesn't have a genuine replica kit for sale. If there is a new manufacturer we should organise a boycott until they get rid of the sponsor - hit em where it hurts.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 1:10am
Ah great, hadn't seen one of these threads in a while.  FAI in debt up to their bollix  - solution - find a sponsor willing to sponsor the FAI without putting their logo on the shirt. Sure there must be loads of sponsors willing to do that, given the current economic boom time we are living in. 

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 1:25am

Ah great, hadn't seen one of these threads in a while.  FAI in debt up to their bollix  - solution - find a sponsor willing to sponsor the FAI without putting their logo on the shirt. Sure there must be loads of sponsors willing to do that, given the current economic boom time we are living in.

Why should we remain the only nation in the world who puts up with this nonsense? We cheer on our team when we're getting hopped off, never cause trouble and are widely regarded as the best supporters of any national team (just look at the effusive comments from people around the world on the yt vids of the fans singing against Spain). We don't owe the FAI anything - they owe us!

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 6:52am

Yep be happy to stick with Umbro as for that warrior stuff , naff is one word  for it if you ask me Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 7:25am
I am the warrior-Patty Smith
Top tune,JCs new theme song

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 9:50am
Originally posted by skylarking skylarking wrote:

Why should we remain the only nation in the world who puts up with this nonsense? We cheer on our team when we're getting hopped off, never cause trouble and are widely regarded as the best supporters of any national team (just look at the effusive comments from people around the world on the yt vids of the fans singing against Spain). We don't owe the FAI anything - they owe us!

All completely irrelevant. Pandora is out of the box as far as the sponsor goes. Who in the name a jesus is gonna sponsor us for equal or more money and get less return (i.e. the logo plastered everywhere) As Deise says, if the FAI was coming down with cash, no bother at all. Until that shiny new stadium is paid off or 10k people suddenly fancy the idea of the vantage club - forget it.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 9:55am
toplion on the shirt, jules rimet still gleaming
30 years of sponsorship, never stops us dreaming

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 10:43am
Well AntrimMan, no wonder the FAI continue to act as they do if loyal supporters like yourself are willing to take everything lying down. We're such a passive nation of little bitches sometimes, we just accept everything as it is. What's so hard about a boycott?

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 10:51am

Well AntrimMan, no wonder the FAI continue to act as they do if loyal supporters like yourself are willing to take everything lying down. We're such a passive nation of little bitches sometimes, we just accept everything as it is. What's so hard about a boycott?

Boycott what? The matches. No. Just no.

The jerseys? Don't generally feel the need to buy the latest jersey but anyway. Look the logo is going nowhere. It'd be interesting to know how much the FAI get from the sponsorship deal as opposed to individual jersey sales. The current contract with Umbro runs to 2020 as JC likes to remind us - not sure about the one with 3.

TBH, i'd rather focus on things we can do something about, .ie, the singing section, atmosphere etc.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 11:34am
I wonder if umbro international seizes to exist, can umbro Ireland (toplion) produce products for the Irish market?

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 8:52pm

The jerseys? Don't generally feel the need to buy the latest jersey but anyway. Look the logo is going nowhere. It'd be interesting to know how much the FAI get from the sponsorship deal as opposed to individual jersey sales. The current contract with Umbro runs to 2020 as JC likes to remind us - not sure about the one with 3.

TBH, i'd rather focus on things we can do something about, .ie, the singing section, atmosphere etc.

Jaysus no, not the matches! Shocked
I think the jersey issue is something we can do something about, just let the FAI know we're getting pissed off with not being able to get something EVERY country in the world has for the last 25 years. Not that hard really - get everyone showing up in Ybig jerseys instead!

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 9:01pm

I think the jersey issue is something we can do something about, just let the FAI know we're getting pissed off with not being able to get something EVERY country in the world has for the last 25 years. Not that hard really - get everyone showing up in Ybig jerseys instead!
It was mentioned at a FLO meeting I'm sure and the FAI said there would be no chance of this being changed.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2013 at 9:42pm
The fans cant do anything about the jersey sponsor as SS says. With a bit of common sense surely you can do the maths and understand why. As a wild guesstimate I'd say it's worth more than €1.5m/yr to them. Its not just people who attend matches that go around promoting 3. Nearly every high street in the country are promoting 3 through a sports shop having the jersey in the window. Even moreso when we qualify for tournaments like last year. Its a huge asset and this money is vital to pay JD's salary and an overpaid, underachieving management team.

Whatever about doing it when every game was selling out and ticket prices were at a premium during the Tiger, you must be joking if you think there is ever a chance of them pulling the plug on that revenue stream at the moment. And in my opinion is they should never pull it because its a fantastic money spinner for Irish football. And no I would rather not have the sponsor either but so be it. 

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 11:59am

So we all boycott the shirt and 3 withdraw sponsorship, how do you propose the fai deal with the loss of millions of euros of revenue from 3?

Increased ticket prices at lansdowne?

Lay offs for most if not all the rdos?

Please advise where the cuts should be made and how that will brnefit irish football

Posted By: Eddie Rincon
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 1:45pm
all this is something that has been echoed before on this and other sites. The way to change it is to voice your objection to the sponsor, tell them you think they are w**kers for exercising this right and defiling the national shirt. We could start a petition online. At least they may have to respond in some way. 

Perhaps they will remove the sponsor on the next shirt as a consequence and receive lots of good publicity as a result. I will simply not buy the shirt in it's current form and have never owned an Ireland home shirt because of this. If people didn't buy it they might change approach.

Anyone have a good site for petitions like this? Then we can see how many people will support this. 
Will see if avaaz.org will work for this...

porque el Baron Rojo Sur dice...

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 1:47pm
as said previously people will pay a little extra for the real shirt.and they will sell more of them to people like me. I have no problem with the sponsor on other products like training gear which i do still buy

Posted By: irelandshirts
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 2:06pm
If the "3" sponsorship deal is worth say 2 million a year to the FAI currently.The FAI go to 3 and say "lads the fans don't want the 3 logo on the front of the replica shirts what can you do?".

3 say "No bothers John we will agree to that but we are going to reduce our sponsorship to 1.2 million a year because of it is that ok?

JD says "Great stuff the lads on YBIG will be made up".

At say 60 euro a shirt all the FAI need now to plug the guaranteed 800,000 euro a year gap in their commercial income is for the 13,500 Irish fans like Eddie Rincon who don't buy the Irish kit on principle because of the blob, to step up to the plate and not only buy one shirt but sign a contract to guarantee that they will buy a shirt EVERY year to fill that gap.Simples.

WWW.IRELANDSOCCERSHIRTS.COM

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 2:11pm
don't see many big dirty three's in your collection  and the average fan is not to blame for the FAI's incompetence.

Sack Trap and JD and you make that money back quite quickly. 

By your logic they should turn the shirt into a bloody Nascar joke and charge less at the gate! 

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 2:12pm
Originally posted by Eddie Rincon Eddie Rincon wrote:

all this is something that has been echoed before on this and other sites. The way to change it is to voice your objection to the sponsor, tell them you think they are w**kers for exercising this right and defiling the national shirt. We could start a petition online. At least they may have to respond in some way. 

Perhaps they will remove the sponsor on the next shirt as a consequence and receive lots of good publicity as a result. I will simply not buy the shirt in it's current form and have never owned an Ireland home shirt because of this. If people didn't buy it they might change approach.

Anyone have a good site for petitions like this? Then we can see how many people will support this. 
Will see if avaaz.org will work for this...

surely this a piss take?

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 2:19pm
I promise a brighter future! We can all have a collection as nice as Irelandshirt's. I have come out of the closet for this!Embarrassed

Sign if you agree and share it through Facebook if you want us to get a proper public response from three and the FAI. It will only take you a minute.

https://www.change.org/petitions/three-ie-and-the-fai-football-association-of-ireland-take-the-sponsor-s-logo-off-irish-national-team-shirts#

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 2:22pm
No piss take. Don't see the big deal. Sign if you agree. Don't if you don't care. 

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 2:25pm
Originally posted by Eddie Rincon Eddie Rincon wrote:

I promise a brighter future! We can all have a collection as nice as Irelandshirt's. I have come out of the closet for this!Embarrassed

Sign if you agree and share it through Facebook if you want us to get a proper public response from three and the FAI. It will only take you a minute.

https://www.change.org/petitions/three-ie-and-the-fai-football-association-of-ireland-take-the-sponsor-s-logo-off-irish-national-team-shirts#

ToucheClap

There is a lovely sponsored shirt worn by the senior team for you EddieWink

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 2:28pm
haha . Very good! I was at that game too.

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 2:43pm
There ya go Eddie!Dont want you thinking im biased in any way to unsponsored shirt!

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 2:50pm
Just copped its a capital I, but worth correcting all the same

It is important because it defiles our national jersey. To the best of my knowledge, no other country does this and it is against consumer rights laws in Ireland to sell a shirt like this as a 'replica' bIt because FIFA outlaws national teams from competing with sponsors logos on their shirts.

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 2:51pm
Im all for sponsors logos on the front of shirts eddie.I wish you well in your campaign.Someday everyone could have a collection like mine!-brilliantClap

Posted By: AaronFever
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 5:32pm
Lads, is there anything to be said for another mass?

played three, won one, lost two, scored none

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2013 at 10:01pm
Think you could be right about warrior Trap junior. Toplion sportswear, distributors of our kit are after purchasing warrior branding for the Irish market.

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2013 at 10:07pm
It all makes sense doesn't it? JC isn't on here flogging Umbro anymore, The Umbro stores have disappeared and Umbro have lost all their international teams bar us and wales. Even Bohs dont have Umbro now. 

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2013 at 10:16pm
Contracts suppose to be up in 2019 so what would happens to the excess money owed to the FAI if umbro plugged the plug.

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2013 at 10:27pm
They will switch over the contract to Warrior and Toplion will keep paying the money that was in the umbro contract I imagine.

Posted By: savo01
Date Posted: 25 Sep 2013 at 2:53pm
Who remembers this folks?  Why is defacing the national flag any different to defacing the national jersey? 

UnbelieveABLE; Fury as Guinness hijack tricolour..then refuse to pay 'fine' to charity

Byline: NIALL MOONAN

GUINNESS were at the centre of a bitter row yesterday for refusing to donate cash to a http://encyclopedia.thefreedictionary.com/Childrens+hospital" rel="nofollow - children's hospital A children's hospital is a hospital which offers its services exclusively to children. The number of children's hospitals proliferated in the 20th century, as pediatric medical and surgical specialties separated from internal medicine and adult surgical specialties. .

The brewing giant declined to make a http://financial-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/EUR" rel="nofollow - EUR EUR

In currencies, this is the abbreviation for the Euro.

Notes:
The currency market, also known as the Foreign Exchange market, is the largest financial market in the world, with a daily average volume of over US $1 trillion.
100,000 donation to Crumlin Hospital in Dublin to "make amends" for its "offensive" World Cup flag campaign.

Guinness had produced tricolours with the company logo on to help boost sales during the tournament.

But the promotion backfired after many groups and members of the public accused Guinness of being http://www.thefreedictionary.com/disrespectful" rel="nofollow - disrespectful dis·re·spect·ful
adj.
Having or exhibiting a lack of respect; rude and discourteous.

disre·spect
to the flag.

The company admitted they "got it wrong" by plugging the black stuff on the tricolour, but refused to respond to a call from Third World charity Trocaire to make a donation to Crumlin Hospital by way of an apology for the offence caused by the promotion.

The Guinness flags, bearing the harp logo and the words "Pure Magic", http://www.thefreedictionary.com/Infuriated" rel="nofollow - infuriated in·fu·ri·ate
tr.v. in·fu·ri·at·ed, in·fu·ri·at·ing, in·fu·ri·ates
To make furious; enrage.

adj. Archaic
Furious.
the charity.

Spokesman Justin Kilcullen said: "Guinness don't put logos on flags without it being part of a very well thought out promotional campaign.

"It's all to do with bottom line - there are massive, massive profits being made out of this World Cup by Guinness and I feel that a half-hearted apology is not good enough.

"It was an offence to the nation, it's an offence to the people and I think that they should pay."

Mr Kilcullen added that if Guinness were genuinely sorry they should follow http://encyclopedia.thefreedictionary.com/Gary+Kelly" rel="nofollow - Gary Kelly
For the CEO of Southwest Airlines, see Gary C. Kelly.

Gary Kelly (born 9 July 1974 in Drogheda) is a retired Irish professional footballer who played his whole career for Leeds United. and Niall Quinn's lead and support children's hospitals in Ireland and Britain. The soccer idols have already given EUR1.5million to hospitals in both countries. Mr Kilcullen told http://encyclopedia2.thefreedictionary.com/RTE" rel="nofollow - RTE (1) See runtime engine.

(2) (Real-Time Executive) The operating system used in the HP 1000 series. See HP 1000.
radio: "The place was coming down with flags, we didn't really need more flags.

"As Niall Quinn said himself, it's time to put something back, and I would ask Guinness now to make the gesture.

"Niall Quinn and Gary Kelly have made a fantastic gesture to put more than a million-and-a-half euros of their own money into this and I think it's time for Guinness to put something back into this now, and this is an opportunity."

But Guinness yesterday said it already contributed heavily to charity.

Spokesman Pat Barry said: "We had a promotion which was helping Irish people to wave the Irish flag at a time when their team was involved.

"We attached our name to the flag because Guinness is already heavily involved in soccer."

He said it was wrong to suggest the company made millions from the World Cup.

And he refused to commit Guinness to handing over the EUR100,000. He said: "That is a trite suggestion which does not take account of the fact that Guinness has a substantial involvement in the community.

"One hundred grand is a drop in the ocean compared to what we already give to charities and organisations across the country."

Mr Barry apologised for the flag promotion.

He said: "We have said we're sorry. We did get it wrong and immediately we judged the reaction from the public we stopped the campaign and we issued flags without our logo."

Jackie Charlton, Eoin Hand
Johnny Giles. Ireland
Mick McCarthy, Stephen Staunton
Cascarino
Tony Galvin, Niall Quinn
Packie doesn't let em in
North of Ireland
South of Ireland
Only one can go

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2013 at 2:56pm
this guy sells unsponsored jerseys by the way.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/REPUBLIC-OF-IRELAND-HOME-SHIRT-BNWT-UNSPONSORED-VERY-RARE/300956531849?rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D286%26meid%3D1537524024306291041%26pid%3D100005%26prg%3D1048%26rk%3D4%26rkt%3D5%26sd%3D261293972007%26#ht_861wt_1255" rel="nofollow - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/REPUBLIC-OF-IRELAND-HOME-SHIRT-BNWT-UNSPONSORED-VERY-RARE/300956531849?rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D286%26meid%3D1537524024306291041%26pid%3D100005%26prg%3D1048%26rk%3D4%26rkt%3D5%26sd%3D261293972007%26#ht_861wt_1255  

Johnny Giles. Ireland
Cascarino
Tony Galvin, Niall Quinn
Packie doesn't let em in
North of Ireland
South of Ireland
Only one can go

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2013 at 3:14pm
Complete fake jersey

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2013 at 3:20pm
Originally posted by savo01 savo01 wrote:

this guy sells unsponsored jerseys by the way.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/REPUBLIC-OF-IRELAND-HOME-SHIRT-BNWT-UNSPONSORED-VERY-RARE/300956531849?rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D286%26meid%3D1537524024306291041%26pid%3D100005%26prg%3D1048%26rk%3D4%26rkt%3D5%26sd%3D261293972007%26#ht_861wt_1255" rel="nofollow - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/REPUBLIC-OF-IRELAND-HOME-SHIRT-BNWT-UNSPONSORED-VERY-RARE/300956531849?rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D286%26meid%3D1537524024306291041%26pid%3D100005%26prg%3D1048%26rk%3D4%26rkt%3D5%26sd%3D261293972007%26#ht_861wt_1255  

I got one from him. 2010 one. Lovely jersey. Unsponsored

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2013 at 4:53pm
i've had about 4/5 jerseys from him.  These are player issue ones so far from fake.  absolute class is what they are. 

Johnny Giles. Ireland
Cascarino
Tony Galvin, Niall Quinn
Packie doesn't let em in
North of Ireland
South of Ireland
Only one can go

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2013 at 8:09pm
See Wales are sponsored by Adidias now. Only ourselves, Norway and Azerbaijan are the only European national teams sponsored by Umbro. I guess we won't find out until the next campaign if we will be switching to warrior or not.

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2013 at 8:34pm

See Wales are sponsored by Adidias now. Only ourselves, Norway and Azerbaijan are the only European national teams sponsored by Umbro. I guess we won't find out until the next campaign if we will be switching to warrior or not.

As far as i know they only have Canada outside of Europe. On a serious winding down

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2013 at 8:59pm
Was talking to a lad who's club gets their jerseys from Umbro. And he says Ireland will be gone from them next year. Could just be speculation. Have no problem with Umbro. Would like see Adidas back. Quality jerseys.

Posted By: The E
Date Posted: 16 Nov 2013 at 9:06pm

Was talking to a lad who's club gets their jerseys from Umbro. And he says Ireland will be gone from them next year. Could just be speculation. Have no problem with Umbro. Would like see Adidas back. Quality jerseys.

Hopefully. I think we need a change.

PropaghandE

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2013 at 9:09pm
Sports Direct are always way cheaper than the FAI shop, that tells its own story!

Only in Ireland Confused

Adidas gear is extremely expensive, i noticed that big time since Sunderland went to them. 

Quality non the less, but if we went to either Nike or Adidas i hope to god we make sure and have a kit design that isn't the same as 20 other countries, bar the colour. 

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2013 at 9:13pm
I'd imagine if we do change it'll be to Warrior sports.

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2013 at 9:25pm

Why Warrior? Any other countries who've been with Umbro haven't changed to Warrior

PropaghandE

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2013 at 9:31pm
Originally posted by The E The E wrote:

Why Warrior? Any other countries who've been with Umbro haven't changed to Warrior

Toplion sportswear, distributors of our kit are after purchasing warrior branding for the Irish market

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2013 at 10:24pm
Warrior are muck

Posted By: newrynyuk
Date Posted: 16 Nov 2013 at 11:24pm

Warrior are muck

Too true.  Have a look at their efforts for Liverpool.  The home kit is okay, but the away and third kits and the training gear is truly minging:-

http://store.liverpoolfc.tv/warrior/s/c" rel="nofollow - http://store.liverpoolfc.tv/warrior/s/c

I fear the worse if/when Warrior get the Ireland contract

Posted By: Deco79
Date Posted: 17 Nov 2013 at 11:02am
Would the Wales adidas deal have anything to do with Gareth Bale's links to them!
I would love to see Ireland return to adidas or even the O'Neills retro jersey they have before going with warrior who's kits and training gear are awful IMO just as other posters have said too...

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2013 at 11:04am
Why are we being linked with Warrior and where did this come from, why isnt it Adidas, or Nike or anyone else for that matter?

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2013 at 11:15am
too easyLOL

Posted By: johnnycee
Date Posted: 17 Nov 2013 at 3:17pm
Exactly Nvidic.....Non sense speculation and a one man confusion campaign by TJ, we do many other brands than Umbro and Warrior so why are these not being mentioned as possible successors if this was true? Umbro will be on FAI shirt for 2014 and beyond as per our FAI contact which is with Umbro Ireland and not Umbro International. Umbros new owners Iconix who are a $8 billion company are currently signing up new clubs and national associations which will be announced in due course as naturally teams and associations are not all just readily available....

Don't believe everything you read in the news papers

Posted By: Shamrock
Date Posted: 17 Nov 2013 at 3:18pm
Originally posted by johnnycee johnnycee wrote:

Non sense speculation and a one man confusion campaign by TJ, we do many other brands than Umbro and Warrior so why are these not being mentioned as possible successors if this was true? Umbro will be on FAI shirt for 2014 and beyond as per our FAI contact which is with Umbro Ireland and not Umbro International.

ClapThumbs Up

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2013 at 3:27pm

Exactly Nvidic.....Non sense speculation and a one man confusion campaign by TJ, we do many other brands than Umbro and Warrior so why are these not being mentioned as possible successors if this was true? Umbro will be on FAI shirt for 2014 and beyond as per our FAI contact which is with Umbro Ireland and not Umbro International. Umbros new owners Iconix who are a $8 billion company are currently signing up new clubs and national associations which will be announced in due course as naturally teams and associations are not all just readily available....

Will the new Warrior jerseys have the sponsor on it?

PropaghandE

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2013 at 3:29pm

Will the new Warrior jerseys have the sponsor on it?

JC, the factory shop still be open ?

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2013 at 3:33pm

Any idea as to why Umbro Ireland gear is far more expensive in our very own FAI shop, than it is everywhere else? Is there nothing you or whoever else in charge of dealing with the FAI, to bring down the price of merchandise? 

Posted By: foggy.nelson
Date Posted: 17 Nov 2013 at 3:45pm
Anyone have any luck getting the new ireland goalkeeper jersey. Cant find the orange one anywhere online or in shops

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2013 at 3:49pm
Originally posted by foggy.nelson foggy.nelson wrote:

Anyone have any luck getting the new ireland goalkeeper jersey. Cant find the orange one anywhere online or in shops

irelandshirts has them all.

PropaghandE

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2013 at 4:34pm

Originally posted by foggy.nelson foggy.nelson wrote:

irelandshirts has them all.

Date Posted: 27 Dec 2013 at 11:18pm
With Shamrock Rovers now with Warrior its only a matter of time before the Ireland stuff is Warrior imo. If as JC says its going to be umbro why have Bohs and Rovers both left umbro as nearly every other umbro team? Why has the umbro shop in westmoreland street been discontinued?

If it is umbro then why the sudden "extinction" of the brand? When is the next home jersey coming out if it is umbro?

Date Posted: 27 Dec 2013 at 11:27pm

With Shamrock Rovers now with Warrior its only a matter of time before the Ireland stuff is Warrior imo. If as JC says its going to be umbro why have Bohs and Rovers both left umbro as nearly every other umbro team? Why has the umbro shop in westmoreland street been discontinued?

If it is umbro then why the sudden "extinction" of the brand? When is the next home jersey coming out if it is umbro?

who really cares as long as jcs company continue to sponsor irish football all is good

Posted By: GreenDodger93
Date Posted: 27 Dec 2013 at 11:51pm
God help up if warrior take over, rotten gear. Those Rovers kits are poison and we've seen their many Liverpool jerseys

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2013 at 1:04am
its not a fashion parade

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2013 at 3:11am
''I think Eire should wear pink and navy as they are very in this coming spring''
http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2012/3/15/1331829337068/Gok-Wan-007.jpg

Posted By: JAVIER
Date Posted: 28 Dec 2013 at 5:23am
i like the adidas shirt with some greener boomerangs like in the shirt, it was for euro 92 but that shirt was great, plus the older logo or badge from fai was better than the new one

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2013 at 8:03am

This !

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2013 at 1:13pm

Bohs went to Macron because the deal was far better financially than the previous umbro and diadora deals, simple as that.

The warrior home Liverpool kits have actually been very nice, it's the away ones that look bogey. I see no reason to doubt JC on this anyway.

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2013 at 1:47pm

Bohs went to Macron because the deal was far better financially than the previous umbro and diadora deals, simple as that.

The warrior home Liverpool kits have actually been very nice, it's the away ones that look bogey. I see no reason to doubt JC on this anyway.

Why the Rovers switch then? They were Umbro Irelands marquee team.  If Umbro Ireland are different to Umbro international then why have they lost at least 2 of their main LOI teams? Why has the umbro shop shut down never to be seen again-presumably? Why has the umbro.ie website not been updated in ages? It still has Rovers as one of their teams. It's still advertising the  black Ireland jersey as the 'new Ireland away kit' which was launched last March. Why have nearly every umbro team in Europe switched to someone else?  The company has been asset stripped of every team it seems. We will see what Pats and Cork have next season.
 Just seems logical to me that there is a mass move away from umbro by all its teams so I don't see why Ireland would be any different.  I'm sure JC can switch over the contracts to Warrior seeing as he holds both licences here.

'Oh and one more thing sir...'
http://gocreate.com/workouts/images/columbo1signed.jpg

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2013 at 1:49pm
Trap 'Colombo' Junior Clap

Posted By: valo88
Date Posted: 28 Dec 2013 at 2:30pm
No doubt theyre pulling out/being sold off worldwide, sure look at their remaining teams they sponsor here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Umbro#National_teams ...sweet f**k all left.

But I reckon we're with them as per contract agreements till 2020. My guess is i that time we wont see as many jerseys released as we have in the past few years, and if we see new ones they'll most likely be rehashed designs.

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2013 at 3:33pm
I'd suggest you read my reply which I've reposted - especially the second half on it! TJ has a personal agenda and is a WUM...end of! He hasn't a clue what he's talking about and it's pure biased speculation! That's the end if my biting on this issue...tired repeating the same old thing....

Posted By: foggy.nelson
Date Posted: 28 Dec 2013 at 3:34pm
I quiet like our umbro stuff.. we have got some great one off stuff that we wouldnt get with other brands, and johnnycee is a personal touch which we simply wouldn't get with adidas nike puma or o'neills. One gripe I have is the current jerseys dont fit great on my beer belly(possibly not umbro's fault ) on this note what happened to umbros robbie keane 60 goals jersey which was mentioned on twitter

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2013 at 3:53pm

I'd suggest you read my reply which I've reposted - especially the second half on it! TJ has a personal agenda and is a WUM...end of! He hasn't a clue what he's talking about and it's pure biased speculation! That's the end if my biting on this issue...tired repeating the same old thing....

Just stating the facts that Umbro have been asset stripped of nearly all their teams JC.  I have asked you about the Westmoreland Street Store but you never replied. When it first shut you said on here that it was the high rent but then why didn't you go back into Carrolls? And they hardly stock Ireland stuff anymore, just leftover kiddies sizes and reject stock basically from what I see. Seems strange thats all.

As head of Umbro ireland and supposedly wanting to rebuild the Umbro brand (or just maintain a strong footing in Irish football)  it just seems unusual that you would move Rovers over to Warrior and let other teams go somewhere else.  Is Warrior your main brand now? No personal agenda at play here just curious.Thumbs Up  Any idea when the new home jersey is coming out?