URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=44795
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 10:06am

Topic: Best town in Ireland for a stag
Posted By: Huggybeer
Subject: Best town in Ireland for a stag
Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 2:11pm
Lads is there any need to leave these shores for a Stag party?
Which town are you most likely not to get arrested in, whilst sinking to the lower levels of depravity?

Recommendations, previous experience all welcome

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 2:13pm
Carlow on a Saturday night Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 2:32pm
ARAN ISLANDS IS THE ONLY JOB FOR THIS

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 2:46pm
lads a few reasons why wouldent go a miss..

i didnt know there was a hooters in the Arans or carlow

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 2:51pm
Dublin.

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 3:11pm
Originally posted by Huggybeer Huggybeer wrote:

The Foundry is one of Leinster's premier nightclubs in terms of size and reputation, it's packed every Saturday night without fail. 

Tullow Street is the golden mile of pubs in Carlow Town Centre, basically there are 10+ pubs along the strip whether it's on the left or right side of the road. There is also a Casino that stays open until 6.00 am every morning, so you'll find no shortage of getting a late drink down there.

Carpenters, Reddys, Raceys and Teach Dolmain (great dinner menu too) are at the top of the strip, these pubs are classic old school bars where some of the best pints in Carlow are served.

As you walk further down into the Town Centre, you will see The Med Bar and The Barracks both are for the more mature crowd, especially the classy Med Bar. Scraggs (best pub in Carlow for all ages) Tullys and Levs (younger crowd but very cheap drink) O'Loughlins (Rugby Bar with very nice pints) and the hidden gem The Tavern is a top spot for pints just on the lower end of the strip.

There are also some lovely restaurants and takeaways etc for your convenience! 

Plenty to do during the day away aswell, it all depends what you would have in mind if it's not drinking LOL

The Talbot, Dolmen Hotel, Seven Oaks etc are all top notch hotels too! I also have numbers for B&B's that do packages for Stags Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 3:15pm
Depends on what you like I suppose. I loved the Aran Islands, but some lads would hate it as it does not have a nightclub.  

Maybe you should outline the sort of things you are looking for and what sort of age group the lads are and what they like to do on a stag. 

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 3:32pm

Depends on what you like I suppose. I loved the Aran Islands, but some lads would hate it as it does not have a nightclub.  

Maybe you should outline the sort of things you are looking for and what sort of age group the lads are and what they like to do on a stag. 
I think the fact that he mentioned hooters says it all. That narrows it down to probably Cork Dublin and possibly Galway for strip joints. Don't know any other town or city with a strip joint.

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 3:46pm
I hear Carrick on Shannon is the best town for Stag do's.

They're meant to be easy going enough with drunk lads and no problems with door staff etc.

Maybe El Nino could confirm.

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 3:49pm

They're meant to be easy going enough with drunk lads and no problems with door staff etc.

carrick is a decent town but far from the best around.Depends what you are looking for but its hard beat Dublin for a night out.

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 3:52pm
I'd mine in Galway, can't really go wrong there in my opinion.

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 3:53pm
I was at a great stag in Tullamore a few years ago, plenty of pubs and you can do a tour of the Tullamore Dew place.

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 4:19pm

Was there the weekend before last, jammed with hen do's. a decent spot, door men were grand, good selection of pubs late bars/clubs. We got cracking weather which made it tbh, ya can't beat beer gardens for the day.

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 4:25pm

Carrick is always full of stags and hens so the door staff know the Craic. Always a good buzz about the town on the summer weekends. Would definitely recommend it.

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 4:30pm

The Foundry is one of Leinster's premier nightclubs in terms of size and reputation, it's packed every Saturday night without fail. 

Tullow Street is the golden mile of pubs in Carlow Town Centre, basically there are 10+ pubs along the strip whether it's on the left or right side of the road. There is also a Casino that stays open until 6.00 am every morning, so you'll find no shortage of getting a late drink down there.

Carpenters, Reddys, Raceys and Teach Dolmain (great dinner menu too) are at the top of the strip, these pubs are classic old school bars where some of the best pints in Carlow are served.

As you walk further down into the Town Centre, you will see The Med Bar and The Barracks both are for the more mature crowd, especially the classy Med Bar. Scraggs (best pub in Carlow for all ages) Tullys and Levs (younger crowd but very cheap drink) O'Loughlins (Rugby Bar with very nice pints) and the hidden gem The Tavern is a top spot for pints just on the lower end of the strip.

There are also some lovely restaurants and takeaways etc for your convenience! 

Plenty to do during the day away aswell, it all depends what you would have in mind if it's not drinking LOL

The Talbot, Dolmen Hotel, Seven Oaks etc are all top notch hotels too! I also have numbers for B&B's that do packages for Stags Thumbs Up

Savage detail GD, definatly in the running, although reddladd and 9fingers are putting a good case for carrick

Cheers lads, Strip club not a must have but a good night life and good few boosers are..throw into the mix a few hens for the craic & banter and were on a winner

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 4:36pm
Dingle is a top place for a stag. Plenty of hens and stags knocking around down there at weekends coupled with beautiful scenery and lots of pubs it's a great spot.

Only downside is it can be a hell of a drive.

I second Carlow, was there on a stag nearly three years ago. Good craic eventually.
Only downside was we were knocked back for being in fancy dress but I would put that down to one or two lads acting the maggot on other boozers and then word spread amongst the door staff via the mic system.

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 4:47pm
One place I would avoid is Killarney for a stags. I lived and worked there back in the 90s and was there for a stag and I thought it was rubbish for the stage in my view.  

Posted By: Andkend
Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 6:12pm
Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

I was at a great stag in Tullamore a few years ago, plenty of pubs and you can do a tour of the Tullamore Dew place.

Johnny Houghs in Banagher in Offaly - one of the best pubs ever - great town and on the shannon so get a boat while you are at it.

I shared a house with a stripper for a year and at weekends she was often doing call outs for stags - herself and another girl made a fortune doing stags in some of the quieter irish towns. Don't go to them, they will come to you.

https://www.facebook.com/Houghs.Pub" rel="nofollow - https://www.facebook.com/Houghs.Pub

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 6:33pm
Killkenny is a fine spot for a stags plenty of options pub wise, the kilford arms is a good spot to base yourselves grand spot accom wise

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 6:36pm
I was at a couple of stags in Limerick and thought it was a good city.There is a paint balling place and if you book them they sort out a good deal for you in Jurys. We paid €80 for two nights accommodation and paint balling on the Saturday afternoon.

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 9:49pm
I was in Galway for two stags and wouldn't be top of my list. It was a 3hr bus journey for us too and that didn't help as we were half cut getting off the bus but its a c u n t of a drive. Was in Kilkenny for a couple of stags also and even though it was also a 3hr journey it was well worth it. Loads of great pubs close together and loads of hen nights there, even though gangs of women just annoy me generally unless they are on the end of my knob. Clonakilty is a good spot for a stag although I thought the women were scarce enough there. One stag I wasn't really looking forward to because it's close enough to me was in Dingle. It turned out to be the best stag I was ever on. Craic was mighty and drank a heap of pints in Dick Macks that night with some fine American women. Sometimes I guess you don't have to look too far from home to have a good night

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 9:52pm
Clare Island

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 9:56pm
Originally posted by Andkend Andkend wrote:

Johnny Houghs in Banagher in Offaly - one of the best pubs ever - great town and on the shannon so get a boat while you are at it.

I shared a house with a stripper for a year and at weekends she was often doing call outs for stags - herself and another girl made a fortune doing stags in some of the quieter irish towns. Don't go to them, they will come to you.

https://www.facebook.com/Houghs.Pub" rel="nofollow - https://www.facebook.com/Houghs.Pub

Pics?

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 9:56pm
Feck yeah, I just remembered - 19 of us hired three boats from Banagher for a stag. Absolutely brilliant craic. We went down the way rather than up the way, but still. If you went up, you could go to Athlone for a night out. If you go down, there are a few places with nice enough pubs (Terryglass, Killaloe etc). We were away for three or four days - if you only go for one or two, it might not suit so well, but if you are going for a few days, it is great craic.

Edit: I should add, it wasn't even that expensive. I think it worked out about €150 per person, for the boat hire for four days. Given that there was no need to pay for accommodation, it worked out as great value.

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 10:04pm

Originally posted by Andkend Andkend wrote:

Pics?

no way!

She gave it up and now manages a bar in Cork - miss spent youth and all that - she's not Irish.

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 10:37pm

This

Posted By: finnanselbow
Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 11:16pm
Carrick
Dingle
Kilkenny
Clonakilty

Tend to prefer smaller cities / towns, less chance of losing people

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 11:26pm
cheers boys knew Id have the right audience for this question

been to a few of the spots mentioned, would never have thought of Dingle, but will do a bit more homework,,cheers again lads

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 11:29pm
Killarney might be worth a look too. 

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 11:31pm

killarneys good for a night out but not for a stag. Like Westport, great for a night out but not the right vibe for a stag

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 11:35pm

killarneys good for a night out but not for a stag. Like Westport, great for a night out but not the right vibe for a stag

was at a few in Westport and always enjoyed them.50 of us headed down there for a stag a few years ago and it was brilliant craic.

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 11:42pm

was at a few in Westport and always enjoyed them.50 of us headed down there for a stag a few years ago and it was brilliant craic.

Yeah each to their own I suppose, a great spot no doubt though

Posted By: Shamrock
Date Posted: 18 Jun 2013 at 12:22am
Letterkenny is good.

But it all depends on what 'badness' you want to get up to. It has some cracking pubs and clubs.

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2013 at 7:31am
Not that I like seeing stags taking up the whole space in my local but Westport is very popular with stags.Ye'd definitely have a good night there

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2013 at 2:53pm
I'm just going to repeat this:

BOOOOOOOOAAAAAATTTSSSS!!!!

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2013 at 3:16pm

did you get your deposit back - my friends who had a stag on the boats lost 1500euro - crashed the boats twice due to a certain person not knowing their left from their right hand.

A german friend I have here did it too and they lost about 250 off the deposit -

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2013 at 3:21pm

I like the boat idea dave, not being stuck in one place unless your haven the craic, but your talking about lads locked
getting on and off a boat
& B. Lads driving a boat while locked

is it not a disaster waiting to happen, no fatalities on your trip no?

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2013 at 3:31pm

I like the boat idea dave, not being stuck in one place unless your haven the craic, but your talking about lads locked

Well, you tend to be a little bit hungover during the day - so you don't actually drink that much. Also, they don't go that fast. There is always one or two sober enough lads too, so it's grand. Plus, you obviously have to moor them at night - we tended to tie up by about seven or eight o'clock before going drinking properly. They are easy enough to get in and out of too. Over the four nights we were away, out of 19 of us, not one lad fell in the water (albeit I absolutely fecked my knee up on the last night in a dance-off related injury when we gatecrashed some girl's 30th birthday party in a pub in Terryglass).

In terms of the deposit, the only thing we suffered was a lost anchor. No idea how that happened but it was only about €20 extra each, so not much. I'm not sure I'd recommend it if you are only going away for one or two nights, but if you are going for a bit longer (say, over the August bank holiday weekend) then it definitely makes sense (albeit it is probably a fair bit pricier in August than it is in March, which is when we did it, two years ago).

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2013 at 3:35pm

Well, you tend to be a little bit hungover during the day - so you don't actually drink that much. Also, they don't go that fast. There is always one or two sober enough lads too, so it's grand. Plus, you obviously have to moor them at night - we tended to tie up by about seven or eight o'clock before going drinking properly. They are easy enough to get in and out of too. Over the four nights we were away, out of 19 of us, not one lad fell in the water (albeit I absolutely fecked my knee up on the last night in a dance-off related injury when we gatecrashed some girl's 30th birthday party in a pub in Terryglass).

In terms of the deposit, the only thing we suffered was a lost anchor. No idea how that happened but it was only about €20 extra each, so not much. I'm not sure I'd recommend it if you are only going away for one or two nights, but if you are going for a bit longer (say, over the August bank holiday weekend) then it definitely makes sense (albeit it is probably a fair bit pricier in August than it is in March, which is when we did it, two years ago).

Ye Wedding is Paddy's weekend so March is about right, you are selling it Dave, fair play

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2013 at 3:42pm
Cork is a great place for a night out........everything central and some fantastic pubs. Kind gets in under the radar but i always enjoy being out on the lash down there.

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2013 at 4:07pm
Hmm, I'm not entirely sure when they start hiring the boats out. I know when we did Paddy's weekend a couple of years back, it was the first weekend they rented the boats that year. They may not be available until that weekend - although of course I suppose money talks and if you said you wanted to hire three boats (we hired two 6+2 berth ones and an 8+2 berth one) it would probably come in around €2,500 for 20 of you, so I'd say they'd make it work.

Try these ones: http://www.cruise-ireland.com" rel="nofollow - http://www.cruise-ireland.com

(01) 278 1666
(048) 3834 4993

Sure ring them and see.

Posted By: jamo1
Date Posted: 18 Jun 2013 at 4:56pm

Feck yeah, I just remembered - 19 of us hired three boats from Banagher for a stag. Absolutely brilliant craic. We went down the way rather than up the way, but still. If you went up, you could go to Athlone for a night out. If you go down, there are a few places with nice enough pubs (Terryglass, Killaloe etc). We were away for three or four days - if you only go for one or two, it might not suit so well, but if you are going for a few days, it is great craic.

Edit: I should add, it wasn't even that expensive. I think it worked out about €150 per person, for the boat hire for four days. Given that there was no need to pay for accommodation, it worked out as great value.
Yep would recommend this also, great bars along the way, only thing is been hungover on the water not a good combination plenty of sick down the sides of the boats but great craic all the same.

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2013 at 5:03pm
Ballymena

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2013 at 5:04pm

Ballymena

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2013 at 1:20pm
A mate of mine from Switzerland is having his stag in Dublin in November.
Being from Dublin I've never had the need to book anywhere to stay here but his mate was on to me looking for some info on somewhere decent to stay, they don't really want a hostel but a basic hotel will do.
Also want to keep them out of temple bar for the weekend. All stags I've been on have been outside Dublin so had never really had to consider having problems getting into places. I reckon there'll be around 12-15 people going. Never really see stags outside temple bar is that because they aren't welcome?

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2013 at 1:24pm
Originally posted by The Saint The Saint wrote:

Being from Dublin I've never had the need to book anywhere to stay here but his mate was on to me looking for some info on somewhere decent to stay, they don't really want a hostel but a basic hotel will do.
Also want to keep them out of temple bar for the weekend. All stags I've been on have been outside Dublin so had never really had to consider having problems getting into places. I reckon there'll be around 12-15 people going. Never really see stags outside temple bar is that because they aren't welcome?

just save yourself the hassle of even looking into this and just book into Coppers. You know you're going to end up there anyway.

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 13 Aug 2013 at 1:26pm

The hotel above the Bleeding Horse (Camden Court?) is OK, not to dear, no issues with stags staying and handy enough location.

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2013 at 1:27pm

Tip is always bring into groups 3. Never arrive up in a big group of 15 lads.   

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2013 at 2:05pm

Being from Dublin I've never had the need to book anywhere to stay here but h<SPAN style="LINE-HEIGHT: 1.4">is mate was on to me looking for some info on somewhere decent to stay, they don't really want a hostel but a basic hotel will do.</SPAN>

<SPAN style="LINE-HEIGHT: 1.4">Also want to keep them out of temple bar for the weekend. All stags I've been on have been outside Dublin so had never really had to consider having problems getting into places. I reckon there'll be around 12-15 people going. Never really see stags outside temple bar is that because they aren't welcome?</SPAN>

just save yourself the hassle of even looking into this and just book into Coppers. You know you're going to end up there anyway.

What Sausy said. Any of the hotels around Harcourt/Camden St . will be fine and they won't be expensive if booked in good time.

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2013 at 2:51pm
harcourt hotel is ideal and you can get rooms for 3.

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2013 at 3:02pm

harcourt hotel is ideal and you can get rooms for 3.

That's very cheap.

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2013 at 3:28pm
Thanks lads Thumbs Up

Posted By: Jackthelad
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 4:30pm
Trying to organise 1 for early July.
Requirements - staying in ireland.
no further than 3 hours from Ennis.
Capable of catering for a big crowd.
Have considered spots like westport, achill island and can't see anything that jumps out.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 5:03pm
Sligo, Donegal, Bundoran, Westport, Galway, Dingle, Killarney, Kenmare, Killkenny and a few others.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 5:05pm
Walsh Island

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 5:09pm

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 5:16pm
Any of yous been in Cardiff before on a stag? Heading on one there next month

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 5:23pm

Any of yous been in Cardiff before on a stag? Heading on one there next month

Have been in Cardiff and Swansea and both are deadly spots.You wont be disappointed.

Posted By: ripbomb
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 6:09pm
Cardiff is a dump.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 6:16pm
cardiff top notch , it has it all for a stag 

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 6:43pm
Decided on Westport.
Best man is in NZ and had to pick soon.
Anybody know an option suitable for a large stag accommodation wise? Obviously will look to keep costs down while organising it.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 7:27pm
Originally posted by Jackthelad Jackthelad wrote:

Decided on Westport.
Anybody know an option suitable for a large stag accommodation wise? Obviously will look to keep costs down while organising it.

The Wyatt Hotel will be perfect for a large group,I was on a stag there last year with 40+ on it and we all stayed there,it was €50 pps.Want to be booking that asap ,Westport is very busy during the summer months.

I actually doubt you will get all your group staying in one place in Westport in July,there will be very few places without a lot of bookings already.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 7:30pm
Cardiff is a kip although Antrim man likes it.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 7:42pm

Cardiff is a kip although Antrim man likes it.

Galway has just recently pipped it Baldrick

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 8:08pm
Are we talking glasgow sort of kip?
f**kin expensive enough.£195 for 2 nights before flights (including white water rafting and quad biking)
Guts of 800/900 needed for the whole thing

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 8:10pm
That's the thing. Went to Edinburgh a few years ago. €800 for the weekend all counted, madness really.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 8:13pm

Decided on Westport.

The Wyatt Hotel will be perfect for a large group,I was on a stag there last year with 40+ on it and we all stayed there,it was €50 pps.Want to be booking that asap ,Westport is very busy during the summer months.

I actually doubt you will get all your group staying in one place in Westport in July,there will be very few places without a lot of bookings already.

Bloody hotel prices are very high the weekend I'm looking at. Balls. Well I say very high, €285 for double room for 2 nights.
But when your getting 4/5 hours sleep and goin on the liquor again nearly 300 quid is expensive for a room.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 9:24pm
Lads what would ye expect to spend on a weekend in Ireland  for 2 days/nights?€800 isnt that bad for a trip away when all is included.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 9:29pm

Lads what would ye expect to spend on a weekend in Ireland  for 2 days/nights?€800 isnt that bad for a trip away when all is included.
No more than €300 to cover accommodation (assuming sharing a room with some other fart on the stag), booze and grub. €800 is bloody ridiculous.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 9:33pm
Just book the train to dublin loads of options accom wise and you can suit even the smallest budget gargle wise

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 9:40pm

Heading to Kilkenny on one in April.

Cost is

€140 for accom for 2 nights, food, excursions.

€30 travel

€150 -€180 for booze and more food.

€350 in total and I'm happy with that, what the hell do you be doing that costs €800?

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 9:50pm
The accom was ridiculously priced then there was the flights and d 2 days of beer.
It was sinful lesson learned.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 9:50pm
Yer right lads I actually started doing up the figures there for what I spent on the last stag I was on in Westport and €800 is way off.
€120 for hotel 2 nights
€30 Train
€250 -€300 on booze and food.
Probably gamble a nice wedge as well but sure you're hoping to make money there.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 9:54pm
Ya theres an enormous difference like.
I booked my parents a week in fuengirola in may flights + accom for the 2 of them €550.
That puts it into perspective.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 10:00pm
The best man for this wedding is based in oz so he's got some crowd to sort hotel and activities and transfers. Their markup would be a lot of the cost.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 10:04pm

Ya theres an enormous difference like.
I booked my parents a week in fuengirola in may flights + accom for the 2 of them €550.
That puts it into perspective.

You cant really compare a weekend break to a resort/sun holiday.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 10:07pm

The best man for this wedding is based in oz so he's got some crowd to sort hotel and activities and transfers. Their markup would be a lot of the cost.

Those stag booking companies are a scam.No reason it cant be done by the best man its all internet based shouldn't matter that he is in Oz.
A whatsapp group text with dates, hotel name and flight numbers is all thats needed ,let everyone book there own.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 10:09pm
Yep f**k them companies. Its straightforward to do it yourself.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 10:30pm
Irishmuff is from Westport, I am sure he would put ye up and could probably do with a few quid to buy a burd a pint

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 10:35pm

Irishmuff is from Westport, I am sure he would put ye up and could probably do with a few quid to buy a burd a pint
Bluff could also throw in an oul seanachai session to keep the lads amused LOL

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 10:35pm
I'm organising a stags were going to Lisbon in April. Flights €100, accommodation €100 for two nights. Spending money, who knows but a beer is €1.50 and a meal is about €13.

Would spend more on a weekend away in Ireland.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 11:13pm

I'm organising a stags were going to Lisbon in April. Flights €100, accommodation €100 for two nights. Spending money, who knows but a beer is €1.50 and a meal is about €13.

headed to Lisbon in may BH with some friends so would be interested in how you got on

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 11:20pm
No problem. I'll email you a things to do in Lisbon, that a Lisbon fellah living in Dublin did up. It was for two birds but some of the info is useful.

Have heard nothing but good things about Lisbon

Posted By: athlonecelt
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 11:23pm
Stay away from Stag companies. Total rip off. They offer sh*te like VIP treatment in a nightclub. Would you ever f**k off. You get to skip 2 lads in the queue and a table is reserved. Horrendous waste. They offer a free shot in a pub. It's in a pub that nobody would chose to go into. They get backhanders from the sh*te pub. You're actually paying for them to take the choice of where you want to drink away from you

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2015 at 11:24pm

No problem. I'll email you a things to do in Lisbon, that a Lisbon fellah living in Dublin did up. It was for two birds but some of the info is useful.

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2015 at 7:09am

headed to Lisbon in may BH with some friends so would be interested in how you got on
Wow that shocked me ................. I never knew you had friends .

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2015 at 12:49pm

Was in Lisbon myself in September, beautiful place, make it to the old palace.
Nice and compact which is always a bonus for me.

Posted By: Croftman
Date Posted: 10 Feb 2015 at 1:06pm

It's far better to go abroad, either to the UK or a city on the continent. You'll get flights as cheap as a train here, accomodation for half the price, drink for half the price and no hassle getting into pubs or clubs. Was in Prague for one last summer:

Flights €80
     3 Nights in a rented apartment €80 each
     Bus to/from Airport €30
     Drink - not much at €1.50 each & food the same

If you're going somewhere here you should look into renting a house or apartment(s) and split the costs. All you want is a bed and a shower really so no point paying €100+ each a night for a few hours kip.

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2015 at 6:13pm
Ok folks Im heading to Killarney tomorrow morning.Where are the best places to head early in the day for racing/football on tv and near a bookie's ?

Best clubs/pubs at night ?

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 03 Apr 2015 at 6:50pm
O'Connors on High Street is a grand spot and has a PaddyPowers across the road. Fine pints of guinness in there as well, its where i normally go when myself and the missus go down to visit her family.

In terms of clubs we normally go to the Crypt or the Grand, both good spots.

Posted By: Jerryfromkerry
Date Posted: 03 Apr 2015 at 7:23pm

Ok folks Im heading to Killarney tomorrow morning.Where are the best places to head early in the day for racing/football on tv and near a bookie's ?

Best bet is the Speak Easy on High Street Paddy Power across the road and they have TVS with the odds and show all the races. Nice pint of Guineas too will set you back €4.

No man has the right to fix the boundary to the march of a nation. No man has the right to say to his country “thus far shalt thou go and no further"

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2015 at 7:43pm
Originally posted by Jerryfromkerry Jerryfromkerry wrote:

Best bet is the Speak Easy on High Street Paddy Power across the road and they have TVS with the odds and show all the races. Nice pint of Guineas too will set you back €4.

Jaysus how did i forget about the Speak, quality pub and quality guinness.

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2015 at 8:14pm
Yes High Street would be your best bet for drinking around the bookies. Collage Street for late evening then. The Grand would be the best place for you to end up Rossi. Good Guinness in the front bar and most times a rebel band on there. Nightclub wouldn't be outstanding but the DJ in the bar keeps the craic going for the lads and lassies there. Crypt is full of stuck up ****s most times and f**k all atmosphere there

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2015 at 8:36pm
Only been to the Crypt a few times but I've always enjoyed it, I much prefer the Grand though.

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2015 at 8:37pm
Cheers lads Clap.Really looking forward to this trip not too often I would be down that part of the country.I presume the town will be hopping on a bank holiday weekend.

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2015 at 8:50pm
Town is hoping every weekend. Sunday night will probably be even busier than Saturday night. Have a good one

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2015 at 8:56pm

Town is hoping every weekend. Sunday night will probably be even busier than Saturday night. Have a good one

Posted By: Jerryfromkerry
Date Posted: 04 Apr 2015 at 1:21pm

Cheers lads Clap.Really looking forward to this trip not too often I would be down that part of the country.I presume the town will be hopping on a bank holiday weekend.

Come June the town is hopping every night not just weekends. Enjoy.

No man has the right to fix the boundary to the march of a nation. No man has the right to say to his country “thus far shalt thou go and no further"

Date Posted: 04 Apr 2015 at 1:34pm

Yes High Street would be your best bet for drinking around the bookies. Collage Street for late evening then. The Grand would be the best place for you to end up Rossi. Good Guinness in the front bar and most times a rebel band on there. Nightclub wouldn't be outstanding but the DJ in the bar keeps the craic going for the lads and lassies there. Crypt is full of stuck up ****s most times and f**k all atmosphere there

I second everything said here about the grand. Was down paddys weekend for the football and ended up here both nights and was great spot. Overall found Killarney to be a great town for weekend away will definitely be back down again

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2015 at 3:57pm
Carlow for stags