URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=44007
Printed Date: 17 May 2024 at 6:59pm

Topic: Reports of an explosion at Boston Marathon
Subject: Reports of an explosion at Boston Marathon
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:03pm
Earlier reports of 2 explosions at the finish line of the Boston Marathon

http://www.businessinsider.com/explosion-at-boston-marathon-2013-4" rel="nofollow - http://www.businessinsider.com/explosion-at-boston-marathon-2013-4

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:09pm
Disturbing pictures on Fox news. Looks to have come from inside a building at the finish line.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:12pm
Image on twitter shows a few casualties. ffs Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:12pm
Dozens seriously injured, first reports. Bit too much of a coincidence to be anything other than a terrorist attack IMO

Deaths now it seems

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:15pm
Jaysus kerzy, you love to rush to judgement dont you :)   FFS. 

Internal or External   Terrorists. 

Gas  Explosion or a  Bomb

Endless possibilities.

Posted By: Dukla
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:16pm
Shocking & Horrible news

Posted By: deisedevil
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:18pm
always said this running marathons craic was dangerous

looks like they got away lightly though

FOX news jumping to more conclusions than Kerrzy

Posted By: Mulvanystrasse
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:18pm
Guys at work here in Boston are getting photos from people with cellphones in copley square.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:21pm
Some graphic pictures on twitter. Not good.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:22pm
Would not be like Fox to whip up fear amongst its viewers.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:22pm
Marathon sports it seems according to some lad on American news. 

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:24pm
I know a lad who is running in this. f**king hell.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:26pm
Fookin hell. 2 explosions weren't in the same position so seems like a Bomb attack as opposed to a gas explosion. Wonder if the gun nuts

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:30pm
Fox saying at least three fatalities

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:36pm

Jaysus kerzy, you love to rush to judgement dont you :)   FFS. 

Internal or External   Terrorists. 

Gas  Explosion or a  Bomb

Endless possibilities.

I said it was my opinion based on what I heard. What is the likelihood of a gas explosion or something similar at the finish line of the Boston marathon the one day it is held. Huge coincidence or the most likely reason.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:40pm
I dont know the liklihood of anyting as all the details are secondary at best and sketchy etc.  that is why I would not jump to any conclusion. I did not say if it was gas or not.  Way to early to say exactly what it was they do not even know if it is thrash can or a store or what exactly caused the explosion.  

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:42pm
http://vine.co/v/bFdt5uwg6JZ" rel="nofollow - http://vine.co/v/bFdt5uwg6JZ

1st explosion

Posted By: The_Yank
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:45pm
What the f**k...

Marathons were the last safe place Cry

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:47pm
1 explosion on each side of street. 4hrs 9mins on clock so all fun runners/ ordinary folk caught in it. Awful stuff

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:49pm
Some proper clowns on twitter...

jackie greenwood @Concerned001
#Boston false flag? Is@it possible Obama would do something like this? Yes. he is Muslim and hates U.S.

This genius seems to have forgotten about 9/11...
Patrick Dollard @PatDollard
GEORGE BUSH KEPT US SAFE FOR 8 YEARS AND ONCE AGAIN @BarackObama FAILS AS TERRORISTS BOMB BOSTON MARATHON is.gd/yhzvxB #p2 #dnc

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:50pm

1st explosion

'kin 'ell Shocked

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:51pm
Shocking story!

3 confirmed deaths according to
Sky News, so so sad!

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:52pm
Hope to fcuk there arent more bombs scattered to cause further carnage.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:52pm
Originally posted by Hoosay Hoosay wrote:

Some proper clowns on twitter...

jackie greenwood @Concerned001
#Boston false flag? Is@it possible Obama would do something like this? Yes. he is Muslim and hates U.S.

This genius seems to have forgotten about 9/11...
Patrick Dollard @PatDollard
GEORGE BUSH KEPT US SAFE FOR 8 YEARS AND ONCE AGAIN @BarackObama FAILS AS TERRORISTS BOMB BOSTON MARATHON is.gd/yhzvxB #p2 #dnc

Good jaysus. That second clown does realise 9/11 happend on Bush's watch

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:55pm

This is what I'm fearing

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:55pm
What the f**k is wrong with some people??  Why would you do that?? Censored

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:57pm
Jaysus Trap there is some on here on other threads here have argued in favour of explosions being used for political purposes in other times. 

Posted By: EastStandMan
The news on fox is getting worse . Ten folk with blown off limbs.

Shamrock Rovers - lovin the buzz .

This is what I'm fearing

There'll be a controlled explosion on Boylston Street.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:58pm
RIP

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:59pm

1st explosion

Jesus Christ

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 8:59pm
Police about to carry out a controlled explosion on another device they have found

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:00pm

Jaysus Trap there is some on here on other threads here have argued in favour of explosions being used for political purposes in other times. 

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:00pm
Originally posted by El_nino El_nino wrote:

Police about to carry out a controlled explosion on another device they have found

Its not necessarily a device. Just something that may be. Common protocol in this situation

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:01pm
https://twitter.com/BostonDotCom" rel="nofollow - - @ https://twitter.com/BostonDotCom/status/323884793005740032" rel="nofollow - 13m

RT https://twitter.com/Fara1" rel="nofollow - - fara1 : Police officer near Boston Marathon finish line: 'There are secondary devices that have been found and are unexploded.'

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:04pm
An attack on Freedom, Democracy and Liberty. 

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:06pm
No confirmation it is an attack at any point yet.  

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:07pm

No confirmation it is an attack at any point yet.  

ConfusedConfused So what is it?

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:08pm
I dont know but there is no confirmation it is an attack yet.  Once it is an attack it is then safe and ok to call it one, but without any confirmation that it is, it is just idle speculation to state it is.  

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:09pm
unconfirmed reports just there of a 3rd explosion 

Posted By: kopkid
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:09pm
Jaysus know a lad running in this, he's safe and sound thank God

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:10pm

I dont know but there is no confirmation it is an attack yet.  Once it is an attack it is then safe and ok to call it one, but without any confirmation that it is, it is just idle speculation to state it is.  

Confused I give up

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:11pm
Wonder if the gun nuts had anything to do with this

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:11pm
Kerzy, do you understand how this works. Read what I said.  I have not said it is one thing or the other. 

Others on here, with very little facts have said its an attack.  They do not have any confirmed evidence to say this. It may or may not be an attack.  I have not said it is one thing or another as I do not know. 

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:12pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rfCK3Ar7Yus&feature=player_embedded" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rfCK3Ar7Yus&feature=player_embedded

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:12pm
@Independent_ie: Small homemade bomb is the preliminary cause of the #BostonMarathon explosion, according to authorities.

People thinking it wasn't a bomb

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:13pm
Who thought it wasnt a bomb seany.

Posted By: The_Yank
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:14pm
I would have been around the finish line if I was there.. scary stuff
timing of device to go off when the majority of runner cross

This is not a gas explosion.. but unknown if it was a suicide bomber or just set devices

Something like this, it is easy to sneak bombs into these events.. no bag check happen at all

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:14pm

The gun nuts are gun nuts. They just really really like their guns. Why on earth would they detonate a bomb at the finish line of a marathon?

HystericalConfused

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:15pm

BREAKING: Small homemade bomb is preliminary cause of explosion at Boston Marathon, law enforcement officials tell NBC News

— NBC Nightly News (@nbcnightlynews)  https://twitter.com/nbcnightlynews/status/323890213254479874" rel="nofollow - April 15, 2013

by Catherine Cloutier  " rel="nofollow - 9:11 PM

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:15pm
Jesus christ horrific scenes on sky news Cry

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:16pm

Kerzy, do you understand how this works. Read what I said.  I have not said it is one thing or the other. 

Others on here, with very little facts have said its an attack.  They do not have any confirmed evidence to say this. It may or may not be an attack.  I have not said it is one thing or another as I do not know. 

You know it was 2 bombs. What is the point you're trying to make? you're just trying to be cantankerous.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:16pm

grow up FFS, stop making this about you. Every thread like this you try to hijack

Posted By: kimbap
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:17pm

I get your point and half the stuff posted here,elsewhere and on FOX news etc in the aftermath of an incident like this look stupid in the hours and days afterwards,

However TWO explosions happen at the finish line of the Boston marathon on Patriots day.
This is a terrorist attack of some sort.I don't need the obvious confirmed.

Here Kerrzy and Baldy, quit your petty squabble ffs. 

Only point I am making is that you should not speculate idly about things as serious as this. 

Forward on facts or substantiated reports.  Not idle speculation or in LD's case just empty rhetoric. 

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:18pm
Originally posted by heighway2heaven heighway2heaven wrote:

The gun nuts are gun nuts. They just really really like their guns. Why on earth would they detonate a bomb at the finish line of a marathon?

HystericalConfused

Eh because a lot of them are fcuking Cletus type idiots who'd do anything thinking it would help them make their point.

Also how am I being hysterical by putting forward a theory Confused

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:19pm
WTFShocked  ......any idea who, why or how this happened?

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:19pm
@Independent_ie: If you know someone who was running the marathon, you can track them here: http://t.co/5Z6i4WmMFQ. Many participants had already finished.

http://raceday.baa.org/individual.html" rel="nofollow - http://raceday.baa.org/individual.html

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:20pm

grow up FFS, stop making this about you. Every thread like this you try to hijack

Posted By: irish boogie
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:20pm

Confused I give up

2 explosions on 20 secs and outside different buildings , and now ball bearings found on street ? sounds like homemade bombs ?

Thank You Torun and Tyskie

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:22pm
Originally posted by kimbap kimbap wrote:

I get your point and half the stuff posted here,elsewhere and on FOX news etc in the aftermath of an incident like this look stupid in the hours and days afterwards,

However TWO explosions happen at the finish line of the Boston marathon on Patriots day.
This is a terrorist attack of some sort.I don't need the obvious confirmed.

Deise put up a brilliant article not long ago about this sort of thing.  About how most of the early reports on any major incident are often proved at a later date to be factually incorrect. 

Idle mass speculation about such serious issues is unhealthy and dangerous but if others think I am trying to make it about me well all I can say is Confused

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:28pm
https://twitter.com/John_Barrington/status/323895234406797312" rel="nofollow -

https://twitter.com/philipoconnor" rel="nofollow"> Philip OConnor Philip O'Connor @philipoconnor

Remember Twitter - if you ain't got facts, you ain't got nothing. So keep it to yourself for now. https://twitter.com/search?q=%23BostonMarathon&src=hash" rel="nofollow - #BostonMarathon

• https://twitter.com/philipoconnor/status/323895049601572864#" rel="nofollow - - Reply
  • https://twitter.com/philipoconnor/status/323895049601572864#" rel="nofollow - - Retweet
  • https://twitter.com/philipoconnor/status/323895049601572864#" rel="nofollow - - Favorite

1. https://twitter.com/John_Barrington" rel="nofollow"> John Barrington John Barrington @John_Barrington https://twitter.com/John_Barrington/status/323895234406797312" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/philipoconnor" rel="nofollow - @philipoconnor Get it right, not get it first, don't make assumptions and specualte wildly

https://twitter.com/John_Barrington/status/323895234406797312" rel="nofollow - - Details
    1:26 PM - 15 Apr 13 · https://twitter.com/John_Barrington/status/323895234406797312" rel="nofollow - Details

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:31pm

Originally posted by heighway2heaven heighway2heaven wrote:

HystericalConfused

Eh because a lot of them are fcuking Cletus type idiots who'd do anything thinking it would help them make their point.

Also how am I being hysterical by putting forward a theory Confused

Best ask Baldrick.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:31pm
Kim Jong Un???

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:33pm
3rd explosion outside JFK Library confirmed by Boston Police

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:37pm
Suspect in hospital being guarded

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:38pm
100+ Irish registered for that race... awful awful news. 

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:39pm
Savagery!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-22160691" rel="nofollow - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-22160691

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:44pm
Baldy people have died/are seriously injured/have lost limbs and all you care about is whether or not it was bombs that caused the injuries, ffs get a life will ya!

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:45pm

You're clearly a clever lad, why you feel the need to jump in on these threads (rip threads and such like) with your hypotheticals and warnings is beyond me. Why would Kerrzy need worry if he's not 100% factually correct in what he's saying? It's a football forum, I don't take anything I read on here for granted but that doesn't mean we need someone policing posts.
It's an opinion, some are right, some are wrong but that's the point, that's what's interesting. If its only 100% fact that'd allowed to be posted on here well then that's the end of YBIG IMO

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:46pm
Its unusual nobody has claimed responsibility already

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:47pm

Controlled police explosionSmile

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:47pm
A well respected Journalist like Phillip O Connor has just tweeted along the same lines. 

Soccerc who knows a thing about journalism has just tweeted along the same lines.

In a time of tragedy it is very important that people do not rush to idle speculation and rash judgement. 

As soccerc says in his tweet quoted above,  Get it right not get it first.  It is especially important when talking about serious topics like potential loss of life etc. 

And Podge,  do you think any tragedy that may or may not happen is better served by idle speculation or responsible passing of substantiated reports. 

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:49pm
Possibly a Timothy McVeigh type loon rather than organised terrorists. Idle speculation on my part though but simply on the basis of the scale of the bombs rather than anything else.

RIP.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:49pm

This been confirmed?

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:51pm
PC on cnn now

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:55pm

This been confirmed?

Fire dept said was not controlled just there

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:56pm
RIP to the 2 people who have died in the bomb in Boston and to the 55 people who have died in the bombs in Iraq today. 

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:57pm

Possibly a Timothy McVeigh type loon rather than organised terrorists. Idle speculation on my part though but simply on the basis of the scale of the bombs rather than anything else.

RIP.

If this was an Al quest operation the death toll would be much higher.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:57pm

RIP.

Thats what i think myself.As you say based on the scale of the bombs and  the fact it was Patriots day would indicate its some sort of anti Government nutjobs.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 9:58pm

RIP to the 2 people who have died in the bomb in Boston and to the 55 people who have died in the bombs in Iraq today. 

First person who have heard mention the latter, already forgotten about

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:03pm

This been confirmed?

There was a 3rd controlled explosion near the other 2. 
The JFK library is not the controlled explosion. 
The Police are treating it as a related incident. 
There was a fire at the library and it's not 100% clear if the reports from there are just confusion or if there was actually a bomb at the library, people on twitter were saying that there was no bomb at the library, but the BPD Commissioner just said in the press conference that there was an explosion and it is being treated as related right now.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:04pm

First person who have heard mention the latter, already forgotten about
They're brown people, though. 

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:05pm
If this is Al Queda, I wonder will the US stop funding and arming them in Syria now..

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:05pm
The scenes on Sky are really distressing. Its just awful

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:06pm

This been confirmed?

There was a fire at the library and it's not 100% clear if the reports from there are just confusion or if there was actually a bomb at the library, people on twitter were saying that there was no bomb at the library, but the BPD Commissioner just said in the press conference that there was an explosion and it is being treated as related right now.

Anything happen at the grassy knoll?

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:06pm

RIP.

If this was an Al quest operation the death toll would be much higher.
Shocked idle speculation, sir galahad will be after you now

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:08pm
A Saudi Arabian lad is a suspect.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:09pm

Where did you hear this? Is he in custody?

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:09pm
Sky News must be getting really pissed off that the death toll is still stuck on 2. They must have been creaming themselves at the thought of scores dead. Viewers are beginning to switch off as nothing much is happening, and that's not good for Sky. 

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:11pm

New York Post.

Investigators have a suspect — a Saudi Arabian national — in the horrific Boston Marathon bombings, The Post has learned.

Law enforcement sources said the 20-year-old suspect was under guard at an undisclosed Boston hospital.

It was not immediately clear why the man was hospitalized and whether he was injured in the attack or in his apprehension.

The man was caught less than two hours after the 2:50 p.m. bombing on the finish line of the race, in the heart of Boston.

In addition, Boston police have has surveillance video of someone bringing multiple backpacks to blast site, according to CBS News.

Police also confirmed that there was a third explosion, at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum. It was not immediately clear how much damage was done or whether it was related to the bombings at the marathon finish line.

The library bombing occurred about 4:30 p.m. and more than a mile from the marathon.

A law enforcement source confirmed to The Post that 12 people were killed and nearly 50 were injured in today's blast.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:12pm

Sky News must be getting really pissed off that the death toll is still stuck on 2. They must have been creaming themselves at the thought of scores dead. Viewers are beginning to switch off as nothing much is happening, and that's not good for Sky. 

Sad but true.

Indo has been reporting 12 dead for the last half hour.If they didnt get that from a totally reliable source then that is scandalous reporting.Havent seen it anywhere else.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:12pm

This been confirmed?

Anything happen at the grassy knoll?

There is no grassy knoll at the JFK library, they thought it would be in bad taste.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:13pm
Originally posted by kimbap kimbap wrote:

Sad but true.

Indo has been reporting 12 dead for the last half hour.If they didnt get that from a totally reliable source then that is scandalous reporting.Havent seen it anywhere else.

The Daily Mail was reporting that too, so it's pretty reliab... oh

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:14pm

New York Post.

Investigators have a suspect — a Saudi Arabian national — in the horrific Boston Marathon bombings, The Post has learned.

Law enforcement sources said the 20-year-old suspect was under guard at an undisclosed Boston hospital.

It was not immediately clear why the man was hospitalized and whether he was injured in the attack or in his apprehension.

The man was caught less than two hours after the 2:50 p.m. bombing on the finish line of the race, in the heart of Boston.

In addition, Boston police have has surveillance video of someone bringing multiple backpacks to blast site, according to CBS News.

Police also confirmed that there was a third explosion, at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum. It was not immediately clear how much damage was done or whether it was related to the bombings at the marathon finish line.

The library bombing occurred about 4:30 p.m. and more than a mile from the marathon.

A law enforcement source confirmed to The Post that 12 people were killed and nearly 50 were injured in today's blast.
New York Post - health warning

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:14pm
The New York Post is the equivalent of the Sun.

Haven't seen that report of a Saudi guy in custody anywhere else, so probably a good idea to take it with a pinch of salt.

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:16pm

You're clearly a clever lad, why you feel the need to jump in on these threads (rip threads and such like) with your hypotheticals and warnings is beyond me. Why would Kerrzy need worry if he's not 100% factually correct in what he's saying? It's a football forum, I don't take anything I read on here for granted but that doesn't mean we need someone policing posts.
It's an opinion, some are right, some are wrong but that's the point, that's what's interesting. If its only 100% fact that'd allowed to be posted on here well then that's the end of YBIG IMO

I hardly think the likes of Sky,CNN and The Irish Times are going to come looking here for facts

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:17pm
CNN coverage is pretty good from what I can see.  Gets the gravity of the situation across without being a victim of rushing to judgements and using caveats when needed.  

Posted By: gazelle.
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:18pm
No point paying attention to news atm. All just sensationalism to boost ratings. Police updates are whats important.