URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=4318
Printed Date: 18 Apr 2024 at 2:32pm

Topic: The Freewheelers gig, this Saturday night
Subject: The Freewheelers gig, this Saturday night
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 4:50am

FW’s Trad band are playing this Saturday night in O’Donoghues on Merrion Row, down from the Shelbourne.

Think there’s hopefully a few of us heading in, offer open to anyone if they’re about.

FW can confirm the time, think he said half 9 onwards

Posted By: Justice Shark
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 5:32am
Should make it in for one or two alrite

http://www.indublin.ie/Venues/Pubs/ODonoghues.aspx - http://www.indublin.ie/Venues/Pubs/ODonoghues.aspx

Mickey Mouse Ya Bleedin' Bollox

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 5:37am
might go myself, ya kicking off at 9 then FW

Posted By: gouldinho
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 5:46am
Sorry too busy winning championships on saturday Big%20smile

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 7:07am
Taking requests FW?? Big%20smile

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 7:36am
Yeah half 9 start, but we have to finish the gig at 11.30, Ollie Barden (owner) asked us to finish the music then.  Twill be a good night I reckon.  Ta for posting HM.

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 7:43am
and what about requests?!

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 7:47am
if you play we are the Champions i will pop in on the way home

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 8:23am
Sorry we don't do Queen covers Gould, ballads only........Wink, I might give a grudging acknowledgement from the stage.

Posted By: The_Yank
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 9:28am
Requests:
Sean South
Broad Black Brimmer
The Unquiet Grave
Rosc Catha Na Mumhan
Slievenamon
Peat Bog Soldiers

Any of those would be brilliant...too bad I won't be able to go to the show.. but alas I am stuck in Amerikay

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 9:38am

The Foggy Dew and The Town I Loved So Well if possible Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 9:42am
let the people sing
give me your hand
scorn not his simplicity
englands motorway

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 9:46am

let the people sing
give me your hand
scorn not his simplicity
englands motorway

Quality tune but extremely sad.

FW, how’s your version of The Rocky Road to Dublin? Do you have it in you to sing it?!

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 9:55am
ordinary man, city of chicago, the voyage..

am loving christy moore at the moment

Posted By: The Rovers
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 9:56am
Sounds good, mite drop into that. Foggy dew and grace

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 9:56am
I think I will have to try and not drink this weekend.

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 9:57am

LOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOL what did you do now ?

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 10:01am
Wonder do the freewheelers know many damo dempsey number honey monster!! 

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 10:23am
Originally posted by Justice Shark Justice Shark wrote:

Posted By: billybunter
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 10:25am
"streets of new york" please...

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 10:27am
Originally posted by gazsh gazsh wrote:

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 10:36am
Originally posted by McGoldrick2284 McGoldrick2284 wrote:

Originally posted by gazsh gazsh wrote:

anyone else wanna add smiley's?

sure what the hell

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 10:38am
I'll just add a Clap and wreck the buzz 

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 10:47am
Originally posted by The Rovers The Rovers wrote:

Wonder do the freewheelers know many damo dempsey number honey monster!! 

Honey Monster is now the  press officer, as  Freewheeler 's Phelim is too busy to answer fan's questions

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 11:35am
Wouldlove to go on Saturday but have a match on Sunday morning
Will see how the weather goes

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 11:53am
Sorry, answer to requests:

Yes:  Streets of NY, Seán South, Grace, Let the People Sing, Green Fields of France, Rare Ould Times, Broad Black Brimmer, The Voyage, Joxer, blah de blah, so plenty of Tones/Christy/Fureys/Dubliners.

No: Rocky Road To Dublin, none of us know the complete words of that, I have to go learn it cos it is a terrific song.  Don't know any Damo numbers either sorry to say, but I hope yiz will forgive us, we don't know fookin everything. 

Ger the weather might rescue you if it rains the rest of the week.

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 11:54am

Sorry we don't do Queen covers Gould, ballads only........Wink,

like bon jovi

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 11:55am
No Power Ballad sh*te either Gould, sorry.  Actually I'm not sorry......Big%20smile

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 12:10pm
ah well nobody's perfect just remember to walk down the road to the Barrow street bridge. Its the place where 113 years ago a few merry men decided to form a football club called Shelbourne. They tossed a coin to decide to call it  either Bath FC or Shelbourne and after 13 league titles 10 cups 1 league cup and a 1st division throphy it looks like the coin toss worked out well.

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 12:49pm
Originally posted by GerKeano GerKeano wrote:

Wouldlove to go on Saturday but have a match on Sunday morning
Will see how the weather goes

Just drive in Gerk. I'll be doing the same meself unless my match is off. Set will be finished by half 11 so wont be a late wan. Malahide are brutal anyway Big%20smile

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 12:56pm

Sorry, answer to requests:

Yes:  Streets of NY, Seán South, Grace, Let the People Sing, Green Fields of France, Rare Ould Times, Broad Black Brimmer, The Voyage, Joxer, blah de blah, so plenty of Tones/Christy/Fureys/Dubliners.

No: Rocky Road To Dublin, none of us know the complete words of that, I have to go learn it cos it is a terrific song.  Don't know any Damo numbers either sorry to say, but I hope yiz will forgive us, we don't know fookin everything. 

Ger the weather might rescue you if it rains the rest of the week.

This might help you learn it off FW Big%20smile

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FYzyygKJVBk&feature=related

still cant do links Disapprove

Posted By: billybob
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 2:06pm
I'm in town so might try drag someone for a few. Can we get up and sing??

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 2:47pm
have a good one FW! Clap

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 2:51pm

It's fooking killing me. That red bull rips the stomach out of ye. I still haven't gone to work this week. "worked from home". I'll try not drink this weekend and save myself for Newcastle in 2 weeks

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 3:26pm
Good man Andy! Keep up the fine work

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2008 at 4:50am
Who's gonna be about for this then?

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2008 at 4:57am
im a maybe..headin to Old Trafford on sat and unsure of what time ill be back at..

really wanna see the FW's in action!

Posted By: Tash Kent
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2008 at 5:18am

Think I will be there at some stage meeting some mates for the New Zealand game in City anyway so might be able to get them to go, will be a good few in there after the game, would imagine a load from New Zealand will be there as well.

Philip Greene RTE Radio Legend
10 Seconds Gone Here In Limerick And No Score.

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2008 at 5:40am
Originally posted by Tash Kent Tash Kent wrote:

Think I will be there at some stage meeting some mates for the New Zealand game in City anyway so might be able to get them to go, will be a good few in there after the game, would imagine a load from New Zealand will be there as well.

Ah fook all them Rugby heads will be in town on Saturday RoiteThumbs%20Down

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2008 at 6:05am

Originally posted by Tash Kent Tash Kent wrote:

Ah fook all them Rugby heads will be in town on Saturday RoiteThumbs%20Down

Not all rugby supporters are w*nkers from D2 & D4Thumbs%20DownThumbs%20Down but your right a good few of those fookers will be around the city, just hope they stick to their usual areas and pubs in the likes of Donnybrook.

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2008 at 11:08am
Il be in alright, bout 9ish id say. They'll be starting round 9.30ish isnt that rite?

Posted By: Percy
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2008 at 3:03pm
I "might" be thereWink

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2008 at 4:49pm
Right so just to clarify this, we have;

Confirmed;

Myself
The Rovers

"Mights"

Gerk
Percy
Billybob
Gazsh
Justice
Citizen
Tash
Trandy
McG

So basically it could be either about 10 of us, or just me and the Rovers.

anyone else about? Hoskins maybe? Or is it too close to your nap time?

By the way Rovers, Damo is playing in the Temple Bar Music Centre, now called The Button Factory, on 21 December. Daytime gig, tickets only 15 quid Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2008 at 6:22pm
wouldnt want to be a third tit on your big first date HM/RoversHeart

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2008 at 2:27pm
I'll do my may west to be there at the start....

One of my favourite boozers anyway

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2008 at 3:16am
How did this go???Confused

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2008 at 7:32am
What's your excuse BB?

Great little gig but didnt get to see too much.Cry

There were a few scarves indoors which needless to say Justice was not pleased.

Cue Justice on D4 Rugger head wearing scarf "Here mate are you COLD?"

Quality Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2008 at 8:03am
Myself and Gerk were in Templebar and received some inside info that influenced our decision not to attend.

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2008 at 8:15am
Originally posted by billybob billybob wrote:

Myself and Gerk were in Templebar and received some inside info that influenced our decision not to attend.

Thumbs%20Down

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2008 at 9:56am
Turned up and the place was absolutely jammers, couldnt get in door, didnt bother hanging around

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2008 at 10:03am
Originally posted by The Rovers The Rovers wrote:

Turned up and the place was absolutely jammers, couldnt get in door, didnt bother hanging around

Ye went in the wrong door rovers. I did the same until i spotted a quiet doorway and it was up there!

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2008 at 10:39am
f**k, shud have had more patience. Had a mate in buskers so when i saw d crowd in o donoghues made the quick decision to head to buskers. Was it good night anway, and was there many ybig heads there?

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2008 at 10:57am

Log on tomorrow and ask Justice what he thought!

On the gig - it was a great little show. Venue on the small side though.

Myself, HM, Justice, Tash Kent, John Giles (never posts = voyeur) showed up

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2008 at 9:53am
Ta for coming in fellas, small room alright!  Norwegians really enjoyed it though and Justice's cheerleading brought plenty of smiles.  Tash wrapped around a tall Norwegian geezer was funny as well.......LOL

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2008 at 10:45am

Was that your Norwegian fan club FW, Jaysus was fairly hammered Saturday after drinking all day don’t remember any of that, those mad Norwegians seemed to know a few Irish songs though.Clap

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2008 at 1:49pm
Yeh was good nite in O'Donoghues fair play FW.
McG then decided to head to Slapper Face Jacks so sensibly we ditched him!

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2008 at 1:51pm

Yeh was good nite in O'Donoghues fair play FW.
McG then decided to head to Slapper Face Jacks so sensibly we ditched him!

Heard you ended up back in the hotel residents bar with your Oslo buddies and the moth with the nice scarf Big%20smile