URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=43090
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 2:44am

Topic: Things that make you embarrassed to be Irish
Subject: Things that make you embarrassed to be Irish
Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 9:58pm
The political system and the stupidity of people voting/putting up with gombeenism since 1921
The pride in our ridiculous drinking culture

What else...?

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:00pm
Jedward
Bono
Ireland's Call

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:02pm
Size of me cock

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:05pm
GAA jerseys
Fianna Fail
The nod and a wink culture.
Fat chicks on holiday

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:09pm
Strong culchie accents when you're abroad. Jaysus Embarrassed

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:11pm
TV3.
Blokes wearing there GAA the day they go on holidays and the day they return

Posted By: armahibee
Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:12pm
Second the drink culture thing, half the country aren't fit to sniff a pint

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:16pm
Originally posted by armahibee armahibee wrote:

Second the drink culture thing, half the country aren't fit to sniff a pint

The other half aren't fit enough to sniff my ball sack.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:16pm
Silly little sh*te-box, isn't it.

Gombeenism.
Cúnts who vote for gombeenism.

I don't even mind the sh*te football!

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:17pm
Originally posted by Trapped Trapped wrote:

Really strong Dub accents are just as bleedin bad wha!

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:19pm

Really strong Dub accents are just as bleedin bad wha!

We'll agree to disagree.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:22pm
St patricks day is a disgrace, drunken kids everywhere

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:23pm
Fianna Fail rising in the polls again

The power of the Catholic Church still

The negative viewpoint of Irish people and their lack of enthusiasm for things and cynicisms, can be funny but overall its a bad thing. 

Irish Nuala's  

The Public Sector/Private Sector debates or conflict in Irish society. 

The licensing laws in relation to late licenses for pubs and off licenses

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:24pm
I second Paddies Day and Arthurs day.

Paddy's day is scrote central.

Bandwagonism

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:29pm

St patricks day is a disgrace, drunken kids everywhere

Was in New York for paddys day and its not much f**king better than here, ,drunken fools everywhere.

Our political seem is the biggest embarrassment.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:30pm

The power of the Catholic Church still

100% agree with Baldie on that one 

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:51pm
fianna fail, blanket bank guarantees and the utter mess it has created. 
not forgetting the state facilitated rape and torture of children and the vulnerable

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 10:57pm
Arthur's Day
The Catholic Church and their sh*te
J*****d
C*****l S***g
Tubridy
Ireland's Call

Posted By: brendy_éire
Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 11:02pm
People claiming Ireland is a "football mad nation", "best fans in the world™", etc, yet 2,000 people at a LoI match is considered a good attendance.
I don't think there's anything wrong with being glory hunting, event junkies who enjoy watching TV in the local and shouting for a foreign team, but let's be honest about it, not pretend we're somehow football fans.

And for what it's worth, I don't mind the drunken shenanigans on Paddy's day.  It's a massive tourist draw, and an internationally known day that allows us to sell ourselves to the rest of the world.
As for drunken kids, we all started on Paddy's Day (or Halloween if ye're from Derry).  It's just one of those things, no point getting upset about it.

City Till I Die

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 11:16pm
Paddies Day is the biggest embarrassment. how can you say its not. Many foreigners are shocked by what they see on Paddies day here. If you dont see anything wrong with scumbags absolutely buckled by 10pm puking their rings up all over the street and causing fights, not to mention all the geebags in their miniskirts puking up and need their mouthy mates to carry them home and then complain their drink was spiked. Eh, no love you just got rat arsed drunk and couldnt stand up and were a disgrace.  Then there is kids drinking and thinking getting absolutely pissed out of their minds and acting like a complete arsehole is tradition.  ''Ah sure it's only a bit of craic''.  ''Ah sure the politicians are doing their best.'' ''Ah sure Bertie wasn't the worst.''Dead

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 11:17pm

The negative viewpoint of Irish people and their lack of enthusiasm for things and cynicisms, can be funny but overall its a bad thing.

Definitely.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 11:18pm
TJ do you get embarrassed when Irish people say 'any craic'?

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 11:23pm

TJ do you get embarrassed when Irish people say 'any craic'?

Yes Angry

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 11:30pm
the late late show - matchmaking Confused

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 11:32pm
This guy on the late late show. f**kin hellLOL

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2013 at 11:37pm
Originally posted by heighway2heaven heighway2heaven wrote:

This guy on the late late show. f**kin hellLOL

plank comes to mind

Posted By: GreenArmy!
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 12:42am

Your lucky I havent been on an away trip yetWink

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 12:51am
Begrudgery
Southsiders being southsiders
TV3

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 12:56am
nordys
northside dubs!

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:01am
Originally posted by brendy_éire brendy_éire wrote:

People claiming Ireland is a "football mad nation", "best fans in the world™", etc, yet 2,000 people at a LoI match is considered a good attendance.
I don't think there's anything wrong with being glory hunting, event junkies who enjoy watching TV in the local and shouting for a foreign team, but let's be honest about it, not pretend we're somehow football fans.

And for what it's worth, I don't mind the drunken shenanigans on Paddy's day.  It's a massive tourist draw, and an internationally known day that allows us to sell ourselves to the rest of the world.
As for drunken kids, we all started on Paddy's Day (or Halloween if ye're from Derry).  It's just one of those things, no point getting upset about it.

Football is the most played sport in the country, thus proving that we are in fact a football mad nation.

What have fans of the Irish football team got to do with LOI attendances? Isn't supporting you're country not enough no? I mean if Ireland fans win best supporters in the world for 10 years running, what has that got to do with the LOI? 

Blah, Blah, Blah look at me i support a LOI team, how dare anyone from Ireland support a team based in the UK! Give me a break Dead

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:04am
LOI fans who judge others for supporting who they want!

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:06am
Drunken Irish. People seem to be proud of the fact that many landlords in America will not lease to Irish people. It has put me off visiting Australia, the though of drunken Irish dopes all over the place. When I lived in the UK, it was the same, drunken Irish everywhere banging on about Celtic bla bla bla.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:11am
Not being able to watch porn on the train/bus without someone asking you to turn the sound off!

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:11am

+ 1

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:12am
your usual Irish scumbags,

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:13am

+ 1

+2

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:14am

Not being able to watch porn on the train/bus without someone asking you to turn the sound off!

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:15am

nordys

northside dubs!

those from banbridge?

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:16am

noisy xhamster porn!

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:18am

Posted By: athlonecelt
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:24am
That we cant celebrate our independence or fly our flag without dogooders afraid of insulting somebody.

and if you have a tricolour at your house you are a ra head

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:37am
Irish football "fans"

Irish politicans

Catholic church

Ronan Keating

Westlife

Ryan Turd-iby

GAA mongs

The FAI

Greenforever

Kerzey

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:44am

Irish football "fans"

Irish politicans

Catholic church

Ronan Keating

Westlife

Ryan Turd-iby

GAA mongs

The FAI

Greenforever

Kerzey

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:46am
Getting outnumbered 3 to 1 at a home game.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:47am
That was embarrassing. Very upsetting too.

Posted By: Peake
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:50am

Blah, Blah, Blah look at me i support a LOI team, how dare anyone from Ireland support a team based in the UK! Give me a break Dead

What is your understanding of the word support?

Posted By: HateHenry
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:50am
Arthurs day mess in Dublin City Centre/Paddies day likewise
Badly dressed Irish people on holidays..flipflops/sandals+socks+shorts..

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 3:12am
@Peake, you have shown yourself up on here enough since you signed up. I'm not wasting my time getting into this with you.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 8:46am
Lifers leeching off the social welfare system.

The alcoholic epidemic

The healy raes

Politicians in general

The lack of professionalism from the government and their departments including the wastage of billions of euro by the public sector.

The justice system

The education system. It really is shameful the majority of kids leaving second level education only speak one language. Its more shameful they cannot speak their own.

The healthcare system...it's fookin criminal.

Our inability to exploit our natural resource to their potential. We should be self sufficient energy wise.

The bandwagon fan across all sports

The consumer culture...why aren't we as thrifty as the Germans?

The cult that is the Catholic Church

The lack of open mindedness of the irish

The lack of integration when we go abroad. I realise though most nations do this

Racism of the irish

Bigotry of one group of people towards another group of people on this island and vice versa

The lack of religious tolerance (probably linked to previous point). Plenty of evidence on the forum.

The shame of the irish drunken behaviour abroad...I'm including some of the disgraceful scenes in Poland last summer. It went overboard.

The spinelessness of the irish to stand up for whats wrong. Our demonstrations are pitiful.

That is all for now.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 9:38am

The zombies that populate Abbey Street/O'Connell Street and the Boardwalks

Irish people abroad than need to tell everyone they are Irish

The phrase "shoor de Irish are loved all over the wordeld"

The print media

TV3

"The Craic"

Skangers on Patricks Day

The shoddy justice system

The disgraceful behaviour of Irish people on the sun islands and Australia

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 9:53am
Past and present Government.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 9:58am
Out of curiosity ....

Did any of yis that said the Catholic Church get married in a church ? Honest question ..

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 10:01am
People who run down the country they live in.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 10:08am

Didn't know we live in a perfect country.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 10:15am

We don't ! No country is perfect and all have their own sets of problems. I just find it irritating that people constantly focus on the negatives. This country might have some sh*t aspects but it also has many positive ones.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 10:17am

We don't ! No country is perfect and all have their own sets of problems. I just find it irritating that people constantly focus on the negatives. This country might have some sh*t aspects but it also has many positive ones.

Spot on seany but that's not what this topic is about.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 10:20am

You mean the people who constantly whine about everything?

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 10:20am

Start a thread on things that make you proud to be Oirish

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 10:22am

Out of curiosity ....

Did any of yis that said the Catholic Church get married in a church ? Honest question ..

I'm not married but I don't intend to get married in a church. Besides the gf told me there is not a hope in hell she is having a church wedding. I like the idea of a beach wedding in somewhere like Croatia. I was at a humanist wedding last year which was very personal and special.

Posted By: brendy_éire
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 10:27am

Football is the most played sport in the country, thus proving that we are in fact a football mad nation.

That doesn't prove we're 'football mad' at all.  It just proves that football is the most played sport in the country (if you don't count swimming, that is).

Isn't supporting you're country not enough no?

Going to half a dozen matches a year does not constitute being 'mad' about football, no.

At what point did I suggest people aren't allowed to follow foreign teams?  I simply suggested that people have a bit of realism about their attitudes to football.

And for what it's worth, the event junkie-ism isn't just confined to the soccerball.
There'll be 2,000 or so punters in Celtic Park tomorrow for the NFL match against Laois.  Yet we'll bring 20,000 to an Ulster final, no bother.
Remember when the country went 'boxing mad' during the last Olypmics?  Many on here been to a boxing match since?
Derry and Cork have annual jazz festivals.  Nobody really likes jazz in this country, but come festival week, the bars are packed.
We're a nation that loves a sense of occasion, a wee day out, to feel like we're part of something.  There's nothing wrong with that at all, but let's not kid ourselves that we're all football mad, boxing-crazed GAA-heads who love nothing more than a bit of Louis Armstrong's early work to relax in the evening.

City Till I Die

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 10:34am
The Army.

Biggest waste of money there has ever been.
The bank bailout is nothing compared to the Army.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 10:35am
The fact that its more beneficial for some people to stay at home than go to work ..

WTF like ?? The welfare system here has made room for parasites to thrive. Theres way to many fookin leaches in this country . Too many lazy fookers who contribute nothing to the economy. "They cut me dole by 3 quid , who do they think they are " .... you fooking coont. Too many rights spelled out in the constitution and not enough responsibilities .... They should give the people in service more power .. like teachers , if your a welfare leach and your kid is a cheeky little fook that was dragged up by the heals BOOM , teacher tells welfare office , welfare office cuts leaches childrens allowance ... leach spends too much time in pub BOOM , publican tells welfare office  , welfare office cuts leaches dole ...

Job oxo.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 10:46am
Originally posted by athlonecelt athlonecelt wrote:

The Army.

Except that it's about 50 times the cost of running the army for a year..

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 11:22am
All you w**kers looking for excuses to justify your sorry lives.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 11:27am

At what point did I suggest people aren't allowed to follow foreign teams?  I simply suggested that people have a bit of realism about their attitudes to football.

And for what it's worth, the event junkie-ism isn't just confined to the soccerball.
There'll be 2,000 or so punters in Celtic Park tomorrow for the NFL match against Laois.  Yet we'll bring 20,000 to an Ulster final, no bother.
Remember when the country went 'boxing mad' during the last Olypmics?  Many on here been to a boxing match since?
Derry and Cork have annual jazz festivals.  Nobody really likes jazz in this country, but come festival week, the bars are packed.
We're a nation that loves a sense of occasion, a wee day out, to feel like we're part of something.  There's nothing wrong with that at all, but let's not kid ourselves that we're all football mad, boxing-crazed GAA-heads who love nothing more than a bit of Louis Armstrong's early work to relax in the evening.

LOL Very well put Sir

Posted By: fochie
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 11:30am

nordys
northside dubs!
[Quote}

People from awfully Watching Porn on Public Transport.Embarrassed

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 11:33am
Dogsh*t everywhere
Chris De Burgh

Katherine Lynch

RTE produced TV shows

TV3 investigative journalism

Dissidents

Paul McShane

Dundalk people

Taxi drivers

Illegal dumping

Skangers

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 11:34am
4-4-2

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 11:39am

All you w**kers looking for excuses to justify your sorry lives.

People who are pussy whipped scum

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 11:44am
Knackers and junkies

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 11:45am
The ROI section.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 12:18pm
Barstooling soccer fans every weekend up and down the country who claim to be football people yet don't give a flying fook about local football in their community or country. Sitting in the pub all day Saturday and Sunday kitted out in their favourite foreign team kit thinking they know it all.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 12:43pm
People who think that putting all your best attacking players into a team will make you better. Asked someone before what they thought would be an ideal midfield 4 for Ireland. They said mcGeady Hoolahan Ireland mcclean

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 12:46pm

Barstooling soccer fans every weekend up and down the country who claim to be football people yet don't give a flying fook about local football in their community or country. Sitting in the pub all day Saturday and Sunday kitted out in their favourite foreign team kit thinking they know it all.

I don't support a LOI team, i have helped to coach teams in my community for a fair few years now and play for my local team, so because i might happen to sit in the pub wearing a Sunderland shirt that makes me a barstooler and it means i don't give a f**k about local football? 

Cry me a river, no wonder people aren't arsed supporting the LOI! The snobbery is ridiculous.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 12:50pm

People who think that putting all your best attacking players into a team will make you better. Asked someone before what they thought would be an ideal midfield 4 for Ireland. They said mcGeady Hoolahan Ireland mcclean
You're embarrassed to be Irish because some people have no tactical awareness. FFS.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 12:52pm

I don't support a LOI team, i have helped to coach teams in my community for a fair few years now and play for my local team, so because i might happen to sit in the pub wearing a Sunderland shirt that makes me a barstooler and it means i don't give a f**k about local football? 

Cry me a river, no wonder people aren't arsed supporting the LOI! The snobbery is ridiculous.

EmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassed What age are you 12?

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 12:53pm

That doesn't prove we're 'football mad' at all.  It just proves that football is the most played sport in the country (if you don't count swimming, that is).

Isn't supporting you're country not enough no?

Going to half a dozen matches a year does not constitute being 'mad' about football, no.

Oh sweet jesus, so even though football is the most played sport in the country and 100,000s of people play the sport on a regular basis you really think we aren't a football mad nation Confused

Eh take off the tainted specs there, oh yeah sure all you have to do is to show up to Ireland games because it doesn't take any planning because every game is on everyones doorsteps Confused Cut the bullsh*t because you think you're better than non LOI fans, give me a break! 

Yes exactly, "their attitudes" its called being free do choose what way you want to live you're life without being judged, but the LOI heads on here look down on people who don't support the league. Just because you give Derry City a few quid a year doesn't make you better than a non LOI fan.

Posted By: kimbap
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 12:54pm

Definitely.

Spot on.

*mumbles to self, 'fecking Baldrick,always thinks hes right,that fella needs to be taken down a peg or two'Wink

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 12:54pm

Not until September Wink

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 12:57pm

Not until September Wink

prong

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:00pm

Yeah Prong are a good band Clap

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:05pm

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:07pm

You or me?

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:12pm

You or me?

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:13pm
Fair enough you got me there  LOL

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:17pm

Fair enough you got me there  LOL

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 1:25pm

Originally posted by athlonecelt athlonecelt wrote:

The Army.

Except that it's about 50 times the cost of running the army for a year..

Oh really. Sorry about that. I mistakenly took that we ran the Army every year. Didnt realise it was just a once off.ConfusedConfusedConfusedConfusedConfusedConfusedConfused 

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 2:11pm
Gufct

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 2:14pm

Gufct

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 2:29pm

[QUOTE=drog addict]Barstooling soccer fans every weekend up and down the country who claim to be football people yet don't give a flying fook about local football in their community or country. Sitting in the pub all day Saturday and Sunday kitted out in their favourite foreign team kit thinking they know it all.

[/

You are taking me up wrong here on this one. It's the majority of barstoolers down the local who have zero interest in local football not necessarily loi but Irish football as a whole be it their town or international. They are obsessed with their epl team, sky sports and their barstool. The amount of bullsh*t they talk yet have not kicked a ball since under 12's yet they think they know everything cause some sh*te journo said it in whatever rag during the week. Unlike gaa and rugby fans we do not get involved as much on a local level whatever that might be playing, coaching or supporting in some way. As a country of football fans we do more for English football than we do our own which on my opinion is fooking embarrassing especially as they are a shower of coonts.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 2:32pm
^^^^ The man speaks the truth.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 2:40pm
Random young one with low cut top big boobs. Next thing I saw was a big whale of a girl bursting hunky sores outta it.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 2:43pm

Let me say this as nicely as possible,

Dubs are utter scum be they home or abroad

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 2:49pm

Whatever ya do don't say anything about their GAA team 

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 2:55pm

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 3:20pm

[QUOTE=drog addict]Barstooling soccer fans every weekend up and down the country who claim to be football people yet don't give a flying fook about local football in their community or country. Sitting in the pub all day Saturday and Sunday kitted out in their favourite foreign team kit thinking they know it all.

[/

You are taking me up wrong here on this one. It's the majority of barstoolers down the local who have zero interest in local football not necessarily loi but Irish football as a whole be it their town or international. They are obsessed with their epl team, sky sports and their barstool. The amount of bullsh*t they talk yet have not kicked a ball since under 12's yet they think they know everything cause some sh*te journo said it in whatever rag during the week. Unlike gaa and rugby fans we do not get involved as much on a local level whatever that might be playing, coaching or supporting in some way. As a country of football fans we do more for English football than we do our own which on my opinion is fooking embarrassing especially as they are a shower of coonts.

My bad sorry mate Thumbs Up

It just annoys the f**k out of me, i'm from Carlow and there is no LOI club that near to me so i just wish for once people would take that into account. Granted i go to some EPL games, but supporting Ireland is my main passion! I'm living down in Waterford now, so i'm making it my mission to attend a few games this season.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 3:36pm

You take that back immediately.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 3:57pm

The political system and the stupidity of people voting/putting up with gombeenism since 1921

What else...?

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 4:03pm

What else...?

In fairness NR, that picture isn't Irish Wink

Posted By: kimbap
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 5:14pm

[/

Well fcuking saidClap