URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=42777
Printed Date: 26 Sep 2023 at 9:16am

Topic: Cycling
Subject: Cycling
Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 4:01pm
Haven't cycled in years looking to get a bike to do a bit of cycling, nothing major just around we're I live, is it good for losing weight. More getting one to knock the laziness off me, as drive everywhere, and would feel this to be a good form of exercise. Any advice on what one do get, don't want reel expensive one.

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 4:08pm
Can you get one on the cycle to work scheme?IF you can there are savings to be made of up to 52% of the cost of the bike.the scheme covers up to €1000 but you can add more to it if you want .

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 4:13pm

Can you get one on the cycle to work scheme?IF you can there are savings to be made of up to 52% of the cost of the bike.the scheme covers up to €1000 but you can add more to it if you want .

Didn't know about that, bit unfortunately were I working have to drive.

Posted By: jinky
Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 4:16pm
You could a good second hand racer for about 500 yoyos....I cycle to work eveyday on it... Will get you fit alright...!

tir gan teanga ,tir gan anam

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 4:17pm

It doesnt matter if you drive to work or not.Scheme is called cycle to work but there is no one checking this actually happens.

http://www.bikescheme.ie/" rel="nofollow - http://www.bikescheme.ie/

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 4:20pm

It doesnt matter if you drive to work or not.Scheme is called cycle to work but there is no one checking this actually happens.

http://www.bikescheme.ie/" rel="nofollow - http://www.bikescheme.ie/

Good man I will have a look at that over the weekend.

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 4:33pm
I got a bike on the scheme a couple of years ago, I love getting out for a cycle on the love evenings in the Summer.

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 4:35pm
Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

I got a bike on the scheme a couple of years ago, I love getting out for a cycle on the love evenings in the Summer.

Love evenings?? Keep that info to yourself

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 4:40pm
Signed up for this, the UK version, waiting for the voucher to arrive so I can get me rothar and out on the open road.

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 4:46pm
Got my bike in it not quite a mamil yet

Middle aged man in Lycra

Did a few 100km sportives and loved them. Great way to relax and for anyone carryin weight it's the best thing along with swimming as its zero impact. Running is not advisable for the rotund lad or girl.

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 5:20pm
love me bikes, all 3 of them but im considering selling my old road bike if i can get a decent price for it

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 5:22pm

love me bikes, all 3 of them but im considering selling my old road bike if i can get a decent price for it

Whats the bike you are selling?

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 5:25pm
2011 trek 1.2

http://www.trekbikes.com/ca/en/bikes/2011/archive/12" rel="nofollow - http://www.trekbikes.com/ca/en/bikes/2011/archive/12

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 5:43pm

2011 trek 1.2

http://www.trekbikes.com/ca/en/bikes/2011/archive/12" rel="nofollow - http://www.trekbikes.com/ca/en/bikes/2011/archive/12

You should have no problem selling that.

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 5:43pm

2011 trek 1.2

done a 85km cycle on my mates Trek mountain bike version of this last summer before i got my racer. very comfortable but the lads were on racers and left me for dust LOL

Giros,glue sniffing,dogs on ropes
But I see people with dreams and hopes

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 5:49pm

2011 trek 1.2

You should have no problem selling that.

probably not, just unsure whether to actually sell it or keep it as a training bike for use in the weather we are having now

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 6:41pm

Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

Love evenings?? Keep that info to yourself

Embarrassed I meant long eveningsLOL

Posted By: Andkend
Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 6:59pm

2011 trek 1.2

how much is a bike like that ?

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 7:25pm
Id cycle everywhere if it didnt piss rain every day in Galway.

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 7:34pm
Originally posted by Andkend Andkend wrote:

2011 trek 1.2

how much is a bike like that ?

about €900 new

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 8:19pm
Looks great -

Road cycling is so dangerous here in Poland - fantastic cycles in the forests and 100's of Km of national forest with cycle routes by lakes and its very flat so you can really do Km's most are connected to the rail routes and its 5pln to bring the bike on the train, but they are dirt tracks and you'd get a puncture even with a mountain bike - even in the city people cycle on the footpath and not on the road -

That sort of bike is strictly for the road yeah?

Posted By: Rostrevor Fan
Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 8:26pm
for all you mountainbikers there is an new 1.5 miilion stg trail opening in Rostrevor in April was talking to one of the contractors he said that it will bring thousands of people into the area only problem is we have no hotelThumbs Down

http://trailsbydafydddavis.blogspot.co.uk/2012/06/rostrevor-mountain-bike-trail.html" rel="nofollow - http://trailsbydafydddavis.blogspot.co.uk/2012/06/rostrevor-mountain-bike-trail.html

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 8:45pm
Looks great -

http://www.tempohousing.com/projects/festivilla.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.tempohousing.com/projects/festivilla.html

These type of container homes are popular here in Poland -

I have been windsurfing on lakes and stayed in this type of accomadation - also lots of Kayaking routes between lakes - Farmers have them on land - you pay 300pln and have the accomadation and kayaks, the guy drives you to the kayaking start, you kayak down the river to your accomadation - start off the next day and head off and he picks you up at the end of the day - so many beautiful forests and routes -

In Poland they call it Agrotourism

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 8:49pm
Originally posted by Rostrevor Fan Rostrevor Fan wrote:

for all you mountainbikers there is an new 1.5 miilion stg trail opening in Rostrevor in April was talking to one of the contractors he said that it will bring thousands of people into the area only problem is we have no hotelThumbs Down

http://trailsbydafydddavis.blogspot.co.uk/2012/06/rostrevor-mountain-bike-trail.html" rel="nofollow - http://trailsbydafydddavis.blogspot.co.uk/2012/06/rostrevor-mountain-bike-trail.html

yeah its supposed to be great alright, think theres some good trail near the quarry on the warrenpoint dual carriage way, always see plenty of people parked up there at the weekend

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2013 at 1:34am
What you looking for for your road bike shoco

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2013 at 2:25pm
about 550

its a 52cm frame with a triple chain ring

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2013 at 10:47am
http://www.poznantriathlon.pl/en/" rel="nofollow - http://www.poznantriathlon.pl/en/

This is men only - and has road biking - info in english for any triathlete fans.

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2013 at 12:08pm
Got me a bike last summer and was cycling about 20 miles a day - I lost nearly a stone in weight, but more or less gave up when the dark nights came in and put a half stone back on over Christmas.

Since I quit smoking three years ago I'd steadily put on weight and could see it continuing if I didn't do something more energetic than golf.
I was driving everywhere, like the 1 mile trip to the local shops/bookies etc.
I was driving maybe 6-10 miles everyday just doing routine stuff. 

Roll on the end of March!

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2013 at 1:43pm

Got me a bike last summer and was cycling about 20 miles a day - I lost nearly a stone in weight, but more or less gave up when the dark nights came in and put a half stone back on over Christmas.

Since I quit smoking three years ago I'd steadily put on weight and could see it continuing if I didn't do something more energetic than golf.
I was driving everywhere, like the 1 mile trip to the local shops/bookies etc.
I was driving maybe 6-10 miles everyday just doing routine stuff. 

Roll on the end of March!

SU.......have you considered buying these amazing inventions?.........apparently using them will allow you to cycle in the dark Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2013 at 1:58pm

http://www.poznantriathlon.pl/en/" rel="nofollow - http://www.poznantriathlon.pl/en/
This is men only - and has road biking - info in english for any triathlete fans.

OOOOHHHHHH!!!!!

That looks feckin perfect. Doesn't suit my race plans this eyar but would absolutely love to do it next year. How hot would Poznan typically be that weekend?

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2013 at 3:45pm

OOOOHHHHHH!!!!!

That looks feckin perfect. Doesn't suit my race plans this eyar but would absolutely love to do it next year. How hot would Poznan typically be that weekend?

August is the warmest month, but it can be humid and rainy - heavy and really sweaty -

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2013 at 4:13pm
Got a lend of a mates bike there today. He had knee surgery during the week so wont be needing it for a while.

Gonna try and cycle everyday for an hour and see how much i can improve the fitness

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2013 at 4:41pm

OOOOHHHHHH!!!!!

August is the warmest month, but it can be humid and rainy - heavy and really sweaty -

Like the girls in the Fat Thread.  boom boom 

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2013 at 4:47pm

OOOOHHHHHH!!!!!

Like the girls in the Fat Thread.  boom boom 

unreal!!!

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 7:13pm
The lockdown has not been good for the weight so just signed up for the bike to work and got myself a road bike. I've never had one. Always mountain bikes and one hybrid yoke.

Just took it for a spin. Hands are sore, back sore (just to the position you need to take) and my hole is sore... f**k sakes 

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 7:15pm

The lockdown has not been good for the weight so just signed up for the bike to work and got myself a road bike. I've never had one. Always mountain bikes and one hybrid yoke.

Just took it for a spin. Hands are sore, back sore (just to the position you need to take) and my hole is sore... f**k sakes 

Aye, that'll happen if you start going about in Lycra at your age.

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 7:16pm

Aye, that'll happen if you start going about in Lycra at your age.

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 7:18pm

In fairness I was tempted as well as I am f**king piling on pounds here, but fear of certain death in cycling in London put off. 

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 7:19pm
*Taking up cycling that is. Not sodomy.

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 7:22pm
Pal of mine has lost serious flab and swears by leisurely cycling. Going out in the morn and I'll be nervous enough on this yoke. Straps on pedals etc. and you can feel every bump on the toad it seems. further anal probing from the saddle. 

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 7:28pm

Pal of mine has lost serious flab and swears by leisurely cycling. Going out in the morn and I'll be nervous enough on this yoke. Straps on pedals etc. and you can feel every bump on the toad it seems. further anal probing from the saddle. 

If your hands are sore it’s probably because you’re not relaxed and gripping the bars too tight. A set of mits will give you a bit more comfort, prefer not to wear them myself, will also give you stupid tan lines on your hands.

What weight are and what size are your tyres? You might be able to drop the tyre pressure a bit if you have half decent roads. 

Seeing as you have bought yourself the bike, treat yourself to a good pair of bib shorts, oh and don’t wear under ware under your shorts!! But your arse will be sore for a bit.

Did the shop at least try and set you up with a decent position on the bike? 

And what bike did you go for anyways?

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 7:33pm

If your hands are sore it’s probably because you’re not relaxed and gripping the bars too tight. A set of mits will give you a bit more comfort, prefer not to wear them myself, will also give you stupid tan lines on your hands.

What weight are and what size are your tyres? You might be able to drop the tyre pressure a bit if you have half decent roads. 

Seeing as you have bought yourself the bike, treat yourself to a good pair of bib shorts, oh and don’t wear under ware under your shorts!! But your arse will be sore for a bit.

Did the shop at least try and set you up with a decent position on the bike? 

And what bike did you go for anyways?

i'd tip 90kg i reckon @ 6ft. bike frame size 56? tyres are 700 x 25.

sorry dont wear them? is that because they'll be rammed up your rock? 

Yeah they did help but the usual story, queue out the door, under pressure but sound lads. Got a few freebies.

Bear with me Shoco because i know you're an avid cycler. It's a Cannondale CAAD Optimo 105?

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 7:41pm
cannondale make love aluminium frames. 105 is a great groupset. Same performance as the top end with just a little extra weight.

At 90kg probably not much scope to reduce tyre pressure for a bit more comfort. Probably 90 psi in front and 105 in rear.

The chamois in the shorts is designed to be against the skin, the jocks just create friction. I know it’s weird at first

Posted By: Yiksheemash
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 8:36pm
The shoco is talking sense there young McG. when i started out used to wear the mits myself but have learned not to use them. 
Defo get yourself a pair of bib shorts and some cream to rub into your balls. 
other than that sign up to the premium level of strava and set out your routes and log them into your gps if you have one for the bike. download a programme for training and go from there. start off with 10km, to 20km to 30km and so on.

In my country we fak, my wife she isa dead

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 8:46pm

+1 on this bit

If you've your elbows straight and locked, every bump on the road will go straight to your back and shoulders. You'll be in agony after a spin on Irish roads. Make sure the elbows are a little bent, and don't grip the handlebars too much (hands should just be resting on them most of the time)

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 8:47pm

+1 on this bit

If you've your elbows straight and locked, every bump on the road will go straight to your back and shoulders. You'll be in agony after a spin on Irish roads. Make sure the elbows are a little bent, and don't grip the handlebars too much (hands should just be resting on them most of the time)

sound lads Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 8:48pm
Originally posted by Yiksheemash Yiksheemash wrote:

The shoco is talking sense there young McG. when i started out used to wear the mits myself but have learned not to use them. 
Defo get yourself a pair of bib shorts and some cream to rub into your balls. 
other than that sign up to the premium level of strava and set out your routes and log them into your gps if you have one for the bike. download a programme for training and go from there. start off with 10km, to 20km to 30km and so on.

Have a Garmin watch and will get Strava going.

I am at 30km now comfortably from the last few spins but that was on the old bike.

Ill get buying the shorts so. 

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 9:56pm
If you are even think about wearing lycra it means you're a ****. Just to clear that up!

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 10:05pm
yeah wouldnt see myself wearing lycra PM. we all know many share the same opinion on cyclists. but i think a comfy hole is necessary. 

Posted By: Patman Scoop
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2020 at 11:28pm

yeah wouldnt see myself wearing lycra PM. we all know many share the same opinion on cyclists. but i think a comfy hole is necessary. 

Have a road bike for years and cycle in and out of work as well as leisure cycles, always wear shorts over my bib shorts Embarrassed  

Why no wine??!

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 8:46am

Lycra is never necessary. Never. The majority of people become twats the moment they sit on a bike anyway!

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 10:31am

Lycra is never necessary. Never. The majority of people become twats the moment they sit on a bike anyway!

The scientist was ahead of the game here before he got his bike 

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 10:35am
I found after buying the bike the two most important purchases are a decent pair of padded shorts and a pair of cycling shoes.  After that I think everything else is optional but if you are doing anything over 30km Shorts and shoes are vital.

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 10:36am

I found after buying the bike the two most important purchases are a decent pair of padded shorts and a pair of cycling shoes.  After that I think everything else is optional but if you are doing anything over 30km Shorts and shoes are vital.

A t-shirt probably wouldn't go astray either.

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 10:49am
I am guessing most people will have one of
Those already :)

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 11:59am

What route you doing?

I usually do a few cycles out to Howth and back or up to Westwood - which is approx 20k and takes about 50m.

Do a bit of sprinting and circuits as well.

You don't burn many calories cycling, it's probably the least effective way.

Posted By: whitesideOnside
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 12:43pm

What route you doing?

I usually do a few cycles out to Howth and back or up to Westwood - which is approx 20k and takes about 50m.

I'd be inclined to agree that cycling is not the most effective way to lose weight if that is your aim. It is time consuming to put in the amount of effort required to lose weight and then the food required to keep going often ends up in coffee and buns of some sort. I guess if you really enjoy it though, you won't mind putting the time in. Running and kettle bells are far more effective for weight loss.
I had a road bike, but got away from that type of cycling as I don't like the position and would agree that there is often a rare level of goon who takes up cycling. I've a good hybrid bike now, which is much more comfortable for cycling to work on and on my longer cycles allows me to take in views better.
Cycled east coast to west last summer and Mizen to Malin on the hybrid with saddle bags attached. Beautiful way to travel and less chance of punctures on the hybrid bike I find too. 
Regardless of speed or type of bike though you still need the cycling shorts for anything over 40km.

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 1:05pm

What route you doing?

I dunno about that, I find it easier to burn a lot of calories on a cycle than a run. Just looking at my last of each on strava...

Cycle - 2hrs - 59k - 1565 calories
Run - 1hr - 12k - 1092 calories

So yes, running is more effective time-wise, but I wouldn't be able to keep running long enough to burn 1600 calories, whereas I can on the bike.

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 2:45pm
Was looking for a bike online recently. Nowhere has any unless they cost over a grand. 

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 3:14pm
lets get to the main issue here McG, what steroids you now using?

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 3:33pm

Was looking for a bike online recently. Nowhere has any unless they cost over a grand. 

On the bike to work scheme that can come in for less than 500 euro though depending on what tax band you are on.  Plus can be spread out over the course or a year so 50% off and spread out over a period of time up to 12 months with no interest.  

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 4:14pm
just did 40km

My gaff to Baldoyle to portmarnock back to Sutton, up over the poxy hill from Howth village and up to summit, hit a nervous top speed of 35kph (laugh at me lads but new bike nerves) coming back down the other side of the hill down into Sutton, then out on cycle track to the wooden bridge in Clontarf then back to Elphin and through Baldoyle and home. 

Arse be in bits.

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 4:15pm

lets get to the main issue here McG, what steroids you now using?

Justice hooked me up with an IV

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 5:07pm

just did 40km

My gaff to Baldoyle to portmarnock back to Sutton, up over the poxy hill from Howth village and up to summit, hit a nervous top speed of 35kph (laugh at me lads but new bike nerves) coming back down the other side of the hill down into Sutton, then out on cycle track to the wooden bridge in Clontarf then back to Elphin and through Baldoyle and home. 

Arse be in bits.

Edit

54kph according to my Garmin. Kin ell.

Posted By: Patman Scoop
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 5:59pm

just did 40km

Arse be in bits.

Edit

Easily hit 50kph downhill on a racing bike, some adrenalin rush but yea scary... Thankfully all my falls have been at reasonable speeds LOL

Why no wine??!

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 6:12pm
Originally posted by Patman Scoop Patman Scoop wrote:

just did 40km

Arse be in bits.

Edit

Easily hit 50kph downhill on a racing bike, some adrenalin rush but yea scary... Thankfully all my falls have been at reasonable speeds LOL

Pretty sure Ger hared off at 70kph Pat man LOL

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 6:58pm

just did 40km

Arse be in bits.
Did ya make it up the Howth hill without stopping? It's a decent test from the village side. That new route from Baldoyle to Portmarnock is lovely, was out on it this morning

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 7:01pm

just did 40km

Arse be in bits.
Did ya make it up the Howth hill without stopping? It's a decent test from the village side. That new route from Baldoyle to Portmarnock is lovely, was out on it this morning

Haha few stops man. One of the lads on a MTB so we helped him out a bit. 

Yeah it’s a cracking stretch and when they extend to skerries and beyond it will be a good spin.

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 7:28pm

just did 40km

Arse be in bits.

Edit

Hit 88.5 kph coming down mt.Ventoux in France, on a road I had never been on before, some buzz.

Took a few Strava KOMs today averaging about 50 on flat roads with a nice wee wind. 

Once you get a bit more confidence you’ll be grand with those speeds, just gotta learn to trust your tyres and brakes.

As said above, minute for minute you will burn more calories on a run, but you will always do more on the bike, I did a 25k run about a month ago and was 1300 calories, burnt 1200 this morning on the bike. I could get up and go again on the bike tomorrow but I wouldn’t be able to go for a run

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2020 at 9:07pm

On the bike to work scheme that can come in for less than 500 euro though depending on what tax band you are on.  Plus can be spread out over the course or a year so 50% off and spread out over a period of time up to 12 months with no interest.  

Yeah but self employed, don't think I could get away with it.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2020 at 9:17am

just did 40km

Arse be in bits.

Edit

That's some spin.
How long did that take?

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2020 at 9:22am

just did 40km

Arse be in bits.

Edit

That's some spin.
How long did that take?

3 hours with stops in Portmarnock for a coffee, summit for a 99 LOL

Posted By: Yiksheemash
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2020 at 9:39am

just did 40km

Arse be in bits.

Edit

Hit 88.5 kph coming down mt.Ventoux in France, on a road I had never been on before, some buzz.

Took a few Strava KOMs today averaging about 50 on flat roads with a nice wee wind. 

Once you get a bit more confidence you’ll be grand with those speeds, just gotta learn to trust your tyres and brakes.

As said above, minute for minute you will burn more calories on a run, but you will always do more on the bike, I did a 25k run about a month ago and was 1300 calories, burnt 1200 this morning on the bike. I could get up and go again on the bike tomorrow but I wouldn’t be able to go for a run

Saw that there now, some going. Clap highest i've got to in the KOM's is 2nd and its on a fairly rapid downhill sprint. hitting just over the 60kph mark. Doing ok on times for this year stats. in a good few top 10 but the KOM's i'm way off. do all my cycling on my own but you do see a lot of lads riding just to beat times. i like to just cycling along around 30kph mark while these lads just cycle to the segment areas slow and then go hell for leather at the segment.
Going to upgrade the bike either at xmas or March next year when i head back to Oz on holidays. Bikes over there are much cheaper to buy with the GST you can claim back and the currency conversion. Looking at getting the Giant TCR Advanced Pro Disc or the Giant Propel Advanced Pro Disc. Paid over $4k for my own bike back in 2014 so im after getting good value for money out of it. prob only get about 1k for it now if lucky. 

In my country we fak, my wife she isa dead

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2020 at 10:09am

out of curiosity what would your average heart rate be on a cycle compared to a run? I was 165bpm for a 10k run at the weekend. Would usually be sub 160bpm but hadn't done 10k in a few weeks. 

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2020 at 11:41am
Originally posted by Yiksheemash Yiksheemash wrote:

just did 40km

Arse be in bits.

Edit

Saw that there now, some going. Clap highest i've got to in the KOM's is 2nd and its on a fairly rapid downhill sprint. hitting just over the 60kph mark. Doing ok on times for this year stats. in a good few top 10 but the KOM's i'm way off. do all my cycling on my own but you do see a lot of lads riding just to beat times. i like to just cycling along around 30kph mark while these lads just cycle to the segment areas slow and then go hell for leather at the segment.
Going to upgrade the bike either at xmas or March next year when i head back to Oz on holidays. Bikes over there are much cheaper to buy with the GST you can claim back and the currency conversion. Looking at getting the Giant TCR Advanced Pro Disc or the Giant Propel Advanced Pro Disc. Paid over $4k for my own bike back in 2014 so im after getting good value for money out of it. prob only get about 1k for it now if lucky. 

I don't really bother with them TBH, If i'm on a club spin then you ignore them, If i'm doing a structured session then you ignore them. If i'm just out for a spin and there's a decent wind I might have a go at one if its of any interest to me. Though with the lockdown there's a few of us here have been having a good go at the local ones for a bit of fun. That will stop now with the restrictions lifted today.

The TCR's are lovely bikes, love the frames and they still haven't gone for the dropped seat stays which is a bonus.

Not a fan of the propel, or any aero bike really, all look the same

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2020 at 11:46am

out of curiosity what would your average heart rate be on a cycle compared to a run? I was 165bpm for a 10k run at the weekend. Would usually be sub 160bpm but hadn't done 10k in a few weeks. 
Lower on the bike unless you're giving it welly on a climb

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2020 at 11:49am

I don't think you can compare them really, you get so much more recovery on the bike.
In saying that, i've done handicap races where i've averaged 175 for an hour!

My last run, 7.14km, 36:56, HR 146
Did a half marathon in March in 1:43:30 and HR was 168, but wouldn't normally run at that pace.

Yesterday just spinning on the Bike for 2:30 it was 138bpm,
Saturday doing a structured session aver age was 140, but during the 6x10 minute efforts the average was about 165

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2020 at 12:24pm

I don't think you can compare them really, you get so much more recovery on the bike.
In saying that, i've done handicap races where i've averaged 175 for an hour!

My last run, 7.14km, 36:56, HR 146
Did a half marathon in March in 1:43:30 and HR was 168, but wouldn't normally run at that pace.

Yesterday just spinning on the Bike for 2:30 it was 138bpm,
Saturday doing a structured session aver age was 140, but during the 6x10 minute efforts the average was about 165

I've done an hour on an exercise bike (I know, like running on a treadmill isn't close to the same as being out) on a medium to high resistance and the heart rate was constant at 110bpm, and I was bucketing sweat!!  

Posted By: Croftman
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2020 at 10:06am
Only started at the cycling last year but really enjoy it. Got the bike & a few bits through the Bike to Work scheme and have added a few more over time. Go online and get a couple of bibs even if you're only starting, they're the only job. Amazon has good ones cheap enough for starting out. Mits are good too to protect the hands

Started with a couple of friends and first spin was 25km, couldn't walk for a day after it. Like anything else, the more you do the better you get. The average speed increases & the hills get a tad easier. Strava or a similar app is great for tracking it all & comparing your rides. Got a fall near the beginning of it all, got dehydrated/weak from not drinking enough so learned the hard way how important that & eating right on a cycle are

It's an enjoyable pass time but finding the time can be hard with kids etc compared to a 5k run or similar

Edit: Did 60k on Sunday morning. Heart rate on average was 158, peak of 198 on an absolute coont of a steep climb

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2020 at 10:24pm
Anyone here go mountain biking? 

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2020 at 3:03pm
Folks,

Have a york fitness discovery cycle training bike at home. Knee's a bit goosed so have to stop road running for a bit. The console on the front has batteries in and is able to pick up my pulse when I grasp the handles.

However, when I cycle time, speed, distance or calories aren't being picked up. So it seems when the pedals are moving whatever wire is supposed to be run isn't getting through. Anyone got any ideas?

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2020 at 3:33pm

Folks,

Have a york fitness discovery cycle training bike at home. Knee's a bit goosed so have to stop road running for a bit. The console on the front has batteries in and is able to pick up my pulse when I grasp the handles.

However, when I cycle time, speed, distance or calories aren't being picked up. So it seems when the pedals are moving whatever wire is supposed to be run isn't getting through. Anyone got any ideas?

have you taken the handlebars off yet to make sure the wire is still connected? should only be one connection.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2020 at 4:34pm
Was a loose wire! All good now. Cheers!

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2020 at 2:47pm
first proper spin today since the restrictions were eased, you quickly forget how bad some of the roads are, and having traffic on them compared to the local back roads was a shock to the system

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2020 at 12:30pm
The bike to work scheme has been increased to €1250 for normal bikes and €1500 for electric bikes

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2020 at 1:29pm
Jaysis that’s great in fairness 

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2020 at 1:34pm

The bike to work scheme has been increased to €1250 for normal bikes and €1500 for electric bikes

And reduced to every 4 years i heard 

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2020 at 2:09pm
Didn't hear that bit? I'm due a go again next year

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2020 at 2:12pm
yeah 4 years 

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2020 at 6:16pm
cool, might be able to buy again this year instead of having to wait to next year

Date Posted: 25 Jul 2020 at 4:26pm
https://m.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/cycling/the-forgotten-drama-of-the-munich-olympics-how-an-irish-cyclists-dream-was-left-in-tatters-39395269.html" rel="nofollow - https://m.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/cycling/the-forgotten-drama-of-the-munich-olympics-how-an-irish-cyclists-dream-was-left-in-tatters-39395269.html

Giros,glue sniffing,dogs on ropes
But I see people with dreams and hopes

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2020 at 11:28am
Ronan McLoughlin has broken the eversting worl record set by Alberto Contador Clap

Basically you have to repeat a hill until you gain the same elevation of Mt.Everest 8848m

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2020 at 2:09pm

Ronan McLoughlin has broken the eversting worl record set by Alberto Contador Clap

Basically you have to repeat a hill until you gain the same elevation of Mt.Everest 8848m

Shoco, if an amateur athlete had broken the marathon world record what would your first thought be? 

I realise you're into your cycling, as am I, but are we giving this lad a pass because he's Irish? He's competing in an event where there are no doping control

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2020 at 3:14pm

Shoco, if an amateur athlete had broken the marathon world record what would your first thought be? 

I realise you're into your cycling, as am I, but are we giving this lad a pass because he's Irish? He's competing in an event where there are no doping control

The I would say they are on drugs obviously.

All pro marathon runner run marathons, i'd say about 1% of pro cyclists have actually attempted the everesting challenge.

The reason he gets a pass is:

1) He's an amateur, but not in the same way that you or me are as he's actually a former pro.

2) The record he broke, was also held by an amateur (albeit a from mutliple gand tour winner)

3) Everesting only really took off during the lockdown, it’s not an event, it’s just a challenge, 99% of people that do it are just trying to complete, it only became a thing during lockdown to see who could do it fastest

4) The everesting challenge is not something pro riders actually do, so he wasn't competing against them (completely different to comparing it to a marathon because all marathon runners actually run marathons!!!)

5) if all current pro cyclists were to try it, I would expect them to smash him time, only the lightweight climbers obviously, the sprinters would never be able to do it.

6) having seen his bike for the record, he saved a crap load of weight of it compared to what the previous record holder did.

7) As this was his second attempt, he changed the stretch of road to do it, making it shorter but steeper.

So for the reason above you cant compare to a marathon, there is absolutley no similarities at all.
Now if Froome/Bernal/Quintana etc were to attempt if and not beat his time assuming they had an optimum climb to do it on then maybe you could ask questions but a bit of perspective is needed.

It's basically saying an amatuer holds the 50k record because pro marathon runners don't run that distance.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2020 at 3:42pm

Honestly sounds like hell

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2020 at 4:08pm

Honestly sounds like hell

Yeah, mental torture aswell as physical! Average gradient was nearly 15%

Might be tempted to try the uphill hour challenge, same sort of thing, see how much elevation gain you can get in an hour, you just have to finish at the same point you started at

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2020 at 9:08pm
Jesus horrific crash in the sprint in the tour of Poland today, hope Jacobson and the photographer are ok

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2020 at 9:14pm

Jesus horrific crash in the sprint in the tour of Poland today, hope Jacobson and the photographer are ok

Not in a good way according to the Tour Doc Cry

https://mobile.twitter.com/AFP_Sport" rel="nofollow -
·
https://mobile.twitter.com/AFP_Sport/status/1291091845943042056" rel="nofollow -
https://mobile.twitter.com/hashtag/BREAKING?src=hashtag_click" rel="nofollow - #BREAKING Fabio Jakobsen in life-threatening state after https://mobile.twitter.com/hashtag/TourofPoland?src=hashtag_click" rel="nofollow - #TourofPoland crash according to the race doctor

https://mobile.twitter.com/AFP_Sport" rel="nofollow -
Replying to
https://mobile.twitter.com/AFP_Sport" rel="nofollow - and
https://mobile.twitter.com/AFPphoto" rel="nofollow -
https://mobile.twitter.com/hashtag/UPDATE?src=hashtag_click" rel="nofollow - #UPDATE "His life is directly under threat. He has lost an enourmous amount of blood and has suffered significant injuries" https://mobile.twitter.com/hashtag/TourofPoland?src=hashtag_click" rel="nofollow - #TourofPoland doctor Barbara Jerschina to local television channel Polsat Sport about Fabio Jakobsen

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2020 at 9:53pm
yeah, the updates have not been good so far. There was a rider killed in this race last year 

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2020 at 5:13pm
Sam Bennett first Irishman to wear the TDF green points jersey in 31 years Clap