What book are you reading at the moment ?

Category: Other Forums
Forum Name: Whatever!
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=42225
Printed Date: 19 Apr 2024 at 3:28am

Topic: What book are you reading at the moment ?
Subject: What book are you reading at the moment ?
Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 6:18pm
Curently half way through 'Through Hell for Hitler'  memories of a german soldier on the Eastern Front

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 6:22pm
Any use? Does he go into his ideological thoughts about what he was fighting for?

Last book I read was aquariums of pyongyang, an account of life in North Korea and its prison camps and how the author escaped, was a very good read

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 6:28pm
Lucky Luciano by Tim Newark .Very good so far.

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 6:34pm
really want to read Robin Friday - the greatest footballer you never saw. Anyone read it?

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 6:39pm

Any use? Does he go into his ideological thoughts about what he was fighting for?

Last book I read was aquariums of pyongyang, an account of life in North Korea and its prison camps and how the author escaped, was a very good read

Yes pretty good, and a bit more honest than some accounts

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 6:41pm

really want to read Robin Friday - the greatest footballer you never saw. Anyone read it?

Yeah, interesting read.

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 6:43pm
dont read books very often. Cant remember the last time I read one. Hard to get recommendations off ppl as well cos everyone has different interests.

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 7:23pm
Don't read half as much as I did years ago but I'm currently reading The Munsters: A Trip Down Mockingbird Lane. 

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 7:27pm
Originally posted by Metal Paul Metal Paul wrote:

Don't read half as much as I did years ago but I'm currently reading The Munsters: A Trip Down Mockingbird Lane. 

Dame i used to love that show!

Is the book any good?

Posted By: ceannaire
Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 7:29pm
Fenian Fire by Christy Campbell. I have Newryrep to thank for that one.

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 7:32pm

Originally posted by Metal Paul Metal Paul wrote:

Dame i used to love that show!

Is the book any good?
I haven't even got half way through it yet (I've had it for a few years at this stage! ) but what I've read so far is very interesting. 

Posted By: Andkend
Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 8:01pm
Gideon Levy ' The punishment of Gaza´

Israeli ex soldier Jewish writer, hated in Israel but he seems to know what's actually going on there.

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 8:03pm
As Eire 32 is currently out of the country he has asked me to replyWink

"I am currently reading the Oxford English Dictionary, Dont get the storyline but i do like the way each word is explained as you go along."

End

Cool

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 8:09pm
Ian Rankin,  Standing in Another Man's Grave

Eamon Dunphy  Only a game

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 8:15pm

Classic BookThumbs Up

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 8:45pm
Just finished soccernomics, quite an interesting read and chavs by Owen Jones which is a great look at how the English media. Just started the great shark hunt, an anthology of articles and pieces by Hunter S. Thompson.

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 8:53pm

Classic BookThumbs Up

one of the best football books around.

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 9:01pm

As Eire 32 is currently out of the country he has asked me to replyWink

"I am currently reading the Oxford English Dictionary, Dont get the storyline but i do like the way each word is explained as you go along."

End

Cool

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 9:18pm
Eamon Dunphy book is good, ok thats on me christmas list - I read Roy Keanes Autobiography and I did enjoy it but I think there is alot left out.

I will give the ' only a game " a go

Posted By: petej1963
Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 9:58pm
Two Books, Johnny Giles book,and one on the Brave Irishmen that fought in the Somme in 1916.

Sleep gentle our Rose of Mooncoin.......

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 10:05pm
Just finished Dave Langan's book the other day, brilliant read and very sad in parts!

Picked up Justin Lee Collins autobiography in work last week, might give that a read next!

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 10:05pm
Qman Diaries-The Dundalk YearsClaptriffic read

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 10:35pm
Lonely Planet- Poland

sh*te plot but handy for travel info

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 10:54pm

Just finished Dave Langan's book the other day, brilliant read and very sad in parts!

brilliant book .some of it is very hard to read but he's one tough nut.

Posted By: coleman's
Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 12:14am
anthony kiedis- scar tissue, makes you not give a f**k about responsibilities and mundane real world sh*t

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 12:38am
Originally posted by coleman's coleman's wrote:

anthony kiedis- scar tissue, makes you not give a f**k about responsibilities and mundane real world sh*t
Quality book!Made me want to take drugs after reading it though!LOL

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 10:08am
I am on "spelling for beginners" at the moment , one of the classics I muyst saayy . 

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 10:19am
Theodore rex , second part of william morris theodore roosevelt biography. First one was class
Tom humphries kerry v dublin book . Not bad
Also reading some robert goddard thrillers that I picked up in a job lot . Great reads all of them.
Finished the latest rankin/rebus . Delighted he's back.

Read loads as I spend my whole time on planes and trains and the tube

Will buy
Colonel roosevelt
The life and times of joseph p kennedy
Creole belle , james lee burke

And donal cullens book as well for xmas

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 11:47am
Just finished Paul mcGraths one. Jaysus he's had some life

Reading Jim Stynes autobiography now. Awful shame he didn't get the tumour looked at earlier

Have Dave Langlans one to read next

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 12:04pm
I know this is a bit of a generalisation but I think there is an element of truth to it.  It seems that men are much more into non fiction books auto biographies history etc whereas women much prefer works of fiction. 

I wonder does this then influence things when arguments break out between couples.

Posted By: Polcia
Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 1:13pm
I liked "The agony and the extasy" by Irving Stone - about Michelangelo Buonarotti. Nice book.

Yesterday I started reading "Better. A Surgeon's Notes On Performance" by Atul Gawande - many stories about troubles of present-day medicine - why WHO can't fight polio in India, how american soldiers are treated in field hospitals in Iraq, history of C-section etc. Quite good book actually, I've read around 100 pages so far.

"Anna Karenina" by Tolstoy will be next Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 2:06pm
Total Recall, Arnold Schwarzenegger's autobiography, pretty good so far!

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 2:17pm

I know this is a bit of a generalisation but I think there is an element of truth to it.  It seems that men are much more into non fiction books auto biographies history etc whereas women much prefer works of fiction. 

I wonder does this then influence things when arguments break out between couples.

I read a tonne of books but I can never stick with fiction,they just don't interest me.Cant remember the last time I read fiction.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 2:19pm
Originally posted by Del-Piero Del-Piero wrote:

thats next on my list.Heard its very good.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 3:32pm
How to be a good Moderator: by Big Strong Man

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 6:33pm
Ficton is for beach holidays, trash novels and sun a great combo,

The rest of the year, interesting autobiography, biogs, ,history, pyschology.

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 6:39pm
Game of Thrones, nearly finished the first book.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 7:23pm

Originally posted by Del-Piero Del-Piero wrote:

thats next on my list.Heard its very good.

Have to say it is very good and this is before I've gotten to his movie career and time as the governator!

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 8:38pm

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 8:42pm
Howard  Marks...Mr.NICEThumbs Up

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 8:52pm

Read that last year. Thats the last book I read.

Very enjoyable read. What a guy. Smuggled some amount of drugs and for decades spent pretty much all of his waking hours baked LOL

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 9:23pm
Mr Nice - sh*te.

Only good bit was his school days the rest was just one repetitive drug deal after another. Interesting life all the same

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 10:56pm

ex girlfriend gave me the book but never bothered reading it. must read it sometime

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 11:22pm
I have the 3Rd Ross o Carroll-Kelly book and A storm of swords part 1 on my to do list over the next month.

Posted By: BaileNuisBhoy
Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 11:37pm
Grafters updated version

Say no to Egg Chasing!!!

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 11:43pm
Behind the Curtain-Jonathan Wilson.Great read for anyone with interest in football from Eastern Europe

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 12:51pm
Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

Got a present of this and was surprised how much I enjoyed it. Not one for fantasy or the likes but once I got over the first few chapters I was hooked. Definitely going to get the rest.

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 12:52pm

Behind the Curtain-Jonathan Wilson.Great read for anyone with interest in football from Eastern Europe
This, along with Jimmy Burns La Roja, is on my to read list. His writing is brilliant. He comes across as intelligent and likeable. Inverting the Pyramid is one of my favourite football books.

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 3:05pm

Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

Got a present of this and was surprised how much I enjoyed it. Not one for fantasy or the likes but once I got over the first few chapters I was hooked. Definitely going to get the rest.
Ah yeah, you can't beat a bit of A Song Of Ice And Fire.

If you like A Game Of Thrones, it's worth reading the rest of them.

A similar sort of writer (similar in terms of grittiness, violence and realism) is Joe Abercrombie, his books are brilliant.

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 3:28pm
Picked this one up the other day

http://www.fionnbarra.ie/glorios_galway.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.fionnbarra.ie/glorios_galway.html

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 3:37pm

This, along with Jimmy Burns La Roja, is on my to read list. His writing is brilliant. He comes across as intelligent and likeable. Inverting the Pyramid is one of my favourite football books.

Cheers for the heads up lads.

Just added three books to my to-read list. Which means the sum total on my list is currently three!
I enjoy JW's Tactics articles in World Soccer Magazine, didnt know he had a book on tactics, class!!!

Just checked out that La Roja book there, would be my kind of book too.

Nice one lads Clap

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 3:51pm
The blizzard is worth getting also.  not a book but a mazgine that is edited by Jonathon Wilson. Some of the best football writing out there and you can get e copies for as little as 1 cent. 

His Brian Clough book is excellent also.

Simon Kuper's books are great also. 

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 3:54pm
Wolf Hall. Its about the live of Thomas Cromwell. Its good if you are into that type of thing.

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 4:44pm

A must read for any football fan as far as I'm concerned.

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 6:32pm

The blizzard is worth getting also.  not a book but a mazgine that is edited by Jonathon Wilson. Some of the best football writing out there and you can get e copies for as little as 1 cent. 

Simon Kuper's books are great also
Really good book. Mixture of football and economics.

Posted By: IrishPride
Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 6:45pm

Starting this tomorrow.. Have high expectations

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 7:10pm

Simon Kuper's books are great also. 

Savage.

Nice one Thumbs Up
Never heard of the blizzard before. Deadly.

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 7:47pm
http://www.theblizzard.co.uk/" rel="nofollow - http://www.theblizzard.co.uk/

here is the link for anyone who is interested.

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 10:49pm

A must read for any football fan as far as I'm concerned.

Nice one. Geting Inverting the pyramid for Christmas

Posted By: The Drifter
Date Posted: 11 Dec 2012 at 12:16am
reading Killing Pablo - from the author of Black Hawk Down and charts the rise and fall of El Patron. 

Very intriguing read about how America became embroiled in the hunt for the Cocaine Kingpin and how Pablo Escobar became so powerful that he eventually went from admiration from his people to being public enemy no.1

My dream has always been to play for the Republic of Ireland - James McClean.

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2012 at 1:09am
Originally posted by The Drifter The Drifter wrote:

reading Killing Pablo - from the author of Black Hawk Down and charts the rise and fall of El Patron. 

Very intriguing read about how America became embroiled in the hunt for the Cocaine Kingpin and how Pablo Escobar became so powerful that he eventually went from admiration from his people to being public enemy no.1

read it a few years back ,excellent book.he never really lost the support of the ordinary man in Medillian,the americans just pumped so much cash into the operation they couldnt fail.Check out the documentary as well.
Film coming out based on the book,should be brilliant .Christian Bale is linked to play the main CIA dude.

Link to doc:
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x293tf_the-true-story-of-killing-pablo-par_news#.UMaHoqyg6V4" rel="nofollow - http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x293tf_the-true-story-of-killing-pablo-par_news#.UMaHoqyg6V4

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2012 at 12:28pm
Reading Alone in Berlin (again) and The man from Beijing.

Behind the Curtain is a good read, especially the chapter on Bulgaria.....

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2012 at 4:42pm

Updated version is called soccernomics, a great read alright.

Posted By: Billy O'Toole
Date Posted: 11 Dec 2012 at 9:58pm
Lee Childs - Nothing to Lose

Posted By: Wheelo
Date Posted: 12 Dec 2012 at 8:40am

How to build a republic by fintan o toole – nothing really new in it, but a decent enough read all the same

Date Posted: 12 Dec 2012 at 8:50am

Would it be worth getting the new one or is it mostly all the same stuff?

Date Posted: 12 Dec 2012 at 2:09pm

Would it be worth getting the new one or is it mostly all the same stuff?
I didn't read the original but think it is just some extra stuff about the 2010 wc. 

Date Posted: 13 Dec 2012 at 5:00pm
Jonathan Wilson has a new book out about the history of the goalkeeper called "The Outsider". Should be a decent read.

Posted By: Rostrevor Fan
Date Posted: 13 Dec 2012 at 10:13pm
Just read Eire 32'S greatest ever jokes - what a waste of 30 seconds of my life

Posted By: John W
Date Posted: 14 Dec 2012 at 9:42am
I am the Secret Footballer is a good read.

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2012 at 12:47am
Has anyone read the Jim stynes biography 'whatever it takes'?

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 1:01am
bump
recommend a good book, have nothing to read at the moment.Non Fiction only.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 1:29am
Dominion, it's about the UK losing WW2.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 1:36am

bump
recommend a good book, have nothing to read at the moment.Non Fiction only.

I know you said non fiction rossieman but a book from  Roddy Doyles - Padyy Clarke Ha Ha Ha, is well worth a read. Finished it a wee while back.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 1:49am
The Team that Jack Built written in 1994. Ok but not as good as many other books on Ireland I have read.  

Posted By: newrygreen
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 1:57am
Robert Enke: A Life Too Short 

Twitter: @50SavesOfDeGea

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 4:57am
Blood , sweat and tears by Lt Tom Clonan  - an account of a rookie Irish army officer on a tour of the Lebanon in the mid ninties. An excellent read, honest, funny, and in parts, devastatingly sad. Well worth a read. 

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 6:13am
About to Start reading Arnie's Biography

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 11:01am
Originally posted by WindBag WindBag wrote:

About to Start reading Arnie's Biography

It's quite good, even if its fairly long, still have to get through his election campaign and subsequent term as governor

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 3:05pm
thanks for the recommendations.Downloaded Steve Jobs and Arnie's bio's .

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 3:15pm
Run Fat Bitch Run. Its like a motivational book to get you off your arse and moving. My uncle randomly sent it to me as a present over the Christmas ConfusedLOL

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 5:41pm
Seven Deadly Sins by David Walsh. It's all about how Lance Armstrong got found out.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 5:45pm

Seven Deadly Sins by David Walsh. It's all about how Lance Armstrong got found out.

Have that lined up next, almost considered leaving Arnies book aside to start it, except that i'd gone through about 400 pages of Total Recall already so I thought I better finish it

Posted By: Cotsy
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 7:03pm
Originally posted by newrygreen newrygreen wrote:

Very affecting book, honestly took me weeks to get over reading this book!! Even though I knew the ending I was still hoping for a different outcome. Seemed like such a likeable and nice man.

Tbh I wish I never read it.

Bohs Till I Die

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 7:08pm
Originally posted by Cotsy Cotsy wrote:

Originally posted by newrygreen newrygreen wrote:

Very affecting book, honestly took me weeks to get over reading this book!! Even though I knew the ending I was still hoping for a different outcome. Seemed like such a likeable and nice man.

Tbh I wish I never read it.
Soppy Bohs git

Posted By: Ludwig von Drake
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 7:13pm
Just finished Lost at Sea by Jon Ronson. Good read, pretty funny at times.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2013 at 8:56pm

Blood , sweat and tears by Lt Tom Clonan  - an account of a rookie Irish army officer on a tour of the Lebanon in the mid ninties. An excellent read, honest, funny, and in parts, devastatingly sad. Well worth a read. 

Great book

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2013 at 12:26pm
Got this for the father for christmas. Going to have a read of it when he's finshed with it. Anyone read it before?

Posted By: tony grealish
Date Posted: 07 Jan 2013 at 1:14pm
I'm reading Oliver Stone's 'A secret History of the United States'. By jayzus will this not go down well with Wall Street, Tea Party nutjobs, McCarthyites and US conservatives in general.LOL Good, entertaining read so far though.

Posted By: John W
Date Posted: 07 Jan 2013 at 1:19pm
Just finished Tyler Hamiltons the Secret Race - cracking read, in depth insight into performance enhancing drug taking in Cycling, I think it won William Hill Sports book of the year no wonder Lance is considering admiting his guilt, this lad tears him apart.

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2013 at 1:20pm
just finished China Airborne there, decent read but fairly niche market for it, me being in it

Interesting things in it though, chinese airspace for the most part is controlled by the military and very little of it is open so planes cant fly direct routes, havign to twist and turn their way to a destination making their efficiency half that of the rest of the world

Posted By: Wheelo
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2013 at 9:43am

Johnny Giles latest book

Anyone else read it yet?

Finished it the other day and I’d highly recommend it!! Clap

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2013 at 2:13pm
"the secert footballer"  still cant work out who he is

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 1:14am
Originally posted by John W John W wrote:

Just finished Tyler Hamiltons the Secret Race - cracking read, in depth insight into performance enhancing drug taking in Cycling, I think it won William Hill Sports book of the year no wonder Lance is considering admiting his guilt, this lad tears him apart.

started this last week,brilliant book,one of the best I have read in a while.Downloaded it from kickasstorrents,converted to the kindle perfectly.

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 8:54am
Born to Run - interesting book about long distance barefoot runners, and how they don't suffer injuries. Put it down to Nike runners which have changed the way we run by making bad posture more forgiving.

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 8:56am
The great war for civilisation by robert fisk.

1136 pages

Great book though especially his interviews with Osama.

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 10:43am
i have the one on the shelf coleman but havent started it yet, pity the nation was a brilliant book ,

currently reading game of thrones.

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 1:15pm
Finished Arnies book, really good I thought. Didn't think the stuff on his time as governor would be worthwhile but I enjoyed it as much as any other section Thumbs Up

Just started Seven Deadly Sins now

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 1:20pm
Bad Blood Jeremy Whittle

The Good the Bad and the Multiplex  Mark Kermode

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 1:22pm
Reading Jim Stynes book at moment, early days but enjoying it.

Gilesy's latest will be after that.