URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=42154
Printed Date: 29 Mar 2024 at 2:45pm

Topic: Union flag to be taken down from Belfast city hall
Subject: Union flag to be taken down from Belfast city hall
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 9:13pm
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-20587538" rel="nofollow - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-20587538

Needless to say , the zombies arent happy at all and tried to storm the gates !!!

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 9:21pm
Top top banter from the nationalist community

Originally posted by tonyjaa tonyjaa wrote:

the zombies arent happy

Posted By: Smartalex
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 9:21pm
Clap at last - waited many years for this to happen 

shame those who claim to be democrats cant accept a democratic decision Embarrassed

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 9:24pm
Originally posted by Smartalex Smartalex wrote:

shame those who claim to be democrats cant accept a democratic decision Embarrassed

you have waited many years for the union flag only to be flown 15 odd days a year ?

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 9:28pm

Originally posted by Smartalex Smartalex wrote:

you have waited many years for the union flag only to be flown 15 odd days a year ?

indeed

that makes 350 days it isnt Clap

small compromise to make to keep them relatively happy (for the moment Wink)

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 9:35pm
Unionist councillors accused Sinn Fein and the SDLP of "raising tensions" and abusing their majority on the council. Found that comment to be very ironic.

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 9:42pm
You could actually have a reasonable debate with the most pro tory/monarchy english citizen ahead of these shower of arseholes.They re Irish no matter how much they think they re not imo. absolute tools

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 9:50pm

Unionist councillors accused Sinn Fein and the SDLP of "raising tensions" and abusing their majority on the council. Found that comment to be very ironic.
They are blind as f**k

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 9:53pm

thinking the exact same thing reading that

Posted By: Rangers Billy 2012
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 9:57pm
This is a disgrace!!!! This is typical of the Sinn Fein - IRA agenda.   

And TonyIRA or whatever his name is - is the microphone for the word of satan.

Ulster will fight and ulster will be right!

NEVER! NEVER! NEVER! NEVER!!!!!

Lagan Valley Loyal

No Surrender

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 9:58pm

According to reports on twitter they started burning tricolours outside.

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 10:02pm
Strange how the nationalists have a majority in the City but that just shows how time's have changed. As for the unionists, they always ponce on about majorities so to hell with them.

Posted By: gazelle.
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 10:09pm

Originally posted by El_nino El_nino wrote:

Will they be prosecuted for inciting hatred like the teenager who burnt a paper flower? I think not.

Posted By: daffyp
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 10:11pm
Anyone care to explain how nationalists now have a majority now??

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 10:12pm
Originally posted by daffyp daffyp wrote:

more people voted for them

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 10:15pm

Its a nationalist majority of councellors in the city council, not overall.

West Belfast returns a fair few, North Belfast too. East Belfast is Unionist dominated but Alliance have strengthened there while South Belfast is probably mostly unionist, but due to its slightly posher demographics, its very much the moderates like SDLP, UUP (if they can still be called moderate these days) and alliance that do well there.

North and West Belfast are the most populous areas so overall, Belfast would probably have a Nationilst majority in overall numbers as well actually. And very much looking like that trend will continue. Areas such as Glengormley might have been unionist in the past but are changing.

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 10:16pm

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 10:36pm

I was looking for an expiation like AM gave me, but thanks for your simple analogy on how politics works

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 11:07pm
Suddenly those that preach it aren't so democratic tonight. 29 votes to 21, move along.

To be fair to the mob at the city hall, I had a dodgy hotdog there on Friday at the continental Market and felt like making a protest myself

Posted By: shoggy
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 11:27pm

Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else!

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 3:40am

Just over a week ago, the council's strategic policy and resources committee voted 11-9 in favour of removing the flag completely.

So why wasnt it completely removed??

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 6:16am
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-20587538" rel="nofollow - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-20587538

Its not the same place their granddaddies or even dads grew up in and they all know it. No more guaranteed decent jobs just because of who you are/where you are from/whatever education you have. Times are changing and the more they stick to their neanderthalic bigoted ways then the worse it will feel for them but they dont care , '' We arra Peepil !!! '' '' Feck the pope !! '' '' Why dont u go home !!??!! '' , all those vitriolic songs will even it out for them in their walnut sized brain.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 6:56am

I always find it strange when someone burns a flag , now never upset me . My favs are Iran when they they brun a real hand painted naff looking stars and strips LOL

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 8:43am
a fookin flag...FFS  ..as bad as the fookin arabs they are...

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 8:46am

Just over a week ago, the council's strategic policy and resources committee voted 11-9 in favour of removing the flag completely.

They made a compromise with the Alliance party that it would be only flown for 15 days during the year, like in Stormont.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 9:06am
18 police or security guards injured, and no arrests?

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 9:34am

They made a compromise with the Alliance party that it would be only flown for 15 days during the year, like in Stormont.

Not quite correct. The vote to remove the flag completely was done by a council commitee. To actualy enact anything like this they needed a vote from the full council. Dunno why the bother with the smaller commitee at all but thats politics for ye.

The Alliance party brought the 15 days motion at full council and thats what was passed.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 9:37am
Funny how some use democracy to justify their position and yet the same people can trace their own creation to totally undemocratic actions........

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 4:52pm

An 18 year old and 2 22year old blokes were arrested . If 1000 odd taig nationalists were outside city hall looking to break in and cause harm then live rounds would have been ordered by the police chief, make no question.

Posted By: jinky
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 4:59pm

I always find it strange when someone burns a flag , now never upset me . My favs are Iran when they they brun a real hand painted naff looking stars and strips LOL
if fairness you would be lucky to find a real stars and stripes in Iran they way those U.S ****s are demonising Iran

tir gan teanga ,tir gan anam

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 5:02pm
Originally posted by jinky jinky wrote:

if fairness you would be lucky to find a real stars and stripes in Iran they way those U.S ****s are demonising Iran

there is no one demonising iran more than the shower of gimps that run the fcuking place.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 5:10pm

Originally posted by jinky jinky wrote:

there is no one demonising iran more than the shower of gimps that run the fcuking place.
so they have eveything in common then with their enemies in the U.S..... Iran was a monster created by the US over greed for oil going back to the 50 s... now they are using the old 'sadamm WMD' .. ploy

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 5:13pm
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-20598325" rel="nofollow - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-20598325

The zombies are targeting the offices of the Alliance party now.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 5:16pm
Can you imagine if they were to unity the 6 counties Dead..

Gerry Kelly was saying last night that there were no arrests.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 5:18pm
Is it a case of time and out-breeding the unionst low lifes, until the North will be non Brit.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 5:23pm
Would love to a flag maker up north, you would be minted. Fookers love a good flag wave LOL

Posted By: BaileNuisBhoy
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 6:25pm
Hun scum at it again Thumbs Down

Say no to Egg Chasing!!!

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 7:01pm

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-20598325" rel="nofollow - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-20598325

The zombies are targeting the offices of the Alliance party now.

Zombies? 

Posted By: Jerryfromkerry
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 7:45pm

In two words "demographic change"

I read somewhere that catholic community background are in a majority up to the age of 37. This number is on the increase due to a higher catholic birth rate and 66% of the over 65s in the North are from protestant community background. The census results are due out soon and it is expected that the protestant community will have fallen below 50%. Interesting times ahead

No man has the right to fix the boundary to the march of a nation. No man has the right to say to his country “thus far shalt thou go and no further"

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 8:24pm
Originally posted by Jerryfromkerry Jerryfromkerry wrote:

I read somewhere that catholic community background are in a majority up to the age of 37. This number is on the increase due to a higher catholic birth rate and 66% of the over 65s in the North are from protestant community background. The census results are due out soon and it is expected that the protestant community will have fallen below 50%. Interesting times ahead

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 8:29pm

Would love to a flag maker up north, you would be minted. Fookers love a good flag wave LOL

flag maker and a lighters maker.

Theres as many being set alight as there is waved

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 8:33pm

flag maker and a lighters maker.

Theres as many being set alight as there is waved

That's as funny as a kick in the nuts

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 9:12pm

Is it a case of time and out-breeding the unionst low lifes, until the North will be non Brit.

It will just be a case of skangers out breeding skangers

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 9:14pm

nice way to talk about your fellow countrymen

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 9:25pm

An 18 year old and 2 22year old blokes were arrested . If 1000 odd taig nationalists were outside city hall looking to break in and cause harm then live rounds would have been ordered by the police chief, make no question.

fanciful thinking at best, blatent exaggeration for shock effect

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 9:47pm
Sleigh bells ring are you listening
the union flag has gone missing
Brits smash up the town
as the crowns rag comes down,
walking in a Fenian wonderland.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 9:52pm

Sleigh bells ring are you listening
the union flag has gone missing
Brits smash up the town
as the crowns rag comes down,
walking in a Fenian wonderland.

no point in being triumphalist as thats what the unionists have been doing for 90 years

its about a shared future not one that is dominated by one culture over another

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2012 at 9:53pm
Don't shoot the messenger Thumbs Up.

Posted By: ceannaire
Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 12:34am

Yawn. But quite a good read. Think I'll read it again.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 5:13am

So basically we might have a united Ireland in the future because the catholics up north are not only very angry, but also very horny? Brings a whole new meaning to the phrase "a ride to freedom"....

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 8:59am
well there will certainly be a catholic majority in 15 to 20 years. Whether this translates to a nationalist majority remains to be seen.

No man has the right to fix the boundary to the march of a nation. No man has the right to say to his country “thus far shalt thou go and no further"

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 9:20am

well there will certainly be a catholic majority in 15 to 20 years. Whether this translates to a nationalist majority remains to be seen.

13% want to rejoin Ireland at last count and less than half of Catholic's, wont happen

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 10:10am
It will never happen - at least not in our lifetime. 
There are far too many bridges to build.

Also the fact that we are 80 billion in dept makes joining the Republic less attractive.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 10:26am
i think if an election actually occured you might see a hell of a lot more catholics voting for it than 13% ..

would the south vote for it thoughLOL

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 10:29am

Also the fact that we are 80 billion in dept makes joining the Republic less attractive.

More bridges to get over than build in my opinion.

The north is sh*t and the south is sh*t at the minute, we could join up and get our sh*t together as a nation once again. With Scotland on the verge of leaving the uk I do think things will get interesting up north. With the breakup of the uk do the English public want to really bankroll the north like they have for years? I doubt it.

Will I see a one island state in my lifetime? I do think and hope so.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 10:30am

i think if an election actually occured you might see a hell of a lot more catholics voting for it than 13% ..

That was 13% of everybody, nto just Catholics! Wont ever happen

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 10:39am

The north is sh*t and the south is sh*t at the minute, we could join up and get our sh*t together as a nation once again. With Scotland on the verge of leaving the uk I do think things will get interesting up north. With the breakup of the uk do the English public want to really bankroll the north like they have for years? I doubt it.

If and when Scotland leave the UK will be a major factor in the future of this country. If it works well then a lot of people on the fence or even a lot of Unionists might think it could be for the best.

You would also need to promote it as bring Irish British to the Unionist community and respect their traditions and heritage.

There are hundreds of reasons why this will not happen any time soon.

In a hypothetical situation that Ulster leaves the Union - the Loyalists would just rage war on the south. If that threat was there then it just wouldn't happen.
Just look at the mayhem on the streets of Belfast because they took a flag down.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 11:01am

If and when Scotland leave the UK will be a major factor in the future of this country. If it works well then a lot of people on the fence or even a lot of Unionists might think it could be for the best.

You would also need to promote it as bring Irish British to the Unionist community and respect their traditions and heritage.

In a hypothetical situation that Ulster  Northern Ireland leaves the Union - the Loyalists would just rage war on the south. If that threat was there then it just wouldn't happen.
Just look at the mayhem on the streets of Belfast because they took a flag down.

Fixed that for ya but agree with yer points. Its all a bit fooked up what ever happens.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 12:33pm

In a hypothetical situation that Ulster  Northern Ireland leaves the Union - the Loyalists would just rage war on the south. If that threat was there then it just wouldn't happen.

Fixed that for ya but agree with yer points. Its all a bit fooked up what ever happens.
Beat me to it DA......

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 1:20pm

13% want to rejoin Ireland at last count and less than half of Catholic's, wont happen

Have you a link to this poll?

The polls i have seen are carried out by unionist media which are not credible given that their figures for party support are way off when election results come out.

The correlation between the catholic population and nationalist vote is very close.

How many people would have voted for the lisburn referendum if they did not know any of the detail. People who are asked whether they want a UI do not know a thing about what this means.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 1:22pm
Lisbon not lisburn

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 1:28pm

I would never vote for it. It would bring too much trouble, I am happy to leave them up there fighting over a flag and heading across to Newry for some cheap gear now and againWink

Also I think another piece of land that spends more money than it can recoup in taxes is the last thing the republic  needs. 

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 1:37pm
Took us many years to get rid of the churches grip on politics in the republic, imagine having those bible bashers up there having an input on our lives. No thanks.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 1:38pm
13% is not true because Sinn Fein and the SDLP have alot more that 13% or 26% of the vote up there.

I would only ever vote for it, if they paid for their own police bill.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 1:49pm
A lot of SDLP voters wouldnt vote for a united ireland

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 1:58pm
I'd only vote for a United pair of Y Fronts

Posted By: londonirish
Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 1:59pm

It's worth bearing in mind that the Scottish referendum is merely a question - do Scots want to go alone. The actual breakup of the Union would be a long and drawn out process which would span a generation, if the English actually let it happen - there's nothing that says they have to actually listen to the results of the referendum.

The Irish situation is, in my opinion, very different and any suggested break away from the UK would lead to all out conflict as pointed out above. That said, I have always believed and I will always believe that unity is better than partition. Be it inside the UK or out, Ireland was one country and in the future i believe it will be one country again. Our Island is far too small to be divided.

People often say the biggest hurdle is convincing our Unionist country men and women to believe in a United Ireland. I believe a bigger challenge is reinvigorating the South to recognise and fight for a United Ireland, peacefully. I'm sick to death of reading comments from stupid mong inbred Southerners on here saying they don't want the North etc etc... Anyone who believes that needs to pick up a history book and learn about the sacrifices made by generations before us. I wasn’t born in Ireland, but I made it my duty to learn about the history of my country. I believe everyone should.

Our Unionist country men and women will only begin to trust us, once we can truly convince ourselves that any future united country would have to be a country of absolute equals, recognising our shared culture, whether it be orange or green. In this country, the 12th should be celebrated with equal cultural importance to St. Guinness Day.  In my opinion, this will happen, but it will take generations and I’m not sure if our generation have the stomach for it.

Fundamentally, London and the people of the UK despise everything Belfast and all the troubles bring. If only our banana republic government in the South had the balls to fight.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 2:01pm
Stupid mong inbred southerners? We owe billions, we can't afford them, taking them on would be stupid.

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 2:11pm
Originally posted by londonirish londonirish wrote:

It's worth bearing in mind that the Scottish referendum is merely a question - do Scots want to go alone. The actual breakup of the Union would be a long and drawn out process which would span a generation, if the English actually let it happen - there's nothing that says they have to actually listen to the results of the referendum.

The Irish situation is, in my opinion, very different and any suggested break away from the UK would lead to all out conflict as pointed out above. That said, I have always believed and I will always believe that unity is better than partition. Be it inside the UK or out, Ireland was one country and in the future i believe it will be one country again. Our Island is far too small to be divided.

People often say the biggest hurdle is convincing our Unionist country men and women to believe in a United Ireland. I believe a bigger challenge is reinvigorating the South to recognise and fight for a United Ireland, peacefully. I'm sick to death of reading comments from stupid mong inbred Southerners on here saying they don't want the North etc etc... Anyone who believes that needs to pick up a history book and learn about the sacrifices made by generations before us. I wasn’t born in Ireland, but I made it my duty to learn about the history of my country. I believe everyone should.

Our Unionist country men and women will only begin to trust us, once we can truly convince ourselves that any future united country would have to be a country of absolute equals, recognising our shared culture, whether it be orange or green. In this country, the 12th should be celebrated with equal cultural importance to St. Guinness Day.  In my opinion, this will happen, but it will take generations and I’m not sure if our generation have the stomach for it.

Fundamentally, London and the people of the UK despise everything Belfast and all the troubles bring. If only our banana republic government in the South had the balls to fight.

I hope your next sh*te is a hedgehog. 

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 2:11pm

Could you imagine all the career dolers in the sh*t parts of Northern Ireland suddenly having a jump in Social Welfare from €40-€50 a week to €188. It would be like winning the lotto. 

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 2:20pm
http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/edwest/100095628/northern-ireland-catholics-are-now-more-unionist-than-the-english-can-the-united-kingdom-last/" rel="nofollow - http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/edwest/100095628/northern-ireland-catholics-are-now-more-unionist-than-the-english-can-the-united-kingdom-last/

thats from same survey but doesnt have the 13% figure, have posted it up before though

interesting stat in there - the union is more popular with norn iron catholics than english people

Posted By: ceannaire
Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 2:28pm

http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/edwest/100095628/northern-ireland-catholics-are-now-more-unionist-than-the-english-can-the-united-kingdom-last/" rel="nofollow - http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/edwest/100095628/northern-ireland-catholics-are-now-more-unionist-than-the-english-can-the-united-kingdom-last/

thats from same survey but doesnt have the 13% figure, have posted it up before though

interesting stat in there - the union is more popular with norn iron catholics than english people

What an absolute load of b*lls. The Telegraph? LOL

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 2:34pm
Originally posted by ceannaire ceannaire wrote:

Did you actually read it or just see the telegraph and come to your own conclusions?? The telegraph had nothing to do with the poll, Queens and University of Ulster did it, they just reported on it

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 2:38pm

That's a bit f*ckin harsh. I concur with Jack Shat.

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 2:55pm

Did you actually read it or just see the telegraph and come to your own conclusions?? The telegraph had nothing to do with the poll, Queens and University of Ulster did it, they just reported on it
They didn't just report on it, that's an opinion piece and it uses some dodgy tactics to come up with the headline that the UK is more popular with NI nationalists than English people.

"52% of NI Catholics want to remain in the Union" links to a Belfast Telegraph story on the survey you mention above. There's no link to the actual survey, what the question was, who the respondants were, margin of error etc.
"48% of English people want to keep the Union" links to a BBC story about a survey on Scottish Independence. In that story it says 48% of people want Scotland to remain in the Union. Again there's no link to the actual survey or details of who the respondants were margin of error etc.

The Telegraph writer takes these entirely seperate surveys and comes to the conclusion that the UK is more popular among NI catholics than the English. Even if you had the raw data of the survey you couldn't draw that conclusion because they're two different surveys with two different sets of questions. The only way to compare opinion on the UK between people in NI and Eng is to carry out the same survey in both areas.

There is always bias in reporting of surveys, there is clear bias here, the writer uses these surveys as a basis to go on an anti SNP and EU rant.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 3:03pm
Originally posted by Hoosay Hoosay wrote:

They didn't just report on it, that's an opinion piece and it uses some dodgy tactics to come up with the headline that the UK is more popular with NI nationalists than English people.

"52% of NI Catholics want to remain in the Union" links to a Belfast Telegraph story on the survey you mention above. There's no link to the actual survey, what the question was, who the respondants were, margin of error etc.
"48% of English people want to keep the Union" links to a BBC story about a survey on Scottish Independence. In that story it says 48% of people want Scotland to remain in the Union. Again there's no link to the actual survey or details of who the respondants were margin of error etc.

The Telegraph writer takes these entirely seperate surveys and comes to the conclusion that the UK is more popular among NI catholics than the English. Even if you had the raw data of the survey you couldn't draw that conclusion because they're two different surveys with two different sets of questions. The only way to compare opinion on the UK between people in NI and Eng is to carry out the same survey in both areas.

There is always bias in reporting of surveys, there is clear bias here, the writer uses these surveys as a basis to go on an anti SNP and EU rant.

What he said.

Although, disregarding an article just because it was written for The Belfast Telegraph would also be a fairly sensible option.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 3:06pm
The figures presented are facts from a survery, as are the ones he references from the BBC, yes the rest is his opinion but those two are facts, he can't skew facts and figures. Fair enough there shouldve been info about the respodents and margin of error but seeing as its nearly always +/-2/3% can assume it is for this one too.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 3:12pm

The figures presented are facts from a survery, as are the ones he references from the BBC, yes the rest is his opinion but those two are facts, he can't skew facts and figures. Fair enough there shouldve been info about the respodents and margin of error but seeing as its nearly always +/-2/3% can assume it is for this one too.

Theres just too much unknown for this type of question I think. Theres 1250 people interviewed - where from for a start?

You'll get different results if you ask the question on the Malone Road compared to Crossmaglen.

Fairly sure i could get 100% if i stopped and asked 1250 people on the falls road.

Its a bit of a puff piece similar to Peter Robinsons comments on the subject this week. Its what the readers of the Telegraph want to read just like its what Robinsons electorate want to hear

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 3:14pm

Theres just too much unknown for this type of question I think. Theres 1250 people interviewed - where from for a start?

You'll get different results if you ask the question on the Malone Road compared to Crossmaglen.

Fairly sure i could get 100% if i stopped and asked 1250 people on the falls road.

Its a bit of a puff piece similar to Peter Robinsons comments on the subject this week. Its what the readers of the Telegraph want to read just like its what Robinsons electorate want to hear

Can you really see two universities not carrying out a survey in a fair and balanced manner? theyd destroy their reputations if their was any hint of bias in who was surveyed, what they were asked etc.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 3:22pm

Can you really see two universities not carrying out a survey in a fair and balanced manner? theyd destroy their reputations if their was any hint of bias in who was surveyed, what they were asked etc.

Without knowing how the survey was carried out I honestly don't know. With any sample there is probably going to be some kind of bias - most likely unintentional. I doubt they bothered going to all corners of the 6 counties, ensuring every age range and social demographic was covered. But again, don't know exactly how they did it so i'd just be speculating.

Just going from personal experience I find the figure a little off.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 4:20pm

Who and where were they polling?

Run that poll again in Derry or North\West Belfast and see what the outcome is?
All these so called polls can be manipulated too much to take any notice.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 4:22pm
why would ya run it there?? ud get a biased outcome, again if you think two universities would carry out a biased survey and release results thatd ur opinion

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 4:28pm
nvidic,

If you actually believe that poll then you are being very naive.

Why don't you poll the NI Catholics on this forum and see what reaction\opinion they give. 

You will only every got a balanced idea if there was an actual vote.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 4:29pm

You did vote for it in the GFA. There will be no corresponding southern poll.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 4:31pm

nvidic,

Why don't you poll the NI Catholics on this forum and see what reaction\opinion they give. 

What grounds is there not to believe it??

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 4:44pm

nvidic,

What grounds is there not to believe it??

Personal experience for one.
Did you read all the comments on the Belfast Telegraph?

Technically the poll could be 100% correct. 
However what questions were asked, who were asked, when were they asked etc...there is a lot of criteria unanswered to make me not believe in this poll or any poll for that matter.
Polls are too easily manipulated.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 4:48pm
Fair enough, I wouldnt have taken it as is were it a poll done by a company but the fact two uni's did it gives me faith in it.

Little consequence anyway as they wont be re-joining us in my lifetime.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 4:50pm

It's not about the universaties not being fair or balanced, it's about newspapers taking the results out of context and using them to prove something that wasn't asked.

Without knowing what the question was we don't know if 52% of Catholics in NI prefer being part of the UK for now, prefer being part of the UK until the RoI is back on a better economic footing, prefer being part of the UK for ever etc. The question that was asked and the options given are very important. I'm sure there are plenty of Catholics in NI who if they were asked would you like a United Ireland tomorrow, would look at the economic situation down south and say "nah you're all right", but if they were asked would you like a United Ireland at some point in the future when the economy of the Republic has improved then they would more than likely have a different answer.

But even without that, you can't take the answer of one group of people in a survey specifically about NI and then take the answer of a completely different group of people in a survey about Scotland and take their answers to unrelated questions as some sort of proof that NI catholics are more unionist than English people, which is pretty much what this guy did.

If you carried out a survey in Israel, and 55% said they would favour a separate Palestinian state. And then you carried out a survey in Jordan and 60% said they would prefer the West Bank to be returned to Jordanian control, could you then draw the conclusion that more people in Israel are in favour of an independant Palestine than in Jordan? Not without knowing what each survey asked them to choose between.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 4:52pm
Oh.

Everyone already said that.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 4:54pm
Infairness Hoosay it was a throwaway line that I personnally found interesting, I dunno how it managed to be blown into this but thats ybig for you

Posted By: IrishPride
Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 5:08pm

Fair enough, I wouldnt have taken it as is were it a poll done by a company but the fact two uni's did it gives me faith in it.

I wasn't aware you held the power to tell the future?

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 5:11pm
Originally posted by IrishPride IrishPride wrote:

I wasn't aware you held the power to tell the future?

One of my many talentsThumbs Up

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 5:38pm

You did vote for it in the GFA. There will be no corresponding southern poll.

Article 2

It is the entitlement and birthright of every person born in the island of Ireland, which includes its islands and seas, to be part of the Irish Nation. That is also the entitlement of all persons otherwise qualified in accordance with law to be citizens of Ireland. Furthermore, the Irish nation cherishes its special affinity with people of Irish ancestry living abroad who share its cultural identity and heritage.

Article 3

1. It is the firm will of the Irish Nation, in harmony and friendship, to unite all the people who share the territory of the island of Ireland, in all the diversity of their identities and traditions, recognising that a united Ireland shall be brought about only by peaceful means with the consent of a majority of the people, democratically expressed, in both jurisdictions in the island. Until then, the laws enacted by the Parliament established by this Constitution shall have the like area and extent of application as the laws enacted by the Parliament http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Articles_2_and_3_of_the_Constitution_of_Ireland#cite_note-2" rel="nofollow - - [2] that existed immediately before the coming into operation of this Constitution.
  2. Institutions with executive powers and functions that are shared between those jurisdictions may be established by their respective responsible authorities for stated purposes and may exercise powers and functions in respect of all or any part of the island.

It would be a shameful day though if there was finally the chance of unity and we voted no down here. We would well and truly have abandoned our countrymen in the north

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 5:43pm

I agree with a lot of your points but you do lose a lot of credibility going on like that. Why would northerners want unity with a load of inbred mongs?

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 6:36pm

In a hypothetical situation that Ulster leaves the Union - the Loyalists would just rage war on the south. If that threat was there then it just wouldn't happen.

ulster isnt in the union

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 6:38pm

I agree with a lot of your points but you do lose a lot of credibility going on like that. Why would northerners want unity with a load of inbred mongs?
I agree the terminology is perhaps harsh but my criticism is directed not at Southerners in general ffs, but those that chose to play the same old, we can’t afford the North card/ what would we want to trouble etc… those who couldn’t give a **** about it when generations before them died for our cause. These people in my opinion are a disgrace. A plague on our country and I make no apologises for that.  They are uneducated fools. They are traitors. Having lived in the North for a number of years I can assure you many feel abandoned by their Southern Countrymen who share these pathetic views.

As for quoting polls published in the Belfast Telegraph… don’t get me started.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 6:40pm

ulster isnt in the union

We already went over that point, wake up Tom

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 6:53pm

I agree the terminology is perhaps harsh but my criticism is directed not at Southerners in general ffs, but those that chose to play the same old, we can’t afford the North card/ what would we want to trouble etc… those who couldn’t give a **** about it when generations before them died for our cause. These people in my opinion are a disgrace. A plague on our country and I make no apologises for that.  They are uneducated fools. They are traitors. Having lived in the North for a number of years I can assure you many feel abandoned by their Southern Countrymen who share these pathetic views.

Back in medieval days it was the likes of you that they used to make believe that they were fighting for a cause worth dieing for. They were usually the guys that were sent into battle first to use up all the archers arrows from the other side before launching a proper attacking. 

Me, im loyal to myself. I do things to benefit myself and my life. Id be a "mong" as you put it, to vote for something that would dis-improve my quality of life.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2012 at 7:03pm

Back in medieval days it was the likes of you that they used to make believe that they were fighting for a cause worth dieing for. They were usually the guys that were sent into battle first to use up all the archers arrows from the other side before launching a proper attacking. 

Me, im loyal to myself. I do things to benefit myself and my life. Id be a "mong" as you put it, to vote for something that would dis-improve my quality of life.

Therein lies the problem