URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=42032
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 10:37pm

Topic: North Korean Holiday
Subject: North Korean Holiday
Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 1:56am
Been looking this up for the last few months and seems like it would be well worth doing. It's the last of the loony places left to see.

Any of ye that traveled around Asia been there? There's a few of us on this forum planning to go there soon enough.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 7:33am
Nahhhhh closed when I was backpacking but i did meet one dude who had been there , It was the world student games something like that anyway had a good chat about the place he was only in the capital and said he had police to " lookafter him and follow him around when he was outside the student village " he said people were scared to look at him and more to do with the fear of the secret police .
It all reminded a bit like China was 20 years ago a lot of places were closed and if you did go off the beaten track you were fined and sent back to an open area . 
Was in South Korea but that hardly counts .
There was 5 countries I missed out while backpacking in east asia and Burma was the one i wanted to see but couldn't forgive myself if I had gone at the time knowing what the then Army were doing to their people .

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 10:40am
Looked into it when I was in China a few years ago - too expensive for me at the time (bout 1500 for a 3/4 day trip at that stage iirc). Would love to see it if time/moeny allowed. Think you can train from Beijin and fly back or vice versa, but you're pretty much under house arrest for the duration of your saty apart from very organised tours

Posted By: kimbap
Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 10:49am

Been looking this up for the last few months and seems like it would be well worth doing. It's the last of the loony places left to see.

Any of ye that traveled around Asia been there? There's a few of us on this forum planning to go there soon enough.

I lived in S Korea for years and over that time a few friends went at different times.I think the all had to go through China.General consensus was the same.You don't really get to see anything as you're guided and guarded around together all the time.No interaction with locals.Hotels (although sh*te,intermittent electricity etc) are a complete rip off.All in all i don't think any of them were too sad to be leaving.Visa also costs a fortune.Last time i was talking to a lad not so long ago he said he paid something like $2000 if memory serves me correctly.No doubt it would be interesting though, as you say there would be nowhere else like it left on earth at this stage.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 11:39am
Would like to go alright, who has a fairly good description of what it is like is the comedian Dom Joly in his book The Dark Tourist, he basically goes to a load of places people don't generally go to, like N. Korea, Chernobyl, Iran etc, a good read. 

Fella I worked with was there for the world student games in 1974 (I think), never really got to ask him what it was like, and the same lad is a brilliant liar, so I doubt I would have got the truth anyway. If you have the opportunity, why not. 

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 11:46am

Would like to go alright, who has a fairly good description of what it is like is the comedian Dom Joly in his book The Dark Tourist, he basically goes to a load of places people don't generally go to, like N. Korea, Chernobyl, Iran etc, a good read. 

Fella I worked with was there for the world student games in 1974 (I think), never really got to ask him what it was like, and the same lad is a brilliant liar, so I doubt I would have got the truth anyway. If you have the opportunity, why not. 

Did you ever watch any of his documentaries on Sky 1 Deise? Basically himself and his buddy used to go to random places, sample the local beers and get wrote off drunk! Pretty funny i must say Thumbs Up

I've travelled to a shed load of countries around the world, but i can't say North Korea would ever appeal to me! The likes of Vietnam, Burma, Malaysia, Thailand would be more along the lines of what places i'd like to see in Asia (i've never been).

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 12:35pm

Did you ever watch any of his documentaries on Sky 1 Deise? Basically himself and his buddy used to go to random places, sample the local beers and get wrote off drunk! Pretty funny i must say Thumbs Up

I've travelled to a shed load of countries around the world, but i can't say North Korea would ever appeal to me! The likes of Vietnam, Burma, Malaysia, Thailand would be more along the lines of what places i'd like to see in Asia (i've never been).

His book the dark tourist is unrelated to his tv series of a jaunt around the world on the piss with his friend.
Ive been meaning to read it for a long time. He does a load of weird stuff apparently like going skiing in Iran Shocked

North Korea would be great to see, but not at the prices mentioned above.

You'll have a cracking time in Vietnam living off buttons. Cheap as chips over there and a fabulous country with lovely people. Could not recommend it highly enough.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 12:41pm

Ive always wanted to go, country fascinates me a lot, only books I read really on are on NK (This is paradise, the aquariums of pyongyang and welcome to paradise are all must reads). I was very very close to going when I lived in China. Was going to fly into shenyang/dandong and get the visa there and head across on a package there, package was cheap enough in comparison to what you get here, couple of hundred euro and dedicated english guide just for you as its a group of chinese you go with, was also a train journey in which is much better as get to see more of the country, its still the country id visit over any other and I will get there soon.

edit - this was the company I was going to use http://ddcts.com/english.htm" rel="nofollow - Link just seen the price is €630 for four days plus €80 for a mass games ticket, youd be nuts to go at any time other than during the mass games.

Posted By: Jason Kelly
Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 1:07pm

Wouldn't regard myself as a seasoned tourist so couldn't give advice on travelling around Asia in general, but i visited Korea in 2009 and plan on doing so again in the near future(hopefully early 2014).

If your political knowledge comes from the Sunday World or the BBC, then, personally, i would advise against a trip to the DPRK. For your guides sake if anything else, showing signs of distain to the Workers Party or  left wing politics in general, is a bad move.

My advice would be to make your own transport to Beijing via the Netherlands(avoid UK airports if you can, i have had difficulty in the past, particularly returning from Slovakia away, passing through their airports for what they deem "dubious" passport stamps. Turkish Republic of Cyprus and Korea.) A return flight should work out at circa 800-900 euro.

Koryo is the official tour agency of the Korean Workers Party. The have an office in Beijing. Make contact via email, with dates etc of your intended travel dates and they will do the rest. My trip cost 600 euro ( from Beijing) and was a four day trip.  I went in febuary( the weather is v cold!!!) at the time of Kim Sungs birthday. Arrange your travel during times of a National holiday for the best experiance, again Koryo will forward you all this info and will arrange with you the best dates in which too travel.

Its quite simple to obtain a visa, just fill out a simple form that Koryo will provide. Once your not a journalist you will have no problems what so ever. Getting a Chinese visa is actually more difficult. A fantastic holiday and definately (outside of football) my best ever trip. Well worth the trip. Was taken to the border with south korea, and their military power was just incredible, especially when you take into account the country is debt free. Really can't speak highly enough of how amazing the place is.

Pyongyang, again incredible. Nightlife is great craic iswell. Differant, very differant, but great craic all the same. No bulmers but free bottles of heineken made up for it Clap. So many things to put into one post tbh

Any more questions pm me, or ring me even. I can pm you my number if you dont have it  or one of the rkba lads will have it. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 1:19pm
Originally posted by Jason Kelly Jason Kelly wrote:

Wouldn't regard myself as a seasoned tourist so couldn't give advice on travelling around Asia in general, but i visited Korea in 2009 and plan on doing so again in the near future(hopefully early 2014).

If your political knowledge comes from the Sunday World or the BBC, then, personally, i would advise against a trip to the DPRK. For your guides sake if anything else, showing signs of distain to the Workers Party or  left wing politics in general, is a bad move.

My advice would be to make your own transport to Beijing via the Netherlands(avoid UK airports if you can, i have had difficulty in the past, particularly returning from Slovakia away, passing through their airports for what they deem "dubious" passport stamps. Turkish Republic of Cyprus and Korea.) A return flight should work out at circa 800-900 euro.

Koryo is the official tour agency of the Korean Workers Party. The have an office in Beijing. Make contact via email, with dates etc of your intended travel dates and they will do the rest. My trip cost 600 euro ( from Beijing) and was a four day trip.  I went in febuary( the weather is v cold!!!) at the time of Kim Sungs birthday. Arrange your travel during times of a National holiday for the best experiance, again Koryo will forward you all this info and will arrange with you the best dates in which too travel.

Its quite simple to obtain a visa, just fill out a simple form that Koryo will provide. Once your not a journalist you will have no problems what so ever. Getting a Chinese visa is actually more difficult. A fantastic holiday and definately (outside of football) my best ever trip. Well worth the trip. Was taken to the border with south korea, and their military power was just incredible, especially when you take into account the country is debt free. Really can't speak highly enough of how amazing the place is.

Pyongyang, again incredible. Nightlife is great craic iswell. Differant, very differant, but great craic all the same. No bulmers but free bottles of heineken made up for it Clap. So many things to put into one post tbh

Any more questions pm me, or ring me even. I can pm you my number if you dont have it  or one of the rkba lads will have it. Thumbs Up

Did you take the train or fly with Koryo?? Also, flights via Istanbul to Beijing can be got as cheap as €490 these days! They dont check your passport there either, nor in London actually if its a connecting flight to China or back, travelled that way a few times.

Sounds unreal though, can't wait to get over, still gutted never made it the last time.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 1:38pm
From watching a few shows in youtube, it seems that tourists have no hassle, especially neutral countries.

Jason, how was your hotel, like I seen one show that they stick ya on an island and have dog for grub. They also said the hotel rooms were bugged. Is this one of these places that give ya like 2 sheets of toilet roll a day?

Did you go with a group?

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 2:30pm
Who in there right mind would want to see this sh*thole?
Some of you lot baffle me at times

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 2:53pm
@Nvidic . We flew with Air Koryo from Beijing. The train takes almost a day so we decided against that option as youd miss out on a full day in Korea. Its so simple , honestly. Within an hour of arriving at our hotel in Beijing, Koryo staff came to meet us and sort out our visas. Its a very simple process. Then 2 days later they returned and took us to the airport to begin our trip. They couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. A trip that comes highly recommended, even if socialism isnt your thing.

@Corkery. Yes i went with a group, 4 of us in total( you should know one fella, Macker) and a group of Austrians were also in our group.The hotel was on an island yes, yangakdo. The most luxuries place ive ever had the privilage to stay. It had casinos, bars, restaurants etc. The grub was top notch, you could have five 7 course dinners a day, on the house of course. Im a lover of Asian cuisine anyway so didnt have a problem atall with the food. I'd seriously doubt if the rooms were bugged , journalists are monitored but thats it. On the 3rd night our guide took us into a nightclub in Pyongyang about a mile away, very diferant from anything thing id experianced, but amazing none the less.

Anymore questions feel free to ask, nothing stupid about bogroll tho ffs.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 2:55pm
Read Blaine hardens book called escape from camp 41. Shower of coonts them North Koreans.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 4:59pm

@Nvidic . We flew with Air Koryo from Beijing. The train takes almost a day so we decided against that option as youd miss out on a full day in Korea. Its so simple , honestly. Within an hour of arriving at our hotel in Beijing, Koryo staff came to meet us and sort out our visas. Its a very simple process. Then 2 days later they returned and took us to the airport to begin our trip. They couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. A trip that comes highly recommended, even if socialism isnt your thing.

@Corkery. Yes i went with a group, 4 of us in total( you should know one fella, Macker) and a group of Austrians were also in our group.The hotel was on an island yes, yangakdo. The most luxuries place ive ever had the privilage to stay. It had casinos, bars, restaurants etc. The grub was top notch, you could have five 7 course dinners a day, on the house of course. Im a lover of Asian cuisine anyway so didnt have a problem atall with the food. I'd seriously doubt if the rooms were bugged , journalists are monitored but thats it. On the 3rd night our guide took us into a nightclub in Pyongyang about a mile away, very diferant from anything thing id experianced, but amazing none the less.

Anymore questions feel free to ask, nothing stupid about bogroll tho ffs.

Good stuff, will make the trip next time I'm in Beijing, hadnt realised it was so easy with Koryo, hence my looking into getting in via shenyang/dandong, although is a shorter train journey from there

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 5:12pm
What's the story with taking photos, I want to get one with that big statue of Kim Il Sung. Also was there a waiting list to get into the country. Did ye book a while in advance.

BSM, you go to Dublin for Ireland games don't ya, they are practically the same, just Pyongyang has less junkies.

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 5:20pm

Says the man who gos on holiday to Dundalk annuallyLOL

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 5:42pm

What's the story with taking photos, I want to get one with that big statue of Kim Il Sung. Also was there a waiting list to get into the country. Did ye book a while in advance.

BSM, you go to Dublin for Ireland games don't ya, they are practically the same, just Pyongyang has less junkies.

Taking photo's isnt a problem, infact the tour guide insist you take photo's to show off the archetectural feats and the amazing scenery of Korea. Just no photo's that show Korea in a bad light, altho in my experiance, you'd find it hard to capture any negative images anyway. Photo's of areas of military importance are a no no however, which is understandable. They are still technically at war. I didnt have a camera anyway myself(i spend enough time avoiding the feckin things) , but one of our group did and had no problem taking snaps, altho they were inspected upon leaving for things like military stuff etc. Every tour is taken to the statue and you are expected to bow  and show respect.

No, there was no waiting list or anything like that. We booked it in May, and went the following Febuary so about 8/9 months in advance.

Posted By: The Big Club
Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 6:17pm
Originally posted by jackshat jackshat wrote:

BrilliantLOL

Posted By: Rostrevor Fan
Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 7:18pm
dundalk is harder to get out off than north korea

Posted By: IrishPride
Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 7:29pm
Dont know why anyone would spend money in this hellhole of a place just because they are curious about it. Couldn't live with myself swanning around the country stimulating their "economy" while thousands starve to death in the rural N.Korea, and all just because I was curious about the country. 

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 7:46pm
Originally posted by IrishPride IrishPride wrote:

Dont know why anyone would spend money in this hellhole of a place just because they are curious about it. Couldn't live with myself swanning around the country stimulating their "economy" while thousands starve to death in the rural N.Korea, and all just because I was curious about the country. 

The famine in the 90's is accepted by the red cross to be down to a crop failure.

What about the perpatrators of the famine in Ireland? Would you have any problem supporting their economy?

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 7:59pm
The country is still starving. 

Agricultural production increased from about 2.7 million  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tonne" rel="nofollow - metric tons  in 1997 to 4.2 million metric tons in 2004. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-assistance-39" rel="nofollow - [39]  As of 2011, famine continues to be a problem for North Korea, although less so than in the mid to late 1990s. Flooding in 2007 and reductions in food aid exacerbated the problem, however. Moreover, according to Korea Forest Service, the devastation is still affecting North Korea's forests up to now. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-47" rel="nofollow - [47] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-48" rel="nofollow - [48]

In 2011, during a visit to North Korea, US ex-President  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jimmy_Carter" rel="nofollow - Jimmy Carter  reported that one third of children in North Korea were malnourished and stunted in their growth because of a lack of food. He also said that the North Korean state had reduced daily food intake from 1,400 calories to 700 calories in 2011 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-49" rel="nofollow - [49]  (by comparison, a normal food intake for a healthy European is 2,000-2,500 calories per day http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-50" rel="nofollow - [50] ). Some scholars believe that North Korea is purposefully exaggerating the food shortage, aiming to receive additional food supplies for its planned 2012 mass celebrations by means of foreign aid. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-51" rel="nofollow - [51]

Escaped North Koreans have reported that starvation has returned to the nation. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-52" rel="nofollow - [52]  A study by South Korean anthropologists of North Korean children who had defected to China found that 18-year-old males were 5 inches shorter than South Koreans their age. Roughly 45% of North Korean children under the age of five are stunted from malnutrition. Most people eat meat only on public holidays, namely  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kim_Il-sung" rel="nofollow - Kim Il-sung 's and  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kim_Jong-il" rel="nofollow - Kim Jong-il ’s birthdays. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-53" rel="nofollow - [53]  It is reported that since the death of Kim Jong-il in December 2011, around 20,000 people have starved to death in South Hwanghae Province alone. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-54" rel="nofollow - [54] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-55" rel="nofollow - [55]

Why would anyone support this just because they wanted to see a interesting country, bearing in mind you wont be shown the real country only selective highlight off it. Your comparison to the UK is not valid because famine isn't still going on here and the don't run the country anymore

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 8:03pm
I want to see it because nobody knows what it's like inside, like you can just stroll into the other loony places like Turkmenistan and walk around and do what ya want. DPRK has another way of life that is many years behind the rest of the world. 

Half of this forum has been to countries that murder and torture people. It's not the DPRK's fault that they don't have something like the BBC or FOX to say otherwise to the world.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 8:03pm

The famine in the 90's is accepted by the red cross to be down to a crop failure.

What about the perpatrators of the famine in Ireland? Would you have any problem supporting their economy?

there was absolutely no reason so many had to and still do die froma lack of food anymore, especially from a country that has so much to psend on military, have ye read any the books on NK I mentioned out of interest?

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 8:15pm

there was absolutely no reason so many had to and still do die froma lack of food anymore, especially from a country that has so much to psend on military, have ye read any the books on NK I mentioned out of interest?

Didn't they build a dam and it stopped water doing to the paddy fields? The policy of the military first is a policy that controls the state. 8million in the military out of 20million means that this policy is never going to go away.

Posted By: ODCO
Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 9:10pm

Ya have to go through China. I lived in south korea for a year and wanted to go but it was too much hassle. I would absolutely love to go with a load of people off their tits mind you ! When are you going ? Tell them that the grass grows green in Ireland because Kim Jong Il once said that when there seagulls follow the traweller the sheep sleep with the fishesThumbs Up
Apparently your every move, conversation,etc is watched God help them if a load of paddys turned upLOL

Bleeding Trisha Always on me Bleeding Case

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 10:12pm

Agricultural production increased from about 2.7 million  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tonne" rel="nofollow - metric tons  in 1997 to 4.2 million metric tons in 2004. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-assistance-39" rel="nofollow - [39]  As of 2011, famine continues to be a problem for North Korea, although less so than in the mid to late 1990s. Flooding in 2007 and reductions in food aid exacerbated the problem, however. Moreover, according to Korea Forest Service, the devastation is still affecting North Korea's forests up to now. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-47" rel="nofollow - [47] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-48" rel="nofollow - [48]

In 2011, during a visit to North Korea, US ex-President  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jimmy_Carter" rel="nofollow - Jimmy Carter  reported that one third of children in North Korea were malnourished and stunted in their growth because of a lack of food. He also said that the North Korean state had reduced daily food intake from 1,400 calories to 700 calories in 2011 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-49" rel="nofollow - [49]  (by comparison, a normal food intake for a healthy European is 2,000-2,500 calories per day http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-50" rel="nofollow - [50] ). Some scholars believe that North Korea is purposefully exaggerating the food shortage, aiming to receive additional food supplies for its planned 2012 mass celebrations by means of foreign aid. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-51" rel="nofollow - [51]

Escaped North Koreans have reported that starvation has returned to the nation. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-52" rel="nofollow - [52]  A study by South Korean anthropologists of North Korean children who had defected to China found that 18-year-old males were 5 inches shorter than South Koreans their age. Roughly 45% of North Korean children under the age of five are stunted from malnutrition. Most people eat meat only on public holidays, namely  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kim_Il-sung" rel="nofollow - Kim Il-sung 's and  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kim_Jong-il" rel="nofollow - Kim Jong-il ’s birthdays. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-53" rel="nofollow - [53]  It is reported that since the death of Kim Jong-il in December 2011, around 20,000 people have starved to death in South Hwanghae Province alone. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-54" rel="nofollow - [54] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Korean_famine#cite_note-55" rel="nofollow - [55]

Why would anyone support this just because they wanted to see a interesting country, bearing in mind you wont be shown the real country only selective highlight off it. Your comparison to the UK is not valid because famine isn't still going on here and the don't run the country anymore

I'd take those reports with a pinch of salt. I certainly didn't see anything to back up these reports. I visited because i have a keen interest in socialist ideology, and was so impressed i've every intention of returning, and would recommend the trip to anyone, for the sights and the warm welcome alone.

Off topic, but my point about the UK is valid, for starters they still control over a quarter of the country, and you can't wipe out 2 million people and not expect it to have ramifications for the future of a country. What happened in Korea was a tragedy, what happened here was murder.

Also, im sure you could conjure up a percentage of malnourished children in modern day Ireland also. Every system has its flaws.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 10:19pm

Your right, theres not. Which is why they sought international aid. The military spending is to protect itself from invasion from the US. Anyone who thinks this isn't a possibility is living in Cuckoo Land. What books have you mentioned nvidic? I have read up on Kim Sungs Juche ideology, but not much else.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 10:28pm

No Irish tabloid Jounos welcomeTongue

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 10:35pm

I'd take those reports with a pinch of salt. I certainly didn't see anything to back up these reports. I visited because i have a keen interest in socialist ideology, and was so impressed i've every intention of returning, and would recommend the trip to anyone, for the sights and the warm welcome alone.

Off topic, but my point about the UK is valid, for starters they still control over a quarter of the country, and you can't wipe out 2 million people and not expect it to have ramifications for the future of a country. What happened in Korea was a tragedy, what happened here was murder.

Also, im sure you could conjure up a percentage of malnourished children in modern day Ireland also. Every system has its flaws.
In fairness you were never going to be shown anything but the best the country has too offer.

I agree with you that the famine hear was Murder. However Britain is a major trade partner so we both rely on each other when it comes to the economy and whats happening in Korea is ongoing while Britain isn't having a hunger crisis at the moment while spending/wasting daft money on such prestige projects like the Hotel Of Doom, A fake city with no inhabbitants or windows in the buildings and the world's largest flagpole near the border with S.Korea just to show offConfused 

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 10:57pm
Originally posted by The Big Club The Big Club wrote:

Originally posted by jackshat jackshat wrote:

BrilliantLOL
Only seeing this nowLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 11:17pm

In fairness you were never going to be shown anything but the best the country has too offer.

I agree with you that the famine hear was Murder. However Britain is a major trade partner so we both rely on each other when it comes to the economy and whats happening in Korea is ongoing while Britain isn't having a hunger crisis at the moment while spending/wasting daft money on such prestige projects like the Hotel Of Doom, A fake city with no inhabbitants or windows in the buildings and the world's largest flagpole near the border with S.Korea just to show offConfused 

Construction and the building of fine monuments are what Communist Party's the world over pride themselves on. The word "Workers Party" is a clue. I wouldn't mind seeing such projects put in place here, they might appear to be a waste of money to some, but essentially it creates employment and a sense of pride.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 11:31pm
You'd never get statues like that hear, it might offend someone. The City council in Cork put a sign two floors up to say where the Lord Mayor was shot. In Dublin it's the same, but some foreigner said lets put a million pound spike in the air they went for it.

To be fair to the Koreans, I would love work camps in Ireland, we could stick all 20,000 knackers into camps and get them doing something productive to make up for all the hassle they cause the country. We could also stick scum from all the rowdy estates around Ireland.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 11:46pm

You'd never get statues like that hear, it might offend someone. The City council in Cork put a sign two floors up to say where the Lord Mayor was shot. In Dublin it's the same, but some foreigner said lets put a million pound spike in the air they went for it.

To be fair to the Koreans, I would love work camps in Ireland, we could stick all 20,000 knackers into camps and get them doing something productive to make up for all the hassle they cause the country. We could also stick scum from all the rowdy estates around Ireland.

You would if the right boyos were in charge Wink

Wasn't there a some imperialist icon on O Connell Street years back, whatever happened to that LOL

As for the workcamps, there is a lot of pro's. The Russian justice system still uses USSR style "Gulags", i haven't got a figure, but  reoffending from released convicts is extremly low as opposed to a "normal" prison. The work instills pride and offers discipline. The daily routine of getting up and doing a days work rehabilitates offenders. Feck drug dealers into em.

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 12:15am
There's a statue of Prince Albert outside the Dáil, have no idea why they won't get rid of it. They only got rid of Victoria because Melbourne city council gave them money. There's a storage facility around Ireland that has a few of them and they sell them now and then. Since the country is out of money, storage wars could be filming down there soon. You'd have Dave Hester spotting the voting machines in the back of the locker.

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 12:21am

Since the country is out of money, storage wars could be filming down there soon. You'd have Dave Hester spotting the voting machines in the back of the locker.

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 9:19am
So we are all brainwashed by the BBC and Sky. North Korea is a great country we should all aspire to, the brits are responsible for absolutely everything that is wrong with Ireland
On a side note the berlin wall was of course to prevent western capitalism/influnece from infecting that workers nirvana that was East Germany and certainly not to stop the people fleeing west in their drove.

The lunatics have certainly taken over the asylum

Say what you like about the BBC they got there years before you, except they were funnier

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citizen_Smith" rel="nofollow - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citizen_Smith

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 9:27am
The North Korean propaganda machine has finally infiltrated ybig.

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 9:34am
Why go there? Out of the whole world why there?
Just to say" oh I've been to NK" whoopy f**king doo
Get over it and go to Benalmadena FFS

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 9:40am

Why go there? Out of the whole world why there?
Just to say" oh I've been to NK" whoopy f**king doo
Get over it and go to Benalmadena FFS

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 10:06am

Your right, theres not. Which is why they sought international aid. The military spending is to protect itself from invasion from the US. Anyone who thinks this isn't a possibility is living in Cuckoo Land. What books have you mentioned nvidic? I have read up on Kim Sungs Juche ideology, but not much else.

Aquariums of pyongyang , welcome to paradise and nothing to envy, id start with the first one and take the other two in either order, wont leave you with a good opinion of NK or juche for much longer

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 10:07am

This is their english language paper, can be good for a luagh every now and then, hard to believe they're fooling anyone with it

http://www.rodong.rep.kp/InterEn/" rel="nofollow - Rodong Sinmun

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 10:19am

This is their english language paper, can be good for a luagh every now and then, hard to believe they're fooling anyone with it

Judt had a read of a couple of articles on that. Some classics quotes "Warmongering South Koreans" "puppet military". This coming from a nation with a million people in its army and who spends money they don't have on weapons rather than feeding it own citizens. It would be funny if it wasn't so tragic.

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 11:18am

Judt had a read of a couple of articles on that. Some classics quotes "Warmongering South Koreans" "puppet military". This coming from a nation with a million people in its army and who spends money they don't have on weapons rather than feeding it own citizens. It would be funny if it wasn't so tragic.

In all fairness we spend around 7 billion we don't have every year.

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 12:43pm

So do you think North Korea is some sort of socialist paradise? Do you think they go about things better in North Korea than they do in Ireland?

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 2:07pm

how exactly was it murder ?

did they ship out food before the famine ? - Yes AFAIK

did they continue to ship food out when the country was starving - Yes

Would they have continued to ship food out if there wasnt a famine - yes

Did they care one iota about the starving millions in Ireland - probably not

Did they delibertly ship out food because there was a famine - not that I am aware of

so in short, they didnt give a flying one about Ireland but thats a bit different to 'murder', though I am sure they were happy enough with the depopulation of the island. Callous indifference to peoples suffering especially when they could of prevented it but murder ? neglient manslaughter maybe

Also bear in mind his is also the country that sent their own people to be slaughtered on the western front barely 80 years later so the british government/empire isnt a bit bothered about even their own people dying in droves

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 2:44pm
The USA, UK, Russia and China murder and torture people every year, but when Korea does it, it's terrible? Ye are watching way too much western tv.

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 3:42pm
Why would an interest in socialism be a reason to go to North Korea? It's not a socialist country anymore than China is.

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 6:38pm

The USA, UK, Russia and China murder and torture people every year, but when Korea does it, it's terrible? Ye are watching way too much western tv.

Read the aquariums of pyongyang before ya head over if you think any of those countries are comparable to NK

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 7:35pm
Alright, so they arn't as loony, I'm still going to go there like.

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 8:01pm
Think foreigners are given separate money to the local currency when they go to change currency as well.Confused 

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 8:16pm
Jason, what currency did you use? I hear that you use dollars in the capital?

Posted By: da scientist
Date Posted: 26 Nov 2012 at 4:41am

Housemate travelled there only recently. I got him tickets for the president’s party in the national stadium through the Korean Workers Party and the Irish Workers Party. Only Irish guy in the stadium and got the meet all the government ministers etc.

He said it was probably one of the best trips he was ever on and is going back again. Had the guide with him all the way around, got her sh*tfaced drunk and ended up shagging her. He has some deadly photos which are on his facebook so I will check them out later and post up.

Same chap was in Iran there a couple of months back skiing and also said it was the business.

This guy travels all over the world and wouldn’t educate himself on the SKY/FOX/CNN media etc.  

The main thing is not to panic

Posted By: fochie
Date Posted: 26 Nov 2012 at 11:02am

Posted By: da scientist
Date Posted: 26 Nov 2012 at 11:57am
dunno if ye can view his album. have a go

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.450922751816.221220.675671816&type=3

The main thing is not to panic

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2012 at 12:08pm
Originally posted by da scientist da scientist wrote:

dunno if ye can view his album. have a go

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.450922751816.221220.675671816&type=3
Na you need permission to look at it.

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2012 at 9:11pm
Originally posted by da scientist da scientist wrote:

Housemate travelled there only recently. I got him tickets for the president’s party in the national stadium through the Korean Workers Party and the Irish Workers Party. Only Irish guy in the stadium and got the meet all the government ministers etc.

He said it was probably one of the best trips he was ever on and is going back again. Had the guide with him all the way around, got her sh*tfaced drunk and ended up shagging her. He has some deadly photos which are on his facebook so I will check them out later and post up.

Same chap was in Iran there a couple of months back skiing and also said it was the business.

This guy travels all over the world and wouldn’t educate himself on the SKY/FOX/CNN media etc.  

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 28 Nov 2012 at 5:30pm
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/1128/breaking19.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/1128/breaking19.html

Posted By: Dukla
Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 12:52pm
Well now I'm definitely going

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/nov/30/unicorn-lair-discovered-north-korea?CMP=SOCNETTXT6966" rel="nofollow - http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/nov/30/unicorn-lair-discovered-north-korea?CMP=SOCNETTXT6966

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2013 at 12:57pm
http://www.independent.ie/world-news/asia-pacific/north-korea-executes-three-found-guilty-of-cannibalism-3104755.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.independent.ie/world-news/asia-pacific/north-korea-executes-three-found-guilty-of-cannibalism-3104755.html
Maybe should be taken with a pinch of salt, excuse the pun.

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2013 at 1:24pm
Ye better bring forward that holiday before the second korean war breaks out  Wacko

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/northkorea/9830970/Satellite-images-reveal-activity-at-North-Korea-test-site.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/northkorea/9830970/Satellite-images-reveal-activity-at-North-Korea-test-site.html

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2013 at 4:44pm
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/northkorea/10272953/Kim-Jong-uns-ex-lover-executed-by-firing-squad.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/northkorea/10272953/Kim-Jong-uns-ex-lover-executed-by-firing-squad.html

Kim Jong-un's ex-lover 'executed by firing squad

Date Posted: 30 Oct 2013 at 9:47pm
Anyone ever see the North Korean embassy in London? It's a normal house with a shed, a washing line and a basketball net out the back.

Posted By: liam_in_germany
Date Posted: 31 Oct 2013 at 2:10am
f**king mad coonts This is hilarious creepy and sad all at the same time http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=gSedE5sU3uc

Posted By: HateHenry
Date Posted: 14 Nov 2013 at 11:09pm
Programme on about North Korea the secret state ,on e4 now...mental.. no life.

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2013 at 11:25pm
Crazy stuff"..the kids orphaned, sickening so,it is

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2013 at 11:41pm
mental ole place. One day that rich elite will be ripped apart limb by limb hopefully sooner or later

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2014 at 5:40pm
http://worldnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2014/01/03/22156917-kim-jong-uns-executed-uncle-was-eaten-alive-by-120-hungry-dogs-report" rel="nofollow - http://worldnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2014/01/03/22156917-kim-jong-uns-executed-uncle-was-eaten-alive-by-120-hungry-dogs-report
Not sure how true it is but you wouldn't be surprised.

Posted By: Rostrevor Fan
Date Posted: 03 Jan 2014 at 7:04pm
So that's where they got the name Pedigree Jong

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2014 at 7:05pm
The uncle would have eaten the dogs first.

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2014 at 8:06pm

http://worldnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2014/01/03/22156917-kim-jong-uns-executed-uncle-was-eaten-alive-by-120-hungry-dogs-report" rel="nofollow - http://worldnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2014/01/03/22156917-kim-jong-uns-executed-uncle-was-eaten-alive-by-120-hungry-dogs-report
Not sure how true it is but you wouldn't be surprised.

highly likely false, good read this

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/worldviews/wp/2014/01/03/no-kim-jong-un-probably-didnt-feed-his-uncle-to-120-hungry-dogs/" rel="nofollow - http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/worldviews/wp/2014/01/03/no-kim-jong-un-probably-didnt-feed-his-uncle-to-120-hungry-dogs/

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2014 at 12:21pm
This is one of my favourite threads. I have to visit this place before I die.I know it's hard on people living there but it has to be one of the most fascinating places in the world (albeit for the wrong reasons).It really is the closest thing to Orwell's dystopian superstate. 

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2014 at 1:00pm

This is one of my favourite threads. I have to visit this place before I die.I know it's hard on people living there but it has to be one of the most fascinating places in the world (albeit for the wrong reasons).It really is the closest thing to Orwell's dystopian superstate. 

My mate and his missus were there last month.I know a good few who have been there over the years.They nearly all say the same thing,basically that it was weird and interesting but also that you dont get any interaction with anybody but the tour guides.You see a few factories,you're on a set tour and thats it.Its also crazy expensive.

I lived in S Korea for years,was never to arsed about visiting the North (would have to go through China if i did go) I'm sure it would have been interesting,but taken as a whole not worth the hassle. I was up at the border lots of times and did a few tours up there which were very interesting though.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2014 at 12:21pm
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/todayfms-matt-cooper-travels-to-north-korea-with-dennis-rodman-29891467.html

Matt Cooper and his pal Dennis Rodman head off to North Korea.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2014 at 12:55pm
rodman has to be working for the CIA ffs

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2014 at 2:01pm
http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/jan/06/story-kim-jong-un-uncle-fed-dogs-made-up?CMP=fb_gu" rel="nofollow - http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/jan/06/story-kim-jong-un-uncle-fed-dogs-made-up?CMP=fb_gu

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2014 at 3:38pm
Of course it was made up. 'Sources tell us'

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2014 at 3:56pm
Originally posted by kimbap kimbap wrote:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/todayfms-matt-cooper-travels-to-north-korea-with-dennis-rodman-29891467.html

Matt Cooper and his pal Dennis Rodman head off to North Korea.

Just saw this on SSN. What the fook is going on there???? What has Matt Cooper got to do with it??

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2014 at 4:02pm
That has to be singlehandedly the most random sh*t I have ever seen!LOL  Matt Cooper going off with Rodman (a complete nutter) to Kim jun un's birthday party in North Korea! Holy fook!LOL

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2014 at 4:09pm
anyone know who the other basketballers are who headed over with Rodman ?

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2014 at 4:11pm

That has to be singlehandedly the most random sh*t I have ever seen!LOL  Matt Cooper going off with Rodman (a complete nutter) to Kim jun un's birthday party in North Korea! Holy fook!LOL

Sponsored by Irelands favourite "entertainment" company..........

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2014 at 4:13pm

Nothing would surprise me now!  Probably Winnie Mandela and Kenny Dalglish the way this story is going.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2014 at 4:35pm

Nothing would surprise me now!  Probably Winnie Mandela and Kenny Dalglish the way this story is going.
all ex NBA players but cant see many names of who they are.Vin Baker is one .
No doubt these lads are getting a huge payday to head over.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2014 at 6:38pm
Cooper did a long interview with Rodman last year about North Korea so probably came about after that. Will he have a Panorama style hidden camera with him.
I'd be telling Matt to keep a keen eye out for hungry dogs.

Posted By: Madferret
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2014 at 7:56pm

I can't stop laughing. Matt Cooper fed to dogs watched on by Rodman dunking baskets and Kim Junior scoffing a Superquinn Black Forest Gateau paid for with one of the forged £5 Labour Party notes LOLLOLLOL

http://ansionnachfionn.com/2011/08/23/the-labour-party-and-the-official-ira-they-havent-gone-away-you-know/" rel="nofollow - http://ansionnachfionn.com/2011/08/23/the-labour-party-and-the-official-ira-they-havent-gone-away-you-know/

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2014 at 12:45pm
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/asia-pacific/rodman-sings-happy-birthday-to-north-korean-leader-1.1648254?page=1" rel="nofollow - http://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/asia-pacific/rodman-sings-happy-birthday-to-north-korean-leader-1.1648254?page=1

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2014 at 1:55pm

don't know if any post here but a couple of our fans planned to complete George Bush's "Axis of Evil"

Iran playoff in 2001, went to North Korea via China in 2002 and planned to visit Iraq in March 2003 on the Georgia trip.  They did get to North Korea but not Iraq.  I'd love to go but only saw the DMZ in 2002.  I don't recall their names but they were friends of a former colleague who doesn't travel any longer.

Posted By: Madferret
Date Posted: 10 Jan 2014 at 1:51am
I'm sure this is how poor oul Kim Jung imagined his beloved fatherland would turn out...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rqDjCfYHEcA" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rqDjCfYHEcA

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2014 at 2:14am
Interesting reaction to the Kenneth Bae question. Surprised Rodman isn't walking around with a Korean workers party badge. I'd say the CIA has a pretty big file on him by now. Wonder what the North koreans make of him LOL

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2014 at 6:57am
Originally posted by Dukla Dukla wrote:

Interesting reaction to the Kenneth Bae question. Surprised Rodman isn't walking around with a Korean workers party badge. I'd say the CIA has a pretty big file on him by now. Wonder what the North koreans make of him LOL

he is a loose cannon , i was hoping he was working for the CIA , one of his entourage must be , maybe matt cooper is LOL

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2014 at 12:21pm
How is Matt Cooper involved?  Someone said he went as an observer. Well ho does that work? I cant go to some birtday party in the white house as an observer so how can he go to pyongyang?

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2014 at 6:38pm
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/matt-cooper-we-felt-watched-at-all-times-during-north-korea-trip-29905690.html

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2014 at 6:47pm

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/matt-cooper-we-felt-watched-at-all-times-during-north-korea-trip-29905690.html

No!!!! What does he expect?? He is in a nation full of midgits with slanty eyes and he is walking around with a nutjob mouthy 6ft 7'' black man with earring in his nose singing happy birthday to a dictator who plans nuclear war!  Of course they are going to stand out!!

Posted By: SteviesGranny
Date Posted: 10 Jan 2014 at 7:04pm

No!!!! What does he expect?? He is in a nation full of midgits with slanty eyes and he is walking around with a nutjob mouthy 6ft 7'' black man with earring in his nose singing happy birthday to a dictator who plans nuclear war!  Of course they are going to stand out!!

So True

On a side note, anyone have any good documentaries to recommend on North Korea.

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2014 at 7:50pm
Vice have done a few good ones. Went on a full tour of the country in one, in another one they accompanied Rodman on his first trip (haven't seen that one yet) & another one was about labour camps the north koreans run in Russia which was extremely odd, one or two were left abandoned & they were walking around them with a local police officer, the whole thing was like something straight out of a sci-fi film, by pure coincidence Kim jong il was at a meeting with either Putin or Medvedev cant remember which in the same region of Russia at the exact same time.

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2014 at 7:51pm
Originally posted by SteviesGranny SteviesGranny wrote:

So True

On a side note, anyone have any good documentaries to recommend on North Korea.

Land of Whispers is on Youtube,its fairly good.BBC Panorama did a good one a while back its on the torrents sites.

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2014 at 8:22pm

Don't really know what Matt was expecting but even a quick glance on here before he went and he would have read that foreigners don't go around unaccompanied in N Korea.

I'll be surprised if there is a more bizarre story this year.

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2014 at 8:42pm
Saw the Panorama, the one on Nat Geo but the best one was probably the Channel 4 one that was on a couple of months ago (or maybe more recently?). Had recorded it but only watched it over Christmas.

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2014 at 10:55pm
http://www.independent.ie/world-news/irish-whiskey-and-a-handbag-paddy-power-denies-breaking-un-sanctions-with-gifts-for-kim-jongun-29905910.html

And weirder it gets,

Paddy Power (according  to their number 2 spokespersonConfused) Gave Kim gifts consisting of a bottle of booze,a handbag and a baby dress.