URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=41866
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 3:20pm

Topic: Watford thread
Subject: Watford thread
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2012 at 6:01pm
In celebration of the Hornets fine victory over Leeds and for the man himself sligo hornet.

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2012 at 6:11pm
well done watford, we were well done Ouch

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2012 at 6:20pm
Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh A Watford thread well must say I will be making comments on this one, but I must say I do like the 4 hornets I know Thumbs Up . Funny yesterday's result reminds Me when they won by the same score line at the at the New Den last season i think ,

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2012 at 6:43pm
lets hope theres not a sting in the tail.

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2012 at 7:30pm
very kind of you DM.....and nice words from Murph
You are right too we did win 6-1 at Millwall
We had three of our Irish boys on show at Leeds...Tommie Hoban getting better every week, Connor Smith in a five man midfield ....and Sean Murray off the bench and scoring late on

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2012 at 8:21pm
I will always cherish sligos kind words on the double maxim thread !

Posted By: heyirish
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2012 at 9:30pm
we were robbed

karl pilkington to doctor when getting prostate examined: jesus thats high up that is, fcuking hell, right you're touching a lung now

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2012 at 9:32pm

We had three of our Irish boys on show at Leeds...Tommie Hoban getting better every week, Connor Smith in a five man midfield ....and Sean Murray off the bench and scoring late on

Mark Yeates , makes it 4 Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 7:04am

Mark Yeates , makes it 4 Thumbs Up

Silly meEmbarrassed.......forgot poor Mark..........he scored a great free kick too Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 7:19am

You're welcome DM Thumbs Up ...........still yet to sample some of this elixir

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 7:24am

Enjoy it Hornet as it will not last as I plan to be back to my nasty pest ridden self by lunch time Heart

Posted By: Marley+
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 7:36am
Have Watford got a realistic chance of making the play offs ?

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 7:40am
Originally posted by Marley+ Marley+ wrote:

Have Watford got a realistic chance of making the play offs ?

Yes I think so........we have a large squad with a good deal of talent (albeit many loanees).......it's taking time for such a large influx of players (and a change in style of play) to gel but there are definite signs.......that said I would be quite happy to finish in the top 10 this season.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 8:07am

You're welcome DM Thumbs Up ...........still yet to sample some of this elixir
you can currently get Double Maxim draught in the wetherspoons beer festival.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 10:11am

You're welcome DM Thumbs Up ...........still yet to sample some of this elixir

Hopefully one day bud. Beer

Posted By: Drumaville
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 11:46am
I remember being at Watford in 1984 in a league cup match we were drinking with a load of Watford fans cracking guys.

Are those allotments still there ?

Double Maxim draught in the Derry pub now you are talking.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 11:51am
Originally posted by Drumaville Drumaville wrote:

I remember being at Watford in 1984 in a league cup match we were drinking with a load of Watford fans cracking guys.

the ones behind the Rookery Stand?..........if yes, then they are still there......for now, but under threat of closure

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 11:52am

the ones behind the Rookery Stand?..........if yes, then they are still there......for now, but under threat of closure

I recall them well and Clive Walkers winner. Clap

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 12:01pm

Enjoy it Hornet as it will not last as I plan to be back to my nasty pest ridden self by lunch time Heart

Big smileLOLLOLLOLBig smile

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 12:22pm

I was at that match happy days we got to the final on that run and of course lost to Norwich.

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2012 at 10:18am
I've seen SAFC three times at Watford that league cup game thats been mentioned on this thread earlier and two draws in the league.

Thankfully I wasn't at the 8 0 match. Embarrassed

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2012 at 10:28am

I've seen SAFC three times at Watford that league cup game thats been mentioned on this thread earlier and two draws in the league.

I was Big smile........so just for you DM.......enjoy Wink

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_MILTzt5Vdo" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_MILTzt5Vdo

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2012 at 10:40am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_MILTzt5Vdo" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_MILTzt5Vdo
thanks for that. You ever been to Roker pk or the S0L ?

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2012 at 10:54am

thanks for that. You ever been to Roker pk or the S0L ?

No never been to either.....don't know why, as have been virtually everywhere else over the centuries

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2012 at 11:04am
Did you see the post by marley+ on this thread about the availability of Double Maxim ( the drink ) ?

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2012 at 12:20pm

Did you see the post by marley+ on this thread about the availability of Double Maxim ( the drink ) ?

yes I saw that DM.....but I think the Beer Festival is now finished.......certainly the Moon Under Water is not showing it as available......will call in there after saturday's home game against Wolves......maybe there will be a little left.

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2012 at 7:23am
Whats Wilfie Rostron up to now he was in the same year as me in school in Sunderland cracking lad.

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2012 at 8:59am

Whats Wilfie Rostron up to now he was in the same year as me in school in Sunderland cracking lad.

After finishing his career at Brentford he moved back to Sunderland as his wife is mackem....as far as I know he still runs his own furniture importing business which he bece quite successful at
.....as you say a lovely guy

Posted By: Wearmouth
Date Posted: 14 Nov 2012 at 9:14am
Remember when he got selected for Sunderland school boys my sister who was his teacher at the time went to see him at wembley with a school trip purely because he was so popular she has no interest in football.

Charlie Hurley a true legend

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2012 at 6:32am
Do you rate Vydra Sligo Hornet ?

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2012 at 7:36am

Sure he will get back to you later on DM while he looks at his plane home on the Tarmac in Dublin this afternoon .

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2012 at 8:26am
sounds like the Murph and the Hornet are very good mates.

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2012 at 4:21pm

Sorry for the tardiness of my response .....couldn't log on due to the fog
Yes I do rate him as what I consider to be a natural goal scorer ( in the Defoe style)....he has an abundance of desire to attack and shoot and the timing if some of his runs is now paying dividends...he has that strikers mentality where he thinks he will score every time he shoots
Think we are very lucky to have him and the word is we will sign him permanently in January

Posted By: humpmeister7
Date Posted: 15 Nov 2012 at 4:31pm
Tommy Hoban is the future. 18 years old and already playing like a man who's played the game for 25 years. Next Richard dunne in my eyes. Not seen too much of Connor smith yet a and Sean Murray has stuttered a bit with injurys so far.

Hornet's son. Don't hold it against me.

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2012 at 6:42am
Its the big one on Sunday Sunderland woman v Watford woman on Wearside. Wink

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2012 at 8:17am
our girls certainly know how to score.

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2012 at 9:17am
Originally posted by Wearmouth Wearmouth wrote:

Big smileBig smileWinkBig smileBig smile

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2012 at 4:38pm
Watford 2 Wolves 1 ten mins to go.

Posted By: humpmeister7
Date Posted: 17 Nov 2012 at 6:34pm
Another good win for the hornets. Helped out by the red obviously but a decent performance. Hoban excellent again. 1 point off playoffs now. Getting dangerously optimistic now!!

Hornet's son. Don't hold it against me.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 12:45pm
What was the Watford keeper doing on the Wolves goal

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 1:23pm

What was the Watford keeper doing on the Wolves goal

God knows..,...crazy goal to give away....normally he is spot on...great signing for Watford
We played some exceptional football and should have won by more.......I had £20 on 3-1 win at 18/1

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 1:37pm
What a bumer for you I won sixty quid on the Celtic and Hibs results.

Posted By: Wearside Bhoy
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2012 at 3:34pm
Didn't know there was a Watford thread on here fair play cracking club. Thumbs Up

TJ Doyles,Sunderland probably the best Irish pub in the world.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2012 at 4:40pm

Big smileBig smileWinkBig smileBig smile

Well some do.....apparently

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2012 at 5:01pm
It finished 1 1.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2012 at 8:49am
Who have Watford got this weekend ?

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2012 at 7:47am
Away to Blackpool.

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2012 at 7:55am

Away to Blackpool.

Indeed.........we don't have a particularly good record there, but with our current good form I'm hopeful of picking up a point at least. Super Kevin Phillips is fit so is likely to score against us........ AGAIN Cry

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2012 at 8:04am
Supakev tends to start from the bench these days. Good luck for tomorrow.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 8:21am
KP SAFC Legend and of course Watford old boy.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 3:11pm
Good start for the Hornets.....Anya puts us 1 up at Blackpool after 4 mins

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 3:14pm

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 3:24pm
2-0

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 3:27pm

2-0

Go on Troy!

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 3:33pm

Who's a pretty polly LOL

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 4:17pm
1-2 now....told you Supa Kev would score against us

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 4:57pm
Oooooppppsss...Hornet won't be happy

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 4:57pm
Ft: 2-2 Bollox ....yet again we throw away valuable points in the final minute

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 5:43am

Again should hold on when 2-0 up , hey that's football .

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2012 at 7:51am

do you think Watford will make the play offs ?

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2012 at 7:59am

Yes..........I think the amount of quality in our very large squad (currently too large at 42!) will put us in a strong position when others may struggle with injuries and suspensions

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2012 at 10:13am

Yes..........I think the amount of quality in our very large squad (currently too large at 42!) will put us in a strong position when others may struggle with injuries and suspensions

I hope you are right bud.

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2012 at 10:40am

I hope you are right bud.

If we do go up, might get to the SoL finally.........always assumimg you survive the drop Wink

Date Posted: 27 Nov 2012 at 8:45pm
HT: Sheff Wed 1-1 Watford....we went one down after 3 mins but equalised and then saved a penalty

Date Posted: 27 Nov 2012 at 9:29pm
1-3 now .....Come on you 'ornsss

Posted By: St.Pauli Reloaded 2
Date Posted: 27 Nov 2012 at 9:41pm
Not wumming but well done, 5 away wins and youse only won 6 away last season Cool

In Martin and Roy we Trust !

Date Posted: 27 Nov 2012 at 9:54pm
Originally posted by St.Pauli Reloaded 2 St.Pauli Reloaded 2 wrote:

Not wumming but well done, 5 away wins and youse only won 6 away last season Cool

Yes another good win....coming back from a goal down and to score another 4 .... very happy with that....now two home games in a row ... so looking quite healthy at present

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2012 at 7:00am

Yes another good win....coming back from a goal down and to score another 4 .... very happy with that....now two home games in a row ... so looking quite healthy at present
Two home games hey , Hummmmmm are you sure as it's 3 weeks until we play you at the Vic ????
Bye the way very good result last night , looks like you are starting to click but maybe too soon to well ,think of going places .Big smile

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2012 at 7:45am

Two home games hey , Hummmmmm are you sure as it's 3 weeks until we play you at the Vic ????
Bye the way very good result last night , looks like you are starting to click but maybe too soon to well ,think of going places .Big smile

Yes three weeks until we meet.........but at TURF MOOR..........we are home to Barnsley this saturday, followed by Home to Hull City the following saturday

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2012 at 8:06pm

Yes three weeks until we meet.........but at TURF MOOR..........we are home to Barnsley this saturday, followed by Home to Hull City the following saturday
Well spotted Pike , Wilson assemble the platoon EmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassed

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2012 at 11:18am
dont panic.

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2012 at 9:02am

Just when things seem "settled" at the Club, and performances on the field looking good.........we now appear to be in some degree of trouble do to the actions of our previous, very dodgy, owner CryClap

http://www.watfordobserver.co.uk/news/10080321.Bassini_and_Watford_charged_with_misconduct/" rel="nofollow - http://www.watfordobserver.co.uk/news/10080321.Bassini_and_Watford_charged_with_misconduct/

Posted By: flick
Date Posted: 30 Nov 2012 at 5:09pm
See the head of their youth academy left today.. Responsible for the many Irish young lads that have broke into the first team squad in recent times

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 9:35am
Staight forward win v Barnsley today?

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 11:31pm
Another cracking result for the hornets today and now sixth well done.

Posted By: Vaux
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 11:47am

Another cracking result for the hornets today and now sixth well done.

I hope they go up. Thumbs Up

Posted By: Dear Old Roker
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 2:55pm

Just when things seem "settled" at the Club, and performances on the field looking good.........we now appear to be in some degree of trouble do to the actions of our previous, very dodgy, owner CryClap

http://www.watfordobserver.co.uk/news/10080321.Bassini_and_Watford_charged_with_misconduct/" rel="nofollow - http://www.watfordobserver.co.uk/news/10080321.Bassini_and_Watford_charged_with_misconduct/

What is going to be on the upshot of all this then?

The Roker Roar will never die

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 3:01pm
Originally posted by Dear Old Roker Dear Old Roker wrote:

What is going to be on the upshot of all this then?

I've heard or seen no other reports on this since this article was published........the relationship between the Club and the local newspaper is "strained" at best.......the WO seems to revel in reporting bad news (alleged or true).........at least on the field is completely unaffected by this (so far)

I'm hoping it may all turn out to be mountains from mole hills

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 3:04pm
And another thing when is this thread going to overtake the Burnley one. Wink

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 3:08pm

I'll be happy if the team is always at least one place above Burnley Wink

We play each other saturday week at Turf Moor

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 3:11pm

Pediction pal ?

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2012 at 3:34pm

Pediction pal ?

we don't normally get many points from Turf Moor.......that said, if we beat Hull this saturday I would be confident of a point

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 9:57am
Hope SH is sober enough to remember the match today. Wink

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 2:20pm

Pediction pal ?

we don't normally get many points from Turf Moor.......that said, if we beat Hull this saturday I would be confident of a point
I will let you off today but next week well that's another matter ....

Ohhhh only replies will be on the Burnley thread Wink

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 7:43am
This place should be lively when the hornets and clarets lock horns on saturday.

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 12:36pm

This place should be lively when the hornets and clarets lock horns on saturday.
Bring it on , love the Hornets as I never abuse them after we win , hey hard to remember the last time they beat us us anyway Wink

I wonder how many Italians will be heading north for the game Approve  Udi Udi Udi ..........

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 12:58pm
I might place a bet for a 2 2 draw for this one.

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 7:26pm

I might place a bet for a 2 2 draw for this one.
Hummm same as last season ..........Bye the way a good call as I can see a score draw for this one . I would say if Watford can hang on until HT they have a very good chance as where we have been very good up to HT, we have been poor after the break 

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2012 at 7:34am
3 3 for me.

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2012 at 8:02am
CM seems to be leading the mind games on the Burnley thread for tomorrows game.

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2012 at 10:31am

CM seems to be leading the mind games on the Burnley thread for tomorrows game.

Marley .....what gave you the impression that Claret Murph has a mind?

Watford's 7 match unbeaten run came to an end last saturday at the hands of a very good Hull City team (best team I have seen this season)........However, the mood in the camp is still very bouyant (according to Gianfranco) and he says he is looking to start our next long unbeaten run at Burnley.

Therefore I am going to have a few pennies on a 3-1 win for the Hornets. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2012 at 10:38am
What odds are you getting for 3 1 ?

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2012 at 10:44am

I haven't checked yet DM, but I would think around 18/1.......might be worth you putting a few of your own hard earned euros on........could net you a six month supply of Double Maxim Wink

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2012 at 11:05am

I haven't checked yet DM, but I would think around 18/1.......might be worth you putting a few of your own hard earned euros on........could net you a six month supply of Double Maxim Wink
  Suckers ...........................

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2012 at 12:40pm

I thought their nickname was "The Clarets".........but that new one does suit Burnley much better in fairness

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2012 at 12:45pm

I thought their nickname was "The Clarets".........but that new one does suit Burnley much better in fairness
You want to put a €10 er on the outcome of the game ????? Yer big Wasp .

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2012 at 12:51pm

Make it €20 ..........loser donates the money to the YBIG Charities.......if it's a draw, we both donate 10 each.........happy with that?

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2012 at 12:55pm

Make it €20 ..........loser donates the money to the YBIG Charities.......if it's a draw, we both donate 10 each.........happy with that?
No ...............
Long story which I will tell you sometime over a pint .
€10 winner takes all and same again at the Vic in March .

Take it or leave it .

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2012 at 12:14pm
Wheres the banter for todays big day ?

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2012 at 1:37pm
Come on you 'Orrrnnnnsssss!!!!