URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=41662
Printed Date: 19 Apr 2024 at 8:26pm

Topic: Best Oasis Songs
Posted By: ProfesserGreenPaul
Subject: Best Oasis Songs
Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:07pm
Just heard Champagne Supernova on radio earlier what a great song. Haven't heard it for ages almost forgot how good Oasis were

What are your favourite Oasis songs?

AcquiesceClap
Champagne Supernova
Whatever
Don't Look back You w**ker
Hindu Times
Half the World Away

Are all brilliant songs, I never really liked Wonderwall

Discuss

Trapnoclue wants to marry Paul Green

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:09pm
If they didn't sing about boats I'm not interested.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:10pm
'Hello', they played it there one day at Tynecastle, real soccer song.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:18pm
High flying birds self titled album is probably my favourite of all Noel's work.
Liam is a complete cock

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:21pm
Oasis had so many good songs alright.

Supersonic
Roll with it
Wonderwall
Dya wanna be a spaceman
Half the world away
Slide away

So many more but those for now

Oasis

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:21pm
Originally posted by ProfesserGreenPaul ProfesserGreenPaul wrote:

Just heard Champagne Supernova on radio earlier what a great song. Haven't heard it for ages almost forgot how good Oasis were

What are your favourite Oasis songs?

AcquiesceClap
Champagne Supernova
Whatever
Don't Look back You w**ker
Hindu Times
Half the World Away

Are all brilliant songs, I never really liked Wonderwall

Discuss

WTF Shocked

Wonderwall
Let There Be Love
Champagne Supernova
Don't Go Away
Stop Crying Your Heart Out
Songbird
Lyla 

etc etc way too many Clap

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:23pm
Also forgot

It's better people

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:24pm
Blur we're better and still are.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:25pm

Blur were quality , but imo not in the same league as Oasis.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:25pm
I absolutely hated and still hate Wonderwall.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:27pm
stand by me
importance of being idle
half the world away
masterplan

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:30pm

Blur didn't even come close to Oasis.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:30pm
Blur Clap

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:32pm
blur were class in fairness

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:35pm

Blur had far more better albums than oasis had. Oasis only had two, the first two and that's it. One or two mediocre Beatle rips offs on other albums. Damon Albarn (a sap in the highest order) was and still is a far superior song writer than those two Manchester knackers. Oasis were only cooler to the clowns out there who buy music with their eyes and not their ears if ya know what I mean.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:35pm
Oasis 8 number ones back in the day, Blur had 2, never really liked Blur at all, oasis were a far superior band, rivalry wasn't even close.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:36pm

Shock of Lightning, Roll With It, Some Might Say, Thank you for Good Times, Eyeball Tickler be among underrated Oasis songs, legendary band

The best Oasis songs are usually sang my LiamClap

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:37pm

Blur had far more better albums than oasis had. Oasis only had two, the first two and that's it. One or two mediocre Beatle rips offs on other albums. Damon Albarn (a sap in the highest order) was and still is a far superior song writer than those two Manchester knackers. Oasis were only cooler to the clowns out there who buy music with their eyes and not their ears if ya know what I mean.

I never bought music without using my ears ffs, who does this

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:38pm
Sono I dont care about number 1s,

The gap was much closer than that stat shows.

In fact the argument could me made that they were better than oasis. Blur have a brilliant back catalogue

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:38pm

Oasis 8 number ones back in the day, Blur had 2, never really liked Blur at all, oasis were a far superior band, rivalry wasn't even close.

In fairness more number one's doesn't mean they were better, unless you judge music based on popular choice.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:39pm

[QUOTE=drog addict]Blur we're better and still are.

I never bought music without using my ears ffs, who does this

[/QUOTE

The fookin kids out there. Have ya heard the sh*t they listen too. Video killed the radio star n'that.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:39pm

Sono I dont care about number 1s,

The gap was much closer than that stat shows.

In fact the argument could me made that they were better than oasis. Blur have a brilliant back catalogue

Number ones actually mattered back in the day not like today's horse sh*t, how was the gap closer Rolo do tell.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:40pm
Originally posted by Trapped Trapped wrote:

In fairness more number one's doesn't mean they were better, unless you judge music based on popular choice.

Point was the quality of their music was better in those times Trapped, if Blur had good songs to rival they would have done better but they didn't, suppose they weren't bothered

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:41pm
I think you've been listening to Father Damo too much Sono.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:43pm
Each to their own Trapped, just never liked Blur's music, been a long time fan of oasis since I was a kid and their music is still quality.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:45pm

Each to their own Trapped, just never liked Blur's music, been a long time fan of oasis since I was a kid and their music is still quality.

Keeping with the theme of this week I don't think it's an 'us' and 'them' situation. Oasis have a few good songs I like but Blur are superior imo.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:45pm

Originally posted by Trapped Trapped wrote:

Point was the quality of their music was better in those times Trapped, if Blur had good songs to rival they would have done better but they didn't, suppose they weren't bothered

When the blur v oasis rivalry was on oasis were better IMO but as rolo said blurs back catalogue is miles ahead better than oasis.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:50pm
Jeese Blur v Oasis all over again, feels like i'm back in 95 again. Blur were a good band I bought a few of there records, had a few good songs, but then again so did The Verve and The Manics in the 90's.  But you can't really compare Oasis and Blur as rivals Blur were a big band like The Verve etc but Oasis are one of the biggest bands in the world in last 20 years. If Oasis reformed tomorrow would easily be biggest band in the world. I hate the way people mention Blur in same breath as OasisAngry

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:51pm
I don't even think you can compare Oasis to Blue as Oasis were on a different planet.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:52pm

Jeese Blur v Oasis all over again, feels like i'm back in 95 again. Blur were a good band I bought a few of there records, had a few good songs, but then again so did The Verve and The Manics in the 90's.  But you can't really compare Oasis and Blur as rivals Blur were a big band like The Verve etc but Oasis are one of the biggest bands in the world in last 20 years. If Oasis reformed tomorrow would easily be biggest band in the world. I hate the way people mention Blur in same breath as OasisAngry

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:53pm

Great post Clap

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 9:56pm

Talking out yer hoop there pal. Blur in the same sentence as the verve and the manics? Don't get me wrong I love the first two oasis albums, even have both singles box sets. But to be honest the rest if the sh*te they came out with bar one or two songs were complete below average muck. Maybe one of the biggest bands in the uk in twenty years cause the coonts over there are tone deaf but not the world.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:01pm

I don't even think you can compare Oasis to Blue as Oasis were on a different planet.

I'll give u that.
Hated Blue

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:02pm
supersonic, what a cracking song, one of the first songs i learned on guitar

bring it on down, remember they started a gig in the point with this one night and it was just mayhem, actually started with about 5 songs of definatley maybe that night, cracking album

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:06pm

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:07pm
Anyway regardless Radiohead have a better back catalogue than the lot of them

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:10pm

I'll give u that.
Hated Blue

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:12pm

you would actually die of depression if you ever tried to listen to their back catalogue though

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:15pm
Went to see them on a Thursday night  in the point around 97 i think, Liam pulled out of the gig due to "sickness" Noel played the lot himself and was Brilliant Clap

Talk Tonight
Supersonic
Shes Electric

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:15pm

you would actually die of depression if you ever tried to listen to their back catalogue though

+1Horrific sh*te

Rolo

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:21pm
Slide Away hasn't gotten enough mentions here,amazing song,especially Noel's acoustic versions.And Wonderwall is one of the most overrated songs ever

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:22pm

Radiohead

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:23pm

Radiohead are class lads.

Saw Oasis in San Diego in 2005, at an outdoor amphitheatre, unreal gig.

No denying they were a great band. Blur were brilliant as well tho.

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:23pm

So this is what the internet was like in the 90'sLOL

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:25pm
What's the story morning glory, class tune

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:41pm
Not one mention for Little By Little

Seen them in Slane in 2009.Unreal so it was.. Didnt check tickets so there was well over 100k at it

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:49pm

Talking out yer hoop there pal. Blur in the same sentence as the verve and the manics? Don't get me wrong I love the first two oasis albums, even have both singles box sets. But to be honest the rest if the sh*te they came out with bar one or two songs were complete below average muck. Maybe one of the biggest bands in the uk in twenty years cause the coonts over there are tone deaf but not the world.

Not one of the biggest bands in the world the last 20 yearsLOLLOL, are you joking me? haven't Oasis sold around 65-70 Million records worldwide and had 3 top5 Albums in America? as well as having number ones in OZ, South America and all over Asia.  I think Dont Believe The Truth is 2nd best record Oasis, love that album, very underrated.

On a side note, I like Supergrass, Cast, Manics, Phonics, from 90's, great era for rock music. Nothing against Blur were good band but can't compare the 2 bands as rivals. REM, Bon Jovi, U2 are Oasis rivals in terms of success in last 20 years. Blur are not Oasis rivals 

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:55pm
ProfessorGreenPaul

Oasis

Blur

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 10:58pm
Sono Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 11:07pm
Radiohead are gick ... Rockin chair is one of my favourite oasis songs .

Posted By: Smartalex
Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 11:11pm
some might say Clap

cigarettes and alcohol Clap

morning glory Clap

supersonic Clap

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 11:18pm

Great shout Babbs, so many good songs, rocking chair is a great wan

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 11:22pm
Live Forever
Rovk and Roll Star
Whatever
Acquisce
Cigarettes and Alcohol
Dont go Away.......

the list goes on and on...

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 11:22pm
blur were the thinking mans Oasis

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 11:25pm

The bends by Radiohead, one of the best albums of all time.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 11:28pm
Dont yacht back in AngerWinkHug

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 11:33pm
I remember I was working stewarding at Radiohead concert a few years ago, have a few good songs but holy christ there fans are the most miserable fans in the world, during the gig you would swear they were at a funeral, a 10 year old in jimmy savile's dressing room would have more fun than them.

I was at Wembley for 3 nights in 2009 for Oasis with Kasabain supporting was epic, atmosphere up there with a huge football match. Don't Look Back In Anger sang live is amazing

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 11:41pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jBbyc3t-Ctc" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jBbyc3t-Ctc
Best version of Don't Look Back in Anger ever

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 11:58pm

Radiohead are gick ... 

Thats ridiculous.

3 grammy awards, headlined Glastonbury twice (same amount of times as Oasis) and made two of the greatest albums of all time - The bends and ok computer - both better than any album Oasis ever made.

Oasis' popularity peaked in the mid 90s. They kept writing some great songs after that in fairness, but they were never as popular after circa 1996. And its only ppl in Ireland and the UK who think they were a massive band worldwide. They werent. Nowhere near REM, U2, Radiohead etc.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:07am
Music is all about personal opinion so I don't get the whole "one of the best albums ever made" . I think Leftfields "Leftism" is one the best albums of all time but I'm sure plenty on here never even heard of it so that argument holds no weight for me .

Radiohead have had a few good songs but the majority of their music is torture to my ears. My brother had a spare ticket to their gig in malahide castle a few years back so I went . 90 minutes of dull , lifeless , uninspiring , depressing ramblings of a loner .

Oasis have always been hugely over rated too. Someone said they were deadly at Slane a couple of years back ?? Come off it man Liam couldn't sing to save his life. I wasn't the least bit surprised they jacked it in a few weeks later id say Noel had enough of it. Liam Gallagher is the biggest chancer to ever front a band . All musicians have influences who starting off , they imitate but eventually find their own way of singing or playing an instrument. Liam didn't . He has spent 20 years trying to be a mix of John Lennon and Ian Brown. A chancer who doesn't have an ounce of talent .

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:10am

Radiohead are gick ... 

Thats ridiculous.

3 grammy awards, headlined Glastonbury twice (same amount of times as Oasis) and made two of the greatest albums of all time - The bends and ok computer - both better than any album Oasis ever made.

Oasis' popularity peaked in the mid 90s. They kept writing some great songs after that in fairness, but they were never as popular after circa 1996. And its only ppl in Ireland and the UK who think they were a massive band worldwide. They werent. Nowhere near REM, U2, Radiohead etc.

The american X factor winner who we dont even know yet will get to number 1 and sell a million records. Does that make them good ?? Bullsh*t argument their Rolo .

Posted By: Beavis
Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:13am

Oasis: The band for people who don't like music.

<insert witty comment>

Posted By: Shebber
Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:13am

Saw Oasis at the Point in 94, absolutely amazing! Some of their best songs in my opinion are Sad Song, angel child, If yer wanna be a spaceman, Supersonic, My big mouth, Be here now and Listen up. I prefer their lesser known stuff, it has more substance than the anthemic ones everyone knows.

The Bends (Radiohead) is a fantastic album, but I have to say that Radiohead went off the boil after that, and Definitely Maybe and What's the Story Morning glory are marginally better albums. I also dislike how Radiohead refuse to play what the crowd want to hear at their shows.

If you have 200 million priests, and 5% of them are paedophiles, that's still only 10 million paedophiles!

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:14am

Radiohead have had a few good songs but the majority of their music is torture to my ears. My brother had a spare ticket to their gig in malahide castle a few years back so I went . 90 minutes of dull , lifeless , uninspiring , depressing ramblings of a loner .

There seem to be many people who don't get Radiohead. All I can do is pity them.

<insert witty comment>

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:16am

blur were the thinking mans Oasis<div id="isChromeWebToolbarDiv" style="display:none">

f**kin hell

Posted By: PaulMcGrath5
Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:17am
Sunday Morning Call, Talk tonght, Slide away be my fave's. Noel is great live.

Blur are a great band too and Radiohead Thumbs Up Pablo Honey is one of my favourite albums ever, not a bad song on it.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:23am
Originally posted by Beavis Beavis wrote:

There seem to be many people who don't get Radiohead. All I can do is pity them.

I get Radiohead, and love some of their albums but not all, but have a strong appreciation for Oasis too. I went to that Malahide Castle Radiohead concert a few years ago too and was very unimpressed. I have seen some of the best acts in the world live, and Oasis are up there with some of the best concerts i've seen. I will admit that Liam Gallagher basically lost his voice over the years, but back in the 90's he sang well and their concerts were brilliant. Noel Gallagher was always the talent though, and the High Flying Birds album really should be listened to, by everyone!

If you have 200 million priests, and 5% of them are paedophiles, that's still only 10 million paedophiles!

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:34am
Definately prefer the ones Noel sings - Don't look back in anger, Masterplan, Talk Tonight etc.

Great band in their day.

Didn't like Blur at all and I just dont get Radiohead. Depressing, mundane crap to my ears. A dirge.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:50am
Originally posted by Shebber Shebber wrote:

The Bends (Radiohead) is a fantastic album, but I have to say that Radiohead went off the boil after that, and Definitely Maybe and What's the Story Morning glory are marginally better albums. I also dislike how Radiohead refuse to play what the crowd want to hear at their shows.

I get Radiohead

Without meaning to sound like and @rsehole, saying that Radiohead went 'off the boil' after the Bends (after which time they went on to make probably the most critically acclaimed album of all time followed by arguably the most beautiful since the turn of the century) means you don't.

<insert witty comment>

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:51am

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:52am

Great band once upon a time but should have broken up 10 years before they did. Anyway, my fave Oasis tunes are:

Listen Up
Whatever
Some Might Say
Who Feels Love
I Hope, I Think, I Know

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:53am
Well Said Beavis. 

Love KidA and Hail to the Thief. 

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:54am

blur were the thinking mans Oasis
and Radiohead was the thinking mans Blur with a PHD on top Wink

Posted By: cullenswood
Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 9:56am
Originally posted by PaulMcGrath5 PaulMcGrath5 wrote:

Pablo Honey is one of my favourite albums ever, not a bad song on it.
Totally agree with this, it is a super album.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 10:04am
Think we need a radiohead thread. Best band ever.thinking mans music.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 10:24am
Originally posted by Beavis Beavis wrote:

The Bends (Radiohead) is a fantastic album, but I have to say that Radiohead went off the boil after that, and Definitely Maybe and What's the Story Morning glory are marginally better albums. I also dislike how Radiohead refuse to play what the crowd want to hear at their shows.

I get Radiohead

Without meaning to sound like and @rsehole, saying that Radiohead went 'off the boil' after the Bends (after which time they went on to make probably the most critically acclaimed album of all time followed by arguably the most beautiful since the turn of the century) means you don't.

'Off the boil' probably wasn't the correct term, but in my opinion their best albums were Pablo Honey and the bends, and after that their albums, while some of them excellent (OK Computer, Kid A), have gradually disimproved. You may think otherwise, that's fine too!

You said earlier that Oasis is a band for people who don't like music, i'm just illustrating that this is not the case! The Bends is in my top 5 albums of all time, but Definitely Maybe pips it for me.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 10:29am
Thinking mans music .. people don't "get" radiohead .. Bullsh*t. I don't listen to music to solve a riddle . They are horrible on the ears end of . If Yorke writes some good lyrics good for him , become a poet cos your music is pants

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 10:31am
Be Here Now is the most underrated album of all time

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 10:31am
only the band the beatles could have been

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 10:32am

I'll give u that.
Hated Blue

spat me coffe out LOL

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 10:37am
Acquiesce.
Masterplan.
I'm Outta time
To be where theres life
Caledonia

Oasis completely shat on blur , damon albarn still a genius however , blur , the good the bad and the queen , the gorrillaz all class

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 10:39am

Be Here Now is the most underrated album of all time

Completely agree, some gems on this album, My big Mouth, Fade in out, Getting better man, stand by me, be here now...all excellent. Some of the songs went on for too long, but otherwise excellent!

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 10:39am
and radiohead fck sakes father ted summed it up when tommy tiernan wanted to top himself on the bus when they came on LOL although karma police is an amazing tune

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 10:40am
little by little
stop crying your eyes out
talk tonight

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 10:41am

and radiohead fck sakes father ted summed it up when tommy tiernan wanted to top himself on the bus when they came on LOL although karma police is an amazing tune

Decent but always found them wildly overrated

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 10:50am
Oasis were big in America in the mid 90's. I asked a few.people about Oasis when I was over in America
I said they weren't big over here. More than a couple said they were big and they knew a lot of their songs. They weren't U2 big because they didn't lick arse over there by fraternising with knob executives, producers and tv people. In America you really have to promote yourselves well amd promote.a good image. Oasis ran amuck over there cancelling shows at the last minute, Liam going Awol, Noel going Awol etc.. Alot of their fans got pissed off too because they didnt turn up for gigs and so on.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 10:52am

I daid they weren't big over here. 

you spika dee enngleeshh ?

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 10:59am
People say that after Definitely Maybe and Whats the Story they didn't have any good songs.
I beg to differ -

All Around the World
Dont Go Away
Stand By Me
Sunday Morning Call
I hope i think i know
Little by little
stop crying your hear out
Let there be love
im outa time

i rate all those as good songs

On a different level to Blur

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 11:00am
Forgot 'Half a world away'.

Top, top tune.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 11:31am

People say that after Definitely Maybe and Whats the Story they didn't have any good songs.
I beg to differ -

All Around the World

Dont Go Away

Stand By Me

Sunday Morning Call

I hope i think i know

Little by little

stop crying your hear out

Let there be love

im outa time

i rate all those as good songs

On a different level to Blur

I didnt realise you fancied a spot of fishing Baggio

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 12:05pm
Supersonic, All Around The World & She's Electric all crackers but my favourite song of all time is Listen Up. Liam's voice at its very best...

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 12:19pm
Feck sake lads arguing about music. Its personal taste. 

Its like arguing about which food tastes nicer.  Music is not a competition. If you like a song or a band fair enough, no big deal if someone else does not share your taste. Thats what it comes down to in the end personal taste.

Although I think those who do not like Radiohead have less intelligence than those who do Wink

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 12:39pm

Its like arguing about which food tastes nicer.  Music is not a competition. If you like a song or a band fair enough, no big deal if someone else does not share your taste. Thats what it comes down to in the end personal taste.

Although I think those who do not like Radiohead have less intelligence than those who do Wink

If these bands were food:
Oasis= Supermacs Burger
Blur =Eddie Rockets
Radiohead = Fillet Mignon in Shananhans on the green

If they were books:
Oasis = Ann  and Barry
Blur= Lord Of the rings
Radiohead = Ulysses

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 12:52pm

If these bands were food:
Oasis= Supermacs Burger
Blur =Eddie Rockets
Radiohead = Fillet Mignon in Shananhans on the green

If they were books:
Oasis = Ann  and Barry
Blur= Lord Of the rings
Radiohead = Ulysses

That's it in a nutshell.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 12:58pm
Classic Drog

Don't diss Anne and Barry though .

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 1:00pm
Oasis are alright but it's just a load of drivel to sing along to when your drunk . Bit like the SS really

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 1:07pm

Thinking mans music .. people don't "get" radiohead .. Bullsh*t. I don't listen to music to solve a riddle . They are horrible on the ears end of . If Yorke writes some good lyrics good for him , become a poet cos your music is pants

Music is clearly about personal taste and this thread has shown its clearly futile to argue over it.

Its beyond me how anyone could call Radiohead "horrible on the ears". More so when that person endorses the music of Oasis, with its talentless lead singer - "spend your days in the suuuuun  shhhiiiiiiine". If ever there was drivel, it was Liam Gallagher's vocals. Thom Yorke has the voice of an angel in comparison. Noel Gallagher wrote some fantastic songs. But there's a lot of average songs being posted on this thread as the best Oasis songs ever.

You said I made a bullsh*t argument about bands' popularity, if you'd read the thread u'd see I made the same point to Sono, who claimed 8 number 1s for Oasis versus 2 for Blur made them much better than Blur. I was just trying to point out to other ppl that Oasis werent as big globally as ppl here believe.

I didnt even mention Kid A by Radiohead till now, as I thought that the only Radiohead albums Oasis fans might be able to relate to were the likes of Pablo Honey, The Bends and OK Computer. But as Beavis said Kid A is probably the most beautiful album since the turn of the century. Radiohead changed tack, because they had the talent in Jonny Greenwood and Thom Yorke to do so. Was the same old same old from Noel Gallagher over the years, albeit with a diminishing quality of songs as time went by.

I agree with BSM by the way, Be Here Now was very underrated. Some very good songs on that album.

First album I ever bought was Whats the Story Morning Glory, aged 12. I loved it. Thought Oasis were the business. And then a couple of years later someone got me OK Computer. And my mind was blown. The quality of music was just from a different world to my favourite Oasis album.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 1:11pm
Oh and babbs I dont know the Leftfield album youre talking about but I was up near the front for their gig at Electric Picnic in 2010 and they were f**king class Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 1:49pm

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2012 at 1:55pm

Oh and babbs I dont know the Leftfield album youre talking about but I was up near the front for their gig at Electric Picnic in 2010 and they were f**king class Thumbs Up

Get your hands on leftism, savage album. Gonna dig it out later for a listen big time.