URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=41548
Printed Date: 24 Apr 2024 at 3:33pm

Topic: Burnley
Subject: Burnley
Date Posted: 17 Oct 2012 at 7:53pm
Its about time we had a Burnley thread on here.

Who should be the new Manager of Burnley ?

http://articles.squarefootball.net/squarefootball/burnley/" rel="nofollow - http://articles.squarefootball.net/squarefootball/burnley/

Posted By: Wild Rover
Date Posted: 17 Oct 2012 at 8:15pm

http://articles.squarefootball.net/squarefootball/burnley/" rel="nofollow - http://articles.squarefootball.net/squarefootball/burnley/

Looking at the names there Owen Coyle seems the best man for the job but will Burnley fans accept him back into the fold ?

Niall Quinn is god

Posted By: BDI
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2012 at 8:20am
Mick McCarthy is getting linked with the Burnley job.

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2012 at 12:24pm
Early days sort of wait and see , I tell you been away for a few days and all hell breaks loose .

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2012 at 12:26pm
Coyle going back there would be very very interesting
Cant see it

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2012 at 12:45pm

Cant see it
To be very honest just can't see how the club would do that , but hey as it has been said many many times " IT'S A FUNNY OLD GAME "

Nahhhhhh will never happen .

Posted By: Vaux
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2012 at 1:56pm

Cant see it

Be most surprised if that happens.

Posted By: The Big Club
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2012 at 4:47pm

Confused We going to have a thread for every run of the mill club now?

Posted By: Wearmouth
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2012 at 5:26pm
Bump

Charlie Hurley a true legend

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2012 at 6:10pm
Claret Murph for the Burnley jobThumbs Up

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2012 at 6:14pm
Originally posted by The Big Club The Big Club wrote:

Hummmmm how can it put it .................Oh yer Feck off Ouch

Posted By: The Big Club
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2012 at 6:32pm

Originally posted by The Big Club The Big Club wrote:

Hummmmm how can it put it .................Oh yer Feck off Ouch

Enjoy league 1 Thumbs Up

Posted By: Marley+
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2012 at 3:50am
Great club Burnley I have had some cracking trips there with Sunderland.

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2012 at 5:56am
I will always have a soft spot for Burnley a good mate of mine from my school days Kevin Young played 120 games for the Clarets. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2012 at 7:36am
I recall many years ago a memorable game at Turf Moor where Sunderland won 2 0 despite having two players sent off. Burnley have always brought a good following to Roker Park and the S0L fair play to them.

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2012 at 7:23am
Should be a cracking Lancashire derby between Burnley and Blackpool this evening but I doubt it will be as eventful as the Yorkshire one last night !

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2012 at 8:23am
Always fireworks and there will be loads of goals for sure . Funny this has been a big game for a while at the Turf but with Bolton and Blackburn now in with us this one has dropped down the pecking order a good bit . Trust me Burnley v Bast**ds you don't need a ball .

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2012 at 8:25am

Always fireworks and there will be loads of goals for sure . Funny this has been a big game for a while at the Turf but with Bolton and Blackburn now in with us this one has dropped down the pecking order a good bit . Trust me Burnley v Bast**ds you don't need a ball .

I might stick a bet on 2 2 and a sending off or two !

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2012 at 8:27am
I would say six goals in the game , have a look at Austin the lad is on fire at the moment for what I have been told .

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2012 at 8:38am

I would say six goals in the game , have a look at Austin the lad is on fire at the moment for what I have been told .

3 3 is 30/1 @ Paddy Powers I may well have a dabble.

Posted By: Jonesy
Date Posted: 20 Oct 2012 at 9:36am

You need to be weary of superkev he still knows where the back of the night is.

Get Double Maxim in the Clarehall Dublin Tesco ASAP

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2012 at 11:51am
Originally posted by Jonesy Jonesy wrote:

You need to be weary of superkev he still knows where the back of the night is.

A SAFC Legend supakev. ClapClapClap

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2012 at 5:35pm
I'm surprised Charlie Austin didnt make it 1 0 just then.

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2012 at 5:40pm
Charlie put that one away though 1 0 to Burnley.

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2012 at 5:43am
Hell of a result for Burnley yesterday fair play to them. Clap

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2012 at 5:44am

Charlie put that one away though 1 0 to Burnley.
Hey very dissapointed with Blackpool I must say , Da Clarets did what they had to do and a clean sheet lke I said give Austin a chance well a couple and he will score .

Home win Big smileBig smileBig smileBig smileBig smile

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2012 at 5:46am

I wasn't too bothered about it not ending 3 3 given I made some money on the Celtic match.

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2012 at 5:55am

I wasn't too bothered about it not ending 3 3 given I made some money on the Celtic match.
Morning DM , jeezzz up early or just back from the night club . Was thinking during the first half this is never going to end 3-3 but still fancied a draw , hey wrong again Big smile

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2012 at 6:02am

Morning DM , jeezzz up early or just back from the night club . Was thinking during the first half this is never going to end 3-3 but still fancied a draw , hey wrong again Big smile

Good morning CM no I 'm up early as I can't sleep got someting on my mind today. Wink

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2012 at 6:05am

Good morning CM no I 'm up early as I can't sleep got someting on my mind today. Wink
Alway put these games down for 1-1 hey same this year , but boy do hope you beat that lot down the road today Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2012 at 6:14am
You not a big fan of the jawdee nation then CM ?

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2012 at 6:44am

No nothing really just that a good friend I used to work with was a Mackem and this game meant so much to him so always fell on that side of things , sure you can understand that .

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2012 at 6:49am

No nothing really just that a good friend I used to work with was a Mackem and this game meant so much to him so always fell on that side of things , sure you can understand that .

I certainly can I've always had a soft spot for Burnley cos my mate Kevin Young played for them and I worked with a Burnley fan who was top banana.

Posted By: Drumaville
Date Posted: 22 Oct 2012 at 11:37am
Originally posted by BDI BDI wrote:

Any further news on this.

Double Maxim draught in the Derry pub now you are talking.

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2012 at 12:43pm
Originally posted by Drumaville Drumaville wrote:

Originally posted by BDI BDI wrote:

Any further news on this.
Got this this morning from a lad with his ear to the ground so to say .

"Barnsley Mick for the Clarets mmm I somehow doubt it  I'd employ him now to be honest - we'll see but I fully expect one of the Scottish managers linked to get the job as no doubt they will have the lowest wage demands...I just hope it isn't Coyle he is seen as a cross between Jimmy Savile and the antichrist by many around here !! time will tell"

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2012 at 12:49pm
Well it wont be coyle if he thinks its going to be a scottish manager Wink

Posted By: Dear Old Roker
Date Posted: 22 Oct 2012 at 2:47pm

Craig Levein. ?

The Roker Roar will never die

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2012 at 7:07pm
has he been sacked.

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2012 at 10:14pm
Great result for Burnley with a 3 4 win at Bristol City tonight. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 24 Oct 2012 at 7:00am

I was spitting chips when they made it 3-3 then I heard " there has been another goal at Ashton gate , which way has it gone " hey say no more but need to do something with that defence ...........

Date Posted: 24 Oct 2012 at 7:16am

I was spitting chips when they made it 3-3 then I heard " there has been another goal at Ashton gate , which way has it gone " hey say no more but need to do something with that defence ...........

Great result MurphClap.......I was watching Soccer Special too when they said that about the 7th goal ........sadly shortly after......"There's been  a late third goal at Cardiff............"......bollix CryCryCry

Date Posted: 24 Oct 2012 at 7:27am
Sounded like a cracking match. Who got the Burnley goals.

Date Posted: 24 Oct 2012 at 12:36pm
Originally posted by Marley+ Marley+ wrote:

I will give you one guess well for two of them Big smile

Date Posted: 24 Oct 2012 at 12:39pm

Great result MurphClap.......I was watching Soccer Special too when they said that about the 7th goal ........sadly shortly after......"There's been  a late third goal at Cardiff............"......bollix CryCryCry
Yep was thinking the same down to ten then nine men , I wonder if they could hang out but not to be . Can't think who the dude was I know I should know at the game last night but seemed really happy when Cardiff scored then won it Thumbs Down  Hummm ex Palace player anyone know from last night ?????

Posted By: heyirish
Date Posted: 24 Oct 2012 at 12:39pm

I will give you one guess well for two of them Big smile

what age is that austin. is a machine this year. i remember when himself and paynter were banging in the goals for swindon......which one did leeds take.....billy barndoor

karl pilkington to doctor when getting prostate examined: jesus thats high up that is, fcuking hell, right you're touching a lung now

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 6:50am
Some record that Charlie Austin has got this season.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 7:57am

[QUOTE=Double Maxim]Great result for Burnley with a 3 4 win at Bristol City tonight. Thumbs Up

Yep was thinking the same down to ten then nine men , I wonder if they could hang out but not to be . Can't think who the dude was I know I should know at the game last night but seemed really happy when Cardiff scored then won it Thumbs Down  Hummm ex Palace player anyone know from last night ?????[/QUOTE]

John Salako AngryAngry

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 7:02pm
Can't remember many Irish players at Burnley over to you Claret Murph.

Niall Quinn is god

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 7:33pm
Originally posted by Wild Rover Wild Rover wrote:

Can't remember many Irish players at Burnley over to you Caret Murph.
boy I would have to look them all up but I would say there has been more from the north than down in the south for sure . Willie Irvine and Jimmy Mac were legends from the past . My all time fav player Billy Hamilton from not too far back from the North . 
Now just present players we have Chris McCann,  Tracey and Kevin Long on the books .

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2012 at 7:51pm

Originally posted by Wild Rover Wild Rover wrote:

Can't remember many Irish players at Burnley over to you Claret Murph.
boy I would have to look them all up but I would say there has been more from the north than down in the south for sure . Willie Irvine and Jimmy Mac were legends from the past . My all time fav player Billy Hamilton from not too far back from the North . 
Now just present players we have Chris McCann,  Tracey and Kevin Long on the books .

Yes thats what I thought more spring to the mind from the North. I remember Billy Hamilton well from the N.Ireland Spain World cup team.

Niall Quinn is god

Date Posted: 27 Oct 2012 at 5:28am
It will be a had game for the Clarets @ Cardiff today but at least Craig Bellamy will be missing.

Date Posted: 27 Oct 2012 at 8:13am
Come on Burnley I cant stand Cardiff city.

Date Posted: 27 Oct 2012 at 10:59am

+1.....Hate Cardiff.... not Come on Burnley obviously

Date Posted: 27 Oct 2012 at 11:15am

Can you see Watford getting anything points wise at Blackburn today bud ?

Date Posted: 27 Oct 2012 at 1:02pm

Can't see Da Clarets getting anything thing down in Cardiff , always get beat down there and still loads of trouble from the fans every time we play them in Cardiff .
Trust me I would love Watford to beat Blackbum but then again I would love to see anyone beat them Big smile

Date Posted: 27 Oct 2012 at 1:37pm

Oddly I think we will win 2-1

Date Posted: 27 Oct 2012 at 1:37pm
 Makes me wonder what will Hornet thing of this head line ......
Dyche set for Burnley
"He's been in the betting all the way through and went odds on over the last couple of days although yesterday the odds were rapidly shortening on Ian Holloway who, according to the report, Burnley could still make a move for despite it confirming that Dyche has been offered the job."

Date Posted: 27 Oct 2012 at 5:06pm
4-0 feck it 

Date Posted: 27 Oct 2012 at 5:31pm

4-0 feck it 

Cardiff can do that to any side mate.

Date Posted: 28 Oct 2012 at 5:37am
St Johnstone manager Steve Lomas is getting linked with the Burnley mangers job.

Date Posted: 28 Oct 2012 at 7:25am
Has shaggy got a Burnley connection.

Date Posted: 29 Oct 2012 at 6:40am

Has shaggy got a Burnley connection.
Yep an ex Burnley player ......

Date Posted: 29 Oct 2012 at 7:04am

Dyche set for Burnley
"He's been in the betting all the way through and went odds on over the last couple of days although yesterday the odds were rapidly shortening on Ian Holloway who, according to the report, Burnley could still make a move for despite it confirming that Dyche has been offered the job."

I think he'll do a great job at Turf Moor Murph.

He did well at Watford on very limited resources with chaos around him off the field and a constant threat of administration......and still managed a very creditable 11th place finish (can't see Zola and the New Regime achieving this). He always conducted himself with dignity and never blamed referees for poor results........good luck Sean Clap

Useful piece written about him after his sacking at Watford.

http://www.watfordobserver.co.uk/sport/watfordfc/watfordfcnews/10013208.Comment__Sean_Dyche_was_the_embodiment_of_Watford_as_a_club/" rel="nofollow - http://www.watfordobserver.co.uk/sport/watfordfc/watfordfcnews/10013208.Comment__Sean_Dyche_was_the_embodiment_of_Watford_as_a_club/

Date Posted: 30 Oct 2012 at 5:19am
I thought Sean Dyche was badly treated at Watford he seemed to be doing a good job under difficult circumstances.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2012 at 6:40am

Dyche set for Burnley

Are the Burnley fans happy with the Sean Dyche appointment ?

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2012 at 6:48am

Dyche set for Burnley

Are the Burnley fans happy with the Sean Dyche appointment ?

From what I have read most wanted either Mick Mc or Ollie at Blackpool so I would say as it stands no . Now on the other hand win a few games and most of all beat that lot down the M66 a month today and he will be a hero ....

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2012 at 7:39am
Is Ollie unhappy at Blackpool ?

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2012 at 12:36pm

Is Ollie unhappy at Blackpool ?
What I have been told is that the board are somewhat unhappy with him , stong links to Blackbum but that has been put to bed with them taking on Berg , look we all know the merry go round everyone has a time , but I do like him I must say . Sad they didn't make it in the play offs last season .

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2012 at 12:50pm
The game needs characters like Ollie he is a top man.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2012 at 7:21am
Crystal Palace after Ollie now.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2012 at 9:11am

Beat me to it DM, mate in South London mailed me this morning saying that he will go within the next 7 days , watch this space .

Date Posted: 04 Nov 2012 at 5:45am

Beat me to it DM, mate in South London mailed me this morning saying that he will go within the next 7 days , watch this space .
Well that'as didn't take too long now did DM , sure Olie will do well at Palace . On a side note great start for Dycha at the Turf .......

Date Posted: 04 Nov 2012 at 8:01am

cracking result for Sean Dyche for his first game in charge. Thumbs Up 

Charlie Austin on the score sheet yet again.

Date Posted: 04 Nov 2012 at 8:03am

cracking result for Sean Dycha for his first game in charge. Thumbs Up 

Charlie Uaustin on the score sheet yet again.
I hate to say this but can see bigger clubs will come in for him ( Charlie ) in the January window , 18 goals this season and it's only the start of Nov ...

Date Posted: 04 Nov 2012 at 8:15am

cracking result for Sean Dyche for his first game in charge. Thumbs Up 

Charlie Austin on the score sheet yet again.
I hate to say this but can see bigger clubs will come in for him ( Charlie ) in the January window , 18 goals this season and it's only the start of Nov ...

Yea I'm sure some EPL clubs are loking at him.

Date Posted: 06 Nov 2012 at 9:45pm
Thumbs Up Charlie Austin at it again scoring the winner v Leeds.

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2012 at 6:52am

Good win for Burnley..........he is some find Clap........pleased to for Sean Dyche

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2012 at 7:01am

Good win for Burnley..........he is some find Clap........pleased to for Sean Dyche
20 goals so far this season , hey when you are on fire , I wonder if Roy will come knocking but do expect bids in January from the prem . I have the feeling if the price is right he will go Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2012 at 2:48pm

20 goals so far this season , hey when you are on fire , I wonder if Roy will come knocking but do expect bids in January from the prem . I have the feeling if the price is right he will go Thumbs Down
how much do you do you think CA ìs worth

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2012 at 7:48pm
Originally posted by Wearmouth Wearmouth wrote:

how much do you do you think CA ìs worth
As it stands I would say around £6 million would take him away from the Turf , the only thing that would keep him if we are in the play offs come January . Just think lower to bottom of the Prem clubs would think it's worth a punt .

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2012 at 8:42pm
Charlie Austin is amazing , if only Lennon had gone through with his initial interest in the future goal machine

Posted By: Vaux
Date Posted: 08 Nov 2012 at 3:54pm
Originally posted by tonyjaa tonyjaa wrote:

Charlie Austin is amazing , if only Lennon had gone through with his initial interest in the future goal machine

When were Celtic interested in him.

Date Posted: 09 Nov 2012 at 2:06pm

Arsenal are being linked with Charlie Austin now.

Date Posted: 09 Nov 2012 at 8:28pm

Wow not sure if he is the type of player Wenger would be looking at but fox in the box could be  for that reason. 

Date Posted: 10 Nov 2012 at 9:39am
Who are Burnley playing today ?

Date Posted: 10 Nov 2012 at 10:07am
Originally posted by Dear Old Roker Dear Old Roker wrote:

Away at Mick's Ipswich , just hate us playing there , off the top of my head I think we have only won there once in the last 40 years and trust me this will be no difference Thumbs Down 

Date Posted: 10 Nov 2012 at 10:09am

Away at Mick's Ipswich , just hate us playing there , off the top of my head I think we have only won there once in the last 40 years and trust me this will be no difference Thumbs Down 

I will not be betting on a 0 0 draw for that one then. Wink

Date Posted: 10 Nov 2012 at 10:14am

I will not be betting on a 0 0 draw for that one then. Wink We are not as open as we were with Dyche now running the ship , again not let in a goal in the last two games at home to Wolves and Leeds . Just have a feeling this will be Mick's day , I did say to myself if they just hang on to Jewell for another few weeks we may have a chance at Portman Rd .

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2012 at 5:49pm
Sounds like Burnley were unlucky yerterday.

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2012 at 5:51pm

Sounds like Burnley were unlucky yerterday.
Yep from what I have read  but like I said I didn't think we would get anything and that proved to be very right Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 7:46am

can he play c/half cos thats what Arsenal need.

Posted By: Jonesy
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2012 at 2:06pm

can he play c/half cos thats what Arsenal need.

Big smileEmbarrassedBig smile

Get Double Maxim in the Clarehall Dublin Tesco ASAP

Posted By: Skelly
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2012 at 10:18pm
Any Burnley fans got any updates on how Shay McCartan is getting on? Made his debut last season n still only 18. Have heard he was very highly rated by Howe?

We all dream of a team of Gary Breens

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2012 at 6:19am
Originally posted by Skelly Skelly wrote:

Any Burnley fans got any updates on how Shay McCartan is getting on? Made his debut last season n still only 18. Have heard he was very highly rated by Howe?
Sorry Skelly for not getting back to you on this . Again I know he has come through the ranks from the youth team been on the bench a few times and has had a run out in the CC cup this season .
Other than that I have never seen him play , sorry to say not too many Clarets on here .

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2012 at 6:40am
http://www.squarefootball.net/default.aspx" rel="nofollow - http://www.squarefootball.net/default.aspx

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2012 at 8:29am
this Pope fella seems ideal for Celtic.

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2012 at 7:02am
3 points v Charlton tomorrow ?

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2012 at 7:25am
Think they will bounce back after defeat last week but going to a close 2-1 victory and ofcourse Charlie will be on the score sheet Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2012 at 8:11am
Funny team Charlton.

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2012 at 7:02am
Right back on predictions again , away at Hull looks on paper that it has to be a homer , but we have had some very good results up there , wink wink .........