URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=41415
Printed Date: 19 Apr 2024 at 1:40am

Topic: Another Catholic Church thread - Jayzus
Subject: Another Catholic Church thread - Jayzus
Date Posted: 11 Oct 2012 at 12:05pm
Fuppin hell Confused

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/fury-as-woman-outlines-abortion-at-mass-210541.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/fury-as-woman-outlines-abortion-at-mass-210541.html

Fury as woman outlines abortion at Mass

By Claire O’Sullivan

Thursday, October 11, 2012

A priest has sparked controversy after he arranged for a woman to give a graphic account of her abortion at a children’s Mass and outline how she believed her special needs child was a punishment from God.

The speech was made in front of up to 100 children at the Church of Our Lady Conceived Without Sin in Mitchelstown, Co Cork. It coincided with the issuing of a pastoral letter by the Catholic Bishops of Ireland on abortion.

Parish priest Fr Michael Fitzgerald did not seek permission from the apostolic administrator of the diocese, Archbishop Dermot Clifford, to allow the woman to take to the pulpit.

Last night, the archbishop said he was "unhappy this speech took place". He contacted Fr Fitzgerald about the guest speaker this week after he received complaints from parishioners who were disgusted the speech was made in front of children and that a special needs child was described as "punishment from God".

Many of the parishioners were parents and relatives of children with special needs.

Fr Fitzgerald said he believed "the woman’s comments around her special needs child were misinterpreted". He defended his actions but said allowing her to speak at Mass "was possibly bad judgment".

"I did not know what hurt it would cause," said Fr Fitzgerald. "I was contacted by an organisation who said they had a woman who could speak of her experience.

"At the time, I thought this is a story that not a lot of people get to hear. I knew the woman’s story but I did not know what hurt it would cause. She explained to the congregation that it was the guilt inside of her that made her feel like that. She was hurt at the time. She had not yet healed after the abortion.

"A central theme of her address was that all human life is sacred, that all children are precious and should be equally cherished and supported. It is a matter of regret that a small number of people were upset at some aspects of the lady’s address, especially as they related to children with special needs. I can assure you that was never intended."

The woman gave her talk at several Masses last Sunday. There were children with special needs in the various congregations.

The woman, who lives in the Cork area, was a representative of the Rachel’s Vineyard organisation. Set up in the US by the pro-life Priests for Life organisation, Rachel’s Vineyard provides counselling and retreats to women who have had abortions. An Irish representative for the group said it "too believed the comments were misinterpreted".

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2012 at 12:11pm
Unbelievable. Wacko As I've said before the sooner the plague in this country that is the catholic church is gotten rid of the better. 

Posted By: IrishPride
Date Posted: 11 Oct 2012 at 12:16pm
Hahahah Such Jokers LOLWacko

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2012 at 12:34pm
Originally posted by Metal Paul Metal Paul wrote:

Unbelievable. Wacko As I've said before the sooner the plague in this country that is the catholic church is gotten rid of the better. 

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 11 Oct 2012 at 1:27pm
Thats a f**king disgrace Angry

What sort of f**king clowns are they???

Posted By: jinky
Date Posted: 11 Oct 2012 at 8:53pm
Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

Thats a f**king disgrace Angry

What sort of f**king clowns are they???
that would be an ecumenical matter father.." ..Drink.!!

tir gan teanga ,tir gan anam

Posted By: Ludwig von Drake
Date Posted: 11 Oct 2012 at 10:16pm
Load of fookers should look at themselves before they trying to mind everyone else's business

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 1:42pm
http://countercurrentnews.com/2014/06/archbishop-claims-he-wasnt-sure-it-was-illegal-for-priests-to-have-sex-with-children/

I thought this was a Waterford Whisperer story first. 

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 1:46pm
Unbelievable.

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 2:39pm
What an absolute cun t Angry

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 2:47pm
Speechless.

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 3:04pm

Speechless.

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 3:11pm

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2014 at 3:47pm
I think he should be rode up the Willy Wonka Way with a fire extinguisher while told it is perfectly normal.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 12:56pm
http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2015/jun/25/irish-cardinal-admits-inquiries-into-child-rapist-priest-were-only-to-protect-church

Despicable

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 1:25pm
It really is a vile organisation. 

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 3:25pm
Scum, subhuman scum

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 3:27pm
Disgusting reading. The church should be f*cked out of this country once and for all.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 3:33pm
Those priests were mentally ill. Is it time to arm altar boys?

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 3:36pm

Scum, subhuman scum

COOK PASS BABTRIDGE

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 4:37pm
I can't fathom how any right thinking individual can have any time for the Catholic Church in Ireland. A despicable rabble who should be shut down. That they are the supposed moral compass for a lot of people here is a scary thought. 

What a shame that Dev embraced them and nurtured their influence on Irish society post independence. 

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 4:38pm
Take every bit of land off them, remove all their hypocritical fairy stories from our schools and tell them to f**k off. These ****s are sick.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 4:50pm
Lads you cannot make such sweeping statements. You get involved in other debates and arguments on here and you're the first to have a go at someone else for doing it.
People seem to forget that it was the sections of the catholic church who cared for and educated people in society when no body else would do it.
And PM they are not all sick. There are plenty of good people among them.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 4:54pm

Hypocrites is exactly what they are. Providing a sanctuary for pedophiles and allowing them continue to abuse kids by moving them from parish to parish so the church could save face. Then condemning fooking anyone with a different outlook to them while basically imprisoning unwed mothers and stealing and selling their kids. Scum. 

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 4:54pm
All Muslims are scum innit

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 4:59pm

Lads you cannot make such sweeping statements. You get involved in other debates and arguments on here and you're the first to have a go at someone else for doing it.
People seem to forget that it was the sections of the catholic church who cared for and educated people in society when no body else would do it.

There are lots and lots of good people in the Catholic Church. It still doesn't alter the fact that it is a despicable organisation who take their morals and raison d'etre from a magic book written in bronze age Palestine. The latest revelations in relation to the hierarchy just nail home the fact it is rotten to the core, despite the many good people in the church. They are not good people by virtue of being Catholic. They are simply good people.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 5:01pm

Really, what have they done? Apart from preach fairy stories to frighten children with no basis in reality, abuse children or worse, cover up their friends abuse children, tell us that if you love another human being it is disgusting if they pee the same way as you but can preach hate. Judge everyone and anyone in a manner totally alien to the chap they claim to follow. I could go on for hours. I could argue they are mentally sick to believe in such far fetched gobbledygook, Icould argue they are mentallysick for the magdalen laundries, for the christian brothers, for the Tuam babies, for their archaic, hypocritical views etc. Etc.
What percentage of priests do as Jesus did? The poor jewish f**ker wouldn't be wanted by the Catholic church,the socialist hippy!

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 5:03pm

I don't accept this. If I worked for a company with the litany of offences against that the RC church has, I wouldnt be long in handing in my notice. The hierarchy of the church in Ireland covered up some reprehensible acts over a long course of time. Yes, they educated a large swath of people. They were entrusted with that responsibility and look at what they did with that trust. I know that not all priest were pedo's or bad people by any stretch of the imagination. There are unquestionably some great priests and nuns out there. I personally know a couple of amazing people working in various religious orders. 
However, the whole set up of the organisation stinks from the top down and should be dismantled. Too many horrific acts have taken place and they should never be forgiven as a group in their current guise.   

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 5:07pm
It actually beggars belief (pun intended ), that people are still apologising for these bastards. If you can defend the RCC in this country, you need help. And don't come baxk with I know good priests. You don't need to join an evil business to be a good person, or read a novel about incest or anything else.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2015 at 5:08pm
Top post Hammered. Think I am too angry to think logically. It is crazy that people are still willing to accept these bastards having a say in our country

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2016 at 9:08pm
http://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/feb/10/catholic-bishops-not-obliged-report-clerical-child-abuse-vatican-says

Shower of absolute f**king animals

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2016 at 10:33pm
I'm not a peadophile but those kids shouldn't go out dressing like that luring those priests.

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2016 at 10:43pm

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/feb/10/catholic-bishops-not-obliged-report-clerical-child-abuse-vatican-says

Shower of absolute f**king animals

Need to be completely removed from Irish society, vile scum.

Date Posted: 29 Feb 2016 at 3:04pm
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3468542/Catholic-priest-caught-video-snorting-cocaine-room-Nazi-memorabilia-house-church-grounds.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3468542/Catholic-priest-caught-video-snorting-cocaine-room-Nazi-memorabilia-house-church-grounds.html

Shocked

Date Posted: 29 Feb 2016 at 3:15pm
I can't see the Nazi memorabilia in the video or pictures? Otherwise he looks like a priest you might want to have a chat with.

Date Posted: 29 Feb 2016 at 3:28pm

Date Posted: 29 Feb 2016 at 4:16pm
First thing that came in to my head when I seen the headline 

Posted By: Bitored
Date Posted: 29 Feb 2016 at 4:35pm

Braulio Rodriguez, who is the Archbishop of Toledo, spoke to his congregation about relationships at a sermon held in Toledo Cathedral on 27 December, and his comments were later written up in the Our Father parish bulletin.

He criticised ‘false marriages’ and ‘quickie divorces’, and said that the root cause of domestic violence was a woman’s ‘disobedience’ to her husband.

http://metro.co.uk/2016/01/07/disobedient-wives-to-blame-for-domestic-violence-says-spanish-archbishop-5606606/" rel="nofollow - http://metro.co.uk/2016/01/07/disobedient-wives-to-blame-for-domestic-violence-says-spanish-archbishop-5606606/

Date Posted: 29 Feb 2016 at 5:20pm
The lad doing a line and will cause a bigger stir. The Vatican; a great bunch of lads.

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2016 at 8:22pm
Has anyone seen Deliver Us From Evil on Netflix? It's about the cover up of the abuse of Father Oliver O'Grady (from Limerick) in different parishes in California during the 70's & 80's. Absolutely heartbreaking to watch the effect it had on not only the victim, but the victim's family who let this predator into their home.

O'Grady seems like he has no comprehension of the hurt he was causing the victims. He himself was a victim of domestic and clerical abuse so that definitely plays a part in it.

Really interesting bit about the issue of celibacy in it. Celibacy was only introduced as when a married priest died, his land and possessions would be left to his family rather than the church, so it was introduced so that all possessions and land would be now property of the church.

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2016 at 8:32pm
Saw it many years ago, it is a good few years old now. The actions of a certain former Pontiff were disgusting too.
It is well known, if rarely discussed, that priests were stopped from marrying as it cost them too much money. At least they were creating kids instead of defiling them then. The church has gone backwards of late.

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2016 at 8:35pm
Yep, brilliant documentary and everyone should see it.

It's hideous, and it's hard not to shed a few tears when watching it. Incredibly angry afterwards and the numbers are absolutely jawdropping. 

RE the marriage thing, that's exactly why the church, at one stage, owned 1/3 of the land in Europe. Their assets are enormous in number. Yet they still won't compensate the women of the Magdalene Laundries. 

The mad thing is that this is a current problem, not an historic one. It's incredible what they have and what they can get away with.

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2016 at 8:36pm
A mate of mine made a great point lately summing up attitudes towards the church. The most famous/infamous and disgraced member of the clergy in this country is still a man who had sex with a woman and had a child. 

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2016 at 9:17pm
Sickening that in the doc he's looking into the Phoenix Park playground. 

Ye I never knew about the celibacy issue before. Think they said in the doc that it was introduced in the 4th century. Also interesting to hear what the psychologist said about the fact that they enter a minor seminary at an age where their psycho-sexual development is stopped, and they are nurtured in an environment which has negative attitudes to marriage and sexuality, that when their urges are no longer controllable, they seek out victims who they class as psycho-sexual peers (children/teenagers).

That's not to mention those that were abused themselves wanting to transfer their pain to their victim.

A truly abhorrent organisation.

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2016 at 9:25pm
O'Grady the sick f*ck was sentenced to 3 years in 2012 for possession of child pornography.

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2016 at 10:09pm
If any other global organisation (the likes of Facebook, Google, Volkswagen..... ) had institutional pedophilia to the same level as the RCC,they'd have been ran out of business a long time ago. I don't understand why it should be any different for them.

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2016 at 10:13pm
Originally posted by Bitored Bitored wrote:

If any other global organisation (the likes of Facebook, Google, Volkswagen..... ) had institutional pedophilia to the same level as the RCC,they'd have been ran out of business a long time ago. I don't understand why it should be any different for them.
It doesn't seem to have affected the BBC all that much.

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2016 at 10:37pm

The BBC was a weekend in Mosney compared to what the RCC were at.

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2016 at 10:40pm

The BBC was a weekend in Mosney compared to what the RCC were at.
Are some paedos better than others?

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2016 at 11:03pm
The BBC problem was part of a much larger one within England within the political class and either ignored or covered up by the police. There are investigations, such as the one surrounding the Elm Guest House in Barnes, that have seemed to completely disappear. The Beeb was just part of a much larger problem, just that it slipped out. Like Jimmy Saville though, it will all out. Eventually!

Posted By: eire77
Date Posted: 24 Mar 2016 at 8:33am

A mate of mine made a great point lately summing up attitudes towards the church. The most famous/infamous and disgraced member of the clergy in this country is still a man who had sex with a woman and had a child. 
and everyone seems to forget he stole tens of thousands of pounds from parishioners to pay her off. £70k iirc. And that was 30 odd years ago when £70k was £70k!!

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2016 at 10:54am
In my defense I didn't forget, I actually had no idea he did that in the first place! ****!!

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2016 at 11:40am
I watched this last night.

Interesting to hear the reason behind celibacy.

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2016 at 11:55am
Who do ye think is the biggest **** in all of this? O'Grady or the ****s that kept covering up and moving him around to do it again?

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2016 at 12:44pm
Definitely the "people" behind the cover up. Of course O'Grady is a twisted individual but he is a severely damaged person who was allowed to continue his horrendous activities even after the church was made aware of them.

O'Grady just seemed to have no comprehension of his actions. That isn't a defence for him but he obviously has huge psychological issues.

I could be wrong about this but wasn't he moved back to Ireland without the relevant authorities being made aware of his crimes?

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2016 at 1:17pm
Yep the Guards had no idea he was around. And the church still pay him a pension.

I agree with you by the way on everything you said above

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2016 at 1:44pm
A truly despicable organisation. They should have their property and grounds confiscated. We could get rid of the church and solve the homeless/ housing crisis in one fell swoop. A win -win 

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2016 at 2:14pm

Definitely the "people" behind the cover up. Of course O'Grady is a twisted individual but he is a severely damaged person who was allowed to continue his horrendous activities even after the church was made aware of them.

O'Grady just seemed to have no comprehension of his actions. That isn't a defence for him but he obviously has huge psychological issues.

I could be wrong about this but wasn't he moved back to Ireland without the relevant authorities being made aware of his crimes?
All very true, sadly. The man was in lala land and needed serious help, the church just kept putting more and more kids in danger. f**king animals.

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2016 at 7:04pm
Best time of the year to be from Catholic Ireland

4 day weekend Clap

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2016 at 7:07pm

Best time of the year to be from Catholic Ireland

4 day weekend Clap
Was it not the Catholic Church in Ireland who invented the tradition of the chocolate egg? After having their holes ridden all Holy week, the christian brothers decided a bit of chocolate made up for it.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2016 at 9:13am

TODAY THE VATICAN urged Catholics not to scatter the ashes of the dead after cremation and instead to store them in places approved by the Church.

The new guidelines published by the Church also say that the ashes of the dead should not be kept at home but should instead be kept at a cemetery or other sacred place.

Doing so reduces “the risk of shielding the dead from prayers for them and the memory of their family and the Christian community”, German cardinal Gerhard Ludwig Muller, the prefect of the doctrinal watchdog, told journalists.

We also avoid eventually forgetting (them) and the lack of respect which can happen, especially after the passing of the first generation.

The Vatican first gave permission for cremation in 1963.

The new guidelines come just in time for “All Souls Day” on 2 November when the faithful typically pray for the dead.

“The body is not the private property of the family. A dead person is a son of God. It is part of the body of Christ, it is part of God’s people. It’s for this reason that there is not only private rites for the deceased but it’s a public ceremony,” said Muller.

Bishops will however be able to authorise exceptions to the new guidelines “in serious and exceptional circumstances linked to local customs and practices”.

The new rules also prohibit the scattering of ashes at sea, said Muller.

But the guidelines will not be applied retrospectively to the relics of saints whose remains have been preserved over the centuries “to avoid provoking a war between believers”, according to one of Muller’s aides.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2016 at 11:25am
They should be recycled on Ash Wednesday, environmentally friendly.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2016 at 12:59pm

TODAY THE VATICAN urged Catholics not to scatter the ashes of the dead after cremation and instead to store them in places approved by the Church.

The new guidelines published by the Church also say that the ashes of the dead should not be kept at home but should instead be kept at a cemetery or other sacred place.

Doing so reduces “the risk of shielding the dead from prayers for them and the memory of their family and the Christian community”, German cardinal Gerhard Ludwig Muller, the prefect of the doctrinal watchdog, told journalists.

We also avoid eventually forgetting (them) and the lack of respect which can happen, especially after the passing of the first generation.

The Vatican first gave permission for cremation in 1963.

The new guidelines come just in time for “All Souls Day” on 2 November when the faithful typically pray for the dead.

“The body is not the private property of the family. A dead person is a son of God. It is part of the body of Christ, it is part of God’s people. It’s for this reason that there is not only private rites for the deceased but it’s a public ceremony,” said Muller.

Bishops will however be able to authorise exceptions to the new guidelines “in serious and exceptional circumstances linked to local customs and practices”.

The new rules also prohibit the scattering of ashes at sea, said Muller.

But the guidelines will not be applied retrospectively to the relics of saints whose remains have been preserved over the centuries “to avoid provoking a war between believers”, according to one of Muller’s aides.

Some grade A horsesh*t, yet again from the Catholic Church.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2016 at 1:35pm
It's only a comment, not like it's a law or anything. Scatter wherever the f**k you want.

Posted By: armahibee
Date Posted: 26 Oct 2016 at 1:55pm
So are we allowed to stuff them into sceptic tanks or wha??

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2016 at 7:00pm
Anyone that's basing their decisions on this trollix needs mental health care.

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2016 at 7:55pm
http://www.joe.ie/life-style/9000-irish-people-are-going-to-a-mysterious-mass-and-the-posts-are-amazing/565137" rel="nofollow - http://www.joe.ie/life-style/9000-irish-people-are-going-to-a-mysterious-mass-and-the-posts-are-amazing/565137

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 11:55am
http://www.theguardian.com/australia-news/2017/feb/06/4444-victims-extent-of-abuse-in-catholic-church-in-australia-revealed" rel="nofollow - http://www.theguardian.com/australia-news/2017/feb/06/4444-victims-extent-of-abuse-in-catholic-church-in-australia-revealed

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2017 at 3:34pm
http://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/feb/23/pope-francis-better-to-be-atheist-than-hypocritical-catholic" rel="nofollow - http://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/feb/23/pope-francis-better-to-be-atheist-than-hypocritical-catholic

The pope has just put forward my main problem with Christianity; hypocrisy. I don't get the chance to say this very often but well done PopeyClap.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 1:49pm
Following on from revelations of Pope Francis (the new, trendy, compassionate Pope) letting paedophiles off the hook and, in at least one case, letting a paedophile loose to rape kids in a deaf school, it hit closer to home today.

What the courageous Catherine Corless discovered on paper in Tuam has been revealed in hard evidence. A children's mass grave.

Evil, evil ****s. No organisation has been responsible for so much evil.

If someone can direct me to how I can officially cut my ties completely with these f**kers, I would appreciate it.

Posted By: GUFC_Andy
Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 1:51pm
Scum of the earth

Don't ban me for no reason, please.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 1:52pm

Following on from revelations of Pope Francis (the new, trendy, compassionate Pope) letting paedophiles off the hook and, in at least one case, letting a paedophile loose to rape kids in a deaf school, it hit closer to home today.

What the courageous Catherine Corless discovered on paper in Tuam has been revealed in hard evidence. A children's mass grave.

If someone can direct me to how I can officially cut my ties completely with these f**kers, I would appreciate it.

You can always take the soup.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 1:55pm

You can always take the soup.

Funnily enough, Goebbels was the only high ranking nazi they excommunicated - because he married a Protestant

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 2:22pm
Beyond sick, turn the churches into concert halls and art galleries and leave them spout their sh*te in the fields. Public hanging of a few bishops wouldn't go astray either.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 2:53pm
Heartbreaking, blood-boiling and inhuman.  Beyond any semblance of Christianity or logic.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 2:57pm

You have to write a letter to your local bishop telling him you are no longer a member of the church and ask them to remove you from their statistics. 

My mother in law did this and converted to COI  ConfusedConfusedConfused

Posted By: armahibee
Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 3:00pm

Beyond sick, turn the churches into concert halls and art galleries and leave them spout their sh*te in the fields. Public hanging of a few bishops wouldn't go astray either.

100%!!! Disgusted too still see turning up to this sh*te on a Sunday.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 3:23pm
Aren't the Church reps in Africa fighting the Aids epidemic through prayer, abstinence and educating the locals that condoms spread the disease? Surely that would be considered genocide? Fair play to anyone who still puts money into their coffers Clap

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 3:47pm

You have to write a letter to your local bishop telling him you are no longer a member of the church and ask them to remove you from their statistics. 

My mother in law did this and converted to COI  ConfusedConfusedConfused

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 3:51pm

Aren't the Church reps in Africa fighting the Aids epidemic through prayer, abstinence and educating the locals that condoms spread the disease? Surely that would be considered genocide? Fair play to anyone who still puts money into their coffers Clap

Now doing the same in the Philippines where new infections have risen by 230% between 2011 and 15.

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/02/28/world/asia/as-hiv-soars-in-philippines-conservatives-kill-school-condom-plan.html?_r=2&utm_source=Pew+Research+Center&utm_campaign=ea98fa9d8c-EMAIL_CAMPAIGN_2017_03_02&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_3e953b9b70-ea98fa9d8c-400226525

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 4:17pm
The Catholic Church is the oldest multinational in the world. 

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 5:44pm

Yeah Pope Francis acting in 2017 buried 800 kids in unmarked graves in 1940s. He's magic Confused

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 5:55pm

Yeah Pope Francis acting in 2017 buried 800 kids in unmarked graves in 1940s. He's magic Confused
sure when he is saint Francis he will be magic

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 7:16pm

His crimes against children are equally as despicable

Posted By: Bo Jackson
Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 8:06pm

What the courageous Catherine Corless discovered on paper in Tuam has been revealed in hard evidence. 

There is nothing else I disagree with besides this. What is so courageous about her? It is a little known fact tnhat she would never have been able to finish to this research without the help of local people in the town who she was quick to forget along with all the memorial and recognition work she was happy to support before doing all her interviews upon this story going viral. Thumbs Down

Again, its a much minor facet of this story this isn't the solo brigade of one woman against the world here.

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2017 at 10:52am
I'll take your word for it Bo, I don't know the woman at all.

Posted By: Hickster74
Date Posted: 07 Mar 2017 at 11:55pm
The majority of our schools are still run by the same organisations that abused children and covered it up, profited from slave camps for unmarried mothers and buried babies and children in septic tanks and mass graves. How can we call ourselves a 'republic' while this continues?!

Religion has no place in schools.

Its time for the government to take back all national schools (for a start) and ban all religious iconography and from school grounds. If any national school lands belong to the church, issue compulsory purchase orders for the grand sum of zero and consider it as compensation due to the grandchildren and great grand children of the abused.

"Perhaps the reason that they did not consider the worst, was because discussion of such cases would have cast suspicion on the planner as being a "saboteur". Paranoia was rampant throughout."

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 12:14am

Have to say I feel absolutely ashamed to be an Irishman the last few days. This country has failed its children and people time and time again. Everything else is irrelevant. Its not just the Catholic Churchs doing , the state is as equally to blame.

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 12:17am
True, scary thing is that people must have known what was happening. Anyone who spoke up was shunned and banished.

"Perhaps the reason that they did not consider the worst, was because discussion of such cases would have cast suspicion on the planner as being a "saboteur". Paranoia was rampant throughout."

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 9:11am
Originally posted by Hickster74 Hickster74 wrote:

Totally disagree with this. Religious negligence is what causes Yanks to hate Muslims, Muslims to hate Palestinians, Catholics to hate Protestants (once upon a time).

If I had my way, everyone would be required to teach all religions equally. The world would be a much safer place if we all understood other religions views and thoughts.

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 9:31am

Totally disagree with this. Religious negligence is what causes Yanks to hate Muslims, Muslims to hate Palestinians, Catholics to hate Protestants (once upon a time).

If I had my way, everyone would be required to teach all religions equally. The world would be a much safer place if we all understood other religions views and thoughts.
Teaching tolerance is completely different, making people aware of the absurdity of religion while accepting people's faith in them is completely different to the dangers of associating education with indoctrination.

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 9:35am

Teaching tolerance is completely different, making people aware of the absurdity of religion while accepting people's faith in them is completely different to the dangers of associating education with indoctrination.
Dat would be an ecumenical matter..........

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 11:28am

Religious indoctrination has caused more hatred throughout history than anything else. My point was clearly that no one church or faith should be allowed to control any of our national schools. 

A brief summary of all religions and their beliefs can be covered in any number of other subjects - some day, it'll be relevant only in history.

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 11:46am
Religion of any kind is beyond stupid

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 11:53am

At last, thank God someone has finally said it.

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 6:07pm

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 8:38pm

You need a good priest so you do.

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 8:41pm

You need a good priest so you do.
I think TJ is too old for that,he has adult teeth.

A great cartoon above, sums it up neatly. 

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 8:45pm

Even though everyone can see the irony in it , I'm so disgusted I cant help but find it distasteful

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2017 at 9:03am
I completely reject the notion that society was as culpable as the church. Consider what it must be like to live in a theocracy. The society that existed at the time was absolutely sculpted and shaped by the church. It was their goal and it succeeded. But the reason we moved away from those horrible shackles was not because of the church maturing, it was because society matured and decided they weren't listening to their sh*t anymore. Which is exactly why the church continues to abuse countries in poorer areas of the globe.

Never underestimate the power of indoctrination within a theocracy