I would imagine it's a very emotional day in Liverpool today

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 3:56pm
at last the truth is finally out
J.F.T 96

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 5:40pm
Such an emotional time for all associated with this day, really is terrible they had to wait this long for the truth.

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 5:50pm
Jimmy McGovern's dramatisation of Hillsborough  

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 5:53pm
Defo deserves its own thread.  Absolutely appalling and criminal behaviour from Sheffield Wednesday FC, to the emergency services to the West Yorkshire Police.  That coulda been any of us lads/lassies.  

23 years is an awful long time to get justice.

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 5:55pm
Sheffield Wednesday FW

Posted By: jinky
Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 6:02pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=Xfgqi-UahE8" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=Xfgqi-UahE8  may the 96 rest in peace in paradise in peace forever

tir gan teanga ,tir gan anam

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 6:39pm
What a feckin cover up I know it won't bring their loved ones back but I hope the families sue the appropriate people.

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 7:00pm

Jimmy McGovern's dramatisation of Hillsborough  

It's taken too long for this to be available to a mainstream audience, watched it this year on some obscure documentary site, its a must watch

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 7:05pm

Defo deserves its own thread.  Absolutely appalling and criminal behaviour from Sheffield United FC, to the emergency services to the West Yorkshire Police.  That coulda been any of us lads/lassies.  

Sheff weds lad, and it was South Yorkshire police

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 7:09pm
Was disgusted watching the reports on tv tonight but it Problably only confirmed what many of us already knew. So many parallels with Bloody Sunday and both campaigns supported each other.

The truth is out at last now for both campaigns and now it's time for prosecutions.

YNWA

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 7:25pm
and the tory MP, now a knight of the realm, spreading lies too. He should be in jail never mind being called "sir"........Angry

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 7:32pm
Who was the Tory MP packie ?

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 7:36pm
the parallels with the bloody sunday inquiry are frightening

Posted By: petej1963
Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 7:40pm
They have always turned and blamed the underdog, they tell so many lies that they don't know the truth  when they see it, they take cover up to a new level, I find this all so sad.

Sleep gentle our Rose of Mooncoin.......

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 7:49pm
The cop that saved as many lives as he could. would hate to see him tarred as the fcukers in charge

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 8:07pm
This is the document that started the spin against the Liverpool fans and in favour of the 'authorities' and used by many of the media outlets.

http://hillsborough.independent.gov.uk/repository/docs/NGN000000010001.pdfReleases" rel="nofollow - Whites Agency Sheffield Press Releases

Posted By: Ludwig von Drake
Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 8:10pm
Delighted for the families and everyone who has been affected. Truth today. Hopefully someday there'll be justice. I have huge respect for Anne Williams and and all who have campaigned over the years and also the likes of Andy Burnham who has been great.

In relation to the Tory MP referred to above, I presume it's Sir Irvine Patrick. In relation to his lies, McKenzie in the S*n said later that they would not have went for the story if it wasn't for Patrick. This is an article from 2004 about it-  http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2004/jul/07/pressandpublishing.football1" rel="nofollow - http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2004/jul/07/pressandpublishing.football1  

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 8:43pm

Defo deserves its own thread.  Absolutely appalling and criminal behaviour from Sheffield United FC, to the emergency services to the West Yorkshire Police.  That coulda been any of us lads/lassies.  

Of course, Sheff Wed, dunno how I typed in United, sorry! Embarrassed

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 8:44pm

Of course, Sheff Wed, dunno how I typed in United and West Yorkshire, havin a mare, sorry! Embarrassed

Posted By: GockaRocka
Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 8:47pm
Lets hope this quietens the fools who still smear Liverpool supporters to this day. Only last week did I have the displeasure of the company of one such person who believed the lies and not with a whole lot of research on his part, but with unrelenting ignorance.

Justice for the 96, finally at last, but this only ends one chapter in their two part ordeal, one part was the 15th of April, the other, the twenty three years that came after when their names were blackened time and again, easy targets and everyone fell right in. Nothing will heal their wounds.

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 9:31pm
  • John Alfred Anderson (62)
  • Colin Mark Ashcroft (19)
  • James Gary Aspinall (18)
  • Kester Roger Marcus Ball (16)
  • Gerard Bernard Patrick Baron (67)
  • Simon Bell (17)
  • Barry Sidney Bennett (26)
  • David John Benson (22)
  • David William Birtle (22)
  • Tony Bland (22)
  • Paul David Brady (21)
  • Andrew Mark Brookes (26)
  • Carl Brown (18)
  • David Steven Brown (25)
  • Henry Thomas Burke (47)
  • Peter Andrew Burkett (24)
  • Paul William Carlile (19)
  • Raymond Thomas Chapman (50)
  • Gary Christopher Church (19)
  • Joseph Clark (29)
  • Paul Clark (18)
  • Gary Collins (22)
  • Stephen Paul Copoc (20)
  • Tracey Elizabeth Cox (23)
  • James Philip Delaney (19)
  • Christopher Barry Devonside (18)
  • Christopher Edwards (29)
  • Vincent Michael Fitzsimmons (34)
  • Thomas Steven Fox (21)
  • Jon-Paul Gilhooley (10)
  • Barry Glover (27)
  • Ian Thomas Glover (20)
  • Derrick George Godwin (24)
  • Roy Harry Hamilton (34)
  • Philip Hammond (14)
  • Eric Hankin (33)
  • Gary Harrison (27)
  • Stephen Francis Harrison (31)
  • Peter Andrew Harrison (15)
  • David Hawley (39)
  • James Robert Hennessy (29)
  • Paul Anthony Hewitson (26)
  • Carl Darren Hewitt (17)
  • Nicholas Michael Hewitt (16)
  • Sarah Louise Hicks (19)
  • Victoria Jane Hicks (15)
  • Gordon Rodney Horn (20)
  • Arthur Horrocks (41)
  • Thomas Howard (39)
  • Thomas Anthony Howard (14)
  • Eric George Hughes (42)
  • Alan Johnston (29)
  • Christine Anne Jones (27)
  • Gary Philip Jones (18)
  • Richard Jones (25)
  • Nicholas Peter Joynes (27)
  • Anthony Peter Kelly (29)
  • Michael David Kelly (38)
  • Carl David Lewis (18)
  • David William Mather (19)
  • Brian Christopher Mathews (38)
  • Francis Joseph McAllister (27)
  • John McBrien (18)
  • Marion Hazel McCabe (21)
  • Joseph Daniel McCarthy (21)
  • Peter McDonnell (21)
  • Alan McGlone (28)
  • Keith McGrath (17)
  • Paul Brian Murray (14)
  • Lee Nicol (14)
  • Stephen Francis O'Neill (17)
  • Jonathon Owens (18)
  • William Roy Pemberton (23)
  • Carl William Rimmer (21)
  • David George Rimmer (38)
  • Graham John Roberts (24)
  • Steven Joseph Robinson (17)
  • Henry Charles Rogers (17)
  • Colin Andrew Hugh William Sefton (23)
  • Inger Shah (38)
  • Paula Ann Smith (26)
  • Adam Edward Spearritt (14)
  • Philip John Steele (15)
  • David Leonard Thomas (23)
  • Patrik John Thompson (35)
  • Peter Reuben Thompson (30)
  • Stuart Paul William Thompson (17)
  • Peter Francis Tootle (21)
  • Christopher James Traynor (26)
  • Martin Kevin Traynor (16)
  • Kevin Tyrrell (15)
  • Colin Wafer (19)
  • Ian David Whelan (19)
  • Martin Kenneth Wild (29)
  • Kevin Daniel Williams (15)
  • Graham John Wright (17)

Posted By: Andkend
Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 9:37pm
In a way, its a weight lifted off Liverpool and Merseyside -

Maybe its time for a new era in the club.

A time to look to the future and to build a new history, free from the past.

Do all 96 of those fans proud.

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 10:30pm
http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/public/sport/" rel="nofollow - http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/public/sport/  Very moving from Tony EvansCry

Newsnight from BBC2 coming up as well now

Posted By: Jackthelad
Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 10:31pm
Originally posted by Ludwig von Drake Ludwig von Drake wrote:

http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/public/sport/" rel="nofollow - http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/public/sport/  Very moving from Tony EvansCry

Newsnight from BBC2 coming up as well now

Bbc2 - cheers for that Ludwig.

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 10:51pm
Very moving from Tony Evans

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 11:07pm
Some Unbelievable Stuff in them reports.

JFT96

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 11:55pm

This certainly deserves a thread of its own

I would imagine it's a very emotional day in Liverpool today

You not goin with whole 'Victim FC' slant this time then, GerK?

Posted By: Smartalex
Date Posted: 12 Sep 2012 at 11:58pm
remember the day well good that these families have finally got some answers

Posted By: Smartalex
Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 12:06am
bit late now like

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 12:12am
You should never go to a football match and not come home.
One of the rare times when I was happy to see Liverpool win.

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 11:22am
The S*n embarrassing themselves even more with that headline. But enough about them, a great day for the people of Liverpool and for football fans everywhere. As FW said, it could have been any of us.

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 11:29am
Good to see justice being done. Another great cover up and miscarriage of justice by the British Government

Hopefully those sick disgusting songs about Hillsborough are never heard again

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 1:56pm
The report will give vindiction to the families and survivors, sadly it won't bring any closure to the horror. It's been too long a wait for the truth to be revealed. While 96 people brutally passed away on that dreadful day the residual effect on the city will last forever. Families have been destoyed through addictions, pyschological problems and suicides as a direct consequence of this heinous episode.

May the 96 RIP and may the events of this week bring give the survivours/families some solace.

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 2:04pm

Good to see justice being done. Another great cover up and miscarriage of justice by the British Government

Hopefully those sick disgusting songs about Hillsborough are never heard again

me and the auld fella were on a train coming out of old trafford into the city centre a few years ago and these gang of scumbags calling themselves the busby boys were singing about hillsborough. Anything and i mean anything is fair game over there and there ll always be arseholes following teams. I do think apart from booing the odd rangers player Irish fans generally well behaved and would never sing that kind of stuff. People will still sing about hillsborough,munich unfortunately unless theres a serious crackdown

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 4:10pm
Always arseholes following teams -

Irish fans are really well behaved - My spanish friends were at the Ireland v spain game in Gdansk for Euro and they spent the whole time after the game with Irish fans - they said people were balanced about the game and gave credit where credit was due - good natured sl*ggin but it never turned nasty. I went to a party after the euro and brought Irish flags for everyone, they all told me how much they enjoyed the athmosphere with the Irish.
Scumbags are scumbags - My dad, my brother and I went to a man u v liverpool game in old trafford me dads a neutral, he supports whichever team has the most Irish players - I support liverpool and me brother is a turncoat man u supporter - anyway I was warned not to shout if liverpool scored, anyway they did and I was obviously not quiet enough, a few people threw coins at us, nothing that serious but enough to make us uncomfortable -

I was sitting with Italians and croatians for both games during Euro and there was no grief given to them by any irish fans, they got hand shakes and pats on the back after the game.

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 5:10pm
Originally posted by Smartalex Smartalex wrote:

bit late now like

SCUM RAG.
will never cross my door

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 5:34pm
Anti-irish rag back in the day too , ive never ever bought it .

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 5:41pm
Just watch Jimmy McGoverns Hillsborough again there shocking stuff alright, god bless them, just on a side note I remember being in the Canal End at various matches in the 80s and early 90s All Ireland Finals and Semi Finals and I just keep wondering How the jaysus did we come safe out of it?

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 5:55pm

Just watch Jimmy McGoverns Hillsborough again there shocking stuff alright, god bless them, just on a side note I remember being in the Canal End at various matches in the 80s and early 90s All Ireland Finals and Semi Finals and I just keep wondering How the jaysus did we come safe out of it?

Could you have run onto the pitch or was it a pen like at hillsborough??

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 5:59pm
Originally posted by Andkend Andkend wrote:

Could you have run onto the pitch or was it a pen like at hillsborough??

No, it was fenced and barbed wired and Hill16 for All Ireland final of '83 was one lucky escape for all on it that day

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 6:14pm
The Blackrock Terrace in Cork is really dangerous these days as is the town end in Thurles, you think they would of learned from things like this.

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 6:15pm
               So many things to reflect upon regarding hillsborough. Obviously those that died, were injured, or mentally scarred from the terrible events are uppermost.
             But it also brought about a massive cultural change in the game in England. The FA and government pushed it towards all seater stadia. The premier league was born shortly after, meaning the game was no longer the staple of the working classes. For me personally, the game changed forever that day. 

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 6:47pm
Originally posted by packiesglove packiesglove wrote:

So many things to reflect upon regarding hillsborough. Obviously those that died, were injured, or mentally scarred from the terrible events are uppermost.
             But it also brought about a massive cultural change in the game in England. The FA and government pushed it towards all seater stadia. The premier league was born shortly after, meaning the game was no longer the staple of the working classes. For me personally, the game changed forever that day. 

for better or worse?

Posted By: Wild Rover
Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 6:52pm
Originally posted by tonyjaa tonyjaa wrote:

Can't understand why anyone in Ireland would ever buy that fascist rag.

Niall Quinn is god

Posted By: jinky
Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 8:10pm
Originally posted by tonyjaa tonyjaa wrote:

its a real knuckedraggers rag alright

tir gan teanga ,tir gan anam

Posted By: Gavintheslob
Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 8:40pm
great news that finally a bit of justice for the 96, surely there will have to be a new inquest now

Its very frustrating being a Slob

Posted By: GarageFlower
Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 9:17pm
Delighted,At long last the truth comes out.A new inquest and criminal proceedings must follow.The campaign for Justice must continue- apologies aren't enough for the top to bottom,multi association/departmental cover up.

Heskey..Zorro..The match is Tomorrow!!                      She loves Cox!She loves Cox!!

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 9:26pm
Originally posted by GarageFlower GarageFlower wrote:

Delighted,At long last the truth comes out.A new inquest and criminal proceedings must follow.The campaign for Justice must continue- apologies aren't enough for the top to bottom,multi association/departmental cover up.
Exactly. I get the impression they're only sorry because they were caught. 

Posted By: Mulvanystrasse
Date Posted: 14 Sep 2012 at 9:14pm
The brits ways wait until everyone has retired before they reveal the truth. The police at the time were a disgrace, they were protected by the Thatcher government of the day.

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2012 at 8:04am
What do you expect from a country with a house of lords -
The image of the crown and the realm must appear strong at all times.

Mind you they are not the only nation that is capable of doing a cover up - happens all over the world if people lie down and let it happen.

Fair play to the families of the 96, who never gave up in their fight to make the truth known and to make the truth of the situation known, I hope they get the final justice and convictions they are looking for.

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2012 at 12:30pm
Originally posted by Andkend Andkend wrote:

for better or worse?

worse, definitely. prices went up, and atmosphere has been lost at every ground in the country in the top 2 leagues, the only positive for me was the fences came down.
      I am not suggesting the  events at hillsborough were the reason for this, but it was used as an excuse for changes in football.

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2012 at 1:09pm
To counter that, football is now a place you could bring the wife and kids if you had them!
I'd love nothing more than to bring my young fella (some day) to the games.
20 years ago maybe 30 I don't think football was suitable for anybody other than an able bodied man.
Thats a positive change I feel, your right about atmosphere issues though.
I know the kop still retains a Good atmosphere and dortmund is the same. Maybe clubs should look at incorporating a large home end stand like Liverpool and Dortmund have to generate atmosphere.
They're just 2 examples, it's not an exclusive list!

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2012 at 1:24pm
Arsenal fans to sing YNWA today at 3.06 in their match today in memory of the 96

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2012 at 1:26pm
Originally posted by Gavintheslob Gavintheslob wrote:

Arsenal fans to sing YNWA today at 3.06 in their match today in memory of the 96

Think there's a mutual respect between both sets of fans stretching back to the kops applause of arsenals 1989 league title victory at anfield.

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2012 at 1:32pm
Originally posted by Jackthelad Jackthelad wrote:

To counter that, football is now a place you could bring the wife and kids if you had them!
20 years ago maybe 30 I don't think football was suitable for anybody other than an able bodied man.
I know the kop still retains a Good atmosphere and dortmund is the same. Maybe clubs should look at incorporating a large home end stand like Liverpool and Dortmund have to generate atmosphere.

you're doing well for yourself if you can afford to bring your wife and kids to games. EPL games that is. I havent been to a top flight English league game since 1991.  Still cannot understand why safe standing areas cannot be implemented, its all about the moneyAngry

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2012 at 1:36pm
A it's easier talk about bringing them when they don't currently exist!
Don't mind the ticket prices personally,it's entertainment, I've 0 interest in attending a concert of any description but aren't they a similar sort of price?
At least the EPL doesn't have the running tracks. They are simply appalling.

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2012 at 1:44pm

Don't mind the ticket prices personally,it's entertainment, I've 0 interest in attending a concert of any description but aren't they a similar sort of price?

might have one soon enough. I just think the EPL is overpriced. Compare it to Bundesliga. I paid 18euro for my ticket in Bari for Italy game against us, they were the current World Cup holders. I just dont think its value for money personally. The ticketing system, as well as all seater has meant that people can no longer attend at short notice. I know lots of fans who used to attend games regularly that have tailed off for this reason, having to book weeks ahead means mates cannot just turn up and sit together, which directly affects atmosphere

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2012 at 1:48pm

might have one soon enough. I just think the EPL is overpriced. Compare it to Bundesliga. I paid 18euro for my ticket in Bari for Italy game against us, they were the current World Cup holders. I just dont think its value for money personally. The ticketing system, as well as all seater has meant that people can no longer attend at short notice. I know lots of fans who used to attend games regularly that have tailed off for this reason, having to book weeks ahead means mates cannot just turn up and sit together, which directly affects atmosphere

Ya I agree with a lot of what you said there in fairness.
And if west ham go in there, mark my words their home record will decline from what it is at upton park.
18 quid was a bargain in fairness, but remember the south of Italy is a very poor area. You'd have paid more had it been in the San siro (I'm guessing).
I think it's up to every club to do whatever they can to generate a good atmosphere. Obviously the game itself dictates a lot each week also.

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2012 at 5:32pm

all german clubs must have standing areas as a rule, think its roughly 10% of capacity and tickets are much cheaper

Date Posted: 16 Sep 2012 at 9:42am
Good Hillsborough debate on the Sunday Supplement now.

Date Posted: 16 Sep 2012 at 10:24am
The Germans love football - I lived in Stuttgard and Cologne and everyone support teams - man woman and child - they also play football, every morning and evening along the rhine, watched many games and the standard was always high.

Germans are naturally very orderly and they are good at making and keeping laws so the standing I imagine works well there.

Here in Poznan 120pln for 6 home matches, very reasonable - behind the goal, the boiler room is very hard to get into - my friend has tried to get me in for a match but its really hard - someday.

Date Posted: 16 Sep 2012 at 3:16pm

at 50 notes a ticket? Lower league football is far more atmospheric and enjoyable experience than an overpriced corporate f**kfest

Date Posted: 16 Sep 2012 at 5:06pm
not sure how to put in a youtube video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nBh2oAvsSSc&feature=related

Billy Bragg song!

Date Posted: 16 Sep 2012 at 9:26pm
A superb article by Eamon Sweeney in the Sunday Independent, a must read

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/triumph-of-truth-over-power-3230068.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/triumph-of-truth-over-power-3230068.html

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2012 at 8:05am
Fantastic article - spot on - thanks for that Del Piero -

Alexi Sale, very interesting piece.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q26wgbOMBI4

I don't know how I never knew about the sun, living abroad and possibly reading the wrong media online - but this whole story is still important.

Charlie Haughy deserted cork, my birthplace in the same way in the 80's Ford, Dunlop and Irish Steel - Cork was devastated, Politics is the same the world over. Cork is described as the Peoples republic of cork, Interesting in this to hear Liverpool described as the Peoples republic too.

If you talk to people in USA they will tell you that for poor people with no chance of paying for the best education there are 3 ways to get out of the hood - Drug dealing, Music and sport. Most of the poor people who made in the USA did it those areas.

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2012 at 10:06am
Originally posted by Del-Piero Del-Piero wrote:

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/triumph-of-truth-over-power-3230068.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/triumph-of-truth-over-power-3230068.html

I read the paper version of this and its a quality piece I loved the Elvis Costello line " When they finally put you in the ground I'll stand on your grave and tramp the dirt down. " re Thatcher.

The Liverpool fans sang a nice little ditty about Thatcher at the SOL on Saturday. Big smile

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2012 at 11:16am
Did Liverpool football club have much of a voice in regards to this or did they just sit on the fence and leave it to the campaigners/fans?

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2012 at 11:47am
The club have maintained its support but at the same time respected the families to make their own decisions.
Meetings take place at anfield so the club is involved but not any more than it should be.

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2012 at 1:44pm

I read the paper version of this and its a quality piece I loved the Elvis Costello line " When they finally put you in the ground I'll stand on your grave and tramp the dirt down. " re Thatcher.

The Liverpool fans sang a nice little ditty about Thatcher at the SOL on Saturday. Big smile

Superb piece, best summary of the situation I have come across, from a sound man, great man to have a few pints with. What were they singing Saturday? As christy Moore said, you can say what you want about Thatcher but we would be missing some great oul tunes without her!!

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2012 at 5:00pm
Very true - Christy said it true, adversity gives birth to many things.

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2012 at 5:01pm
I just watched a brilliant episode of "60 minutes" on LFC tv.
They had Craig johnstone in. He cried for a lot of the 60 minutes, and his story was remarkable of his involvement with Hillsborough.
His sister suffered an horrific accident where her brain was deprived of oxygen, similar to the Hillsborough victims, so he was better positioned than most to understand what had happened.
He auctioned everything he had from his playing days and returned in the aftermath from Australia to support the club and city.
Really moving episode, seems a great guy.

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2012 at 9:04pm
Touch of class from Everton tonight -  http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xto83v_everton-tribute-to-the-96" rel="nofollow - http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xto83v_everton-tribute-to-the-96  Clap

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2012 at 9:26pm
Originally posted by Ludwig von Drake Ludwig von Drake wrote:

Touch of class from Everton tonight -  http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xto83v_everton-tribute-to-the-96" rel="nofollow - http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xto83v_everton-tribute-to-the-96  Clap

very nice touch indeed

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2012 at 9:50pm
Shows the class of the 2 clubs and the resilience of the people of liverpool

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2012 at 11:45pm
EvertonClap

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2012 at 7:21am
Yeah - even the bitter blues can show solidarity - great sign of the character of the city.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2012 at 8:11am
I'll always remember the merseyside cup final and the amazing sight of everton and Liverpool fans side by side at wembley and not a hint of touble wish it could be like that for all games.

Posted By: planning
Date Posted: 18 Sep 2012 at 8:50am

You miss a lot of games so.

I don't mind them. When you're caught up in the game, you barely notice them.

VAR: Cutting the crap out of football.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2012 at 9:13am

You miss a lot of games so.

I don't mind them. When you're caught up in the game, you barely notice them.

I don't follow. What do ya mean?

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2012 at 6:01pm
Footballers Football show on SS1 tonight @ 10.00pm should be worth a view Ray Houghton Liverpool fan and Liverpool MP on.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2012 at 6:56pm
Cheers, definitely worth a view.

Posted By: Mr.Mojo Risin'
Date Posted: 20 Sep 2012 at 11:25pm

Footballers Football show on SS1 tonight @ 10.00pm should be worth a view Ray Houghton Liverpool fan and Liverpool MP on.

Was very interesting. Cheers for the heads up.

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2012 at 11:23am
[URL=http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/2012/09/22/hillsborough-survivor-steve-spence-on-his-search-for-the-fellow-fan-who-has-haunted-his-dreams-for-23-years-100252-31885112/]

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2012 at 7:07pm
dead link mate

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2012 at 9:01pm
Mosaic for tomorrow:

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2012 at 9:06pm
Atmosphere will be electric tomorrow, Lets hope united fans dont ruin it but i think they will be behaved and if there is a small minority they will be outsang. Mosaic looks classClap

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2012 at 11:49pm

dead link mate

A lot of articulate and insightful articles written by some quality journo's and writers over the last 10 days, but I found this account from a survivor pretty harrowing and probably fairly recognizable to the experiences of quite a few who there.

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/2012/09/22/hillsborough-survivor-steve-spence-on-his-search-for-the-fellow-fan-who-has-haunted-his-dreams-for-23-years-100252-31885112/" rel="nofollow - http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/2012/09/22/hillsborough-survivor-steve-spence-on-his-search-for-the-fellow-fan-who-has-haunted-his-dreams-for-23-years-100252-31885112/

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2012 at 11:52pm
Mosaic looks terrific. I think il just go to bed now, I can't wait for kickoff!

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 12:13pm
Originally posted by heighway2heaven heighway2heaven wrote:

dead link mate

A lot of articulate and insightful articles written by some quality journo's and writers over the last 10 days, but I found this account from a survivor pretty harrowing and probably fairly recognizable to the experiences of quite a few who there.

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/2012/09/22/hillsborough-survivor-steve-spence-on-his-search-for-the-fellow-fan-who-has-haunted-his-dreams-for-23-years-100252-31885112/" rel="nofollow - http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/2012/09/22/hillsborough-survivor-steve-spence-on-his-search-for-the-fellow-fan-who-has-haunted-his-dreams-for-23-years-100252-31885112/

thanks

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2012 at 1:33pm
beggars belief

http://www.football365.com/news/21554/8111712/MacKenzie-wants-apology-from-police/comments" rel="nofollow - http://www.football365.com/news/21554/8111712/MacKenzie-wants-apology-from-police/comments

Posted By: heyirish
Date Posted: 26 Sep 2012 at 1:37pm
everton fans chanted justice for 96 more than once last night. fair play to them!!!

karl pilkington to doctor when getting prostate examined: jesus thats high up that is, fcuking hell, right you're touching a lung now

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2012 at 1:46pm

beggars belief

http://www.football365.com/news/21554/8111712/MacKenzie-wants-apology-from-police/comments" rel="nofollow - http://www.football365.com/news/21554/8111712/MacKenzie-wants-apology-from-police/comments

sweet f**kin jesus Shocked

Posted By: seaniemac
Date Posted: 26 Sep 2012 at 2:08pm
While not standing up for him, MacKenzie has a point. He created that headline based on what he thought were credible sources (An MP and the Yorkshire cops). Asking for an apology is obvious taking the piss but if he got compensation for it, the least the prick can do is offer it to the justice campaign. Maybe that is what his plan is here. Going about it a terrible way though.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2012 at 4:18pm

While not standing up for him, MacKenzie has a point. He created that headline based on what he thought were credible sources (An MP and the Yorkshire cops). Asking for an apology is obvious taking the piss but if he got compensation for it, the least the prick can do is offer it to the justice campaign. Maybe that is what his plan is here. Going about it a terrible way though.

He completely ignored his own staff and went on to publish the headline 'The Truth'. The mirror for instance, disregarded SYP and White's news agency and didn't run with their story as they knew it was bogus. The Taylor Enquiry completely exonerated fans and blamed SYP for neglect in 1989.

He knew 'The Truth' all along seanniemac, and he pushed the agenda of the police force and the government of the time. This is just a pathetic man who feeds off controversy, trying to salvage what's left of his career.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2012 at 4:43pm
Originally posted by heighway2heaven heighway2heaven wrote:

He completely ignored his own staff and went on to publish the headline 'The Truth'. The mirror for instance, disregarded SYP and White's news agency and didn't run with their story as they knew it was bogus. The Taylor Enquiry completely exonerated fans and blamed SYP for neglect in 1989.

He knew 'The Truth' all along seanniemac, and he pushed the agenda of the police force and the government of the time. This is just a pathetic man who feeds off controversy, trying to salvage what's left of his career.

He was the editor, he's entitled to ignore his own staff. Has your boss never overruled you or you as a boss overruled your staff? (and before you start, I know the significance of what he did and I'm not belittling it by comparing it to the example above).

He's 65, I very much doubt if he's 'trying to salvage what's left of his career'. Most people that support him or like his views don't give a damn about what he did. It's wrong obviously but that's the way the world turns and he's the sort of guy that probably doesn't give a sh*t what the rest of the world thinks of him, hence why he's doing what he's doing now.

A number of papers, along with the Sun, did ran with the lies, including the British Daily Star (admittingly not as many false 'facts' as the Sun did) on their front page. They apologised the next day, why isn't there a boycott of that paper?

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2012 at 6:43pm

A number of papers, along with the Sun, did ran with the lies, including the British Daily Star (admittingly not as many false 'facts' as the Sun did) on their front page. They apologised the next day, why isn't there a boycott of that paper?

Because unlike the Sun, these papers portrayed these allegations for what they were, "allegations"

The Sun went to the extreme and called them fact, and continued to justify that article in days after that edition. Took them 15 years before they even made an effort to apolgise

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2012 at 11:38am

Because unlike the Sun, these papers portrayed these allegations for what they were, "allegations"

The Sun went to the extreme and called them fact, and continued to justify that article in days after that edition. Took them 15 years before they even made an effort to apolgise
I'm sorry but to take your viewpoint then, is it ok to say anything in a newspaper once you put 'alleged' in the headline?

This is the headline in the Star a few days after - What cops say about hillsboro: Dead fans robbed by drunk thugs.

It is 'The Truth' headline in the Sun that made them the focal point but how many Liverpool fans today know that the MacKenzie admitted on radio he had made 'a rather serious error' and Ken Donlan, the newspapers own Ombudsman said that the headline was wrong in the days after publication? They just hear no apology until recently and MacKenzie/the Sun are ****s viewpoint.

It's this lack of education on supporters part (I'm not saying you here Del Piero by the way) about things like this that annoy me, they don't take the time to properly research it, they just go with the flow. It's the same with some United fans and Munich, same with other clubs and their own tragedies too.
This is actually a great page for people to read, not just Liverpool fans.
http://www.contrast.org/hillsborough/history/media.shtm" rel="nofollow - http://www.contrast.org/hillsborough/history/media.shtm

The Sun's problem was they believed a corrupt police force, as pointed out in that link, they weren't the only ones though and MacKenzie went to journalism extremes writing that headline.

I'm not standing up for the sun here by the way, what they and the other media outlets did, was terrible but I can also understand that in the initial aftermath of the disaster, they had little or no reason to realise that the Yorkshire police force were lying through thier teeth. Journalism and technology was completely different in 1989 to now.

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2012 at 9:04pm

I'm sorry but to take your viewpoint then, is it ok to say anything in a newspaper once you put 'alleged' in the headline?

This is the headline in the Star a few days after - What cops say about hillsboro: Dead fans robbed by drunk thugs.

It is 'The Truth' headline in the Sun that made them the focal point but how many Liverpool fans today know that the MacKenzie admitted on radio he had made 'a rather serious error' and Ken Donlan, the newspapers own Ombudsman said that the headline was wrong in the days after publication? They just hear no apology until recently and MacKenzie/the Sun are ****s viewpoint.

It's this lack of education on supporters part (I'm not saying you here Del Piero by the way) about things like this that annoy me, they don't take the time to properly research it, they just go with the flow. It's the same with some United fans and Munich, same with other clubs and their own tragedies too.
This is actually a great page for people to read, not just Liverpool fans.
http://www.contrast.org/hillsborough/history/media.shtm" rel="nofollow - http://www.contrast.org/hillsborough/history/media.shtm

The Sun's problem was they believed a corrupt police force, as pointed out in that link, they weren't the only ones though and MacKenzie went to journalism extremes writing that headline.

I'm not standing up for the sun here by the way, what they and the other media outlets did, was terrible but I can also understand that in the initial aftermath of the disaster, they had little or no reason to realise that the Yorkshire police force were lying through thier teeth. Journalism and technology was completely different in 1989 to now.
MacKenzie is an absolute lowlife and there can be no justification of his behaviour. He can take his apology and shove it up his a*se. Regardless of whether other media outlets should be boycotted, The Sun is simply the lowest of the low.

MacKenzie at an after-dinner speech 30 November 2006:

All I did wrong there was tell the truth. There was a surge of Liverpool fans who had been drinking and that is what caused the disaster. The only thing different we did was put it under the headline "The Truth". I went on  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_World_at_One" rel="nofollow - The World at One  the next day and apologised. I only did that because Rupert Murdoch told me to. I wasn't sorry then and I'm not sorry now because we told the truth

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2012 at 10:20pm
Agree with Seanie here. Say what you like about McKenzie. He was fed false info from what would be deemed as a very credible source.
As Seanie said, other papers did report the same. They may not have gone to the extreme the Sun did but report it they did.