URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=4072
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 1:17pm

Topic: It's Rome!
Posted By: Tuff Paddy
Subject: It's Rome!
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 2:23pm
Just had this from one of my best Italian contacts. 100% Stadio Olimpico, Rome. Same stadium we played them in during Italia 90.
Bring it on! Get booking lads.

Waka waka hey hey, we're in Armenia!

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 2:29pm

Been hearing that a lot in the last few months, really happy if it is Rome.

Happy days TP!Clap

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 2:31pm
It is Rome, trust me. I'm sure some of the muppets off the Irish papers will claim this as their exclusive yadda yadda. Just get booking your flights now. Screw Ryanair, I'm going BA out of Heathrow. £174 return all in.

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 2:38pm
deadly easy town to access and loads of accomodation

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 2:40pm
I believe ya. Had flight options for rome looked into, have a few options.
Had already provisionally booked hotel in rome the other day.

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 2:41pm

deadly easy town to access and loads of accomodation

Easy access for the frankfurt thieving tramps rogerLOL 

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 3:01pm
Bring it on! I can see a YBIG night out on the Tuesday night for definite! Rumous has it McGoldrick might be travelling as well . . . . .

Posted By: Tash Kent
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 3:13pm

Thank god its not Milan what a dump, lots of options to get to Rome, 82000 capacity great news should be able to get a good number into the stadium.

Any idea when the official announcement will be made TP, not going to wait for that anyway thought it would be Rome for a good while.

Philip Greene RTE Radio Legend
10 Seconds Gone Here In Limerick And No Score.

Posted By: billybob
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 3:14pm

Actually glad its midweek now as wont be as many bandwagoners/corporate do's

Posted By: tirchonaill
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 3:19pm
Rome flights working out €165 return from dublin still not too bad, out on the tuesday, back thurs.. will shoot up now though i would think

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 3:22pm
Originally posted by Tuff Paddy Tuff Paddy wrote:

Just had this from one of my best Italian contacts. 100% Stadio Olimpico, Rome. Same stadium we played them in during Italia 90.
Bring it on! Get booking lads.

If he says it's Rome, it's RomeWink

nice one TP

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 3:31pm
I'd trust this guy with my life and on that basis, I'm booking with BA for £174 all in. Can't wait now. Hope you're travelling Soccerc?

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 3:34pm
Originally posted by tirchonaill tirchonaill wrote:

Rome flights working out €165 return from dublin still not too bad, out on the tuesday, back thurs.. will shoot up now though i would think

Just looked at Aer Lingus €673 out Tuesday 31st March back Thursday 2nd April, Jaysus no thanks will look at another option.

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 3:37pm
That's outrageous. It'd be cheaper to fly to London and head on from there. Ryanair will make nothing out of this - massive city, loads of options, loads of match tickets and loads of hotels. FORZA IRLANDA!

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 3:40pm

Yeah completely agree have an option not far away out of Dublin for €130 Tues-Thurs anyway.

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 3:43pm
Thinnk I'll just book flights and sort the rest later...TuffPaddy you giving jockey Backs from Rome to wherever if game is not in Rome???

Keep us posted of Dublin departures Tash K

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 3:43pm
Let's make sure we organise a proper big YBIG night out on the Tuesday. I'll get talking to some Italian contacts and find the best place for a bit of craic.

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 3:46pm
Good stuff, looking forward to this trip. Could be a right oul battle for Top Spot

I think I'll go out and celebrate by getting the 1am bus to Carlow for a good old fashioned raveBig%20smileBig%20smileBig%20smile

Posted By: greenarmy
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 4:01pm

Anyone been to Rome? When I was there I thought it was a sh*thole.

Posted By: trapsflipflop
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 4:08pm

good stuff

we took a chance and booked rome a couple of months ago got the trip for 330  flights n 3 nights hotel
now the hard work starts... match tickets!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 4:08pm

can't be worse than milan, sh*t pot

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 4:41pm

Yeah totally agree GT Milan is crap would have been no craic there at all, Rome is okay been a while since I have been there but a lot better than Milan that’s for sure.

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 5:08pm
Lads the thing about Milan is you just need to know where to go - a bar called Scimmia in Porto Navigli is one of the best nights out ever. Anyway, roll on Roma. . . . and 3 pts!!!

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 5:18pm

Rome has its limitations but Milan has no pubs, Bologna is a great city for pubs not the cafe culture stuff you usually find in Italy, at least there is some places in Rome to go and have the choice.

Will take note of that TP if I ever have the misfortune to be in Milan again.

Roll on Roma indeed and a nice 3 pts, wonder what type of reception Trap is going to get in Rome.

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 5:21pm
Well from what I hear from Italians it is THE game of the group. Irish people don't realise that Trap is the daddy of Italian football, as big as Big Jack was for us in the good old days. It's going to be huuuige.

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2008 at 5:39pm

Can remember the Italians in 1990 being very generous with the ticket allocation for the stadium so with 82000 capacity think they will be happy to give us 10000-15000 tickets.

Nobody else will bring the support we will bring even for a Wednesday game so this has got to be the best home game for them, and the way the group in now and hopefully with two more wins in our next games it will be a huge game, the Trap factor will make it even more interesting for both countries as well.

Posted By: trapsflipflop
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2008 at 6:41am
just came across this

www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2008/0912/1221138436938.html

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2008 at 6:56am
I'm all over it

Posted By: Bondvillain
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2008 at 7:08am
Damien McDonnell said as much in the Indo last Wednesday too. "All roads lead to Rome" or some such. 

Forza Verde!

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2008 at 7:17am

When all the stadiums were shut last year because of new regulations and work needed on them after all the trouble in Italy, the Olympic stadium in Rome was the one that got permission to open first if I remember correctly, its the best stadium in Italy.

Pity about the running track there but still much better than the San Siro, hate that stadium they put away fans in worst place there as well.

Roma here we come.

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2008 at 9:01am
Good man Tuff

Tasjh, are them flights stuill available??

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2008 at 9:23am
We should organise something good for the night before alright
Maybe a decent pub that can accomodate live music
Phelim on for an hour or two???

Posted By: gouldinho
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2008 at 9:32am
im shocked at this, i really dont see the benifits bar financial for the italians to do this but sure im not complaining 

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2008 at 5:57pm
Your turn to pay for the accommodation Gerk, happy days

Posted By: Justice Shark
Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:08am

Your turn to pay for the accommodation Gerk, happy days
How confident are u of this becoming a realityConfused

Mickey Mouse Ya Bleedin' Bollox

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:10am
This confident: Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:39am
Yeah Ger, I'd be bringing the squeezebox alright........

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:41am

I would reccommend the following Hotel HM, its a splendid hotel!

http://www.splendideroyal.com - http://www.splendideroyal.com

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:46am
top man count! HM get onto them..and i aint paying a cent more than €15 a nite..

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:48am
Get onto it? Not my turn this time

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:52am
gerK so..but lets face it if we leave him in charge of anything we'll be watchin this game in the racer

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:53am

I nominate McG. It's his first away trip so it's only fair. However, he can go to Ger when he is looking for my money Big%20smile

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:54am
Great News TP, I am glad it is Rome. I had booked my flights to Bologna anyway there is 4 of us and probably either get a train or hire a car. Arrive on the Tuesday and head home on the Friday. Can't wait for this trip.  

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:55am
what days u planning 2 stay 4 HM? im swaying towards tue-thurs now..been in rome before and dont fancy a mon-fri anymore..

Posted By: nedge
Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:56am

Hmmmm....just put in a call with a semi-contact in the FAI. I was told nothing will be confirmed until the end of the year and to watch the website for details. Obviously towing the party line I know but I'm just wondering how sure we are that the game is gonna be played in Rome???

“Hopefully, when we get to Croke Park, we’ll bamboozle the opposition"

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:57am
its in rome.Fact

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:57am
I recommend we stay in Naples as I know a few of the birdsCool Rome sounds a bit too touristie for me. Once the match is over I'm outta the kip and back to Naples ( real Italy)

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:58am
naples is a kip no?

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 5:59am
more than likely tuesday to thursday gazsh. obviously an early tuesday flight. you may begin the searching process Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 6:00am
gonna book this now lads weres the cheapest tuesday to thursday

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 6:00am
Originally posted by gazsh gazsh wrote:

naples is a kip no?
Yes but I'm in the knowCool

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 6:07am

more than likely tuesday to thursday gazsh. obviously an early tuesday flight. you may begin the searching process Thumbs%20Up

mite do mon-thurs depending on prices..will let u know..

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 6:11am
yeh makin' a week outta of it i reckon. best thing to do is fly into a different airport that's not leonardo de vinci as them t**sers in Ryanair will be well wide to that.

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 6:16am
Naples is 3 hours coach from Rome and I passed through it in August going to Sorrento, it's a fookin hole.  You'd be mad to be trekking 3 hours to Rome from Naples, stone fookin mad.

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 6:19am

Naples is 3 hours coach from Rome and I passed through it in August going to Sorrento, it's a fookin hole.  You'd be mad to be trekking 3 hours to Rome from Naples, stone fookin mad.
Eh I am stone mad..what's your point ?

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 6:22am
I'll leave Naples to you so Justice......LOL

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 6:25am

I'll leave Naples to you so Justice......LOL
Thumbs%20Up Like Barcode I always wanted to go there

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 7:50am
the binmen havnt collected the rubbish in about a year in naples. The place is teeming with rats, bad odours and even worse the natives!

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 8:00am

stone fookin mad.

You've met Justice Big%20smile

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 8:05am
Originally posted by gouldinho gouldinho wrote:

the binmen havnt collected the rubbish in about a year in naples. The place is teeming with rats, bad odours and even worse the natives!
Look i've been to Dun Laoighaire and survived so i'm sure i can handle Naples and the CammoraCool

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 8:07am
Originally posted by Justice Shark Justice Shark wrote:

Originally posted by gouldinho gouldinho wrote:

Look i've been to Dun Laoighaire and survived so i'm sure i can handle Naples and the CammoraCool

LOL good point!

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 8:28am
thought berlesconi got all the bins collected there about a month ago? 

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 8:38am
I will be following TP...on the BA Heathrow Tues/Thurs trip!

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 9:02am
you and your merry gang hornet?
Still holding off booking til confirmed and rubber stamped.

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 10:46am
Originally posted by GreenTribe GreenTribe wrote:

you and your merry gang hornet?
Still holding off booking til confirmed and rubber stamped.

I think they will all be there

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2008 at 10:57am
good stuff. hope neil mcd will be on his best behaviourLOL

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2008 at 2:09am
Originally posted by GreenTribe GreenTribe wrote:

good stuff. hope neil mcd will be on his best behaviourLOL

He will be if he's still on crutches!!LOL

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2008 at 4:03am
LOLLOLLOL You won't be flying with that flag then SH?

Posted By: The_Yank
Date Posted: 04 Nov 2008 at 11:45am
I have to start booking my flights... so do all signs still point to Rome for the match? What is the latest gossip? 

Date Posted: 04 Nov 2008 at 1:55pm
I'll be going indirect anyway if it is

Date Posted: 04 Nov 2008 at 2:16pm
Rome . . . Rome . . . Rome . . . . my main man in Italy is never wrong and he says it's Rome.

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2008 at 7:31am
i am tempted to book this now , fly in the tues night and out the thurs , if it is elsewhere we can get a train anyway

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2008 at 7:34am
I'm defo going to this. Have my breaks away planned out for next year.

December: Newcastle
Feb: Amsterdam or Prague
April: Rome
June: Think lads want to go Gran Canaria again (no Bulgaria that will mean)
August/September: Either decide to go to Cyprus game or else go for a week somewhere else

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2008 at 7:59am
That's far too many holidays. Down with this sort of thing.

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2008 at 8:05am
recession working out for u ok Andy?

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2008 at 8:21am

August/September: Either decide to go to Cyprus game or else go for a week somewhere else

Andy you've been whipped by a moth for the last 5 years, dont tell me you're gonna be whipped by the lads?

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2008 at 8:26am

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2008 at 8:33am

Andy you've been whipped by a moth for the last 5 years, dont tell me you're gonna be whipped by the lads?

LOLLOLLOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2008 at 8:51am
andy mate , put gran canaria on the feckin burner , its a kip , get yourselves out to georgie burgess for the week and get the match in !

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2008 at 9:23am
yeah gran canaria will always be there, but when will you get to see a marvellous 2-0 away victory in sofia, courtesy of two bullet throws from delap...get in!!

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2008 at 9:50am
Originally posted by Tuff Paddy Tuff Paddy wrote:

Rome . . . Rome . . . Rome . . . . my main man in Italy is never wrong and he says it's Rome.

I just hope this isn't some practical joke TP! You seem so certain!!

Date Posted: 08 Nov 2008 at 12:58am
Well if it is, someone very well connected with the FIGC is going to be sleeping with the fishes. Trust me, it's Rome.

Posted By: Jerryfromkerry
Date Posted: 08 Nov 2008 at 8:39am
Is it officailly Rome?

Date Posted: 08 Nov 2008 at 9:00am
Have you read the thread Jerry?

Date Posted: 08 Nov 2008 at 9:05am
Originally posted by Jerryfromkerry Jerryfromkerry wrote:

Is it officailly Rome?

Not yet Jerry

Posted By: paulfromcork
Date Posted: 08 Nov 2008 at 9:47am
Booked flights from London Stansted to Rome for 89 euros return. Worth the risk at this price.

Date Posted: 08 Nov 2008 at 11:51am
It's not a risk. It's Rome, trust me.

Date Posted: 08 Nov 2008 at 12:24pm
TP you do realise that by the very slim chance that it's not Rome you'll be getting a hiding yeah?? Tongue

Date Posted: 08 Nov 2008 at 1:32pm
I do HM, but the man who told me this is higher up Italy's football food chain than most of the pundits RTE use put together. I'd be gobsmacked if he has got it wrong. Gobsmacked. And yes I realise there will be hundreds wanting to kick my hole if he has let me down, but he never has yet.

Date Posted: 09 Nov 2008 at 10:12am
I believe ye Tuff but jaysus imagine if it turned out to be elsewhere.

Egg everywhere!

Date Posted: 09 Nov 2008 at 10:21am
Yep, and then I'll be banned from this forum as well.

Posted By: Forthill Bhoy
Date Posted: 09 Nov 2008 at 12:57pm

3 of us booked with Ryanair; can't wait for this one.

Date Posted: 09 Nov 2008 at 6:11pm
Booked via Stansted for4 , Tuff  Paddy And Soccer C, Hope Your RightThumbs%20Up  

Date Posted: 10 Nov 2008 at 3:31am
Seven of us booked a direct flight from Dublin to Rome, arriving Sunday 29th March. Figured we might do a bit of sight seeing before the big match and soak up some of the atmosphere. Could be worth making this away trip one to remember!!

Date Posted: 10 Nov 2008 at 6:45am

If that's on Ryanscare.........be careful!Shocked

Posted By: billybunter
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 8:17am

If that's on Ryanscare.........be careful!Shocked

I never did trust those Italian "Birds"

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 9:55am
The Champions League final is on in Rome so maybe they want their police forces to get a bit of a prep before the big one and they know we'll travel in large numbers. Rome makes sense. We can all go the vatican for a prayer on the morning of the game as well

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2008 at 11:26am
Rome police get enough practice for the Rome derby. which just happens to be this week! yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay! Roma omicidio!

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2008 at 6:46am
just realised the other day that the match is April 1st, the day after quarter end in my job. If I am still there I defo won't be allowed off the 31st so I'd have to go the morning of the match which means direct flight.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2008 at 8:49am
cant wait for this game,i shall be traveling on me own as ive got no friends