URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=40691
Printed Date: 28 Mar 2024 at 9:04pm

Topic: FAO YBIG Tradesmen
Subject: FAO YBIG Tradesmen
Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 1:28pm
I know theres a YBIG Trade Share thread somewhere but cant locate it. I'm in the process of buying a new gaff, 3 storey 5 bed. Will need the whole interior painted and some tiling done in the bathrooms/kitchen. Any Ybiggers care to share the going rate per average room?

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 1:29pm
You win the lotto or somed?

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 1:31pm

was thinking that mysef HB. He was looking at 2 bed apartments a few months ago.

So Sham at that money, what part of Sligo are you moving to?

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 1:32pm
Shamdrugs doing well I see

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 1:33pm
Where is it Sham?
Ball park 100e per room,but depends on work involved/condition of rooms
I'll have a look for ye whenever you move in,give ye an idea

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 1:34pm
fecks sakes , scooping up the cheap property now Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 1:37pm

Where is it Sham?
Clonee BSM, it will take 2 coats anyway, was rented out initially to people a lot darker than me, so needs a good bit of a refurb.

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 2:15pm

Where is it Sham?
Clonee BSM, it will take 2 coats anyway, was rented out initially to people a lot darker than me, so needs a good bit of a refurb.

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 2:17pm

Where is it Sham?

Dead
I heard 50 notes a room myself.

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 2:19pm
Need somone to organise the house warming ?

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 2:20pm

Where is it Sham?

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 2:28pm

Where is it Sham?

Dead

How long is a piece of string....
Yeah there might be mongos out there doing it for that
Would you let any oul cowboy service your car or rewire electrics in your gaff?

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 2:32pm

Where is it Sham?

Dead

It's not that hard to paint a room.
I usually get the wife to do it anyway.

Mate of mine got somebody to paint his gaf at 50 notes a room.

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 2:34pm

Where is it Sham?

Dead

Thats low BSM. You know he liked that car!
But if it hadn't hadn't been nicked I'm sure he would have let anyone at it!!

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 3:20pm
I'm not saying it's hard to paint
If ye can piss ye can paint is the oul saying
But for 50e I doubt he gave ceilings,Walls and woodwork 2coats
No chance of it,that's what separates the cowboys from the real McCoy

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 3:20pm
Pm sent there Sham! Me dad will gladly sort ya out with it

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 3:23pm
With that much space you planning on becoming the Irish Fritzel

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 3:32pm

Gonna rent rooms out to femal students

Posted By: hoobedoo
Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 4:30pm
Looking for some mechanical advise. My car won't hold 3rd gear, slips out. Two slips out as well but not as bad. Others are fine. Is this a new gear box job or can iit be fixed? Also I can I getby for a while and totally ignore the problem? Prob not the smartest option but Need me car next weekend for electric picnic. Knowing my look the car wouldn't be fixed on time and I'd be screwed. any ideas on price? I get the feeling this will cost a fortune. Its a mini cooper if that's any help.

The seeds of doubt that were sown at the weekend against Egypt have been doused by a dose of Jack Charlton's almighty weedkiller.<br />

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 4:55pm

So your the next Fritzl then, good luck with it

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 5:07pm
Originally posted by hoobedoo hoobedoo wrote:

Looking for some mechanical advise. My car won't hold 3rd gear, slips out. Two slips out as well but not as bad. Others are fine. Is this a new gear box job or can iit be fixed? Also I can I getby for a while and totally ignore the problem? Prob not the smartest option but Need me car next weekend for electric picnic. Knowing my look the car wouldn't be fixed on time and I'd be screwed. any ideas on price? I get the feeling this will cost a fortune. Its a mini cooper if that's any help.
PM 9fingers

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 5:08pm

So your the next Fritzl then, good luck with it
Dont want to say anything that could potentially incriminate myself

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 5:18pm

PM 9fingers

Get it checked out before you head anywhere, last thing you want is to be stranded somewhere.
Could be something simple like a worn selector cable or potentially it could be in the gearbox itself, worn selector fork, gear teeth etc, if it is the box, mOst of the time youd be as well off getting a reconditioned box off mr gearbox and the likes.

Impossible to know without seein it tbh, but definitely get it checked

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 8:00pm
If tis a Mini Cooper, the gearbox is likely fcuked. Ya may as well do the clutch while tis out of it as well...........

Posted By: fochie
Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 8:06pm

Year and model Mate. Some of the earlier ones had the gearbox in the engine sump.

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 9:51pm
Any plumbers who can fix gas heating?

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 9:56pm

BabbsBalls is yer man

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 9:58pm

BabbsBalls is yer man

You vouch for him?

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 9:59pm

BabbsBalls is yer man

You vouch for him?
I sure do

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 10:03pm

BabbsBalls is yer man

You vouch for him?
I sure do

I will pm him so

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 12:04am

Any bumders who can fix my ass with a  beating?

Corrected for you sport, I'm sure you'll get plenty of pms. Let us know how you get on

Posted By: hoobedoo
Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 12:59am
mini cooper 2002 1.6. thanks for the advice. ill drop it in tomorrow and hope for the best.

The seeds of doubt that were sown at the weekend against Egypt have been doused by a dose of Jack Charlton's almighty weedkiller.<br />

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 9:02am

Where is it Sham?

Posted By: fochie
Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 11:34am

mini cooper 2002 1.6. thanks for the advice. ill drop it in tomorrow and hope for the best.

I wish you luck with that one brother,that gearbox needs recondition by the sounds of it,Very prone to failing.

I can put you onto a guy I use for recon Gearboxes if you want, Just pm me.

Posted By: Wheelo
Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 3:45pm

BabbsBalls is yer man

If he doesn’t go as  far as drogheda, let me know! A good drog does plumbing!

Do you know any handyman in drogheda q man that doesn’t rip you off? Just for small odd jobs?

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 5:14pm
Originally posted by Wheelo Wheelo wrote:

BabbsBalls is yer man

Do you know any handyman in drogheda q man that doesn’t rip you off? Just for small odd jobs?

whos the drog wheelo? pm me his number?

Sorry dude I don't know anyone , what jobs you need doing?

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 5:18pm

BabbsBalls is yer man

How odd are the jobs? You want someone to fist pump your cat?

Posted By: Wheelo
Date Posted: 27 Aug 2012 at 8:33am

BabbsBalls is yer man

How odd are the jobs? You want someone to fist pump your cat?

If you're offering!!

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 8:38pm
Any carpet layers on here? 

Also can any carpenters help me out on this a bit please. 

4 rooms measured in feet and are as follows.

1 - 10 x 12
2-10 x 8
3-12 x 7
4 -10 x 16

Priced the wood in Ikea for about 450. That is for the cheapest wood. Is that good or do you reckon I would get it cheaper elsewhere? Thanks

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 8:50pm

Any carpet layers on here? 

Also can any carpenters help me out on this a bit please. 

4 rooms measured in feet and are as follows.

1 - 10 x 12
2-10 x 8
3-12 x 7
4 -10 x 16

Priced the wood in Ikea for about 450. That is for the cheapest wood. Is that good or do you reckon I would get it cheaper elsewhere? Thanks

That's 444 sq ft or 41.25 sq m.that's for laminate boards ,they will do the job but aren't the best looking finish imo but anything else will be about double the price.
Thats working out around €10 per sq metre and I reckon you will get it for cheaper but it depends on the quality.You will also have to get them fitted as well so maybe price some where that sells and fits the floors and see what kind of deal you can get.

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 8:59pm
BF is fitting them so thats grand. They are going into a rented property so the finish isnt to important either. So you reckon shop around a bit more then yeah?

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:01pm

BF is fitting them so thats grand. They are going into a rented property so the finish isnt to important either. So you reckon shop around a bit more then yeah?

For a rented property I would shop around.You will definately get flooring for cheaper than that.

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:02pm
Any suggestions of places in Dublin. That quote is from Ikea, cheers.

Posted By: Funsize Crouchy
Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:15pm
Got some laminate in bargaintown about year ago. Think it was €7.50 per square meter

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:17pm
Got my sitting room flooring in Des Kelly's €6.50 psqm

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:18pm
Oops double post

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:19pm
Its very bloody confusing isnt it Confused

So say if I got it as cheap as Sham what would the approx overall cost be ? Sorry I just havent a clue what im on about.

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:20pm
about €275.

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:23pm
Wow really? that's nearly half the price. Sham do you know the make or the name of that floor by any chance?

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:25pm
Shamfloors

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:26pm

Wow really? that's nearly half the price. Sham do you know the make or the name of that floor by any chance?

Haven't a clue, but when you go in they have the price up on everything anyway and they'll throw in the underlay as well for free.

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:28pm

Shamfloors

He'll lay it himself

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:28pm
Grand so thanks Sham. Was going to head down there tomorrow but wasnt sure if there was much point. Obviously there is. You get any carpet from them?

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:29pm

Shamfloors

He'll lay it himself

He will be laying more than the floors

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:31pm

Grand so thanks Sham. Was going to head down there tomorrow but wasnt sure if there was much point. Obviously there is. You get any carpet from them?

Not yet but will be carpet shopping after pay day. Bargain town would be a good bet for carpet.

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:33pm
Yeah would be handy to get it all done and sorted tomorrow when i am down there. There is a cork floor down whatever the hell that means. Is underlay still defo needed with a cork floor?

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:38pm
Wouldn't have a clue

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:40pm

Yeah would be handy to get it all done and sorted tomorrow when i am down there. There is a cork floor down whatever the hell that means. Is underlay still defo needed with a cork floor?

Cork flooring is expensive,is it in poor condition ?unless it is I don't know if you should be ripping it out for cheap laminate.

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 9:44pm
Its not a floor I dont think. Its just what was under the carpet when we pulled it up? Not really sure what they were on about when they said cork tbh.

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 10:03pm
Is this your Ma's gaff Sasa. 

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 10:06pm
Yeah it is Baldy.

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 10:18pm
Fair enough, as I was thinking you were going to a lot of trouble in a rented gaff.  Makes sense.  

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2013 at 10:29pm

Wouldn't have a clue

ShockedShockedShocked

Posted By: Huggybeer
Date Posted: 19 Feb 2013 at 8:56am
B&Q do great deals on Laminate Sasa
Generally 3 packs for the price of 2

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2013 at 9:36am
Noyeks ain't bad for the floors either

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2013 at 4:12pm
Got sorted today. The price I was giving yesterday was including everything ie underlay and the thing that goes around the edges so it was only 4.77 per square whatever you call it. Got the carpet today and the floor for about 600 all in. Delighted. Got couch and all the other sh*te you need and should be moving in next week. Cant believe im a grown up now Cry - thanks for your help.

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2013 at 4:13pm
BTW Sham Bargain Town is slightly cheaper for carpet than Des Kelly Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2013 at 5:50pm

Got sorted today. The price I was giving yesterday was including everything ie underlay and the thing that goes around the edges so it was only 4.77 per square whatever you call it. Got the carpet today and the floor for about 600 all in. Delighted. Got couch and all the other sh*te you need and should be moving in next week. Cant believe im a grown up now Cry - thanks for your help.

Carpet is for riff raff

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2013 at 1:14am
Any plumbers on here that want a nickser? 

Posted By: HateHenry
Date Posted: 20 Feb 2013 at 1:32am

Are your pipes fooked? Im not a gynaecologist,but I,ll take a look..or use your rod.Wink

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2013 at 7:58am

BTW Sham Bargain Town is slightly cheaper for carpet than Des Kelly Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2013 at 8:56am

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2013 at 10:48am
Goodman BB. could you pm me your number it's kind of an urgent job needs doing. As in tomorrow :( about 6 things need to be looked at but there is just one that is urgent and requires a cert on completion - cheers

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2013 at 11:03am
Speed dial 2

Date Posted: 30 Oct 2013 at 1:27pm
Not offering a trade as such but im looking to make a few extra bob each week so I am looking to do a bit of cleaning/babysitting/looking after elderly people etc anything I can do really so if anyone has anything going or knows of anything send me a pm. Thanks 

Posted By: Beareleven
Date Posted: 30 Oct 2013 at 1:37pm

Not offering a trade as such but im looking to make a few extra bob each week so I am looking to do a bit of cleaning/babysitting/looking after elderly people etc anything I can do really so if anyone has anything going or knows of anything send me a pm. Thanks 

Give AidoM or Sligo Hornet a Shout. They need loking After.

Posted By: Flanno7hi
Date Posted: 30 Oct 2013 at 1:41pm

Isn't that Sham's hobby?

Date Posted: 30 Oct 2013 at 2:34pm
Originally posted by Flanno7hi Flanno7hi wrote:

Isn't that Sham's hobby?

LOL she takes the oul lads and I take the oul wans

Date Posted: 30 Oct 2013 at 2:44pm

LOL she takes the oul lads

might have seen that on xhamster Shocked

Posted By: Flanno7hi
Date Posted: 30 Oct 2013 at 4:43pm

Originally posted by Flanno7hi Flanno7hi wrote:

Isn't that Sham's hobby?

LOL she takes the oul lads and I take the oul wans
I get ya
Thumbs UpClap

Date Posted: 30 Oct 2013 at 9:56pm
Im actually looking for a cleaner for 2-4 hours a week. But want it done whilst im not in the gaff. 

Was thinking of some brazilian bird or something. You want the gig Sasa? LOL

Date Posted: 30 Oct 2013 at 10:00pm
Eh yeah but can only do evenings or weekends Cry - Im not Brazilian but ive a fat arse like one if that helps ?

Date Posted: 30 Oct 2013 at 10:05pm

Eh yeah but can only do evenings or weekends Cry - Im not Brazilian but ive a fat arse like one if that helps ?

You've a grand arse Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 30 Oct 2013 at 10:09pm

Date Posted: 30 Oct 2013 at 10:11pm
If ya did it with just an apron on you'd have plenty of interest sgb!

Date Posted: 30 Oct 2013 at 11:05pm

You've a grand arse = your hired

Date Posted: 31 Oct 2013 at 7:15am

yeah, don't be so hard on yerself SGB, that's a fine hoop for smashing ye haveHeart

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2013 at 1:00pm
Any plumber's on here?
Have a question about water softeners .
I am thinking about putting one in the house because the water in the area is full of lime.
Are they worth the price and  are the expensive to run ?Can anyone recommend a company?Is the a few different types,I know many of them use salt ,which is the best type to get.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2013 at 1:12pm
Babbsballs

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2013 at 4:00pm

Babbsballs

Cheers ,hopefully he see's this post .

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2013 at 4:18pm
Yeah the water softeners are a grand job . Cost you around €15 every month or so for the salt cubes . Worth it though if youre in a hard water area as your appliances last longer . Probably around the €600 mark to supply and fit a decent self-regenerating one . Where are you living ?

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2013 at 6:45pm

Yeah the water softeners are a grand job . Cost you around €15 every month or so for the salt cubes . Worth it though if youre in a hard water area as your appliances last longer . Probably around the €600 mark to supply and fit a decent self-regenerating one . Where are you living ?
Cheers for the advice.Can you recommend any particular company/brand?Is it a job for a plumber or would it be a specialist job/company ?Live in Roscommon.

Date Posted: 12 May 2014 at 10:03pm
whats the best/easiest way to remove old marley from a wooden floor?

Date Posted: 12 May 2014 at 10:20pm
Old Marley?

Date Posted: 12 May 2014 at 10:24pm
Yes BSM,must be 20 years old at least.

Date Posted: 12 May 2014 at 10:26pm

I mean WTF is Marley?

Date Posted: 12 May 2014 at 10:28pm

I mean WTF is Marley?

http://www.danceequipmentintl.com/floors/marleyfloors/assets/Arabesque-Marbled-1000.jpg

Date Posted: 12 May 2014 at 10:36pm
Are you retiling it? You can tile over them anyway. I know a lad who done this. A lot easier than tearing them up and trying to clear the adhesive underneath

Date Posted: 12 May 2014 at 10:37pm
Plus wan BSM!

Date Posted: 12 May 2014 at 10:41pm

Are you retiling it? You can tile over them anyway. I know a lad who done this. A lot easier than tearing them up and trying to clear the adhesive underneath

No re tiling dude,will have to go through the process of removing the whole lot,just leave a wooden floor when i am finished,hopefully not ruined.