URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=40626
Printed Date: 29 Mar 2024 at 12:13pm

Topic: Richard Keogh
Subject: Richard Keogh
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2012 at 1:28pm
Was just reading the report of the 5-5 cup game during the week (Firewall FC won on pens), this fella scored for Derby. 24 yrs old centre half, Coventry player of the season last year, moved to Derby and has been made captain. Former Irish U-21 international. 

Anyone seen him play/know much about him ? Have to say he escaped my attention until now, surely worth keeping an eye on, after all, it can't be long before somebody starts suggesting a call up for Paddy McCarthy again, might be better to concentrate on lads with most of their careers ahead of them...

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2012 at 2:18pm
He has been all over the place, even on loan in Iceland ,but had a good spell at carlisle to get his move to coventry. Looks to be settled now. We certainly aren't blessed with options and although he isn't a world beater I would take him before Mccarthy who is too old now and too slow at 17

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 5:14am
Looks like he's gonna be named in the squad on Monday:

The Irish Times
- Saturday, January 19, 2013

Trapattoni eyes defensive cover in Derby County's Keogh

EMMET MALONE

Giovanni Trapattoni will, weather permitting, be at Pride Park for today’s lunchtime game between Derby County and Nottingham Forest with Richard Keogh, it seems, being given another opportunity to persuade the Italian that he can provide defensive cover for the likes of Richard Dunne and Seán St Ledger if required.

The Republic of Ireland manager also watched County last week and while Conor Sammon, Mark O’Brien and Jeff Hendrick all played too as Nigel Clough’s side lost 2-1 to Brighton, the 26-year-old centre-half looks to be the main point of interest from Trapattoni’s point of view in a game that should also feature Simon Cox but not the injured Andy Reid.

Keogh could well be included in the squad that Trapattoni will name on Monday for the forthcoming friendly against Poland.

Anthony Pilkington of Norwich is also likely to get his first senior international call up for the game.

Aston Villa boss Paul Lambert said yesterday that Dunne would not be rushed back after so long out but the Scot confirmed that the 33-year-old defender has trained with the rest of the squad over the past few days.

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2013 at 5:43am
How about Alex Pearce and Ciaran Clark as defensive cover if required...or move John O'Shea to the centre?? Still lets see what he can do.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2013 at 4:22pm
just scored

Posted By: davekoolhill
Date Posted: 03 Feb 2013 at 9:26am
He will be coming into the camp with a lot of confidence. Also, isn't he derby captain?

For 26 that is good and very young still for a centre bacK!

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/DaveOGrady1" rel="nofollow - DaveOGrady1

Posted By: JamesyIrishGuy
Date Posted: 02 Mar 2014 at 10:48am
Sky Sports Interview - Richard Keogh (28/2/14) 
Richard Keogh speaks exclusively to the Weekend Warm-up about Derby's push for promotion and his call-up for the Ireland national team.

I'm Mick McCarthy's baby!

Posted By: cormacbyrne
Date Posted: 02 Mar 2014 at 11:57am
This chaps really starting to look decent,good chance he'll be playing premier league football next year too! And hes only 26 meaning we could get another 5 years out of him,minimum

Cormac

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2014 at 12:44pm
Big hopes for this fella.

Posted By: rainpaulo
Date Posted: 02 Mar 2014 at 1:46pm

Big hopes for this fella.

Really...haven't seen much of him but what I have seen he looks no better than Sledge or O Dea.

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2014 at 1:54pm
Seen him at Coventry on a few occasions. Always stood out. 

Posted By: keith3307
Date Posted: 02 Mar 2014 at 4:47pm
He's won player of the year awards for the last four years straight. At Carlisle, Coventry and Derby. And looks in good position to add a fifth straight this year.

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2014 at 6:15pm
I seen him a few times and looks a very good centre half, in my opinion the best we have. Dunne looks past his sell by to me, and keogh is miles ahead of st ledger. Him and o'shea would be my pick.

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2014 at 6:20pm
No way Keogh should come in ahead of Clark.

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2014 at 7:12pm
Originally posted by rainpaulo rainpaulo wrote:

Only 6 hours ago you said you hadnt seen much if him, so how can you compare him with Clark?

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2014 at 7:19pm

Only 6 hours ago you said you hadnt seen much if him, so how can you compare him with Clark?

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2014 at 7:20pm

I've seen enough of Clark to think that he should get a run alongside Josh...Clark is a fine player that also has an eye for a goal.

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2014 at 7:22pm

I've seen enough of Clark to think that he should get a run alongside Josh...Clark is a fine player that also has an eye for a goal.

FFS

Tell me this.

Are you still boycotting the Ireland games?

Clark's last goal for Villa was nearly 2 years ago .

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2014 at 7:27pm
Nope..will be up for next qualifier...and will be on the plane to Scotland for our away game...puzzles me why you care...you are quick to jump as per horse...it doesn't matter how much I've seen Keogh play which I've admitted,Clark is by far the better option for us.
Keogh is what mid to late twenties and has always knocked around the lower leagues of English football...we shouldn't get over excited just yet..these players are usually there for a good reason.

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2014 at 7:28pm
He's prolific every 3 years

Posted By: PaulMcGrath5
Date Posted: 23 May 2014 at 11:00am
Jaysis Richie must have the hairiest arms in football
‘It’s something that will live with me forever’ – Keogh ready for £120m Wembley challenge

Date Posted: 23 May 2014 at 11:06am
Richard Keys lovechild! That is ridiculous. He must be a stage 12

Date Posted: 23 May 2014 at 12:14pm
HD will do him no favours LOL

Posted By: Fozzy B
Date Posted: 23 May 2014 at 6:59pm
if he gets sent to st claberds, will father stack be called up to replace him.

Date Posted: 23 May 2014 at 7:04pm
Has he played competitively? He must qualify for the states with his right to bear arms.

jacket on, I am off!

Posted By: GreenDodger93
Date Posted: 24 May 2014 at 5:33pm
Really feel for him, couldn't have been more costly mistake and in the last min. Shame, for Hendrick especialy

Date Posted: 24 May 2014 at 6:01pm
Bad really , not more then you can say Unhappy

Posted By: HateHenry
Date Posted: 24 May 2014 at 6:30pm
Harsh but his teammates have to be as culpable in the left fb position , 3 chances to clear the ball...cost? 80 million quid, ouch.

Date Posted: 24 May 2014 at 8:06pm
Pity, done quite well up to then..

Date Posted: 26 May 2014 at 10:25am
Originally posted by HateHenry HateHenry wrote:

Harsh but his teammates have to be as culpable in the left fb position , 3 chances to clear the ball...cost? 80 million quid, ouch.

Exactly, that was one of the weakest,fag bag tackles ive seen in the game

Date Posted: 26 May 2014 at 10:51am
Awful mistake, bad defending leading up to it though. Poor fella was inconsolable after the game.

Posted By: Xpro
Date Posted: 27 May 2014 at 12:05am
From what I`ve heard and read about RK, he`s a really hard-working and plucky central defender that Rams fans warmed to over the season. But even the best central defenders have an in-built error waiting to happen - just ask Richard Dunne.

Play-off finals are a complete lottery and often a complete injustice. Look at Derby, all over QPR and with 65% possession, making the Rangers keeper Rob Green one of the busiest men on the pitch. Then QPR`s lone strike on target throughout the game arrives in the 90th minute, courtesy of a rare mistake by RK, and wham - sub Zamora finally justifies his £6 million transfer.

Rams fans and S Mc L will be livid, but they`ll get over it. Whether the inconsolable RK gets over it is another matter. It`ll haunt him for weeks ahead and prob cause him torment, but his team mates will reassure him of his talent. And let`s not forget that he`s a highly talented central defender and a natural successor to Richard Dunne. "To err is to be human..."

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2014 at 1:23pm
Burnley in for him.

IMO he'd be mad to leave. On to a good thing at Derby. Sit tight and he'll be in EPL next year all going to plan.

Burnley for the drop.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2014 at 1:57pm
Derby arent offering him a new deal(I think).

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2014 at 1:58pm

Derby arent offering him a new deal(I think).
Negotiations broke down, which is when Burnley became interested

Posted By: BaileNuisBhoy
Date Posted: 29 Aug 2014 at 2:37pm

Burnley in for him.

IMO he'd be mad to leave. On to a good thing at Derby. Sit tight and he'll be in EPL next year all going to plan.

Burnley for the drop.
Ya I agree, Burnley have one of the worst squads ever in the Premier League

Say no to Egg Chasing!!!

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2014 at 2:50pm
Originally posted by BaileNuisBhoy BaileNuisBhoy wrote:

Burnley in for him.

Burnley for the drop.

They will still beat United tomorrow.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2014 at 3:53pm

Originally posted by BaileNuisBhoy BaileNuisBhoy wrote:

Burnley in for him.

Burnley for the drop.

They will still beat United tomorrow.

That's the stuff Horsey , hit where it hurts .
To be honest not keen on him stay where he is as he is not any better than Duff or Long at the club .

Posted By: NewtNewbie
Date Posted: 29 Aug 2014 at 4:15pm
His long-term prospects would be better served staying exactly where he is. You can easily see Derby winning promotion and becoming an established Premier League side under McClaren.
Burnley are a one-season wonder, as far as the Premier League is concerned.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2014 at 4:19pm
Originally posted by NewtNewbie NewtNewbie wrote:

His long-term prospects would be better served staying exactly where he is. You can easily see Derby winning promotion and becoming an established Premier League side under McClaren.
Burnley are a one-season wonder, as far as the Premier League is concerned.
That may no longer be his choice

Date Posted: 30 Aug 2014 at 1:45am
Derby aren't guaranteed promotion, best play Premier League when the chance is there IMO!

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2014 at 10:23pm
He played well tonight, much better on the ball than Wilson IMO. Push Wilson to lb and have Keogh and O'Shea in the middle?

Posted By: MasterOfApples
Date Posted: 14 Nov 2014 at 10:26pm

He played well tonight, much better on the ball than Wilson IMO. Push Wilson to lb and have Keogh and O'Shea in the middle?

Couldn't argue with that. MOTM for me from our XI. Robertson was outstanding for them. 

Craven Cottage, by the river ...

Posted By: NewtNewbie
Date Posted: 14 Nov 2014 at 10:30pm
Originally posted by MasterOfApples MasterOfApples wrote:

Couldn't argue with that. MOTM for me from our XI. Robertson was outstanding for them. 

Did very well. Very vocal and a good organiser. You see why he's captain at Derby.

Posted By: BlackKat
Date Posted: 14 Nov 2014 at 10:54pm
Himself and O'Shea were good tonight. Only stand out players for us

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2014 at 11:12pm
Excellent peformance.

Posted By: 085immersive
Date Posted: 14 Nov 2014 at 11:41pm
Hope he is kept in the team and Wilson is moved to left back.

Posted By: savo01
Date Posted: 14 Nov 2014 at 11:45pm
agreed, he was very good tonight.  Ward has to go now, he was terrible and McClean had to play LB essentially to cover for him.

Jackie Charlton, Eoin Hand
Johnny Giles. Ireland
Mick McCarthy, Stephen Staunton
Cascarino
Tony Galvin, Niall Quinn
Packie doesn't let em in
North of Ireland
South of Ireland
Only one can go

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2014 at 11:50pm

Please god let MON see what everybody else can see and do this with Ward being dropped for Wilson. Or possibly even Brady at LB, who I think has to come into the team for his set plays alone.

For a first competitive start that was a very impressive performance by Keogh.

Posted By: depechemode
Date Posted: 14 Nov 2014 at 11:53pm
Played well but jasus he's the spit of that Stevie fella on the X factor

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 12:08am
Originally posted by depechemode depechemode wrote:

Played well but jasus he's the spit of that Stevie fella on the X factor

Richard 'Stevie' Keogh was good tonight.

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 12:11am
Some flick of hair on him , he b bald in 5 years. ) fair play to him gave it socks.
But who cares anyway we lost and were utter muck.

Bring back Mick !!

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 1:27am
Keogh, Best Irish player by a mile, showed leadership when the rest went missing. And NI 1982 WC Captain f**ked up leaving Robbie out of the starting team. Roy needs to sort that nordie out. And as for his little Derry pet,Robbie Brady did more in 5 minutes....

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 2:25am
Keogh was brilliant. Deffo should start ahead of ward if wilson is fit

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 5:52am
Good player, ward = dung

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 8:44am
Best player on the night. Seems to be a bit "angrier" than the ret of the back 5. All the others are too "paly", high fiving even when one makes a mistake. Keogh seems to be the one who could bring some order/balls to it.

But by god he's a strange looking fella.

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 9:40am
Great performance from Keogh last night, hopefully we'll see him starting more competitive games in the future.

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 10:04am
Move Wilson to LB now?

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 11:14am
I'd sooner move Wilson to the bench. He usually makes at least one costly mistake per game for us.

Posted By: Locke
Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 11:50am
Keogh
Best Irish player on the park.

Ivan Locke: "I'm not going to turn back. I have made my decision."

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 12:24pm
The only positive from last night was his performance.

Posted By: Nah Nah Nah Nah
Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 2:23pm

I'd sooner move Wilson to the bench. He usually makes at least one costly mistake per game for us.

That's a few less then Ward

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 4:07pm
Originally posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah wrote:

That's a few less then Ward

Sadly I thing you're right.

Posted By: sweeper
Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 4:24pm
Keogh was immense and intense. He had 'fire' in his belly and gave Coleman a few words of advice!! With those eyes and the hair flick he reminded me of 'The Shining'- Here's Johnny! poster as he's coming through the door- I wouldn't mess with him.

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 5:18pm
Played very well last night, I like him tbh!

We're not a total football team, so I don't mind that he's not exactly brilliant on the ball as he doesn't have to be.

Ward has to go, Wilson hopefully will be reverted back there.

Posted By: Locke
Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 5:20pm
The amount of times Ward was missing last night was scary.
3-4 times I remember McLean at LB.

Ivan Locke: "I'm not going to turn back. I have made my decision."

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2014 at 5:22pm
Originally posted by Locke Locke wrote:

The amount of times Ward was missing last night was scary.
3-4 times I remember McLean at LB.

Funny how some on here lauded Ward after his decent performance in Germany, he was bound to have one good game like Whelan eventually after numerous bad ones.

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2015 at 5:58pm
How's this fella doing ? Did very well in Glasgow imo

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 10:03pm
Was at Derby game tonight . Keogh played very well as he did in Glasgow . He's a natural leader who's never caught ball watching . Dealt with a few difficult balls over the top by bringing it down nicely at ease and won all his headers . Also knocked one or two 60 yard cross field switches for his winger which were right on the money . All in all very impressive I have to say . Would he a lot more confident having him in beside O' Shea instead of Clark or Wilson . O' Neil will more than likely pick him seeing as he was probably out stand out player in Glasgow anyway ..

Posted By: winner alright
Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 10:09pm
The only irish player with blood in his veins that night in glasgow

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 10:12pm
Yeah he's very focussed . He doesn't switch off really . Clark and Wilson are both good footballers but lack the concentration you need for a centre half at international level imo

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 10:15pm
O'Shea has that loss of concentration at times as well. 

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 10:17pm
True . But he has the experience !

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 10:19pm
Yeah, he has the experience to make up for it. Having an ok campaign so far.

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 10:19pm
Wilson & Clark play against a higher calibre of player week in week out. I am not so sure about Keogh. He has his brainfart moments too, typically in last years playoff final.

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 10:21pm

Wilson & Clark play against a higher calibre of player week in week out. I am not so sure about Keogh. He has his brainfart moments too, typically in last years playoff final.

So does Stephen ward.

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 10:21pm

So does Stephen ward.

Ward is on the bench week in week out. He wouldn't be on my Irish team anyway. I'd prefer Clark & Wilson to Keogh & Ward personally.

Date Posted: 20 Mar 2015 at 11:56pm

So does Stephen ward.

Ward is on the bench week in week out. He wouldn't be on my Irish team anyway. I'd prefer Clark & Wilson to Keogh & Ward personally.
Wardie is fit but he will Ben Mee playing so well at Burnley at the moment he has not got a look in as yet .

Date Posted: 21 Mar 2015 at 1:05am
Thought Keogh played well tonight. He's impressive on the ball, very competent. The forgotten recruit Stearman also had a decent game. If Delaney really has called it quits on his international career then Stearman deserves a chance along with a few other Irish CB's in the Championship. Christie and Doherty were the other Irishmen on show, both were mediocre I thought.

Date Posted: 21 Mar 2015 at 7:42pm

Thought Keogh played well tonight. He's impressive on the ball, very competent. The forgotten recruit Stearman also had a decent game. If Delaney really has called it quits on his international career then Stearman deserves a chance along with a few other Irish CB's in the Championship. Christie and Doherty were the other Irishmen on show, both were mediocre I thought.
. He was responsible for the 2nd goal. Nearly fave away a third goal at the end as sako walked by him only to boot over the bar. Looks a liability.

Date Posted: 21 Mar 2015 at 8:07pm
How was Keogh responsible for the 2nd goal

He was outstanding last night , as well as in Glasgow.

Date Posted: 21 Mar 2015 at 8:34pm

. He was responsible for the 2nd goal. Nearly fave away a third goal at the end as sako walked by him only to boot over the bar. Looks a liability.

Had nothing whatsoever to do with the second goal, it was forsyth who misskicked it and grant fumbled. Sako at the end ran paat about three guys, keogh actually nicked the ball from him but albentosa reacted to slowly to the break and sako picked it back up

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2015 at 11:40am
On the way to Newcastle apparently for €4.5m

Posted By: dotts101
Date Posted: 25 Jun 2015 at 11:56am
good move for him, long term replacement to JOS in the ireland team imo

Posted By: Stimpy
Date Posted: 25 Jun 2015 at 12:17pm
Just paper talk, all speculation. nothing confirmed yet

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2015 at 1:28pm
4.5M seems very expensive for a 29 year old with no Premier League experience. Either way it would be good to have another CB playing at the top level, I don't know if he'll be up to it but there's only one way of finding out I suppose.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2015 at 5:31pm
Tbh as a Newcastle fan I hope this doesn't happen no better than Williamson who I don't think is premier league level

Posted By: ncafc87
Date Posted: 25 Jun 2015 at 11:09pm
Would be great to see him in the PL. obviously isn't too fancied by oneill hence playing brady left back and not pushing Wilson to LB. brady has played well though in the last 2 games though.

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2015 at 1:07am
Would start him v Poland regardless of Wilsons fitness.

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2015 at 1:11am
Just reading his wiki. Not bad. Ok not at highest level but we don't have that luxury afforded to us.

2009/10 - Carlisle United player of the year.

2010/11 - Coventry City player of the year.

2011/12 - Coventry City player of the year and players' player of the year.

2012/13 - Derby County player of the year, players' player of the year, and supporters' player of the year.

2014/15 - The Championship Team of the Season

Posted By: CoffeeBean
Date Posted: 11 Oct 2015 at 1:31am
Christie & Keogh have to start.

Posted By: Bohsfan84
Date Posted: 11 Oct 2015 at 1:49am
Carlisle was in League One, Coventry got relegated from the Championship and Derby had the worst defensive record of any of the teams competing for promotion in the last two seasons.

They were one of the best - if not the best - attacking teams in the division over the last couple years and they have consistently been let down by defensive frailties particularly toward the end of the season.

He was absolutely awful in the match I watched against Reading last day last season when they collapsed and dropped out of the playoffs. Then there's that howler against QPR in the Playoff final...

He did have a fine game, particularly second-half, on Thursday, though. There were nervy moments: rash clearances, dropping off, scared to commit. But O'Shea coached him well and all the defenders really were immense second-half.

Christie too.

But he is a lot less solid defensively than Coleman. Don't forget Germany only scored 1 in Gelsenkirchen either. And Christie did manage to gift Gibraltar a couple chances. So don't get too excited CoffeeBean.

Posted By: Drummerboy
Date Posted: 11 Oct 2015 at 1:59am
Keogh panicked on the ball in the first half but played a lot better in second half.

Christie was woeful in the first half. Germans kept running in behind him and he looked like a headless chicken. However he was OK in second half.

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2015 at 9:02am
Why is that tool back on posting his bullsh*t😡😡😞😡😞

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2015 at 9:05am

Why is that tool back on posting his bullsh*t😡😡😞😡😞

There's 2 of them Tommy ruining the ROI section.

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2015 at 10:15am
Who are/were they lads?

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2015 at 12:05pm

Who are/were they lads?

I'm one of them, McG.

Them two and another poster think that if they keep insulting me eventually the moderators will ban me - even though I'm not doing anything wrong.

Tried to reason with them on PM but they're not having any of it. They would rather disrupt threads.

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2015 at 12:51pm
Originally posted by Bohsfan84 Bohsfan84 wrote:

Who are/were they lads?

I'm one of them, McG.

Them two and another poster think that if they keep insulting me eventually the moderators will ban me - even though I'm not doing anything wrong.

Tried to reason with them on PM but they're not having any of it. They would rather disrupt threads.

The name "The One Who Knocks" wouldn't be familiar to you would it? There was another poster on Foot.ie who espoused a lot of the same rubbish as you, in particular a vehement dislike of Richard Keogh...

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2015 at 1:26pm
There are lots of posters questioning his ability on this thread (and section).

And no. This might come as a shock to you - this might seem like a radical idea - but with thousands of posters across multiple forums you might run into someone who shares an opinion on something.

I know. Weird, isn't it?

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2015 at 1:36pm
Originally posted by Bohsfan84 Bohsfan84 wrote:

There are lots of posters questioning his ability on this thread (and section).

And no. This might come as a shock to you - this might seem like a radical idea - but with thousands of posters across multiple forums you might run into someone who shares an opinion on something.

I know. Weird, isn't it?

And yet not many seem to share yours? Keogh is a good Championship defender who had never played against a team of Germany's calibre before, it's perfectly understandable and and to be honest, expected that he would be nervous in the early stages of the game. He defended very capably, and I don't think you could reasonably have expected him to do any more than that in his first game of that magnitude. He deserves to keep his place for tonight.