URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=40515
Printed Date: 25 Apr 2024 at 2:54pm

Topic: Steve Coogan/ Alan Partridge Thread
Subject: Steve Coogan/ Alan Partridge Thread
Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 1:45pm
Just after meeting Steve Coogan when he came into the shop i work in in Westport and i never thought to ask him for a photo with him. was too star struck like a schoolgirl. his sunglasses flew off him when he shook my hand . an absolute legend and one of my favourite comediens. Ricky Gervais has alot to thank him for seeing as his comedy is very similar

Should ve feckin asked him for a picture

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 2:32pm
Dere's more to Mayo dan dis.

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 2:51pm
Ahhhh Sunday bloody Sunday

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 2:57pm
Originally posted by Hoosay Hoosay wrote:

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 4:40pm
What a legend!

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 5:10pm

Wot's de big oidea?

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 7:07pm

what can i say, it was the highlight of my day. one of the cleverest comediens around

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 7:38pm
Might be a good idea for an advertising campaign. You know trying to leave the old image of Ireland behind. Toothless simpletons with eyebrows on the side of their face, The Ira, bombd, horses running around council estates.

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 7:49pm
who the f**k is steve coogan?

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 8:01pm

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 8:05pm
why was he in Westport?

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 8:11pm

why was he in Westport?

Because Westport is the jewel in Irelands crown, thats why

he has relations near westport and has been coming over on and off for years.

He seemed like a nice fella and was with his daughter who had Supermacs onion ring sized earrings on her. Cant wait for the next season of mid morning matters

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 8:41pm

Jaysus, I hope to fúck your taking the piss

Posted By: Carmody 10
Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 8:48pm

Jaysus, I hope to fúck your taking the piss
Why do people always bite this attention seeking child.

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 8:49pm
YBIG's king of comedy asks who Steve Coogan is
You couldn't make it up

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 8:58pm

You couldn't make it up

Posted By: David McWilliams
Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 11:26pm

Ahhhh Sunday bloody Sunday

hahahaha

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 11:31pm

You couldn't make it up

I hope your being sarcastic LOL

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 11:42pm

You couldn't make it up

I hope your being sarcastic LOL

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 12:39am
Jurassic Park

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 2:43am
Back of the net

Eat my goal

Cashback

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 3:13am
Are you into birds?Because I know a cracking owl sanctuary
Felt the same when Terry Jones came into the pub I worked in, nice guy too but vicious dog and he bloody lef him there one evening. Will never forget the day I asked him to say the messiah line and he obliged

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2013 at 1:10pm
Bump.

alan partridge film coming out this year and another series of Mid Morning Matters as well. i just finished watching the trip and it was grand. his best stuff has been mid morning matters and Im alan partridge but i wish there wasnt a laugh track to it. it works better without it. anyway plaenty of stuff to look forward to

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2013 at 1:50pm
Im Alan Partridge the first series where he was in the travel tavern was unreal i thought
his best work so far IMO

Posted By: tony grealish
Date Posted: 05 Feb 2013 at 8:09pm

Might be a good idea for an advertising campaign. You know trying to leave the old image of Ireland behind. Toothless simpletons with eyebrows on the side of their face, The Ira, bombd, horses running around council estates.

Badly tarmacked drives..................in THIS country.LOL

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2013 at 10:21am
Knowing Me Knowing You is gold. Just seen 24 Hour Party People the other night and he's good in that too.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2013 at 10:27am

Posted By: Andkend
Date Posted: 06 Feb 2013 at 10:45am
I would love to meet Alan Partridge - Steve Coogan - legend -

love this one!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l76u8Z5Ic2U

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2013 at 11:17am
"bit of nipple ,bit of bush"

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2013 at 11:19am
Mayomark isTex, he also loves American things and thinks he is a Yank.

Posted By: Stretchryan
Date Posted: 06 Feb 2013 at 12:58pm
Back of the net

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2013 at 1:02pm
Originally posted by Andkend Andkend wrote:

I would love to meet Alan Partridge - Steve Coogan - legend -

love this one!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l76u8Z5Ic2U

Read the first post on this thread. as I met him last August. it made my day

Posted By: Andkend
Date Posted: 06 Feb 2013 at 2:02pm
no I know you met him - thought it was this week however -

he's so class!!

Posted By: David McWilliams
Date Posted: 06 Feb 2013 at 2:31pm

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2013 at 7:45pm
Teaser trailer for the Alan Partrdige Movie : Alpha Papa Clap

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2013 at 8:09pm

Teaser trailer for the Alan Partrdige Movie : Alpha Papa Clap

Jurassic Park! Clap

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2013 at 8:57pm
bit disappointed to be honest

Posted By: GARY_BREEN
Date Posted: 18 Mar 2013 at 5:56pm
I was reading the book of Genesis the other day...that bloody snake!

#FinnanWithTheAssist

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2013 at 6:09pm
Originally posted by GARY_BREEN GARY_BREEN wrote:

I was reading the book of Genesis the other day...that bloody snake!

his biography is a masterpiece, tears running down cheeks, the audio is good as well - funniest book ever, cannot recommend it highly enough

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 1:20pm
bump

The second series of The Trip with Rob Brydon is starting this friday.They're in Italy. First series was enjoyable though not very very funny.It was a bit different from his other stuff.

Also the excellent Mid Morning Matters second series will be onSky Atlantic on later this year Clap

Date Posted: 31 May 2014 at 11:44am
Absolutely hilarious
https://audioboo.fm/boos/1993849-sam-matterface-s-alan-partridge-moment/embed/v2?image_option=none&link_color=%2355ACEE&source=twitter_card&utm_campaign=detailpage&utm_content=card&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter" rel="nofollow - https://audioboo.fm/boos/1993849-sam-matterface-s-alan-partridge-moment/embed/v2?image_option=none&link_color=%2355ACEE&source=twitter_card&utm_campaign=detailpage&utm_content=card&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2015 at 3:37pm
New Partridge book out next year

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2015 at 3:56pm

That last one was brilliant.

This one will probably just focus on the storyline behind the Sky Atlantic shows and the movie.

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2015 at 4:04pm
He milking it a bit now.

Date Posted: 19 Apr 2015 at 11:57am

really ? I am now more excited than the biggest star wars geek currently is

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2016 at 10:06am
Just seen a clip for the new series of mid morning matters.

Sidekick Simon makes a reference to operation yewtree and Partridge gets pure offended.

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2016 at 11:42am
relistening to the audio book LOL 

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2016 at 2:22pm

Just seen a clip for the new series of mid morning matters.

Sidekick Simon makes a reference to operation yewtree and Partridge gets pure offended.

The bit with the dinner party guests and yer man going on about luring Noel Edmonds there was superb

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2016 at 9:50am
The debate with the huntsman & sidekick Simon was great when Alan was changing his stance with every question LOL
2nd half of the show wasn't the best i didnt think

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2016 at 12:26pm
He would get batttteerrreeeddddd

MMM is always a mixed bag. There were enough chuckles to get it over the line.

He is Karl Pilkington in the LOI section and Karl Marx outwith it

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2016 at 12:26pm

The debate with the huntsman & sidekick Simon was great when Alan was changing his stance with every question LOL
Vintage Partridge. Wanted to suck up to the Sir but not self aware enough to figure out why.

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2016 at 12:37pm
Actually reminded me of Steven Nolan the way he flipflopped with his anger when questioning people on either side of the argument.

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2016 at 12:45pm
Reading Coogan's autobiograhy at the moment. Not the most likeable lad in the world

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2016 at 2:03pm
I've only started watching This is Alan Partridge the past few weeks, f**king brilliant show LOL

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2016 at 2:53pm

Reading Coogan's autobiograhy at the moment. Not the most likeable lad in the world
He is very aware of that. The Trip references it routinely.

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2016 at 5:07pm
What is Mid Morning Matters? Is it a new Alan Partride series or something different. And on which channel is it on?

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2016 at 5:28pm
Its a 'webcast' of his radio show on North Norfolk Digital. The second series started on Sky last week.

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2016 at 6:25pm
A-HA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2016 at 6:51pm
One of the quotes from Mid Morning Matters:

“Where would you go? I mean the BBC won’t let you past the door if you’re over 30. Unless you’ve got a mop and a bucket. And you’re from somewhere….not British. I suppose there’s always Songs of Praise for you guys.”

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2016 at 6:57pm
http://wisecracknation.com/alan-partridge-mid-morning-matters-quotes/

All the funny quotes from series 1 of MMM.Can't hyperlink it off phone.

“It’s just coming up to 9.11…ooooh don’t tell Abu Hamza, he’ll be cracking open the Champagne. Oh they don’t drink do they?!"

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2016 at 11:32am

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/sdlps-mark-h-durkan-apologises-over-elephant-in-the-womb-abortion-debate-joke-34527226.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/sdlps-mark-h-durkan-apologises-over-elephant-in-the-womb-abortion-debate-joke-34527226.html

Partridge-esque

Date Posted: 31 May 2016 at 9:46am
Anyone watch Alan Partridge Scissored Isle on Sky Atlantic last night?

He keeps on producing the goods 20 years on. Great viewing.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 11:21am
https://www.google.ie/amp/www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/showbiz-news/alan-partridge-bbc-steve-coogan-13166196.amp" rel="nofollow - https://www.google.ie/amp/www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/showbiz-news/alan-partridge-bbc-steve-coogan-13166196.amp

Good news story to kick off the weekend.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 11:42am
Jurassic Park

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 11:56am

Jurassic Park

My sentiments exactly

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 12:06pm
Great stuff

Hope they take out the laughter track as it doesn't suit that show.

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2018 at 3:16pm
https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2018/0212/940139-alan-partridge-rises-phoenix-like-at-the-bbc/" rel="nofollow - https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2018/0212/940139-alan-partridge-rises-phoenix-like-at-the-bbc/

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2018 at 3:19pm
I watched 24 hour party people again last night. Superb 

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2018 at 3:42pm
I think he is being dragged out a little bit now. The film seemed to have been the end of Partridge. I hope I'm wrong.

24 Hour Party People is superb and Coogan makes it. He knew Wilson as a kid which helped. I think Wilson was a friend of Coogan's aunt.

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 5:42pm
New ap series on bbc1 tonight at 9:30

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 5:53pm
Did you see the email sent to all BBC staff from (supposedly)  him

Posted By: armahibee
Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 5:58pm
Cant wait love a bit of partridge

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 9:59pm
Brilliant LOL

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 10:00pm

Brilliant LOL

The hand washing thing was classic

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 10:03pm
Superb! I was worried that it would be dated, but that was brilliant. Hopefully Piers Morgan doesn't sue for plagiary!

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 10:06pm

Brilliant LOL

The hand washing thing was classic

Classic Partridge Clap

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2019 at 9:24pm
Got off to a slow start but good opening episode in the end

That co host Heart

Posted By: TonyNotJack
Date Posted: 26 Feb 2019 at 10:53pm
That was the first new TV episode for 17 years. Shocked

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2019 at 6:35am
Originally posted by TonyNotJack TonyNotJack wrote:

That was the first new TV episode for 17 years. Shocked

On the BBC yes he had a Sky Atlantic show  in 2016

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2019 at 11:55am
Alan Partridge-esque from Derek Thompson LOL

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2019 at 11:59am
The Crown Hotel.  Water way to have a weekend. Cheers!

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2019 at 3:46pm
Missed it last week, but won't be making that mistake tonight

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2019 at 4:21pm
The bit where the hacker is reading out his emails and google searches in front of his female co-presenter. The face on him was hilarious when he says he friend requested her on facebook LOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2019 at 5:47pm

Alan Partridge-esque from Derek Thompson LOL

Deliberately so too! Very clever!

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2019 at 10:21pm
The fight scene and the final scene tonight were brilliant, especially the shuttlecock. Parts missed but it was definitely more hit (the after eight, the lad falling off the stage, the bit with Lynn) than miss (the bit with the chimps). Definitely an improvement on last week's show.

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2019 at 10:33pm

The fight scene and the final scene tonight were brilliant, especially the shuttlecock. Parts missed but it was definitely more hit (the after eight, the lad falling off the stage, the bit with Lynn) than miss (the bit with the chimps). Definitely an improvement on last week's show.
I thought the opposite! It dipped a little bit this week. It felt a little forced and predictable. Still decent though.

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2019 at 10:37pm
The lad with the beard is poor and tends to drag down any scene he's in.Thankfully, he's not in it much. The bit with the chimps didn't work at all,I think  because he's such a talent with voices the idea of him then deliberately doing bad ones was too convoluted. I agree with PM,last weeks was better.

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2019 at 10:43pm

I thought the opposite! It dipped a little bit this week. It felt a little forced and predictable. Still decent though.

A bit - the bit before with the son of the head of factual programming was generally tedious.

However, there was plenty of gold in it - the lad from Sunderland was superb.

Plus it ended on such a good high.

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2019 at 11:21pm
I missed last weeks 1st episode but i was very disappointed by alans latest venture. Was poor i thought. The only really funny bit was when he was talking to lynn and the bit at the very end. I expected it to be funnier like the old days i suppose. Hes still class though.

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2019 at 11:21am
Haven't seen last night's episode yet so I can't comment on it, but I think the chat show host type of thing for Partridge has been played out.
The best ever thing he's done was I'm Alan Partridge when he was in the travel tavern IMO.

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2019 at 11:48am

Haven't seen last night's episode yet so I can't comment on it, but I think the chat show host type of thing for Partridge has been played out.
The best ever thing he's done was I'm Alan Partridge when he was in the travel tavern IMO.

That series never ages, but the initial Knowing Me Knowing You is as funny still, been watching repeats again recently, still piss myself laughing at him. LOLClap

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2019 at 12:24pm
I'm Alan Partridge is brilliant but the laughter track is so tedious on it. Just doesn't suit his type of comedy. 

I know I'm in the minority here but Mid Morning Matters is way more enjoyable and more subtle than I'm Alan Partridge. 

Did any of ye see his comic relief interview with Roger Daltry? One of my favourite sketches of him. LOL

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2019 at 1:36pm
I preferred the rawness of his Paul/Pauline Calf characters.........

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2019 at 2:17pm

They have aged terribly.

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2019 at 2:22pm

They have aged terribly.

Didn't do themselves any favour's to be fair.

Julie has kept herself in good nick tho........

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2019 at 4:16pm
Need to youtube Midmorning Matters alright, saw a few snippets and liked them a lot.

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2019 at 7:42pm

Yeah I think the same.  Was enjoyable but few hilarious moments unlike last week

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2019 at 10:19pm
Best episode so far. The last 10 minutes were great.

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2019 at 10:28pm
Originally posted by TonyNotJack TonyNotJack wrote:

Best episode so far. The last 10 minutes were great.
Yep, that was brilliant! The only weakness is Tim Key's slot, it adds nothing and is cringe inducing in a bad way.

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2019 at 10:32pm
The corporal punishment bit with Alan acting out how to smack properly LOL