URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=40512
Printed Date: 03 May 2024 at 9:18am

Topic: Charlie Hurley
Subject: Charlie Hurley
Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 10:40am
I don't think theres been a Charlie Hurley thread on here before so I thought I would start one. I realise he's before a lot of peoples time on here and he's even slightly before mine. Wink 
Maybe your dads or uncles may have memories of the great man.
I remember a talk in by him some years ago in a club in Sunderland and what a top man he is full of amusing stories and only too happy to stay back and talk at length to the supporters.
He always tells the tale of how he would play a game for Sunderland on a Saturday afternoon and then get the Liverpool to Dublin boat on the Saturday evening and play for Ireland on the Sunday afternoon.
Difficult to imagine that these days.

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 11:15am
Legend I wish I was about to see him in the flesh.

There was a documentry on RTÈ before the Euros DM and they mentioned players having to get the ferry across. Crazy stuff when you think about it now.

It's Jack Shat

Posted By: only1kilbane
Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 11:17am
Met Charlie a few years back at Galway Race Week when sunderland were over. Gentleman and smashing player (from what I have read). Got a signed photo with him and was happy to chat about the club for over half an hour with me

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 11:20am
Originally posted by only1kilbane only1kilbane wrote:

Met Charlie a few years back at Galway Race Week when sunderland were over. Gentleman and smashing player (from what I have read). Got a signed photo with him and was happy to chat about the club for over half an hour with me

He was lovely with my son at the talk in that I mentioned a very lovely genuine man. Thumbs Up

Posted By: Wearmouth
Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 11:34am
The mans a living Legend not many people get voted player of the century and have a training centre named after them.

Charlie Hurley a true legend

Posted By: Masterplan
Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 12:43pm
Being only a young pup, I never had the chance to see King Charlie play but by all accounts he was a cracking player, always talks well of Sunderland as well.

Posted By: Marley+
Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 12:49pm
Legend is the right word for Charlie the first centre half to come up for corners and what a bullet of a header the big man had on him.

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 12:50pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1mEGZ1pF-3I" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1mEGZ1pF-3I

Chanting from the Sunderland fans Clap

Posted By: BDI
Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 1:34pm
I remember meeting 6 fellas over from Cork and their sole reason for supporting SAFC was Charlie Hurley.

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 2:31pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1mEGZ1pF-3I" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1mEGZ1pF-3I

Chanting from the Sunderland fans Clap

I was at that game at Turners Cross mate great spot. What a cracking weekend that was. Thumbs Up

Posted By: Fireball07
Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 5:38pm
My father doesn't remember him actually playing, but I love watching any clips of him play. And when he talks about Sunderland...he's got a way with words, I must say. He really gets across his love of the club.

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2012 at 10:36pm
Charlie talks of his love of SAFC in tonights footy echo and he will be there at the emirates on saturday.

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 7:48am
Originally posted by Wearmouth Wearmouth wrote:

Charlie talks of his love of SAFC in tonights footy echo and he will be there at the emirates on saturday.

Good article and typical Charlie. Thumbs Up

Posted By: smart man
Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 11:25am
Charlie Hurley is a Irish legend. Born in Cork his family moved to England,he came to Sunderland via Millwall. He was named Sunderland player of the century. Saw he play for Ireland once. He has wonderful stories about coming over on the boat on Saturday night after playing for his club that afternoon and turning out on Sunday for Ireland. Himself and Noel Cantwell were wonderful players and should never be forgotten.   

alive and kicking

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 2:14pm
Originally posted by smart man smart man wrote:

Charlie Hurley is a Irish legend. Born in Cork his family moved to England,he came to Sunderland via Millwall. He was named Sunderland player of the century. Saw he play for Ireland once. He has wonderful stories about coming over on the boat on Saturday night after playing for his club that afternoon and turning out on Sunday for Ireland. Himself and Noel Cantwell were wonderful players and should never be forgotten.   
It is lovely to have a thread synopsis every dozen or so postsTongue

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 2:37pm
Not sure what you are getting at

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 4:40pm

top post you have caputered the mood.  Thumbs Up 

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 11:43pm
Millwall fans love Charlie as well.

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2012 at 1:04am

Some of them have fond memories of Hurley tooLOL

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2012 at 6:20am

I see what you did there Wink 

Hows the planned trip to Sunderland going ?

Posted By: Marley+
Date Posted: 13 Aug 2012 at 7:43am
Charlie Hurley is the only player that I know of that the Sunderland fans still sing his name when he last played for us in the 1960s.

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2012 at 2:02pm

I see what you did there Wink 

Hows the planned trip to Sunderland going ?
should be the 29th alright bud, just need to confirm the time off in the next few days and decide with the buddy when to head up, i.e Friday night or Sat morning. Looing forward to it

Posted By: Dear Old Roker
Date Posted: 13 Aug 2012 at 5:09pm
Originally posted by Marley+ Marley+ wrote:

Charlie Hurley is the only player that I know of that the Sunderland fans still sing his name when he last played for us in the 1960s.

Whos the greatest centre half the world has ever seen Charlie Hurley is his name." - thats what we sing.

The mans a living Legend. Thumbs Up

The Roker Roar will never die

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 5:53am
Originally posted by Dear Old Roker Dear Old Roker wrote:

Originally posted by Marley+ Marley+ wrote:

Whos the greatest centre half the world has ever seen Charlie Hurley is his name." - thats what we sing.

The mans a living Legend. Thumbs Up

They will be singing that at the Emirates on Saturday when the SAFC supporters  spot him in the crowd. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 7:45am
It said in the piece in the Footy Echo last week that Charlie tries to get to as many SAFC London games as he can good man himself.

Posted By: Old Den
Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 1:44pm

They certainly do particuarly the older fans.

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 1:58pm
Originally posted by Old Den Old Den wrote:

You are doing nothing to remove the stereotype!!!

Posted By: Old Den
Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 2:00pm

Cheap jibe I'm talking about a quality Cork footballer maybe it is time for you to go to bed. Wink

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 2:02pm

Cheap jibe I'm talking about a quality Cork footballer maybe it is time for you to go to bed. Wink
I go up the Den.I get these jibes!!!Anyway nearly time to go to work!!

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 7:10pm
I remember being in Cork one time and our taxis driver was 1 of the great mans cousins the craic was mighty and the guy only charged us 5 euros when the fare was clearly more because we spoke so highly of his famous cousin. Top man.

Posted By: donegal dave
Date Posted: 15 Jan 2014 at 11:43am
I believe there a great tribute to Charlie at FAI HQ any links fellas ?

Posted By: irelandshirts
Date Posted: 15 Jan 2014 at 12:02pm

WWW.IRELANDSOCCERSHIRTS.COM

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2014 at 12:04pm
I think i have other pictures but does not do the alcoves justice.Some lovely items out there.I have asked that the FAI photograph them and display all the items on their website but....Wacko

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2014 at 12:06pm
Originally posted by irelandshirts irelandshirts wrote:

Many thanks thats asbsolute quality. ClapCoolClap

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2014 at 12:21pm

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2014 at 12:22pm
Dunphy not very complimentary of him in his book. 

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2014 at 12:24pm
The FAI have fantastic items out in Abbottstown and it is a shame that they are not on general display even on their website.Unless you get invited in you cannot see them.While i have to give them huge  credit for honouring the ex players and the alcoves themselves are fantastic and brilliantly designed and maintained it would be nice if everyone could see them on the FAI website even.

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2014 at 12:27pm

Charlie Hurley or Con Martin ?

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2014 at 12:30pm
Charlie Hurley. 

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2014 at 12:32pm

Charlie Hurley. 

Dunphys a bollix. Embarrassed

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2014 at 12:41pm

Yeh, there was no need for that hatchet job.

If Charlie was from Drumcondra, well sin sceal eile......

Posted By: GreenDodger93
Date Posted: 15 Jan 2014 at 12:46pm
Who is he?

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2014 at 4:30pm
Originally posted by donegal dave donegal dave wrote:

Charlie Hurley. 

Dunphys a bollix. Embarrassed
This.

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2014 at 10:06pm

The FAI have fantastic items out in Abbottstown and it is a shame that they are not on general display even on their website.Unless you get invited in you cannot see them.While i have to give them huge  credit for honouring the ex players and the alcoves themselves are fantastic and brilliantly designed and maintained it would be nice if everyone could see them on the FAI website even.
do you? I've been out there and just walked in and looked around. nobody said anything to me.

All goals, red & yellow cards posted on https://mastodon.ie/@irish_abroad" rel="nofollow - mastodon and https://www.facebook.com/irishfootballstatisics" rel="nofollow - facebook

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2014 at 12:43am

Irelandshirts beat me to it LOL

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2014 at 1:17am
Originally posted by tetsujin1979 tetsujin1979 wrote:

do you? I've been out there and just walked in and looked around. nobody said anything to me.

FAI security doing a stand up jobLOL

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2014 at 7:05am

of course you can walk into the main reception area where they have 2 alcoves and a display area but the vast majority of the items are housed thruout the building and you need to be buzzed in again you can't just stroll around the offices.

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2014 at 9:21am

Any SAFC related stuff or caps of Charlies on show ?

Thanks

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2014 at 9:37am

Thanks

I think they have Ireland shirts and caps and possibly some medals but I don't think any SAFC bits on display im afraid

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2014 at 10:17am

of course you can walk into the main reception area where they have 2 alcoves and a display area but the vast majority of the items are housed thruout the building and you need to be buzzed in again you can't just stroll around the offices.
oh right, I didn't know they had other iterms around the building

All goals, red & yellow cards posted on https://mastodon.ie/@irish_abroad" rel="nofollow - mastodon and https://www.facebook.com/irishfootballstatisics" rel="nofollow - facebook

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2014 at 10:31am

Thanks

I think they have Ireland shirts and caps and possibly some medals but I don't think any SAFC bits on display im afraid

Thanks bud.

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2014 at 7:55pm
Charlie played for Millwall first. His family moved from Cork when he was 7. Was nicked named King Charlie at Rolka Park [old Sunderland ground] Was also named Sunderland played of the century. Great man had a chat with him in Galway when Roy Keane brought over Sunderland to play Galway. Lets not forget his fellow Cork man Noel Cantwell another great player.

alive and kicking

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2014 at 9:20am

Charlie played for Millwall first. His family moved from Cork when he was 7. Was nicked named King Charlie at Roker Park [old Sunderland ground] Was also named Sunderland player of the century. Great man had a chat with him in Galway when Roy Keane brought over Sunderland to play Galway. Lets not forget his fellow Cork man Noel Cantwell another great player.

Good post bud the old training ground in the days before the Academy of Light was called the Charlie Hurley Training ground and theres a bar named after him at the SOL.
His song " Whos the greatest centre half the world has ever seen Charlie Hurley is his name " is still sung at matches by Sunderland supporters. Cool

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2014 at 10:18am

Charlie played for Millwall first. His family moved from Cork when he was 7. Was nicked named King Charlie at Roker Park [old Sunderland ground] Was also named Sunderland player of the century. Great man had a chat with him in Galway when Roy Keane brought over Sunderland to play Galway. Lets not forget his fellow Cork man Noel Cantwell another great player.

Good post bud the old training ground in the days before the Academy of Light was called the Charlie Hurley Training ground and theres a bar named after him at the SOL.
His song " Whos the greatest centre half the world has ever seen Charlie Hurley is his name " is still sung at matches by Sunderland supporters. Cool

I know a Sunderland supporting student at Sunderland University from Cork whos old man began supporting SAFC because Charlie Hurley was playing for the club at the time. Cool

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2014 at 10:57am

I sang that song even before I ever came to Sunderland my ucle taught me it. Cool

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2014 at 9:18am
Some of the SAFCSA branches are talking about starting a campaign for a statue for the King. Cool

Posted By: Dear Old Roker
Date Posted: 20 Jan 2014 at 4:04pm

Some of the SAFCSA branches are talking about starting a campaign for a statue for the King. Cool

I'd back that. Cool

The Roker Roar will never die

Posted By: heppies
Date Posted: 19 Feb 2014 at 12:05pm

Any further news on this ?

Posted By: gary rowell
Date Posted: 20 Feb 2014 at 9:47am
Cracking book :-

http://www.weardownsouth.com/A-night-with-King-Charlie.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.weardownsouth.com/A-night-with-King-Charlie.html

Posted By: Jonesy
Date Posted: 21 Feb 2014 at 3:29pm
Originally posted by gary rowell gary rowell wrote:

Cracking book :-

http://www.weardownsouth.com/A-night-with-King-Charlie.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.weardownsouth.com/A-night-with-King-Charlie.html

A superb read. ClapClapClap

Get Double Maxim in the Clarehall Dublin Tesco ASAP

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2014 at 8:17pm

Nice touch from poster Cashley Grimes. Thumbs Up

Real Betis are playing  Sunderland on Aug 7th Thursday night at Bishop Aucklands ground only holds 2,000.

Some members of the POC memorial fund are going to the game to handover a Ireland shirt which is being signed by Charlie Hurley and to meet Betis representatives about our cause.

Posted By: Gashley Grimes
Date Posted: 30 Jul 2014 at 12:13am
Cheers DM - Yep some of our team are meeting Maurice Hepworth head of the SAFC FPA who will present the shirt to us pre match.

The shirt is currently in the south of England being signed by Mr. Hurley - the shirt is signed by the greatest living Irish XI - Mr. Hurley and Paul McGrath make up the centre back partnership.

Below a video for the POC Memorial Fund - see our facebook page on Patrick O'Connell thread.
Our first meeting takes place on Saturday the 30th of August at the Belfast Celtic Museum, Park Centre, Belfast.

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2014 at 6:00am

Good stuff. 

Posted By: Amby Fogarty
Date Posted: 30 Jul 2014 at 8:59am
Originally posted by Gashley Grimes Gashley Grimes wrote:

Cheers DM - Yep some of our team are meeting Maurice Hepworth head of the SAFC FPA who will present the shirt to us pre match.

The shirt is currently in the south of England being signed by Mr. Hurley - the shirt is signed by the greatest living Irish XI - Mr. Hurley and Paul McGrath make up the centre back partnership.

Below a video for the POC Memorial Fund - see our facebook page on Patrick O'Connell thread.
Our first meeting takes place on Saturday <span style="line-height: 1.4;">the 30th of August at the Belfast Celtic Museum, Park Centre, Belfast.</span>

Charlie has always been a top man when it comes to worthy causes.   

Very best of luck with your campaign mate.

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2014 at 7:58am
Lots of rumours that Charlie is in poor health.

Get well soon Big Man.

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2014 at 1:03pm

Get well soon Big Man.
sad to hear, how old is he now??

Get well soon Charlie

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2014 at 1:11pm

Get well soon Big Man.
sad to hear, how old is he now??

Get well soon Charlie

He's 78 next month.

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2014 at 3:51pm
One of the best.The King of Rolka Park

alive and kicking

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2014 at 11:48am
King Charlie is seventy eight today.

HB to a true Legend.

Posted By: Jonesy
Date Posted: 06 Oct 2014 at 2:37pm
How did Charlies hip replacement go? 

[​IMG]

Get Double Maxim in the Clarehall Dublin Tesco ASAP

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2015 at 10:04pm

Charlie played played eighty one times for Scotland according to Phil Brown on Five Live Extra tonight.

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2015 at 3:06pm
Many happy returns to Corks finest the King of Roker. 79 today.

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2016 at 6:55am

http://www.newsnow.co.uk/A/812043052?-11204:795:0" rel="nofollow - Cheer up Jan Kirchhoff: even Charlie Hurley had a debut to forget Salut! Sunderland 

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2016 at 5:50pm
Charlie is 80 in October I know Mark Metcalf Historian is hoping to have a 'do' in Sunderland and was looking for help in organising something also in Cork.

If there is anybody on here from Leeside who knows anybody from the Cork SAFC branch could they drop us a line.

Danke...

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2016 at 6:03pm
Mark Metcalf Historian You don't get many names like that

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2016 at 7:14pm

Charlie is 80 in October I know Mark Metcalf Historian is hoping to have a 'do' in Sunderland and was looking for help in organising something also in Cork.

If there is anybody on here from Leeside who knows anybody from the Cork SAFC branch could they drop us a line.

Danke...

Branch: Cork City

I've sent you Brendan's phone number in a pm.

I know Charlie still has cousins in Cork hopefully Mark will be able to contact them?

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2016 at 12:44pm
Cheers DM. I'll pass on details.

@premadonna - Mark wrote Charlie's book and also discovered where the first football league goal was discovered when commissioned by the English FA.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/10207669/Bolton-and-England-inside-forward-Kenyon-Davenport-finally-credited-with-scoring-Football-Leagues-first-goal.html

Also he was involved in the 'Bradford City Fire' book well worth a read.

The chap is a walking football encyclopedia and a very down to earth fellow.Wink

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2016 at 12:48pm
Quite a good name for his line of work then, I still think double-barrelled names are ****ish.

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2016 at 12:53pm
Tidied - 'Mark Metcalf the Historian'

LOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOL

This place ShockedShockedShockedShockedShockedShockedShockedShockedShockedShocked

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2016 at 1:00pm
Better, no need for a capital letter H though.

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2016 at 1:08pm
Sorry I'm not English - it's the frustration inside.Angry

I shall one day conquer this language but for now lunchtime....'waitress on roller skates!!'

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2016 at 1:18pm
I reckon you have conquered a few large brandies.

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2016 at 2:12pm
"What contemptible scoundrel has stole the cork to my lunch?"

Never on duty.
No 'Coronation street' lunch in sight your honor.

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2016 at 10:24pm

Cheers DM. I'll pass on details.

@premadonna - Mark wrote Charlie's book and also discovered where the first football league goal was discovered when commissioned by the English FA.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/10207669/Bolton-and-England-inside-forward-Kenyon-Davenport-finally-credited-with-scoring-Football-Leagues-first-goal.html

Also he was involved in the 'Bradford City Fire' book well worth a read.

The chap is a walking football encyclopedia and a very down to earth fellow.Wink

I know Mark pretty well played football with him and been in his company at many a SAFC away match.
He is a sound knowledgeable guy who has written some good stuff for the Morning Star and as you say plenty of quality books over the years.

Mark organised a Charlie Hurley talk in in Sunderland some years ago it was a cracking night typical CH he stayed around post talk in for ages to talk to the supporters.
Cool

Date Posted: 27 Jan 2016 at 7:45pm

Danke...

Doesn't look like the talk in/birthday celebration in Sunderland will happening apparently Mark Metcalf spoke to Charlies wife and the King is not in the best of health.

Theres is however plans all be it at a very early stage of having a statue in Sunderland in honour of Charlie.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2016 at 6:35pm
I hope it happens.
Cool 

http://www.google.co.uk/url?url=http://www.sunderlandecho.com/news/local/all-news/sunderland-fans-bid-to-have-statue-of-charlie-hurley-created-for-80th-birthday-1-7723366&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwibpLfEqOvKAhVCnA4KHb0cDBIQqQIIOjAK&usg=AFQjCNEy2uJ3YN5K1UdDOGr-JWLdsdGF4g" rel="nofollow - Sunderland fans bid to have statue of Charlie Hurley created for 80th birthday
Sunderland Echoe it happens.

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2016 at 7:07am
http://www.google.co.uk/url?url=http://www.sun-fm.com/news/local/1881973/sunderland-fan-prepares-to-meet-others-on-statue-for-charlie-hurley/&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwij0OfQku_KAhUD0xQKHd10AasQqQIIFzAA&usg=AFQjCNHSYej0nwPUVu81WuLDiLecY1gmdA" rel="nofollow - Sunderland fan prepares to meet others on statue for Charlie Hurley
Sun FM

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2016 at 6:41pm
From the Irish Post

Irishman leading the calls for a statue of former Ireland and Sunderland defender Charlie Hurley  

February 11, 2016  ,   By  Jamie Casey  

AN IRISH businessman is drumming up support to finance a statue of legendary Sunderland player Charlie Hurley outside the Stadium of Light.

Sunderland-based Dubliner Martin O’Neill has lived in the city for the past 15 years and, during his time there, he has adopted the local football team, for whom Hurley is a club hero.

Hurley, who turns 80 this year, was born in Cork but his father moved to Dagenham in 1937 when he was just six months old, and he grew up to play 40 times for the Republic of Ireland.

“A few weeks ago we [Sunderland fans] were discussing about how nice it would be to have some sort of display to remember Charlie,” O’Neill, who will meet with fellow Sunderland supporters on Saturday to discuss raising funds, told The Irish Post.

“We were saying ‘why doesn’t someone do something about it?’ so I said, ‘well why don’t we just do something about it?’

“That’s how it started and its since struck a chord with Sunderland’s senior supporters. He is such an iconic figure at this club; the fans voted for him as their player of the 20th Century.

“When I came here about 15 years ago I never realised just how much of a hero he was to an entire generation.

“I’ve been lucky enough to have a couple of meetings with him when he was doing book signings and stuff and he has always been the perfect gentleman.”

Around £75,000 to £85,000 will be required to fund a statue of Hurley, who played for the Black Cats for 12 years between 1957 and 1969.

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2016 at 8:06am

http://www.google.co.uk/url?url=http://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/sunderland-afc/latest-safc-news/safc-match-analysis/sunderland-fans-give-thumbs-up-to-plan-for-king-charlie-statue-1-7725003&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwiQ__nKo_TKAhWMWxQKHdp0CXIQqQIIHzAC&usg=AFQjCNG5V4PZjMcDE4APTZfqbG30UqEijw" rel="nofollow - Sunderland fans give thumbs-up to plan for King Charlie statue
Sunderland Echo

Date Posted: 15 Feb 2016 at 7:42am

Good to hear Mark Metcalf mentioning Patrick O'Connel in his speech at the meeting.

http://www.google.co.uk/url?url=http://www.shieldsgazette.com/news/local-news/campaign-for-statue-of-sunderland-legend-charlie-hurley-gathers-pace-1-7731803&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwjgxp7RofnKAhWE1RQKHVY_B6IQqQIIPTAL&usg=AFQjCNF4O83PfXAplvkx-iPXGMLV3Ejd4g" rel="nofollow - Campaign for statue of Sunderland legend Charlie Hurley gathers pace
Shields Gazette

Posted By: BlackKat
Date Posted: 15 Feb 2016 at 11:53am

Good to hear Mark Metcalf mentioning Patrick O'Connel in his speech at the meeting.

http://www.google.co.uk/url?url=http://www.shieldsgazette.com/news/local-news/campaign-for-statue-of-sunderland-legend-charlie-hurley-gathers-pace-1-7731803&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwjgxp7RofnKAhWE1RQKHVY_B6IQqQIIPTAL&usg=AFQjCNF4O83PfXAplvkx-iPXGMLV3Ejd4g" rel="nofollow - Shields Gazette

Date Posted: 15 Feb 2016 at 8:58pm
Nice chap Mark this is a great initiative.
Charlie was well before my time.
But I know Irish people of a certain vintage who still rave about Charlie.

Best of luck to everybody involved.

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2016 at 5:40pm

Have Cork got onboard with this?

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2016 at 6:21am
Originally posted by heppies heppies wrote:

Not sure what happening at the Cork end the Irish Post and the Irish News have covered the story.

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2016 at 12:11pm

I'm meeting Mark next week in London re POCMF & will be passing on Cork contacts kindly provided by DM.

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2016 at 5:44pm

I'm meeting Mark next week in London re POCMF & will be passing on Cork contacts kindly provided by DM.

Does Mark still write for the Morning Star.

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2016 at 8:01pm

Good stuff GG.
Cool

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2016 at 1:17pm

@Charliehurleystatue - is the twitter account for the campaign for a Charlie Hurley statue 

Can anyone on here access this and maybe provide a link?

Thanks

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2016 at 7:13pm

http://www.newsnow.co.uk/A/817388864?-11204:795:0" rel="nofollow - Charlie Hurley: Did the best ever centre-half come from Cork? The Irish Post

Date Posted: 24 Feb 2016 at 1:34am

http://www.newsnow.co.uk/A/817705709?-11204:795:0" rel="nofollow - Sunderland should release grounds to community say campaigners Football Supporters' Federation