URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=40461
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 6:55am

Topic: West Ham
Subject: West Ham
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 6:26am
Looks like they are going to get the Olympics stadium according to reports on five live just then.

Posted By: Carmody 10
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 7:20am

Will be very hard to create a decent atmosphere in that stadium considering how far the pitch will be from the fans.

Posted By: Marley+
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 7:35am
Cant see how whu will be able to fill it.

Posted By: Carmody 10
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 7:49am
Isnt the capacity being reduced by about 30 % ?

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 9:05am
About time there was a WHU topic on this forum!

Long term West Ham fan myself and am a bit skeptical. Was at a few games last season and was surprised to see most fans are very enthusiastic about it. Seemed to think the biggere capacity would lead to cheaper tickets which would result in more people going to gmaes. Very working class area so locals can't afford the prices that Chelsea/Arsenal/Spurs charge. They see Fulham as the perfect example, cheap tickets, good football, nice stadium.

Also heard a lot of people saying that foreign players prefer to come to stadiums like the Olympic Stadium rather than Upton Park. I love UP, but I suppose that's more nostalgia.

I was worried bout the atmosphere too, but there's loads of examples of places that create atmospheres with running tracks (Lazio, River Plate). If the fans are good enough, they'll be fine.

Posted By: Barna Bee
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 9:40am
Don't mean to be disrespectful to WHU but if you think that you will have any type of an atmosphere in that stadium with the reduced cap and the running track ...you are in for a big surprise ....from behind the goal you will be 100m away from the field .

Don't see why you would be compared to Fulham....they have a very small stadium as it is ( although they are extending it) It is agreat place to see a game in probably the niceest setting for a stadium in the UK. It is also a very wealthy part of London and they have a huge neutral end that  is usuallly filled out with away fans on big match days .

The best soln for the stadium in Straford was what Spurs proposed ...buldoze it and build afresh and build the legacy for athletics in Crystal Palace . Keep the current shell for football is madness.

WHU are hardly Lazio ( share with Roma) or River Plate .

WHU might be sharing with the orient FFS.

This could kill off the hammers if they get it wrong

So glad Spurs did not get it

"in di cup for Tottinghang!"

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 9:44am
I see ravel morrison has been a big hit down there

Posted By: flick
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 12:20pm
id rather see a bit of movement in the transfer market Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 2:21pm
The big concern for west ham fans, is the they will not own the stadium. They will receive a good price for the sale of Upton Park, but the club's only assets as such will be the players. This will place a huge amount of trust in the owners to use the money from the sale of Upton Park extremely wisely, and not pay it into their own pockets.
         That would be a huge concern for me if I were a fan, you are hoping the owners have the long term interest of the club at heart. 

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 5:28pm
Upton Park is a quality ground, I would be well pissed off if I was a Hammer

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 5:42pm
Good articles this, inspired by the truly hypothetical bullsh!t Karren Brady came out with in The scum shortly before they got the stadium

http://www.tottenblog.com/2011/02/karen-brady-sequel-hypocritical-day.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.tottenblog.com/2011/02/karen-brady-sequel-hypocritical-day.html

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 3:16am
Delighted a horrible club deserves a soulless home. They will fill it twice a decade

Posted By: Curiousdub
Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 3:40am
Should have gone to Spurs.

Posted By: Wheelo
Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 8:30am

Delighted a horrible club deserves a soulless home. They will fill it twice a decade

Totally agree. Horrible club with no potential!! Deserve what they get going into that stadium! Hopefully they go straight back down!

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 8:49am
and their owners made their money by selling dildos ...some football men they are ...Daniel Levy will have been proven right about this stadium. Just imagine if West ham go back down again this year and have to start life in their new stadium while palying in the championship...would be interesting to see the puss on that aul wagon Brady then.

hammer fans by and large are decent and realistic though....I suspect at this stage many are very concerned about this

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 9:39am
Originally posted by Barna Bee Barna Bee wrote:

I suspect at this stage many are very concerned about this

I was actually reading one of their fanzines last year when this was been proposed and amazingly some of them in that were supporting the move!

I would’ve thought more would be against it ‘on the ground’ – but maybe they are idiots after all!

Posted By: greengiant
Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 9:52am

I was chatting to 2 life long WH fans last night,there over here on a holiday,they say the majority is behind it. The main attraction to them is investment,publicity and sponsorship,the track is going to be replaced with moveable seating so thats not a concern for them. They see West Ham as a big big club and now they are getting a stadium that matches that, they would have no problem filling 60,000 if the club stays in the premier league they say and if they dont they are hoping some millionaire is attracted to the club because of the stadium. In fairness i dont think we can really be saying they are idiots to be accepting or welcoming the move,they are bound to know a little more about it considering its their country,city and club? Confused,pair of racist f**ks tho....actually probably the biggest racists iv ever met in my life!!

The first two-syllable word I ever learned growing up was discretion." Dunphy on a his childhood

Posted By: irish boogie
Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 10:07am
A long time hammer and i think there will be a big investment lined up to make sure they have a team capable of filling the stadium and Chairman has said they will probably have retractable seating on the running track and its being reduced to 60,000, I Dont expect spurs fans to be any way complimentery as they thought they would get it (although will say they never wanted it now )
I love Upton Park but if the investment is there we should go for it.

Thank You Torun and Tyskie

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 10:10am
To be honest i thought it was a bad move but after listening to them for a while i was sold on it,as they said last night there not sure if its a good thing or a bad thing yet but they have some shrewd characters running that club!

The first two-syllable word I ever learned growing up was discretion." Dunphy on a his childhood

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 10:11am
Originally posted by greengiant greengiant wrote:

they would have no problem filling 60,000 if the club stays in the premier league

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 10:25am
There not my words!,i wouldnt have a clue what they would fill!

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 10:36am
This is still West Ham we are talking about here right ?

retractable seats ? Not sure they are still allowed to do that ...thats what the court case was about ...also the deal with Newham council is also not going ahead as it was deemed anti competitive in the bidding process....shrewd characters....Sullivan Brady etc ? they sell porn and dildos !. She is completely deluded ...going on about her "manner"....what does she know about the East End of London . The only reason Spurs stalled it is becasue we need to get the NPD up and running before West Ham do .....WE NEVER wanted THAT stadium ....we wanted the site where we would have built our own ....THAT STADIUM will be rubbish for football and West ham will be lost in it ....even if they do stay up which is a big IF.

Spurs don't care about karen brady and her rantings Levy cares about Spurs though.

As said already your average Hammer fan is OK ( if a little angry) but Brady and co are odious and deluded

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 1:31pm
Originally posted by Wheelo Wheelo wrote:

Originally posted by greengiant greengiant wrote:

they would have no problem filling 60,000 if the club stays in the premier league

LOL is right.

And the average Hammers fan is angry, ignorant and racist in my experience. And the dildo dwarf, the golden dildo and missus Peschisolido(do they have pesky kids) are very much suited. I do love 'ow the 'appy ' ammers lie to portray themselves as lovely cockney urchins, 'salt of the earth guvnor' typesLOL

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 7:04pm
You lose many fans with a running track, Juventus lost loads of fans over the way their stadium was designed.

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 8:35pm
If only happy film endings happened in real life then this would happen every day
Big smile

Tommy Hatcher what a man Clap

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 10:41pm
Aliou Diarra signed for the Hammers!

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 6:08am
As WHU's Joey O'Brien may play for Ireland at some point tonight it got me thinking of West Ham players that have played for Ireland in the past.
David Connolly and David Kelly spring to mind but who was the last Hammer to reprent the BIG at senior level ?

Posted By: Wearmouth
Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 7:41am
I cant think of very many Irish players that have played for whu Liam Brady was one but they had him at the end of his career.

Charlie Hurley a true legend

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 8:07am
Didn't Noel Cantwell play for them before heading to Man Utd or was it the other way around??

Clive Clarke had a brief spell with them as did Terry Dixon!

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 8:21am
Yeah not many. Gary Breen moved there after WC2002 for a season. Presumed he played for Ireland that year as well. Can't think of any more.

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 8:23am
Robbie Keane had a loan spell there two years ago too.

Posted By: dublin-hammer
Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 8:28am
Chris Hughton Played for us in the early 90's

I'm not a fascist, I'm a priest. Fascists dress in black and go around telling people what to do, whereas...priests... More drink!

Posted By: shouty
Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 1:09pm
Matt holland had a spell there

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 1:38pm
Hopefully Noble has a good season and declares.

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 2:19pm
Originally posted by jackshat jackshat wrote:

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 3:24pm
Originally posted by jackshat jackshat wrote:

Declares what?

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 3:30pm
declares at 350-4 before tea

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 3:30pm

declares at 350-4 before tea
Far more like than what was implied.

Posted By: Old Den
Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 12:56pm
Horrible club but not as horrible as Crystal Palace now they are the pits.

Date Posted: 30 Aug 2012 at 8:35pm

Andy Carroll currently having a medical for WHU.

Posted By: Jackthelad
Date Posted: 30 Aug 2012 at 8:36pm
Andy Carroll a west ham united player for 2012/2013 - LFC website

Date Posted: 30 Aug 2012 at 8:37pm
Originally posted by Jackthelad Jackthelad wrote:

Andy Carroll a west ham united player for 2012/2013 - LFC website

Are you happy with that bud ?

Posted By: Jackthelad
Date Posted: 30 Aug 2012 at 8:43pm
I don't know really!
Ask me at 11pm tomorrow night and il give ya a definite answer.
I presume we'll bring in a good replacement, otherwise I don't see the sense in it to be honest,

Date Posted: 31 Aug 2012 at 9:02am
A good match

Posted By: Wild Rover
Date Posted: 08 Sep 2012 at 10:18am
Can Liverpool get Carroll back in January ?

Niall Quinn is god

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2012 at 10:07am
Any of you West Ham fans on here going to the match against Sunderland on Saturday. I'm making the trip if you fancy some pints ?

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2012 at 8:51am
Did whu put a full side out v wigan for their 4 1 lg cup defeat.

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2012 at 8:13pm
What the feck was QPRs keeper doing on the goal.

Posted By: Dear Old Roker
Date Posted: 06 Oct 2012 at 11:31am
Hopefully Arsenal will put the ammers in their place.

The Roker Roar will never die

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2012 at 5:20pm
Originally posted by Dear Old Roker Dear Old Roker wrote:

Hopefully Arsenal will put the ammers in their place.

Andy Carroll starts for WHU.

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2012 at 5:50pm
Ammers  1 0 up with their first attack of the game. Ouch

Date Posted: 27 Oct 2012 at 9:31am
Ex WHU player Alvin Martin is on talksport now till midday talking a lot more sense than that moron Mick Quinn.

Date Posted: 27 Oct 2012 at 4:10pm
Wigan beating WHU 2 0 now.

Date Posted: 27 Oct 2012 at 4:15pm

Though not nearly by enough for my liking, maybe now Diame will learn to shut his mouth when sl*gging of ex-teams who gave him his chance in the epl - in fact delighted for this mercenary fukwit Clap

Posted By: Drumaville
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2012 at 4:04pm

Though not nearly by enough for my liking, maybe now Diame will learn to shut his mouth when sl*gging of ex-teams who gave him his chance in the epl - in fact delighted for this mercenary fukwit Clap

You not a big fan I take it. Wink

Double Maxim draught in the Derry pub now you are talking.

Date Posted: 06 Nov 2012 at 6:13am
Confused Spurs in for Andy Carroll in January ?

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2012 at 6:25am
When do they make the decision the Olympics stadium ?

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2012 at 4:06pm

When do they make the decision the Olympics stadium ?

think i heard on radio bids went in today, mentioned west ham. cant see how they'll fill a 60k stadium, i live fairly close and feel sorry for orient in all this, theyre practically across the road from the stadium

Date Posted: 08 Nov 2012 at 7:14am
Just heard on the radio that it can't be used for football until 2016. Shocked

Date Posted: 08 Nov 2012 at 8:11am

Under Fat Sam West Ham don't play football, so they can move in asap

Date Posted: 08 Nov 2012 at 9:50am

and its going to cost at least £160 m !

Date Posted: 08 Nov 2012 at 11:18am
Spurs was the only solution for this Olympic stadium....the only thing that made sense....but I am delighted we didn't get it in any case. It's not our part of London and I much prefer the NDP plan.

If West Ham had offered to knock and rebuild a football stadium while building the olympic legacy in Crystal Palace for the the athletics crowd they would be home and dry by now and it would all be under construstion but the Dildo flogger were too smart for their own boots

whay they are propsosing now is a shambles and this part London is destined to beome 1 BIG WHITE ELEPHANT.

Put that one in your pipe and smoke it Karen !

Posted By: BDI
Date Posted: 09 Nov 2012 at 8:56pm
Andy C not scored for whu yet set up nicely for sunday at the wonga arena.

Posted By: Dear Old Roker
Date Posted: 10 Nov 2012 at 9:23am
West Ham player Jack Collison is a guest on Soccer AM this morning.

The Roker Roar will never die

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2012 at 3:54pm
Amers 1 0 up h/t kevin nolan.

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2012 at 5:05pm
well done whu 1 0 winners at the wonga dome.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 8:17am
good to hear the whu fans in such good voice at the wonga dome yesterday.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 9:39am
Originally posted by Marley+ Marley+ wrote:

good to hear the whu fans in such good voice at the wonga dome yesterday.

You must have been in the stadium.......are you a Closet Newcastle fan ??LOL

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 10:02am

good tohear the whu fans in such good voice at the wonga dome yesterday.

You must have been in the stadium.......are you a Closet Newcastle fan ??LOL

its called the internet.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 11:03am
So instead you were running around Sunderland will all your poppy wearing mates on a witch hunt to find James McClean ?

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 11:12am
I now live in Oz so try not to generalise. BNP peddle their evil outside the wonga so wind your neck in.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 11:26am
Still .... tis a grand day for fishing

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 11:42am

So instead you were running around Sunderland will all your poppy wearing mates on a witch hunt to find James McClean ?

Just ask the Celtic/Irish fans who get in the Irish Centre beside the Wonga Arena what they think of certain sctions of the skunks support who have been known to attack the centre.

Then again if a poster on another thread is correct you don't get over to many matches a bit of a barstooler so I hear so you would'nt know the craic. Big smile

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 1:28pm
Originally posted by Drumaville Drumaville wrote:

Just ask the Celtic/Irish fans who get in the Irish Centre beside the Wonga Arena what they think of certain sctions of the skunks support who have been known to attack the centre.

Then again if a poster on another thread is correct you don't get over to many matches a bit of a barstooler so I hear so you would'nt know the craic. Big smile

What an Idiotic commentConfused No sh*t Sherlock!Obviously  i dont get over  every Month  as i live in AustriaConfusedim sure you noticed that from my forum nameEmbarrassedI will always make Ireland trips a priority before Newcastle,  And NUFC or the Irish centre in Newcastle has Sweet f**k all  to do with what has happened to James McClean and the racist abuse and threats he has received  on a Scumderland football forum form a bunch of Brainless,racist muppets,who have no respect for  where James grew up or what he has been through,have a look at the Scumderland forum , you will find the link  on the James McClean threadWink

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 1:37pm
Lad's come on this as a West Ham thread ffs!

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2012 at 1:50pm
Every English footy club has its right ring poltical element its just a fact of life.

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2012 at 7:09am
http://www.squarefootball.net/default.aspx" rel="nofollow - http://www.squarefootball.net/default.aspx

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 3:41pm
I fancy WHU tonight.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 10:04pm
Who was whus motm tonight.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 10:06pm
Originally posted by BDI BDI wrote:

Who was whus motm tonight.
Trevor Brooking or any other biased cheater from the FA of england Thumbs Up   (pretty much the same as every other day they remain in existance)

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2012 at 7:37am
Can't believe carroll still hasnt scored for whu.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2012 at 9:56am

Can't believe carroll still hasnt scored for whu.

Seems a strange one given WHUs good start to the season.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2012 at 9:58am
Not having a go here,just a genuine question.....Is there any West Ham fans on here? Confusedas i only ever see you Sunderland lads posting on this thread.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2012 at 2:39pm

Not having a go here,just a genuine question.....Is there any West Ham fans on here? Confusedas i only ever see you Sunderland lads posting on this thread.

Yup, genuine West Ham fan here.

Happy with the start of the season, I'm sure neutrals will give out about the style of play, but it's great to be in the top half of the league. Played off the park for the first half last night, but once they got going in the second we were well in control. Draw a fair result tho based on our first half. Carroll will get going eventually, he's creating bucketloads. Once Jarvis is fit and banging balls into him it'll be great.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2012 at 2:45pm

Yup, genuine West Ham fan here.

Happy with the start of the season, I'm sure neutrals will give out about the style of play, but it's great to be in the top half of the league. Played off the park for the first half last night, but once they got going in the second we were well in control. Draw a fair result tho based on our first half. Carroll will get going eventually, he's creating bucketloads. Once Jarvis is fit and banging balls into him it'll be great.

Fair play, i agree Carroll will be a huge asset , he is a nightmare for defenders, Nolan knows that too, and big Sam will play to their strengths, Been a good season so far for the Hammers.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2012 at 3:48pm
How long is Jarvis out for.

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 9:26am
Rafa to get his first Chelsea win in the early game today.

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 12:17pm
Torres will score today Thumbs Up

Posted By: Mulvanystrasse
Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 2:31pm
It is on for West Ham now.

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 2:35pm

Torres will score today Thumbs Up

Embarrassed       Torres was sh*te in front of goal,,,,,,,,again!   LOL

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 2:36pm

Serious 2nd half performance from the Hammers and a well deserved win,looks like Rafa will have to wait Wink

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 2:53pm
Whu deserved to win though their first goal should not have stood.

Posted By: dublin-hammer
Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 2:58pm

Good shout there son

I'm not a fascist, I'm a priest. Fascists dress in black and go around telling people what to do, whereas...priests... More drink!

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 3:02pm
Goals change games even iffy ones.

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 5:33pm
Ivanovic's attempt to block the 2nd goal was pitiful, to call it half-hearted would be kind.  Hammers picked it up 2nd half but Chelsea just folded embarrssingly, no fight, no stomach, nothing.  

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 5:55pm
Well done the Hammers, Diame bossed the second half, FACT Clap

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 10:51pm
Im hearing Rumours the players are in the Grafton Lounge on there Xmas party

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 11:34pm
In Dandelion BSM.

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2012 at 11:43pm

In Dandelion BSM.