Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 1:17pm

Topic: Conor Masterson
Subject: Conor Masterson
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 10:42am
Front of today's Star
13 year old lad from Lucan has signed for Liverpool
He had talked to Fergie and Man City also. Club is paying the family over a million to get him

Posted By: heyirish
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 10:51am

Front of today's Star
13 year old lad from Lucan has signed for Liverpool
He had talked to Fergie and Man City also. Club is paying the family over a million to get him

how does that work. Never heard of it before

karl pilkington to doctor when getting prostate examined: jesus thats high up that is, fcuking hell, right you're touching a lung now

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 10:57am
Not 100 percent but AFAIK they have got nearly quarter of a million so far
There may be a role for the father in the club

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 11:04am
Surprised to hear that because it's not like Liverpool to be paying over the odds for players Ermm

Posted By: ericdogg
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 11:23am

Surprised to hear that because it's not like Liverpool to be paying over the odds for players Ermm

The real question is should he be in the starting XI v Germany?

Fair play to the kid though...young to be going over and puts alot of expectation on him but hopefully it works out for him.

International Caps - 7

International Goals - 1

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 11:27am

Stokes' dad got something with Arsenal when he signed for them as well IIRC

All goals, red & yellow cards posted on https://mastodon.ie/@irish_abroad" rel="nofollow - mastodon and https://www.facebook.com/irishfootballstatisics" rel="nofollow - facebook

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 1:44pm
Originally posted by tetsujin1979 tetsujin1979 wrote:

Stokes' dad got something with Arsenal when he signed for them as well IIRC

Got a job as bus driver for youth team as well.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 1:48pm
lets not forget McShane captained United all through the underage teams. Would not be getting too carried away

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 3:06pm
Very true Citizen
The big test is when these players hit 17/18

This lad is also very big for a 13 year old. He will stop growing at some stage

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 5:06pm
6ft at 13 is unreal ! Best of luck to the chap anyway

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 6:44pm
6ft at 13!! That's ridiculous. Still very very young. Good luck to him though.

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2012 at 1:40am
A million for a 13 year old? Was Benitez involved in this transfer?

Best of luck to the kid but that is madness. As already said, kids dont really show they're real talent until at least 16.

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2012 at 6:47am
Great to see a kid from an "unfashionable club" get signed
Proves you don't have to play for one of the big DDSL to get noticed
Also lad from Firhouse Carmels chosen in u15 Ireland squad recently
How much,in any,will Lucan earn from this move or is it from any future big moves that they earn from?

Posted By: benchwarmer
Date Posted: 02 Aug 2012 at 6:58pm
Think we should forget about these kids signing for big clubs as soo many don't make it. If by some miracle one of these lads lines out for the first team; i'll be the first to do a back flip down o' connell street. James Mccarthy has only been well known for a few years now (even though he has been playing first team football since he was 16) and his thread is about 400 pages already. 

''I'm a utd fan cause me da was a utd fan''- Irish utd fan

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2012 at 2:35pm
My mates kid played against him last week for the emerging talent team, he said he is huge for his age and looked solid but got roasted by some other Kildare kid,Liverpool  scouts obviously seen something special.

Posted By: Doyler1993
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2015 at 10:17pm
Played yesterday for the liverpool u21 and only 16, must be doing something right. O hanlon and cleary also regularly appearing for the u21 with cleary training with the first team 

IT’S NO USE BOILING YOUR CABBAGE TWICE

Posted By: Bohsfan84
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2016 at 7:05pm
On the bench for Liverpool this evening.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2016 at 7:50pm
Good stuff. Would love to see him get some game time. Doubt he will though unless they're comfortably winning

Posted By: Bally O Telly
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2016 at 8:03pm
Good stuff, lets hope Liverpool gets lots on injures so he has a chance of getting one, although, I imagine he is not top of the list to come on a sub.

Posted By: Bally O Telly
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2016 at 8:08pm
Looks feckking tall here!! How tall is Rodgers?
 (5'7!!)

oops forgot link

http://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/first-team/182201-lfc-youngster-picks-up-irish-u16-award

Posted By: sligoybig
Date Posted: 15 Feb 2017 at 8:55pm
Named into Liverpool squad for a training camp while they have a 2 week break. Only 2 included with no previous first team experience. Should be a great experience for him. Sakho and Ilori kept him out of U23's to start the year but looks like he will get plenty of time now instead of being stuck in the 18's

http://www.liverpoolfc.comews/first-team/254234-reds-name-27-man-squad-for-la-manga-training-camp - http://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/first-team/254234-reds-name-27-man-squad-for-la-manga-training-camp

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2017 at 10:53am
Originally posted by sligoybig sligoybig wrote:

Named into Liverpool squad for a training camp while they have a 2 week break. Only 2 included with no previous first team experience. Should be a great experience for him. Sakho and Ilori kept him out of U23's to start the year but looks like he will get plenty of time now instead of being stuck in the 18's
Must have improved drastically in the last six months.

When last I saw him he was slow and cumbersome.
A lot of people cant believe Liverpool signed him, then again a lot can LOL

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2017 at 11:38am
Being called up to play with the seniors isn't necessarily an indication that he has improved I suppose. Sure look at Cleary for example, he was in a couple of matchday squads, yet has failed to make any real impact even since dropping down to Birmingham. Sometimes guys really are just called up "as an extra body" for training purposes.

Posted By: Cathalthesmart
Date Posted: 16 Feb 2017 at 4:58pm
Im very excited to see how he gets on for the next few years before inevitably his Irishness counts against him and he will be cast away.

Hi Lads

Posted By: Joe Dixon
Date Posted: 16 Feb 2017 at 5:41pm

I remember seeing him play twice for the Ireland U17's about two years ago and he was easily our best player on both occasions.  Maybe he got worse and then got better again..?

Not a Liverpool fan by the way Wink

Posted By: sligoybig
Date Posted: 16 Feb 2017 at 9:22pm
Cleary took time to even be a regular in the 18s and as far as i recall when he was involved in the match day squads it was due to numerous injuries (also reason Masterson involved now). Masterson is Liverpool's best centre back prospect(outside of Gomez). He is 18s captain this year. Although neither are extremely significant I would definitely put him ahead of Cleary. 

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2017 at 9:40pm
Originally posted by Cathalthesmart Cathalthesmart wrote:

Im very excited to see how he gets on for the next few years before inevitably his Irishness counts against him and he will be cast away.

To play football with (Marc) Wilson ?? 

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2017 at 11:05am
Originally posted by Joe Dixon Joe Dixon wrote:

I remember seeing him play twice for the Ireland U17's about two years ago and he was easily our best player on both occasions.  Maybe he got worse and then got better again..?

Not a Liverpool fan by the way Wink
Hope he makes the grade as we obviously need players coming through and I know his father.

I just wasnt impressed with him.

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2017 at 6:58pm
Good reviews from Liverpool Echo anyway.

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/connor-masterson-joins-liverpool-tour-12612799" rel="nofollow - http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/connor-masterson-joins-liverpool-tour-12612799

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2017 at 8:34am
Included in Liverpool's CL squad.

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2017 at 10:13am
More a box ticking "home grown" gig though no?

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2017 at 10:34am

More a box ticking "home grown" gig though no?

What I thought,  From my knowledge of CL registration process (Football Manager) You don't have to register players under the age of 21  but if you want to you can, some teams would do it as you say to meet the 4 players trained by the club rule or 8 players

Date Posted: 04 Apr 2018 at 2:10pm
In the Liverpool panel tonight.

Lad I work with knows him well, he was his hurling coach when Conor was younger, says he's a smashing young fella from a well grounded family and has a real chance to make a big name for himself, not necessarily with Liverpool, but time will tell as always.

Great for the kid anyhow to be involved in a CL quarter final. Clap

Date Posted: 04 Apr 2018 at 2:28pm
wtf wasn't he included in O'Neill's squad for Turkey, joke ~oneillout

Date Posted: 04 Apr 2018 at 2:32pm

Date Posted: 04 Apr 2018 at 3:11pm

In the Liverpool panel tonight.

Lad I work with knows him well, he was his hurling coach when Conor was younger, says he's a smashing young fella from a well grounded family and has a real chance to make a big name for himself, not necessarily with Liverpool, but time will tell as always.

Great for the kid anyhow to be involved in a CL quarter final. Clap
Yeah, I know his Da from when we were younger.

He is involved with Lucan United and also scouts for Liverpool now as a result.

Watched the u19s play Italy about 6 months ago and wasn't overly impressed with him as I didnt think he was very mobile but hopefully that will be improved upon.

Date Posted: 04 Apr 2018 at 6:14pm

Very true Citizen
The big test is when these players hit 17/18

This lad is also very big for a 13 year old. He will stop growing at some stage

almost six years later and so far so good

Date Posted: 04 Apr 2018 at 6:36pm
Makes the bench tonight!

Posted By: NewtNewbie
Date Posted: 04 Apr 2018 at 8:23pm
Great experience for the boy. Given the no. 63 shirt. Liverpool 3-0 up - if it continues this way maybe he'll get thrown on for the last 10 minutes.

Date Posted: 04 Apr 2018 at 8:28pm
Originally posted by NewtNewbie NewtNewbie wrote:

Great experience for the boy. Given the no. 63 shirt. Liverpool 3-0 up - if it continues this way maybe he'll get thrown on for the last 10 minutes.

Not a hope in hell LOL

Date Posted: 04 Apr 2018 at 8:28pm
Originally posted by NewtNewbie NewtNewbie wrote:

Not a f**king hope

Date Posted: 04 Apr 2018 at 8:43pm
He’d fancy a goal at this stage.

Posted By: valo88
Date Posted: 05 Apr 2018 at 11:44am
If they were playing any other mid table team on the weekend, you'd prob have fancied him to be given a run out.. might still if they get off to a good start. They wont want to risk Lovren or Van Dijk any longer than they have to anyway ahead of the second leg.

Posted By: Icy Bread People
Date Posted: 05 Apr 2018 at 2:32pm
I wonder if he'll get any first team action this season, maybe if there's a couple of pointless games at the end.
Robertson looked excellent last night. We could do with a Robertson or McTomminay emerging soon!

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2018 at 3:44pm
Robertson is an extremely positive full-back in terms of getting forward, but skillwise he wouldn't be an outstanding footballer. His crossing in particular is poor at times. He'd be useful to us if he were Irish though, certainly.

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2018 at 5:07pm

Robertson is an extremely positive full-back in terms of getting forward, but skillwise he wouldn't be an outstanding footballer. His crossing in particular is poor at times. He'd be useful to us if he were Irish though, certainly.

I would have considered that one of his strengths.

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2018 at 5:15pm

Crazy statement, he's a great crosser of the ball  Wacko

Posted By: Scissors Kick
Date Posted: 05 Apr 2018 at 5:23pm
Originally posted by Mr. Snrub Mr. Snrub wrote:

[QUOTE=The O'Shea]Crazy statement, he's a great crosser of the ball  Wacko

I wouldn't be over familiar with the player, but last night, I remember thinking he would be some LB if he could add decent crosses to his game, he scudded several into the nearest blue shirt.

Posted By: Pauldaly1984
Date Posted: 05 Apr 2018 at 9:13pm
I agree I think Robertson is a poor crosser of the ball. I think the scots prefer tierney to Robertson

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2018 at 9:30pm
Lads, it's not a Scotland or Robertson thread, take it elsewhere Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2018 at 2:18pm
There was no particular indication that further U-23 players could follow Conor Masterson into the first-team squad at this point, though Klopp reiterated his stance that the younger players must be ready to take their opportunity when it comes along.

https://www.thisisanfield.com/2018/04/jurgen-klopp-on-mohamed-salahs-injury-and-potential-replacement-vs-everton/?utm_source=webpush&utm_medium=Campaign&utm_campaign=webpush" rel="nofollow - https://www.thisisanfield.com/2018/04/jurgen-klopp-on-mohamed-salahs-injury-and-potential-replacement-vs-everton/?utm_source=webpush&utm_medium=Campaign&utm_campaign=webpush

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2018 at 4:05pm
I read somewhere that he has played defensive midfield for the U23s. Given the lack of coverage that Liverpool have there for the weekend, it’s possible that he could make it on the pitch at some point

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2018 at 4:19pm
Conor Masterson may make his Liverpool debut at centre-back, due to a dearth of options currently, although Klopp may be tempted to stick with Dejan Lovren and Virgil van Dijk, who were both superb against City on Wednesday.

https://www.thisisanfield.com/2018/04/will-changed-reds-lineup-yield-victory-in-merseyside-derby-everton-vs-liverpool-preview/" rel="nofollow - https://www.thisisanfield.com/2018/04/will-changed-reds-lineup-yield-victory-in-merseyside-derby-everton-vs-liverpool-preview/

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2018 at 11:45am
On the bench for the Merseyside derby.

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2018 at 11:55am
Wouldn't be surprised to see him getting some minutes on the pitch today.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2018 at 5:09pm
Good news. He has been offered a new contract at Liverpool. 

They must rate him quite highly. Hopefully he can get himself some game time next season. 

Posted By: J89
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2018 at 5:36pm

Top clubs will always keep some Irish youngsters hoping that something might come of them, Materson will be 20 this year and really needs to get out and get competitive first team football at senior level.

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2018 at 8:06pm
Close to full fitness after injury.

https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/liverpool-defender-conor-masterson-comeback-15034884" rel="nofollow - https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/liverpool-defender-conor-masterson-comeback-15034884

Klaven off to Cagliari today. Eases Masterson's path to the first team somewhat.

Posted By: connord96
Date Posted: 12 Dec 2018 at 10:01pm
Could potentially be in squad for upcoming games as Gomez and Matip are out injured leaving them with no central defensive cover. Although he is only back from injury himself 

Date Posted: 13 Dec 2018 at 3:57pm
He's a long long way down that list.

https://www.thisisanfield.com/2018/12/liverpools-backup-centre-back-options-this-winter-after-injuries-to-joe-gomez-joel-matip/" rel="nofollow - https://www.thisisanfield.com/2018/12/liverpools-backup-centre-back-options-this-winter-after-injuries-to-joe-gomez-joel-matip/

Date Posted: 13 Dec 2018 at 4:06pm
Think he has a chance. I Klopp trusted to have him in last season, good to have an out and out CB, at least on the bench 

Date Posted: 13 Dec 2018 at 4:32pm
He's better off playing week in week out in the Championship than sitting on the bench.

The best he can hope for is a game in the FA Cup and that is still very unlikely since they are playing away to Wolves.

Date Posted: 13 Dec 2018 at 4:47pm
Is he good enough for the Championship now? Genuine question, know nothing about him.

Posted By: johnvonp
Date Posted: 14 Dec 2018 at 4:23pm
Did Liverpool really pay close to a million pounds for him? 

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2018 at 4:43pm
Originally posted by johnvonp johnvonp wrote:

Believe that figure includes paying for his education (private school I have been told), accommodation, wages, trips home - basically covers everything

Posted By: 50%lesssugar&salt
Date Posted: 14 Dec 2018 at 4:52pm
It really is symptomatic of where we have fallen to when this gets the coverage it is getting. Would be great if he got a few minutes on the pitch and fantastic if he got a bit of a run in the team but making the bench in and of itself is no real benefit or good news story. 

Posted By: BippityBoop
Date Posted: 15 Dec 2018 at 12:05pm
According to this article he is included in the squad for the game against United: http:// www.balls.ie/football/conor-masterson-named-liverpool-squad-united-match-402924" rel="nofollow -  https://www.balls.ie/football/conor-masterson-named-liverpool-squad-united-match-402924

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2018 at 12:22pm
Originally posted by BippityBoop BippityBoop wrote:

According to this article balls.ie copied and pasted from liverpool's website, he is included in the squad for the game against United: http:// www.balls.ie/football/conor-masterson-named-liverpool-squad-united-match-402924" rel="nofollow -  https://www.balls.ie/football/conor-masterson-named-liverpool-squad-united-match-402924

fixed

All goals, red & yellow cards posted on https://mastodon.ie/@irish_abroad" rel="nofollow - mastodon and https://www.facebook.com/irishfootballstatisics" rel="nofollow - facebook

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2018 at 1:13pm

Originally posted by johnvonp johnvonp wrote:

Believe that figure includes paying for his education (private school I have been told), accommodation, wages, trips home - basically covers everything

A sizeable chunk of it went to his family as well.

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2018 at 3:07pm
Doesn't make the bench

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2018 at 3:26pm

Doesn't make the bench

Needs to hand in a transfer request

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2018 at 3:29pm

Doesn't make the bench

Needs to hand in a transfer request
Or get a decent toolbox.

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2018 at 3:33pm
He's being treated like sh*te, has to get out ASAP

Posted By: willmcc83
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 8:25am
Surely due a run out now with Lovren injured

Time To Get Behind Mick & The Team

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 8:28am
Originally posted by willmcc83 willmcc83 wrote:

Didn't a 16 year old Dutch defender cone on for lovren. Masterson didn't make the bench.

Posted By: willmcc83
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 8:33am
Originally posted by 50%lesssugar&salt 50%lesssugar&salt wrote:

Didn't a 16 year old Dutch defender cone on for lovren. Masterson didn't make the bench.

Would assume Klop brought the young lad to give him the experience of being around a match day squad. Doubt there was any intention on him being used although that's what happened in the end. I reckon Masterson would have to be ahead of him in pecking order.

Time To Get Behind Mick & The Team

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 8:33am

Would assume Klop brought the young lad to give him the experience of being around a match day squad. Doubt there was any intention on him being used although that's what happened in the end. I reckon Masterson would have to be ahead of him in pecking order.

Based on what? He looked decent last night. 

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 8:41am
It seems we've got a bit carried away on here with Masterson.
That 16 year old looked brilliant at times to be fair.

Posted By: 10 Box
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 9:30am
He should probably start looking for a loan before he turns into another Dan Cleary.

Posted By: ProudAndLoud
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 9:51am
Agree 100% but his Dad will call the shots !!

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 9:56am
Originally posted by ProudAndLoud ProudAndLoud wrote:

bit of a knob I hear?

Posted By: ProudAndLoud
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 9:57am
NO COMMENT

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 11:36am

Originally posted by ProudAndLoud ProudAndLoud wrote:

bit of a knob I hear?
Not just a bit and I grew up with him.

I hear he walks around Lucan Utd with his Liverpool tracksuit on him instead of a Lucan one (he's their DoF).

He rang one of my managers and asked him for the phone number of one of our players to poach him.

Neck of the kunt.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 11:50am
DoF?

Posted By: cardwizzard
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 11:59am

DoF?

Director of football, I presume...

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 12:02pm

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 12:13pm
Ki Jana Hoever is definitely ahead of Masterson in the pecking order. Has really impressed since arriving from Ajax : No accident he was in the squad last night. Wouldn't expect to see him play again for the first team this season, probably would expect to see him again the league cup next season depending on the draw. And Masterson would be behind him in that queue. 

Posted By: Jimbhoy
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 12:33pm
I've no idea why talented Irish players ever choose Man City, Chelsea, Man Utd, Liverpool or Arsenal when deciding which English club to join as a talented schoolboy. If either of my son's are talented footballers then I would send them to Southampton, Fulham, Norwich or anywhere else in the top 2 divisions. Ideally I would want them to go to Germany. Unless you are as good as Phil Foden you will have zero chance of ever playing first team football for any of these clubs. Even Foden is a bit player. Jadon Sancho is top drawer and had to leave to join Dortmund. Masterson needs to leave Liverpool to get regular 1st team football

Posted By: Conan
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 4:19pm
Probably be walking around Lucan in his Rochdale tracksuit next season based on current progress.

Posted By: belt
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 4:23pm
If he's not getting into squads with Lovren, Matip and Gomez all out, it's probably time to have a go elsewhere.

Time to start getting adult football at this stage of his development, especially when there are 16 year olds leap-frogging him.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 4:26pm
Originally posted by Jimbhoy Jimbhoy wrote:

I've no idea why talented Irish players ever choose Man City, Chelsea, Man Utd, Liverpool or Arsenal when deciding which English club to join as a talented schoolboy. If either of my son's are talented footballers then I would send them to Southampton, Fulham, Norwich or anywhere else in the top 2 divisions. Ideally I would want them to go to Germany. Unless you are as good as Phil Foden you will have zero chance of ever playing first team football for any of these clubs. Even Foden is a bit player. Jadon Sancho is top drawer and had to leave to join Dortmund. Masterson needs to leave Liverpool to get regular 1st team football

The standards are phenomenal at the clubs you listed as no go areas. If used correctly and for the right amount of time, it could make each kid a better player than say at one of the lesser clubs you have listed.

Sancho moved for 8 million on the basis that he had proven himself underage at MC and will (hopefully for him) kick on from there.

He has done well and probably, already, set up for life. 

Posted By: cullenswood
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 4:42pm
The education and level of training they would receive at these top clubs would be far superior to the lesser clubs.   
If you go to one of them armed with the knowledge that you will probably never play for them, but will leave them a much better player, then it makes sense to go to them.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 4:43pm
Originally posted by cullenswood cullenswood wrote:

The education and level of training they would receive at these top clubs would be far superior to the lesser clubs.    
If you go to one of them armed with the knowledge that you will probably never play for them, but will leave them a much better player, then it makes sense to go to them.

Spot on.

These clubs have the best of everything - they may never play for these clubs but they would have been trained by some of the best coaches in the world, and can see what they need to do to get to that level.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 4:52pm

Yeah that Hoeven chap is supposedly the best thing to come out their academy in years even Klopp highly rates him

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 4:54pm

In the words of Graham Rix - that 16 year old looks brilliant

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 5:42pm
Originally posted by belt belt wrote:

If he's not getting into squads with Lovren, Matip and Gomez all out, it's probably time to have a go elsewhere.

Time to start getting adult football at this stage of his development, especially when there are 16 year olds leap-frogging him.

Exactly. Time on the bench doesn't help either.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 6:04pm

In the words of Graham Rix - that 16 year old looks brilliant

She was 15, hence the prison sentence.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 6:31pm

Originally posted by cullenswood cullenswood wrote:

Spot on.

These clubs have the best of everything - they may never play for these clubs but they would have been trained by some of the best coaches in the world, and can see what they need to do to get to that level.

They were talking about this on Off The Ball and you're right about their football education and academic education. Once a player doesn't stay at a club for too long then it shouldn't impact their playing career in the long term.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 6:51pm
When you look at Masterson’s career so far it’s hard to know where he’s really at. 

Sure he signed for a big team from his school boy club and was probably financially rewarded as such. 

But Jimmy Dunne, Paudie O’Connor and Conor Shaugnessy are all of a similar age profile and have played more senior games. 

Right now it looks like those three are a good bit ahead of Masterson in their development, despite playing for lesser clubs. 

I’d like to see Masterson go on loan to a decent League 1 team to see if he’s up to senior football. 

Posted By: Dr. Pat
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 8:06pm

When you look at Masterson’s career so far it’s hard to know where he’s really at. 

Sure he signed for a big team from his school boy club and was probably financially rewarded as such. 

But Jimmy Dunne, Paudie O’Connor and Conor Shaugnessy are all of a similar age profile and have played more senior games. 

Right now it looks like those three are a good bit ahead of Masterson in their development, despite playing for lesser clubs. 

I’d like to see Masterson go on loan to a decent League 1 team to see if he’s up to senior football. 

I'd agree that those 3 are well ahead of him. To be 20 years old and never played a senior game is a bad sign.

Geremi has let Kilbane in here, cross comes out to Holland, 1:1!!