URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=40285
Printed Date: 24 Apr 2024 at 8:21pm

Topic: Eurovox / Openbox/Skybox/Dreambox
Subject: Eurovox / Openbox/Skybox/Dreambox
Date Posted: 25 Jul 2012 at 10:24pm
Was talking to a fella during the week who is living in Dublin and is still operating a Eurovox and receiving "Dodgy TV"

I Thought this had all stopped from the Codes Chorus and UPC had started using?

Anyone know if they still work?

Posted By: Percy
Date Posted: 25 Jul 2012 at 10:39pm
i reckon he's spoofing. we'd all be at it if it were trueCry

Posted By: Huggybeer
Date Posted: 25 Jul 2012 at 10:41pm
dont know what box im getting but, a lad in kildare town is supplying me with a box, linked to his through broadband and my sky dish

basically he buys the full package movies sports etc. and routes it through this box and broad band. anyone else heard of this 130 for the box and 120 for the year.

Date Posted: 25 Jul 2012 at 10:52pm
I'm gettin one in Derry next week through my sky and broadband £190 and £80 per year, every channel it's called magic box

Date Posted: 25 Jul 2012 at 11:15pm
lads got any more info on these boxes.I would be very interested in getting one if its possible.

Does anyone here already use this?

Date Posted: 25 Jul 2012 at 11:33pm
Originally posted by Huggybeer Huggybeer wrote:

dont know what box im getting but, a lad in kildare town is supplying me with a box, linked to his through broadband and my sky dish

basically he buys the full package movies sports etc. and routes it through this box and broad band. anyone else heard of this 130 for the box and 120 for the year.

His is 120 for the year too. I thought it was for a year supply of codes. This could be it either

Date Posted: 25 Jul 2012 at 11:37pm
€120 for the year would be class.Im paying €80 a month now.

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2012 at 6:44am

Have this for over two years now in the gaff. Costs me feck all thanks to my mate.

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2012 at 7:42am

Have this for over two years now in the gaff. Costs me feck all thanks to my mate.

Is that thru  Sham Telecoms Inc ®   ?

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2012 at 8:17am
Originally posted by WindBag WindBag wrote:

Is that thru  Sham Telecoms Inc ®   ?
A subsidiary

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2012 at 8:18am

I must re look into it so.

I know a pub in the Dublin Region who is receiving every Foreign Station under the sun for the football this way. Pays a premium for the year. Then some signal is bounced off the Dish at ur mans house to a mast in the Wicklow Mountains and back to the pub

80 a month for sky.....robbery

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2012 at 10:31am
Anymore info on this lads.PM me the details if ye do.

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 4:02pm
I got one of these bad boys installed today, quality !

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 4:06pm

where and how do u get one and do u install yourself

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 4:40pm
Originally posted by deco911 deco911 wrote:

where and how do u get one and do u install yourself

Your new missus will be well impressed wit one of these lad!!

Aerial/digibox installers around Derry are selling them, I got the guy to install it, £200 and then £100 every 6 months. All u need is a satellite dish and decent broadband

I'm sure if u knew your stuff you could buy one online and install it yourself

Every channel, this package would be about £100 per month with sky

Posted By: irishtoon
Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 7:01pm
you wont be able to install one yourself  quite complicated unless you know what your doing... some servers you can get some freezing on but  the again for 12-15 euro a month would this bother you..you need cable from sky dish and a connection to broadband where ever you want this box set up.so either needs a cable or some those things that send the broadband through the power lines are what id reccommend if you cannot run a cable stay away from the wireless they will break your balls in the future

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 7:05pm
Originally posted by irishtoon irishtoon wrote:

you wont be able to install one yourself  quite complicated unless you know what your doing... some servers you can get some freezing on but  the again for 12-15 euro a month would this bother you..you need cable from sky dish and a connection to broadband where ever you want this box set up.so either needs a cable or some those things that send the broadband through the power lines are what id reccommend if you cannot run a cable stay away from the wireless they will break your balls in the future

What do you mean about the wireless broad band breaking your balls?

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 7:07pm
if you try and use a wireless dongle with you box is what i meant sorry

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 7:09pm
Home plugs will do the job also

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 7:31pm

if you try and use a wireless dongle with you box is what i meant sorry

Grand, I have the bt infinity fibre optic thingy do no probs on that one. Do you have one installed irishtoo or sham - how have you found it if so. Seems too good to be true

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 8:07pm
i have yea,depending on the server your connected to you should have no problems,have done a good few of them

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 6:46am
Yeah have it as well for a couple of years now. Think the signal has gone about 5 times in that time wheere the host just needed to reset the server. I would say picture quality is about 90% of what it would be with a proper subscription. Definately the way to go.

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 9:05pm
Here's a link to a crowd who does them although bit surprised they advertising them on fb
https://www.facebook.com/groups/345695805512997/

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 10:09pm
be very careful very easy for these people to disappear as soon as problems start 

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 10:39pm

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 9:04pm
Getting Sorted with Via Sat Latvia

Every Premier League Game for the next season. In English

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2012 at 12:15pm

slightly off topic is there anyway you can remove those "close in 20sec " adds on first row sports very annoying?

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2012 at 2:26pm
Originally posted by daboi89 daboi89 wrote:

what size dish you going to have to install to get this ?
from what i hear its not very stable for the price of installing it could you send me on some details or a website your buying it on if there is one

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2012 at 12:07am

what size dish you going to have to install to get this ?
from what i hear its not very stable for the price of installing it could you send me on some details or a website your buying it on if there is one

Getting it Next Week

300 Euro this Year. 150 Onwards after That. Its Through My original Dish and Eircom Broadband?

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2012 at 12:08am

slightly off topic is there anyway you can remove those "close in 20sec " adds on first row sports very annoying?

Full Screen the Video

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2012 at 12:11am

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2012 at 11:23pm
maybe ive just been reading up on it past few days because i was very interested in it but from what ive read some people have it working but it can drop  in bad weather or even in light rain...id find it hard to believe he's using ur current dish tho as some people have had to get over a 2m dish to get it poorly dont get caught out what ever happens

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2012 at 12:12am
Will keep you posted

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2012 at 2:33am
Dreambox DM800HD Is the Model Lads

Every SKY Channel and Pay Per View one

80 a month days are finished    

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2012 at 2:42am
The fella living up the road from me has his UPC boxed tapped, he's getting the lot for free.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2012 at 11:48am

Dreambox DM800HD Is the Model Lads

Every SKY Channel and Pay Per View one

80 a month days are finished    
What was the cost of the install?What are you paying per month now?

Posted By: Stretchryan
Date Posted: 29 Aug 2012 at 1:27pm
Hi Lads,

Anyone know if these would work in Europe??

As i need to change my Sky Box when back for Germany game anyway.

Any info appreciated

Thanks

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2012 at 2:43pm
Originally posted by Stretchryan Stretchryan wrote:

Hi Lads,

Anyone know if these would work in Europe??

As i need to change my Sky Box when back for Germany game anyway.

Any info appreciated

Thanks
yea dreambox works as lost as you have the dish pointed at the rite angle from where you are

Date Posted: 03 Sep 2012 at 4:49pm
Heard there is some new thing on the block now, some fella comes out to the house, installs a dish and hooks up channels through the internet.

160 quid for the year

Date Posted: 03 Sep 2012 at 4:51pm
Thats it

Date Posted: 03 Sep 2012 at 5:13pm

Thats it

What speed broadband do you need?
I only have 3mb ,would that suffice?
I was told by a lad that has it ,his broadband is unusable when the tv is on.

Date Posted: 03 Sep 2012 at 10:37pm
8meg Eircom

Posted By: GockaRocka
Date Posted: 03 Sep 2012 at 10:43pm
I thought this was about

Date Posted: 04 Sep 2012 at 11:57am
Anyone know of someone that installs these around Roscommon/Athlone area?
I have Sky at the moment ,would I just need a decoder ,when I already have the sky dish?

Date Posted: 04 Sep 2012 at 12:15pm
3mb should be fine i know people running it on 1 mb and still able to use the internet fine it doesnt have a constant download its only 1 or 2kb every 8-9 seconds

I have Sky at the moment ,would I just need a decoder ,when I already have the sky dish?

plug and play get your self a set of home plugs pm me and if you want more details

Date Posted: 04 Sep 2012 at 2:22pm

Its horrid handy. a co axial cable from the dish , you will already have that goes into the back of the new box an ethernet cable goes into it aswell from ur modem.

and Wala!

Date Posted: 04 Sep 2012 at 6:21pm
cheers for the info lads.

Date Posted: 04 Sep 2012 at 7:41pm

Its horrid handy. a co axial cable from the dish , you will already have that goes into the back of the new box an ethernet cable goes into it aswell from ur modem.

and Wala!

and what about a stable c-line that doesnt freeze and how do you go about putting it in ???
or what if the box decides to brick up and stops working ?

Date Posted: 04 Sep 2012 at 10:30pm
Ill worry about that if it happens.

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2012 at 12:08am
Quick question lads,Does anyone know or recommend what the best box is for recording and EPG?
Many of the boxs seem to have only now and next EPG and cant record one programme while watching another.

Edit: did a bit more research and there is a box called Vu Duo + that has a 7 day EPG and recording .Anyone use this box?

http://www.satshop.tv/VU-Duo-Twin" rel="nofollow - http://www.satshop.tv/VU-Duo-Twin

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 12:52am
Got sorted for this today.It seems like a great job so far.Full Sky HD subscribtion.
No more paying sky €87 a month.

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 1:08am

Got sorted for this today.It seems like a great job so far.Full Sky HD subscribtion.

Whats was the damage? Install and SUB

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 1:41am

Whats was the damage? Install and SUB
€100 for the sub.I already had the dish, phone line and wiring installed from sky box so I just paid for the sat box .ordered it Monday and it arrived in post today .everything loaded on it so just plug it in. took me less than 5 mins to set up..

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 6:53pm

Does anyone know anything about Apple TV. Ive seen in a few places that you can get a plug in for FlashSportsStreams (been down for the last week) and LiveOnlineFooty. I think the apple device needs be jailbroken. 

Also do anyone know any devices that could stream Sopcast to TV?

I use Sopcast on my computer and have the equipment to link up to my TV but the computer over heats when i use it for a whole match.

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 8:43pm
the veetle app normally have the games streaming on some channel

If you want to watch streaming on ur iphone ( ie firstrowsports )

download the skyfire web browser from the app store

Posted By: installer2013
Date Posted: 07 Apr 2013 at 2:19pm
i have 1 of these satellite box types installed at home, works brilliantly aside from the odd glitch and can help anyone who needs info about it, just let me know

Play nice folks

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2013 at 12:54pm
Originally posted by installer2013 installer2013 wrote:

i have 1 of these satellite box types installed at home, works brilliantly aside from the odd glitch and can help anyone who needs info about it, just let me know

How much you charging for the whole package?

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2013 at 8:32pm

bump

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2013 at 10:02pm

bump

I have one and pay one hundred a year and one hundred for the box, thinking of upgrading to a box with a hard drive

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2013 at 10:49pm

bump

I have one and pay one hundred a year and one hundred for the box, thinking of upgrading to a box with a hard drive
that's great value. What all channels do you get with that? Skysports and movies included?

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2013 at 11:12pm
So how does this model work. Does it have to be a sky dish why wouldn't a free to air dish not work ?

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 1:35am
I paid 380 for the box , it's got a hard drive so very similar to sky + and a hundred per year subscription.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 9:13am

bump

that's great value. What all channels do you get with that? Skysports and movies included?

Yes I get sky movies and sport no Setanta
It works by taking a feed from your sky dish, box is also hooked to modum which decripts the signal

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 9:35am
Does it mean having to stick a dish outside the house?

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 9:39am
Originally posted by Guf10 Guf10 wrote:

Does it mean having to stick a dish outside the house?

yeah, you need a dish to get a feed from

Posted By: Trap for Pope
Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 9:50am
Would it work with a UPC receiver??

Living for Away days

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 10:08am
It can be any dish, doesn't have to be a sky one.

Posted By: curtains
Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 10:29am

bump

It works by taking a feed from your sky dish, box is also hooked to modum which decripts the signal

I get setanta on mine including the saturday matches and im up north!!

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 10:34am
Originally posted by curtains curtains wrote:

bump

There anything working for cable these days this neck of the woods?

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 10:40am

bump

There anything working for cable these days this neck of the woods?

Not as far as i know. Cable ones died of death a few years back. Im using the same as the people above. Sky dish, skybox M3 and a subscription to some guy every year. Its even better than the cable boxes, everything in hd too.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 10:50am
Would I be right in thinking sky will cop onto this like UPC did with the star box and eurovox?

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 11:03am

bump

Its down to the account the guy you get it off has with sky, if hes paying for satanta, then you get it, my guy doesent.

Dont know if sky can stop it unless they trace the cabel guys accounts and stop them.
It depends on how wide spread these get and how much sky believe they are loosing which will dicatate the effort the put in to their encryption. But for now once he pays his bill you should be ok.
A guy I know has this 2 years now

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 11:22am

bump

Its down to the account the guy you get it off has with sky, if hes paying for satanta, then you get it, my guy doesent.

Dont know if sky can stop it unless they trace the cabel guys accounts and stop them.
It depends on how wide spread these get and how much sky believe they are loosing which will dicatate the effort the put in to their encryption. But for now once he pays his bill you should be ok.
A guy I know has this 2 years now

Yeh i know people who have had it nearly 3 years. It is hard to stop as you have a dish which picks up the sky signal either way and the guy who pays the bill has a personal server that you use to get the decryption code from his sky package. Unless sky find his server it is extremely hard to track.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 11:34am
It will be very hard to stop it but Im sure Sky are looking into ways to prevent it.

The one I have gives me the full Sky HD package ,Setanta and Racing UK.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 12:24pm
Does these lads just work locally around where yous live lads or will they do it anywhere?

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 12:55pm

Does these lads just work locally around where yous live lads or will they do it anywhere?
My one came in the post and all I had to do was plug it in and connect the 2 cables for the dish.2 minutes and it was all set up.Had it within 3 days of ordering it.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 1:13pm

my lad is local, but he offerd to set a mate of mine up in another area and him supply the boxes

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 5:09pm

My one came in the post and all I had to do was plug it in and connect the 2 cables for the dish.2 minutes and it was all set up.Had it within 3 days of ordering it.

any chance of an aul pm with details of who I need to contact lad?

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 7:42pm
another thread on this too

mine came pre programmed already. just plug it in and away ya go. the box is programmed to thinking it has ur mans card in it. as long as he pays his bill its sound

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 10:31pm
Anyone know anyone in the Dublin Area that could supply me PM if possible SmileSmile.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 11:14pm

By two cables do you mean one for your broadband modem and one for the dish?

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2013 at 1:00am

By two cables do you mean one for your broadband modem and one for the dish?

No,if you want to use a box that can record you need to have 2 tuners so will need 2 coaxial cables going into the box from the dish .If you dont have a box that records then it is just one cable from the dish to the box.
also an ethernet cable from your modem to the box .

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2013 at 1:06pm
ye , you have a co-axial cable that comes from the dish to the box, this receives all the channels from the satellite. the ethernet cable coming from the box to the modem is for when the box goes to a scrambled channel. it connects to the server (all ip address pre programmed on the box from who you buy) and then when it connects the channel becomes available. if you turn off you internet you loose connection

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2013 at 7:13pm
Alright Cheers daboi and rossiman I shall definatly consider this SmileSmile.

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2013 at 9:42pm
Its some Job

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2013 at 8:00pm
Got one of these set up over the weekend. 1500 channels but no remote Cry

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2013 at 8:04pm

Got one of these set up over the weekend. 1500 channels but no remote Cry

Buy a logitech Harmony remote on amazon.You can programme them to work a few different things and you just plug into your PC to programme it to the different devices.I bought mine for one of these boxes and its great.What box did you get and have you all the sports ,movies etc?

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2013 at 8:12pm
Rossie, you want to have seen me at the yoke going up and down manually. Got as far as 100 and quit LOL

Mate of mine gave me the box and i just plugged it in and it loaded up saying i had 1500 channels. I'll take a day off work to discover what i have and write them all down Embarrassed

Ill look into that remote on amazon so. 

Box is this thing -

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2013 at 8:25pm

Rossie, you want to have seen me at the yoke going up and down manually. Got as far as 100 and quit LOL

Mate of mine gave me the box and i just plugged it in and it loaded up saying i had 1500 channels. I'll take a day off work to discover what i have and write them all down Embarrassed

Box is this thing -

Thats a Free to air box and you should get all the free English channels but not sure what else.Its not the same thing as what is being talked about here,It cannot be set up to get Sky.

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2013 at 8:26pm
Ill get me coat LOLEmbarrassed

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2013 at 8:31pm

Ill get me coat LOLEmbarrassed

Whats being talked about here can be done for about €200 or less,Box + year subscription.

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2013 at 8:33pm
I didnt even notice there was a satellite hanging out the back of my house until my mate pointed it out LOL

Ill look into it.

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2013 at 10:09pm

Box is this thing -

Thats a Free to air box and you should get all the free English channels but not sure what else.Its not the same thing as what is being talked about here,It cannot be set up to get Sky.

Classic McG!

Rossie will be getting one of these soon so will need your expertise

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2013 at 10:21pm
Is there anyway to get us channels with these boxes? NBC, Abc etc?

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2013 at 10:32pm

Box is this thing -

Classic McG!

Rossie will be getting one of these soon so will need your expertise

Sono,I'm not sure if McG's mate told him the proper use for thisEmbarrassed

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2013 at 12:08am

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2013 at 4:43am
I'm definatly considering this but have one question. Is multiroom possible and if so would I need a cable from the modem for all boxes throughout the house??  Is anyone else modem far away from their TV/Box and how do they deal with this?

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2013 at 8:02am
One solution is to buy home plugs. Most routers/modems have a few ethernet slots. You'll need an extension lead obviously.
http://www.ebay.ie/sch/Home-Networking-Connectivity-/11176/i.html?_from=R40&_nkw=home+plugs" rel="nofollow - http://www.ebay.ie/sch/Home-Networking-Connectivity-/11176/i.html?_from=R40&_nkw=home+plugs

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2013 at 9:39am
I have two boxes in the house and used home plugs on one of them but I didn't think they worked great , the picture froze a bit .I have since wired this box to the modem and its perfect since. My broadband is 3mb so that might have been a factor.you can also buy a gadget like a magic eye that sends the picture to another tv but it will still need wires to be run. If you can do it I would run the cable direct to the box's.
Sham, , those home plugs dont have usb connections , ,they work on ethernet cables.not sure what you would need an extension cable for ?

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2013 at 9:41am
Can you only get Sky channels or can you get US ones also?