URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=40256
Printed Date: 03 May 2024 at 9:01am

Topic: Olympic Boxing Irish Team 2012
Subject: Olympic Boxing Irish Team 2012
Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 12:04pm
This one deserves a thread of its own lads as we have five lads and one talented lady lining out for us, great piece in the indo on nevin and oneill on sunday , anyone read it?

I saw on the rte news that they are targeting six medals , fair play they are ambitious , does anyone know the draw for the opening bouts ?

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 12:24pm
I don't think any of the boxers are ranked which will make the possibility of medaling even more difficult.

Paddy Barnes and Katie Taylor should both medal - hopefully gold.

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 12:33pm
Disgrace with what they did with the rankings
Think Adam Nolan might have an outside chance aswel

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 12:44pm
If they can match the 3 they got last time it will be a good return.Katie for Gold . I think Nevin is our best chance of a medal after Katie. With a good draw any of the lads are capable of getting a medal but the draw makes a huge difference.All are more than capable fighters but the rankings will make it likely for a tough draws early on.

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 12:55pm

Ireland has qualified boxers for the following events

Men
Athlete Event Round of 32 Round of 16 Quarterfinals Semifinals Final
Opposition
Result
Opposition
Result
Opposition
Result
Opposition
Result
Opposition
Result
Rank
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paddy_Barnes" rel="nofollow - Paddy Barnes http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boxing_at_the_2012_Summer_Olympics_%E2%80%93_Mens_light_flyweight" rel="nofollow - Light flyweight
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Conlan" rel="nofollow - Michael Conlan http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boxing_at_the_2012_Summer_Olympics_%E2%80%93_Mens_flyweight" rel="nofollow - Flyweight
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Joe_Nevin" rel="nofollow - John Joe Nevin http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boxing_at_the_2012_Summer_Olympics_%E2%80%93_Mens_bantamweight" rel="nofollow - Bantamweight
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adam_Nolan" rel="nofollow - Adam Nolan http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boxing_at_the_2012_Summer_Olympics_%E2%80%93_Mens_welterweight" rel="nofollow - Welterweight
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Darren_ONeill" rel="nofollow - Darren O'Neill http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boxing_at_the_2012_Summer_Olympics_%E2%80%93_Mens_middleweight" rel="nofollow - Middleweight
Women
Athlete Event Round of 16 Quarterfinals Semifinals Final
Opposition
Result
Opposition
Result
Opposition
Result
Opposition
Result
Rank
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Katie_Taylor" rel="nofollow - Katie Taylor http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boxing_at_the_2012_Summer_Olympics_%E2%80%93_Womens_lightweight" rel="nofollow - Lightweight BYE

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 12:56pm
good luck to them

Golds for Barnes and Taylor

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 12:57pm
whats the timetable folks ?

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 12:58pm
Since Taylor is ranked she is 1 fight away from a medal.

The same should apply to Barnes. Not entirely sure but the Irish boxers were unable to compete in some of the ranking events therefore ended up being unseeded.

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 1:08pm
Unless a disaster then Katie should get a medal. But lets prey for Gold. The lads have a bit of a harder time.
Really the boxers are our only big hope for a medal

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 1:59pm

Great idea Milla.......superb boxing team, always do us proud.

Posted By: JimmyRabbitte
Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 2:31pm
Best of luck to them all.

When does the boxing start?

Lois: Peter, what did you promise me?
Peter: That I wouldn't drink at the stag party.
Lois: And what did you do?
Peter: Drank at the stag pa-- ... Whoa. I almost walked into that one.

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 2:36pm
28th jimmy but i cannot find any details of the bouts themselves, or the draw , anyone know ?

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 2:59pm
http://www.london2012.com/boxing/schedule-and-results/index.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.london2012.com/boxing/schedule-and-results/index.html

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 3:02pm
when you drill down hoosay there are no mentions of the actual bouts

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 3:39pm

Mrs FW's daughters are cousins of Michael Conlan so their Da is going over to support the lad, the bouts haven't been given times yet as far as I know (up to last weekend anyhow) but he is I believe fighting on 30th alright (as per the schedule).

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 3:57pm

when you drill down hoosay there are no mentions of the actual bouts
Oh yeah you're right it just gives times for what time each round of competition starts, not the individual bouts.

Don't think the draw is made until Friday so they'll probably put the times of the individual bouts up then.

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 4:02pm
I've been talking to some boxing coaches.

All 5 men are in with decent chances of medals. The draws will be crucial. In the last Olympics, all of our boxers lost to finalists.

The expectations on KT are huge. Hope she doesn't get nobbled or lets the occasion get to her.

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 4:30pm
all our fighters have a genuine chance of winning a medal but  the draws are crucial .With a bit of luck we will have plenty of them going into medal fights.

Posted By: tony grealish
Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 5:19pm
They are all in with a shout, I think. I really like the look of Adam Nolan and think he could do well - he was very impressive in the national seniors in what was a really tough welterweight division.

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 9:00pm

Mrs FW's daughters are cousins of Michael Conlan so their Da is going over to support the lad, the bouts haven't been given times yet as far as I know (up to last weekend anyhow) but he is I believe fighting on 30th alright (as per the schedule).

Fella I usually sit beside in work has trained with most off these lads(been sent to a different office the past 4 weeks now so aint seen him in a while for any updates on them) but he was saying that Conlan is the one he would predict to come home with a medal out off the lot off them Clap So am gonna predict Conlan for Gold, Barnes silver and Taylor Gold, Nevin Bronze but nothing for the other two unfortunately

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 11:59pm
Old McCullough fight v Cardoz on Setanta now
What a busy fighter he was

Posted By: BoxingFan
Date Posted: 25 Jul 2012 at 12:30pm
Just spotted this thread. Draws for boxing will be made on Friday after the general weigh ins so a complete schedule or who fights who should be available then and it will look more clearer.

Re rankings it hasn't been stated but JJ Nevin should be seeded as he is ranked number 4 and Darren ONeill may be seeded as he is ranked number 7 (with the 6th ranked competitior not in the games) so should move him to rank 6. Not sure if they will seed top 4 or top 6

Date Posted: 25 Jul 2012 at 1:30pm
thanks for that boxing fan , welcome aboard Clap

Date Posted: 25 Jul 2012 at 2:00pm

Fella I usually sit beside in work has trained with most off these lads(been sent to a different office the past 4 weeks now so aint seen him in a while for any updates on them) but he was saying that Conlan is the one he would predict to come home with a medal out off the lot off them Clap So am gonna predict Conlan for Gold, Barnes silver and Taylor Gold, Nevin Bronze but nothing for the other two unfortunately

Conlan definitely in with a medal chance, not sure I'd be predicting gold however Philliy, but you've heard what you heard so fair enough.  Mick Dowling has always sung his praises anyhow anytime I've watched the amateur boxing on telly, so hopefully we all have plenty to shout about with Conlan and the rest of them, fair balls to tem all.

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2012 at 1:44am
any updates needed, shoot them my way and i'll help if i can :)
The draw takes place at 2pm on Friday so more will be known then

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2012 at 7:50am
We could have 7 boxersShocked

Ward to learn fate after late bid for Olympic reprieve

WESTMEATH boxer Joe Ward will learn this morning if a last minute appeal to make the Ireland team for the Olympic Games was successful.

Ward, who controversially failed to book his ticket for London from the final European qualifiers in Turkey, and his coach Eddie Bolger, have mounted a high powered legal challenge to the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) in a bid to secure a place in Billy Walsh’s squad. 

Westmeath fighter Ward is the highest ranked boxer in Europe not to have qualified for the Games after suffering a shock 18-15 points defeat to Turkish fighter Bahran Mazzafer. 

The Irish Amateur Boxing Association mounted numerous appeals including a letter to the President of the International Amateur Boxing Association, Dr Ching-Kuo Wu, but their pleas fell on deaf ears. 

However the Olympic Council of Ireland President Pat Hickey last night revealed Ward, a European light-heavyweight champion, has made a spectacular late bid to become and Olympian. 

Hickey said: “Everybody wants to be an Olympian so they go to CAS. Joe Ward’s appeal is being heard tonight (Wednesday) at 9.30pm and the verdict is due in the morning. 

Hickey added that Ward is undertaking the case himself. 

“He has made an appeal directly to CAS. The Olympic Council of Ireland aren’tinvolved and neither are the Irish Amateur Boxing Association. 

“It is directly against the International Boxing Federation. Because they are involved the International Olympic Committee are involved. Joe has engaged a barrister based here called David Casserly who actually represented Joanna Mills in the appeal over the 400m relay team earlier this month.’’ 

Hickey said he was unsure of how the verdict would go but expressed hope that Ward would be successful. 

“The verdict is due in the morning. My understanding is that if he won there is a Montenegrin boxer that has been selected for the Games in his place. The Montenegrin would go out but apparently that is unsure. 

“They didn’t ask us for help or assistance or the Irish Amateur Boxing Association. It is a solo run and now all the legals are involved and when the legals are involved there is little we can do. 

“He will either win or lose. Personally speaking I would love to see Joe Ward in the Games. He is a great young athlete and there is not a doubt that the decision made against him in Turkey had great question marks over it. But knowing my experience of appeals it had to happen at that time (Turkey) while it was fresh and hot. 

“It is hard to see how it will go given how much time has gone by but I would dearly love to see him in the Games. ” 

Cant see it happening though

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2012 at 8:58am
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/18986840" rel="nofollow - http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/18986840

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2012 at 9:26am
Originally posted by tonyjaa tonyjaa wrote:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/18986840" rel="nofollow - http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/18986840
Good read that.....PortLaosie south of Dublin

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2012 at 9:29am
isnt casserly the same lawyer who won the case for daniel kearns ???

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 11:37am
So draw today?

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 12:09pm

So draw today?

2pm.hopefully the lads get good draws.

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 3:11pm
Taylor got that Queen Underwood wan or Jonas in the quarters. She's the toughest opponent that she could have gotten I think?

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 3:25pm
Barnes and Conlon got a bye which is great news.

Really hope Barnes wins gold.

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 3:26pm

Why cos he flys a tri colour from his balcony and is from Belfast??

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 3:27pm
I like the cut of his jib!

Even though he has already won an Olympic medal, he stayed in the amateur ranks while many others would have went pro.

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 3:28pm

Why cos he flys a tri colour from his balcony and is from Belfast??

Posted By: IrishPride
Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 3:30pm
Gwan Barnes

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 3:35pm
Dunno why that posted twice
Can someone bang up the Irish draws?

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 3:37pm

Dunno why that posted twice
Can someone bang up the Irish draws?

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 6:19pm

Even though he has already won an Olympic medal, he stayed in the amateur ranks while many others would have went pro.

Actually better off financially staying amateur believe it or not Horsey, wasnt aware that when you turn pro you have to sell so many off the seats in the arena yourself or take the hit yourself financially so unless he is signed up by a big time promoter he's better off getting his 40-50k grant a year from the olympic council/boxing federation(or whatever they are called) and has full usage off a courtesy car for going to training Shocked

Posted By: dublin-hammer
Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 6:26pm
http://www.rte.ie/sport/olympics/boxing/2012/0727/330861-taylor-faces-tough-route-for-london-gold/" rel="nofollow - http://www.rte.ie/sport/olympics/boxing/2012/0727/330861-taylor-faces-tough-route-for-london-gold/

Think it has the draws in there

I'm not a fascist, I'm a priest. Fascists dress in black and go around telling people what to do, whereas...priests... More drink!

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 6:47pm
Taylor v The Russian in the final so?

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 7:00pm

Actually better off financially staying amateur believe it or not Horsey, wasnt aware that when you turn pro you have to sell so many off the seats in the arena yourself or take the hit yourself financially so unless he is signed up by a big time promoter he's better off getting his 40-50k grant a year from the olympic council/boxing federation(or whatever they are called) and has full usage off a courtesy car for going to training Shocked

It all depends on how far an amateur thinks they can go Philily.If an amateur is willing to have 2 years of making peanuts while moving up the ranks and they believe they will make to be contenders in there division there is most definantly better money to be made long term in the pro's.The seating thing is usually down to the promoters of the card and isn't always used.
I know a lad who is a pro and he has never being caught like that.

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 7:23pm
Estimated Nevin will be in the ring at 2.15 tomorrow and O Neill at 3.15.

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 8:14pm
Check out the medal record for Katie Taylor LOL

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Katie_Taylor" rel="nofollow - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Katie_Taylor

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 8:28pm

Check out the medal record for Katie Taylor LOL

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Katie_Taylor" rel="nofollow - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Katie_Taylor
Outrageous

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 9:35pm

It all depends on how far an amateur thinks they can go Philily.If an amateur is willing to have 2 years of making peanuts while moving up the ranks and they believe they will make to be contenders in there division there is most definantly better money to be made long term in the pro's.The seating thing is usually down to the promoters of the card and isn't always used.
Yeah know what you mean and was what I was hinting at about getting picked up by a top promoter(not too many about these days) but even still Barnes when he goes pro will attract a decent crowd of followers at the start but fights 4-9 they will naturally drop off as with most boxers until the level off opposition gets alot better and he'll then most likely be left with location costs etc.. Also forgot to add in the annual medical bill for scans etc that most pro's have to pay themselves can be a major factor in keeping them amateur as well but as you say they have to have the long term aim to believe they can make it 

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2012 at 10:27pm

Yeah know what you mean and was what I was hinting at about getting picked up by a top promoter(not too many about these days) but even still Barnes when he goes pro will attract a decent crowd of followers at the start but fights 4-9 they will naturally drop off as with most boxers until the level off opposition gets alot better and he'll then most likely be left with location costs etc.. Also forgot to add in the annual medical bill for scans etc that most pro's have to pay themselves can be a major factor in keeping them amateur as well but as you say they have to have the long term aim to believe they can make it 

your're spot on what your sayin but at some stage the fighter has to take the plunge and back themselves.Getting a few sponsors  on board is the way most lads do it starting out,also an medal at the games andther will be no problem attracting the right people to guide you.

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 12:45pm
Channel 480 sky HD for those of you who don't have RTE

Starts at 1.25

Posted By: da scientist
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 1:20pm
foxtel not showing here, anyone have a link to watch it?

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 1:30pm
Nevin at 2.15 hrs and O'Neill at 3.15 hrs today.

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 1:59pm
Russian v argey here , russki 5-3 up

Posted By: trapnoclue
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 2:05pm
darren o neil 12/1 to win gold,seems a good price?anyone in the know?

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 2:07pm
Russian done an ivan drago on the argie , 12-5 nearly knocked him out

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 2:21pm
Brazilian fella won the last one ,

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 2:23pm
John joe nevin up now !! Fighting a dane

Posted By: Doyler
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 2:25pm
Come on John Joe!! 

Look at these scenes, just look at these scenes!

"it's too strong lads!"

Posted By: Doyler
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 2:29pm
Doing very well here, should take this fight no bother.

Look at these scenes, just look at these scenes!

"it's too strong lads!"

Great start

5-2 is a good start now hopefully same again

great reception for Nevin.He's well in control.

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 2:31pm
Hes looking class

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 2:39pm
Brilliant cheer for him , English crowd obviously backing our team too

Posted By: IrishPride
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 2:40pm
Very good from Nevin

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 2:57pm
Ver good and impressive performance from Nevin, looked very comfortable.

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 3:09pm
O'neill has a Nigerian , that will be tough

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 3:11pm
Milla you going to any of the events?

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 3:14pm
Originally posted by Guf10 Guf10 wrote:

Milla you going to any of the events?

Yeah off to the boxing semi finals all day Friday 10th also have olympic park tickets next week

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 3:14pm
I watched the Nevin fight on BBC ,very good commentary.Richie Woodhall does a great job.Just rewatched it on RTE Jimmy Magee is terrible ,needs to be retired,brilliant over the years but needs to call it a day.Mick Dowling is a f**king prick.

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 3:34pm
Ogogo wins for team gb , but has a tough fight next ,

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 3:35pm
Darren is up

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 3:37pm
Gwan Darren

Jaysis that Nigerian is tall.

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 3:46pm
Class

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 5:37pm
When is Nolan up lads?

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 5:40pm

When is Nolan up lads?

Tomorrow evening.

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 5:54pm
Good stuff , a clean sweep into the last 16 would be great ,

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2012 at 7:04pm
Good momentum from the lads,will catch on in camp

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2012 at 10:03am
Any boxers on today if so what time?

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2012 at 10:04am
Paddy Barnes in the 8.30pm session tonight i believe

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2012 at 10:45am
Don't think Barnes up yet bhob he has a bye , pretty sure it's Nolan , if he wins then all the lads are in last 16

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2012 at 11:20am
Nolan on at 830pm

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2012 at 11:28am
Hes not on til 10.15 at the earliest.

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2012 at 11:30am
I assume ya mean pm kerzy. who s he fighting?

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2012 at 11:34am

I assume ya mean pm kerzy. who s he fighting?

Adam Nolan. He's fighting an Ecuadorian.

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2012 at 11:43am
kerrzy is dead right ,late start it will be 10.25pm at the earliset.

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2012 at 11:55am
1/14 to beat him, 7/2 to win a medal

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 10:35am
right lads who is up next ? all our fighters are in the last 16 Clap

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 10:47am

right lads who is up next ? all our fighters are in the last 16 Clap

John Joe Nevin on Wednesday I think

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 5:13pm
Last 16 shapes up as follows

Wednesday August 1st
John Joe Nevin v Kanat Abutalipov (last 16) 2.00 pm approx.
Thursday August 2nd
Darren O’Neill v Stefan Hartel (last16) 2.45 pm approx.
Friday August 3rd
Michael Conlan v Duke Micah or Jason Lavigilante (last 16) 8.45 pm approx.
Adam Nlan v Andrey Zamkovoy (last 16) 9.45 pm approx
 Saturday August 4th
Paddy Barnes v Thomas essomba or abdelali daraa (last 16) 2.00 pm approx

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 6:23pm
according to the olympic pull out in the irish mail michael conlon and paddy barnes are on from 1.30pm tuesday.any idea lads on exact times or is it dependant on how quick the preceeding matches are?

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 6:39pm
Lads just use this website. All you need to know  http://www.london2012.com/schedule-and-results/" rel="nofollow - http://www.london2012.com/schedule-and-results/

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 6:44pm

according to the olympic pull out in the irish mail michael conlon and paddy barnes are on from 1.30pm tuesday.any idea lads on exact times or is it dependant on how quick the preceeding matches are?

Barnes isn't fighting until saturday.Conlon is fighting Friday.

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 9:35pm
Conlon up Friday according to that , I will do up a list tomorrow at work when I am getting paid for it

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 10:12pm
lads, how does a countback work? been driving me nuts last few days and hard find an answer on t'internet

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 10:20pm
Vidic there's 5 judges , for the count back they take off your best and worst score and only take the scores from three judges

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2012 at 10:29pm

Vidic there's 5 judges , for the count back they take off your best and worst score and only take the scores from three judges

so easily explained and so hard to get an explanation for

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 12:08pm
i posted the times and dates for all the last 16 there its on pg 5 lads

Posted By: PaulMcGrath5
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 4:55pm
Paddy Barnes is fighting on Saturday against Thomas Essomba of the Cameroon in his last 16 match. Anyone shed any light on whether this Cameroon lad is any good compared to Barnes?

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2012 at 10:36am
so john joe is up at around 2 , bring it on !

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2012 at 11:40am
Originally posted by BoxingFan BoxingFan wrote:

Last 16 shapes up as follows

Wednesday August 1st
John Joe Nevin v Kanat Abutalipov (last 16) 2.00 pm approx.
Thursday August 2nd
Darren O’Neill v Stefan Hartel (last16) 2.45 pm approx.
Friday August 3rd
Michael Conlan v Duke Micah or Jason Lavigilante (last 16) 8.45 pm approx.
Adam Nlan v Andrey Zamkovoy (last 16) 9.45 pm approx
 Saturday August 4th
Paddy Barnes v Thomas essomba or abdelali daraa (last 16) 2.00 pm approx

Nice wan BoxingFan, thanks........Conlan Friday night.  What's the story with Conlan's opponent BoxingFan?  ie, is he dangerous/fancied?