URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=40187
Printed Date: 20 Apr 2024 at 3:48am

Topic: craft beer, real ales and the like
Subject: craft beer, real ales and the like
Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 5:17pm
Any one else on here a bit geeky about their beers? I know a few of the Sunderland lads like their ales? Any favourites? Any recommendations ?

Have a couple of bottles of this beauty in tonight, looking forward to it!!

http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/10099/33832/" rel="nofollow - http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/10099/33832/

If there is another similar thread please join them, thanks

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 5:40pm
try to buy a new bottle every time I go to the offy although only something I started recently, get sick of drinking same muck every week

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 5:41pm
what sort of stuff you like vidic?You a lager man or do you like to stray?

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 5:45pm
The wackier the better! started on the stouts after poland, used to try the lagers alright but gone off them, svyturys form Lithuania is worth a try although not a craft brew by any stretch.

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 5:54pm

The wackier the better! started on the stouts after poland, used to try the lagers alright but gone off them, svyturys form Lithuania is worth a try although not a craft brew by any stretch.

No but still a great lager. I love the imperial Russian stouts, great beers with a great history- Heavy on the alcohol to survive the trips to the  Russian Imperial palaces. Thornbridge do a great one if you come across it. Sam Smith's also do a good one, although I refer their oatmeal. O'hara's in carlow brew a decent dry Irish stout though I must say I still love  the Guinness original in the bottle.
Tried any American IPA's? Some great beers there

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 6:05pm

No but still a great lager. I love the imperial Russian stouts, great beers with a great history- Heavy on the alcohol to survive the trips to the  Russian Imperial palaces. Thornbridge do a great one if you come across it. Sam Smith's also do a good one, although I refer their oatmeal. O'hara's in carlow brew a decent dry Irish stout though I must say I still love  the Guinness original in the bottle.
Tried any American IPA's? Some great beers there

Not an IPA man at all! Have to say my favourite one is porterhouse plain, tried loads of diff ones last year in China and still reckon thats the best. Yeah we tried some mad stouts in Poland, none under 9%, dont think have had any russian ones

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 6:09pm
They aren't actually Russian though, same as IPA's aren't Indian! I love both American and English IPAs myself, even if they are so different. Porterhouse have a few decent beers, though the last time I was in the one over here I was locked!

Posted By: Padraig
Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 8:24pm
Tried O'Hara's Lean Follain extra stout the other night. Great stuff.  http://www.carlowbrewing.com/beer_detail.php?Pid=19" rel="nofollow - http://www.carlowbrewing.com/beer_detail.php?Pid=19

Another that I had recently was Wells Banana Bread Beer  http://www.wellsandyoungs.co.uk/home/our-beers/ales/wells-banana-bread-beer" rel="nofollow - http://www.wellsandyoungs.co.uk/home/our-beers/ales/wells-banana-bread-beer

Posted By: Eamonn68
Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 8:33pm
http://www.mickeys.com/Default.aspx" rel="nofollow - http://www.mickeys.com/Default.aspx
this is lovely if you can find it

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 9:11pm
Originally posted by Padraig Padraig wrote:

Tried O'Hara's Lean Follain extra stout the other night. Great stuff.  http://www.carlowbrewing.com/beer_detail.php?Pid=19" rel="nofollow - http://www.carlowbrewing.com/beer_detail.php?Pid=19

Another that I had recently was Wells Banana Bread Beer  http://www.wellsandyoungs.co.uk/home/our-beers/ales/wells-banana-bread-beer" rel="nofollow - http://www.wellsandyoungs.co.uk/home/our-beers/ales/wells-banana-bread-beer

That banana bread beer isn't for me. carlow do some good beers though don't think I have had that
Mickeys is typical chemical sh*teDead

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 9:17pm
This stuff is the dogs bollocks!best of Czech, we sell it in our boozer, flies  out!!  
http://www.kozel.cz/agechecker" rel="nofollow - http://www.kozel.cz/agechecker

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 9:31pm
Kozel is a decent lager alright. Would go one now!!

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 9:36pm
Bit of a beer geek myself. O Hara's do a stout especially for marks and spencer- have a few bottles for tonight celebrating our league win. Lovely stuff

Posted By: AndyMc
Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 9:55pm
Smithwicks Pale Ale is available in a lot of pubs and is worth a try.

Simon: No-one brings a bag of sh*t to a pub

Jay: Your dad does

Simon: Does he?

Jay: Yeah, your mum

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 10:36pm
Work part time in a off licence, people seem to always be going for these beers.....

http://www.eightdegrees.ie/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/HG_6pk.jpg" rel="nofollow">Howling Gale 6 Pack

Had a bottle of this myself before, bit of apple flavour about it. Kinda like a cider but not as acidic.

This stuff is always going off the shelf. Fairly strong volume but must taste very nice with the amount that is shifted.

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 11:04pm
That baltika stuff is gorgeous, although I prefer the one with the gold label. Nice beer

Posted By: ShannonHibs10
Date Posted: 19 Jul 2012 at 11:40pm
Old Engine Oil Stout is a nice one. Expensive but worth a try.

London Pride, Strong Suffolk are very nice Ale's. Stay well clear of those O'Hara's, horrible. Tried the majority of them and haven't found one I like.

White Gypsy is a very ale, the consistency of a stout and the taste of an ale, only available in Tipperary and 2 pubs in Limerick. Haven't come across it anywhere else.

Smithwick Pale Ale is just offensive. It is disgusting. I drink normal Smithwick and it is streets ahead of the Pale Ale.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 12:19am

A new English http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/beer" rel="nofollow - beer made by a Kent winemaker has been named as one of the world's best lagers in the industry's equivalent to the Oscars.

The annual http://www.internationalbeerchallenge.com/" rel="nofollow - International Beer Challenge – which has been judging the world's best beers for the past 16 years – has awarded the ultimate accolade of a gold medal to http://www.chapeldown.com/" rel="nofollow - Chapel Down vineyard for its Curious Brew premium lager.

The prestigious annual competition attract entries from the world's largest breweries through to the burgeoning band of pioneering microbrewers.

This year, judges tasted over 400 beers before declaring the Kent winemaker's lager to be the best of its class. The competition deemed only 30 beers, from countries including Belgium, Germany, Italy, New Zealand and the USA, to be of gold-medal standard. Curious Brew was one of only three international lagers awarded a golden gong.

http://www.samueladams.com/age-gate.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2findex.aspx" rel="nofollow - US brewery Samuel Adams picked up the other two lager gold medals for its Double Bock and A Dark Night in Munich.

Chapel Down, which only started brewing beer two years ago, believes that its success comes down to using the best quality products and, crucially, bringing a wine-maker's thinking to the beer-brewing process.

The vineyard uses East Anglian malt, saaz and cascade hops. It then re-ferments the lager using the same champagne yeast that goes into its award-winning sparkling wines to create a highly drinkable and refreshing 4.7% abv lager beer.

The whole process is overseen by Frazer Thompson, Chapel Down's chief executive officer, who as a "beer man" has held senior jobs at Heineken and Whitbread. He said: "We've changed people's minds about English wine and now we want to do the same when it comes to lager.

Mass-produced lagers taste like corporate cardboard and have the aroma of market research rather than hops. We've worked really hard to craft something that is more fragrant and more refreshing than other beers when served cold."

The vineyard's still and sparkling wines have won a clutch of prestigious industry awards over the years and some were served at Buckingham Palace during the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge's wedding celebrations.

Beer expert and author Pete Brown added: "I was intrigued when I first heard from Frazer that he was creating beers and I loved the results when I first tasted them. Brewing with champagne yeast is something you'd expect the Belgians to do, and so is brewing a lager for that matter. The result is a lovely beer which has a sparkling zing that makes it refreshing, satisfying and a lovely halfway house between beer and a sparkling wine. This is a lager for people who love beer."

Curious Brew is currently served on draught at Jamie Oliver's Union Jacks restaurants and several Jamie's Italians, The Swan at London's Globe Theatre, the Royal Opera House, Gordon Ramsay restaurants, ETM's The Gun, The RAC Club and Browns brasseries, as well as various independent pubs in the south-east.

Posted By: Percy
Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 7:59am
Smithwicks man meself ... But their pale ale is muck. Rebel red ale is one id reccommend. A little bit sweeter than smitwicks but a nice drop all the same. On draught in a couple of places in dublin

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 8:23am
Yeah after years of going with the masses (Heineken etc), I've started branching out recently. Tend to go for things with sweet flavours, Honey Ales, Banana Brown etc. There's a great off licence in Ballsbridge opposite the Waterloo that's close to my work. Used to be a chain and was being closed, workers bought it out and have now gone very alternative. Some lovely stuff in there.

Favourite beer that you find in most pubs these days in Hoegarden and Blue Moon.

If anyone's ever in North West USA, make sure you do some of the beer tours in Orgeon and Seattle area.

Posted By: ThrowInDelap
Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 8:33am
Originally posted by Percy Percy wrote:

Smithwicks man meself ... But their pale ale is muck. Rebel red ale is one id reccommend. A little bit sweeter than smitwicks but a nice drop all the same. On draught in a couple of places in dublin

Was released in bottles for the first time about two weeks ago, available in some off licences. Lovely stuff alright.

If time's a drug, then Big Ben is a huge needle injecting it into the sky.

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 10:22am
Anyone drink John Smith?

Lovely stuff imo.

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 10:49am
Love the Erdinger Oktoberfest beer. Only available from Sept - Oct

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 11:31am
Gone off wheat beers a lot. Used to love them too. Proper Ales, Stouts and craft lagers tickling my fancy at the minute.

Was in cork last month and theres this offy with over 700 different beers - tried a 9% Belgian one called Dilerium Tremens. Powerful stuff altogether!

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 12:55pm
crown lager from oz is the bollocks.....only place you can get it here is the woolshed.....6% and its like drinking water.lethal.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 1:00pm
Originally posted by ShannonHibs10 ShannonHibs10 wrote:

Old Engine Oil Stout is a nice one. Expensive but worth a try.

London Pride, Strong Suffolk are very nice Ale's. Stay well clear of those O'Hara's, horrible. Tried the majority of them and haven't found one I like.

White Gypsy is a very ale, the consistency of a stout and the taste of an ale, only available in Tipperary and 2 pubs in Limerick. Haven't come across it anywhere else.

Smithwick Pale Ale is just offensive. It is disgusting. I drink normal Smithwick and it is streets ahead of the Pale Ale.
London pride is muck there are literally(and not a jamie Redknapp one) hundreds of better bitters than that. It is just well marketed and widely available. Engine oil is a great drop alright

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 1:14pm

A new English http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/beer" rel="nofollow - beer made by a Kent winemaker has been named as one of the world's best lagers in the industry's equivalent to the Oscars.

The annual http://www.internationalbeerchallenge.com/" rel="nofollow - International Beer Challenge – which has been judging the world's best beers for the past 16 years – has awarded the ultimate accolade of a gold medal to http://www.chapeldown.com/" rel="nofollow - Chapel Down vineyard for its Curious Brew premium lager.

The prestigious annual competition attract entries from the world's largest breweries through to the burgeoning band of pioneering microbrewers.

This year, judges tasted over 400 beers before declaring the Kent winemaker's lager to be the best of its class. The competition deemed only 30 beers, from countries including Belgium, Germany, Italy, New Zealand and the USA, to be of gold-medal standard. Curious Brew was one of only three international lagers awarded a golden gong.

http://www.samueladams.com/age-gate.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2findex.aspx" rel="nofollow - US brewery Samuel Adams picked up the other two lager gold medals for its Double Bock and A Dark Night in Munich.

Chapel Down, which only started brewing beer two years ago, believes that its success comes down to using the best quality products and, crucially, bringing a wine-maker's thinking to the beer-brewing process.

The vineyard uses East Anglian malt, saaz and cascade hops. It then re-ferments the lager using the same champagne yeast that goes into its award-winning sparkling wines to create a highly drinkable and refreshing 4.7% abv lager beer.

The whole process is overseen by Frazer Thompson, Chapel Down's chief executive officer, who as a "beer man" has held senior jobs at Heineken and Whitbread. He said: "We've changed people's minds about English wine and now we want to do the same when it comes to lager.

Mass-produced lagers taste like corporate cardboard and have the aroma of market research rather than hops. We've worked really hard to craft something that is more fragrant and more refreshing than other beers when served cold."

The vineyard's still and sparkling wines have won a clutch of prestigious industry awards over the years and some were served at Buckingham Palace during the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge's wedding celebrations.

Beer expert and author Pete Brown added: "I was intrigued when I first heard from Frazer that he was creating beers and I loved the results when I first tasted them. Brewing with champagne yeast is something you'd expect the Belgians to do, and so is brewing a lager for that matter. The result is a lovely beer which has a sparkling zing that makes it refreshing, satisfying and a lovely halfway house between beer and a sparkling wine. This is a lager for people who love beer."

Curious Brew is currently served on draught at Jamie Oliver's Union Jacks restaurants and several Jamie's Italians, The Swan at London's Globe Theatre, the Royal Opera House, Gordon Ramsay restaurants, ETM's The Gun, The RAC Club and Browns brasseries, as well as various independent pubs in the south-east.

All great beers, Samuel Adams, the inspiration for the Pawtucket Pat brewery in Family Guy, does some brilliant beers. Their Boston Lager, which should be quite easy to get, is one of my favourite beers. The double bock isn't bad but felt I have had better beers in the same style. Dark night in Munich is ok but brown beers aren't really for me. That curious brew, had it in the Swan a few months back and it was worth the trip down the bank. I think a friend of mine and old boss might have been judging on this, he certainly used to. Think he might have cut down to the beer world cup now though.
Delirium Tremens is a fantastic beer, if you liked that try their delirium noctornum which is even better. They also do a cherry one but it isn't a lambic.Far too sweet for me but the missus loves it.

I'm coming across as a right dipso

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 1:22pm
Aye, tried the nocturnum as well. Both quality - drank one after the other so bit hard pressed to remember which was better.

Gonna have to get a run up to the Vineyard offy in Belfast this week now - probably the best one about here for the less commercial stuff. Nothing compared to that place in Cork though- the abbott or soemthing like that. Unreal.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 1:34pm

Nothing compared to that place in Cork though- the abbott or soemthing like that. Unreal.

Franciscan Well Clap

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 1:37pm
aye the abbott ale house. great shop. Some great places over here but the abbot would compete. Have a nice little one five minutes from me here, owned by a jackeen, but he is often shut at inappropriate times. Why would an offy be shut on a Saturday afternoon!! Delirium tremens was one of my favourite beers until i had the noctornum.,They both pack a punch!!

Taht Palo Santo last night was lovely too. All the ageing meant it tasted more like a double stout than a brown ale. Worth the 5 quid a bottle

Posted By: ThrowInDelap
Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 1:57pm
Some lovely ales from The William Bros. Brewery in Scotland, particularly the Scottish Joker IPA.

Stuck on the ales from Hook Norton brewery in England at the moment

If time's a drug, then Big Ben is a huge needle injecting it into the sky.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 2:06pm
Hook Norton, a great bunch of ladsClap
Don't think I have tried any of the Williams bros. ales? Any more info?

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 2:30pm

The Williams Brothers stuff is excellent. Theres a Heather flavoured ale thats great called 'Fraoch' - lovely bottles too - all celtics designs and that.

Their Red ale is quality as well.

Check out http://www.williamsbrosbrew.com" rel="nofollow - www.williamsbrosbrew.com

Stocked in one or two places here, bout 2.50 a bottle i think. They came to a beer tasting event my mates bar hosted - sound lads as well.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 2:33pm

Nothing compared to that place in Cork though- the abbott or soemthing like that. Unreal.

Franciscan Well Clap

Nah, was the Abbott ale house.

But dropped into the Franciscan Well last time as well. Great spot. They were hosting a home-brewing expo the last time i was there too - Will be making a point of going there again!

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 2:40pm

The Williams Brothers stuff is excellent. Theres a Heather flavoured ale thats great called 'Fraoch' - lovely bottles too - all celtics designs and that.

Their Red ale is quality as well.

Check out http://www.williamsbrosbrew.com" rel="nofollow - www.williamsbrosbrew.com

Stocked in one or two places here, bout 2.50 a bottle i think. They came to a beer tasting event my mates bar hosted - sound lads as well.
Recognised the bottles, didn't know the name of the brewery.Will pick a bottle of Fraoch next time. cheers AM.

The Bierhaus in cork has a few beers, haven't been there in a couple of years mind

Date Posted: 22 Jul 2012 at 2:53pm
Yous need to get on the Sierra Nevada range, lads. Big Foot pale ale - yummy!

Loads of other good ones out there. Try the Beer Club in Harold's Cross if you're in Dublin. They do great deals on varieties of craft beers. Deveney's are also pretty good too.

My recent recommendations would be - Goose Island India Pale, Fullers I.P.A., Doppel Hirsch, Shloeber. Ehh, that Paulaner hefe Weibler is kWality too.

Anyone else like that Bishops Finger stuff outta Lidl?

Date Posted: 22 Jul 2012 at 3:24pm
Is there many Irish microbreweries?

Posted By: Jonesy
Date Posted: 22 Jul 2012 at 4:17pm
In belfast cork dublin wexford carlingford etc but you cant beat the Maxim brewery for class.

Get Double Maxim in the Clarehall Dublin Tesco ASAP

Date Posted: 23 Jul 2012 at 11:59am
Originally posted by heighway2heaven heighway2heaven wrote:

Yous need to get on the Sierra Nevada range, lads. Big Foot pale ale - yummy!

Loads of other good ones out there. Try the Beer Club in Harold's Cross if you're in Dublin. They do great deals on varieties of craft beers. Deveney's are also pretty good too.

My recent recommendations would be - Goose Island India Pale, Fullers I.P.A., Doppel Hirsch, Shloeber. Ehh, that Paulaner hefe Weibler is kWality too.

Anyone else like that Bishops Finger stuff outta Lidl?
Not gone on Bishops finger.

Sierra NevadaClap An ethically brilliant company with superb beers. Torpedo IPA and their pale ale are my favourites. Goose IPA is great but not a patch on the torpedo. By fuller's IPA do you mean the Bengal Lancer? Love that stuff.

Date Posted: 23 Jul 2012 at 2:07pm
This stuff here Clonbhoy...

http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/71/733/" rel="nofollow - http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/71/733/

Will have to give the Torpedo ones a go. Sierra Nevada are kWality. Whelan's offo in Dublin's Camden St were doing 5 Sierra Nevada beers for a tenner a while back. I always start off with a Big Foot P.A.

9.6%, so it gives a good kick-start to a night!Thumbs Up

What got me started on all this though, was Cooper's P.A. from S. Australia. Lived on the stuff over there. Another good ethical brewery. Available in loads of offy's in Ireland now and beats the piss outta 6 cans of some mass produced, chemical bullsh*t.

Date Posted: 23 Jul 2012 at 4:15pm
Drank Starobrno (czech) beer while out in Slovakia recently. Nice stuff and considering the amount we were drinking not much of a hangover really.

Is it an urban myth that these type of beers have less preseratives and chemicals in them, compared to the Irish favourites, so thats why you dont get near as bad a hangover?

Date Posted: 23 Jul 2012 at 8:36pm

All great beers, Samuel Adams, the inspiration for the Pawtucket Pat brewery in Family Guy, does some brilliant beers. Their Boston Lager, which should be quite easy to get, is one of my favourite beers. The double bock isn't bad but felt I have had better beers in the same style. Dark night in Munich is ok but brown beers aren't really for me. That curious brew, had it in the Swan a few months back and it was worth the trip down the bank. I think a friend of mine and old boss might have been judging on this, he certainly used to. Think he might have cut down to the beer world cup now though.
Delirium Tremens is a fantastic beer, if you liked that try their delirium noctornum which is even better. They also do a cherry one but it isn't a lambic.Far too sweet for me but the missus loves it.

Picked up 4 of these for 6 quid in my mates offy - where the hell have you been all my life!

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 1:48am

http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/71/733/" rel="nofollow - http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/71/733/

Will have to give the Torpedo ones a go. Sierra Nevada are kWality. Whelan's offo in Dublin's Camden St were doing 5 Sierra Nevada beers for a tenner a while back. I always start off with a Big Foot P.A.

What got me started on all this though, was Cooper's P.A. from S. Australia. Lived on the stuff over there. Another good ethical brewery. Available in loads of offy's in Ireland now and beats the piss outta 6 cans of some mass produced, chemical bullsh*t.

Sorry should have been clearer, Torpedo is a beer from Sierra Nevada. It is an IPA that is ran through a torpedo shaped vessel to dry hop it amking an extra hoppy ale. Delicious!! That, their pale ale(the original), Kellerweis and celebration ale are all magical. Their porter isn't bad either. 

cooer's ain't bad but have you tried Little creatures from Oz?A far superior beer

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 1:50am

Picked up 4 of these for 6 quid in my mates offy - where the hell have you been all my life!
Well most of my life in clonakilty, am in London now. Not sure your my type...................................
coat on!!

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 2:01am
Jesus i had that samuel adams pish in boston and found it tasted rotten but put it down to being drained from travelling. tried it again in ireland in the bottles and got the same rank taste.that was 5 years ago so i might try it again tomorrow just to make sure i dont like it. ill probably fcukin love it now

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 9:26am

Well most of my life in clonakilty, am in London now. Not sure your my type...................................
coat on!!

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 9:26am

Jesus i had that samuel adams pish in boston and found it tasted rotten but put it down to being drained from travelling. tried it again in ireland in the bottles and got the same rank taste.that was 5 years ago so i might try it again tomorrow just to make sure i dont like it. ill probably fcukin love it now

If you don't like the taste of hops then it wont be for you. But holy god its lovely.

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 10:31am

Sorry should have been clearer, Torpedo is a beer from Sierra Nevada. It is an IPA that is ran through a torpedo shaped vessel to dry hop it amking an extra hoppy ale. Delicious!! That, their pale ale(the original), Kellerweis and celebration ale are all magical. Their porter isn't bad either. 

cooer's ain't bad but have you tried Little creatures from Oz?A far superior beer

Yeah mate, got to try some in the brewery when I was in Freemantle. Quite a while ago now. Had almost forgotten about it! Will have to see if it's knocking around Dublin anywhere.

And silly me - forgot about that S.N. Torpedo.

Date Posted: 24 Jul 2012 at 11:34am

Yeah mate, got to try some in the brewery when I was in Freemantle. Quite a while ago now. Had almost forgotten about it! Will have to see if it's knocking around Dublin anywhere.

And silly me - forgot about that S.N. Torpedo.
Little creatures might be hard to find in Ireland, there is only one company who brings it in to Britain, the Aspall's cyder crowd, so sometimes the whole country can be without it!!

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2012 at 9:29pm
some london pale ale from meantime and some sam adams on the menu tonight

Posted By: finnanselbow
Date Posted: 29 Jul 2012 at 9:37pm
Dungarvan stuff is really good, especially the red ale, really nice drink. Tried Belfast equivalent over the weekend and wasn't impressed. The howling gale ale from 8 degrees brewing is lovely on draught, less so from off-licence strangely.

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2012 at 10:02pm
Originally posted by finnanselbow finnanselbow wrote:

Dungarvan stuff is really good, especially the red ale, really nice drink. Tried Belfast equivalent over the weekend and wasn't impressed. The howling gale ale from 8 degrees brewing is lovely on draught, less so from off-licence strangely.
Tried that Dungarvan red ale last time I was home. Found it very average. Had an 8 degrees ale which wasn't bad at all, can't remember the name but it was on draught

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 3:16pm
had a pacific pale ale from meantime on draught last night. Do find some of their beers a little over rated. Tropical flavours and refreshing but with a soapy finish

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 4:50pm

Anyone try the Brewdock formerly Kates Cottage yet? Some quality craft booze.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 5:09pm

Owned by the same people who have the Against the Grain on Wexford Street and the Black Sheep on Capel Street. 

There is also Mulligans in Stoneybatter which does quality grub and beer also. 

Love Coopers which is brewed in Australia and Brooklyn Beer too, both Pale Ales.  Sierra Nevada is gorgeous also and like Sam Adams too.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 5:09pm
http://beoir.org/" rel="nofollow - http://beoir.org/
http://www.winefoodbeer.com/" rel="nofollow - http://www.winefoodbeer.com/

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 5:22pm

Owned by the same people who have the Against the Grain on Wexford Street and the Black Sheep on Capel Street. 

There is also Mulligans in Stoneybatter which does quality grub and beer also. 

Love Coppers which is brewed in Australia and Brooklyn Beer too, both Pale Ales.  Sierra Nevada is gorgeous also and like Sam Adams too.
Was thinking of trying this the other night. What do you think is nicer, the red or green?

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2012 at 5:52pm
Well the green is the pale ale so I prefer that. 

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2012 at 2:36am

some london pale ale from meantime and some sam adams on the menu tonight
Glad I didn't have it then and was waiting in my fridge after work tonight. Sam Adams, meat, cheeseBig smile

Posted By: fochie
Date Posted: 01 Aug 2012 at 7:51am
This stuff is beautiful, Ye gotta take care with it though its 11%.

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2012 at 9:00am
This is one of my favourites but its hard to find. First came across it in France a good time ago. Blows the head of ya too. Some place in cork sells it but I cant remember the name. Defo give it a lash and if you find it somewhere in the leinster area  pm me.

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2012 at 2:08pm
Originally posted by fochie fochie wrote:

This stuff is beautiful, Ye gotta take care with it though its 11%.
Kwak is a beautiful beer but is only 8.4% Great glass as well which has many folk tales associated with it. Some places will ask for a monetary deposit but some places near the brewery ask for a shoe as a deposit for its safe return.If poured and drunk right you are supposed to hear 'kwak' being whispered by the gush of the beer.

They also have  a beer called 'deus' or brut des flandres which has the 'methode champaignoise' imposed in it. Had it last winterfest, beautiful stuff

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 12:38pm

Had a couple of these last night (with me usual Lech and Tyskie) and have to say they weren't bad. It's a bit weird at first but once you get used to the honey flavour it's grand. Was convinced it was a lager until my friend pointed out that it was an ale!

Posted By: Johnner
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 1:08pm
Inns & Gunn have some beautiful beer. Try the irish whiskey caskThumbs Up

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 3:50pm
There is a craft beer exhibition in the RDS from the 7th-9th of September

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 3:53pm
Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

There is a craft beer exhibition in the RDS from the 7th-9th of September

I really do not need to hear this... Confused

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 4:16pm
Tried that bsnanna bread beer, twas good stuff
Was lookin at that honey one too, but can't stand honey, might give it a bash if it ain't too strongly flavoured

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 4:39am
Originally posted by Metal Paul Metal Paul wrote:

Had a couple of these last night (with me usual Lech and Tyskie) and have to say they weren't bad. It's a bit weird at first but once you get used to the honey flavour it's grand. Was convinced it was a lager until my friend pointed out that it was an ale!
Dead almost as bad as banana bread beer

Innis and GunnClap the rum casked is still my favourite. Had it on draught recently, was even better than in the bottle 

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 9:07am
Had a few Galway Hooker in the Bloody Stream - not the best. It's an inbetween Smithwicks and Budweiser and it looks like dark piss.

Posted By: Guests
Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 7:38pm
Anybody try that new Caledonia Smooth drink thats out? Has seen it but haven't tried it yet.

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 11:00pm
Originally posted by fear-glas fear-glas wrote:

Anybody try that new Caledonia Smooth drink thats out? Has seen it but haven't tried it yet.

Was on offer in a few bars up here. A really sh*te ale/bitter. very wattery, little flavour. avoid.

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2012 at 3:05am

Was on offer in a few bars up here. A really sh*te ale/bitter. very wattery, little flavour. avoid.
caffreys type pish?

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2012 at 9:16am

caffreys type pish?

Aye, wouldn't be far away. Been an age since ive had caffreys but i think this stuff was worse.

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2012 at 1:18pm
Dead

caffreys type pish?

Aye, wouldn't be far away. Been an age since ive had caffreys but i think this stuff was worse.
They have relaunched it in some bottles. Drinking pish ale from a bottleDead

Back to discussing proper beerClap

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2012 at 1:20pm
Absolutely.

Had a few Sam Adams last night and 4 BrewDog Route 77 Lager. Fantastic.

Never used to be a big fan of the BrewDog stuff but tried some cracking ones recently.

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2012 at 1:24pm

Absolutely.

Had a few Sam Adams last night and 4 BrewDog Route 77 Lager. Fantastic.

Never used to be a big fan of the BrewDog stuff but tried some cracking ones recently.
Love brewdog. Their pub up in camden is a cracker. Punk IPAClap

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2012 at 1:26pm
Seems to be a standard nowadays that all off licenses keep a decent stock of craft booze. Love going to the local offo and getting different selection everytime.

Tried this stuff from tesco a few weeks back

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2012 at 1:27pm
go get your own cider thread, this one is all about the hopsWink

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2012 at 1:28pm
Apologies Clonbhoy. The volume from that badboy made it standout from memory! Thought id share!

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2012 at 1:31pm
I have had it on draught, 'tis alright. Don't mind the odd nice scrumpy but it don't come close to the beer

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 22 Aug 2012 at 9:01pm
Tesco have 5 bottles of craft beer for €10 at the moment Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2012 at 11:10pm
Anyone know any offies that do Corona in cans?
Or are they available in Ireland?

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2012 at 11:13pm

Originally posted by Metal Paul Metal Paul wrote:

Dead almost as bad as banana bread beer

Innis and GunnClap the rum casked is still my favourite. Had it on draught recently, was even better than in the bottle 
Had some of that last week, was vile stuff.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2012 at 11:28pm

Anyone know any offies that do Corona in cans?
Or are they available in Ireland?
get that pish out of hereAngry

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2012 at 10:00am
You can get this in Mchughs off license tis a cracking drop.
Very strong so 3 or 4 would be my limit.

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2012 at 4:34pm
Originally posted by fochie fochie wrote:

You can get this in Mchughs off license tis a cracking drop.
Very strong so 3 or 4 would be my limit.
discussed already on here FochieThumbs Up

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2012 at 6:28pm
Sorry didnt spot it Clonbhoy 

I must have had a few when i posted that.Beer
Was drinking it in Eindhoven on tap the guy said it was 11%?
Tis damn tasty stuff.

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2012 at 6:58pm
8.4 in bottle, can't imagine it would be stronger on tap

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2012 at 7:15pm
Few Innis & Gunn rum finsh oak aged for the football tonight. Not as nice as the original IMO but OK.

Tesco doing 4 craft beers for 5 quid here.

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 3:34pm
Punk IPA 660 ml bottle on offer in Sainsbury's at 2.30 each. Lovely on a wet SundayClap

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2012 at 11:49am

Got stuck into a few different ones last night

InnisMacSaint Ale - light tasting pale ale made on a farm in Fermanagh (not a brewing stronghold Wink) - decent enough. No real stand out characteristic, bit citrusy maybe. A decent example of the type.

BrewDog Dead Pony Club - a california pale ale. Lovely. Really nice strongy hoppy flavour but light in the mouth. Bit understrength would be the only criticism.

Sam Adams Ocktoberfest - really nice. Strong, dark, munich type beer.

Sam Adams Summer Ale - seemed the bastard love child of a pale ale and a wheat beer - was ok, nothing special

Sam Adams Noble Pils - really liked this one although it didn't seem that different from Sam Adams boston lager - no bad thing i suppose.

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2012 at 12:19pm

InnisMacSaint Ale - light tasting pale ale made on a farm in Fermanagh (not a brewing stronghold Wink) - decent enough. No real stand out characteristic, bit citrusy maybe. A decent example of the type.

BrewDog Dead Pony Club - a california pale ale. Lovely. Really nice strongy hoppy flavour but light in the mouth. Bit understrength would be the only criticism.

Sam Adams Summer Ale - seemed the bastard love child of a pale ale and a wheat beer - was ok, nothing special

Sam Adams Noble Pils - really liked this one although it didn't seem that different from Sam Adams boston lager - no bad thing i suppose.

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2012 at 12:21pm
LOL Sure whats the difference anyway!

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2012 at 12:38pm

was drinking this myself on Sunday night. Top quality stuff, possibly my favourite of their beers. Wonderful flavour, doesn't taste like a 3.8, but I see it as an advantage. Makes it a great session beer.
With Sam Adams I just keep reverting to the boston lager.

And I'm an alcoholic beer snob- good people drink good beer!!

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2012 at 12:54pm

was drinking this myself on Sunday night. Top quality stuff, possibly my favourite of their beers. Wonderful flavour, doesn't taste like a 3.8, but I see it as an advantage. Makes it a great session beer.
With Sam Adams I just keep reverting to the boston lager.

And I'm an alcoholic beer snob- good people drink good beer!!

Yeah, probably would be. Just had the one bottle each of the above but think i'll def be going back for more DPC. Price maybe the only barrier of a good session on it.

Posted By: Funsize Crouchy
Date Posted: 03 Oct 2012 at 1:09pm

Just caught the end of a show about this and how your man from the Apprentice was helping him launch it in London.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01kwsy7" rel="nofollow - http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01kwsy7  

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2012 at 1:16pm
Heino

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2012 at 1:44pm
Sun burnt irish red in tesco! Delicious 

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2012 at 5:37pm
Pints of Dark star's American ale Ale in the Harp, near Leicester square, on Monday. Best cask ale I have had in a while, absolutely delicious in one of London's best alehouses. Only 3.45 a pint too.cannot go wrong!!!

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2012 at 5:41pm
cracking open a dead pony club nowBeer