URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=39883
Printed Date: 25 Apr 2024 at 1:26am

Topic: Nice hotels
Subject: Nice hotels
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:03pm
Anyone stayed anywhere nice in Ireland recently ? Want to stay somewhere down the country for a night or two but havent stayed anywhere in a while so have no idea where is nice etc. Any suggestions or good deals ?

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:06pm
Rochestown HOtel is Cork is meant to be a nice hotel. 

Get on to the supervalue breaks website and you may get some great 2 day breaks etc. 

Dirty weekend I presume ?  

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:09pm
Tullamore courtThumbs Up
oriel house hotel ballincolligThumbs Up
heritage hotel killenardThumbs Up

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:09pm
The Maldon in Tallaght.

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:12pm
Cork bit far baldy and yeah I just picked up all the bondage gear so whatever hotel I choose I hope they are ok with that type of thing. I heard that Heritage place is nice Eire did you ever stay there ?

Posted By: heyirish
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:15pm
hotel kilkenny - class hotel....little outside the city though
tower in waterford
dinn ri - carlow

karl pilkington to doctor when getting prostate examined: jesus thats high up that is, fcuking hell, right you're touching a lung now

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:15pm
couple of nice hotels in west limerick too

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:18pm
Originally posted by deco911 deco911 wrote:

I like Limerick any suggestions ?

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:22pm

Cork bit far baldy and yeah I just picked up all the bondage gear so whatever hotel I choose I hope they are ok with that type of thing. I heard that Heritage place is nice Eire did you ever stay there ?

Never stayed as its only 10-15 drive awayLOL
but its a top class hotel. and prices have gone way down in the last year. always best to phone the hotel for the best dealSmile

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:30pm

Originally posted by deco911 deco911 wrote:

I like Limerick any suggestions ?

in the county then hotel i work in devon inn nice family hotel great food only drag is its in a village and feck all to do in the area otherwise there is woodlands hotel and spa in adare great aul spot too in the city some great hotels too n probably a bit more to do in city

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:30pm
So its near Tullamore then yeah ?Want to go mid week so was going try stay in a 4 or 5 star place as ive heard there are good deals out there at the mo.

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:33pm
The Hogson Bay hotel in Athlone is a lovely spot. It's a bit family orientated but it's a good spot with loads to do.

http://www.hodsonbayhotel.com/

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:43pm

So its near Tullamore then yeah ?Want to go mid week so was going try stay in a 4 or 5 star place as ive heard there are good deals out there at the mo.

its about 20k from tullamore
portarlington is the closest town 3km..

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:47pm
I know it's a bit far, but Aghadoe Heights in Killarney is a smashing place, we availed of Supervalu Points for our anniversary last August and got it at half price but it's a lovely hotel.

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 3:53pm

I know it's a bit far, but Aghadoe Heights in Killarney is a smashing place, we availed of Supervalu Points for our anniversary last August and got it at half price but it's a lovely hotel.

Oh my God I just had a look I want to go there. They are also doing a mid week deal 170 each for 2 night and you get a room upgrade too. Whats the story with these Supervalue points ? Are they similar to the Superquinn points thingy ?

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 4:16pm
Cork is prety much as  near as Limerick is SGB ya thick :) 

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 4:17pm

The Hogson Bay hotel in Athlone is a lovely spot. It's a bit family orientated but it's a good spot with loads to do.

http://www.hodsonbayhotel.com/

They are not a fan of the bondage gear though.

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 4:21pm

Cork is prety much as  near as Limerick is SGB ya thick :) 

No it isnt. Cork is further. I think that one in Kerry that FW suggested might get my vote I wouldnt mind travelling that extra little bit to stay somewhere really nice if I got a good deal

Posted By: Offalyirish83
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 4:24pm
Have a look at the lake hotel in Killarney sasa , its fookin unreal like. Stayed in muckross park which is savage as well and got a good deal on it before.

Posted By: AndyMc
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 4:25pm
The G Hotel in Galway is nice and is less that two hours drive

Simon: No-one brings a bag of sh*t to a pub

Jay: Your dad does

Simon: Does he?

Jay: Yeah, your mum

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 4:27pm

Get on to the supervalue breaks website and you may get some great 2 day breaks etc. 

rochestown park is a cracking hotel  - taxi ride from the city centre though

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 4:28pm
Originally posted by Offalyirish83 Offalyirish83 wrote:

Have a look at the lake hotel in Killarney sasa , its fookin unreal like. Stayed in muckross park which is savage as well and got a good deal on it before.

Wow. I want this room 

http://www.lakehotelkillarney.com/master-deluxe-lake-view" rel="nofollow - http://www.lakehotelkillarney.com/master-deluxe-lake-view

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 4:29pm
Originally posted by AndyMc AndyMc wrote:

The G Hotel in Galway is nice and is less that two hours drive

Heard mixed reports about this place Andy. Heard the food wasnt the best ?

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 4:30pm

Looks AMAZING.

Posted By: Offalyirish83
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 4:32pm

Originally posted by Offalyirish83 Offalyirish83 wrote:

Wow. I want this room 

http://www.lakehotelkillarney.com/master-deluxe-lake-view" rel="nofollow - http://www.lakehotelkillarney.com/master-deluxe-lake-view

LOL Me and herself stayed there about a year or so ago. We got that room with the jacuzzi bath by the window , my advice is just get the one with the jacuzzi in the bathroom cos u cant c the lakes when ur in itLOL.
The lake view rooms are unreal and the deer come out from the woods behind onto the lawn in the evening. Its pure class

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 4:50pm

Reckon she wont be seeing much of the city centre to honest Tom. 

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 4:55pm
Sasa, head to West Clare. Can recommend a great BnB above a pub and get a good old sing song going to the early hours. 

Posted By: M.50
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 5:08pm

I hated it Thumbs Down apart from the upstairs dinning and relaxation area Tongue

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 5:09pm
Hilton Belfast gets the thumbs up from me Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 5:27pm
Westport plaza gold suite, Knockranny house in Westport is also a lovely spot.

G in Galway was over rated I thought.

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 5:31pm

Sasa, head to West Clare. Can recommend a great BnB above a pub and get a good old sing song going to the early hours. 

Name ? 

-Please

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 5:32pm
Anyone stay here before ?

http://www.icehousehotel.ie/" rel="nofollow - http://www.icehousehotel.ie/

Posted By: harry
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 5:46pm
Cork Thumbs Down Limerick Shocked come to the Kingdom my dear lady its the best Smile

Posted By: Huggybeer
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 7:01pm
just booked the johnstown house enfield

3 nights 1 dinner B&B for 139 PPS

Posted By: Conor Messi
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 7:35pm
Myself and the gf stayed in the harbour hotel in Galway before. It's nice, the food is savage and I think it's about a 10 minute walk from Eyre Square. They do good deals as well sometimes, a hell of a lot cheaper than the G hotel.

Pretty much anywhere in Kilkenny is good as well and it's a great town for the craic.
Or if you want to come to a country town that's like a cross between the Hardy Bucks and Father Ted at the weekends then come to Durrow! We've 2 grand hotels and there's no closing time in the pubs! Thumbs Up

@MessiConor
Hasta La Victoria Siempre

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 8:32pm
If your looking for a weekday break Sasa then you could do no wrong if you head to Carrickfergus in 12 days time - a wednesday and stay in the Premier Inn which overlooks Belfast Lough for a few nights, best off all there will be plenty to see and do(running) while you are there Thumbs Up

I even hear they are holding a massive "festival" in that town around that time - I think its to be the main "festival" in the north those few days Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 8:34pm

Anyone stay here before ?

http://www.icehousehotel.ie/" rel="nofollow - http://www.icehousehotel.ie/

Defo way overpriced so wouldn't go back, stayed once. Nice place but in a sh*tehole of a town. Although surrounding countryside area and nice beach short drive away.
Got a hair in my dinner AngryDead so that really put me off the place.
Nice place in good weather but really pokey spa areaConfused
6.5/10

If you like sauna, steam room, heated outdoor and indoor  pool etc and good grub go to Farnham Estate in Cavan Clap Really big spa area
been there a few times love it. http://www.farnhamestate.ie/" rel="nofollow - http://www.farnhamestate.ie/ Clap
9.5/10

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 8:35pm
Originally posted by M.50 M.50 wrote:

In the words of McEnroe - You can not be serious man?

The rooms are woeful, the service crap and the food rank - used to do a job that done interviews for a big company and would be round most off the hotels in Belfast and although the rooms in the Hilton are probably the biggest I wouldnt stay there, the europa has crap rooms but brilliant food, Jurys wouldnt go near, the Stormont is pretty good but too far out, havent been in Days hotel right in the centre but it looks pretty good

Posted By: JohnnyD87
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 8:42pm
The Crown in Cricklewood London, be a bit more adventurous!!!

Posted By: Padraig
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 9:47pm

If your looking for a weekday break Sasa then you could do no wrong if you head to Carrickfergus in 12 days time - a wednesday and stay in the Premier Inn which overlooks Belfast Lough for a few nights, best off all there will be plenty to see and do(running) while you are there Thumbs Up

I even hear they are holding a massive "festival" in that town around that time - I think its to be the main "festival" in the north those few days Thumbs Up

bunting and flags everywhere, real party atmosphere. 

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 10:41pm

Originally posted by M.50 M.50 wrote:

In the words of McEnroe - You can not be serious man?

The rooms are woeful, the service crap and the food rank - used to do a job that done interviews for a big company and would be round most off the hotels in Belfast and although the rooms in the Hilton are probably the biggest I wouldnt stay there, the europa has crap rooms but brilliant food, Jurys wouldnt go near, the Stormont is pretty good but too far out, havent been in Days hotel right in the centre but it looks pretty good

Stayed in it last year when I went to see Christy Moore, the man himself was shacked up there too, we had breakfast together Tongue

Anyway, got a top quality room for €90, had a top drawer evening dinner in the restaurant, which is real nice and couldn't fault the hotel one bit Smile

You picky f*ck Wacko

Big smile

Posted By: Percy
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 10:48pm
the carlton hotel in castletroy limerick have a deal on the discover ireland website at the moment . 2 nights b and b with one evening meal for 79 euro a head. never stayed there but im looking into it. 

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2012 at 2:47pm
Cheers for the advise. Ill check them out and see which one has the best deal. 

Date Posted: 25 Jul 2020 at 6:24pm
Anybody been to the Hodson Bay recently? Any recommends for somewhere inside 2 hour drive? 

Whats the craic with hotel bars? Time limit? 

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2020 at 1:23am
Was in Cork with work during the week and as usual they put us up in the Radisson in Little Island. As residents no issue getting a pint until they stopped serving which was 01:30 on the Tuesday but 11:00 on the Wednesday for some reason. 

They’re obviously trying to grab back a bit of what they lost though, Guinness on Tuesday night was €5.20 and on Wednesday was €5.40.

Food prices had shot up since pre Covid too, €14.95 up to €18.95 for Fish and Chips €12.95 to €15.95 for the Burger and Chips. No buffet breakfast anymore either, just a few menu options and it was scabby enough.

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2020 at 3:00am

Anybody been to the Hodson Bay recently? Any recommends for somewhere inside 2 hour drive? 

2 hour drive from where?

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2020 at 7:53am

2 hour drive from where?

Dublin LOL

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2020 at 8:56am

2 hour drive from where?

Dublin LOL
2 hours from Dublin will have you in about 75% of the island ffs LOL

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2020 at 8:59am
  https://m.sandhouse.ie/" rel="nofollow - https://m.sandhouse.ie/

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2020 at 11:04am

2 hour drive from where?

Dublin LOL

Thanks smart hole LOL

I just didn’t want dingle, Killarney etc 

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2020 at 12:16pm

2 hour drive from where?

Dublin LOL

Big smile

Posted By: brissy
Date Posted: 26 Jul 2020 at 12:23pm
Maldron Hotel, Tallaght, you can hike the Wicklow mountins

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2020 at 1:26pm

2 hour drive from where?

Dublin LOL
Deadly to think that about 20 years ago, a 2-drive from Dublin would barely have got you as far as Drogheda or Wicklow!LOL

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2020 at 2:55pm

Bay Sports is great craic. Freezing, but great craic.

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2020 at 10:36pm

2 hour drive from where?

Dublin LOL

Thanks smart hole LOL

For once, they dont really want you either 

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2020 at 10:43pm

2 hour drive from where?

Dublin LOL

Thanks smart hole LOL

For once, they dont really want you either 

thanks for posting Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2020 at 11:18pm
been away the last 10 days and have done airbnbs and normal BnBs... Far cheaper than hotels and mostly nicer too....

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2020 at 9:57am

2 hour drive from where?

Dublin LOL
Deadly to think that about 20 years ago, a 2-drive from Dublin would barely have got you as far as Drogheda or Wicklow!LOL

I think you're vastly underestimating when we started building motorways!!

Posted By: Yiksheemash
Date Posted: 27 Jul 2020 at 10:03am
change of plan with myself. heading away 2nd week of September. looking at galway for 2 nights, achill island/mayo for 2 nights and sligo 2 nights and donegal 2 nights. any recommendations? 

In my country we fak, my wife she isa dead

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2020 at 10:08am
Originally posted by Yiksheemash Yiksheemash wrote:

change of plan with myself. heading away 2nd week of September. looking at galway for 2 nights, achill island/mayo for 2 nights and sligo 2 nights and donegal 2 nights. any recommendations? 

if you can detour and do 2 nights in Tulsk. Wont be enough time to take everything in there but still well worth the visit. The restaurant there is top notch too.