What tv show/box set you watching ??

Category: Other Forums
Forum Name: Whatever!
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=39839
Printed Date: 24 Apr 2024 at 6:04pm

Topic: What tv show/box set you watching ??
Subject: What tv show/box set you watching ??
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 2:47pm
Im about 4 eps into 'Suits' , very good , suppose it helped i had zero knowledge about the show before starting.

The bloke is the spitting image of Simon from The Inbetweeners though

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 2:48pm
The Larry Sanders Show ,series 1 at the minute

Posted By: The U
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 2:52pm
Currently on Community Season 3, held off until the full series was available

also have Suits S1 downloaded

oh, and Shameless UK Season 8 - started watching from the start earlier this year - what a show!

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 2:58pm
watched the good wife recently and gonna start breaking bad this weekend.

have a phil silvers boxset aswell that i want to get stuck into Clap

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 3:03pm
Borrowed the 'In Treatment' box set and then realised I don't own a DVD player.

So, eh, nothing at the minute...

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 3:10pm
Originally posted by UCD AFC UCD AFC wrote:

Currently on Community Season 3, held off until the full series was available

also have Suits S1 downloaded

oh, and Shameless UK Season 8 - started watching from the start earlier this year - what a show!

I really loved season 1 and 2 but their was only a handful of episodes on season 3 that I liked

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 3:17pm
Sopranos

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 3:26pm
The Killing

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 3:50pm

Halfway through season 5 of Lost. Don't know why people said it went sh*t, I love it and think it's got better

Breaking Bad is lined up.

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:05pm
Lennie James was saying in a newspaper interview that they might be doing more 'Jericho'   
it was a bit cheesey but i loved it

Hawkins was a great character

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:08pm

Halfway through season 5 of Lost. Don't know why people said it went sh*t, I love it and think it's got better

I think you went about watching Lost in the right way. When you watched it on a weekly basis it was painful at times with the cliff hanger at the end of every episode. It was very frustrating to watch so i gave up on it. A box set is definitely the way to go.

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:13pm

I think you went about watching Lost in the right way. When you watched it on a weekly basis it was painful at times with the cliff hanger at the end of every episode. It was very frustrating to watch so i gave up on it. A box set is definitely the way to go.

I agree

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:14pm

I agree

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:25pm
I started watching Revenge on RTÈ 2 last night. It seems to be a quality show.

Nice actresses in it too which helps

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:26pm
Originally posted by jackshat jackshat wrote:

I started watching Revenge on RTÈ 2 last night. It seems to be a quality show.

Nice actresses in it too which helps

whats it about ?

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:30pm
watching blue bloods as its on the upc on demand. Not the worst thing i've watched
Tom Selleck Cool

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:31pm
Bollox to box sets. Netflix is the way to go.

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:33pm
I only seen my first two episodes last night so I'm not fully sure yet.

It seems to be about a young girl seeking "revenge" on everyone associated with the case of her father. I don't know what he was convicted off but it's clear he was wrongly convicted. Her father since died (im guessing in prison) and her mother has also passed away.

But most importantly the actresses

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:34pm
Anyone watch The Wire?

My mate has the full box set and I was going to give it a flick.

It's Jack Shat

Posted By: heyirish
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:35pm
watching the wire on sky atlantic. Quality show....just heading to season 3.

karl pilkington to doctor when getting prostate examined: jesus thats high up that is, fcuking hell, right you're touching a lung now

Posted By: heyirish
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:36pm

Anyone watch The Wire?

just as i was posting!!! top quality show. definitely worth a look

karl pilkington to doctor when getting prostate examined: jesus thats high up that is, fcuking hell, right you're touching a lung now

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:37pm
Originally posted by heyirish heyirish wrote:

Anyone watch The Wire?

just as i was posting!!! top quality show. definitely worth a look

I see it is rated 9.5 on IMDb I will defo give it a watch!

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:44pm
Wire is Probably 2nd on the all time list behind Sopranos

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 4:47pm
boardwalk empire is the bees knees

Posted By: PaulMcGrath5
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 5:00pm

Anyone watch The Wire?

After first 3 or 4 episodes i was hooked, best tv show i ever watched. Im actually really jealous that your just starting it, would love to re watch it again from the start.

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 5:22pm

Game of Thrones season 2

Been watching Always Sunny in Philidelphia, Breaking Bad and Californication on netflix

And I have the Sopranos, Mad Men on the go as boxsets.

I have 24 and the Shield boxsets waiting to be started.

Not sure when I'm going to get to finish all this sh*t.

Posted By: herman
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 7:24pm

Anyone watch The Wire?

Lethal show. Highly recommend it.
My latest venture: Forbrydelsen (The Killing). Danish series before the U.S remade it. Top drawer!

the german

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 7:52pm
watching the wire for the first time on sky atlantic, 3rd series starts friday Smile

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 8:29pm
finished "the west wing" a few weeks ago. would recommend it.Thumbs Up

Posted By: Ciano316
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 8:52pm
I've watched 2 and a half seasons of breaking bad since we got back from Poland. Have to catch up before the new season starts next month. It's addictive.

I Love Loft.
twitter - @Ciano316

Posted By: Babysis
Date Posted: 28 Jun 2012 at 8:32am
The wire is superb. Ive watched all of them but I am defo going to rewatch them over again.

Im on series 5 or the Sopranos at the moment Clap

I finished the 2 series of game of thrones (it is brilliant) and I've finished all the books of the series too (much better than the show).

True blood is excellent but Im up to date on that online too. The books are also an easy read.

Broadwalk Empire was really good (up to date on that too).

I really liked mad men, but I know some people found it too slow. I will start watching the latest series online this weekend.

I tried watching Breaking Bad but I dont think I was in the right humour at the time, so I will borrow the 1st series again and give it another try.

Ive also been told I have to watch the Flight of the Concordes after the rest of my group at the Euros spent the whole time quoting it.

Im thinking the West Wing might be my next big box set as Ive heard only good things about it.

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2012 at 8:36am

I agree

Was only thinking about this yesterday. Even watching on the box set, when the credits hit while on a cliffhanger me and the missus always say "f**k sake". So then we watch another until it's too late to keep watching. Was thinking I would be going mad if I needed to wait another week. Doing 2-3 episodes a night now.

Posted By: hoobedoo
Date Posted: 28 Jun 2012 at 9:24am
The west wing is top class. Started watching it again from the start when im on night duty. That should take care of a year of nights for me! Though the quality dipped after season 4 when Aaron Sorkin left. dialogue wasnt as snappy. Sorkins tv follow up to west wing was studio 60 on sunset strip. I thought that was class as well. Matthew perry very good in it. Only lasted one season though.

The seeds of doubt that were sown at the weekend against Egypt have been doused by a dose of Jack Charlton's almighty weedkiller.<br />

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2012 at 3:25pm
Just finished Death Valley, a hilarious 'mockumentary' about the UTF (Undead Task Force):
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1835129/" rel="nofollow - http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1835129/  Unfortunately it's been cancelled. Unhappy
Also just finished Reaper which was quite good. Have Millennium to watch next, bought the three box sets off a fella yesterday for €15. Cool I've been looking for it for years! 

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2012 at 3:54pm
Has anyone watched Twin Peaks, just finished before the Euro's, think i enjoyed it but wtf.....

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2012 at 3:57pm
Originally posted by PaulMcGrath5 PaulMcGrath5 wrote:

Has anyone watched Twin Peaks, just finished before the Euro's, think i enjoyed it but wtf.....

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2012 at 4:03pm

Originally posted by PaulMcGrath5 PaulMcGrath5 wrote:

Freaky stuff

Posted By: ballymacB
Date Posted: 28 Jun 2012 at 4:50pm
Honestly dunno how breaking bad isn't up there with the best, I'm enjoying it more than the sopranos, a quarter thru season 4 as we speak

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 12:26am
Lots of twists and turns in 'The Killing', very good first season finale.

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2012 at 12:37am
gonna try and get through all of lost, managed to keep up to the 5th season or thereabouts but conceded defeat when i went to college

finished watching all 8 seasons of 24 recently, will start again sometime next year

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2012 at 9:32pm
'Generation Kill' is essential too imo . 7 one hour eps .

Its based on articles written by a Rolling Stone magazine writers experiences with the marines who go into Iraq first and clear the way for the 'invasion' of the US Army in 2003.

The show is written by The Wire writer David Simon and the Rolling Stones journalist himself

Some of the real-life marines who were in the actual war are in the show too.

Posted By: EXoi!mysize
Date Posted: 30 Jun 2012 at 11:45pm
one love for Modern Family!

red is not a colour its a state of mind

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2012 at 11:48pm

Which one you watching bud?

The Danish original piss's all over the american one for both series Thumbs Up (well think there is 2 american series)

Date Posted: 01 Jul 2012 at 12:13am

The Danish original piss's all over the american one for both series Thumbs Up (well think there is 2 american series)

yep , only 2 american series'

good show , mental to think the eminem cop is the new Robocop

Date Posted: 01 Jul 2012 at 4:53pm

The American one. Didn't know there was an original version. Is the Danish one in Danish?

Date Posted: 01 Jul 2012 at 5:14pm
Originally posted by tonyjaa tonyjaa wrote:

Its based on articles written by a Rolling Stone magazine writers experiences with the marines who go into Iraq first and clear the way for the 'invasion' of the US Army in 2003.

The show is written by The Wire writer David Simon and the Rolling Stones journalist himself

excellent stuff ClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2012 at 11:43am
Anyone know when Game of Thrones season 3 is going to be out ? Came back from Poland thinking I had missed two episodes, went to download them but realised I had watched the season finale of season 2 before I left Cry

Posted By: Fitzinho
Date Posted: 02 Jul 2012 at 1:05pm
Not until May 2013

Book 3 is split in to two series also.

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2012 at 1:09pm
Originally posted by tonyjaa tonyjaa wrote:

this is my all time fave Clap

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2012 at 2:50pm
Weeds season 7 started last night Clap

Posted By: kimbap
Date Posted: 02 Jul 2012 at 4:46pm

Weeds season 7 started last night Clap

Jaysus,is Weeds still going?
I watched the first three seasons and thought it was the best thing ever.Started to go a bit downhill from there imo.Can't remember which season but when the whole thing moved down to Mexico and they started digging tunnels I thought it had gone off the rails altogether,maybe I should take another look.
         There's a comedy show called The League out at the moment.Season 1-3 are available for download (prob 1-2 boxset) Can't believe more people aren't talking about it.If you can get over the fact it's based around an American Fantasy Football League ( and you can very quick,I f**kin hate American Football) then it's savage craic,top show.

Posted By: armahibee
Date Posted: 02 Jul 2012 at 5:09pm
Generation milk was grt, a lot of cast of the wire in it too.

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2012 at 5:10pm
Generation kill even!

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2012 at 5:24pm
Originally posted by armahibee armahibee wrote:

Generation Kill was grt, a lot of cast of the wire in it too.

alot ?

i counted 2 , 3 tops

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2012 at 6:41pm
Aye think ur rite, few out if oz too, got confused lol, oz was another good one.

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2012 at 7:50pm
Originally posted by kimbap kimbap wrote:

[QUOTE=The Q Man]
         There's a comedy show called The League out at the moment.Season 1-3 are available for download (prob 1-2 boxset) Can't believe more people aren't talking about it.If you can get over the fact it's based around an American Fantasy Football League ( and you can very quick,I f**kin hate American Football) then it's savage craic,top show.

Clap great show (I'm a biased NFL fan tho) - I can't remember if S2 was the last I watched - is Season 3 pretty recent?

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2012 at 8:01pm

Originally posted by kimbap kimbap wrote:

[QUOTE=The Q Man]

Clap great show (I'm a biased NFL fan tho) - I can't remember if S2 was the last I watched - is Season 3 pretty recent?

Season 3 finished in the states about 4 months ago.Probably the best season yet.
As i said,surprised more lads don't know about this.Lots of good american comedies out there at the moment like Community,Parks And Recreation etc but this and Its Always Sunny are on a level above I think.

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2012 at 9:36pm
just finishing up Community s3 so will get the league s3 in the meantime, cheersThumbs Up

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2012 at 1:12am
Finished community s3 and also now fully caught up with shameless, just waiting for the second half of series 9 (should be end of summer-ish)

gonna grab The League s3 and maybe start watching skins from beginning (have only seen a couple of episodes)

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2012 at 1:14am
Watched the first season of Eastbound and Down earlier.

Kenny Powers

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2012 at 1:27pm

Kenny Powers

Eastbound And Down is a great show.
I think the second season is better than the first as well.

Another one I'm watching at the moment is Bored To Death.Only two seasons and it was canceled but a nice little comedy.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2012 at 4:00pm
Breaking Bad series 5 starts 2nite

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2012 at 4:13pm

Kenny Powers

Is that a comedy?

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2012 at 5:39pm

Kenny Powers

Is that a comedy?

yeah

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2012 at 7:28pm
Revenge aint bad. Double episodes on RTE too. Your one is sexy as f**k.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2012 at 8:28pm
Originally posted by Del-Piero Del-Piero wrote:

gonna try and get through all of lost, managed to keep up to the 5th season or thereabouts but conceded defeat when i went to college

finished watching all 8 seasons of 24 recently, will start again sometime next year

Finished it yesterday. One of the best how's ever made.
Will start breaking bad bow. Only have the first 3 seasons on Netflix though

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2012 at 9:58pm
am on the second series of the wire. its taking me a while to get into it

Date Posted: 16 Jul 2012 at 5:46pm
Anyone ever seen the Black Donnollys?
About a family of Irish American mobsters in Hells Kitchen.
Only 13 episodes made before NBC cancelled it, started watching on Netflix yesterday and so far it's deadly.

Date Posted: 16 Jul 2012 at 6:47pm
Originally posted by Hoosay Hoosay wrote:

Only 13 episodes made before NBC cancelled it, started watching on Netflix yesterday and so far it's deadly.
Great show, it's a pity they only made one series.

Posted By: McNulty
Date Posted: 16 Jul 2012 at 7:31pm
Watched suits recently.. it's an easy watch. Not in same league as others mentioned on this thread. Anyone watch mad dogs?

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2012 at 1:37pm
Originally posted by Metal Paul Metal Paul wrote:

Originally posted by Hoosay Hoosay wrote:

Great show, it's a pity they only made one series.
3 episodes into it now, it's really good. The sort of thing that would have been huge on HBO.

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2012 at 4:34pm
Anyone watch the IT crowd? bit like a british big bang theory, only problem with it annoying laughtrack - still a good show to watch

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2012 at 5:38pm

Anyone watch the IT crowd? bit like a british big bang theory, only problem with it annoying laughtrack - still a good show to watch
It's filmed in front of an audience, or it was, it's finished now, although I think Graham Linehan said he's hoping to get everyone back together for a one off farewell show.

Posted By: dublin-hammer
Date Posted: 17 Jul 2012 at 6:55pm
Going to start watching the newsroom later. Anyone watch it yet??

I'm not a fascist, I'm a priest. Fascists dress in black and go around telling people what to do, whereas...priests... More drink!

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2012 at 7:02pm
PsychThumbs Up

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2012 at 12:57am
Originally posted by dublin-hammer dublin-hammer wrote:

not yet but it's on my list, let me know how it is

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2012 at 2:05am
Started watching Lost on Netflix there about 4 days ago, on episode 18 already. Seriosuly addictive stuff Clap

For quality and acting I dont think it will hit Soprano's and Wire levels but for addictivness it certainly does so far

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2012 at 7:51am
Lost turns into a pile of wank

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2012 at 8:44am

watched the first 8 episodes and thought it was gonna be one of the best ever and then.....Cry

started watching wilfred...seriously funny.... not a fan of maony Elijah wood though

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2012 at 10:45am

Not at all. I started watching a few months ago and just finished the complete serious. I was waiting for it to turn sh*te after what people had said about it but it never did. It was still as addictive as ever right until the final episode. But maybe the fact that I watched them all back to back and not having to wait a week or a few months for the season cliffhangers to find out what was happening also made it that bit more enjoyable. if I had to wait a week after every episode I would would be fairly pissed off i think and it could turn sour, which is what I think happened for many people.

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2012 at 10:47am
Watched the first two episodes of Breaking Bad with the missus last night. Loving it so far, didn't realise there would be a bit of humour involved. Defo our new show

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2012 at 12:25pm

Watched the first two episodes of Breaking Bad with the missus last night. Loving it so far, didn't realise there would be a bit of humour involved. Defo our new show

lucky basta

Posted By: whitesideOnside
Date Posted: 18 Jul 2012 at 12:54pm
Originally posted by dublin-hammer dublin-hammer wrote:

This is one I'm really looking forward to.
Much prefer watching boxsets in winter though. Can't beat dark, cold nights
to add to the atmosphere of sitting in watching 5+ hrs solid.

Feel a bit guilty when it's bright outside.

Posted By: Shebber
Date Posted: 18 Jul 2012 at 12:54pm
Modern Family! so funny!

If you have 200 million priests, and 5% of them are paedophiles, that's still only 10 million paedophiles!

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2012 at 1:06pm

It's nothing like it, as IT Crowd is brilliant whereas BBT is sheeeee-ite!

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2012 at 1:07pm
Glenroe.  Miley has his eye on Fidlelma.  Gripping stuff. 

Going to follow it up with a Country Pracice and possibly the Sullivans after.

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2012 at 9:19pm
Breaking Bad is back with a bang!!

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 9:21pm
Watched the first few episodes of It's Always Sunny In Philadelphia the last few days, very funny so far

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2012 at 9:23pm
After a few episodes I conclude that Revenge is the ballsClap

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2012 at 9:47am

After a few episodes I conclude that Revenge is the ballsClap

Stopped after a few episodes wasn't gripping me
Also stopped watching the Killing,was turning a bit sh*t

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2012 at 2:49pm
I'm just about to start watching Lost the whole way through Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 22 Jul 2012 at 5:32pm
Its unbelievably addictive D-P. I went through 8 episodes yesterday becuase I was coming to the end of season 1 and then when I did, there was no way I wasnt finding out what happened next in season 2! Its a f**ker for leaving you on a cliffhanger. On season 2 ep 3 and so far it has been brilliant

Date Posted: 25 Jul 2012 at 11:29pm
There's a show called Party Down that was recommended by a mate you always picks good stuff.Just watched the first two episodes last night.Funny as fcuk! I went and downloaded the first and second series straight away.There''s so many really top American comedies at the moment.
             Also just finishing up the second season of Boardwalk Empire,Great show.

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2012 at 1:05am
Started watching Peep Show the other week, find it hilarious and really addictive. All episodes are on 4od on youtube.

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2012 at 11:30am
is 'Spartacus: Blood and Sand' any good ?

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2012 at 12:11pm
All My Children in the daytime, Dallas at night.....

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2012 at 12:38pm

On series 4 of Sopranos. What a show!

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2012 at 1:32pm
season 1 of the newsroom, quality

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2012 at 1:45pm

You got far into this? I'm getting through it at a good pace! Finishing up season 2 tonight, f**king mental show. The way they leave you on a cliffhanger ending every time is a killer, you can end up watching 6 - 7 episodes in a row! Mental amount of episodes per season as well. Im on my 50th episode and only finishing ssn 2

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2012 at 4:01pm

You got far into this? I'm getting through it at a good pace! Finishing up season 2 tonight, f**king mental show. The way they leave you on a cliffhanger ending every time is a killer, you can end up watching 6 - 7 episodes in a row! Mental amount of episodes per season as well. Im on my 50th episode and only finishing ssn 2

into episode 6 of season 2, im slowly getting through them, doubt i could watch 6-7 in a row, not good for the head Wink! amount of episodes is unreal!!!